Submitted by Charles Knighton
The tragedy at Sandy Hook

While it is always convenient to find fault with America’s culture when such atrocities as that which has befallen Newtown, Connecticut occur, how do we explain similar atrocities perpetrated fairly regularly on elementary schoolchildren in China?

If such similar monsters arise in such fundamentally diverse cultures, is culture the culprit? If millions of people patronize “Batman” movies and one of these takes on the persona of the Joker to kill and wound dozens in Aurora, Colorado, is the movie the culprit? If star-crossed lovers commit suicide after reading Romeo and Juliet, is Shakespeare to blame?

We need to understand that such inherently flawed individuals have lived among us across cultures and across time. Those they interact with know of their pathology and should be held accountable for their indifference to it.

1. @ David
    How can we critically discuss anything that happens without going to philosophy. When we get there we will find that religion is a sub-branch of philosophy. It was from this christian doctrine that everything that has happened in this world for the last 500 years was built by white people and aimed ay dominating the world by any means necessary. Could you please explain how Baf or anyone else could have a real discussion removed from historical realism?

2. @Pacha

History defines us.

3. @ ac
    We wear the epithet you suggested with honour. We love everything black and are not the type of Bajan like you who draw up under white people and have all this adoration for them and their god. We cuss black people to, but aint afraid of white people like you. That fear makes you accept what they say without question. In fact, we have found that most black people in Barbados still have deep fear for the local so-called whites. You have a lot of big talk when they are not around but by the time they appear cowards like you genuflect.

4. Pachyaman you are comlpete a hole as soon as another position is presented you get down to name calling a bunch of dellusional bastards. anybody who need help is you Bush Tea cause your level of intolerance is similar to that of a madman

5. @ ac
    We also agree that we are mad – but we not foolish though, like you! If a former slave retains the name of the slave master, his religion and all other cultural norms, to us, that is the real madness. A madness for which there is no treatment from outside.

6. ac

I likes you bad … HA HA HA .. MURDA .. David you got ta give the woman special mention in your year end tributes (assuming you have one this year) HA HA HA .. ac is get dem goin’ … HA HA HA. Pach I likes you but ef yah gun be tekkin’ ac on, I is a man dat will chose real trouble to side wid … HA ha ha. Don’ mind my connection with a history, I ain’ na Ph.D but I know when licks sharin’ and you and Bush gun be tekkin’ some taday self … HA HA HA HA … MURDA …!

7. pachma what de f..uc you talking about where in de hell did i talk about christianity .i couldn’t give a c..t one way or another you need to stay of the bottle and get down off your irrationalise tirade . just leve my c..t alone cause yu ain’t getting none jerk.

the fact that one would used Karma as a backdrop to the past days horror is as delussional as saying that there is a man in the moon just because one believes it. now pachma oldman don’t try rocking the boat because there not going to be a live jacket for you to cling too. VAMOS dirt bag! HAPPY KARMA TO YOU. i hope you live a good live and did nobody wrong You old goat!

8. imagine using Karma as self defence to what happen in a court of law . Bush tea and Pachyman are both a bunch of nitwits. Losers>

9. @Bush Tea and Pacha

Please humour BU and stay fixated on the issue, others are following the blog and the tangentials detract.

10. @ David

We accede!

11. LOL
    OK David, but you must admit that today’s issues got ac cussing like if she Is Rihanna’s big bad sister…. 🙂
    …seem that a lotta lawyers (and their families) may not sleep too well as long as we pursue this PLANTATIONS DEEDS issue yuh….
    Ah wonder why…?

On Topic..
    Seriously, Bushie is heart broken for the families of those killed and injured as well as those otherwise affected by this school shooting…
    …but to be honest, the almost daily carnage wrought by the USA (and their Israeli masters) and NATO goons on what boils down to be innocent men, women and children in third world countries has been breaking Bushie’s heart for so long now, that ac may be right about the resulting impact on the Bushman’s tolerance levels….

Perhaps ac only gets her news from CNN and BBC and saves herself (through ignorance) from the stresses endured daily by Bushie.
    Stay away from Al Jazeera , Russia Today and such alternative news outlets please ac – if you wish to stay happy and ignorant…

LOL…that is like a Bajan reading the Nation and Advocate and assuming that they know what is happening in Barbados….. 🙂

12. The worst shooting disaster was in Norway last year. A country that had strict gun control but again a lunatic running loose in society killing over 70 kids and adults. I agree with the comments that more focus needs to be on identifying mental health isues and dealing with them.

13. @Konkieman

How do you compare and isolated event with what has become a more frequent occurrence in the US?

