Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

BU has hesitantly support the science of polling and by extension the work CADRES has done in this area over the years. In Barbados CADRES has developed an enviable track record. Peter Wickham, head of CADRES has always published the methodology used, a desirable approach. Wickham has been at pain to point out that his samples are random. Over the years he has been able to gather learnings with the result his poll predictions are always close to bull-eye when the real result is known.

However many – including BU – have become concerned at the unfettered access to media space where Wickham has been  peddling his views. BU has no problem with Wickham being a social commentator, it is a free country, however a problem emerges if he is able to propagate views formed out of his polling through his contributions  weekly newspaper columns and as a host of a popular talk show. Bear in mind his polls capture the views of the population at the time taken. BU suggests that the apparent success of CADRES polls fuels Wickham’s credibility as a social commentator. The result: his views have become influential on the very population he will have to poll in the future.

The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) political strategist Maureen Holder, who succeeded Peter Wickham, has been very scathing in her critique of the methodology of the recent CADRES poll. UWI lecturer Dr. Tennyson Joseph has also been searching in his feedback of the poll in his weekly column. Many have dismissed these concerns based on party stripes or ignorance about the science of polling.  We should all take a deep breath and dispassionately discuss if there is merit to the concerns raised by the Holders, Josephs and others.

On another blog BU posted the following comment:

On a related note BU has been doing some research to ascertain if there is any country in the world where a pollster, a shaper of opinions, is also the host of a popular talk show. So far we have come up short. BU believes with all respect to Wickham that we have created a ‘monster’.

So far BU’s research about polling has turned up some interesting information.  To be honest if Wickham continues on his current path some will begin to label him a push pollster. Here is what push polling  is all about  quoting from Wikipedia:

“A push poll is an interactive marketing technique, most commonly employed during political campaigning, in which an individual or organization attempts to influence or alter the view of respondents under the guise of conducting a poll. In a push poll, large numbers of respondents are contacted, and little or no effort is made to collect and analyze response data. Instead, the push poll is a form of telemarketing-based propaganda and rumor mongering, masquerading as a poll. Push polls may rely on innuendo or knowledge gleaned from opposition research on an opponent. They are generally viewed as a form of negative campaigning.[1] This tactic is commonly considered to undermine the democratic process as false or misleading information is provided about candidates.”

Peter you should think on these things!

150 responses to “Peter Wickham, Pollster, Columnist, Talk Show Host and Social Commentator”

1. @Yagga Rowe

Can you comprehend that the issue here is about opinion shaping and not Wickham poll per se?

2. The only body who does take Peter Wickham seriously is Peter Wickham heselff. I could call some other people too but I aint going in the gutter. I is a a good boy. Peter so full of heself he say his polls can’t be question. What foolishness this is? If he so good, he should go global and bring some foreign currency to Barbados. Then he would have to behave like he did so depending on CBC for the little coppers. For a year now, he attacking the prime minister at every turn. He so preoccupied with the PM that he must be does go sleep with the on his mind. If he feel so strong against the PM, he dont expect people to say he going be bias againt the PM in he polls. What so hard about that to understand? I hear Peter went to Foundation like the PM. Peter ain’t behaving like a loyal Foundation boy at all because you would never get a Cawmerian crying down another Cawmerian. I hear de real story is that Peter wanted a job at the Commonwealth in England real bad and he din get the government to support he. He got to be crazy. He cussing the government with one breath and still expect the government to support he. That is true, Peter? Nobody ever tell yuh that you dont bite a hand that you want it to help you. Tell Barbados, Peter. IBarbados waiting on you to tell all of we why you so bitter like a aloe.

3. @ac

No pre judging, BLPites are pro and DLPites against, a reversal from 2007/2008. Of course we have a few in between but generally the comment stands.

4. It is as if David did not expect the high level of criticism levelled at Wickham he has no one else to blame but himself afterall he not only betryed the confidence of the govt but that of the people who relies ond believes his POLL .how can he be trusted he has become a political hot potatoe and fair game as his mouthings can influence many

5. @Pachamama | October 17, 2012 at 11:24 AM |

We are unaware about your exposure to the murky and insidious nature of the matter to which you speak. We are not saying proof that should be a matter for the courts. But certainty, the government was concerned enough to censor Wickham. There is also the Wikileaks cables that detail the information derived from this source. …………….

