Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley was quoted in the press on the weekend blaming the lack of a media policy at the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) for feeding perennial controversies during the Crop Over period. To summarize his view: the ad hoc manner NCF officials have interacted with the media must stop. BU agrees with the minister that an effective media policy will always add value to the process of disseminating timely and accurate information.

To support Lashley view, we had another Lashley demonstrating why a media policy is useful. Yesterday at the St. James North Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Constituency meeting Minister of Housing Michael Lashley reacted to the CADRES poll by telling party supporters, “polls don’t vote”. Lashley who has been unusually silent in recent weeks – as well as Minister of Agriculture David Estwick – no doubt strayed from his substantive script of expounding about government’s housing program to share his views on the findings of the CADRES poll.

BU suspects that Nation newspaper reporter Mike King travelled to the St. James North Constituency meeting with great anticipation stoked by the release of the CADRES poll. Lashley did not disappoint. Here is a classic case where a media policy of government should have kicked in to guide public pronouncements about how to treat with the CADRES matter by key government officials.  Especially given the nature of its findings. The nonsensical comments attributed to Minister of Housing Michael Lashley in the Nation newspaper showed clearly his comments were off the cuff and exposed a kind of lethargy by our leadership which is not welcomed in 2012.

Lashley’s comments reflect the urgent need for government – even at this late state in its term – to implement a communications policy. Not since the death of David Thompson has the government been able to establish a coherent and cogent dialogue with the LOCAL media. Has it occurred to the DLP hierarchy by now that ALL utterances about the CADRES poll by government ministers and close others will be placed under the microscope?  

BU is not a fan of election polls but like the ‘Exam’ there is no alternative to scientifically measure the mood of the electorate. Again, BU is not a fan of many of Peter Wickham’s ‘positions’ but his poll results over the years have always been close to the mark. His mentor Pat Emmanuel must be pleased. Last general election BLP members were ‘cussin’ and the DLPites were singing Wickham’s praises. How things have changed after only one term.

If BU were in Stuart’s position Wickham’s poll would have created by now the need to schedule a strategy session with the parliamentary group and other key persons in the DLP before weekend. Barbadians, except DLP hacks are not surprised at CADRES findings, understandable in an austere economic climate.

Prime Minister Stuart may be a nice guy and noble in his intentions. A leader must lead. Stuart must think on these things.

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This poll should not give comfort to either side. My take on it is quite different from all the others that I have heard so far. It is saying very clearly to me, if no one else, that the country is rejecting all of the people vying to become Prime Minister. Thirty per cent of the country is said to prefer Arthur, but if you look at that information another way, you will see that 70% of the country does not want him. He is the best of a bad lot.

This information suggest that the country should really be looking for someone or something new. If Wickham’s poll says nothing else, it is saying that the current crop of leaders is discredited.

2. I am wondering where CCC is right now. I guess he may not have read about the poll as yet, just as Froons has not yet read the CLICO report! LOL!!!

3. @Caswell

Having said that if things remain as is a choice will have to be made.

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Having said that, an old an old bajan saying comes to mind: Before none any.

5. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar
    Observing (and awaiting the bell)

The time for thinking on things is gone. Visible, tangible, progressive action is the only thing that can save dem,

6. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

David i think you have nailed it. a media policy is not only useful is VERY useful. i think lack of a a media policy is what hurt the BLP 4 years ago and the same is so for the DLP today.

i believe the next couple of days will be very telling for the DLP. they must now know that they can’t go into and election with PM Stuart at the top. so they MUST act. to act will call for a leader to rise from the group. given the time the longer they take to act the worst it will be for them.

add to that, that you have to have a media policy in place to deal what surely will be a lot of questions from the public but if we see comments like “polls don’t vote” it is also spells sure doom to them.

surely we are now in election mode and when the bell ring will just be to signal the last lap.

7. old onion bags Avatar

I fail to understand the DLP’s politicos reaction.Could anyone be that daft to expect a different outcome from the polls ? The more and more as I react and listen (on another thread), to some.. I come to realize and answer myself.As with Min Lashley..”polls don’t vote “…these fellows are that remote from reality. They actually believe they were scoring with the people….scoring how, where…? The sad part is ..I believe some still do .

8. David:

Do you have a recording on Hartley Henry’s interview wiith Ellis aired yesterday?

Based on his comments regarding the selection of candidates, he said that throughout the Cbbean parties are holding their noses and selecting a person to run. (paraphrased).

