Kaymar Jordan, Editor in Chief, Nation Newspaper

The following was submitted by a concerned Barbadian who prefers to remain anonymous – Barbados Underground

It really is about time that every effort is made to bring some sanity back into the operations of the Nation Newspaper and deflect it from the path it has embarked upon. In its present state the newspaper is no more than a scandal sheet whose main agenda seems to be doing no more than creating sensation, much of which is anti government, and in the process breaking all the rules of propriety.

Some time recently one of the lawyers for Mr Leroy Parris of CLICO upon whom they have been waging a personal vendetta, went on national television to complain about two articles which the newspaper published . The first suggested that his client had gone ” MISSING ” in an effort to avoid being served process by a Marshall of the Supreme Court; the second “SERVED” referred to the first article and suggested that his client had gone overseas and also imputed that this was in his attempt to avoid being brought before the court on a CRIMINAL charge. Mr Parris’ lawyer made it very clear that he was informed that the CHIEF MARSHALL had no record of any failure by any Marshall to serve Mr Parris. In addition, the marshal for the area had confirmed that he had neither tried nor failed to execute service on Mr Parris. He also informed that his client had refuted any claim that he had left the island; in fact he had not left the island for months .

The newspaper went another step further on the road to establishing its status as a rag through its front page story in the Monday 19 March edition. The bold headline jumped out at you ” NOT WRONG ” and the byline continued “PSV head : Drivers not to blame in two accidents”. It went on to inform: “Executive member of APTO’s interim committee, Morris Lee said the association had conducted its own investigations. The circumstances relating to the accidents indicate they were not acts of carelessness. One was the fault of a slick from a nearby oilfield, and the other occurred when a car tried to overtake the ZR and struck it. As such , our investigations have revealed there is no liability in those matters which can be attributed to those drivers ,” Lee said. My immediate reaction to this story was the exclamation of incredulity…”

WHAT!  this is a serious contempt ”; investigations in this country, as far as I am aware are conducted BY THE POLICE; innocence or guilt is proclaimed BY THE COURT. But the matters have already been decided BY THE NATION NEWSPAPER. How can justice in these circumstances be achieved? This is a small jurisdiction where everyone is already affected by prejudice of some form and the Newspaper is amplifying it a thousand fold. Certainly it is about time that the public impose the greatest possible censure on the Nation for its continuous irresponsible conduct.

Is there no public agency to which this matter may be ventilated so that some sanity can be restored to the operations of that medium of information? Will somebody please help us ?

1. An Observer wrote “Mr Parris is possibly the BIGGEST EFPA CLICO policy holder there is ?”

If that is true, why would Leroy Parris buy such a large EFPA policy? Was it an act of confidence in Clico or smoke and mirrors?

2. @ Old onion bags .
    Oh how delighted I am for this transformation..You have thrown off the garb of the butcher , cutlass in hand , and donned that of the surgeon cutting with precision with your scalpel . I shall enjoin you that you never return from whence you came . LOL; LOL. ” the pen is mightier than the sword ” . Peace my brother . Happy blogging !!

3. Observing (and disbelieving) Avatar
    Observing (and disbelieving)

@david
    I more referred to the passage of the acts rather than implementation

@check it out
    U r assuming that FSC investigations lead to further revelations which would then warrant further investigation before turning into a court matter that cannot be discussed in public. Lots of ifs and maybes. Btw, under which scenario do you see FS’s stocks rising?

@observer
    U r con(per)sistent if nothing else. You’ve earned my admiration and respect for your cause. Peace.

The legal implications cannot outrun or overshadow the political ones in the time left before elections unless decisive incisive action is taken or decisions are made.

4. @observing

Bear in mind the much discussed report is an interim one.

Your reference to the “legal implications cannot outrun or overshadow the political ones in the time left before elections unless decisive incisive action is taken or decisions are made”. Are you suggesting this matter must be dispatched in all haste?

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ An Observer.. | March 24, 2012 at 8:46 AM |
    “Who , it must be asked is MORE IRRESPONSIBLE ? MORRIS LEE OR THE NATION that published what he said ? David it seems that this blog has brought a sinner’s heart to christian feeling.”

Typical lawyer reaction of the kind denounced by the alleged guru of Christian principles. Why are you holding a rag sheet which is in the business of making money through gossip, false claims and advertising sales up to such high standards and ethical behaviour?