Pacha,

Since you are using Wikileaks to substantiate your assertions that Peter Wickham is a “spy”, did you not read the part where he told the US officials that David Thompson had THIRTY FOUR MILLION DOLLARS from CLICO to spend on the election?

If you are to be considered “fair”, tell BU that the DLP had 34 million CLICO dollars to fund their campaign or we will forever believe that you are a DLP hack only out to destroy Peter Wickham because he dared to move off the DLP plantation!

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | October 17, 2012 at 1:53 PM |
    “Since you are using Wikileaks to substantiate your assertions that Peter Wickham is a “spy”, did you not read the part where he told the US officials that David Thompson had THIRTY FOUR MILLION DOLLARS from CLICO to spend on the election? ”

Brilliant! I am proud of you, Prodigal Son. Well done!
    You can be top of any class teaching debating skills.
    Let’ see how the apologist handle this one which has been delivered as a beamer, a yorker a googly, a Chinaman, an off-break and a leg-break all in one ball and not even in a six ball over.
    Don’t expect a reaction to this one. The game is over!

7. Maureen Holder was affiliated wit the CAHPO/Boxill poll. enough said.

Wickham indeed has a soap box to shout from and an instrument to measure the response and reaction to his shouting, hence influencing the size and adjustment of his next bout of shouting. He’s successfully monopolised public opinion in the way companies have monopolised telecommunications/marketing, construction/building supplies and the retail/distribution industries. Until an alternative or equally strong voice on the issues appear he’ll continue.

Some of the threads have dived too quickly into partisan barbs and are losing their delicious discourse of fact, substance, allegation and counter allegation.

Just observing.

8. @Observing

It is the silly season and those who can should the loudest will be the ones heard. Regrettable but true. It belies our intelligence doesn’t it? It is the time of the year when the most intelligent feel comfortable resorting to nothingness.

9. David | October 17, 2012 at 12:26 PM |
    @Yagga Rowe

Can you comprehend that the issue here is about opinion shaping and not Wickham poll per se?

OK SIR
    I UNDERSTAND YOUR POINT
    BUT if that be the case , why the personal attacks on Peter ?

10. You DEMS are surely cry babies. I will not add to this Weeping Willow. “The true character of a man lies in how he treats those who have little or no effect on his person”….that’s you all in case you really are disillusioned…. YOUR PROOF …will be the morning AFFA…the you all will see the puppets and sorrow willows you been….just because you have’nt yet learned to call a spade a spade..

11. The hypocrisy and dishonesty exhibited here is proof that the same persons who thrive on accusing the politicians of lacking in integrity are no better. Small wonder all the ‘talkers’ and ‘knowers’ prefer to sit here and pontificate rather than go start their own party or join one of the existing four. Many have resorted to maligning Wickham’s character to discredit his polls because the truth is that’s the only to do so. The man was right in 2003 and 2007.
    Did he shape the 2008 elections? Was the sample size in 2007 the same as now? Was the methodology the same?

12. @ac

Do you understand the issue here is about Wickham and his unfettered access to media to promote his views? BU is not knocking his poll and the science. We all make contributions to civil society in the way we prefer.

Do you understand?

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 16, 2012 at 10:33 PM |
    “… since the perception given after wikileaks he is not to be trusted prior to wikileaks his polling would have been scuntinized base on peoples biases but giving his involvement with the wikileaks people would be more suspect of his trustworthiness,…”

Should such an analysis also apply to the following piquant intellectual dish admirably but poignantly delivered to the DLP anti-Wickham camp of deniers by one of the best analyst on this blog the Prodigal Son:

“Since you are using Wikileaks to substantiate your assertions that Peter Wickham is a “spy”, did you not read the part where he told the US officials that David Thompson had THIRTY FOUR MILLION DOLLARS from CLICO to spend on the election? ”

Prodigal this is really a sting from a billion deadly bees at one time worthy of an Oscar, Grammy, Toni and Nobel prize all at the same time. What a gem, my friend!

Ac, we don’t expect you to attend the prize giving functions.

