blpmeeting
Click image to go to BLPTV stream

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is riding the CLICO Mess to go on the offensive. An indication of the political significance of the meeting is the fact that it will be held at the Haggatt Hall location (4/03/2012). This is the location which the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) used to lure thousand during the final days of the last general election to reveal information about the famous cheque for $75,000.

No one can deny, as many predicted, the CLICO noose is tightening around the necks of the DLP.  Political pundits continue to speculate how the DLP will toss this CLICO albatross from its back.

1. Boy boy boy. You guys have all of your hopes pinned on CLICO. Lets see how it turns out. BTW did we lose a deputy leader last night? Wow how the pecking order changes in one night. Dale 3 George 4 wow. Are we using CLICO to hide the new leadership changes in the BLP. Remember our OECS brothers are watching!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer) Avatar
    Observing (definitely not to be confused with observer)

@DMC
    We have a new champion of subjective ignorance. Congrats.

3. Selling items which are illegal, and then introducing the profits into a financial system (initial – or PLACEMENT).

After the funds have entered the financial system, the funds in a series of conversions or movements (invest in this and invest in that) including converting some into “legal fees” (LAYERING).

Then these lawyer fees somehow magically become a gratuity payment (INTEGRATION).

Ah wunda wuh yuh call dah.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | March 5, 2012 at 2:58 PM |

What really is going on with the jm’s and the remaining top manager(s) at Fraud Inc? The company is no longer writing new business. The brand is dead and no longer of interest to potential buyers.
    How come then the thorn can still be at the top of the hill and in charge of the operations of a dying concern? How can we have one of the quack doctors responsible for the degradation of the health of a patient still at the bedside? To do what? To continuously administer the slow but lethal doses of financial medication?

Now here is an ‘agent saboteur’ still capable of throwing spanners in the works.

Only in Bim would a person be allowed to remain on the job whose professional competence and integrity have been called into question to such a disgraceful angle. What is he is being paid to do? If there is a need for some kind of ‘supervisory’ representation to ensure the efficient conduct of the necessary cashiering, book-keeping and office management functions then these services can be brought in from an ‘independent and untarnished’ source.

Having the thorn in the side and the other big “maguffy” still around with no managerial responsibilities and still drawing top dog salaries and perks is just making muggings out of the duped policyholders committed to paying their monthly premiums.
    What really is going on, here ole onion bags? You think these remaining guards are there to keep certain past godfathers now figuratively on remand at the “political and social sing sing” abreast of investigative events and their possible chances of discharge through lack of “hard copy” evidence?

5. If a Bee and a Dee both number 2 in a hole, can any of them cry it stink and want cleaning?

This is why I fail to understand about the politics we are seeing. The bees should never, ever mention Al Barrack and the only thing I want to hear from the Bees is how to fix Clico, not who is responsible. Both parties share blame and who is “most” to blame does not help anyone get closure.

6. Both the BLP and the DLP must be sent packing out once and for all out of the parliament of this country.

Both these older idiotic parties are taking the broad masses and middle classes of people for granted in this country.

As we have previously said on this blog site, the broad masses of voters in this country have a few years ( 6 years) within which to send these two ramshackled parties back into a state of nonexistence..

For, they have been doing significant, and in many cases irreparable, damage to the body politic of the country, and esp when they have become at the helm of government in this country.

Enough of what this and that party has done and the charges and counter charges about what they have done or not done at different times in the history of the social, political, material and financial development of this country.

What we the broad masses and middle classes of people in Barbados should have long time been doing is focussing on and planning for the way forward for this country without both BLP and DLP.

No doubt many Barbadian people would have already started doing such, given our many political conversations with them on such a question. No doubt too that many more will join this thrust forward as time goes by, as they eventually realize the terminal foolishness that are called the BLP and DLP.

For, Mr Arthur and Mr. Stuart and their respective henchmen and henchwomen apparently feel that while each of their joke parties trade verbal barbs and insults and play mind games with the other that, the broad masses and middle classes of people will continue to watch helplessly and confusedly on, without they doing some things to salvage their own critical states of affairs – which these two older ignorant parties are basically ignoring.

Well, such nonsensical beliefs will be brought to an end eventually by an enlightened and militant masses and middle classes in the foreseeable future in this country.

Surely a new national ideological direction and a new model of development for Barbados is what the PDC and so many of our asociates are all about for the said masses and middle classes in the country.

This Clico affair speaks immensely to the need for such a new model of financial development for Barbados, as that, this said scandalous affair is reflective of a catastrophic failure in the functioning of an effective moral and ideological and political governance at the level of the pseudo-financial system in the country.

7. @PDC: “Both the BLP and the DLP must be sent packing out once and for all out of the parliament of this country.

Isn’t it so unfortunate that there isn’t a viable third alternative?