I concur with Caswell ‘before none any.’

Where does that leave us though? Only to elect who is there. And, can we trust the info that is being shared on the economy compared to what we are able to finance in our day to day spend?

Hartley also said that parties are underestimating the intelligence of the Barbadian voters (also paraphrase).Listening to him I get the impression that he is not contributing significantly to his party at this time and he is seeing a falling out between the Gov’t and the electorate. Exclusively my opinion.

Another question, would a media policy prohibit former political strategist for the party in Govt from sharing on private radio station on matters related to party in Government? Would such personnel have to give priority to the Govt owned radio and TV station even if he/she is a regional political analyst?

I believe that Ellis’ intention was to get Hartley views on management of Barbados by his (Hartley’s) party and Ellis did just that. We know that there is a fall out somewhere without speculation now.

9. The poll was not earthshattering in its revelations. Economic conditions are always a main determinant in how a politician is viewed. If you are in government when the economy is growing you are hailed as a great leader and you can walk on water but if there is recession and you have to make any tough decisions or implement any austerity, your popularity takes a major hit.
    Remember after the oil crisis in the 1970’s , how the people turned on the Right Excellent Errol Barrow.
    Therefore, a government operating in the most vicious external environment in nearly 100 years with the accompanying economic repercussions will bear the brunt of criticism.
    That is why so many governments have been having a tough time in the region. Clearly, there was no Freundel Stuart in Jamaica, St. Lucia, Bahamas,Grenada,etc.
    It is not a good time to be an incumbent – The DLP government like Obama must defend their stewardship in the context of stabilizing the ship in an ocean of massive, unprecedented economic turbulence which they encountered.
    It is still the pocket book- the problem is if relax the fiscal policy to acheive your political objective, what will happen to your foreign reserves in an environment where tourists are not spending heavily and foreign inflows are slow.
    A man shared this piece of political strategy for the DLP with me today:
    He called it the Hot potato strategy, I do not necessarily agree but he said:
    If the short term political objective is to be met, the government must clearly and repeatedly highlight its successes, show a unified front and economically reduce taxes, fees,vat on everything. By cutting taxes, they take away an obvious major missile from the opposition and if the people do still run back to the BLP, then they will leave the BLP with the hot potato to send home people,deal with the run on the foreign reserves and all the other issues- They must pass a hot potato, he said.

10. @David

From the brief excerpt in the Nation’s digital edition I can’t fault the Minister. What media policy? He assured the Party faithful that his Gov’t is sticking to its program and carrying on with the People’s business. Who knows at what junction those words appeared in his delivery? You have fallen hook, line and sinker for the Nation’s lede, which was aimed at gullible folks (never thought I would include you among that lot)

You gotta be more streetwise when it comes to the Nation they have had their daggers out for the DLP since Jan.16th 2008 and they don’t even try to camouflage it.

11. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    Now that is adequate confirmation that you all have no idea whatsoever of what is going on…..pray

12. “They must pass a hot potato”.

that is the only potato.

There is no hope of a worldwide economic recovery in the next 2 or 3 years.

The Barbados economy will remain stagnant.

13. The government must continue to adopt a unified approach.This is the area where the public scores the opposition BLP low as the obvious dislike of Ms. Mottley by Owen Arthur is apparent to any one with a brain.
    This is significant because the poll also shows that the people agree that this is the worst BLP slate of candidates ever presented to the people of Barbados-After Arthur , Mottley, the public is saying that the BLP cupboard is bare- deputy opposition leader Dale Marshall – a total waste cannot scrape 2%.
    Despite implementing some tough, unpopular measures, Chris Sinckler is still in the top 3 among all Barbadians and number 2 among uncertain voters. He is obviously highly regarded by many members of the public.Sinckler needs to maintain a high profile along with the rising star Donville Inniss. PM Stuart is no fool – he understands clearly what must be done.

14. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar

@!
    After you’ve finished with the “it’s the economy stupid” mantra,
    could you expound on the 9% “preferred leader” statistic.

and btw, no FS in SLU, BAH or JAM, but…we all saw what happened there. Strategic political errors in the midst of hardships leading to inevitable loss at the polls.

15. Ha, 70% rejection of the vying leaders …

I starting my first batch of T-Shirts

VOTE INDEPENDENT OR NOT AT ALL …!