14. @ David

Your article is biased. You are casting aspersions on the professional integrity of Mr. Wickham by suggesting that he may be a “push pollster”. Where is the evidence for what you are suggesting, especially with the bold type.

Did he not have similar access to the media all these years? So why now the sudden concern?

His polls have been dead accurate for the past few election cycles, and more important, he publishes his methodology which has not changed significantly over the years.

So it seems that your article is yet another iteration of “shoot the messenger.”

Do I have some concerns, especially when he ventures into new areas? Of course I do. For example, I thought that his question about unity within the BLP was “leading” and I emailed him to say so.

I also felt that he could have gotten to the alternative leadership question more directly by asking the major political question (Which party would you vote for?) given each of the four most likely leadership scenarios: Stuart vs. Arthur; Stuart vs. Mottley; Arthur vs. Sinckler and Mottley vs. Sinckler.

But largely we have to accept the major point of the poll, as we have accepted them since 1998.

15. @David (not BU)

The thesis of the blog is not about the veracity of the poll.

BU is sharing the benefit of research about polling i.e. what is possible if questions are crafted in a particular way. Cadres polling has not been held up to the light in any way before. It is interesting that Dr. Belle explained that the reason he brought Boxill to Barbados was to expand the offering and remove dependence on Cadres. We love to sit passively and not ask questions.

16. David @ ac

Do you understand the issue here is about Wickham and his unfettered access to media to promote his views? BU is not knocking his poll and the science. We all make contributions to civil society in the way we prefer.

ac@ David
    So how then does the mention of “push polling” enters the equation in the article. i have said on many occasions i have never questions his polling methods . however in the article you David came dangerously close to calling peter a “Push Pollster” while i in the meanwhile has dwell on his
    trustworthiness due in part to his wikileaks involvement. so i am flabbergasted as to how you can print an article in which peter media access can be a cause of concern and problematic for himself and his polling and then tells me that BU is not knocking his poll and the science well then tell me how the correlation of media access and the poll becomes a cause for him being a “poll pusher your words not mine.

17. miller there are also not so flattering statements coming from the wikileaks cable

Mottley was praise with one breath, but criticized with another. She was described as one with characteristics of abrasiveness and overconfidence. The cable even got personal about what her sexual preference might be. (not mentioned here see cable)

18. @ac

Peter is the only person in Barbados who practices the science of polling. The only benchmark you have that he is doing a good job is that he is always close to the final result. That aside we as a people need to ask more questions about polling. It must be transparent. The issue of push polling is relevant because it serves to educate and feed debate. We have become so locked into our prisms that many don;t know B from bullsfoot.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 17, 2012 at 6:42 PM |

We are NOT interested in Mottley’s idiosyncrasies or sexual peccadilloes all based on hearsay rumour and innuendo all of which already aired in public. Just dirty linen washed and cleaned and ready for use again.

What we want to hear from you is about the $34 million of CLICO policyholders’ money that was used to fund the 2008 DLP election campaign and the balance in the “Families First Account”.

Is this top secret and confidential as demonstrated by the VIP treatment given to Leroy Parris on Sunday Evening gone in the QC hall?

20. @david
    “It is the time of the year when the most intelligent feel comfortable resorting to nothingness.”

so true and so sad. Issues have taken a back seat. National development debate seems to be a bastard child to be kept in the basement. Decent intellectual yet humorous jousting is marred by partisan blinkers and blatant yet blind political agendas. Kudos to caswell, miller and Bushie and others for keeping up the fight..and onions for his “credible balanced commitment.” lol.

BU is an education, an entertainer and an enlightener but as the season draws nigh the fluff is getting more difficult to sift through.

Just observing

21. miller your comment confirms my assement of Peter and his trust worthiness none of my comments until up to the present said nothing about what was said . my last comment about Mia was an indication of the extent people woud go to harm or damage others credibilty .but some how pay back can be torturous to the ones who had done the harm BTW i have not commented on your query because i have not seen such in the cables,

22. so david given all that you said about asking question shouldn’t trust be the first question asked of the poll and the pollster or should we take it for granted because the polls were right at guaging the publics sentiments that the credibilty factor of the polls and the way they were structed and design should not be called into question.

