Submitted by Looking Glass
The creation of an “educated underclass” is very costly and distinctly regressive.

Development in any language means change. National development of which economic development/industrialisation is but a component requires a significant break with the past. It requires structural change and an intellectual leap into the future. Resistance to such change is a structural impediment created by the socio-economic system. The educational system in its current manifestation is a very costly repressive factor in the development process.

National development of which economic development is part implies the power to create wealth. It is dependent on our ability to generate ideas and turn them into reality.

Development is qualitative; growth like the GNP refers to the increase in size and is quantitative. GNP refers to the total value of goods and services produced. It includes consumption, investment, government spending and the excess of imports over exports. Changes in GNP do not necessarily reflect positive changes in the economic or social structure of the country. Economic prosperity involves qualitative factors. In today’s world the foundation of growth is human skill. One of the most important factors in development is education, the kind that provides a broad general knowledge, facilitates managerial competence and innovation. The latter will be manifested in new product creation and production.

My proposal for educational reform is based on human rather than a material approach to development. As I see it economic development depends on our ability to create, innovate, organize and manage our affairs. Maintaining the educational system and or recourse to cosmetic solutions means forfeiting the right to create wealth and development. Moreover it means delivering present and future generations to the tyranny of ongoing bondage. At stake here is qualitative not quantitative education and its accessibility. Give a man a fish and you will feed him for a day. Teach him to fish and he will feed himself.

Replacing secondary schools and common entrance exams with Junior Colleges to be entered at age 14 and continuous assessment solves nothing. All kids are not “academically” inclined. Restructuring the system does not mean creating new schools or giving the old ones new names. We already have enough primary, secondary and community schools and UWI. What is needed is a change in subjects taught such as those related to farming/agriculture, business, basic technology etc which can and should be introduced at pre-university level and fundamental research. Information is crucial for innovation. Teach kids not only to fish but to fashion the tools necessary and to identify waters for successful fishing. The cost is meagre and it would significantly reduce the diminishing returns to education. The creation of an “educated underclass” is very costly and distinctly regressive.

We are a commercial/service tourism dependent economy without natural resources and limited ability for upgrading and increasing productivity and employment. All we have is a bit of land sun and sea. We cannot control tourism and it is becoming noncompetitive. Stop selling the land and use it to grow vegetables, food and items like coffee, tea and or cocoa which can also be sold in the region. It would reduce the import bill, living cost, generate employment and improve health. It will not enable everyone to have big homes, cars and to live the grand lifestyle. It will enable people to live within their means, government to pay down debt and provide more and or better social services. No country has full employment. There is poverty and low wage workers everywhere. We have not the where-with-all to be different. Champagne taste with mauby coppers does more harm than good

Selling the land for hotels and homes for foreigners to buy in an import dependent country is neither dynamic nor nationally profitable. It enhances reliance on imports the cost of which will continue to rise and increase basic living costs. Mahogany furniture is unique and second to none. Some years ago two US firms wanted to import the furniture, one wanted office furniture. We did nothing about it. Instead the mahogany and other trees have been replaced by hotels and houses for sale to foreigners. And so we expose the island to the vagary of climate in the name of development. Right now over 2000 homes are advertised for sale on three websites (not the local press) primarily for foreign whites. Ponder the implications of an increased foreign and local population.

We blame everyone and everything for our problems except ourselves. It is wrong to even suggest that many of our problems are rooted in slavery and colonialism especially education. They never taught you to think or behave as you do. The pre 1960 system served us very well. Barbados was known as the “Sceptred Isle” in part because our education system was the envy of the world. Some Rear Admirals of the Fleet and two Signatories to the US Declaration of Independence were educated here. The current system needs to be reformed. The private sector may have the finance needed to start new production enterprises but it requires people with skills and willingness to soil their hands in the ground. Donnelly and Intel came and left because of the skills shortage. And stop blaming the current global recession. As noted in earlier articles we were in “recession” before the global one.

The socio-economic reorganization of Bim over the last 25 years enlarged the divide between consumption and production, the have and have-nots and placed us far behind the 8ball. Having set our chairs on the Titanic of or own making we linger in the shadows of socio-economic death. The next economic boom cycle will be technological rather than labour intensive. Economic power will shift from West to East. Recipient benefactors will be Brazil and African countries with natural resources and people willing to work the land. It is unlikely to generate foreign investment, significant additions to employment or GNP for us. We have no powerful additions to fuel development: no non-cyclical job generating industries to enable us to compete or even catch up, in sky-high debt and a bundle of social deficits.

