PETER WICKHAM, the opinion shaper

Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

BU’s position on the influence which  Cadres opinion polls maybe having on Bajans is a matter of record. The fact that some have perfected the methodology to project the ‘science of polling’ as the gospel according to Mathew, Mark, Luke and Peter has become worrying to some. Is it that a good poll accurately measures the ‘mind’ of the person polled? Do you believe the result of a poll can be used to influence the undecided and reinforce the position already canvassed by the pollster? The fair minded have to admit that there is some robust questioning required to better understand the influence polling has on shaping public opinion in a small country like Barbados. Sadly Barbadians have decided to follow the developed world and accept wholesale polling in our political space.

It is unfortunate that the Cadres Poll has become a big discussion point leading into the next general election. In a general election where some constituencies will be ‘close’, the Cadres Poll may prove to be a factor afterall. However there is another issue of concern.

Peter Wickham leads the Cadres organization and to his credit has developed a good reputation across the region based on the consistency off his polls. Here is the rub. He writes a fullpage column in the leading daily newspaper. He is a host on the leading talk show on radio. When there is breaking news of a political – and sometimes not so political – Wickham is sought after by the Nation, VOB and Barbados Today for his perspective. Oftentimes one is left to wonder why a country which has invested billions of dollars in education cannot reflect it in the diversity of views solicited.

The ease which Wickham connects with some of our politicos often exposed in his role as a talk show host is worthy of observation. Also his willingness to express positions, in the opinon of BU, which conflict with how a professional pollster should conduct himself. BU will not besmirch the reputation of Wickham by detailing the politicos he rubbed shoulders with at Cave Hill and elsewhere, suffice to say Wickham should become more senitive to the extent his professional reputation is exposed.

Should Barbadians be concerned?

0 thoughts on “PETER WICKHAM, the opinion shaper

1. Frankly no. In any event the political friends that he has had from School days are now very much opposed to him as he speaks his mind to expose the stupidity that so many in high office are guilty of. Nearly every politician in Barbados, if not all past and present, have ONE thing in common, a very thin skin. This is why people like Wickham will fall quickly in and out of favour. If you are prepare to point the gun at the messenger, David, be prepared to pull the trigger.

• @BAFBFP

Nobody is pulling a gun on anyone. Questions are being asked about the role he plays shaping public opinion in Barbados. Peter knows he can’t be as visible as he is and escape scrutiny.

2. David

You see me, I hate the simple first past the post democracy design or any process that gives weight to an outcome that represents a simple majority. A simple majority is what it is, simple. Mr Wickham however is the established authority on such outcomes. To me such activity should be meaningless – for some reason I never find that my opinion reflects that of a majority anyway, but Wickham is the authority and therefore should be sought after for his insight. Wickham speaks with numbers to back him up, a far cry from what has become established public comment in these parts.

• @BAF

Agreed that Wickham speaks by the numbers, who is disputing? BU has always defended Cadres Polls and the accuracy of the results. It does not make him off limits to questioning.

3. I am with BAF on this, Wickham is offering a qualified opinion on statistical samples, which is what polls are.

What is the issue?

The more worrying issue, is that instead of addressing the concerns of the citizens, politicians seem to prefer to look in the mirror, primp and say that Wickham is wrong.

Maybe, just maybe, that ‘mirror on the wall’ is telling lies and Wickham is right?

4. Wait, Robinson you supporting me …? You had too much to drink yesterday and are going through withdrawals …. HA HA HA!

David for generations film makers in places like Hollywood have been challenged with a response to whether their efforts should drive public opinion or reflect it and how was it possible to gauge the effect on the public of the work that they do. To this day, and to the best of my knowledge there is no solid response to the concerns. Mr Wickham’s work is destined to fall into the same boat.

• @BAF

Fair enough but we need, if we can, to frame future discussion on this matter in the context that we operate in small incestuous societies.

5. Stupseeee

First of all polling is no art or magic. It is simply a matter of asking people what they are most likely to do, or what they think, and then adding up the results.

It requires no intelligence or wisdom – just the ability to add or to use excel. Let’s say Wickham does a half decent job.

The downside is that there are people like BAFBFP who have decided that this is some kind of science and who accept whatever pollsters say….