23. Now I windar weir the Gov’ment gun look to book travel arrangements if the administration get changed … HA HA HA.

24. This thing about Peter lookin fah a pick in London is a blasted lie and I just call and ask the man about his commenting on CLICO financing the DLP … also a blasted lie ….

Santapee however is an interesting case AGAIN of the government using “Creatives” as an excuse to keep “Consultants” alive … Now this is SHITE …!

25. “The cable even got personal about what her sexual preference might be”
    as an ardent supporter of same sex behaviours, i would expect that you would frown upon that assertion in the cable

26. “Now I windar weir the Gov’ment gun look to book travel arrangements if the administration get changed … HA HA HA.”
    do you expect that Simmons/Greaves owned Gems should be allowed to feast on the fatted calf for eternity?

27. But Balance I assumed that people got involved in politics to serve the good people of Barbados selflessly … 什么他妈的

28. Balance……….as an ardent supoporter…………………ac …..as ardent supporter i frown on those who would use malicious purposes or intent to reveal publicly mia,s alledege personnal life style and those who would expeditously use said information for political purpose to quench their burning desire for leadership and power. i find it replusive

29. @ millertheanunnaki | October 17, 2012 at 5:33 PM |
    Thanks very much miller for the compliment you paid to me in your post! I value your contributions as well!

30. Peter Wickham is a very strange individual in so many ways.His bias opinions on some issues are so apparent that it nauseating hearing pontificate on issues affecting Barbados.
    I must admit that Peter Wickham opinions polls are usually accurate..I have come to respect his opinions polls.However,on this occasions,I have great reservations on the credibility of his recent opinion poll.
    It is well known fact that Peter Wickham has a passionate dislike for Freundel Stuart our beloved Prime Minister. As a result, the credibility of his opinions on Freundel Stuart leadership quality is compromised.
    On his recent opinion poll,the analysis of Kaymar Jordan,Harold Hoyte and to lesser extent Peter Wickham himself was rather simplistic.The analysis given suggested that because there is a perceived 6 % swing against the government all those seats held by the government are in danger of falling to the opposition. Simplicity at its best.
    The dynamics of some of those constituencies were not taken into consideration when those individuals gave their analysis.
    For example,St Michael North west Chris Sinckler constituency. Chris beat Clyde Mascoll a former minister of finance and a former opposition leader.Clyde Mascoll is a former resident of that constituency as well as Chris Sinckler.Two residents from that constituency contested that seat and Chris Sinckler came out victorious.
    Chris in this upcoming election is running against a new comer in Gregory Nicholls,a middle class,obnoxious individual.I believe that Gregory Nicholls will not be able to connect with the grass roots,working class people of Black Rock. His personality will not resonate with the people of St Michael North West.
    I do not think because Chris Sinckler won that seat by a small margin that is with in the swing that automatically he will lose it in the swing against an opponent like obnoxious Gregory Nicholls.
    Similarly,Richard Sealy a high profile minister who acted as Prime Minister on many occasions is consider a casualty in the swing. Richard Sealy was victorious against David Gill on two previous occasions.One victory occurred when his party was even in opposition. David Gill does not have it in him to defeat a high profile candidate like Richard Sealy
    Ian Godding -Edghill one of the biggest clown in local politics will find difficulty in defeating James Paul
    Ian Godding-Edghill is a man who said that he happy for slavery because if not for slavery he will not be in Barbados driving a BMW.Tell Ian Godding Edghill to dispute that.That twerp is also an obnoxious,cocky individual who will find difficulty in connecting with the Black working class people of Fairfield and Black Rock.He cannot beat James Paul
    The Democratic Labour Party Will win the upcoming elections easily even with an increase majority
    Long live the Democratic Labour Party
    Down with the political pimps,parasites and nuisances in the Barbados Labour Party.

31. “The Democratic Labour Party Will win the upcoming elections easily even with an increase majority
    Long live the Democratic Labour Party
    Down with the political pimps,parasites and nuisances in the Barbados Labour Party.”

in the words of Chris Browne… “don’t wake me up, up, up. don’t wake me…”

you people are a bunch of jokers.

keep up the good work DLP.

32. Do you know what I enjoy about political meetings at election time? The comedy and the music…it does be a real “party” at atmosphere…regardless of which “party” is the having the meeting. Only problem is I have to buy muh own drinks and snacks.