We delude ourselves to think that our personal and foreign debt can be retired and economic growth and development generated without substantial social and economic change. Our total net worth is insufficient to cover government spending and new investment. Recession aided by population increase will be worst in the next decade.

Teach people to utilize what we have-land, sea and sun-and to live within their means. It will not solve the problem in the short term but will reduce “recession” and facilitate long term recovery. Government can only provide the tools people must do the work

11 responses to “National Development and Education”

1. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Looking Glass

Re “Give a man a fish and you will feed him for a day. Teach him to fish and he will feed himself….” What is the use of this oft used statement when, and i append this note here, the land where the fish are located is not yours?

What you have taken the time to remark on per Education in Barbados (and what is emblematic of CSME Member States) is resoundingly true, particularly when one considers the chunk of GNP that is allocated to Education. Is is not some $500M?

The war engine of Germany pre WWII solicited the minds of great industrialists for the retooling of factories for the imminent war and the military was subordinated to the directives of these persons.

How in this God’s world and in the one to come do you honestly expect Educational reform when the very educational review committees that are charged with this “reform” are constituted from the very bowels of this inadequacy and stasis, why man it is the personification of the blind leading the blind!

There is not going to be any change in Bim when successive administrations masturbate around the issue of educational reform, clowning around as they enunciate each English word while they are on a podium in front of the CBC cameras, speaking like if they are recent arrivals “from one of the low islands”, a veritable student under the TOEFL programme (Taking of English as a Foreign Language).

“Gear Box” and “Professor La Ha” were more erudite than this current education minister. In fact, given the state of education – administrative, organisational and its impact/output (confirmed by numerous reports from “incompetency” local businesses hiring our UWI students, these two eccentric characters are/were more competent at generating ideas for serious change in the Education arena than this posturer. But we Jonesing, we jonesing, we jonesing….

As de young people does say, doan get tie up because we are still seduced by the self aggrandizing laurels accorded our education system, conferred on us each year through UNDP’s annual Development Report.

I do agree with you that this talk bout how “de white man do did and dat” to we dat Commissiong does love to talk bout to incite de masses, is pure misdirection, whu after all when is de las time we had a white Minister of Education?

In fact udder dan dat “white man” Frost at de teachers tingie, i doan tink dat dere is annuder white teacher in the primary and secondary education system in Buhbados outside uh dem private big-up schools. I am stretching de point here of white presence in our mainstream education systems but you should get my drift re: the preponderance of black people in this area who continue, by their action and inaction, to rape and under-represent the 95% of the black populace.

Business as usual, this is what we are experiencing across the landscape of Barbadian endeavour, and then we wonder why things are how they are? That is like going down spring garden on Kadooment Day wid one uh dem big trucks from light and power, getting de revs up to bout 60 mph and driving at that same speed to Holbourne gas station and then looking in amazement at all the bodies/casualties inflicted and asking the question “man how dat happen?”

But here is the true mystery, Looking Glass, the incredulous response (recrimination) of (from) Bajans, those both present, and absent, from the melee, “why all dem people was in de road fuh?”

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

The Great Disconnect

Some five years ago i came across an article about a school, St. James Junior in the UK, which had one of the most advanced IT programs for its 8 to 10 year olds – they were teaching Basic, one of the older programming languages, to students and had found that not only was the programme very successful, but the students programming skills and aptitude was exponentially increased.

At ten years old! Imagine that. Why some of our PS’s cant even type an email, and are proud of it!

Imagine if we were to task the MoE and CXC to adjust/augment its SBA curriculum for Environment Science to have our student population seek are part of their SBA project, in conjunction with (i.e. overseen by) their teachers, detail a solution for the eradication of the Great African Snail or have our IT students doing database studies under ICT, create a programme to manage the online submission for a police certificat of character or some other problem/issue that corporate Barbados or government needs a solution for.

It is not hard, why after all government has a plethora of problems that besiege them and for which there is need for a solution.

The focus is not really the problems we are experiencing but it is how do we create the “optimal” environments to foster invention and innovation, national duty, pertinent education, collaboration among our youth, seminal think tanks among our disparate misguided youth?

