Adrian Loveridge – Hotel Owner

This from a man, while Minister of Tourism, publicly dismissed me as the unanimously elected Chairman of the first Small Hotels Committee for not being ‘sufficiently indigenous’.

‘We cannot at this stage, with such a fragile economy, have individuals make statements to scare people away from Barbados”.

Do they think we really have such short memories?

Related Link: Payne: Scary comments by Sir Roy

1. @Adrian

Sorry, missed this email among the lot of email.

Better late than never they say!

2. there is a saying “Empty vessels make most noise ” right next to that is a picture of George Payne. .not surprised that he attacked Sir Roy with his selfcentred garbage .the man is so full of himself .

3. Payne is clearly not the sharpest of pencils, his attempt to jump on what initially appeared to be a convenient anti Trotman bandwagon was a purely political move to try to attract some attention since the hats are no longer saying a pang…
    …many on BU fell into that same trap to so perhaps we need to invest in many more pencil sharpeners… 🙂

…but what has that got to do with this continual harping about Payne as minister, not wanting AL as chairman of his board? Wuh Bushie would NOT want him either…. That was the man’s choice as minister was it not…?

Does Loverage have ANY IDEA of how many extremely competent black Bajans are rejected for positions for which they are ideal candidates – because the ‘big-ups’ bout here consider them to be “overly indigenous”? He may wish to do a little research on this before complaining about his rare type of rejection.

The only difference in the situations is that when it happens to people like him who are “insufficiently indigenous” everyone gets all upset and cry “racist” at people like Payne, Don Blackman, and Liz Thompson. Meanwhile, the everyday rejection of the “overly indigenous” is laughed off by black Bajans as normal and explained by those who do it as “business as usual”.

…perhaps Payne should have invited AL to lunch and smile sweetly with him saying how valuable he considered AL to be, and how ‘difficult’ a decision it was to make, but that he had made another choice. …..

It may have been better to leave this email in the trash David.

4. @Bush Tea

Is it possible that yet again you miss the crux of this missive?

The point Adrian is making, he was dimissed for not being ‘sufficiently indigenous’ from a board and he has juxtaposed this with Payne’s recent position on the DI saga.

5. @ David
    “yet again” as in when….? …think carefully now…

OK … Let us say that Payne is hypocritical.

What would you call a white man in Barbados complaining about not getting a top pick over a black one?

So why is one hypocrite complaining about another one? Is hyprocracy the special reserve of certain people?

..It is for me and you to expose Payne and to complain about his double face. It just don’t sound right coming from Adrian about that issue… Dat is a sore point for the bushman yuh… 🙂

6. ‘there is a saying “Empty vessels make most noise ” right next to that is a picture of George Payne. .not surprised that he attacked Sir Roy with his selfcentred garbage .the man is so full of himself ‘
    ALL WELL AND GOOD TO PILLORY SILENT GEORGE BUT WHAT SAY YE FAIR AC ABOUT THE BITING ATTACKS MADE BY MESSRS INNISS AND SEALY MINISTERS OF HEALTH AND TOURISM AGAINST SIR ROY? YOU OUGHT TO DISPLAY A LITTLE BALANCE TO IMPROVE YOUR CREDIBILITY.

Rat

7. @bUSH!

wHEN MEN EGOS have been bruised they do not tend to forgive or forget .this issue has been used as a sounding board to relive old wounds that has never healed that is why we have the likes of caswell and now Adrian. “Hell has no fury like an EGO Scourned”

8. @balance

for the record i was highly critical of Inniss gallery performance in the house in his condemnation of Sir Roy as a matter of fact you did in one of your comments refered to my response.

9. @Bush Tea

We have to always try to hold our politicians and what they say to the fire of truth. One way of doing it is to validate what comes out of their mouths NOW and compare to their utterances of the past. In the US the media calls it fact checking. For too long we have allowed these politicians to rub crap in our faces. Whether a person is White should not force us to compromise on doing what is right.

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Just for the record, if former Minister Payne had approached me and suggested that I was replaced with someone more indigenous, I would have had absolutely NO problem. It was the way in which it was done. In front of my peers, the media etc., and after nearly two years of voluntary work and being the only committee members that attended every single meeting.
    I really have never found egos to be anything other than destructive.
    The way people in perceived power behave, tells you a lot about them.

11. @ AH
    The problem with people like yourself and Lowdown Hoad for example, is that you are so different to the typical whites in Barbados. This tends to complicate matters when generalizations are made about you.
    Everyone knows that Lowdown is one of Bushie’s favourite people, and we also know that you have the interest of Barbados at heart, …none of these facts detracts from the general reality of everyday Barbados.
    All politicians are provable hypocrites. It is the nature of the business….so let’s forget Payne. Non issue!!!

But the specific charge of a minister rejecting Adrian as chairman of HIS Board is a bad choice to use to reinforce the charge of hypocricy by politicians…..since the reverse situation is endemic in Barbados.
    Very few complain about this situation, except for the occasional grumbling about the issue of work permits for all kinds of ‘jobs’ that Barbadians are unqualified to do after 60 years of expensive free national education.