Now if elections are won by first past the post, and there are 30 constituencies, would it not make sense to ask respondents in the various constituencies how they are likely to vote and then count which party is likely to win the MOST seats?
    …how the hell do you get to asking how voters feel about the leadership style of one candidate, and extrapolate that to election results…..

This is just common sense BAFBFP….it matters not if you like first pass the post or not…

It was an OBVIOUS attempt to influence the opinion of us sheep by falsely suggesting that the herd is going north ….and wunna done know sheep!

But Bushie been there and done dat…

• @Bush Tea

The issue you raised speaks to how much we utilize cognitive ability etc. The point BFP and Crusoe missing is that we need to query how polling instruments are designed and not the methodology per se.

6. When monkey got gun wise men duck …! Bush Tea a scatter shot is bound to hit something and it sure ain’ gun be me …! Peter’s style, as I have seen it over the years is to poll the responses in the marginal seats, which are about twenty five or so. If there is some indication of a national swing, then some straight forward adding will determine with some good degree of accuracy if a Government will be changed. Information on leadership style is just information. If you BushTea insists that it has NOTHING to do with how a respondent will vote, f#ck I am no more clearer on that than are you, and I am sure Wickham …!

You know I think a lot of you are guilty of creating demons where there are none (except in the Min of Ed). I can state with confidence that there is NO intention on the part of ANY true professional pollster to affect the outcome of any election with the preliminary information that they provide (there is one Jamaican guy who cannot fit into that category, but that is another matter). It may be true however that the parties who initiate the polls (those that fund them in secret) may have other intentions ….!

• @BAF

It is about the effect of polling on public opinion. This is not about attacking Peter. It is also about the kind of deportment a pollster should embrace given Peter’s access to media to pontificate on all issues under the sun.

7. I have no problem asking Wickham to publish his basis of statistical collection.

But the thing is, we accept attorneys as professionals…and their ‘
    opinion’, we accept accountants as professionals…and their ‘opinion’, (despite repeated corporate collapses) and we accept engineers as professionals …and their opinion….

Why not Wickham as a professional political pollster / commentator?

Que?

• @Onions

Leave out the predictabe? Last general election many of the BLPites were NOT singing the praises of Wickham, in fact thy were cursing him and his polls. Do a search of Youtube and begin with Arthur. The thrust iof this submission is to legitimately query the influence of Wickham to shape public opinion not so much by the poll itself but how his unfettered access to media gives opoportuity. It is not even about him doing it with intent. Why can’t you analyze a matter without the red lense?

8. Just another DLP thread highlighting there ARE STILL IN DENIAL of what a scientific polls have shown….still in denial after 2 months? Yes..they still have done NOTHING to CHANGE things but continue in their SAME stupid ways….THERE WILL NEVER CHANGE…..But you know what is the laugh ? When reality kicks in… when it is time to time the bell…”nah boi we can’t take that chance…still flesh on the bones..(Waterman Inq.)…..let us move Wickham off D air first, discredit him too (again) …and then attempt more propaganda”….but change we ways..No..we right and our methods workable”…When we lose, we can sing “MY WAY “.

9. Bush Tea

Wow you nailed it at 7:27!

Peter wickham and what he does isn’t all that.

A little bit of speculation,a little bit of voting pattern history,a little bit of the culture of the people and a little bit of adding up as you suggest. At the end of it all – peter wickham especially in his last poll is trying to influence public opinion against Stuart who he hates intensely.He displays that at every opportunity he gets.

With that sort of bias it is no surprise people are questioning his work and his political analysis.

10. I put this to you all.

In Barbados politics, much has always been made of the LEADER. That is fact., it has been repeatedly demonstrated.

Hence, if the leader has not captured the electorate, the election is lost.

11. @ David
    The thrust iof this submission is to legitimately query the influence of Wickham to shape public opinion not so much by the poll itself but how his unfettered access to media gives opoportuity.
    Now there is a shoite statement if ever there be one…..so you are questioning the INTEGRITY of the man….because unlike you….he was, or is a DLP…and telling it as it is?…..No you take off the blue lens….and return to unbiased blog master….cuz are way out on a branch wid this one…..”It is not even about him doing it with intent. “…what rubbish are you saying?….Man you all S T R E T C H I N G it to the nth……”.gimmwe back we next term naaaaahh oh boo wooo…sob sob” we want it so badly and would do or say anything”….Come onnnn.. Get a grip Mr. Blogger.

