Submitted by Old Onions
What is the state of the Barbados economy?

When Gypsy penned the calypso.”Captain dis ship is sinking…Captain these times are rough” such were the days of hard times for the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.The mighty ship shadowed was a propinquity, the “SSS Trinidad” Gypsy could have never imagined, how history would repeated itself in many ways, for these small, but philtre islands in this western archipelago called the West Indies.

Seems like a once well run ship laden with $2.8 billion in reserves, has somewhat mysteriously drifted into these conspicuous waters again.. Oxford English dictionary defines drifted as ” to be carried gently along by or as if by a current of water or air”. Was such the SSS Barbados’ fate ? Inertia more suit’s the bill.

If one would recall, way back in 2007, the incumbent Admiral was confronted with signs of a pending economic crisis on the horizon and blew the horns to fore warn…” buckle down and prepare for stormy weather “. Were these warnings heeded ? NO. When the new crew boarded ship, it was as if for a joy ride…even one cheeky, well now embellished fellow had the audaciousness of shouting to the ousted crew “We don’t want any advise from you.” With that they sailed off into the sunset, ship laden with treasury unaware of their pending fate.

Today, five years after that sad presumption.. Life on the SSS Barbados has taken a turn for the worst. Ambivalence has taken root as there is no longer a feeling of “joie de vivre. ” Instead the crew portrays long and hardened faces as they recall days of a mutiny from within…quelled but not forgotten. Many with thoughts of an amelioration, as they gloat among themselves of the propitious Glory Days. Alas all hands on deck…Land ahoy ! Soon time to re-man this ill charted ship.

121 responses to “SOS, May Day, a distress call from the "SSS Barbados"”

1. HOW come Old Onions can get a post and JUST ASKING cant get none ??
    I want you to know that I have 100 questions to ask and these can form a posr==a word to the wise !
    Anyhow the prediction
    BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT
    is taking shape with Taan Abed running as an idependent.

There will be many running as independents
    The next election will see a record number of independents and this is easy to accept condisering that there is apathy and the major parties face a challenge

2. The spelling errors above are due to the fact that I cannot see the space –it is all jumbled in one and that is either due to the blog or my computer

3. Thanks Hamiliton, as usual…..why your thread ” DLP in a gifting mood” why I can see… most definitely concurs. Time for life vest buddy….go wake up ac and clone….the water rising fast…it’s a case of the MP’s brekking for themselves..to get in the life boats first.

4. try spell check

5. Onions

I like your sailing analogy and If you permit me to continue that same vein, I would like to suggest that the crew was only experience enough to handle a moses but they attempted to take an ocean liner out into uncharted waters. The first problem they encountered was that neither captain or crew could use a compass or sextant. They are heading for the rocks; it seems like the rudder is locked into position; the crew is abandoning ship; and the captain is asleep in his quarters with the door lock and with his musket under his pillow for fear of another attempted mutiny by 11 of his eager crew.

In other news, the members of City of Bridgetown Credit Union,at their AGM yesterday, kicked James Paul to the kerb. He was up for re-election and offered himself but the members had enough of him. With over two hundred members present, he managed less than 70 votes in his bid to retain his seat on the board. He was soundly trashed by relative unknowns. In an attempt to save a little face, he ran for the Credit Committee and suffered an even more humiliating defeat managing a mere 44 votes.

Onions, do you think that this is a sign of things to come?

6. Onions promotes child pornography, has pedophile leanings so whatever comes out of his mouth now is pure unadulterated shoite! He is a pervert in sheep’s clothing!

7. Barbadian are doing well compared to many in my neck of the woods in North America. A few are bellyaching for political reasons. The truth is not on their side.

8. Caswell
    Its like rubba dub dub, nuff men in a tub.
    Last time we check…we hear there was vexation ova a certain fella gine to Olympics….the infighting for life vests continued, even got to pushing and shoving….Some fellas like the vegetables man done drown already…he cud forget life vest to start…but wid all the pushing n shoving , they better be careful they don’t further off balance the tub. Waters musse real cold for all that clatter VOB feeling everyday. As predicted …it looks like ‘soon time’.The probability of an early elections HIGH.

9. @Adrian
    such is the nature of politics coming on the backside of a hotly contested elections that brought change and promises of better in many different areas. Setting expectations high opens the door to disappointment and distrust.

@caswell
    “do you think that this is a sign of things to come?”

It is a sign of things that already are.

@onions
    “The probability of an early elections HIGH.”

highly unlikely. the crew needs time for the passengers to forget or look look past the last squall, as they hope for at least a 2 week stretch at some point filled with sunshine ad calm waters.