If you insist that a slow but sure dying medium of communication and shaper of public opinion and whose major shareholders continue to look the other way for the almighty dividend must be held to an exceedingly high level of professionalism and ethical behaviour exemplary of Caesar’s wife why not insist that a similar or greater level of performance be shown by the regulatory, law enforcement and justice administration agencies?

Since we are now aware of the inevitable outcome of the charges brought against the CLICO executives (one of whom is miraculously still sucking from the pig’s trough) why ask them to display a greater knowledge of the laws of the land and seriously consider the other pieces of legislation with much more bite and farther reaching investigative tentacles?

May be this ‘deliberate lack of foresight’ and ‘created inertia’ are reflective of the modus operandi at which you are quite knowledgeable even if not adept.
    Maybe the final solution rest with burying the whole CLICO cadaver in a political death mask veiled in legalese to confuse and prevent the policy holders from identifying the cause of “malad(y)ministration” or the bureaucratic person who will be politically murdered as the scapegoat or sacrificial lamb to be laid in the leaded coffin to prevent the spread of political cholera and financial yellow fever and soon to lowered in Maxwell pond to rest eternally like their hard earned savings and investments.

6. @ Observing
    Thanks to David for the Question posed above . I shall simply add that you CANNOT predict , with any degree of accuracy , which way the legal matters will turn . Suppose for example the courts were to find , as they did in the Narsham case that the claim being made by CLICO through Mr Thornhill that the order to stop selling was done without giving a hearing to the insurance company , do you realise what implications this can have for the resolution of the whole CLICO matter ? In the Narsham case the court awarded damages against the Supervisor of Insurances which were never pursued after Mr Sharma died ; suppose a similar award were made against the FSC ( SOI ) in favour of CLICO , WHICH IS VERY PROBABLE , can’t you see a whole new can of worms being let loose ? This will take us way beyond the political sphere . Peace my friend.

7. @ the Miller ( and by extension Old onions )
    Your mill seems not to work on Saturdays ; I have to resume a few tasks that assist in providing the wherewithal to pay the bills so I must take a break , I AM NOT RUNNING ! I shall be ” once more unto the breach , dear friends once more ; “

8. An Observer;

I stand corrected re. OSA’s imputed intestinal fortitude in this matter.

But his actions at that time were par for the course followed by all the other PMs and SOI’s or their equivalents throughout the region. Parris and Duprey had an apparently fail safe Modus Operandi which seems to have ensured and insured that the regional Politicians were convinced of the “too big to fail” faux attributes of CLICO pre 2009 and were not diligent in pursuing hints that all might not have been what it seemed. I do not include the late DT in tis as his reported actions appear to have plumped him firmly into the camp of the active CLICO scammers. There were obviously significant legal underpinnings to that modus operandi provided by CLICO’s very high paid lawyers.

But OSA’s “sins” in that matter pale into infinitely miniscule significance as compared with DT’s and by extension the current DLP’s administration’s, when CLICO’s problems were exposed in Trinidad in 2009.

I think that a spin which seeks to put OSA’s CLICO “transgressions” on all fours with DT’s is at the least duplicitous in the extreme.

9. What of a scenario if company officials are able to access a+x from a company through extraordinary means and invest a % of a+x in same company?

What is the net position for the company officials?

10. Observing (and disbelieving) Avatar

@david and observer
    We actually agree on substantive points. What I’m saying is that the matter CANNOT be resolved with dispatch even in the best circumstances. Neither legally, financially, nor politically. Also, the legal process, twists and turns that will occur will take an inordinately long time(Messr M. Yearwood would know this and exploit it well). There is no “legal” solution that serves to the benefit policyholders…all it may do is mete out justice (maybe) and bring some measure of accountability and “legal” closure. As already said, this will take almost forever. Given that then, the political fallout and ramifications are (already) assured. PR and communication damage control, plus a significant show of acting in the interest of a disaffected segment of the population is the only real option the government has. Alas though, public and ministerial pronouncements since the saga started have them trying to catch the bolted horse that they helped let out the stable. Ignoring the matter is the best of the worst options, but there are too many other major issues to ignore. The more time that passes the more their hands will be tied. Priority 1 at this stage if you truly believe that you are the best option for Barbados right now should be regaining government and doing everything moral, legal and ethical to do so.
    Just observing.

11. @observing

Then the political postulations remain vacuous and opportunistic given your last comment?

