Submitted by Old Onions
What is the state of the Barbados economy?

When Gypsy penned the calypso.”Captain dis ship is sinking…Captain these times are rough” such were the days of hard times for the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.The mighty ship shadowed was a propinquity, the “SSS Trinidad” Gypsy could have never imagined, how history would repeated itself in many ways, for these small, but philtre islands in this western archipelago called the West Indies.

Seems like a once well run ship laden with $2.8 billion in reserves, has somewhat mysteriously drifted into these conspicuous waters again.. Oxford English dictionary defines drifted as ” to be carried gently along by or as if by a current of water or air”. Was such the SSS Barbados’ fate ? Inertia more suit’s the bill.

If one would recall, way back in 2007, the incumbent Admiral was confronted with signs of a pending economic crisis on the horizon and blew the horns to fore warn…” buckle down and prepare for stormy weather “. Were these warnings heeded ? NO. When the new crew boarded ship, it was as if for a joy ride…even one cheeky, well now embellished fellow had the audaciousness of shouting to the ousted crew “We don’t want any advise from you.” With that they sailed off into the sunset, ship laden with treasury unaware of their pending fate.

Today, five years after that sad presumption.. Life on the SSS Barbados has taken a turn for the worst. Ambivalence has taken root as there is no longer a feeling of “joie de vivre. ” Instead the crew portrays long and hardened faces as they recall days of a mutiny from within…quelled but not forgotten. Many with thoughts of an amelioration, as they gloat among themselves of the propitious Glory Days. Alas all hands on deck…Land ahoy ! Soon time to re-man this ill charted ship.

121 responses to “SOS, May Day, a distress call from the "SSS Barbados"”

1. @ Roger
    Where was onion on the night of April 24th?
    While you were out gettin an earful…..I was in getting a bellyful.

2. The PM gave an insight into the sham the skulldugery that’s the BLP. Arthur’s notorious speech filled with tears in the House on his plan to leave politics if he didnt get more money was revisited. Who thief the CLICO report? My guess a BLP operative. Where was onion on the night of April 24th?
    So the Deloitte Judicial Report was stolen thus rendering PM sterile to comment or act in any judicious way being the man in highest office…..Hog wash or Mafa money…?….Why this leave a stalemate for us waiting, the promised pensioners and investors in CLICO. June and others we are out in the cold, that was the official rendering….A stinking thief stole our fortunes…..whalosss!…Integrity Legislation nah…wait for um.

3. Steady she goes mates……steady on like slumber ..STEADY…
    While we await a clearing ….waiting for the economic weather to break….STEADY

4. SSS BARBADOS…….SOS ya hear….we tottering wid these follies..PULL BDOS PULL ya self up……off load these high plain drifters who suckin all the milk off ya…..PULL BABES

5. Today is D-Day remember 911…where were you on that day ?

6. Bulling can’t DUN…..when it ain’t AX….is that all must suffer, even though you lost your way and ready to implode ….like the lad in the first video a day coming soon when bullies will get theirs……I hope people watching the second video too…..911 revisited….

7. When will the DLP Bullies like ac ,Clone King Saul son and ! and a full metal jacket of strangers to the truth….. cannot decide to MOVE ON…BARBADOS IN TROUBLE….she sinkin FAST stop the politicking and lets get on with the business of a new mandate…..Stupidity to the nth….If the DLP WINS GOOD…If the BLP WINS EVEN BETTER…. but time to let the country move on from this inertia and stalemate…..WE DO NOT HAVE MUCH MORE TIME PEOPLE !

8. May day ..May day…this is an SOS , sending out May Day May day May Day

9. You all deserve every lash wanna get…ask Wickham…..all ya to HARD EARS….the longer the wait…the worse will be the situation. Did Dr. Worrell’s report not substantiate this???….. not a FELLA in hay would dare say different…LONGER LONGER WORSE WORSE 26-4 …keep waiting !

10. Is good when you can reflect, now night almost turned to day……

BEWARE OF THE IDES OF MARCH…..haunted

I see some ready to talk perception now….but for the CBC other post…they opted to play Clint Eastwood in Unforgiven…..not a egg won’t come out ole fowl botsie nor mouth. If a question of competence to govern this country is asked…well DLP house burn down long time….Cuddear did I hear the “I words” as in Integrity ? Seems that we also need to search for a video a red mongoose with egg in hand….No one can forget CLICO and the Grand Master of all magicians…who made $10 Million of the taxpayers money disappear early in reign…. under the kind auspices of “showing good faith” and reassuring minds….only to be followed by a Deloitte revelation….that 13 of the monies (so far laid public) has left an African snail trail readily traceable…… the rest…but for the lost of spectacles.

11. Bare wid me……I in a cut n paste mood……( lol ac)

snip…. intro

Today, five years after that sad presumption.. Life on the SSS Barbados has taken a turn for the worst. Ambivalence has taken root as there is no longer a feeling of “joie de vivre. ” Instead the crew portrays long and hardened faces as they recall days of a mutiny from within…quelled but not forgotten. Many with thoughts of an amelioration, as they gloat among themselves of the propitious Glory Days. Alas all hands on deck…Land ahoy ! Soon time to re-man this ill charted ship….

Buckle up all….she listing !

12. Hey Old Onions….long time no smell…!!

Good to see you back singing for your supper 🙂
    …hope you don’t have to settle for leftovers….. LOL

13. Wait Bushie ????

I thought you did get gone-up (Miss Bell) ….stupesss I ent gine let D secret out….man what sing for supper what…think I is you?…stupeesss

14. That is very interesting, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look ahead to looking for
    more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

15. old onion bags Avatar

…….so wait ….what bout the contributors? …Man give we some kudos too nah…cheez!

16. Welcomed Soothsayer Avatar
    Welcomed Soothsayer

@ Caution Speaker

From as far back as August,20o8 warnings were on the ceiling.Today you asking Miller for advice in earnest?. To do what eh?

17. Welcomed Soothsayer Avatar
    Welcomed Soothsayer

If one would recall, way back in 2007, the incumbent Admiral was confronted with signs of a pending economic crisis on the horizon and blew the horns to fore warn…” buckle down and prepare for stormy weather “. Were these warnings heeded ? NO. When the new crew boarded ship, it was as if for a joy ride…even one cheeky, well now embellished fellow had the audaciousness of shouting to the ousted crew “We don’t want any advise from you.” With that they sailed off into the sunset, ship laden with treasury unaware of their pending fate.

Today, five years after that sad presumption.. Life on the SSS Barbados has taken a turn for the worst. Ambivalence has taken root as there is no longer a feeling of “joie de vivre. ” Instead the crew portrays long and hardened faces as they recall days of a mutiny from within…quelled but not forgotten. Many with thoughts of an amelioration, as they gloat among themselves of the propitious Glory Days.

18. De Executioneer...(murda) Avatar
    De Executioneer…(murda)

Dis ship is stinkin now…..from garbage to legal cesspools
    ……….not one shoite ent happening and all we seeing pun this horizon is DREAD….Count Dread

19. De Executioneer...(murda) Avatar
    De Executioneer…(murda)

D best joke …I hear King Barrack gine lock DEM out again….Hants how D fishin ole boy?…..

20. Waiting for September rains to bring the salmon and brown trout into the rivers.

21. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website,
    how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a
    acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea