The Deputies

One of the many problems which afflict our political system is the overwhelming focus on the ‘maximum’ leaders of the two main political parties, case in point Fruendel Stuart and Owen Arthur. The talk shows, newspapers and of course ‘the blogs’ you name it, the majority of the conversation is always about Arthur and Stuart. No wonder when our leaders depart – Tom Adams, Errol Barrow and David Thompson – there is a void which the parties have struggled to fill.

It seems like a long time since Mia Mottley was removed as leader of the Opposition. Of interest is that Dale Marshall  continued in his role as deputy opposition leader if there is such a position. Marshall has never attained a national profile which placed him in the conversation to be considered prime minister material. It is clear his role as deputy was to placate the Payne faction and also to recognize his facile political persona.

As gearing for the next election intensifies Arthur has recognized (very quickly) that a role must be defined for Motley given her relatively high national profile. He has had no choice but to let her assume the role of party whip used here to mean amplifying party views. We have seen her replying as lead spokesman of the opposition to the most important debates for the year; the Estimates and the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals. As Motley has regained prominence Dale Marshall has had to revert to a role which he seems comfortable. A recent press conference by the opposition to respond to the S&P downgrade exposed the batting order if one judges from the speaking order – Arthur, Motley and Mascoll. A throwback to the last election maybe when some had concerns about whether Mascoll or Mottley was the deputy?

Over the divide in the wake of the E11 saga which has interacted with the Alexandra fiasco to Jones’ disadvantage, Barbadians have witnessed the quiet dissatisfaction of Prime Minister Stuart with his long standing ‘Acting Prime Minister’. Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy has received a call up to act as deputy on the occasions Prime Minister Stuart has had to leave the country. Sealy obviously has been rewarded for his loyalty; at the time. What has not worked for Stuart in the eyes of an enquiring public is the Marshall-like personality which Sealy possesses. Given Stuart’s own taciturn nature, one would have thought a more boisterous appointment as his deputy would have been more politically astute.

If we look pass the two political leaders to plot a matchup with a general election on the horizon, Arthur and the BLP has the clear advantage if we stop at the deputy position.  The recent CADRES poll has given Arthur the big lead over Stuart in assessing the leadership position. To win the next general election Stuart will have to communicate to a demanding public in a way he has been unable to do since he assumed office. To many, like BU, who will sit on the fence for this election it will be interesting to observe the strategy of the DLP who has enjoyed making a hash of it of late. Arthur has his people singing from the same hymn sheet, Stuart and the DLP can learn a thing or two by doing the same.

At this late stage in the game it is hard to fathom what will be the DLP strategy to win the next election.

1. They have none.

With an election due, instead of PM Stuart using his time in the budget debate to outline what will be the DLP strategy to win the next election, he went down an unfamiliar road for him, thrashing Mia and Owen and threatening to unearth a 2003 FBI report which he said they went into the PM’s office on January 16, 2008 looking for and never found. If there was not one, how could he find one!

That’s why every man is breaking for himself making all kinds of pronouncements. Look at the recent outburst from them:-

* Inniss……..promising a new hospital
    * Kellman…….all over the place on any and every issue and promising a duty free haven in land
    * Brathwaite condemning the government over taxes on allowances and putting money into Four Seasons
    * Sinckler……dont talk about him
    * Blackett…..we should have told the people we LIED to them earlier
    * And best of all, Kenny Worst…….creating “untrapreners” (His new word tonight)!

They lost their way when David Thompson took ill and they have not grown up or maybe I should say they did not have the experience to rise to the challenge of governing in recessionary times. They seem to be either getting bad advice or that they were not listening to the advisers. I think the latter as they are an arrogant bunch!

2. It seems the deputy PM seat is like musical chairs. LOLL Yes Prodigal it is clear that every man fuh himself now. I have NEVER in my life ever heard of Ministers and elected members of Parliament criticize their party publicly like the present government. Have they no loyalty? Have they no shame? Do they think the electorate is that stupid? Boy oh boy this election will be very interesting.

3. Prodigal this was how you felt about Mia last year but as people say a day in politics is a long time and so the DLP can make up their problems if they have any between now and April 2013.

Prodigal Son | June 4, 2011 at 12:22 AM |
    Why don’t we hear of any of the Dems going on a crusade to change their delegate system? They have the same system as the BLP has in place and none of their MPs are quarrelling and saying they are on a crusade to change the party’s constitution.

I read in the newspaper this week that the DLP’s branches submitted names to the General Council for these persons to run as candidates. I did not read that they were nominated during any branch meeting.

