Shanique Myrie

BU has resisted writing – up to now โ€“ about the Shanique Myrie matter. Many disagreed with Shanique Myrieโ€™s legal advisors who made the decision to access the Caribbean Court Justice (CCJ) to rule on her (Myrie) right to move freely under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. After yesterdayโ€™s ruling by the CCJ to give special leave to Myrie to argue her case before the court, she must feel vindicated. This is against the background that many of our local legal beavers had opined that the CCJ has no jurisdiction in the matter until the case came to them on appeal from the Barbados courts. Barbados because we are a member of Caricom is bound by the interpretation of theย  Caribbean Court of Justiceย  (CCJ) in all matters as it relates to the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

If we suck all of the emotion out of the matter, the Shanique Myrie versus the Government of Barbados case will be followed with great interest across the region. To what extent will this case threaten the discretion which traditionally has been exercised by officers at ports of entry in Caricom countries? If Myrie continues her winning ways, it potentially could provoke someย  countriesย  who are signatories, to question obligations under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramus as it relates to free movement of people.

To rub salt into the wound for some Myrie was awarded cost. To be fair it should be noted that at this stage the CCJ has given special leave to hear this matter i.e. the CCJ believes there is a case to be made. Myrieโ€™s legal team now has to argue the case.

The following is reproduced from the Barbados Advocate and gives a good summary of the special sitting of the CCJ on the matter.

Myrieโ€™s move

4/19/2012

CCJ rules Shanique Myrie has โ€˜arguableโ€™ case

By Allison Ramsay

Jamaican national Shanique Myrie has been granted special leave to commence proceedings against the Barbados Government by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

President of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), Sir Charles Dennis Byron, made this announcement at yesterdayโ€™s special sitting of the CCJ in Barbados to a packed Supreme Court 1 at the Supreme Court Building, Bridgetown, St. Michael, nearly three hours after the start of proceedings at 10 a.m.

After deliberating with The Hon. Mr. Justice Winston Anderson, The Hon. Mr. Justice Rolston Nelson, The Hon. Mr. Justice Jacob Wit and The Hon. Mme Justice Desiree Bernard, Sir Charles in his response to the arguments made by Michelle Brown, attorney-at-law for the applicant and lead counsel of Barbadosโ€™ legal team, attorney-at-law Roger Forde, QC said that the Justicesโ€™ obligation was to determine if the case was arguable and the โ€œobligation to determine this issue was made simpler by the fact that the respondent has conceded that this is at least an arguable issue…โ€

Sir Charles granted Myrieโ€™s legal team 14 days to file the application and granted the applicant the cost of filing the application. He noted that had the concessions been made before the proceedings had commenced, the cost of having the hearing would have been reduced.

It is expected that July may be the earliest that this case is called before the CCJ.

Basing her arguments on the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and the CARICOM conference decision of 2007, Brown argued for 90 minutes that Myrie was denied right of entry and that denial was โ€œunjustifiable, arbitrary and thus led to discrimination.โ€

Brown recounted Myrieโ€™s allegation that on March 14, 2011, her client, then 22 years old, was originally allowed entry for a month when her passport was stamped but then two hours later found herself upstairs in a bathroom where she was allegedly finger raped by a female Immigration officer, abused with foul language, threatened and then denied entry into Barbados.

She said that Myrie, who intended to visit a friend for two weeks, still is unsure to this day what she did, what was the aim of denial of entry and the two alleged cavity searches. Brown further stated that bringing the case to the CCJ was the direct and best route in terms of time and cost.

Arguable case

Forde made his submission in about 20 minutes. Stating that he was not going to waste the Courtโ€™s time, he conceded that there was an โ€œarguable case.โ€ He explained to the media following the announcement, โ€œI did not concede that she would succeed on the merits, but she has an arguable case. In that arguable case, she would state all of her facts, we would state ours and there is where it goes.โ€ โ€œArguable does not mean you are right. When two people are in court, they both have arguable cases โ€“ but only one person wins,โ€ Forde continued.

โ€œThe Court gave her permission to file that claim. The Court made no determination on it. Low threshold means that you have something that can be argued. It does not mean you would succeed in essence,โ€ he said.

