Submitted by DLPite
A shot of the crowd in attendance at the DLP meeting at Bay Street
A shot of the crowd in attendance on Wednesday night

The DLP’s meeting last Wednesday night was such a resounding success, it is hard to see how the Opposition could top that event. Mr. Stuart and his team hit a home run the other night. Keep it up guys!

Over and above the 14,000 odd people who turned up (some neutral observers put it at lots more) and who seemed very attentive until the Prime Minister ended the meeting, the content, presentation and overall atmosphere were very good.

Of particular  note is how each speaker dealt with the achievements. I was amazed that Government had achieved so much, and in a severe world recession to boot. Of course, Prime Minister Stuart was his usual self, confident very articulate, deliberate and sound; he had the audience in the palm of his hand. Ministers Michael Lashley, Sinckler and Jones were very good as well.

Just heard that England (Great Britain)  has gone from a double dip recession to a TRIPPLE DIP. Wow!  Looks like the Great has dropped out of Britain! And, with all the receipts coming in from businesses in the US, that country’s economy has further declined – heading to a double dip. For 2012, the US economy had further slumped. However, Little England, in spite of all the challenges, is still holding its own. We are keeping our heads above water.

So, with the general elections looming, and the Opposition promising to give away so many things and planning to give Barbadians everything they want, we are waiting with bated breath to see how they will vote. I really believe that the upcoming election will be a test of the sense and intelligence of the average voter. We all know that the whole world is experiencing very difficult times , the ‘mother of all recessions’ – with no foreseeable end in sight – and no amount of outlandish, pie-in-the-sky promises to back-raise the government will wash with a knowledgeable and more discerning public.

The BLP is promising to fill Barbadian pockets with lots of money, (I wonder from where) create endless jobs overnight, welcome 50,000 more tourists, return VAT to 15% (Britain’s is 20%) and all other allowances, and reduce unemployment in days (just saw on NBC that unemployment is up in the US) will certainly be dismissed for what they are: GIMMICKS.  So, wheel and come again Owen Arthur!

The BLP’s strategy  seeks to prey on the electorate’s worst fears in a recession, offering senseless and asinine solutions to catch the imagination. I suggest they offer these same solutions to David Cameron. Barak Obama, François Holande, Portia Simpson, Kenny Anthony and Kamla Persad Bissessar, etc.

We are a more alert, informed and prudent electorate this time around.

1. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

2. @DLPite

I am a DLP supporter living in Canada but please write Bajan.

“Hit it out of the park” is “baseball”.

“Hit it out of the ground” is “Cricket” and I stayed up last night and watch West Indies get beat but it was cricket.

3. “Hit it out of the park” is “baseball”.
    LOLL
    Cud dear Hants DLPite don’t know any better… just like the rest of dem down here. RFLMAO

4. Dont worrt about the meetings watch out for the results on feb.22

5. Jus Mekkin Sport Avatar
    Jus Mekkin Sport

Yeah.Frugabe used to hitting EVERYONES BALLS.
    He HIT ours so hard we damn near unconcious.
    Anyway we all know whatever he says is a LOAD of BALLS anyway!!
    He Hit Barbados Balls so hard he knock us clear out of Patience.

6. When the BLP wins we have 1600 well trained Canadians looking for work.

“Sears Canada announced today that it is cutting 700 jobs across Canada while Best Buy and Future Shop shut 15 stores, eliminating 900 jobs”

7. Jus Mekkin Sport
    please understand how Frugabe one’s balls can make one unconcious. lol

8. a bunch of jealous beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees with nothing to say! on the 21st instead of a ball it would be a boulder drop on wunna head as wunna head back to the hive for five more years. .the only wun to be happy would be the QUEEN BEE MIA who got she last laugh on OSA.

9. I was amazed that Government had achieved so much, and in a severe world recession to boot.

Really? You mean like passing NINE new bills in 5 years? Or ‘overseeing the construction of a cruise terminal’ that is still only preliminary drawings? Or ‘major consultation’ on two bills that are still not passed? Wunna better make Michael Lashley and Ronald Jones senior and deputy, because if not for those two it would be worse. The document for the most part is an exercise in overreach sometimes bordering on comedy. Interesting how the section on the PM is formatted differently–another sign of factionalism at play?

10. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@DLPite
    Over and above the 14,000 odd people who turned up (some neutral observers put it at lots more) and who seemed very attentive until the Prime Minister ended the meeting, the content, presentation and overall atmosphere were very good.”

what meeting were u viewing? where did those 14,000 people fit? u cannot be speaking about the DLP meeting at all, i saw the crowd, stop dreaming woman…

11. Why do I detect that the Dems look and sound frightened.

In the press conference picture, they all look defeated. From the mouthings of one Ronald “Demons” Jones today, he seems a confused man. What would possess him to moan about the way in which the Bees arrived to pay in their deposits? And in so much style. To me that is so childish……….as if to say, please mam, look what the Bees did, they should not have done this before us. That is unbecoming of a government minister. Me thinks he doth protest too much.

You Dems do things your way and let the Bees do things their way. What’s wrong with that? Gosh man, you seem petty ! And what’s wrong with jingles? You forgot you all had them in 2008? How comes you all have the government and are so not ready, then? Did the PM caught you all off guard? I mean, after ganging up on him by the 11’s, that being a concern about being ready for the election, do you mean to tell me that he never met with the gang to sort this out and that is why you all are scampering and complaining about everything the Bees do? Grow up!

Then came the pitbull from St Phillip trying to lecture the BLP on politics….you are only a candidate after you have handed in your papers on Nomination day. Hello………..were you, Dr Estwick not the one who kicked up so much a stink when the dead king on assuming the Presidency after kicking out the very same Freundel, tried to de-select you as a candidate? Were you not the same one who carried on so bad on Brasstacks that Sleepy Smith called in and said if he had his way, you Dr Estwick could never cross the doors of George Street again? Were you not on Brasstacks carrying on about being a candidate then and how DT wanted to de-select all the candidates chosen under Clyde Mascoll? Look how you forget so easily! What were you then, chopped liver??

Give me a break. The Dems’ desperation is really coming through and they are appearing really desperate. So much so that one broken up Brain Less Pimp said that the DLP’s posters are under lock and key until Feb 6th, denies that any posters are up, when we have in picture two candidates’ posters up. Are the posters really under lock and key or are they on the sea or in a plane held up?

12. @ac
    “the only wun to be happy would be the QUEEN BEE MIA who got she last laugh on OSA”…………….

Dont be so quick to laugh, it may go the other way and Freundel would at last get to fulfill the pledge that…heads will roll…..the plotters would have been for the most part killed off!

13. And to really enforce the point that the Dems are really desperate, I cannot believe that a learnt man like Bobby Morris would say …re-elect the Dems because in 2016, Barbados will be celebrating 50 years of independence and since the DLP took the country into independence, we should be in power then.

What a load of rubbish from a learnt man! The Dems are so desperate. They have no plan but to throw mud and hope that it sticks. A top Dem was stupid enough to say so publicly and now we see it happening! They have no plan for Barbados but to throw mud and hope the people of Barbados believe their lies and be stupid to re-elect them!

14. a final muscle mary joke for the week. When Owen Arthur posed like a burlesque buffooon with the women of the BLP one woman in red was missing . Guess who? ROTFLMBAO!

15. Well said prodigal son. The Dems seemed so confused that everything that the BEEs do it is a problem. Looking at going from the Parliament yard to pay their deposits on CBC TV tonight; they all looked so porakey . No more CLICO money to fund an election. I think they could ask Mara for some funding from the dead king’s Family First account.

16. CBC reported that the 5 DLP women walked in a group together led by Ronald Jones. Where were the yellow shirts? What kind of unity were they showing? I have never seen such a rag tag group of people. Dem ent ready at all!

17. The BLP is running a slick con game down to the everybody in red and rocking red theme.
    All Owen got is……..

18. Hants go prepare yuh rod for fishing t’row man. Wey you did in 2008 when Thompy promised the sun, moon and stars?

19. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

yea boy it seems de Dems aint got that kind ah money like 2008, and that is why de eager 11 did want to talk to lazy ass Stuart one of the topics was campaign financing

20. @Prodigal Son | February 1, 2013 at 8:52 PM

You asked . . . . . .”Are the posters really under lock and key or are they on the sea or in a plane held up?”
    I reply. . . . . But how could you ask such a question? Isn’t it a plain case that they “fell off de truck and got stolen”? 🙂

21. I see Mia Mottley,s strategy is to sink the BEES !

For 4 years the BEES criss cross this country lamenting :

# Growth is down
    # Jobs are down
    # International Business is down
    # Manufacturing is down
    # Tourism is down
    Yet on the 1st day of February 2013 ….on my CBC TV….I hear Mia Mottley saying that the foreign reserves are high….and a new BLP administration will use these foreign reserves to fight the recession.