It just goes to show that Mia has an agenda to destroy the BLP. She had a pact with the dead king to give the DLP two terms, so her aim is for the Bees to lose this election and then it will be her turn.

She had better remember how it turned out for Gordon Brown after he forced Blair to hold up his side of a deal they had made. Brown turned out to be the worst PM Britain ever had and sustained the worst election defeat

By the way do you feel she still wants to break up the party?
    It seems you do not know politicians. They all make deals to benefit themselves.

4. Prodigal

You may still be surprise because she is a human being and that bad mouthing by Owen Arthur on National and Regional Television that she was not fit to be a leader because of her lifestyle would have hurt her and maybe playing a part to make sure that she can still lead the party if they lose the election.
    Which is highly likely when Owen Arthur is exposed one more time.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

You seem to have missed Stephen Lashley promising to take the Pic o de Crop finals to the Gymnasium in the event of a storm. That one was precious. Their brains and mouths do not appear to work in harmony. It is usual for their mouths to get in gear and get going long before their brains begin to warm up.

However, I must disagree with you when you say that they don’t have a strategy for winning the next election. It is clear that they have a one pronged attack. All of them are on one page by repeatedly suggesting that the BLP would cut the salaries of public officers if they are returned to office. Their strategy is to scare the hell out of people in order to get them to vote for the DLP.

If I were to advise them I would suggest that they come clean with the country and say; when we were elected, we did not know what were doing but in the last 4 1/2 years we have learnt a thing or two. We are sorry but if you give us a chance we will do better after all things can’t get worse. Anywhere from here can only be up so let’s take take you there.

That’s honesty for you, if that doesn’t work nothing will.

6. WHY this post ?
    WHY now ?
    WHAT is the post trying to achieve ?
    DOES it matter at the end of the day ?

WHEN THE RESULTS READ —
    BLP= 29 SEATS
    DLP – 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

IN 1999
    BLP = 28 SEATS
    DLP = 2 SEATS
    INDEPENDENTS = 0 SEATS

7. I agree with you Caswell but I think that like in 2008, the people’s minds are made up and they are only waiting on the DLP!

The Dems have no plan but they are telling people that the BLP is not telling Barbadians where they will cut. The DLP is the party for cutting public workers. Last year, the DLP government asked the Personnel Department to do an audit of staff, what they were going to do with this info we can only speculate.

I do not know what is the point Clone is making, suffice to say, Mia understands now that for her to be in a party, she has to be a team player. Mia and the other MP’s had their falling out, they have made up. Unlike the DLP which is now falling apart, again!

Mia is being given a role now which she is doing admirably and when the BLP wins, she can be named a senior minister like Dame Bilile was and Dale will be Deputy PM. He is a fine MP and speaks confidently and intelligently. The BLP is confident of itself, it can name a deputy PM not like the DLP.

8. That’s why every man is breaking for himself making all kinds of pronouncements. Look at the recent outburst from them:-

and what about Mr Sealy letting the public know in no uncertain terms his feelings about his Govt’s refusal to put money in RedJet and Mr Stuart himself distancing himself from certain aspects of Mr Inniss’s draconian health care measures.

9. David wunna keeping an eye on the Tropical storm heading your way?

You should start a post tracking it.

10. WHY this post ?
    WHY now ?
    WHAT is the post trying to achieve ?
    DOES it matter at the end of the day ”
    To be honest just askin, when i read the above post, your sentiments came to mind.
    “Marshall has never attained a national profile which placed him in the conversation to be considered prime minister material.
    It is clear his role as deputy was to placate the Payne faction and also to recognize his facile political persona”.
    Neither was Mr stuart,nor Mr Jones nor Mr Sealyand couldn’t we speculate as well that Mr Stuart’s elevation to Deputy Prime MInister was for public consumption in an attempt to mend fences within the party since Mr Stuart had no national profile to stand on except for his vicious attack upon Mr Thompson at the DLP annual conference.
    Be careful David how you try to fan the flames of fire while sitting on the fence. you might very well be consumed by the conflagration.

11. @Hants

Thanks, have updated the BU Sidebar.

12. @balance

You and a few other commentators have become as predictable as the snow is white.

Rest assured you are entitled to your views and BU ours.

13. “You and a few other commentators have become as predictable as the snow is white.”
    and so have you for sometime now as dark is night.

14. and so have you for sometime now as dark is night.

It is really not too bad to have you and Onions et al labelling BU pro-DLP and CCC doing the opposite.

What must be obvious to all by now is the fact that no where can you find a forum with such diverse views on the issues.