12. @David

any one who has been exposed to survey method of social investigation, will tell you that polls can be designed to obtain specific results based on loaded questions. However a poll worth it salt shoud be able to stand up to rigorous testing by other polsters. Do u remember the poll conducted by Ian Boxill, one of my contemporaries? We are aware that persons can lie with statistics as well.

13. @ David
    We are aware that persons can lie with statistics as well.
    Well there you go…….you got what you wanted….you could cut it, paste it…put all the fills round it…why not just say it…..”we the DLPs don’t believe the polls..”

14. @David
    As a pollster Wickham doesn’t shape opinion as much as he gives momentum to already established opinion. his polls “fan the flames” so to speak rather than starting the fire. As a commentator on the other hand, he does have some impact, given the “accepting non questioning and sway-able” nature of the public.

with respect to methods, sample and location….these are as much a part of the results as the results themselves. Fortunately we are given all and should therefore be able to make our own determination. Where poll questions or sample sizes etc are missing, it’s our job to ask for them.

just observing

15. I believe Wickham is guilty of finding the PM’s response to a dire situation “Stupid”. It does not mean that he “hates” the individual, and to be honest if he did he would have very good reason. People who tamper with others’ means of income, simply because they have the power to do so are worthy of contempt.

16. Wickham also has opinions on the anomalies of the Christian Church and Bible, legalization of taboos such has homosexual activity and the smoking of marijuana. Why should he not be given every opportunity to have access to a public forum, if only to be a fly in this super conservative goo that we call Barbados?

17. Man BAFBFP, you blogging here like Poonka….. all over de place…

Nobody is saying that polls are not a sound means of predicting outcomes…. Only that it is not surprising that if you ASK Bajans how they plan to vote, ….add up the RESULTS of their responses …then it cannot be amazing that the results are indicative of the final outcomes…. Duh!

HOWEVER, if you ask Bajans who is the best leader, you need to establish a much more meaningful correlation before you can tell a bushman that the responses to this question predicts the number of seats won…

For example, if you ask the Bushman who does blog the most shoite on BU after Onions (who is in a class all of his own 🙂 ) then Bushie picking BAFBFP…. LOL
    HOWEVER, with the demotion of Caswell as leading contender for the post of Chairman of the National Supervisory Committee, Bushie definitely nominating and supporting BAFBPF for that position….although Caswell know ’bout 20 times as much as BAFBFP…lol

The fact that Stuart in a non inspiring leader is well documented, but in an environment where the other contenders are in the same class as Onions THIS IN ITSELF IS NOT SUFFICIENT to jump to the juvenile conclusions that Wickham is suggesting…..and he knows that..

…If he wanted to make predictions about the number of seats won by the parties he should have asked respondents which candidate IN THEIR CONSTITUENCY they intended to vote for…..and drawn conclusions from that response…

….the only conclusion is that this was a deliberate attempt to mislead the flock by getting a small group of sheep to ‘run off’ in a particular direction expecting the other Idjuts to follow….

Anyone who thinks that pollsters do not attempt to influence public opinions are DUMB SHEEP. That is in fact THE WHOLE point of the exercise….

18. @ David

Why would Peter Wickham be any different that any other business man in Barbados? Don’t business men in Barbados all attempt to curry favour with politicians for certain mutual benefits? In fact Peter Wickham has a most valuable service when it comes to politicians, especially Prime Ministers or would be Prime Ministers don’t you agree?

The problem for Wickham is that from the inception PM Stuart declared he was NOT interesting in buying CADRES services (if you know what I amean) so its quite obvious that Wickham has to find one else to peddle his wares to, namely Sinckler and the longer term objective, Mia Amor Mottley.

• @Associate Friend

The fact that Peter’s contract at CBC was not renewed I.e he was fired must still factor, he is human. The robust way he is currently championing Charles Morris’ encounter with the CBC is also of interest but not to digress. Bottom line, some of us are watching with knowledge and understanding. This includes the party who commissioned the poll..lol.

19. @ To the Point ”
    Do u remember the poll conducted by Ian Boxill, one of my contemporaries? We are aware that persons can lie with statistics as well………….