33. WICKHAM: BALL IN DEMS’ COURT
    Date March 05, 2007
    Brief
    THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY (DLP) has an election to win, and the ball is in its court. That’s the opinion of noted political scientist Peter Wickham, who also felt that many Barbadians might want to change the current Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government, but may be for the sake of change alone, since the BLP was seeking an unprecedented fourth consecutive term in office. Wickham made the comments yesterday on Voice Of Barbados’ (VOB) radio talk-show Brass Tacks Sunday, the same day a NATION newspaper-initiated public opinion poll he conducted showed a number of trends leading up to a general election, constitutionally due next year. “The DLP is being waited upon to demonstrate that it can make a difference to the way in which Barbados is being governed,” he told moderator David Ellis. He was part of a studio group which included acting Minister of Labour, Senator Tyrone Barker, and DLP candidate for St Michael North-West, Chris Sinckler. According to Wickham, results of the poll also indicated that Barbados wanted to know if the DLP had the capacity to run the country’s affairs. “If they [the DLP] can do that successfully, then they will be successful,” he added. He added that according to the poll, the issues Barbadians were most interested in had not changed much since a similar poll was conducted last year. “The real question is: Can the Democratic Labour Party better react to them?” he asked. “Barbadians continue to be concerned about the cost of living, about the state of the economy, to the extent that we are borrowing too much. These are the things Barbadians were concerned about in the past, and continue to be. “The fact that people are not willing to turn to the Dems with great force, suggests to me that these are the areas in which the DLP may be coming up short. Can the DLP roll out an economic plan that can address these issues, and do they have the necessary personnel to make these changes?” He noted marginal decreases in support for the DLP and its leader David Thompson told an interesting story. Agreeing with Wickham’s analysis, Sinckler noted the DLP had succeeded increasing the number of people who were desirous of change, based on the population’s consistent critique of Government’s policies during the last 12 months. “This is particularly ominous for the Barbados Labour Party Government,” Sinckler said. “People have extensively made up their minds that they want to change the Government. The public is now waiting in anticipation of the Democratic Labour Party’s programme, and that will be unveiled in a couple of weeks,” he added. “We are now ready, and there is much for the DLP to be happy about.” Representing the BLP, Barker said it was important to look at the environment in which the poll was conducted. “The views of the DLP have been aired. They have had massive campaigns in open air, and their views have dominated the media,” he said. Barker went as far as to say that some media were partially responsible for a lack of good BLP news being disseminated to the public, citing that some media houses even refused to inform the public that Barbados now had record low levels of unemployment. “Any negative news about the economy is amplified,” said Barker. “We’ve had a situation in the last six months there was a concerted campaign by the DLP, where everything negative about the Barbados economy was highlighted, and yet, their numbers have not moved.” Barker said the BLP should take heart that the people of Barbados still did not believe the DLP had any plans for the country. “The important numbers are that more people now, than six months ago, are saying the DLP still isn’t ready to lead Barbados.”

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff | October 18, 2012 at 8:28 PM |

Good piece of research there, Enuff!
    The more things change the more they remain the same. Same script just a reversal of roles for the actors.
    Wonder what ac, CCC and that cohort of DLP deniers and critics of the Cadres poll have to say after reading that piece of history.

Those with convenient memories or organized Alzheimer’s would deny such analysis ever took place or that things are different now because Wickham had like Thompson but doesn’t like Stuart and as a result of this dislike he Wickham “doctored’ the polls to make Stuart look bad.
    Let’s hear you, ac, from the top!

35. @ Negroman

Polls are just a snap shot in time, so they can change in a flash. However, there is a trend toward the BLP at present, very similar to 2007/2008 in the reverse direction. So, unless the swing is reversed, the DEMS cannot win.

Local factors and specific personalities do affect the outcome constituency by constituency, so some people might hold on whereas some unexpected persons might lose.Additionally, one cannot discount the coat tail affect and local factors that washed in some MPs last time that might not otherwise be in parliament today.

St. George South is a case in point. Cupid Gill was a very weak candidate and there was the David Thompson high tide. Dwight Sutherland, on the other hand, has deep political roots in the constituency and it’s now a DLP low tide. Esther Byer-Sukoo might not survive. That’s not a prediction, just a logical inference.