Sadly we know they are those in the crowd who cannot be satisfied and that is find.

15. it is hard to fathom what will be the DLP strategy to win the next election

There’s no “party” strategy. It’s going to be a fight for yourself on the ground for every vote. If by some miracle they manage to regain a majority through victories in individual and separate battles, then the rebuilding will start from there.
    Regarding Marshall and Sealy. They’re both uninspiring, pretty docile and tepid with regards to communicating(tion) quite full of fluff if you ask me.

@david re balance
    you can please some of the people, some of the time…..

Just observing

16. @observing

What happened to Sealy? Do you recall that TV Debate with Dame Billie? He was brilliant as a youngster.The shine seem to have gone, big time!

17. @David
    that is a freaking understatement. There is something called humility that all leaders and persons in position of authority would do well to learn, embrace and employ. The average person is much better at seeing through fluff, bullsh!t and meandering than in times past. At times Sealy is the epitome of all three.A safe Deputy choice given the Eager 11 saga, but a poor national and political drawing card.

Observing

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

National profile has never been a requirement to be deputy in any political party. Party leaders usually install a deputy that cannot possibly challenge them for leadership. Can you name a deputy that served under Barrow who had national appeal. And don’t tell me Sandi. Sandi did not choose a deputy because it was hard to find anybody with less national appeal than Sandi. Tom Adams had one deputy and he emerged as PM when Tom died but did not have the appeal to retain the Government in 1986. Even now why do you think that Stuart chose Sealy to pretend to be his deputy: Sealy is not a threat to anyone, probably not even David Gill.

Owen chose Billie to be his deputy, an unexplored bomb, she could not be described as having national appeal. He took her down without a ripple, hardly anybody noticed.

Don’t allow yourselves to be swayed by the DLP’s propaganda about Marshall: this all out effort to make him look undesirable is done through fear. The DLP FEARS DALE MARSHALL that is why they are seeking to discredit him.

19. @Caswell

And you are saying this because he went to Combermere? Marshall will have to a lot more than smoke cigars and toss back merlots if he is to impress.

Your comment reinforces the point made in the blog about the need for a competent deputy to be appointed.

20. @caswell
    “National profile has never been a requirement to be deputy in any political party”

That’s because the leader typically had an excellent national profile to begin with. Now, regarding our current leader………nuff said,

“this all out effort to make him look undesirable”
    Marshall does a pretty good job of this himself. Having said that though, he may be absolutely stellar if forced to step up to the plate. Or maybe not.

Observing

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The debate with Billie was the only time that Sealy ever shone politically and that was when Billie had already started to show signs of senility. Give us a break, the only one in the DLP lineup with the brain to lead Barbados out of this mess is Dr. Estwick but the DEMS seem to be leaning toward someone who for all intent and purposes is a consummate bluffer.

22. @Caswell

Regarding Estwick he may have the brains but he has shown himself to be unpredictable.

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am not saying anything because anybody went to Combermere: Mascoll went there too and I think that he is one of the biggest political clowns in the region or probably in this hemisphere.

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I will agree with you that Estwick can be a bit hasty but who else in the current DLP lineup has the intellect that can match his. When you are listening to him, try to ignore the volume and concentrate on the content. He has no match intellectually on his side of the House. Again, it is fear that cause Thompson and now Stuart to hold him back to their detriment and that of this country.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Something just occurred to me and if I was someone who drank alcohol, I would have gone and had two or three stiff drinks.

Constitutionally, any member of the House who is able to command the support of a majority of members can be prime minister. Can you imagine:

PM Steve Blackett
    PM George Hutson
    PM Kenneth Best
    PM Dennis Kellman
    PM Dennis Lowe
    PM Byer-Suckoo
    PM Hamilton Lashley
    PM Patrick Todd
    PM Mara Thompson
    PM John Boyce
    PM Ronald Jones
    PM Michael Carrington

I hope by now you can see the source of my horror. Politically, we are really badly off.

Going through the BLP, my fear is worse because I can see a PM Arthur or Mottley emerging. That would be enough to drink the whole bottle.

26. It pains me to say this but “HONESTY” dictates I must. The DLP has been badly advised. Courses of action were taken which when considered with sound judgement were correct but they allowed others pushing their own agenda to out-manoeuvre them.

Taken the Alexandra issue, it should never have been said that BSTU could have a second meeting with Prime Minister Stuart if the first one with a Minister failed. This gave the BSTU the option not to settle in the first instance.

In strategic planning you must always factor in what your next move will be if you fail in the first, and plan accordingly.