In other words the CLICO imbroglio remains firmly lodged within the walls of the Courts just like Senator Irene stated.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

An Observer.. | March 24, 2012 at 10:35 AM |
    “It goes way beyond a mere lack of intestinal fortitude on Mr Arthur’s part ; it also raises the question of his failure to act as the minister who had DIRECT RESPONSIBILITY for the functioning of the Supervisor of Insurances . ”

After you have finished plying your trade a few questions for you to reflect on:

Didn’t the same Insurance Act place similar “DIRECT RESPONSIBILITY’ on any subsequent minister holding the portfolio under which the same SoI fell during the period January 16, 2008 until the abolition of the said office and subsequent transfer of responsibilities to the FSC?
    Didn’t the incoming Minister have access to the files and advice from the SoI? If the deficiency in the Statutory fund was in such a parlous state and the offending Insurance entity’s failure to meet reporting requirements was so blatant as to merit investigation by the SoI (even if no previous reaction or guidance from the then minister, Mr. Arthur) why was this state of affairs allowed to continue into 2010?
    Is this also not a serious dereliction of duty and lax of Ministerial responsibility?

Before you respond after much reflection take the advice gave to your adopted court jester old onions one step further: “the pen is mightier than the sword”. Also “the faintest ink is clearer than the sharpest mind”. The written evidence carries more weight than an elephantine ability to recall from memory (my interpretation for the uninitiated). So if the CLICO problem was documented in the Ministry’s files unlike Mr. Arthur, David Thompson and his successors cannot claim “having not receiving or seen the first CLICO file”. “I will never LIE, Cheat or Steal” is like the sword of Damocles hanging over the ‘Integrity’ of the heads of the recent predecessors of that Ministry even if we go back to 2003.
    “Those who seek justice (equity) must first come with clean hands!” Ac & CCC to ‘observe’ and take notes (the pen is mightier than the sword)!

Also remember that the old onion bags might be dubbed the ‘Fool’ or jester in your court of amusement called the legal merry-go-round but in the world of fortune the “Fool” is the powerful card in the entire tarot deck. “The bright sunshine accompanies the Fool because his presence dispels all darkness”. A darkness reflected by the mirrors held by hands of the sprites from the underworld of legal fraternity trying to drag the CLICO behemoth of evil with its DLP handmaidens to the bottom less pit of Oblivion.

13. Political postulations are always vacuous and opportunistic.i.e. may the best town crier win.

Let me try to spell out my view. However we stab it or cook it CLICO can be boiled down to 4 main issues

1. Accountability: Who is (are) to blame and to what extent?
    2. Justice: Given (1) above, will someone be brought to justice if they were indeed wrong and/or will the affected “victims” have their day or their pay or their principle
    3. Integrity: What really happened between the time the CFL wave was cresting and when it hit the shores? Why so long for JDM? Why the now famous statements by our political leaders? Why the alleged 3.3 mill and other questionable actions during the time that persons were struggling and hoping? How does all this compare to the “750K check”?
    4. Resolution: how will it all end? A buyer? An investor? A government bailout? Nothing?

#s 1 and 2 are all within the realms of the legal as Observer correctly says.
    #3 borders heavily on political and the facts that arise stemming from the search for #s 1 and 2.
    #4 is the only one that really serves policy holders and is what the JDMs are responsible for. But, the option chosen will (dis)colour the taste of their satisfaction and peace, plus, many of them are still yearning for #s 1 and 2 as well as being conscious and wary of the implications of #3 on achieving #4

Legally, we may very well never get 1 and 2.
    Realistically, 4 may become dependent on 1 and 2 (and hence the courts). If it does, God help policy holders who only have a few months/years to live.
    Politically, 3 is an albatross around the DLP’s neck wrapped with the heavy chains of 1 and the absence of 4.

The BLP are not totally absolved, but, they are no longer steering the ship. Spending time blaming the tourist on the shore who may have helped caused the hole in the ship instead of pushing for the current crew to plug it will not lead us to safe harbour. Steady the ship, get to shore, then cuss the tourist as he/she may deserve. To the DLP..man the paddles, raise the flags, and sound the orders so we can at least hear the words that give some hope…….

“Aye Aye Capitan”

Just Observing

14. Is it possible that the former Minister of Finance gave CLICO the go ahead to sell the policies after the stop order from the SOI and is now a factor in the case hence the Judge’s decision? If so were those actions ultra vires or not? Where the legal minds?