If Barbadians continue to be dissatisfied with the DLP’s performance and with the worsening economic outlook, it might be difficult for the trend to be reversed

36. “Barbadians continue to be concerned about the cost of living, about the state of the economy, to the extent that we are borrowing too much. These are the things Barbadians were concerned about in the past, and continue to be.”

if that was then, what is now?

37. One of the reasons the CADRES polls are accurate is their sampling method. They choose respondents from the most competitive polling districts in each constituency on the basis that any shifts in opinion would be most readily detected in those areas.

Compare this with the Boxhill poll in 2008, which used a much larger sample size, but polled across each constituency. On face value, one would think that was a better method, but it ended up diluting the extent of the trend against the government of the day because the method was less focused that CADRES.

38. Enuff,Miller and DavidB
    You had the same thoughts then as the DLP supporters have now but maybe you were writing under different names.
    You cuss Peter then the same way he complains today on Brass tacks that he is being cursed on the blogs now.

Did you hear Portia Simpson Miller Portia Jamaica Prime Minister today on VOB news. She won the Government with a landslide and now Jamaicans are saying they cannot hear her. She said she would speak when she has something to say.

She and her party knew that they could not make a difference because of the world economic situation but she wanted power and now even her supporters complaining.

This will be same thing if the BLP wins. The same script. Some of you will get school canteens to run, contracts to fix schools and build houses but the economy will still be dependent on tourism and foreign direct investment and the pressure continues.

It is therefore wise at this time to live within your means and whichever party wins the government you are independent enough to just go on living until the lord calls you home.

39. @ Clone

I have never written on a political blog in my life until about two weeks ago on BU. You really should not make assumptions about people you don’t know. It is unfortunate that we cannot have a discourse without it having to degenerate into personal attacks; which characterises many of the posts on this blog.

Last time around, two competing polls came out towards the end of the campaign. I was not sure which was correct, but I thought the larger sample size of the Boxhill poll made it more likely to be reliable. In hindsight, however, I can see that CADRES had/has a superior sampling methodology. Why would that be a partisan political point?

At the end of it all, we are all Barbadians and will have to live with whichever party is given the reigns of government. We should not have this “blood in our eyes” approach to politics where one party is seen as evil incarnate, and the other as the Redeemer. Both sides have their strengths and their shortcomings.

I happen to prefer the BLP at the moment, but I have voted for both parties in the past. My judgement is that the DEMS had their chance and blew it.

40. @DavidB “Last time around, two competing polls came out towards the end of the campaign. I was not sure which was correct, but I thought the larger sample size of the Boxhill poll made it more likely to be reliable. In hindsight, however, I can see that CADRES had/has a superior sampling methodology. Why would that be a partisan political point?”……………………………..

I think that the Boxhill people were ill served by the UWI students whom they contracted to conduct the research. The ones who came to my home which was the first time I was ever canvassed, filled out forms in my clear sight for my neighbours who were not at home. They asked me if I knew their political leanings, I said no, so I do not know what they put on the forms but I knew they filled out forms for my neighbours.

So if this was the trend across the board when people were not at home, you have to sympathise with the Boxhill people, they were dooped by so called intelligent UWI students!

41. So Clone, this is the reason that Sinckliar has been putting a case before the IMF that they are trying!

What expenditure has this government cut?
    >The dead king’s football tournament?
    >Crony constituency councils?
    >PM, his ministers and their cronies first class travel to the farthest parts of the globe eg Australia,China, Bahrain, Brazil, Utah? One minister’s wife told someone, “I may as well enjoy it while it lasts”!
    >Investiture for new immigrants?
    >Gol airlines?
    >Untendered road works going on for years?
    >Sandi in China? Where are the results for this unnecessary expence at this time?
    >Unnecessary parties at Illaro Court? Have some but cut back.
    >Unnecessary COI on Alexandra School. Wait what phase are we in?
    And the list goes on and on.

I cannot understand how Sinckliar can tell the IMF that they will depend on tourism and the off shore sectors when we have ministers like Sealy and Hutson who are the laziest ministers to date.