The setting up of the Alexandra Commission of Inquiry was a bold stroke as I said as soon as it was announced. I favoured it from the start as it would expose all the major players in all their nakedness. Prime Minister Stuart has never been given full credit for this which he deserves.

I cautioned that to move against the Prime Minister was not wise. I said at the time the political wilderness is a lonely place for a defeated politican. . . . . some will learn a bitter lesson when the trappings of office have been removed.

A Change of Direction is Required, to salvage something even at this late stage.

(1) Admit with “humility” mistakes have been made.

(2) Come “together” as one and fight for the “Party” bury your egos for some will never have the opportunity again to reach present heights.

(3) Prime Minister Stuart go direct to the “People” change a perception and be seen in the market places, discard a perception of aloofness.

(4) Have a Party line on a variety of issues important to the electorate. Disagree in private if need be and trash out differnences but come out “United” and speak as such.

“What is becoming is HONEST, and whatever is HONEST must always be becoming.”

Barbados deserves it.

27. “it is really not too bad to have you and Onions et al labelling BU pro-DLP and CCC doing the opposite”
    concern thyself not; if it doesn’t fit then acquit it must be.

28. you can please some of the people, some of the time…..

mr observing, this mantra can be applied to mr sealy as well

29. @ Caswell, Lol. Unfortunately, many feel the same way.

Agree that disappointment comes from the perceived incompetence of some, the unbridled arrogance of others, the seeming loss of understanding that Parliamentarians represent the citizens, not themselves and the exhibitied qualities abilities of only a few.

Is it because only a select bold few wish themselves anywhere near Parliament, thus good alternatives are not available. Or is it because the ‘parties’ shove unfortunate candidates to Parliament, even those unsuited?

Whatever it is, many citizens, except those ‘diehards’ are very disenchanted with Parliament and politics.

@Yardbrrom,

Sound advice as always, unfortunately, a mite too late. The ‘game’ is over. The election lost, as most are.

Unfortunate, because in this case, as Caswell infers re alternatives, this election has not been won, but lost as most are.

What we need to understand, is that the succession planning in both administrations has been poor. Is that derived from unbridled egos, from a weakness of character that does not lend itself to opening a door to a potential ‘rival’ or just poor strategy?

Unfortunate, because unless I misunderstood, things, Tom Adams ensured that thre were those, such as Arthur, who were placed in a position of succession, yet this was not carried on.

But then, Tom Adams would not have had any concern as to his own excellent abilities and confidence.

30. Personally, I think the time is nigh, that Mia Mottley be given her chance. When the eleciton is over and the BLP go to Government House, I would think it right that Arthur have a word with his ‘people’, and take the Deputy PM role, have Mia take the lead.

Right, wrong, indifferent, for better or worse, it is her time to have her chance.

‘Godspeed’ is all we can say.

31. “The DLP FEARS DALE MARSHALL that is why they are seeking to discredit him.”
    why should Mr Marshall be a politician to be feared Bro Cas? He has not stepped up to the plate as a parliamentarian nor in his role as Deputy to Miss Mottley and now Mr Arthur and then too the position does not carry much weight anyhow unless the PM dies in office.

32. Regarding Estwick he may have the brains but he has shown himself to be unpredictable.
    BUT HAS PROVEN TO BE THE BEST OF THE PRESENT BUNCH EVEN WHEN HE WAS ON THE OPPOSITION BENCHES.

33. “Going through the BLP, my fear is worse because I can see a PM Arthur or Mottley emerging. That would be enough to drink the whole bottle.”

No, No, No, Bro Cas, despite your obvious misgivings about those two and mine with respect to Mr Arthur as well, no way can i lump them with the bunch described above intellectually and politically. You should have gone to add- can you imagine:
    WILLIAM DUGUID
    GLYNE CLARKE
    DALE MARSHALL
    CYNTHIA FORDE
    GEORGE PAYNE

34. “This gave the BSTU the option not to settle in the first instance.”
    Battle lines had already been drawn and hardened because of the inertia of those charged with the responsibility of bringing resolution to the previously simmering dispute; so there no longer nothing to settle since the rubican had already been crossed and the die was cast.
    In addition, nor can i give Mr Stuart credit for what seemed to be an afterthought after having the nation waiting with bated breath to see the unfolding of his phased approach which petered out into nothingness.

35. Personally, I think the time is nigh, that Mia Mottley be given her chance. When the eleciton is over and the BLP go to Government House, I would think it right that Arthur have a word with his ‘people’, and take the Deputy PM role, have Mia take the lead.