14. @ Bushie

I thought we had cosmically decided on an end to all such matters with David as the mediator. LOL

15. you two parasities Bushie and patchy man getting it all twisted .i for one no mouthpiece for al jazeera or bbc or any loudmouth media thy all got there personnal agendas and there job is to infiltrate the minds of the listeners and win the war of verbal hyperbole . i on the other hand seek answers as to the why ! and causes not simply to take issues out of context and use them as a political ploy to form any conclusion first starting with sensitivity and ending with rationality .

16. Bush Taa

Man lef the woman be nah … You in luv …? HA HA HA

17. Bush Miss Bonny so ac is the next bes’ t’ing. Look Bush WE ALL MISS Bonny. She gone fah good … like Scout. Lef ac be man … HA HA HA

18. Many of our young and not so young,have adopted the cap peak behind trend, the pants below the crack of their arse style , body powder plastered around their necks, KFC , tossing shoes up on the utility lines, etc etc. Lets hope that the recent occurrence is one north american trend that will not be adopted in the Caribbean.

19. @Colonel Buggy

Not likely if we look at a comparison of privately registered guns compared to a few countries:

http://wp.me/a41kz-6ta

20. Paul Tibbets, the man that flew the plane that dropped the bomb over Hiroshima killing 80,000 civilians while they slept in their beds and untold others who were affected by radiation died at the ripe old age of 92 on Nov 1, 2007. He said that did not lose any sleep over his actions. Another guy who did not lose any sleep was Charles Donald Albury who had the advantage of flying in the plane that followed Tibbets witnessed the explosion having dropped instrumentation on the lab rats below, then followed three days later as the pilot of the plane that dropped the bomb over Nagasaki. That bomb killed 60,000 civilians in their sleep. Albury died three years ago. Both actions are clearly the most cowardly acts in the history of mankind and neither man lost a minute of sleep. To my mind the only difference between these types of people and the type that would kill groups of babies is that one requires drugs to perform and the other is employed by the Government of the United States. These men lived full and long lives.

Tek it from me, no God, none …!

21. Bush Tea
    Bush Tea the waffle maker! That answer regarding Karma was as weak as anything you’ve written but AC is “manning up” and taking you out with some selected scud missiles. Remember he who fights and runs away lives to fight another day.

22. BAFBFP | December 16, 2012 at 11:36 AM |
    Zoe,

“When I dead I dead hear … No spirit world fah me … So you know you talklin’ ta a dumby. Continue if you really got time tah waste … HA HA HA ..HA HA HA”

BAF, Man, Athiest far brighter and more intelligent than you, I.e., a Medical Doctor, and Ph.D., et al died and went to Hell, which they DID NOT believe existed before they died; only to be given a chance by Jesus, who put their Soul/spirit back into their bodies, to GO TELL the world, of the absolute HORROR, of Hell.

BTW, there AIN’T NO party with friends in HELL, it IS ALL Agony, Torment, and untold misery, beyond words!

Keep unbelieving!

23. I just can’t understand how a man like GP believe in the crap Zoe spouts. Zoe you back again with this shoite bout people who went to hell and came back and told you about it? Go and take your meds! And I hope you don’t have any guns in yuh house!

24. USA, whole country has some sort of mental health issue as well as gun obsessions and compulsions with gun collection and usage.
    Guns are in US Constitution and History for Cowboys to fight Indians and Keep blacks / slaves in line. Guns are not needed in Urban and Suburban areas except for shoot outs with other gunmen. Guns get used for domestic arguments and trying to outdo each other in shock violence

25. It appears this nondescript suburban housewife was a gun collector of sorts. The irony is that she taught the family to shoot. Based on this report why would you keep guns around this boy who turned out to be half crack?

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/conn-gunman-learned-shoot-mom-article-1.1220893

26. Zoe

Don’ mind the foolishness that I spout, I is a Ph.D too hear, so don’ be tellin’ that de got people out dey wid Ph.D’s or MBBS’s who brighter than me … I gun tek real offense … I ain’ gun insult you like islandgirl, but I would suggest you dig deeper and find out that these people who claim’ to have seen hell are just victims of the power of the mind when such is altered in some way …

I still selling cyanide pills. in case you find yourself suffering when yah happen to be in the departure lounge … They on special …! HA HA AH

27. mayan prophecy

28. @ David. Not likely if we look at a comparison of privately registered guns compared to a few countries:
    …………………………………………………………………….
    And the operative word is ‘registered’.

29. 1. The easy availability of powerful weapons + 2. mental illness + 4. a lack of good medicines for teens and young adults with mental illness = Sandy Hook, Columbine etc.

All 3 problems have to be fixed together

30. @David
    Based on this report why would you keep guns around this boy who turned out to be half crack?

What spectrum of illness fall into the category of “half crack”?

