Submitted by Charles Knighton
The tragedy at Sandy Hook

While it is always convenient to find fault with America’s culture when such atrocities as that which has befallen Newtown, Connecticut occur, how do we explain similar atrocities perpetrated fairly regularly on elementary schoolchildren in China?

If such similar monsters arise in such fundamentally diverse cultures, is culture the culprit? If millions of people patronize “Batman” movies and one of these takes on the persona of the Joker to kill and wound dozens in Aurora, Colorado, is the movie the culprit? If star-crossed lovers commit suicide after reading Romeo and Juliet, is Shakespeare to blame?

We need to understand that such inherently flawed individuals have lived among us across cultures and across time. Those they interact with know of their pathology and should be held accountable for their indifference to it.

1. Any mother who would have 2 semi and Bush rifle licensed in her name opens all kinds of questions. What kind of society would allow such? A flawed society!

To Charles’s point some body had to have noticed that this guy was sick?

2. this guy is typical of the psychiatric medical society who prescribed antidepressants to these psychotics and let them loose in society .most likely this guy was receiving treatment for his mental illness unfortunately children are dead and no one is going to be held accountable. i hoping that the parents would take hire a lawyer to look into his medical background to see how this lunatic was able to be walking around in such a chaotic state of mind.

3. Some deep reflections, by a deep thinker!

“Gehenna was revived today in Newto[w]n, Connecticut, where as many as 20 children at last report were slaughtered in an elementary school this morning . . . .”

“The idea that civilization is dedicated to the protection and preservation the weak and the innocent, and not about fulfilling evil impulses to defile and destroy innocence, is the root and core of the West. One cannot conceive of anything more monstrous than a person or persons who could look small children in the eye and systematically shoot them dead. Which is why this crime, among the worst crimes in American history, is not just an assault on the children, or their families, or the town of Newtown—though it is all those things.”

“What the killer(s) did today was nothing less than a contemporary sacrifice to Moloch, in whatever form Moloch manifests himself today—the appeasement of a voice in the head, most likely. Evil, even if it is loosed due to mental illness, is an effort to destroy the common good by making good appear powerless, ineffectual, weak. Today saw a horrifically effective effort to give evil a victory. It has opened a portal and brought Hell to earth.”

Gehenna is real again.

“Gehanna is real again, as the hell-on-earth appeasement of a demonic, crazed voice in the head, or in the organised cases, of the demands of a rage- or power- driven nihilist ideology that imagines that waging war on innocents conveniently gathered in soft targets is somehow justifiable and not outright demonic savagery. Something, we must all ponder and find an answer to.”

“(And BTW, we can push to one side the “let’s get rid of the guns and it will solve the problem” talking point, for it is plainly a miss-the-point distraction. The attack in China was a knife attack, could easily have been a cutlass- or axe- wielding attack that would have been just as brutally lethal as a gun attack. Failing that, as the past decade has driven home with all horror, we can have a walk-in or drive-in suicide bombing. How are we going to “control” knives etc, or basic chemicals, nails, Chemistry textbooks, glassware, plastic bottles or the like and simple electronics that can be used to make an initiator? Have we forgotten that “when guns are outlawed, it is the outlaws who will have the guns” — some of them in uniform, with duly authorised badges? Have we forgotten the implications of large scale smuggling and black markets for illicit drugs? Have we forgotten the lesson of the school-targetting attacks by Palestinian terrorists in Israel in the 1970′s, where the solution was to arm and train selected teachers, hardening the target? So, while indeed it is appropriate to see how we can regulate firearms and prevent needless tragedies, disarming the law abiding public is not a real solution. No, not while we are by and large finding silly excuses to turn a blind eye to thousands of rockets targetting civilians going about the ordinary business of life in Israel — including waves of rockets timed for when children are leaving school to go home, and when we are too often playing twist-about blame game tactics without doing something positive to resolve the problem of tens of thousands of terrorist rockets. No, not while we are studiously ignoring the reality that a known terrorist state — the one backing the rocket campaign against Israeli civilians from behind the shield of civilians held hostage in Gaza and southern Lebanon — is rushing ahead to pass the nuke red line (probably by next spring), in a world where demolition nukes and suicide bombers are a horrific match-up made in Hell; pointing to a horrifically possible headline in a few years time, where it will not be a “mere” school attack, but a whole city gone up in nuclear smoke and fire — an all too literal manifestation of Gehenna. There can be no technological and simplistic law-making quick fix to the problem of Gehenna let loose again.)”