Right, wrong, indifferent, for better or worse, it is her time to have her chance.”

Should the BLP win the election , crusoe, i believe your suggestion would be the most sensible course of action for the BLP to follow.

36. @Crusoe

Was Arthur identified as a future leader?

How did Arthur emerge/supported?

Did he almost pack it in?

@Caswell

Sometimes if not always it is not about brains to be leader but more about getting people on your side, singing from the same song sheet. In other words the characteristics that make up a leader. When you are a leader it is noticeable.

37. I’m in buhbados and can’t find the suffering Bajans that the nationnews, the BLP and its supporters says exist. I honestly cannot say that the DLP has a lot to worry about.

38. Bear in mind that the saying people get what (leader) they deserve. A little while ago Mia was advocating for change in the BLP, democratizing the vote, and now for expediency she is onboard with the party. Whether she has suspended her advocacy on this matter or out of the political expediency we know exist she has compromised, we will have to wait and see. Often times the paramountcy of the party takes root and it is how the potential leader lays the ground work to cement power structures that is the key.

39. Let’s face it, whoever wins, we all lose.

40. I cannot agree more, Mr Peltdownman. We have a poor-rakey set of national politicians (and private sector managers). So much can be achieved with a little imagination and leadership. Look at the number of govt entities which can be combined. Even if we maintain the staff, the management savings will be tremendous

41. Hi Crusoe
    It seems you are right, the question must be asked how can a Party win an election with an overwhelming majority, with a country eager for change and pumped up with goodwill towards them and in the space of four years be fighting with their backs to the wall. Even when one takes into consideration the death of late Prime Minister Thompson.

It is as if boys have raided a cane field late at night and the night-watchman is coming and the call goes out: brek fuh yuself!1!. . . . so sad.

As regards Mia Mottley, as sure as night follows day, she will lead the BLP again. . . . . “HER TIME WILL COME.”

42. Interesting to note that Minister Stephen Lashley is reported in the media yesterday as planning to propose to cabinet some kind of ‘repatriation committee’???

Why make the announcement before getting cabinet approval?

43. Adrian Hinds | August 2, 2012 at 6:51 AM |
    I’m in buhbados and can’t find the suffering Bajans that the nationnews, the BLP and its supporters says exist. I honestly cannot say that the DLP has a lot to worry about

Well said across the world the recession is biting its hit Barbados as hard as anywhere else but the lies and nonsense from the BLP and Gabby on suffering people eatng out of garbage and ready to riot are pellucid foolishness.
    Gabby maybe talented but his credibility is zero so we can dismiss his folly. Who is he backing nowadays he was a Dee then a Bee then planning to go into exile then a Dee or Bee ,he cant be taken seriously. He did not even merit the reply Minister Blackett was generous to give.
    The BLP are up to their usual scaremongering. This election as the PM said no quarter will be asked and none given. I expect the DLP to emerge victorious.

44. @Yardbroom

Perhaps the answer to your question can be found in the intervention on a talk show last week by Minister Blackett. The dichotomy of trying to remain popular at all cost by compromising honesty when communicating with the public.

He admitted the government should have communicated with John Public that in light of the harsh economic times it will be challenged to deliver on manifesto promises. This is how the government has squandered its goodwill.

45. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Adrian Hinds

Welcome back home my brother!

Enjoy the sea,sand,fish-cakes and pudding & souse but please go easy on the rum and the women.

How long will you be here for.

Give us your views on what you are hearing on the ground on the politics.

Ignore Gabby and the crap he talking about riots in Bim because people hungry – he really want noticing.Wuh Gabby think he talking bout Haiti or Guyana?

He like he smoking some real bad stuff!

Yes Money is not as flush as some would like it,but a whole lot of people starving……. ple…a…s…eeee

46. @ David the point to which you have succinctly alluded “Popularity” has its price, it fosters an unachieveable objective; that being if we are elected, everything will be sweetness and overflowing with honey or just wish for anything and it will be granted. . . . . that cannot happen.

At the “core” of a Government’s strategic thinking must be sustained improvement and the narrative must always be judge us because we are “HONEST” in words and deeds.

47. This election as the PM said no quarter will be asked and none given. I expect the DLP to emerge victorious.
    I have always loved my classics….especially this one “Great Expectations”. Seem like I am not the only one….But there is also a Depression #5 in the area and obviously there will be jetsam.

48. @Yardbroom

Hear, hear!

49. @ David,
    Why make the announcement before getting cabinet approval?……………………

Because every man is “breking for himself”!