So when the recession don’t end and the things above ( according to the BEEs remain down) wha’ gine happen to BIM ?

Real PARO reasoning if you ask me.

22. @Prodigal and Cant Wait
    You have both seen the same theme that I have and that is that the DEMS appear to be in disarray while the BEES are properly organised.I cant wait for the big show tomorrow at Hackett(thats what the earthy bajans call Haggatt Hall).I want the BEES to tear the DEMS performance in Government to shreds in a proper, cogent, analytical and reasoned fashion.

23. @ Fractured
    They are ALL down that is what your Central Bank Governor said two weeks ago. You forgot to mention that the BLP also said the DLP should sell the remaining shares in BNB, and that you did as well as those in BL&P hence the FOREX. What is so PARO about her reasoning? Remember the economy was a mess and debt was high, yet in 2008 wunna promised everything under the sun. Now we know that was definitely PARO reasoning!

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t mistake the large crowd at Bay Street as a sign of support for the DLP: a large portion of the audience went for the entertainment. It is no longer corned beef and biscuits: it is fete. That type of campaigning shows how little the politicians respect the electorate.

25. Hant “hitting out uh de park,” is very Bajan too. You never been in queens park when Collis King did batting. How else tuh describe the ton uh sixes that he hit, but to say “out uh de park.”

26. Oh Hush Caswell, were your comments when de red-shirt people were bragging bout the crowd that they had in heroes square?
    Everybody done know that evuh since duh done way wid de mobile cinema, that the political meeting was the event for mass entertainment. chuspe!

27. It certainly appears to me that the music show tomorrow hosted by the BLP is just that a entertainment package, let me also say that when the music is done tomorrow evening that will also be the end of the campaign stage because I will tell you right now that the music will end and the people will make a mass exodus from the venue, just you wait and see, it happened in the park when the blp had Spice Band play by the time Forde spoke they had fewer than 300 people on hand to hear him.

28. @Let them know

Both sides use entertainment to tease people to attend the meetings. For BLP DLP to be criticizing/commenting on this is disingenuous.

Let us see if the BLP speak to issues tomorrow or engage in muckraking a la Barney Heroes Square. It would be good if Mia and Owen respond to the charges from the DLP about the “note”, alleged “Pegasus tape” etc. Obviously Arthur and Mottley know if the charges are true so why wait until the end of the campaign. Deal with it now.

29. By the way, did anyone notice that Freundel and Sinkliar were missing from the group yesterday when the others went to pay their deposit?

30. Enuff “Hants go prepare yuh rod for fishing t’row man.”

I am Bajan to de bone. nuh ice fishing fuh me. I neva climatise dah much.

@ Adrian.

I never hear anybody talk about hitting out de park in Barbados. That is baseball shiite rap.

31. can’t wait you can’t wait?

who is in charge of the DEMS fund raising? one Donville Inniss. What is Chris’ roll in the campaign again? these guys trying to play a nasty game of 10 step.

FS did not tell those clowns when the election was, so they are behind the ball.

32. David,

I am sure that Owen and Mia do not wish to touch that “note” and “call the elections” saga.

For them….right NOW It is about the BLP showing the face of UNITY …..BLP style !!!

They both prefer to take the route of being publicly exposed. Mia somehow believes she would be the beneficiary. She knows the public both ( B and D ) ain’t too pleased with the way she was removed from office. ( There are bajans out there to use local parlance saying….” ah too glad she try to get back at he”….)

Go back to the pictures of the PELICAN / LIME first year presentation ceremony. Mia made had her request to PM Stuart ( to call general elections ) by then before she asked him to present the prizes to the winners.

HINT : HINT : There were plenty of recorders around ! (A la…Mitt Rommney 47% remarks)

PM Stuart knows he can publicly piss parade on this subject……and Mia CANNOT deny it !!!!!!