“I repeat: there can be no technological and simplistic law-making quick fix to the problem of Gehenna let loose again.”

That is what we face, and it is what we have to address.

“We have to rebuild a global consensus and a community consensus, that we must not invite Gehenna to walk in the door. And, we must be prepared to defend it, taking a clear sighted look at what is happening, and where it can go.”

“Clever talking point games and agenda driven irrelevant “fixes” must be put aside, and we need to look deep into the recesses of our hearts and deal with the portals within that invite Gehenna to walk in the door.”

“Evil must be faced, named, shamed and countered.”

4. Those they interact with know of their pathology and should be held accountable for their indifference to it.
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    I hope that you are referring to people of the medical profession. As a layman ,one cannot go into a court of law and labeled another as being drunk, although your experience have pointed to such. The first thing that the lawyer representing that person will ask, is Are you a Doctor?

5. @David
    To Charles’s point some body had to have noticed that this guy was sick?
    What was he sick of/with? I haven’t heard many theories but no diagnosis……

6. That should be “I’ve heard many theories..”.

7. @Sargeant

It was a general point ie. this person had to be mentally perturbed and therefore others closed to him must have seen signs.

8. Gun control? We need medication control!

In mass shootings involving guns and mind-altering medications, politicians immediately seek to blame guns but never the medication.

Nearly every mass shooting that has taken place in America over the last two decades has a link to psychiatric medication, and it appears today’s tragic event is headed in the same direction.

According to ABC News, Adam Lanza, the alleged shooter, has been labeled as having “mental illness” and a “personality disorder.” These are precisely the words typically heard in a person who is being “treated” with mind-altering psychiatric drugs.

One of the most common side effects of psychiatric drugs is violent outbursts and thoughts of suicide.

Note: The shooter was originally mid-identified as Ryan Lanza but has now been corrected to Adam Lanza.

The Columbine High School shooters were, of course, on psychiatric drugs at the time they shot their classmates in 1999. Suicidal tendencies and violent, destructive thoughts are some of the admitted behavioral side effects of mind-altering prescription medications.

http://theintelhub.com/2012/12/15/school-shooter-adam-lanza-likely-on-meds-labeled-as-having-personality-disorder/

9. Video: The TRUE SOURCE of RANDOM & MASS SHOOTINGS and VIOLENCE

Psychiatric drugs and the link to suicide, violence and murder.

Video at link: http://xrepublic.tv/node/1410

10. Goes to David’s point of the kind of mother, having a son of unstable mind, and yet deliberately having such high powered weapons in the home and available to him….
    There are some unstable persons in every society, HOWEVER, most rational societies take pains to ensure that such weapons of mass destruction are not routinely available to such persons – or even to ‘normal’ persons.

In the final analysis, this pervasiveness with weapons stems from a national obsession with self-protection, which itself stems from a lack of belief in a God who can in fact be a protector. Is it not interesting that the front line seems to be schools, churches, Malls and cinemas? …..places from which God has been effectively removed…

The safest place in the USA now seems to be in the Armed forces, where pilots can sit in an air conditioned base and kill individuals on the other side of the world, and where soldiers have the very best protective systems and medical response EVER in history. …..meanwhile teachers and Mums are the front line heroes…

“In those last days, the first shall be last and the last shall be first….”

11. @Bushie

A check of gunpolicy.org website shows the USA leads the way in gun violence.