16. The link between the economy and how the leadership is viewed is obvious.They are always other factors like public personality and engagement, etc but if the economy is growing at 3- 4 % , it would reflect in the leaders numbers. Similarly, in a recessionary times, the poll numbers of the Prime Minister or president take a major hit.
    Barack Obama, one of the best communicators and orators in modern history will have a much closer race than would be expected not because he is a poor communicator but because a large section of the US population as is the case in Barbados are uneasy about the economic situation. The economy is not all but it is still the major factor. If the economy is growing, people don’t focus on how long a PM takes to make a decision,etc but when things get tight , then it is a different situation all together.

17. @Observing

After you’ve finished with the “it’s the economy stupid” mantra,
    could you expound on the 9% “preferred leader” statistic.

You are normally on the ball but is it the lateness of the hour that made you refer to that statistic? The “preferred leader” received 29.8%, hardly a ringing endorsement for a man who led the country for 14 years. Only in politics can 29.8% be considered an achievement in almost any other sphere of activity it will be a dud.

A beauty contest it isn’t, they are all like Cinderella’s step sisters and the public is trying to choose which one to take to the Ball.

18. @ BAF

Keep me an unshrinkable X Large…well, you know that. Have you a really BIG one? It might serve as a toga.

19. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar

@Sargent and !
    You get an A+ for diversion. but, I”ll make a simple statement. The sitting Prime Minister of a country for over 18 months who has purposely divested financial responsibility to his Minister of Finance is the 4th preferred leader with 9% of the sample choosing him. Were the economy the drag, then Sinckler’s numbers should have flat lined or decreased, not improved.

Now, with respect to Arthur’s 29%, with all due respect, I could give a rat’s rear left cheek about him and I suspect so do most of the electorate, but, he’s in opposition trying to win, not in government controlling the country and what should be national sentiment. Theoretically he shouldn’t even be up there in the rankings since most may not want him, but, it appears they want Stuart and Co. less. Even if we do consider him, he still triples the sitting PM %, meager 29 or not.

Now, let’s do some maths:

OA + MM = 55%
    FS + RS = 10%
    FS + RJ = 10%
    FS + CS = 28%
    FS + RJ + CS + RS + DI = 38%

does anyone else see a problem here??

I mean for crying out loud Arthur got ONLY 0.4 less of a leadership rating than Stuart among DLP SUPPORTERS. In an election where leadership, the economy and competence are top priorities.

Now, if this was an elaborate plan to plant people across the island to skew this poll then bravo, job well done. But, if the spin you guys are bringing here is the best the DLP has in response to these resultsl I think they should follow Lashley’s NCF’s media policy and just move on.

Just observing.

20. It looks as if Caswell started the “70% of the people are against the preferred leader” spin.

But whoa, Could we look at it in the same way for FS. 91% of the people don’t want him!!!

If the DLP takes the poll to heart in any way. That should send a very strong message.

By the way, did the numbers total up to around 100 %? I.e. It wasn’t a contest between OSA and FS or between CS and MIA. It was between all of the people that the pollster considered as possible leadership material. Therefore if one assumes that the bajan public is split in two (1/2 DLP, 1/2 BLP roughly) Then only a miniscule proportion of the DLP is likely to choose a BLP for PM and vice versa. So the maximum for any one candidate in the PM stakes is therefore 50%. 29 then equates to nearly 60% approval.

IF you look at it another way, for 4 candidates the maximum should be about 25% for each candidate, so both OSA and MIA, in such an analysis, were doing much better than might be expected. CS was ok but FS was again not so good. OK, thats not the way that it is done but think on it. It is evident from the numbers alone that a lot of DLP leaning people and uncommited ones would choose the BLP two. The DLP needs to also urgently deal with that.

The real figure that is of immense importance is the 9% that FS tallied. That is the mammoth in the room. It says something huge and undeniable is happening that time is unlikely to heal. The DLP needs to deal with that urgently urgently.

21. Hi Observing; I didn’t see your post above before I posted mine.

Two distinct triangulation efforts that gives the same results.

22. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar

@check it out

No worries. We seem to be seeing the same shoreline from different boats with slightly different sized paddles. I’ll eat some sea grapes and drink coconut water with you when we reach. 🙂

Objective minds usually see what’s obvious and sometimes what’s right there in front of you is actually what it really is.

What you do after accepting the facts is really up to the individual / party.