If the truth be told, I do not know if Ian Boxhill can be really held responsible for that poll.

For the first time in my life I was canvassed in this Ian Boxhill poll. The young university students conned this poll. One of the two who came to my home went to secondary school with one of my children.

They took our info and then asked who my neighbours were, ticked them off the list, asked me if I knew their political leanings, I said I could not say and then the two of them filled out two forms. So if they did that, multiply that over and over if all of them were doing this just for the money and you can see how Ian Boxhill’s poll was sabotaged by the lazy young students who were supposed to act honestly!

20. Bush Tea

You could promote me all you like but you ain’ gun get way with calling me a Dumb Sheep. I do not read minds, so I will not assert that I have knowledge of other people’s intentions without having that ability. Again I will say to you that a person who has succeeded as Wickham has deserves a hell of a lot more respect than you are prepared to offer up. Jesus C’rist man, wah planet you born on.

21. @ Bushie
    Anyone who thinks that pollsters do not attempt to influence public opinions are DUMB SHEEP. That is in fact THE WHOLE point of the exercise….
    Have you ever heard of professionalism?…..Again you show that being a hillaby is excusable….anyone with little statistical studies can easily see correlation with the stupid headmaster from St.Peter.

22. No sense in getting myself caught up in the polltricks of wickham .the problem is having a person conducting a poll who has a bias for a pereffered candidate there is no secret that wickham bias for sinckler is well known therefore in the eyes of many the poll would be seen as tainted and questionable.

23. @ ac | August 7, 2012 at 12:57 PM |

What are you implying here, ac? That Wickham rigged his polls to suit his political preference for a leader of the DLP?
    One wonders what would have been your position if the Wickham poll had shown the OSA bull- trapped in your guts and causing you intellectual “bs” constipation that could be relieved only by a dose of commonsense- had run last in the leadership race.
    Then Wickham would have been the greatest pollster since Gallup.

But I will go along with you that Wickham does show an open bias against Stuart.
    However much I see naïve FS as molasses running up a hill when it comes to competency and taking effective decisions I would rather prefer to see him as PM of this country a billion times than what is on the cards should the DLP change leader in this jackass race.
    I find anyone prone to corruption with a ‘get-rich-quick’ mentality a total turnoff for leadership.
    Anyone that is easily bribed by being offered rides in “big up” cars and sipping free pink champagne while lying through his teeth to the CLICO policyholders whose premiums paid for the same bribes ought to be sent to Codrington College to study theology as punishment for his ministerial sins and selling his soul to the god of liars. My great-grand mother (May Light Perpetual shine kindly on her soul!) always told me “young miller, never forget this piece of advice from an ole timer: It’s better to have a thief around than a liar. If you don’t have anything to steal a thief would disappear but a LIAR would steal just to Lie on you!” Only God can help a person who is both a Thief and a Liar. Becoming a minister of the church and not of the State is that slick-tongue-televangelist man’s only salvation.
    Only a bout of Jimmy Swaggart like crying is needed for full cosmetic effect.

24. With interest, I observed of recent, a subliminal attempt to pardon and give all kinds of excuses for a weak and paltry party ….Yardie tried it in his last thread, now this….Could this last mad dash to influence the BU electorate and bloggers,be a sure a sign, of a soon to be presented, on coming elections?We all know it would be a most remorseful mistake to plunge this country into another 5 yrs of blundermania and chaos as the economy just could not take it.. So why all the fuss?….Sometimes like men, we must learn to step up and face the inevitable and not to quiver like jellies, presenting incriminating verminous propaganda on this blog…By now ,it is a foregone conclusion in the people’s minds and nobody can do anything about it.The DLP will lose this elections, full stop.

25. @ Miller
    ” It’s better to have a thief around than a liar. If you don’t have anything to steal a thief would disappear but a LIAR would steal just to Lie on you!”
    Top notch….LOL

26. millertheanunnaki

I can never and will never forgive Sinkler for bitterly opposing the signing of the European Partnership Agreement when he was head of an NGO and then after becoming a Minister in Government deciding to sing a completely different tune. That alone shows the substance of the man. Unfortunately Wickham does support such a candidate, they being old friends from Community College days, even though Sinkler now would rather distance himself from him.