15. @enuff

ahhah, now we move from the political to the legal?

Interest times indeed.

16. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Enuff | March 24, 2012 at 1:55 PM | “Is it possible that the former Minister of Finance gave CLICO the go ahead to sell the policies after the stop order from the SO?”

But the Minister of Finance has no legal authority to rescind a lawful order of the Supervisor of Insurance

17. @ Random
    Want of jurisdiction?

18. Enuff and random thoughts; I was dreaming that I was a fly on the wall and overheard a conversation like this between two flies named DT and LP.

LP; The SOI just sent us a cease and desist order on selling more EFPA’s. Wha we gine do? Yuh cud fire she?

DT; Don’t panic! The SOI order ent worth the paper it was written on. It can be challenged and any challenge is guaranteed to win, and besides, the penalties for continuing to sell the EFPA’s is real small change.

LP; so you think that we should continue to sell the EFPA’s?

DT; I can’t tell you dat but the SOI order can be successfully challenged.

LP; Is that your legal advice?

DT; I can’t give you legal advice as I en practising nuhmore, but ask Caswell Franklyn. He could tell you.

19. @ Miller.
    I am back .
    The answer to your first question is an emphatic YES . Every subsequent Minister did have the same level of responsibility . However , up to the time of writing , no similar focus has been placed on the subsequent Ministers for their lack of control over the Supervisor of Insurances . In fact , you should recall that the issue in respect of ministerial oversight of the SOI was brought under greater scrutiny after Mr Arthur boldly stated that he had no control over the SOI ; that functionary had total independence . That pronouncement caused me to draw attention to s. 4 of the Insurance Act. That notwithstanding , i must agree with you that there must have been a high degree of negligence by the subsequent Ministers of Finance in so far as their scrutiny of the statutory fund was concerned . Indeed , there seems to be no evidence of Mr Thompson having done anything to control the situation . We shall probably have to wait for the report to provide some guidance in this regard. I hope that my temporary absence did not keep you waiting unduly long for this response . Peace ..

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ An Observer.. | March 24, 2012 at 5:38 PM |

A break or period of re-creation is an absolute necessity for human mind in the same way the human body needs sleep. Our minds also need knowledge (not propaganda) in the same way our bodies need healthy food. Your temporary absence was a welcome break so that our mutual friend “old onions” can dig into his bags of political memories of the halcyon days of wine and roses. One defence that can be offered to the current crop of political leaders is that their predecessors did not face a more ‘educated’ population with access to information at the click of a mouse or access to a discussion board or blog like BU.

You have my total acquiescence that ministerial surveillance is not a responsibility to be taken lightly. When Ministers of the Crown take the oath of office they must seriously appreciate the import of the words and commitments they are attesting to.
    To ensure that their stint in office is not sullied by stories of incompetence, corruption or and slander they must always be prepared to come under the vigilant sights of the Ultimate Estate charged with the responsibility of freely purveying knowledge and guarding the naked angel of Truth. If these ministers of the third Estate of worldly matters are prepared to go through this process of observation then the guardians of the Ultimate Estate would be willing to let them through the portals of recognition to be bathed in the shining light of admiration or, if of outstanding merit, to be eternally etched in the minds of many generations like that of old onions to be so persistently harped on.

21. @miller

Your last comment is an eloquent word bomb.

22. @ Miller
    but having said that should not the guardians of the Ultimate Estate be pursuing the interest of the people. How could this be when they too find themselves lying in bed with the same politicians they are supposed to be be watching . Only when a clear and concise appreciation of what is right for the country would the guardians be able to do great diligencewithout fear or harm as the people would know and appreciate what they are telling is the truth as of now the guardians are not the watchman of the city but are watching out for themselves and the people suffer!

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 24, 2012 at 7:37 PM |
    The guardians of the Ultimate Estate do not reside in the Pine or on the beautiful font of a street near the Mecca of West Indian cricket or a modern-day Rachel Pringle brothel of rehabilitation.
    The spirit of the Ultimate Estate resides in the hearts of free thinkers and people prepared to stand up for principles and fair play. This BU blog has its fair share.

24. @ miller!

Well if what you say is true why do people like you put so much stake in what comes out of their pages you are very quick to ponce on every word they say as long as it is supportive of your point of view for sure their influence does wheel mihghtly in the minds of the reading public in as much as you would rather pretend differently it is a fact that including miller is aware of that is why being dismissive of them is an oversight on your part and wittingly or unwittingly gives them the power to do as they damn please.