And one can sympathise with Mia’s request to PM Stuart…..it was only a mere few months earlier that she was brutally struck down during the embroyonic stages of her leadership development. Albeit by an individual who, years earlier, had said he is finished leading the BLP.

You would recall Owen did not respond either when PM Stuart publicly disclose that Owen, in the presence of other persons at UN House , told him not to go to the first ” Nation talk back ” discussion…… as it was bare foolishness (but Mia went to the discussion though !!).

Well the BEES called for the general elections…..

So right now it is set up to show that Owen has more BILE for poor Mia…..than a SMILE !

The DEMS will continue to REPORT to the nation…….while the BEES will continue to GLOAT to the nation .

This election is about CHARACTER and LEADERSHIP…..the public of Barbados in the coming weeks will understand why.

Stay tuned to a big screen near you.

33. can’t wait on February 2, 2013 at 12:47 AM

By the way, did anyone notice that Freundel and Sinkliar were missing from the group yesterday when the others went to pay their deposit?
    ——————————————–
    You don’t mind them missing at that time. They were at that time doing the Government of Barbados business attending very important meetings. Their deposits would be paid on time….they will be nominated….and they both will win their seats by handsome margins.

But before we get to that SCENE …..they both will be in Rice’s , St. Philip on 3 rd February 2013, exposing the folly of Owen Arthur’s reckless economic policies….that now even after he is out of office….the country has to fork out $ 30 million every 15 JANUARY ( for the next 23 years ) to pay for a PRISON……built by some persons ,who are themselves, now in PRISON in ALASKA !

As leader of this country….Owen Arthur and his Cabinet was repeatedly asked / warned to address the unpleasant issues at Glendiary. Owen Arthur ain’t raised a finger….Glendiary bun down. Owen Arthur established a $ 6 million Commission of Inquiry into the Glendiary fire….his administration followed NONE of the recommendations !

Imagine that…..this is the BRAIN POWER / BRILLIANCE of Barbados’ greatest ECONOMIST !!!

With that synopsis…….I am sure you now wish OWEN ARTHUR….remains MISSING forever !

34. Of particular note is how each speaker dealt with the achievements. I was amazed that Government had achieved so much, and in a severe world recession to boot.

Achievements ?…….what achievements Fractured Carson
    Have a look again…..

1.Four Seasons billion $ concrete over done with River Tamarind bush?
    2. A $250,000 Stop light sign by BET?
    3. $600,000 wasted on Alexandra fiasco?
    4. A Lost Deloitte report spotlighting where Clico $3.3 million went ?
    5.$2 million on a Walk Over up by CBc?
    6. Millions on Citizen Inauguration ceremonies.
    7. $3 million on Brazillian GOAL Airways
    8. $5.4 million on the Pickerins Breakwater Engineers study?
    9. Millions on parties up Illaro for anybody and EVabody?
    10.$3 milllion on trips to the Olymipics for anybody n EVabody?

Ah tired man…Are these the achievements you speak of?No wonder they had to walk to the Treasury yesterday lol……

35. The electorate should not be captivated by “show ” over substance, we have had too much of that in the past. The show can be BOUGHT substance cannot be so easily obtained.

If the DLP concentrate on the FACT of achievements – despite a world wide recession – and constantly hammer it home, they will be the only team in this test match, as the surge is with them. They just have to keep the ship steady, hold their nerve and everyone on message. The ship is coming home.
    _ _ _ _ _ _
    As regards the UK, Chancellor Osborne is keeping expenditure and borrowing in check and providing he does not buckle – due to the urgings of some in the Conservative Party and the expected opposition noises – the UK will come out of this well, much to the advantage of Barbados.

36. Exactly which planet are the DLP playing in … clearly not earth. A pure dlp propaganda BU submission.

Dont disappoint me David …

37. Owen Arthur has clearly shown he wants to avoid full debate of the issues. It smacks of arrogance and is a most anti-democratic move because full and open debate is the lifeblood of democracy. Limiting debate of the issues to the political platform puts Barbadians at a serious disadvantage,” — then Opposition Leader David Thompson calling for televised general election debates on December 27, 2007. (Barbados Today)

BU investigate this if you bad your boy Owen Arthur running scared from debates again.

38. @Austin

Relax!

For the last year you and others have submitted pro-BLP submission, now that the DLP is doing the same you are crying fowl?