This is not about how Comberemerians look out for other Comberemerians when job openings become available, that is a superfluous rendition of the change that we really need in our education system.

Education must have relevance to students or it becomes a disconnected abstract that quickly abandons the minds of the young student (and yes i purposely attribute volition to the abstract as opposed to saying the child forgets the training)

Caribbean Arithmetic was a series of exercises which used sound pedagogical processes to build and enforce comprehension, reasoning and logic in its primary student population. By the time a student was exposed to Exercise 3 on a given page it was able to determine if the problem needed addition, subtraction, multiplication or division skills, the process that would be required to arrive at the answer and the format, to present that answer, inclusive of the need for one to align their units, tens and hundreds columns.

I respectfully suggest that we revisit our education system and where necessary revise, revamp and augment it, place layers of “pertinent” education in its structure as we retool Barbados’ dodo bird, overly lauded education system, with a 21st century product that is not “cosmetic” but one that can engender creative thought, manifested in meaningful action, across the diverse industries graduates of said education system will ultimately will be employed.

And yes, i am the first to agree that this will not be a Utopia with 0% unemployment, “for lo the poor will be with you always”, until my Lord comes, but we assuredly would have upped the educational calibre of the players on this stage “while we slumber here and these visions do appear”

3. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right

Great last comment!

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right | September 10, 2012 at 6:24 AM |

Very good piece! I particularly like your comment on the need to make the SBA more relevant to the students’ future working and practical living environment.
    There are still too many aspects of the services and functions provided by the government sector that primarily require or involve the manual filling in of expensive pre-printed forms that can easily be done on line or populated from an existing database thereby dispensing of the long drawn out manual process of physically collecting expensive forms with the stark possibility of them being ‘lost’ in the system. The online filing of Income Tax is the way to go in other aspects of public sector service offerings.

BTW, could you explain what you mean by the “eradication of the Great African snails”?
    What about finding commercial or other use for them? How did these African snails get to Barbados in the first? Did they swim across the Atlantic from West Africa or did they hitch a ride on the ships that brought the “great African people” here as a source of protein and minerals for the same hungry cargo?

5. I have long touted these principles, however to no avail. The tiny turnout in response to this article bears testament to the fact that Bajans themselves do not want to learn the truth. Rather, they just idle along the periphery of disaster, bracing themselves while foolishly “praying” that the worst does not come. If there is anything that I have learned, is that Bajans LOOOVVE to talk. But come time when ACTION is needed, not a single fowl and her chick can be seen for miles around.

Bajans have inherited many qualities from the British, both good and Bad. However, with the degree of inertia that is currently afflicting our nation on political, social, and economic levels similar to that of African economies currently ridden with “Big Man” corruption (funded by westerners); one has to truly question how much can one really tolerate when the Bad starts to outweigh the Good.

Bajans are a very sad lot on the grounds that we have done very little to cultivate our land into a true Gem. OUR ANCESTORS WHO DIED IN BONDAGE SHOULD STRIKE ALL BAJANS WITH THEIR EVERY MIGHT.
    Because we have been given an opportunity THAT THEY WERE DENIED. A chance to forge a nation IN OUR OWN IMAGE, that works according to OUR SOCIETAL STANDARDS AND VALUES.

But much of those values have been misplaced by those eager to dodge the hard toils of agriculture by switching in for a position in the services. We have enabled blind ourselves into thinking that “Development” merely encompasses keeping up with appearances through the adoption of a role that MIMICS industry at the EXPENSE of engaging and stimulating growth through production.

I would say that I weep for Bim, however Bajans themselves don’t seem too keen on seeking any IMMEDIATE changes. I mean after all, if Bajans are truly FED UP with the current dynamics that have misplaced our national values and priorities, then they would have ALREADY taken to the streets outside parliament holding rallies and protests for immediate action and government accountability as well as more government transparency and direct democracy.

Bajans have allowed the system to fail them because they STILL choose to DETACH themselves from the political realm due to the fact that they feel ill equipped when faced with the lingo and “diction” used by politicians (which is essentially all coded Bull-sh*t). However, the Average Bajans should be aware that to separate yourself from the actions that your government is taking is to SACRIFICE your very livelihood, and essentially enables for larger external parties to continue to abuse and emasculate Bim as a nation.