When asked her reaction to the outcome, Brown told the media: โ€œWe are very happy with the ruling. We met all the obligations we needed to make to argue the case that will be presented in Trinidad or wherever the CCJ meets. We presented the facts to keep the Court foregrounded and to keep the facts alive.โ€ She said that Myrie feels โ€œvery happy now but is still anxious about what is going to happen in the future.โ€

A reserved Myrie arrived at the Supreme Court about 9:40 a.m. with her lawyers Brown and Marc Ramsay. Oโ€™Neil Francis appeared for the Attorney Generalโ€™s Office in Jamaica. Myrie, dressed in a black pants suit, listened intently in the front row of the public gallery to the entire proceedings. Her lawyers embraced each other after it was announced that the special leave was granted.

Barbadosโ€™s legal team was comprised of Patterson Cheltenham, QC; Dr. David Berry, Senior Lecturer International Law and Caribbean Integration Law and Deputy Dean (Academic) at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus and Donna Brathwaite of the Attorney Generalโ€™s Office.

Sir Charles commended the Court for the high quality of professionalism exhibited.

The Court comprised of members of the legal fraternity, Government officials and others who were eager to witness the CCJ in operation in a space other than Trinidad and Tobago and to hear proceedings on this particular issue that has sparked controversy and debate on relations between Barbados and Jamaica.

1. BAFBFP | April 19, 2012 at 5:06 PM |
    Amused

Along with the above, wah is a terrorist ?โ€ฆ?
    There is a fine line between a terrorist and a criminal. A criminal ,steals, rape , kills and in general flout the law for his own satisfaction, or that of his boss. A terrorist does exactly the same , but blames it on things like Nationalism and God (or what ever name is equivalent). A la IRA.

2. @ BAF

‘scoundrel lawyers’ – was it something I said? LOL

3. however i suspect that has the trial gets under way the myries allegations would be lest heard of that would be seen of putting myrie on trial which she would have to prove, henceforth her lawyers have taken a different approach seeking a win ! win! while taking the focus away from and placing blame solely on the feet of the government hence we have a case based on civil rights and not “finger raped”

4. @ wally .. i concur. we need to stop this type of behaviour. The Garrison should be left only for Bajan whores. home drums beat first. and to ensure it is that way, you just cant have a Barbados passport, you must show lineage to at least 3 generations.. i propose Hal Austin to ensure that it is so.
    @ Scout .. i concur also . Even i can see the line with Jamaicans and Guyanese waiting to sue. But don’t despair my friend, we pulled Redjet so they cant come and dont worry about the Guyana government itching to pump money into OUR national carrier. How dare they !! they believe that putting money in redjet to facilitate the pending legal morass.. just like you , i can see what they are up to .

5. I have no knowledge of the alleged calling, profession or otherwise of the person concerned, in fairness I will refer to her only as the young lady Miss Myrie.

The crux of this case will be the evidence of the female Immigration Officer concerned and the Supervisor, in open court.

If the Immigration Officer has told the truth and in fairness to both parties I will accept her word. Then the unadorned truth after the preliminary gentle introduction from Miss Myrie’s Attorney, will stand her in good stead. If she is speaking the truth she can be rock solid under severe cross examination.

Miss Myrie is more vulnerable because of the expected nature and content of her evidence. I have no reason to believe Mis Myrie has not told the truth. However, her evidence in open court will be more demanding because of its content.

Under cross examination – and it will be testing – she will have to convince the Judges she is telling the truth. However mentally prepared she is – and she will be – it will be demanding. The judges in the interest of fairness will offer some protection, however the charges are so serious and the ramifications so important that her evidence must be “fully tested” in open court and that must be seen to happen.

There has been mention of cameras but as far as I am aware the position of the cameras would not show what has been alleged.

A reasonable question has been asked here. Why was Miss Myrie’s passport stamped before the questions were asked which ultimately prevented her entry. It could be, that questions were asked before and at that time they were deemed sufficient. However, something later transpired and the Supervisor was asked for a second opinion and she/he ruled against entry. Was that decision, arbitrary, unjustifiable and thus led to discrimination?