Often times any value in these partisan positions can be found in the commentary. It affords the swing/independent voter to make up their minds. BU is very conscious that it is the silly season.

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

People in Barbados are afraid. They are understandably afraid of what will happen if they choose the wrong party for the next five years. I am not talking about the uninformed and the belligerent the are going to vote based on what is the popular thing to do. To all intents and purposes that will be to vote out the DLP so the DLP campaign cannot focus on them it must focus on the rest of the population which is genuinely seeking to discern competency based on what is presented to them.

That such is an oxymoron goes without saying for barring being Jesus the Christ one cannot discern competency.

Doan mind the wuk up-ism that has raised its head at political rallies that is what floats to the top in this mix of local politics.

What one has to “see” is if the message that is coming from either quarter can give the discerning audience that a specific candidate has what it takes to merit one’s vote.

On the other hand if one sees the subliminal message within the BLP poster hanging one sees that each of their candidates pictures are accompanied by one of OSA as the we going with Owen theme is quietly presented again

If Freundal were truly a DLP man he could, even at this late stage, give up the helm

That, in one fail swoop, would I believe bring it home for the DLP but that would be a man who believed in something other than self and this shall never be Freundal Stewart

40. old onion bags on February 2, 2013 at 5:45 AM
    ————————————————
    Hi Onions,
    Show us the BLP achievements….be sure to reserve a page for :
    # GREENLAND
    # GEMS
    # NIGERIAN SOLAR project
    # Al BARACK

These were MONUMENTAL hallmarks.

Be sure to pass out a copy to your audience today at the BLP Party Monarch rehearsal in Haggatt Hall .

41. Here is another one being hit out the BALL PARK.

AN AD protryaing FS as a leader with CHARACTER and INTEGRITY!

Will the public see a similiar AD Of OSA .

42. @Fractured BLP

You have correctly highlighted the issue for Barbadians in this election. We voted on the very issues you raised in 2008 and they are being presents again. Twiddledee and Twiddledum.

43. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

in 2008 ppl voted for cost of living the DLP did ah great job of making bajans believe it was to high and that is was so because of the BLP govt ,and then they were the vat free on building items for ppl building homes over 100,000 and vat off of certain health products that wun had me good ,in ah nut shell ppl voted for COST OR LIVING JOBS #1,2,& 3

44. @ Caswell Franklyn
    You obviously were not present at Bay Street . Crossfyah started the entertainment at around & oclock an finished at around 7: 30 . What other entertainment are you talking about ?

45. ” Crossfyah started the entertainment at around 7 oclock and finished at around 7:30 …”

46. Pieceuhderockright;

You said above;
    “If Freundal were truly a DLP man he could, even at this late stage, give up the helm. That, in one fail swoop, would I believe bring it home for the DLP but that would be a man who believed in something other than self and this shall never be Freundal Stewart”.

That is the real problem for the DLP. FS’ true character

47. I forgot to mention above that if he had listened to the eager 11 and acted appropriately instead of leaking the letter to the Nation the DLP would already have been in its second term of government. If the DLP lose this one or even come close to losing it would all have been demonstrably the fault of FS.

48. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

i don’t know much bout the DLP but i know Barbados cant handle 5 more yrs with Stuart as PM his style of leadership does not inspire confidence and at times he does not see to have ah clue what is going on or be in control

49. @ Fractured
    Yes those exist and in 2008 that strategy worked because the DLP did not have to defend the list posted by Onions.Fast forward to 2013 the DLP now has a record with at least 90% of the promises they made not fulfilled and most strikingly the ECONOMY is in the tank–add annual growth recorded for the last five years and you get -4%.

A PM with integrity does not keep cabinet members without integrity in his Cabinet. What man of honesty and integrity what!!!

50. The BLP is giving lip service to unity in the BLP which is nonsense as their Boolani crook who stole $25,000.00 from Dr Boolani for a work permit matter was not part of that bus ride on Thursday he would not be seen in the someplace with the 1000 lbs of Blubber as he called Motley and Liz Thompson, and two weekends ago at a house in Bathsheba Marshall boldly stated there could no unity in the party so long as Mottley was allowed to show her face around the BLP..
    He also went on to state that if elected Mottley has no role and no Ministry to come to her and that she is bad for his party.

So don’t be confused even now Marshall wants Mottleys throat at any cost