Go figure

12. a person with physchotic behave demonstrates anger and violence and could have easily use a bomb to create the same result. the point is that when lunatics are left free to roam society what happened in connecticut would continue unless the physchiatric medical society is brought to bear and take some blame .this is a problem that goes far and beoynd the ownership of guns but one that have happened too many times linking these mass murderes to antidepression drugs .the above video is a good eye opener to how the phsychiatric faternity gets away with murder there are equally to blame for what happened in connecticut .

13. Events/accidents normally take place as the result of a series of contributors. Again Campus Trenz was the result of lapses in responsibility by officialdom along with the trigger. Drugs by themselves would NOT have resulted in the disaster in the US. Seriously folks, if Zoe had clear access to assault weaponry would something NOT have happened by now …?

14. @ ac
    …why don’t you go and put on some clothes and go long to Church or something nuh?

There are psychotic persons roaming Our world since Adam was a lad… Hell we even have you and Onions roaming BU… What do you want to do ? lock them all up? Shoot them?
    Stupseeeee

RATIONAL societies ensure that the amount of damage that they can possibly do is limited.
    …for example, We do not allow you to write serious Blogs, and we only entertain Onions when things are slow and we need a laugh. 🙂

Where, in a rational society will a psychotic person have access to bombs? Guns? …only in USA!!

We have to wonder now about who in the USA have access to the red button…

15. bush Tea i don’t expect you to connect the dots .since you are still awaiting BBE to clean up the mess.

16. All of the US networks are beginning to discuss the mentally sick segment of that society which is not being adequately addressed and when one adds easy access to guns – especially the semi automatic type – it is a recipe for hell. A person like Bush Tea is likely to tackle a knife wielding person than a person pumping an assault rifle. In the US we have both scenarios existing which makes Sandy Hook and the shooting up of theatres incidents that will continue to occur.

Ac please don’t defend nonsense.

17. David i think you are as ludicrous as all the others . wher did i defend guns in america or anyone rights to own them. i never expressed my opinion on guns and its connection .my area of concern is on mental illness and the violent impact on society when there are allowed to roam freely in a society which is pron to violence, sometimes one tunnel vision gets in the way of not letting one see the complete and only focus on part. there is sufficient evidence to support both problems which is epidemic in society. any body talking nonsense is you for trying to disconnect what happened numerous times in america as a result to mental illness and just placing it solely on guns. the combination of both gives a deadly result. both must be tackled in a human way.

18. Firstly, what is missing from this discussion is the role of pharmaceutical companies. For these are a generalized enemy to all mankind and an indicator of the wider wicked system. Until we go there, this discussion is impotent. Secondly, how come the world over is caught up in a discussion for days about 26 white people when thousands of innocent men, women and children die every year by drones sent by the mourner-in-chief, where are the tears for that innocence? We have never seen this son of a bitc- mourning for the innocence he kills with impunity daily. Oh, i remember, only white peoples’ blood can make black people mourn for days on end. All of this mourning when civil wars have engulfed black communities in the USA, for decades, but the mourner-in-chief does not give a fu-k about the innocence of these civil wars, for only black people are dying or other people of colour. The must powerful guns can be purchased in black communities in the USA 9his country) for as little as 200 dollars, and there is no limit to the number one can buy at anytime! These guns can carry magazines with 31 bullets, or more. The dirty wars these people have fought in other peoples’ countries have indeed come home to roost. Thirdly, before we raised the question of the violent, white, christian, racist, economic and cultural wars waged by the west against the peoples of the South for 500 years we will be consistent if we argue that it is time for these people to reap what they sow – according to their book?

19. @ac

Do you read what you write? If you have a growing mentally sick segment in the US juxtaposed to farcical gun laws what do you think will happen? To speak to ‘violence’ in some nebulous way will not cut it. The US is violent societybut at least try to make access to these killer weapons more difficult in the short term. The clock is ticking, who/where will be next?

This comment you posted is unfathomable. Comparing the making access to a bomb?

“a person with physchotic behave demonstrates anger and violence and could have easily use a bomb to create the same result. the point is that when lunatics are left free to roam society what happened in connecticut would continue unless the physchiatric medical society is brought to bear and take some blame .this is a problem that goes far and beoynd the ownership of guns but one that have happened too many times linking these mass murderes to antidepression drugs .the above video is a good eye opener to how the phsychiatric faternity gets away with murder there are equally to blame for what happened in connecticut .”