23. “barbadians are not surprised at cadres findings understandable in an austere economic climate”
    on what empirical evidence are you making such a bold statement? mr stuart has never dealt with economic matters and the poll clearly indicates that the country seems to have patriotically accepted mr sinckler’s draconian tax measures based on his credible standings which suggests that leadership is the key and not the economy at the moment.

24. @!
    Look at it this way, if Obama was not the great communicator that he is he would not be leading Romney in the polls albeit by a slim margin.

@Sargeant

The DLP needs to embrace the findings. It reflects the on the ground sentiment BU has detected a while now and which peaked when the E11 news broke.

Ignore at your peril.

@balance

Stuart is the leader, the buck stops with you perception is at play.

25. To exacerbate matters the CADRES poll is showing that Bajans are against government injecting funds in REDjet:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/not-our-money/

Bear in mind Barney Lynch is on the other side of this issue.

26. that poll gives comfort to a fool when 38%of respondants believe that BLP stands a better chance of winning .yet the poll goes on to say that for leadership 50.9 %OSA like i say the numbers are not cohesive and do not give a clear picture of who the people preffered to lead the country except that they want for change,

27. If core supporters of the DLP and BLP were to ever really know or strongly believe that this country’s political economy and services industry sectors are in total dire shambles at this stage, they would certainly do less to support these joke parties.

So, why would they still continue to support two old ramshackled parties esp. when they are in government, that are systematically destroying many of the affairs of this once enviable country?

Political education and political consciousness among them seems really to be greatly lacking!!

Core supporters of the DLP and BLP ought to be ashamed that upon the next election this country’s material production and distribution affairs will be in a far worse state than now, and that Barbados will be continuing its precipitious slide downwards towards,a point of no return at some stage in the future – which is within the next 10 to 15 years.

28. National patriotic persons must be the significant ones to reverse this ignoble trend.

Better would be served if such Barbadians were to indeed help save this countryfrom coming to utter shameful ends.

29. this poll s also seems to be sending a message to the DLP ranking file that it is alright to change their leader it would be interesting to see how this come about in the weeks and months ahead if possible

30. @ac

You have absolutely no grounds to question the CADRES poll when it is using the same methodology which gave the DLP the advantage last time around. If you want to question the poll it has to be the methodology, not the results.Th DLP needs to embrace the results ans do some work!

31. @ ac

Is it not hypocritical for persons like yourself, who, when Wickham’s CADRES poll predicted a landslide win for the DLP in the 2008 general elections, were singing his praises in response to those BLP supporters, who, similarly to you, were questioning his credentials?

The regular DLP hacks were on the call-in-programme lambasting Wickham, with one regular caller, known as Arthur, questioning Wickham’s creditability, and suggesting that he has in essence manipulated the poll results, because he was separated from CBC.

Like it or not, but you must be fair, Wickham has been consistent in the statistical methodology, (whether it be qualitative or quantitative) that he uses to conduct these polls. From the time this present DLP administration came to office, their members and supporters have always taken offence to constructive criticism.

32. Both DLP and BLP have no serious role to play in the future existence of this country.

This country will only see greater when there becomes a relatively new coalitional governing dispensation in this country. Such a dispensation must be sanctioned by the electorate of this country, and must be drawn from parties – other than the DLP/BLP – non-party political groups and independents. Such will also speak to the ushering of an executive republic for Barbados.

The DLP and BLP must be driven from the parliament of this country, for having been doing tremendous and incalculable political wrongs and injustices to the broad masses and middle classes of this country.

33. “Prime Minister Stuart may be a nice guy and noble in his intentions.”
    the dilemma in that statement is that Mr stuart’s intentions other than that he is not ‘treacherous’ remains unknow after having been in charge of the office of prime minister for over three years.

34. old onion bags Avatar

“Prime Minister Stuart may be a nice guy and noble in his intentions.”
    the dilemma in that statement is that Mr stuart’s intentions other than that he is not ‘treacherous’ remains unknown
    I will take you back 6 weeks to a school called Alexandra…NOBLE, NOT TREACHEROUS……NICE GUY……his intentions other than what …remain unwho ?

35. @brief

No, don’t have a recording.

36. “From the time this present DLP administration came to office, their members and supporters have always taken offence to constructive criticism”
    Not quite true xeres, this modus operandi has been evident from the time the DLP became a force to be reckoned with after the 1961 elections and continued to consolidate its hold on power by strenghtening its base as a grassroots movement through the academy of politics where members were instructed in the art of infiltration and indoctrinated that the party is paramount. that is why if bulldog runs for the DLP, he is sure of the dlp vote and as such they not attract the best of talent but persons more inclined to hang on to the coattails of the party popularity and the barrow legacy.