8. @Tell Me Why – Regarding The BLP mismanagement of $10 million between 2005 – 2008, you said:
    “As we all know, the people who actually received funding were hairdressers, barbers, and the lower classes of society”
    Get real boss! The thing is the hairdressers were not really hairdressers and the small contractors were actually BLP mouthpieces ,yardfowls and cronies.
    10 million dollars gone into the hands of BLP friends and cronies- Bajans aint stupid.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Dear PDC
    Empty vessels often keep nuff noise….why don’t you quit while ahead, before we give you and your Personally Don’t Count party …..a warm sending off ! Idiotic parties….hmmmmm
    Onions

10. agreed adrian hinds, that is our only hope of at least bringing some semblance of trust back to the present system of governance.

11. old onion bags Avatar

Hey BajanFalife…is that you behind the xclaim tion markenudo? Same tune different horn…lol

12. From the last budget wrap up it was clear that Owen Arthur get lick up by Chris Sinckler- Remember when lying Arthur said that he was not at the Cabinet meeting when the decisions regarding the Prison were made and then the records clearly showed he was there. Either Arthur losing his memory conveniently or he is a bold faced liar.
    Sinckler destroyed him and exposed him for the whole of Barbados to see.
    You think Arthur want more of that!He is a coward- always was!
    The leader of the BLP could not face Sinckler one on one again so he run and hide behind Mottley skirt. Everybody know that Dale Marshall is a waste of time and the rest of the BLP cupboard empty in terms of talent.

13. @ !

Hush!!
    That attempt at a diversionary tactic will not work. Derek Alleyne needs to go and work for his pay and stop rehashing old stories that we heard when Denis Lowe was Minister responsible for UDC. That interview was an admission that he has failed; and UDC only gave out loans up to $25,000 the last time I checked so one wonders where he got $300,000 and $500,000 from.
    The point is the DLP knows about the loan portfolio being in red, who the main culprits are and who is responsible, but welcomed the individual back to the fold with opened arms. Note the community Derek Alleyne highlighted to have benefited significantly from UDC during the Bees. In other words ask your party’s MP.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ PDC:
    “For, Mr Arthur and Mr. Stuart and their respective henchmen and henchwomen apparently feel that while each of their joke parties trade verbal barbs and insults and play mind games with the other that, the broad masses and middle classes of people will continue to watch helplessly and confusedly on, without they doing some things to salvage their own critical states of affairs – which these two older ignorant parties are basically ignoring.”

These are the workings (mechanics) of the political game. Without the broad masses and middle classes who are the pawns or common men there will be no game on.
    What do you expect a political heaven and paradise in a human world? At least we are not living in Syria or Sudan!

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@I | March 5, 2012 at 7:49 PM |
    “Everybody know that Dale Marshall is a waste of time and the rest of the BLP cupboard empty in terms of talent.”

So what is in the DLP’s house? Or should one conclude that there is neither cupboard nor backing cabinet? Remember, “I”, those who live in glass houses (or without sin) should not throw (can cast) the first stone. “I shall not lie, cheat or steal”. The evil that men do lives after them!

16. We in the DLP have many persons who can assume leadership unlike the BLP. If you had choices why go back to father time, i mean why?

Sinclair, Jones, Kellman, Donville, Michael lashley, Estwick all possible choices.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DMC | March 5, 2012 at 8:48 PM |

It is noticed that you have not made any provision for the continuity of Mr. “Molasses” to be in charge in the medium term. I agree with you that any of the possible choices mentioned above could be the next Leader of the Opposition. Except, of course, for Chris the Unclear whom every body now hates. The wind has been taken out of his sails and he is politically adrift and can run aground anytime now. Just listen to the man speaking these days, Not like the arrogant pompous buffoon of pre-coup vintage but as a meek, babbling whimp that even OSA can shout “boo” at and watch the once fearful scarecrow fall like a withered leaf from a tree.

18. @Christopher Halsall who wrote ” isn’t it so unfortunate that there isn’t a viable third alternative?”

Wicked slap shot,,,,back of the net. lol

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“2. Owen Seymour Arthur……Divorced with several outside children while still married, married his secretary , a known alcoholic and wife abuser. An old scallywag!”

islandgal246

20. @DMC
    “Sinclair, Jones, Kellman, Donville, Michael lashley, Estwick all possible choices.”

I have to reconsider your support of the DLP If you can seriously consider any of the above named as serious possible candidates to lead this country.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

”The resolution of the CLICO debacle . Settlement to policyholders must involve Government’s financing. What financing options can OSA recommend? Issuance of bonds, special levy, VAT on financial transactions for a limited period? We want to hear. This is a CSME problem.”

22. !. I refuse to response to your rebuff regarding the monies that were lent to those poor entrepreneurs. What about the big businesses that are heavily indebted to lending agencies due to the slow down in business. Entrepreneurship is a risk in the face of any bank furthermore an inexperienced Government agency with a soft heart and taxpayers money playing with. This scenario has been in the public domain since 2008. Why the last minute rehash or is it a PR stunt to confuse people about the Clico fiaso? Wheel and come again.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“In a June 5, 2007 cable, the harshest criticisms were levelled against the then Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley. The communication, which was sent by former Ambassador Mary Ourisman, raised questions concerning Mottley’s suitability for leadership but also made bold statements about her lifestyle.