10. Adrian Hinds | August 12, 2012 at 7:29 AM |
    Barbadian are doing well compared to many in my neck of the woods in North America. A few are bellyaching for political reasons. The truth is not on their side

Bang on target I’m home for a wedding took in Crop Over still trying to find the doom the desperation the opposition broadcasting is gripping the island. I’m seeing happy faces of children of people shopping spending looks normal lots of tourists around lots of celebrities lots of parties. On the ground no one is calling for elcections before the country goes over a cliff . Where is the cliff?1? Nice restaurant was there Saturday night place packed with locals. Until my departure I’ll keep looking for the armagedeon the BLP yardfowls telling us is imminent. Bake chicken and Bajan rice and peas on menu today ,sweet Barbados.

11. @ puzzled
    There are crises of circumstance, crises of confidence and crises of competence. Barbados may be seeing one and not the next, or a combination of any and/or all.

A house can look damned good until the last upright in the center rots and the roof caves in. Admittedly though, rot takes much more than 4 years to set in.

Just observing.

12. @ Adrian and Puzzled
    Seems like you fell prey to the barrage of Illaro Court parties jaunted …..Bon Voyage till next year dear fellas…..I hear the fish cake the size of your fist, and the long neck duz flow like Bomanston Special…Not you all’s fault to report back what you were fed… shudda also visit Bush Hall, St.Stephens and even Grazettes….carry some left backs too.

13. @ Puzzled…true position is..

14. Observing

I don’t know if James Paul’s humiliating defeat at COB is a sign of things to come that is why I asked Onions.

15. @ Caswell
    Like you want me play CrimeSon’s song fa you ….”.I ent kno doan ask me”.
    You will have to go to Paul’s fortune teller for that one…lol

16. @Adrian and Puzzled
    You are both far too clever to forget that Bajans will spend money they dont have to enjoy the Party of the year!

Judging the Bajan Economy during Crop Over is STATISTICALLY SPURIOUS at best.

What is coming economically will hit hard whether Ds or Bs in power, as neither will provide the top flight leadership required. Priority will be how to feather their personal NESTS! When peeps pun here arguing race and party politics ad nauseum the pols thinking bout DEAD PMs, DEAD Presidents and the Queen’s image in profusion!

17. @ Caswell
    What I notice, and given a real big times HUSH 3….. is this Govt LAND SWAP deal that people pushing off wid a 10ft pole….not even ole die hard ac….won’t even fart near it, for fear of drawing attention….That one musse a real STINKER….to be given such bete noire’…..Man the DLP aint just sinking……she smelling too as well…

18. @Onions

HA! HA! HA! i like your anolgy of the SSS PERCEPTION BARBADOS a ship laden with water holes .

19. Nuff ole talk on another thread by a pack of DLP neophytes….when Barbados delivered on a platter to a pack of wolves…. they rather talk wuk – a tuk than face reality..its the classic case of denial.

20. @ onions

don’t worry you time cme and gone.the bell has indeed been rung! the ghost sss Barbados is in dry dock under going major repairs left over by a mockstick captain and crew who overlaidit wid heavy duty wastage now it having plenty holes to be plug but wait a minute ole man onions correcting de damage not going to be easy but it is being done never mimd the ole choir of blp rat packs waiting on life rafts waiting to jump on board not gonna happen.

21. http://www.ustream.tv/channel/blplive
    BLP mass meeting at Prior Park.

22. “They braced themselves for the onslaught, as they rough-shod over the perilous caps, slowly moving around the biggest ones so that the battered ship wouldn’t capsize. The captain, barely able to stand, kept a determined hold on the wheel,making sure that the vessel would over shoot the monstrous waves. His thoughts now wandering, “how the hell could this be our fate?”..Why only a few days ago, there was an attempted mutiny. The warnings were everywhere,yet I chose not to heed…we were heading on a wrong and precarious course. Given the option again, I would redress. On the horizon they could see the buildings of the distant town. But they knew, that is as much they would see.The sky embroiled to pitch black, while the wind tore at everything.The tops of the buildings stood like tombstones.bleak reminders of the impending.Long solemn faces stared into the night at the obvious.”.
    Shipwreck.: Molveston Samuels.

…..sounds too familiar….

23. yeah and as the sssBarbados headed ashore on the other side a new captain and crew waited eagearly and anxiously to board unaware of the deadly damaged the SSS barbados had undertaken for 14 yrs anyhow troopers they are set out gallantly for the seas setting path in another direction but to be rudely awaken by the sounds of raging waters filling the ship the captainand crew huddled together in their valliant fight against raging waters attempting to save the ship not even a bucket was found on board to bail water the SSS barbados had been taken for a 14year ride leaving nothing behind for rescue in event of catastrophy so the new captain and crew made do with what ever they had to stop further leakage and complete dessolation of the SSS Barbados .

24. What is most clear….corrective action comes came too late ..in both shipwrecks.

25. Corrective action takes time . What was necessary was for the former captain and crew to capatalise on the amount of time they had in “Ready preparedness” expecting that there is always clams before the storm. as for the new crew they have no such luck of time in correctiveness repairing 14years of damage on a flooded boat not easy and the cost is mindboogling.