How many of the big white-run organizations in Barbados promote on MERIT?

Sometimes the bushman wonders if you are just trying to be provocative 🙂
    Why do you REALLY think that these big businesses have been sold to foreigners? Think carefully before answering…. (You know full well that Bushie only ask questions to which he knows the answers..)LOL

Why would a Bajan, who has become wealthy running a business, choose to sell that business to a Trinidadian, Englishman or a Canadian, rather than to HOLD ON TO SOMETHING that they had created themselves…..for their families?

12. @Bushie

Many of the businesses sold by Barbadians to foreigners are many but the main reason is to get the golden handshake.

13. Come on David.
    Why does a 70 year old millionaire who already owns everything he ever needed, need a golden handshake?
    …you can do better than that….

14. @Bush Tea

Tell us and don’t say it is to keep Blacks out of the do.

15. I find Payne’s actions confusing. Presumably he didn’t realise that Peter Morgan, the architect of Barbados’ tourism as MOT under the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow, would not have met Payne in the Butt’s criteria for being sufficiently indigenous. Go figure!!!!

16. @ Amused
    Lowdown would probably be the best minister of agriculture we ever had too…. But that does not lead to any logical generalizations. Payne is just being Payne… That is not the issue.

So you know the answer. But you are too scared to say it, and you also don’t want Bushie to say it…? 🙂

There was a time when anyone could run a big business successfully in Barbados. That was because all they did was buy and sell, or run a plantation by doing the same routine year after year, using cheap labour.

In the last 30 years, this has changed dramatically…. Competition caused by easy availability of everything has essentially made high grade management skills a VITAL requirement for success. Typically, one in every two thousand persons possess some level of ability to succeed in such positions….independent of skin colour.

In order to be successful, Barbadian businesses would have to make full use of these talents at the management level…..
    Now if we had done that – selected on meritocracy- the racial makeup of our top management would closely reflect the national racial mix by default…. It does not.

Can you now begin to see the reason for our failures…? If we impose a constraint that limits our access to our best brains at the leadership level there is no future for the business

The existing owners are then faced with a dilemma:
    – Hire the talent needed for success (90% of which will be black)
    – Hire the traditional ‘manager types’ and let the business die
    – Bail out

Bailing out usually means selling to those with money…. But did you notice the disdain shown to attempts by the Amound staff to invest in the ongoing operations?

Now compare our situation with the leadership of Trinidadian businesses….

17. @Bush Tea

Actually you are correct about being provocative.

We saw it when now Sir David Seale sold his distributive business to a couple Blacks along with hiving off the freighting business.

We saw it when Senator Geoffrey Cave created the concessionaire model at Cave Shepherd and moved investments to Fortress and other financial services.

It is a conversation which we need to have Bushie. Unfortunately if you judge from the outcry to Sir Roy touching a nerve we are probably not ready for it…lol.

18. If we fail to have the conversation we are all going to die REAL soon.

Interestingly, this is not really a WHITE problem. It is a Barbadisn problem.
    It also explains why practically all our parliamentarians are black and why we have so few white policemen, soldiers, teachers etc…

To the extent that our WHOLE society does not reflect the racial and ethical makeup in its various components, it shows that we are encouraging apartheid type approaches to our society and we cannot afford this inefficiency.

Do you know that government is as inefficient as it is because selections are made based on all kinds of spurious considerations, BUT HARDLY EVER ON MERIT and ABILITY.

….so ‘they. Have their area of dominance and ‘we’ have ours – and we ALL will suffer as a result…
    Solution – create a MERITOCRACY.

19. really, what the hell is MERIT and ABILITY. Up to about thirty years ago it had everything to do with how one got others to do their bidding. They were either excellent sales people or “natural” leaders, you know admired in some way. Now there is the academics/consultant type thingy in the mix. You see me, I got problems wid ALL ah dem (except the sellers of course). Useless bitches with no direction or nationalistic fervor.

20. Wait BAFBFP… Where have you been? Bushie was thinking that David had bitten the bullet at last and banned you from BU too….
    (BAFBU2?). LoL…

Man a meritocracy is an arrangement where judgement is based on performance rather than anything else.
    Not family ties
    Not qualifications
    Not de Lodge (…perhaps Cawmere though 🙂 )
    Not party…

Performance is the ability to achieve desired objectives, so your sales example is a good one.
    A police chief who can minimize crime (rather than wait for crime to occur to solve it…)
    A doctor who keeps patients healthy
    A fireman who is able to prevent fires etc…

…and obviously ABILITY is just the degree to which an individual or team is able to achieve such results….

21. Very precise …. I thank you.

But in the old days ability in the Barbados context really was based on how others responded to you, which of course gave those people with a lighter hue and foreign accent a given advantage … HA HA HA … HA HA HA

22. I am really impressed along with your writing skills
    as well as with the structure to your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

Either way keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to peer a nice blog like this one today..