37. Wickham made a valid point yesterday. The DLP is the party which led the country to Independence in 1966 and has been unable to hold on to power since Errol Barrow for any significant time since then? Comment?

38. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Let me briefly repeat something from another thread. The longer the dlp take to respond to this poll, the deeper their potential grave will become.

Just observing

39. old onion bags Avatar

The next 3-4 days may determine the dlp’s future. The longer they allow these results to soak into people’s mindsets the more ingrained they will become and the (even) harder it will be to change perceptions and frame
    the narrative…….(.Observing; st.andrew thread)
    AC….your theory of perception finally will get a good workout…….

40. @ balance

Thanks for the correction, but I was born after 1961, and based my comments on the era that is more familiar to me – 1981 to present day.

41. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“If the short term political objective is to be met, the government must clearly and repeatedly highlight its successes, show a unified front and economically reduce taxes, fees,vat on everything. By cutting taxes, they take away an obvious major missile from the opposition and if the people do still run back to the BLP, then they will leave the BLP with the hot potato to send home people,deal with the run on the foreign reserves and all the other issues- They must pass a hot potato, he said.”

and this would be a good idea for who again? Bajans? or just DLP Bajans?

in that above statement lies the problem with the DLP. they appear with a comment like that to be only thinking about themselves. that is sad.

42. @ !
    “The government must continue to adopt a unified approach. This is the area where the public scores the opposition BLP low as the obvious dislike of Ms. Mottley by Owen Arthur is apparent to anyone with a brain.”

Although this observation may be true, would you care to comment on how:

• The Prime Minister’s handling of the Alexandra issue and Sealy’s recent appointments as Acting Prime Minister affect our perception about his feelings towards Ronald Jones?
    • Our perception of the Prime Minister’s feelings towards Donville Inniss and Richard Sealy, when he in essence distanced himself from their criticism of Sir Roy, especially when he did so at Inniss’ constituency branch meeting?

43. From what I can discern from the polls is that MIA is more acceptable than the gang of 4 and that MIA is a threat to OSA . MIA has to walk a very straight line from now on to improve her image in the way she knows best.

AC please talk with some kind of common sense, please DO NOT open yourself to blows. Yuh is muh frien BUT yuh does tawk some shoite gurl.

44. To Sargeant:
    I am now convinced that you do not like Freundel Stuart. You know very well that if Mia and Chris are taken out of the poll, most if not all of the other votes would go to Owen Arthur. Would you rather see Freundel at 9% or 10% with Arthur at 90%?

45. To Island Gal:
    Remember the party chooses the leader not a poll by the general public. The only political threat Mia is is the only to herself. She put her friend Sandra Husbands to run against her friend Donville Inniss, hoping that Donville would have an easy victory. Now Donville is fighting for his political life.

46. @David

Do you remember when I wrote far in advance of any poll that the public will hold their collective noses and vote? Doesn’t the poll cement that conclusion? There is no overwhelming favourite just Hobson’s choice and Owen is seen as the lesser of the competing evils.

You wrote that the DLP should “embrace the findings”, how exactly do they do that? Do you mean that they should work to counteract the impression that the public has of their leader? Short of a putsch I don’t know how they can do that at this stage of the game, the die was cast when they selected the polar opposite of Thompson as his replacement.

To be continued…..

47. “Thanks for the correction, but I was born after 1961, and based my comments on the era that is more familiar to me – 1981 to present day.”

was not intended to be a correction only a clarification

48. To Island Gal:
    Stop with this Mia thing; join the BLP and I would join and support you for leader. You have more substance.

49. old onion bags Avatar

The comment is befitting of the character [ !.]..not necessarily the DLP (I hope not)…..selfish and shallow mindedness. It speaks of a wimp ” we can’t have it…..then nobody should.” The hot potato they should be thinking off( instead of giving up,and once more throwing their hands in the air)..is listen to the people…snip :” thing real hard…do something nah”…expand the basket of goods exempt from vat…….but not like jackass [!.].plant a petard to blow them up MORE later…a real joke nah…boi

50. Sandra Husbands is a woman of substance and I do hope that she is successful even though out of all the politicians in the DLP, Donville seems to be the only one with some balls.