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yardbroom

I was an immigration officer, and I can assure you that once a passport is stamped by an immigration officer giving a visitor time to stay in Barbados, no supervisor has authority to change that decision. The only person, outside of a court that could change that decision is the Minister with responsibility for Immigration. Ms. Myrie was therefore legally admitted to this country. No one at the Airport had authority to change that decision, even though I am now aware that someone usurped that authority.

7. @Caswell

Ms. Myrie was therefore legally admitted to this country. No one at the Airport had authority to change that decision, even though I am now aware that someone usurped that authority.

Are you saying Myrie has a slam duck case?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

She might have a case for a judicial review in the Barbados High Court. That is the case that her Jamaican lawyers should be pursuing, instead of this stupid treaty violation before the CCJ. The Jamaicans were so concerned with embarrassing Barbados that they missed the real case. This is not a case about free movement since she was legally admitted to this country. This is a case about some official overstepping his authority.

9. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ David and BU

The case before the CCJ is not nor could it be about any criminal allegations. This is strictly in terms of international law. The facts of the case that are formative of the criminal evidence, can only be supportive but not form the substantive areas of law. Hence, this case will hinge on standards reflecting the rights of a CARICOM national in terms of entry, and matters in which discrimination contrary to Article 7 may be breach. AS Mr F has said, entry was gained and subsequent actions taken that were contrary to minimun requirements especially when no reasons were given and this is against the background of agreements made at the CHOG and the provisions of the RTC.

10. From some information that I ‘ve gleaned about Ms Myrie, or should that be Mrs Myrie, she has a skill that is much in demand ,in Barbados and the region . Besides English, she speaks French and Spanish ,and may not have been making a beeline for Bush Hill as some seem to think.

11. @Boy Blue please go back to watching your blue movies and take your filth elsewhere. Stupse

12. Here is the video link to the matter.

Here is the audio link to the matter.

13. Someone please tell me if Ms Myries wins her case on discrimination on the part of the Barbados authorities, will this then pave the path for her to sue for sexual assault by the authorities? Any non medical personnel forcing someone to strip and remove their underwear and then forcing their fingers into someone’s genitals amounts to assault in my books.

14. Hi Caswell
    Thanks for your response of April 20, 2012 @7:04pm

I have no inside information on the procedure of the Barbados Immigration Department, therefore in good faith I accept the details in your reply.

I feel the Immigration Authorities must have had reasons for her refusal, hence the decision taken. If those reasons were justified in the circumstances is another matter; of course that depends on the reasons, which at the moment we do not know, as they are only likely to be aired to the public at trial.

15. Did immigration authorities have legal grounds for denying entry to Ms.Myrie?
    Is there any evidence that the cavity search happened ?

Will the Barbados Government install video cameras and increase the number of drug detecting dogs at the ports?

David two new blogs you should start.

Trinidad owned CAL laying off all its Jamaican pilots.

Read Lowdown Hoad april 24th 2012 and let us discuss.

16. @Hants

So many things to discuss and little time. Thanks for the suggestions.

It seems incomprehensible that the Barbados government knows that others from the Caribbean are attracted to visiting Barbados and we refuse to do any damn thing to protect ourselves.

To be quite honest one can reasonable question the literacy of our people.

This morning is the story about a Jamaican who spent 2-days on the bench. If our authorities were wrong deal with it but what about all those who come here to marry stupid Bajan men on marriages of convenience?

We know it happens ant it probably explains why some of our officers use the hammer.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/2-day-airport-ordeal-for-jamaican/

17. David many people marry for convenience. How can anyone prove that? Many marriages are based on convenience locally and abroad. Why should anyone resort to using a hammer? A hammer can do bodily harm . Why the violence? If bajan men are stupid let them be! We however should treat people in a humane manner. David can you excuse the behaviour of these public (animals) officers? Who trained these officers? I wonder if that treatment would have been meted out it were a white Jamaican woman?

18. @islandgal

If you had attended the Town Halls on immigration you would have been treated to the eyeopening revelations regarding the issue of marriages of convenience.

19. What does the immigration law state in respect to foreign spouses coming to visit/reside in Barbados? Can a spouse just turn up at the Airport and claim โ€œI am here to visit my husband/wife โ€œ and the Authorities will be obliged to let him/her in? In countries e.g. .USA/Canada if you made this claim at the port of entry you would be denied entry as there is the assumption that you are trying to obtain permanent residence without going through official channels.

Lest anyone think that this is purely an issue about Jamaicans or other Caribbean nationals trying to get into Barbados through the โ€œback doorโ€ I think that BFP had a post sometime ago about a Bajan who was married to an US citizen (white) and she had a difficult time obtaining permanent residence.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Islandgal246

Don’t fool yourself, marriages of convenience do occur. Let me give you some examples: a husband and wife divorced in Guyana, the wife came to Barbados, married a local man and immediately applied for and got citizenship. As soon as it was approved, she divorced the Bajan man and remarries the first husband who was part of the conspiracy; a group of lesbians at a plantation house in St. Philip, imported a woman for their coven, they paid a gay beach bum to marry her and citizenship was approved for her in record time. She even landed a high profile job but the BWU objected; I could go on and on but suffice it to say marriages are arranged for a fee.

Sometimes women, usually ladies of the night, are caught and deported and their pimps pay men to go to their countries and marry them and then they turn up at the Airport as man and wife. However, having been deported, the wife is not allowed to enter the country with a deportation order in force, then we hear complaints of mistreatment of the wife. Deportation orders are not lifted by marriage: only the Minister of Immigration can lift a deportation order.

Immigration officers are always on the alert for these situations, sometimes they might get one wrong but let me assure you they have detected hundreds.

21. @Sargeant

The law is that the couple must be “communal’ for 3-years before the marriage is recognized by immigration.

22. Many have missed my point….regardless of whatever the reason be for marrying or coming to Barbados is ill treatment at the port of entry justifiable? These people have not committed any crime yet they are treated in a very inhumane manner. The authorities must put in place the necessary preliminary procedures for spouses of Bajans who plan on coming to Barbados to reside before they actually arrive on the island.

23. islandgal246 | April 20, 2012 at 10:09 PM |
    @Boy Blue please go back to watching your blue movies and take your filth elsewhere. Stupse

It is a pity that You have sadly misinterpreted what I have stated.

24. Shanique Myrie was an unemployed, uneducated Jamaican who was ‘going on vacation’ leaving Jamaica for her first time. She initially lied about her destination in Barbados and then admitted that she was destined to stay with someone who is known for facilitating illegal immigration and human trafficking into the country. These are all red flags! She should have been deported without the cavity search.

25. Marriage of convenience may be a real problem for Immigration, and the only way they can solve it is by revoking citizenship once it can be proven that the marriage was one of convenience. Proving such may also be difficult to do.

26. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

i think that many, many people have some short an little memories. She was to come here and identify the guys who assaulted her by finger rape…now it is something totally and completely different. Why? is it because her lawyers realized that there was something fishy about her story? what crap…

27. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@Yardbroom: “There has been mention of cameras but as far as I am aware the position of the cameras would not show what has been alleged.

But, would the cameras do harm? At least, to those who are law abiding, and would be more than happy to smile for the cameras?

Let us please be honest here… There has been a promise of recorded cameras at our ports. And, at our police stations…

For years.

It is a bit like the promise of a Freedom of Information Act…

Lots of talk. But somehow it never happens…

Could it be because Barbados is known to be a major drug trafficking hub?

And some don’t want to have recorded what happens at our ports?

Hmmmm….

28. This case has the added perversity of Jamaicans generally perceiving themselves as better looking than Barbadians, and that every Barbadian man’s hungry to get his **** into a Jamaican woman, which ISN’T necesarrily true. Also, Myrie obviously smells the scent of money via. compensation, which is clearly difficult for her to resist – and who can blame her. Solution? Deep ALL uh those ***** outa Bim, in d firse place – job done!!

29. sorry, keep!

30. Ey, she looking very smart dis time! dat intuh influence d jugde is it!! LOL!! dah girl in stupid boy!!

31. Hi Chris Halsall April 23, 2012 @12:44pm

My comments regarding cameras at the airport were case specific. eg this incident. “I did not” say cameras should not be operated at the airport…all the airports I have visited have cameras.
    – – – – – – – – – –
    On a more salient point, it was alleged in the Naton News that Ms Myrie’s attorney has said this case will test the permitted movement of Caribbean Nationals in CARICOM – or words to that effect.