20. @Pacha

How can you single out pharmaceutical companies? Is this entity unregulated and a law onto itself?

21. @ David.

You are wrong about the notion of the USA making accessibility to guns more difficult. The legal facade 9and that is what it is) is merely to (1) stop black and poor people from having legally purchased weapons and (2) most importantly, provide a legal and an illegal market for guns in the USA. Legal for whites, illegal for most blacks and the poor. But the manufacturers sales are of the paramount interest to the powers that be – not safety, PROFITS! In this respect there is NO difference between the gun manufacturers and the drug manufacturers. In deed drug companies operate like the Cali cartel – no joke!

22. david i stand by my comment. Remember JEFFREY DOMER. the physchotic luntic who killed many hacking them to death.the room for debate is opened and spread far and wide beyond guns because at the end of these mass murders are sick deranged people who will kill by any mean necessary aided and abated by mind altering drugs, that can not be disputed,

23. @ David
    3000 people die in the USA every months because of prescription drugs. Do you not see their ads on TV? Why do you think they give a long list of disclosures? Answer, to avoid the lawsuits that their harmful products generate.

24. @Pacha

We are saying the same thing only that one has to blame the governance system where these agencies operate and NOT the agencies themselves. But ut is a circular discussion because money rules.

25. Pacha

You ain’ see them two URL’s that I put up there back to back … We pon the same track again … HA HA HA ..!

Look pharm and arms are big business, BIG lobbies and YES the result is as per OUR perception of things … HA HA HA … Friends again pardner …HA HA HA

26. @David
    It was a general point ie. this person had to be mentally perturbed and therefore others closed to him must have seen signs
    The gunman in Aurora, Colorado who shot up the movie theatre was seeing the school psychiatrist.

@Bush Tea
    I understand the concept of “karma” however in your interpretation it is selectively applied, but the floor is yours and I am always willing to be taught.

27. ac
    “sick deranged people who will kill by any mean necessary aided and abated by mind altering drugs”

Please be directed to my posting of a URL with pics on events that have recently taken place in Afghanistan. You see any similarity with what you are presenting …? 🙂

28. @ BPFBFP

“Seriously folks, if Zoe had clear access to assault weaponry would something NOT have happened by now …?”

:”For though we walk in the flesh, we (Christians) do NOT war according to the flesh.” ( With Guns, bullets, etc)

“For the WEAPONS of our WARFARE are NOT carnal ( As seen here on BU) but MIGHTY through God for pulling down strongholds, casting down ARGUMENTS ( like those on BU) and every high thing that EXALTS itself against the knowledge of God ( BU bloggers again) bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.” (I Cor. 10: 3-5).

So, keep on waring IN the FLESH of ignorance, while the battle IS only and truly fought and won, IN the realm of the Spiritual!

29. @ Baf
    I don’t recall when we were anything other than friends and comrades in the cause of justice. We may have some minor points of ‘divergence’ at times but when the chips are down we will always be a friend on your side, our side.

30. Zoe,

When I dead I dead hear … No spirit world fah me … So you know you talklin’ ta a dumby. Continue if you really got time tah waste … HA HA HA ..HA HA HA

31. @ Baf

‘I” have first place in line – to hell hear. You are second, LOL

32. @ Sarge
    If you understand Karma, then you will see that any question of it being “selectively applied” is about as logical as the selective application of Gravity…
    …so it had to be Bushie’s poor communication skills…Sorry!

ac is hopeless, but there is always prayer….!