Good luck to our fair land! The money from the football tournament could have covered many tax refunds, I sure would like mine.

42. My judgemet is that some people would be swayed by “the power of persusaion” and not realistically looking at global world eventsand its impact on world economies in their haste to have a quick fix what recent change of govts have proven in the carribbean that their are no quick fix ST. lucia ony a few days had to implement the VAT nobody is immune barbados is stable and on the right path in restructing its economy phasing in renewable energy and green technology

43. The BLP has no SOLUTIONS OSA knows it that why he tight lipped and so far the only solution he suggested was SALE , CUT short term solution with long term ramifications. Until OSA can pull a viable solution out of his “bag of tricks” he has offered NOTHING .The DLP is on the right path and sooner rather than laer OSA would be forced to use the same methodology of of renewable energy and green technology a way forward to strengthen the economy a similiar method that Obama has talked about his debate

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 19, 2012 at 10:09 AM |
    “…….OSA would be forced to use the same methodology of renewable energy and green technology a way forward to strengthen the economy ………”

Look who is talking about “green technology”.

The same idiot who supports burning garbage as a way of generating energy.
    Stop making yourself the laughing stock of this blog.

Ac the spinning weathercock with an OSA spur as the wind direction pointer. When your DLP party is forced to announce a whole list of entities to be put up for privatization we can expect a similar switch to that direction as well

If you are so concerned about “green technology” you should be inquiring if Farm Armtag is employing green technology in its growing and processing of the Bajan Sweet Potato chips and other products.
    If this technology is in place then you should be congratulating them. If not let the Ministry explain why this has not been promoted or even insisted upon before granting support. But then again you are not that inclined to be critical of anything done during your party’s turn at the wheel.

45. Miller you are such a pathetic and a patheological liar is that your only way to beat an argument is to call some one a liar. now OSA has no solutuions and that is the truth you can called me as many liars as you wish “been there done that” not going to deter me i am as tough as they get .All you here to do is spread the outdated message of fear in the hearts of the public the DLP has met many challenges and is doing more than the best it can what has the RT HON said that is going to be different telL me

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 19, 2012 at 12:50 PM |

Am I a liar to say that you support the burning of garbage to convert waste to energy?

Your OSA bugbear is fully worn. You keep recycling it. Time to dump it in the garbage and burn it.
    Maybe it can be converted to energy to fuel your propaganda machinery.

Mia is the future of the BLP and the policies promoted by her will be the ones to attack.
    Try attacking her. OSA is just holding the fort until the heavy artillery arrives.
    Would you say that Mia has no alternative policies and solutions?

47. @ millertheanunnaki and ac,

renewable energy for electrical power is going to be forced on Barbados regardless of who is in power.

There will be no economic boom/recovery and fossil fuel is going to be too expensive for a back to the third world economy like Barbados.

Renewable energy and food security can still save wunna. Ask Bushie effin wunna doan believe me.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | October 19, 2012 at 1:19 PM |
    “renewable energy for electrical power is going to be forced on Barbados regardless of who is in power.’

You are preaching to the converted.
    The miller is one of the strongest proponents of solar energy on this blog and elsewhere going way back.
    What should be of concern to you is how would the government deal with the strong lobby against renewable energy in the form of Emera who just invested nearly $400 million in an electricity generation plant based on fossil fuels.
    That is the nature of the beast, Hants.

Don’t worry about ac. She is easily converted or convertible like electricity supply from ac to dc just with the flick of a switch called DLP.

49. @ Miller
    “The same idiot who supports burning garbage as a way of generating energy”
    Do you mean like the idiots in the Isle of Mann who have been doing so successfully now through their EfW (energy from waste) plant?

Waste management, energy recovery, metal recycling and a highly improved environment.

Why must you pick on the only sensible point that ac has ever made on BU?

50. @ Hants
    “Renewable energy and food security can still save wunna. Ask Bushie effin wunna doan believe me.”
    What ask what Bushie what!!?
    Renewable energy and food security can prevent us from starving to death so that we may live long enough to die from something else. ….but there is only one thing that can save us….and that is the lifeboat provided by BBE.

….Hants, d’ont you mind onions and Miller – worrying about nonsense – and miss that BBE boat… 🙂