26. What we HAD was a former captain…who delivered the cargo….and made wealthy the crew…not to forget a highly embellished and intact ship.

Can’t see this happening now… First mates already jumping overboard, affa a mutiny attempt….far less the crew, even before sights of a dry port.

Take you pick….

27. Elections definitely on the door step for sure..Min. Sealy.”.BARE WITH US…we can get tings done..”..ac what is he talking about ?

28. I give them till October…

29. “yeah and as the sssBarbados headed ashore on the other side a new captain and crew waited eagearly and anxiously to board unaware of the deadly damaged the SSS barbados had undertaken for 14 yrs anyhow”
    The new Captain and Crew were so incompetent that they did not even have the commonsense to conduct the necessary checks and balances before taking the battered ship back out to sea.

30. De new ‘capitan’ din even know a stern from the bow…..and spent too much time in the mess hall….as to the crew…they were always hungry..and swapped for a scrap metal dump..stripping metal and reselling it.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

FOURTH ALARM GOING OFF:

SOS TO THE CAPTAIN & HIS DISAPPOINTED SECOND MATE THE FOOTBALL MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE:
    There is going to be a Severe Shortage of corn and wheat and other cereals in the coming months.
    Bajans brace yourselves for spikes in food prices. What we have seen previously would look like shopping at S Y Adam on Swan Street as compared to Harrods of Knightsbridge in London.

Start growing more local food. We will NOT be able to afford the imported stuff!

32. @ Miller
    To the best of your recollect…was there ever in the history of this lil Rock….a SSS which had so many controversies? I call it ..’where is the beefry’..why this 4+ years we had eva thing imaginable, thiefry, liery, stealery, forgery,bigotary, swappery, rackateery, gun playery,eagerly,non readery and now beggary. Most definite SSS was in all sorts a shittery. No wonder the slurry crew opting for early bail out.

33. as the ghost of SS barbados steadily floats upon choppy waters the captain and crew is able to retain and sustain a forward movement standing on deck the captain sees the former captain and crew on life rafts heading towards the ship the captain shouts to his crew “mayday ” the crew heeds the warning and knew for sure that the SSS barbados would be under attack the captain not one to take chances knew the possibilty that the pirates was ready to seize the ship issued a “Fireupon” if necessaary order however that was not to be as the former captain and his now renamed pirate crew spirited off into the dark night for safe haven never to be heard of again.,

34. Man ac
    Dat is not true….the present capitan….sounded words of “Mother of all battles, and fight of his life “…Stop telling lies nuh..If I may add further….the present capitan ( not capitain)..then ordered the first mate sealy to go bring his brown pants..in an attempt to hide any “evidence” as he began to tremble in his boots….the crew then obnoxiously held their noses and headed to the windward side…lol….(your turn)

35. Things are getting rougher in Barbados.I got a call from an overseas colleague to say he has received his land tax bill.Receiving none I called the office and was told yes the bills are on their way!Says something is amiss!No funds in the kitty.As if that is not surprising enough as there was a time not too long ago when these bills were due for payment in November month,I was told by the office that those for next year(fiscal 2013/14)will be out in April 2013!!Is not that classified as a non interest bearing loan?Govt is drawing up the due date more and more every year.

36. digusted and frustrutated the old captain of SSS Barbados after many months of floating in choppy and unchartered waters with no end in sight decides he had enough and gives up handing over the reigns to a new mate one that he despies but think can do a better job of seizing the limping SSS barbados, the captain of the SSS barbados got word of this dastardly plan and shrugs it off and declares it “punishable by laughter” word spread among the crew that a change of plan was necessary or even a different path might have to be taken one which captain and crew agree but alas the path and plans were haphazaroudly abandon as the old captain of the SSS barbados renege and had a change of heart leaving his newly appointed captain floating aimlessly in shark infested waters with no life rafts,needless to say both captain and crew had a good laugh and continued on their journey!

37. Now you becoming too far fetched…..Keeping it close to real but wid lil flavor..The Battle for Bridgetown Dock yard is about to begin….the present capitan stuaert feels alone and deserted….he again summons first mate sealy to address the crew…with a ” We gave you nothing as you deserve nothing…only Waterman, the Doc gone secretary and his cohorts….get to fu3k on the deck and man those guns….nincompoops you…didn’t cook Blackitte not inform you ..we are fu3king liars and cut -throats…man those fu3king guns Dogface…everyone of you…the ugly one called Hill , i want him up front n centre…..the first sabre from the enemy…I wish would chop off his head….arrogant son of a ras2ole…now get to it muddafc3rs U..
    With dat a red hott canon ball hit the deck ..bounced like a frightened crappo and completely severed Clone head….cheezon breds man, shouted the capitan….I did want he kick the bucket eva sense….bull-eye ..a double ration of rum for dat shooter..Oh Ras2hule…owen comin…murderrrr

38. meanwhile owen shows up at the dock and shouts” kickback” and everybody runs for cover!