This is rather interesting in that Barbados will be seen, as on trial for a host of refused entries throughout the CARICOM region.

In most treaties that allow entry of immigrants, that entry in not “absolute” as they are still subjected to certain conditions. A sovereign state can still refuse entry if the person is:
    (a) Undersirable
    (b) Or has insufficient funds to support themselves

Regardless of the outcome of this trial, there will not be any influx of Jamaicans coming to Barbados. The Officiers will – should- tighten up procedures where necessary and be more detailed in their assessments. They will not allow unfettered entry. I venture to suggest it will be more difficult for Jamaicans to enter Barbados then, than now.

32. @Yardbroom

You are correct that the outcome of this case has some far reaching implications for members of Caricom. Perhaps the point Jamaica is arguing is that under the treaty there must be be some commonality in criteria for entry e.g. Caricom citizen maybe allowed 6 months to enter Jamaica but 3 months into Barbados etc. In those cases where an officer at a port of entry wishes to exercise the discretion you mentioned there must be some practical basis for doing so and not on a whim or fancy.

33. As I warned
    Women will destroy the world and Barbados if we allow them

Mary Redman
    Shanique Myrie and…..
    The woman that the same Myrie accused of fingering her and the comments the said woman made to her are examples.

Anybody who want to can take this anyway they want to but left unfettered and uncontrolled , Women are a threat to this society.

The Police Force has now realised this about women and the Force is scaling back on the recruitment of women because just like Kamla in Trinidad proclaimed ” “I am just a woman” -They use this –” I am just a woman” thing when it is expedient to them. They will not do certain things=Let A MAN DO THAT.

I know that I am talking ‘foolishness’ because where ignorance is bliss , it is folly to be wise.So obviously I am talking foolishness to you and you and you who cant see or wont see. “There is none so blind than he who refuses to see” . “Those who have ears to hear –will listen.” But young men and old men will dream dreams and see visions.
    e;g . when Tom Adams propose the highway, many people did not share the vision and they cussed Tom Adams black as white and hate him. Ignorant people are like that and there are nuff ignorant people bout the place talking nonsense everyday while trying to discourage others from being positive.

Barbados is failing and failing in many areas and the decision to abandon the schools to women teachers is at the cruz of the matter. Our boys are failing because of that and because of co-education–(another woman thing)

CO-EDUCATION is the worse thing to happen in Barbados since chains and whips. Our cricket, which is really controlled aggression, has suffered . Boys have been discouraged because of the fact that –women (girls)control the schools as Teachers and students. As cricket declines, aggression increases in the society because that outlet for controlled aggression is not utilized by boys as a result of discouragement from WOMEN –GIRLS–FEMALES who care nothing about or understand such things.

I know that I talking ‘foolishness’

34. Potty Porter……yuh like yuh wake up with the same nightmare yuh went to sleep with.

35. @David

You are correct that the outcome of this case has some far reaching implications for members of Caricom. Perhaps the point Jamaica is arguing is that under the treaty there must be be some commonality in criteria for entry e.g. Caricom citizen maybe allowed 6 months to enter Jamaica but 3 months into Barbados etc
    If the case hinges on the free movement of Caribbean nationals throughout the member States and the decision is made that Shanique was denied that right, then we have a whole new can of worms. It would mean that these Govโ€™ts have surrendered sovereignty in a very important area i.e. entry to its country for nationals of select countries. The other Caribbean countries will be keeping an eye on this one and I presume would be rushing to amend the Agreement to insert โ€œnotwithstandingโ€ clauses.

In the European Community there is free movement which is causing a headache for some countries e.g. Britain and France as citizens of poorer States are hopping on trains, cars etc. and travelling to those countries in pursuit of better livesโ€ฆ..

36. Ey, d Jamaican got curves boy!!

246, u song very clever, all on a sudden!! wha happen?!! LOL!!

37. Sarg, do citizens of other Caricom countries want to enter Jamaica?!!! Why in god’s name would they want to?!!

Morning, Mr Dave!!