But like Wickham and so many present and past supporters of the DLP that I know, and even neutrals like myself, Stuart does leave a lot to be desired.

Can someone explain why David Estwick would not make a better PM than Sinkler or Sealey?

27. @BAFBFP
    Earlier than BCC………….since primary school. And by the way the same Wickham aint had a preference for Thompson over Mascoll and Owen? Stupse!!!

28. @ BAFBFP
    “I will say to you that a person who has succeeded as Wickham has deserves a hell of a lot more respect than you are prepared to offer up”
    You serious B? One does not need to read minds to recognize foolishness.
    …so Bushie takes it that a man like Leroy P who has succeeded MUCH more than Wickham gets quite a bit of respect from you…?

Bushie is not calling you a dumb sheep B, but if the rope fits around your neck you may get staked out… LOL you may even get steaked…

What is not to get here…?

What was the reason for Wickham not asking the obvious question in the poll? Who will you vote for ….?
    …then tabulating the results…. Was that is too obvious?

..why would you ask who is the best leader…when EVERYONE and their lambs know that this is not FS’s strong point…?

Suppose the poll had ask “who is the biggest thief…?” or ” Who does drink the most alcohol? Or who does use the prettiest language? Could we also extrapolate election results from these answers..?

@ Onions
    “Have you ever heard of professionalism”
    Some of the most professional people are thieves and frauds.. What have you heard about it…?

@ Miller
    Expecially where they are in control of the public purse…

Bushie prefers to have the liar around than the thief…. After the second lie, everyone ignores the liar and he becomes impotent, but a thief will leave you totally empty…
    …besides all thieves are liars but all liars are not thieves.

The REALLY big jokers are those bloggers here who continue to complain that political promises are not being kept… LOL ROTFL 🙂
    ….the outrage is that there are those of us who ACTUALY believe the promises in the first place… 🙂

29. @BAFBFP……I can never and will never forgive Sinkler for bitterly opposing the signing of the European Partnership Agreement when he was head of an NGO and then after becoming a Minister in Government deciding to sing a completely different tune. That alone shows the substance of the man……..

I agree with you and what disgust me further was that I was at a reception just before the signing, he was singing its praises and someone asked him if his speech was all done and the pompous ass that he is blurted out (guess he was over awed with his setting,you know they were new and were showing off)…………….

“Oh, I will go home, have a sleep and get up about 2 o’clock and whip up something”. His PS looked back at him and shook his head. Those of us who know how PS and ministries operate, know that ministers do not write these important policy speeches, they can add or alter some words but we know that the PS or a speechwriter mainly write these speeches. That is why the idiot from St Lucy most of the time cannot even read what is before him!

I have never admired Sinckler especially from his days as Sandi’s PA when he was so aggressive and nasty and less so now! His is the greatest bullshitter!

Wait,what has become of Sandi, still living it up in China???

30. @ Onions
    “Have you ever heard of professionalism”
    Some of the most professional people are thieves and frauds.. What have you heard about it…?
    A drowning “barrel of crabs” will grab at anything to say….Mr. Wickham is no fraud….but Broomes is, and most unprofessional by the way…hmmm

31. In 1961 upon the opening of the Deep Water Harbour,EWB said that the best thing GHA could do was to jump in and don’t come back!In similar vein Wickham should take the next plane to Grenada and don’t come back .

32. G tackle
    Why because he saw sense in NOT associating wid Alibabas and a vision-less team of inverts?..you should too….

33. @ Bush Tea | August 7, 2012 at 2:47 PM |
    “Bushie prefers to have the liar around than the thief…. After the second lie, everyone ignores the liar and he becomes impotent, but a thief will leave you totally empty…”