31. @Simple Simon
    The easy availability of powerful weapons + 2. mental illness + 4. a lack of good medicines for teens and young adults with mental illness = Sandy Hook, Columbine etc.
    There is a rush to judgement that the young man was suffering from mental illness so far this has not been confirmed. I heard an interview with friends of his mother who said he had Asperger’s Syndrome which does not fall into the category of mental illness.

32. @Sargeant

Asperger syndrome maybe considered on the autism spectrum but if he was a member of the BU household and suffered such a gun would be the last weapon to be found in close proxim.

33. aside from the Asperger syndrome . it has been reported he suffered from other forms of mental illnes which he demonstrated periodically .

34. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

“If you bad, touch dat”

“Ok, if you bad touch it again”

How many times in our lives during the 20’s up until the 70’s did we watch a scene with the village bad boys, we good friend Cephus and Junior put up he finger during some verbal altercation and pronounce dem bad john words?

How many times did we laugh as Cephas and the udder fellow put up he finga and tek it down and walk away?

“Man i gine stab you, bus you head wid a bottle” and all these verbal protestations were just that “verbal accostings” that permitted us to vent and then the voice of reason kicked in or the fear of your muddah, faffah or granmuddah whose house you had to go in that night kicked in and whaplax reason took over and everything was everything.

Remember that we realised that Cephus and Junior played wid us on the footbal team or was our partner in dominoes and while he did Kill our couple six most of the time, we did not want to kill him over stepping pun we big toe after all.

Fast Forward to “Grand Theft Auto” a time when our youth live with games that insensitize them to what is the appropriate response to a “conflict” and if you look to hard at one of these people nowaday in BIM dem want to brek you up.

Add this to the great ole USofA with its range of drugs, maladjusted youth, lack of GOD, broken families, no extended family, no community to fall back on, pedophiles who get 2 years and all of that and well it is not so hard to see that killing 26 people because mum told us that we cant use the Playstation II all night for 3 weeks straight with the volume up at 30 is the norm in Amurica.

We are the ones contributing to this problem by diluting our values,, accomodating the errant behaviours while calling the 2 year old bawling down the mall cute, and then we arrive at this point every three months when the country of diminished values gets a Batman/Columbine/Connecticut slaying. Wow give me a break.

Lanza kills 6-7 year olds, Hitler killed twins after experimenting on them for years, until some were 14-16 years old, and Vietnam saw America employing Equal Opportunity Employment and killing 16-25 year old BLACKS in disproportionate numbers given the number of drafted white servicemen,

As we go through (recent) history we see that various societies raise or lower that age limit and this “righteous indignation” that we express over losing our young ones or our old ones or our middle aged one, becomes quite blurred.

A generation of vipers shall be born unto them,

35. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

I hear you but listen to “Morgan Freeman’s :

“You want to know why. This may sound cynical, but here’s why.

It’s because of the way the media reports it. Flip on the news and watch how we treat the Batman theater shooter and the Oregon mall shooter like celebrities. Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris are household names, but do you know the name of a single *victim* of Columbine? Disturbed
    people who would otherwise just off themselves in their basements see the news and want to top it by doing something worse, and going out in a memorable way. Why a grade school? Why children? Because he’ll be remembered as a horrible monster, instead of a sad nobody.”

If there is any truth to the above or indeed what you are saying heaven help the parents and children in that part of the world

36. Where did this KILLING all first start?

“…that Cain ROSE up against Abel his brother and KILLED him.” (Gen. 4: 8b).

The FIRST boychild born to Adam and Eve, Cain, MURDERED his brother Abel!

SIN, SIN, and more SIN, is the cause of it all, its just manifested IN a multiplicity of ways and forms, throughout History, and it AIN’T go nothing to DO with the Colour of ones SKIN, as there AIN’T no, BLACK SIN, or WHITE SIN, or BROWN or YELLOW SIN.

“For ALL ( BLACK, WHITE, et al) have SINNED and fall short of the Glory of God.” ( Rom. 3:23)

“The heart ( emotions, desires, plans) IS deceitful above ALL things, And DESPERATLY WICKED, Who can KNOW it? (Only God) (Jer. 17:9)

And the ONLY answer is to be found IN, The Lord Jesus Christ, not gun control, or in man’s humanistic, secular, Godless ideas and regulations!

“For the WAGES (penalty) of SIN is DEATH ( separation FROM God in Hell) BUT the GIFT of God IS* eternal life IN* Christ Jesus our Lord.”

37. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar

@ David (BU)

Goodly Sir i ignored my rule this morning to click on a link by one Kiki titled Mayan Prophecy.

Well let me say this gentlemen there is a time for everything and this is a time for censorship extraordinaire!!

This Kiki should be banned fro this site forever!!

Did you click on the link? Up to now i cant understand the connection to the topic being explained and the kaleidoscope of pictures and ranting song being played.