I know that I cannot STAND for this. However, If the Bajan him/herself isn’t making any noise, then who am I to worry for them if they themselves see no reason to fear the oncoming tribulations of the fast approaching global economic fall out? Only Bajans themselves can worry enough about something like that. Or rather, they SHOULD BE worried. Just don’t get mad and blame all of our trials on the Politicians folks, after all it is YOUR DUTY as a citizen to SCRUTINIZE your elected politicians to the highest degree. Now Bajans are feeling the effects after years of neglecting that oh so imperative task, HOLDING YOUR ELECTED OFFICIALS TO FULL ACCOUNTABILITY!

Rather, Bajans would much prefer to bicker and banter over “party politics” in our TWO PARTY “DEMOCRACY”, blaming and accusing the opposing side of neglect, corruption, and failure to meet and/or maintain our nation’s most urgent priorities. This all being true, along with the fact that is rather BOTH the DLP AND BLP who had helping hands in our nation’s current LAPSING state. They merely exchanged hands, like office-clerks exchanging shifts. It is time that the so called “UNDER CLASS” DEMAND a change by ACTING. This is truly a matter of NOW or NEVER, as the window to the opportunity to saving our very nation is FAST CLOSING. Whether Bajans are willing to act NOW is a matter that is still up in the air.

And it seems that it will continue to linger for quite some time at this rate….

6. I can’t see how an education system can fail a country that has no plan in the first place. Barbados has been blessed with successive administrations who spend their time in office, looking after themselves, throwing taxpayers money around like they are Santa Claus, going through the motions and occasionally putting forward some poorly thought-out policy that is poorly implemented by a civil service that is so frustrated it’s beyond caring.
    What is this national development plan? What is the goal/mission? Does anybody know? Everyone has spouts some imaginary notion of the direction Barbados needs to go but is their an actual goal government is working towards? Without that all we get is meaningless noise and debate and nothing is achieved at the end of the day.
    I don’t understand this obsession with not selling ‘our’ land. As far as I am concerned my land is land I hold the deeds to. All other land belongs to someone else and the same way i am free to do what i want with my land they should be free to do what they want to theirs as long as it doesn’t harm the environment. If the government want to keep space undeveloped then they need to act and invest with $$$$$ not moan and complain. If it means so much to the rest of Barbados they will not mind the investment with their taxes.
    This notion that one can force people into the fields is strange considering our history. Even crazier is the notion that you can educate people into farming. Given how many people believe there is a good living in agriculture, and how much land is for sale, why have so few people taken up the challenge either as a farmer/ agricultural worker? I somehow doubt it’s cause they weren’t taught how to dig potatoes in school.

7. Education has always been regarded as the sacred cow. Barbadians and governments will talk, write reports but in the end show little will power to do anything.A child can see that our education system needs to be revamped (it has lost relevance in today’s world) but we continue along the same road never the less.

What will it take to change position?

8. Multiwood has truly impressed me with their amazing furniture and outstanding service! I recently renovated my living room, and Multiwood’s furniture was the perfect addition to the space. The quality of their sofas, coffee tables, and entertainment units is exceptional, and the contemporary designs add a touch of elegance to the room. The delivery was on time, and the installation was handled with care by their professional team. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with Multiwood products and service, and I will definitely be a returning customer for future furniture needs

9. Multiwood has truly impressed me with their amazing furniture and outstanding service

Xxxxxxcx

GOOD SNEAKY PROMOTION. THE BLOG MASTER SHOULD CHARGE YOU FOR TRYING TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF HIS PLATFORM FOR FREE

10. Sagheerandco has earned my trust as a reliable provider of premium bathroom accessories. Their products not only meet but exceed my expectations every time. I recently ordered a few items for my home, and the quality craftsmanship is evident in every detail. Sagheerandco has a keen eye for design and a commitment to customer satisfaction that keeps me coming back for more.
    For More Details: https://medium.com/@sagheerandco0/why-bathroom-accessories-and-sanitary-items-are-necessary-3c606cf4019b

11. DigitalSouls has an incredible graphic design team that brought our vision to life. Their IT solutions are equally impressive, providing us with the tools and support needed to thrive. Their friendly cost and outstanding customer care make them the best choice among IT companies.
    For More Details: https://medium.com/@steveaustin4565/why-your-canadian-business-needs-top-tier-it-services-7c63d50651ee