@ Pachamama & Baffy
    Actions have consequences. You can’t be bombing poor children EVERY DAY, EVERY WEEK in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Syria, Libya, Sudan, and lord knows where else… and not expect to taste your own medicine some day…
    …just because CNN dismisses these tragedies as collateral damage and as bylines does NOT reduce the tears of parents, friends and communities…
    As Simple Simon says…. God don’t like ugly…so YES! Some of the “Natural” disasters may well be “cut asses” applied by a caring master in order to let us see what we are doing to others…

…as Bushie’s mother used to say about progressive corporal punishment, “hard ears yuh wun hear, own way you gun feel…”
    Would a sensible human being, after having had a “Katrina” in one of their cities, not seriously reflect on what they were doing to innocents in OTHER cities….like Tripoli? Baghdad and Kabul? Stupseeee
    …now they have a “Sandy” in their main city …..any changes? Any reflections on what lessons are being taught?……
    …keep playing the donkey and see what else will happen….

33. Pacha

You ga long ta hell I sure yah gun fin’ a lotta truly good people down there, people who have died miserably because they were taken sooner than planned and were as a result unable to complete their noble deeds. Fah me the only suffering will be the process of dying and really hope that I don’ have to suffer … I got a cyanide capsule just in case …!

34. Bush

You fully appreciate that this is NOT about morals and reflection, this is about BIG business where the only moral is influence, and what it can provide for those who have it. The rest of us can stew …

BTW, I sellin’ cyanide capsules, Zoe you interested …?

35. @BAF

How are ethics in business devoid of morality?

36. BAF as reference to your posting and afghanistan the similarity can also be tied to many of the soldiers that return to the USA are also depressed due in part to the affects of having to live a life dealing withg death and horror and as a result many of them have to be treated for maniac depression . anyhow to infer as some have said that Karma was present at those killings is a bunch of hogwash when indeed a raving raging lunatic was the sole activator of that mass and horrific murderer.

37. @ac
    These lackeys can always be depended upon to posit the simplistic impressions of their masters, no thinking for themselves, no deeper analysis

38. This ‘sole gunman’ notion is always present in American social theory. The Kennedy assination was some lone gunman, when the perponderance of evidence points to a CIA plot. How many times must these happen before fools stop saying ‘a lone gunman’ and see a systemic or underlying cultural phenomenon. I guess white christian constructions are infalable. These bastards are not even calling it what it is – terrorism. If the socalled lone gunman was of another religion the white christian war planes would be looking for Muslims to kill. This is totally unacceptable and marks the beginning of the end of white christian dominance in this universe!

39. ac

I wid you … No Karma, that is just Sargeant trying to appeal to Bush. What I think I see as we ALL agreeing on is that it is the combination of the easy access to assault weaponry (let’s face it, had the guy used a knife or a Bajan big rock the casualty numbers would have been a hell of a lot smaller) and the easy access to pharmaceuticals (both legal and otherwise) that results in incidences as described.

Now David is of the opinion that there is such a thing as business ethics that is related to standard morals as is defined by the pious among us. Well here is the thing. The precepts of business are primordial. They were formed within the animal psyche long before an understanding of right and wrong was devised by human beings (invariably men) who simply created these concepts to protect themselves from the threat of unwanted traits, like homosexuals and men like Miller with 12″ weapons …!

40. Some may posit the argument what is fuelling this upsurge in violence is the vacuum left by the separation of Church and State.

41. “These bastards are not even calling it what it is – terrorism. If the socalled lone gunman was of another religion the white christian war planes would be looking for Muslims to kill.”

Jesus H C’rist Pacha, you smoking today HA HA HA

42. @ ac
    You’re a female rabbit.

43. David | December 16, 2012 at 12:56 PM |

This David beginnin’ tah sound like Ellis now … t’rowing in straw men to them burn … HA HA HA… But David trying to wake up GP or wah … 🙂

44. Pacha don’ call my girl dah man … She did ’bout hey too long now …

45. @BAF

Focus on vacuum and not religion.

@Pacha

Why do you have to resort to labelling? Use you intellect to overpower the argument.

46. @ David
    We say sorry to you – and you alone!

47. pachman when last you had acess to a female rabbit. i guess not for a while. maybe you long overdue.. BTW you need to show respect for the females who visit this blog. i got a good name fuh you N..i …g.. r

48. As man though David,
    …somebody should try to help ac!
    Bushie don’t know how, or even who…..but fambly is fambly!