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | August 13, 2012 at 9:33 PM |

You have me in stitches!! What entertaining prose! You can now leave the brig although Hammie Hill the billy goat wanted you to walk the plant for wukking up too much.

40. Ac-you are desperately needed in the beleguered corridors of george street. ALL HANDS ON DECK

41. and it came to past that as the waves continued to to batter the lederless vessel and with no light at the end of the tunnel having lost faith in the erstwhile and forlorn fumbling captain that the desperate crew contemplating mutiny again turned and said Oh wise and upright fumble , save thyself and us and Fumble fumbling for an answer said ‘ it is not good to kick against the pricks’then said the crew “Breaketh we then must for ourselves’”notwithstanding that the zealot King arthur might command again for even the sea and the waves seem to obey him. Here endeth the lesson.and now let us sing the Hymn -Abide with me fast falls the even tide- fClosing Hymn- Rock of ages cleft for me; let me hide myself in thee.

42. and as the ship floated aimlessly against the tide . another mayday was called for across the horizon the captain with binoculars in hand spotted several life rafts holding a banner saying “EAGER 11″the captain hurriedly rushed to his crew who saw the banner and wonder aloud “What does that mean” the captain one of few words but with profound commonsense uttered not a word but look at his crew and smiled and after a long paused ‘ said ” This is the last straw: heads would roll” but not ours”

43. @ Balance
    “the erstwhile and forlorn fumbling captain that the desperate crew contemplating mutiny again turned and said Oh wise and upright fumble , save thyself and us and Fumble fumbling for an answer said ‘ it is not good to kick against the pricks’then said the crew “Breaketh we then must for ourselves’”notwithstanding that the zealot King arthur might command again for even the sea and the waves seem to obey him.”
    Now balance, that was TOP NOTCH…..we got nuff potential Shakespeares in BU….”even the sea and waves “…lol

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

THIS IS AN APB TO “TO THE POINT ” “1” & “AC”:

Standard & Poor’s just upgraded the credit rating on the Jamaica economy despite the “worsening international recession”.
    You think BOLT is responsible for the strike of luck or is it a gift for their 50th year of Independence?

In that case, apologists, Bim would have to wait until 2016 when Ryan would win gold in Rio to coincide with Bim’s 50 years of independence but now suffering from a serious ailment called “DLPITIS” that can lead to a terminal disability before reaching that 50 year landmark.

45. @ Miller

then what does that say for the credibilty of S&P just playing politics. maybe they expect the economy of Jamaica to improve because of BOLT> guess there is hope for Barbados

46. @ac
    Wall St works on how the market will react….PERCEPTION…plays large role in determining share prices….So yes…now that BOLT has made a door open for people to want to come to J A in droves..increasing forex..YES YES they would get a better S&P rating for potential revenue..

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | August 14, 2012 at 1:20 PM |

That kind of informed financial analysis is too deep for ac to see with her DLP blinkers on. Ac can only see the evil hands of OSA behind every economic or financial misfortune dogging Barbados under this cursed DLP administration. EWB never told such boldfaced lies to win or retain a government. To do to the Guyanese immigrants what this administration did must have really upset the watery soul of EWB who welcomed Indo- and Euro- Guyanese to these shores in the 60’s & 70’s. And to hear this DLP administration singing the praises of other Caribbean people and exploiting their recent successes at London 2012 for cheap political purposes is indicative of the hypocrisy of this administration. Let them treat fellow Caribbean nationals with respect and decency and apologise to those who have been treated at the GAIA in the most highhanded manner with a special apology to Ms Myrie and then we will take you seriously in your suspect adulations of and pretend identification with Jamaican’s athletic prowess.

One often reaps what one sows!! It’s harvest time in Bim but not for dead sugar.
    This DLP administration compass is broken and the country is rudderless and heading hard for the rocks. SOS! SOS! SOS from SS Barbados to HMS Queen Elizabeth. Please visit us or send a serious missive to your local representative to call a state of emergency in the form of general elections. We need help as matter of emergency!

48. @ Miller
    She closer than we are led on to think…..monies running thin. Notwithstanding, Moody in about November….a further report by anybody internl would completely wipe out all faith by the people in the DLP ..that they cannot afford…With Broomes head on the block a few teacher votes have swung their way……strike while the iron is hott is most appropriate now though I doubt ac would share this view. Each day wasted is a minus-ing of votes…but I am not a kingmaker.

49. Now the DLP mischief breeder on another thread, spewing venom about things he she don’t know…..like they don’t know there are people in the midst who do…..ha ha ha..damm idiot.