This doesn’t make sense, Bushie! How come you and the likes of your potential political partisan paramour “ac’ accuse OSA & his gang of thieves of 14 years of plunder for leaving the Treasury empty and the cupboard bare but yet your old girly friend DT highly favoured by batty boy Peter the Wicker Ham (to use your bushy language) could still invite the DLP yardfowls to feast on the fatted calf? According to ac & CCC “I’ and the DLP outlaws and lying cowboys there was nothing left to steal. So the fatted calf displayed on the dining table was certainly not honestly reared in such a short space of time but had to be cattle rustled or heisted in a praedial job in January 2008 on the BLP farm.
    It seems you guys are breaking up on BU just like your DLP parliamentary backstabbers to your leader Stuart. Not singing the same tune and everyone breaking for himself.
    For Bushie to prefer a liar to a thief is his way of backstabbing his leader Stuart to give preference to Chris over Owen. Why do you think, Bushie, that Chris’s burning preference is to become a priest? Is it because of the seamless transition from one domain of liars to another? You see, that would put lie to your contention of a liar becoming impotent before a second round of fibbing ejaculation since in a priest both personality types can be found. Lie to the stupid sheep in the congregation while relieving them of their hard earned income. Maybe if he had the foresight to become a lawyer he would have found the crossover more morally palatable. But the BBE has dealt with the DLP lawyer archetypal proponent of this political Ponzi scheme: Imagine the man fooling you Bushie with: “I WILL NOT LIE, CHEAT OR STEAL!” While at the same time plotting and writing in Martins Bay the Practitioners’ Guide on how to con the voters with a $34 million financed tissue of lies manifesto of pie-in-the-sky un-fulfillable promises while being screwed into defrauding the CLICO policyholders of $10 million in gratuity payments for Wick “ham” type services rendered.

34. miller,
    As the young folk say, you are on and popping in the above post. It is from out of the top drawer!

35. @ miller you and your cockey mamie logic. Steupse! What fatted calf in 20008 what ever was leftover by the BLP wasn’t even enough to pay the bills as the taxpayers would soon find out!

36. @ Miller
    It seems you guys are breaking up on BU just like your DLP parliamentary backstabbers to your leader Stuart. Not singing the same tune and everyone breaking for himself.
    I noticed that too….the elections are nearer than some will say…they are all acting like mad dogs knowing its all about to end….they attacking everybody… even the more astute…

• @Bush Tea

Observe two questions remain outstanding after the ‘talk’.

Why is it the recent poll did not survey key constituencies to ascertain which party leads?

The person who commissioned the poll with instruction that it be made available to the Nation newspaper only meant to lead public opinion. This is so obvious.

The other question is why the DLP and now BLP supporters disagree and agree with the Cadres poll today?

@observing

By your last comment you agree that a poll result can give flame to an ember. An ember can be more effectively managed compared to a rampaging fire.

Here is the question for Wickham. As a professional he should have suspected the objective of the person who commissioned the poll. What should have been his role in influencing the design if any.

37. @ miller
    LOL … No wonder onions is so impressed with your rant…. It is completely senseless.

All Bushie did was to give a personal opinion related the PERSONAL preferences between a liar and a thief.
    So what exactly does not make sense…? That Bushie has an opinion? …that you claim to be more comfortable with stealing? That liars are only a problem for those lame enough to be fooled over and over…?

Read your post again and see if onions did not post that under your good name…. 🙂

38. Why the DLP cannot believe that they are going to lose this elections is unbelievable..THEY CANNOT ACCEPT THE POLLS…lol…
    Anybody landing here from the US for Crop Over would.Only yesterday a fellow ask me who is really in charge about here.He said the Govt wants changing.He said the things that he is seeing are unbelievable.

By the way …all those who get an invite to FUNDY Illaro Court Crop Ova ball..it postpone till Thursday.

39. @ Prodigal Son ..In your reply at 11.04am to To the Point you sought to show why Ian Boxill’s poll was so wrong.That poll was wrong because its intent was wrong.Here we saw the most blatant attempt to influence the electorate in Barbados.That sir cannot be denied.It came as a response to a Cadres poll,at a time when people like Old Onion Bags who is now celebrating,was salivating.Dem who did love Wickham then cussing he now.

40. @ david
    What you talking ’bout? Last election Wickham’s poll was based on the very same method recently used. The CHAPO/Boxhill poll was constituency-based and the argument was that a national swing could not be the basis to determine the outcome. We all know the result. It is for this reason that the BLP supporters agree with the CADRES poll now, because in 2008 they position was proved wrong. As for the Dems…..the idea of one term is a bitter pill to swallow.

• @enuff

If you do a search of BU somewhere there is a blog pre-2008 which questioned as well how polls may influence public opinion. The issue here is not methodology which Wickam has been consistent, it is to what extent does a contrived instrument serve to manipulate public opinion by those with bags of money.