38. @Sarge

One would reasonably have expected that Caricom and the region would be clued into learnings from the EU as the model held up as most successful. Interesting to follow France’s election who we understand the front runner (Hollande) in the run off has” threatened to pull France out of the budget pact with the rest of the EU if its terms run counter to his socialist agenda. Expect the major financial markets in the world to all hold their collective breath in apprehension. More bad news for us all, by extension…”. We are married to an ideology of integration without acknowledging the unique challenges of our region.

39. @Bimbro

Good to see you are alive and kicking. Hope Cameron is treating you well?

40. @ David
    You mentioned the EU as an example.
    The EU issued an application of Directive 2004/38/EC
    …”The guidelines clarify general principles, but many of the rules contained in the Directive require a case-by-case assessment of the situation of the individual. The Guidelines are not intended to replace this case-by-case assessment by the authorities of the Member States”….

Abuse and Fraud
    “This section concerns the measures to fight against abuse and fraud by refusing, terminating or withdrawing any right conferred by the Directive in the case of abuse of rights or fraud, such as marriages of convenience. The Directive does not prevent Member States from investigating individual cases where there is a well-founded suspicion of abuse. Member States may define a set of indicative criteria suggesting the possible intention to abuse the rights conferred by the Directive for the sole purpose of contravening national immigration Laws”…
    Europa Press Release Rapid
    Reference MEMO/09/311 Brussels Date: 02/07/2009
    – – – – –
    I am interested to hear the case as set out by the Barbados Legal team, this is no sure fire decision.

41. @Yardbroom

Thanks, we all wait given the import of the matter.

42. Hi again, Rate. Thank you and I’m fine. Cameron? They all make me laugh man. Too young to know wha d France they’re doing. Left to me, I’d impose a compulsory min. age limit of say, 50 yrs before any uh dum could become PM man. I mean, at forty something, if indeed they’re so old, wha d France do they know about anything yet. Yet they want to rule our lives! Steupse, I in got nuh power so I shall let them get on with it. Gun give dat Hal Austin a bit uh my mind right now!!

43. i say hello tuh dat Dave, n he wouldn’t even answer me back! dat Dave boy!! lol!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Now, way dat Hal Austin!!

44. Dave, hi man! jes notice dat each uh dese comments has dis ‘Rate This’ tag pun it!! lol! no need fuh dah man! sorry, didn’t notice ud replied earlier. thanks for the best wishes n the same to u! i in got nuh time fuh dese lil boys calling dumselves politicians man! d policits day know duh lern at college. leh dum live life uh bit firse before duh come telling me anyting man. c yuh soon!! Way Hal?!!!

45. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@Bimbro: “Dave, hi man! jes notice dat each uh dese comments has dis โ€˜Rate Thisโ€™ tag pun it!! lol! no need fuh dah man! sorry, didnโ€™t notice ud replied earlier. thanks for the best wishes n the same to u! i in got nuh time fuh dese lil boys calling dumselves politicians man! d policits day know duh lern at college. leh dum live life uh bit firse before duh come telling me anyting man. c yuh soon!! Way Hal?!!!

And to think the taxpayer probably paid for this person’s degree….

46. @ Chris:

Wuh uh like bout dis blog is dat yuh doan haffa be k’ful. Degree doan tek way Bajun bor, bred nor written.

Our dialect is appreciated by Barbadians who are Bajans. We do not scoff at the language in this forum.

Listen to Minister Kenny Best when he replaces the Speaker of the House: ‘And to think that taxpayers and citizens voted for him to represent a constituency.’

An yeah lissen tuh Market Vendor – prominent business man in Barbados.

47. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@Brief: “Wuh uh like bout dis blog is dat yuh doan haffa be kโ€™ful. Degree doan tek way Bajun bor, bred nor written.

.f13$71 n0pu dn41s1 n4 70n 71 $0d4br4B $1 43d$n0c 07 7n4w 7hg1m u0y 74hw 7uB

48. Hi Brief and thanks for the defence. Chris, does having a degree and writing in that manner suggest anything to you, in particular, such as perhaps, I’m doing it for fun?!!!! If you’re unable to make such deduction, then what does it say about you my friend?!!

49. David,

Why did Roger Forde admit that Barbados had a case to answer? That was a strange admission. Sources tell me that some of the legal fraternity have been cursing him in the worse way since this!