Well after that experience i can say that Kiki is on some type of hallucinogenics and should publish where she/he is going to be for the next few months so that i will know where not to go lest i become a Columbine statistic!

Looka dem is more mad peoples out dan in!!

38. Kiki is a youngster out of London and all that he is referring to is what it seems is everybody, bar you Piece Uh, is talking about and that is the ending of the Mayan Calender (20-12-2012) … that is all. This guy believe you me is not mad …!

39. Kiki is one of the sanest persons on this blog so leff Kiiki alone pleeze!

40. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!…….yuh head musse hard like rock stone dat yuh cahn understand Kiki.

41. Kiki is not a man. Kiki is a she and a damn smart one too. The only girl in a family of HQP; and an IT genius. Kiki can see things some people will never see. You have to be analytical to interpret and understand Kiki. She operates on a very high plane. She is not mad, in fact, she is one of the sanest and fairest people on this blog.

Why do people call for the banning of what they dont understand?

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar

Is it the fact that the prophets of doom and gloom were/are Mayan and that the romance associated with an age that has past (coupled with a great Hollywood movie) automatically give credence to the mumblings of a civilization that, like the dodo bird, has long disappeared or by some unknown (to me) rite of passage that every David Kuresh Jim Jones or Oral Roberts end-of-the-world espousing maniac can give a deadline for the end of the world, and when the deadline comes, and goes, can continue to expound on this 2012 ending.

Those people could not count but yet still the whole world regards their illiteracy as unassailable prophecy, sacrosanct and written in stone, immutable truths and your humble servant must bow down to this recently returned young citizen from Englant and these fanciful rumblings.

Well let me see if i get such reverence here with this pronouncement.borrowed from a much more respected prophet of doom in his Quatrain 1 – 87

Enno-sigee feu du centre de terre, Fera trembler au tour de Cite Neufve;

Enormous-promontories on fire in the centre of the land, Will be made to tremble around the new city

Many commentators say that Nostradamus predicts the bombing of the World Trade Towers in New (York) City but others of the “sanctum sanctorum” speak of the disaster that is yet to come where “And I beheld when he had opened the sixth seal, and, lo, there was a great earthquake; and the sun became black as sackcloth of hair, and the moon became as blood…:

I am surprised that the atheist among you would even entertain the Mayan superstition much less support it in so evident a manner.

Old age has softened us all and at 80 going to be 81 soon i accept that eclecticism is something that can soon overtake one’s immutable position that there is no GOD.

@ islandgirl 246 forgive an ole man who could not discern the profound words in the Mayan beat befitting of Marley or Burning Spear elevations

The tympanums of an ole man (do mammals have tympanum?) have long calcified and i am bereft of the sage understanding that you have been gifted with.

I shall again go to the song and listen deeply in this pierian spring

“A little learning is a dang’rous thing;
    Drink deep, or taste not the Pierian spring:
    There shallow draughts intoxicate the brain,
    And drinking largely sobers us again

43. Kiki is a woman …? How you know da … Kiki tell me self that he ain’ nah woman … True … You mean Kiki lie to me ..? Nah I don’ believe dah … nah …!

44. Man nabody say that the Mayans are right, we just saying that Kiki could be paying tribute to a very current topic and that she (he) is not mad … Wah wrong wid ya ol’ man …?

45. Kiki said that her father and brother both wanted her to become Dr. like them, but as a girl, she decided to buck that trend and go into computers.

46. I tell you Pat that Kiki ain’ nah woman … I got pictures going back thirty years… I gun call names and places and events … Do research and see. Cheltenham, Leslie, Cumberbach, Commissiong .. I have names and places and dates … I tell Kiki is a man … Check the archives, call the courts, the CJ and the DPP… They all know this … they KNOW … I telling you. Do your research …!

47. Man BAFBFP, it too early to be drinking. Leave that to my old friend Owen.

Wait, maybe you is de ex-husband she did divorce and whom the tiefing lawyers ripped off. HA, HA. HA!

48. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar

Well Kiki (the she-he or he-she of HQP) BAFBFP endorse you and once this man of few words (LOL) endorse you, you is good by me.

Not many people could trick he, though you seem to have but BAFBFP perspicacity is legendary so i going wid Kiki

49. I now find out that I related to PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS … I know now ’cause I check … I got the birth certificates and all of de baptism documents … I even got the marriage certificate fa Owen first marriage and if dah ain’ enough I got the marriage certificate for the wedding he plan ta have next year … You doubt … I sending everything ta David … waith and see. And you better be careful Pat cause I got the deeds to your house and half a the land in Canada … Don’ doubt me hear … As fah de ol’ man, you don’ own dah plot that you got at Coral Ridge, you can produce nah deeds cause I own half ah dah dey too … David gun find out … Just wait … Hold yah bref …