25. @nation critic @March 23, 2012 at 10:33 AM |

It is precisely the kind of partisan reasoning from the above that are dividing this country solely along political lines. …………………….

And you really say this with a straight face?????

The dead king, the kingmaker and the DLP saw to that from 2007. Dont you remember the mandate of the dead king???…..”only those who stay the course with me will be able to share in the fatted calf.”

Or are you going to say that the dead king was mis-quoted. You cannot want anything more partisan and divisive than this. If you are not a Dem, you will starve.

26. @ Hants, March 24, 2012 at 10:41 AM |

An Observer wrote “Mr Parris is possibly the BIGGEST EFPA CLICO policy holder there is ?”

If that is true, why would Leroy Parris buy such a large EFPA policy? Was it an act of confidence in Clico or smoke and mirrors?……………….

Parris took out all his money before he finally resigned. All he was fighting for was the 10 MILLION of which the dead king helped him get 3.333 MILLION.

27. @ miller
    “Didn’t the same Insurance Act place similar “DIRECT RESPONSIBILITY’ on any subsequent minister holding the portfolio under which the same SoI fell during the period January 16, 2008 until the abolition of the said office and subsequent transfer of responsibilities to the FSC?
    Didn’t the incoming Minister have access to the files and advice from the SoI? If the deficiency in the Statutory fund was in such a parlous state and the offending Insurance entity’s failure to meet reporting requirements was so blatant as to merit investigation by the SoI (even if no previous reaction or guidance from the then minister, Mr. Arthur) why was this state of affairs allowed to continue into 2010?
    Is this also not a serious dereliction of duty and lax of Ministerial responsibility?”…………………………

Well said. This is the crux of the matter. Why did not the incoming ministers of finance call for the CLICO file and ask CLICO to correct the deficit in the Statutory Fund???

@ac, why oh why?

28. Observing (and disbelieving) Avatar

Lose lose. that’s what CLICO represents for the DLP.

29. @ Prodigal son March 24 ,2012 at 9.30 pm.
    ” Parris took out all his money before he finally resigned “.
    Do you know this for certain ? You should really ask Mrs Fowler to confirm what is really correct . You are really misleading the public . It is a known fact that Mr Parris and the Nation Ltd are the two biggest EFPA policyholders at CLICO . Whatever you may think about him you should at least try to accept what is factually true even if it turns out to be favourable to him . Check with Mrs Fowler ; she should have the list of EFPA policyholders since they form the base of her BIPA group . You certainly do not have it .

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 24, 2012 at 9:02 PM |

I am a guardian of the “Ultimate Estate” not a swallower of propaganda that flows from the local rag sheets pretending to be members of the real Fourth Estate.
    I read newspaper the same way I read religious literature; with a good helping of scepticism and a pinch of salt for taste.

Please don’t mix up propaganda organs or rag sheets (tabloids) posing as newspapers with sources of facts and knowledge.

PS:
    “Ac”, please refer to: Prodigal Son | March 24, 2012 at 9:40 PM | and see what proper and effective analysis and commentary of a situation ought to be if one wants to be a member of the “Ultimate Estate”. Even “Observer’ would succumb to such fair and balanced analysis. You should too, if only on the Ultimate Estate raison d’etre.

31. @ David and the BU Family.
    Do check out Jeff Cumberbatch’s comments on the FLOOD v THE TIMES Case in today’s Advocate . It makes for compulsory reading .

32. An Observer. wrote to Prodigal son “Check with Mrs Fowler ; she should have the list of EFPA policyholders since they form the base of her BIPA group”

It is likely that Parris still owns his EFPAs but we need proof.

These days we have to sift through the lies,insinuations and contrived politically motivated drivel that permeates the new age media.
    Not only blogs but read the online comments on Nationnews.

Then there is Patrick Hoyos.

33. @An Observer

Here is the link:

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=23631

The Nation may do well to test it in the Courts of Barbados. You agree thaat it has to be tested?

On another issue BU notes that the Nation has given a 2-page coverage to a Bajan living in New York who in the best Bajan vernacular uploads Youtube videos to give vent to his opions on myriad of topics. It is note worthy that he sometimes uses ‘cuss’ words to make the point. One wonders what would have motivated the Nation to highligh this matter.

Hmmm.

34. @Hants

Patrick Hoyos is on a mssion…lol.