41. ‘In 1961 upon the opening of the Deep Water Harbour,EWB said that the best thing GHA could do was to jump in and don’t come back”

Gabriel- do not pay much attention to political statements made for political expediency or chicanery.In 1961, EWB lambasted the white business class across the length and breadth of Barbados particularly the Barbados Shipping and Trading ( the sale of which Mr Thompson had threatened to stop if he became PM before the ink dried) calling it the bastion of colonialism. all that time Gabriel- The chairman of BS&T, Mr Douglas Lynch was an influential member of the DLP’ He was an honorary pall bearer at EWB’s funeral as well.

42. @ ac | August 7, 2012 at 6:38 PM |
    “…..What fatted calf in 2008 what ever was leftover by the BLP wasn’t even enough to pay the bills as the taxpayers would soon find out!”

Which bills? You mean bills for the constituency councils, free bus fares, summer camps, nonproductive overseas ministerial jaunts, partying nonstop and most recently the $600,000 mobilization fees for the AX Inquiry?

You ought to be ashamed of the disrespect shown to your dear departed leader DT. Didn’t your grandparents teach you not to speak ill of the dead? Why are you calling a dead man a liar?
    Bushie is very disappointed in you for being fooled by a liar, even in death. With “ac” (alternative current) dead brain cells it does not mean you have to accept that a dead man can tell no tales. “The evil that men do lives after them!” However, the Families First Account is not interred in St. John’s Church yard but awaiting the Queen’s consent to determine the timing of elections even though Chris has decided to have a jada sponsor and not wait for his share of the inheritance.

43. @ David
    But um aint new!!! If you go to the last election ‘Change’ was central to the polls and what was the Dems’ election mantra? Thompson would have never ended Wickham’s contract at CBC!!

44. @Prodigal Son | August 7, 2012 at 11:04 AM…The young university students conned this poll. ..They took our info and then asked who my neighbours were, ticked them off the list, asked me if I knew their political leanings, I said I could not say and then the two of them filled out two forms. So if they did that, multiply that over and over if all of them were doing this just for the money and you can see how Ian Boxhill’s poll was sabotaged by the lazy young students who were supposed to act honestly!

Wuhloss, so our sons and daughters are both lazy and dishonest.

Lord help us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

45. @old onion bags | August 7, 2012 at 12:05 PM…”the stupid headmaster from St.Peter.

ROFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

46. Ian Boxill’s poll and reason for it is the exception that proves the rule. In Wickham ‘s case it should be clear that if there is any blame to cast it should be directed at those who commissioned the poll and I believe that one of those people has already been identified in this forum. Wickham is my friend and as my friend I will state with certainty that Bush Tea’s claims are baseless.

‘Nuff said.

47. My man my friends don’ cuss me in public …! I rather you NOT be my friend then I would have good cause to keep a better eye on you … This thing ’bout keeping your friends even closer don’ work for me as I am NOT near sighted …!

48. All right den BAFBFP…. If that is how you want to play…
    Looks like Bushie don’t have ANY friends at all, since the Bushman is wont to cuss both friend and foe in public or in private – if the situation so warrants… Like when they talking Shoite…

Like you just now…
    So once someone is your friend you giving them the benefit of the doubt…? You suggesting that you don’t have any stupid friends..? ..and then got the gall to introduce Wickhan as your ‘friend’.
    (..Bushie hope you are not the one he is hoping to be able to marry when Mia becomes PM.)

Why you don’t invite him to come back to the BU family? He frighten for ac and Islandgal or what…? Or he can only operate where he can disconnect the mike when it suits him…?

49. @Progical

firsly pollsters are trained for the exercise. Secondly when a poll is complete persons are supposed to go back into the community to obtain a sample of those polled and enquire whether the pollster visited the area he said he or she had done. Thirdly there is a margin of error for those who might lie, amog other things.

A properly conducted and executed poll can reveal how people are thinking. A poll is a pot shot of opinions are a given time.

@Bushie

A poll is not only about adding the quantitative data,, but analysing the qualitative as well.

50. Bush Tea

Man cuss me all you want… but this talking shoite thing ain’ washing. You disagree with me well that’s fine, but last I check I would normally reserve the shite talking label for those who actually deserve it, and that has never been you. So cuss me all you want foe, but know that I ain’ goin’ to respond in kind till I have real good cause, and when that moment come, well, I goin’ just leff you be … HA HA HA …Murda … Ol’ people … Can’ live wid them, and yah can’ commit them neither … HA HA HA

51. Just another DLP thread highlighting there ARE STILL IN DENIAL of what a scientific polls have shown….still in denial after 2 months? Yes..they still have done NOTHING to CHANGE things but continue in their SAME stupid ways….THEY WILL NEVER CHANGE…..
    snip

let us move Wickham off D air first, discredit him too (again) …and then attempt more propaganda”….but change we ways..No..we right and our methods workable”…When we lose,and lose we will…we shall GO DOWN singing..MY WAY…Lol
    TRUE TO FORM……24hrs later …all as I predicted……DLP on a mission…ATTACK WICKHAM…..Wickham is not your problem…THE PROBLEMS ARE YOURSELVES……YOU CAN”T RULE,..YOU COULD NOT GET THE JOB DONE…so like true babies..WHA WHA WHA..BIG MEN IN DENIAL…YOU ARE ON YOUR WAY OUT…..Bye Bye DLP…good riddance !

52. …..No sir…Wickham is not the problem…..Wickham offered direction….to a HARD EARS and OWN WAY bunch who are set not to stop wasting money on a Waterman feeding hole …while breaking the backs of the middle class with a fervor only the mad Bushie and his stupid compatriot can match….IT MUST BE DONE ! …they will never change.FUNDY GOT TO GO !

53. Any how who has descredit themselves is “lickham Wickham”who conducted a poll which intent wasbto divide the party not so much as to show OSa as the prefered leader because when one analayze the results it shows that if PM STuart is not the leader the DLP would win. however how does one reach such a conclusion when Chris is minister of finance and according to the BLP people are suffering..what the eage 11 did not accomplish it seems the poll was engineered to achieve

• It would useful even if a diehard supporter commenters suport positions with a little analysis. To simple parrot a party line becomes boring for some.

54. @ David
    You want analysis….you wait ya gine soon get it…when the bell RING ! Time for analysis DONE…even if I were to bring a pork on a platter..waana so would deny it…No sir…NO CHANGE POLICY of the DLP written in marble up sin John and only he waana so duz believe…..but dat is ok…all ya gine pay to learn..ask Crazy GEORGIE.

55. @ ac | August 8, 2012 at 7:55 AM |
    “…. what the eager 11 did not accomplish it seems the poll was engineered to achieve.”

So you are finally admitting that you strongly believe the Wickham poll was rigged to present FS in a bad light with the evil hand of CS guiding the Wickham fella in this PR strategy to make FS look like a joker.
    Do you think this strategy was “engineered” by a gathering of the male equivalent of coven of wick hams down bottom bay with HH in a ‘rear’ attendance and all expenses paid by jada through garrison boy lashley planting stone and wood?
    One wonders if the Ponzi con artist joined the FS intended coup d’état after returning from Paris(s) in his first cameo appearance at the AX Inquiry.

56. @David
    “To simple parrot a party line becomes boring for some. ”

Then we were boring for a lotta lotta months now den. lol.

objective analysis with rationale/facts/reason is like gold in this country nowadays.

57. @miller so then why is the BLP so jubliant when all it seems is that in order to achieved the desired result one would need an accomplice and a willing one at that and who else fit the bill no other than OSA who would see the results as being favourable while risking his own leverage and fatebringing down stuartwhile at the same time elevating chris and bringing chris into a race OSA would not win

58. Aug 8 at 5:39 a.m. “so like true babies..WHA WHA ”

Actually old onions babies are very smart. Observe if a baby encounters a problem, that the baby will try a different strategy.

It is only adults hardened and set it their ways who do the same thing over and over, and over again, and expect a different result.

Please note also that while there are mad men, (and women) there is no such thing as a mad baby.

59. It would be interesting to see how the next poll would be engineered since the last poll so far has failed to swayed PM into doing any thing reckless which would have caused divison and destruction of the party HA! HA! what would they think of next ,

60. Read Peter’s article today, this is the type of commentary he should be leading in the public space which complements his discipline.

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.