@Prodigal

Note that Hoyos is a VoB moderator!

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 25, 2012 at 10:45 AM |
    “On another issue BU notes that the Nation has given a 2-page coverage to a Bajan living in New York who in the best Bajan vernacular uploads Youtube videos to give vent to his opions on myriad of topics.”

It gine soon be “CATPISS & PEPPA’ bout hey!

I have not yet seen the Nation’s spread but the man is right on the ball. I have been following him via “Youtube” for a while now.
    Even though the hypocritical, poor-great’ Bajans would call him ‘common class’ he is in my books worthy of initiation into the basic class of the workings and behaviour of the Ultimate Estate. Induction into the hall of fame would take a bit of time.

36. @miller

Her has a large following and is on David’s [BU] Facebook page friend list 🙂

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

To the BU Family: Breaking News!
    The chief spokesman for the DLP on economic and financial matters, Mr. Physical Deficit Jepter Ince, the great pretender to the post of Minister of Finance, is expected to be on the Brasstacks VOB programme this morning. Tune in from 11.00 am. What a parody of intellectual enlightenment to an audience who see themselves as the fulfilment of EWB’s dream we will be receiving for light entertainment!

38. @ miller
    This sounds strange Jepster and Estwick…..could this possibly the restart of something old but NEW ? lol…we await eagerly.
    Won’t be listening though…Aussies amassing a mammoth score..315 probably.
    They had more than enuff time to start…..need Viagra

39. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Get this:
    VOB owned by the Nation newpaper has a discussion on the economy:Guess who is on the panel?
    Clyde Mascoll, Clyde’s protege Ryan Straughn who says that the answer is sending home public servants and the “independent” ha,ha moderator Pat Hoyos. The BLP not only controlling the Nation, they got total control of VOB 929 fm too.
    The death of balanced journalism in Barbados is clear for all to see.
    How the hell Pat Hoyos could “moderate” a programme fairly while on the same day cussing the government in a newspaper column.

40. @NationBLPnewspaper

Where is Jepter Ince?

41. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I dare any bloggers here to show me DLP columnists who were as critical of a government as Pat Hoyos is and still “moderate” a programme on VOB?

42. @NationBLPnewspaper

VOB advised that a member of the government was invited to participate.

Please respond.

43. @NationBLPnewspaper

How did Peter Wickham do it? Stupse

44. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Enuff – Nonsense
    Some of Peter Wickham’s articles do not even deal with domestic politics.Many have dealt with regional and in some cases social matters.
    Check your facts.
    EVERY SINGLE SUNDAY ARTICLE from Pat Hoyos is cussing the government.
    Yet, he retains his position as “independent” ,what nonsense.He even cusses the government more than members of the opposition.
    Hoyos is a fraud.

45. @NationBLPnewspaper

Where is Senator Jepter Ince [3rd request]

46. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Is Senator Ince the appointed spokesman for the government? If that position was made official, I am not aware that is the case.
    Hon. Denis Kellman has called into the programme and is making remarks to balance the other 3 BLP representatives in the studio.

47. @NationBLPnewspaper

Didn’t Senator Ince represent the government on the last VOB program?

48. Observing (and disbelieving) Avatar

@nationblpnewspaper
    You have a week to catch yourself. Same program, same issue, next sunday.

One would think on an issue as major as the economy where the opposition seems able to put holes in the balloon flown by the government that they could find at least ONE person officially to represent. Have we ever heard the minister of finance? Darcy boyce? Jepter (other than a phone call) or estwick in the studio??? Please. The people deserve as much respect as the politicians claim they do with regards to their time. Put up, shut up or go home. Thiss BS about bias and being unfaired ain’t washing. Get in the damned ring and mix it up for the cause of party, government and country so that people at least understand where we r going, how we are doing and why things have to be the way they are.

Whew. Typed a little more than expected.

49. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Yes, he did but Darcy Boyce has also spoken on VOB and others. Starcom says it will do another programme on Sunday. I hope that when the government spokespersons come to the programme we can at least have an “independent” moderator and not Pat Hoyos.
    There was no disagreement between Mascoll and Hoyos but then again how could there be – Mascoll is the Thursday BLP Nation spokesperson and Pat Hoyos is the Sunday BLP Nation spokesperson. They have the same agenda.

50. Does anyone know what Hoyos said off-air which he had to apologize to Minister Kellman who heard?

It would speak to credibility.