This cable was sent by Ourisman following a meeting with Mottley. The ambassador reported that “former Senator Phillip Goddard, an excellent contact of the Embassy, recently confirmed to the DCM (Deputy Chief of Missions) in a private conversation that internal BLP (Barbados Labour Party) leadership is absolutely determined that Mottley would not lead the party, should they be returned to power in the next elections”

has this changed?

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Mia continues to alienate the core of the BLP supporters by talking nonsense in public, while simultaneously making herself popular with ‘youth’. Hmmm and it is the opinion of you learned gentlemen that this somehow means that the party must accommodate her ambitions and demands? If she is so popular, surely she does not need the party for anything. So what would be her motivation for accepting any deal the party may offer?”

Raquel Gilkes

I am trying to find out if the Barbados Labour Party knows which way is up.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | March 5, 2012 at 10:17 PM |
    ”The resolution of the CLICO debacle . Settlement to policyholders must involve Government’s financing. What financing options can OSA recommend? Issuance of bonds, special levy, VAT on financial transactions for a limited period? We want to hear. This is a CSME problem.”

Not a cent of taxpayers money until those who perpetrated this massive fraud are behinds bars and denied of their ill-gotten gains including an “estate”. Once done then we can talk compensation from the public purse.
    Hear me CCC, loud and clear, CCC?

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All this talk of Mia replying to the budget smacks of desperation to me.

But who am I?

The blogg owner DAVID says, “Brilliant” as he tries desperately to curry favour with the Barbados Labour Party.

I cant understand how he is mixing up desperation with brilliance, he seems to be getting old and senile!!

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

…….but,but……..millertheanunnaki

Those were your words.

28. CCC. Your constant diatribe must be punished with “Laughter’ and should be ignored. Here it is we are dealing with an issue that affects the majority of people and you becoming personal. BTW. Is this the same Carson who was recently praising MIA?

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Mia Mottley was never going to be able to ‘stamp-out corruption’ (election rigging and vote-padding) within the BLP and she is right not to participate in, thereby validating a process, which middle-ground Barbadians (who are not political) find horrible and highly offensive.

You do not have to be a rocket scientist to see that this latest salvo is a calculated and unprovoked attack on women and ‘the Barbadian middle class’ by a group of men within the BLP, who seem to have reached agreement, that no woman or middle-class Barbadian is ‘acceptable’ to lead them; the BLP or this country. Vote for them – Yes! But lead again – absolutely not! It would therefore seem that someone has been able to get into the head of (what could only be) a vulnerable person within the BLP – perhaps questioning if any such person is going to allow the BLP to end-up in the hands of a woman or a middle-class Barbadian.”

Sunday’s night announcement concerning The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley is mere window dressing.

Barbadians will not be fooled.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MIA AMOR MOTTLEY beware Greeks bearing gifts!!!!

31. @ an observer,
    “All of Barbados knows that everything is NOT well with Mia and Owen, BUT, they are willing to put differences aside (publicly) for a common goal. Even the willingness to foist this perception in the midst of what everyone knows is reality shows a willingness to do what’s necessary when it’s necessary. Something the country is looking for. The ethics and morality of it is another story.” ……………………….

And all is well in the DLP???

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Wuhloss! This must be a different Noel Lynch speaking last night at the political rally. It can’t be the same Noel Lynch who sued to prevent reporters from asking him to declare his assets…

On March 25, 2007, thousands of listeners of the Down To Brass Tacks radio show were stunned as Barbados Minister of Tourism Noel Lynch ran out of the studio after being asked on air to comment about his personal wealth and Integrity Legislation. The emailed question from a listener and comments by moderator David Ellis abruptly ended the Minister’s participation as he angrily ripped off his headphones, stood up and left the studio. Lynch then sued radio journalist David Ellis and the radio station, who paid rather than go to court.

That is how strongly Noel Lynch believes that government members should be unaccountable elites. He sued to ensure that never again would anyone dare to ask a government minister about where the assets came from.

And let’s not forget that in 14 years of majority government Noel Lynch and his BLP ignored citizen calls for Integrity Legislation and Freedom of Information.

Now Noel Lynch has the temerity to stand before a crowd and call on Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to “pass the law” to make public officials declare their assets.”

Barbados Free Press

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | March 5, 2012 at 10:45 PM |
    “…….but,but……..millertheanunnaki. Those were your words.”

Carson, you have omitted my designation /qualification -May 2012). Forget already?
    Anyhow I have not paid my dues so the designation has been returned because of Mr. Molasses.

Those words were also expressed as promises by the late PM, Mr. Molasses and Chris the broken weather cock.
    But you would agree that a promise is a comfort to a fool whether from the B side or D side. Ask Al Barrack if you doubt me.

34. DMC | March 5, 2012 at 8:48 PM |

We in the DLP have many persons who can assume leadership unlike the BLP. If you had choices why go back to father time, i mean why?

Sinclair, Jones, Kellman, Donville, Michael lashley, Estwick all possible choices……………………………….

You are the latest of the DLP jokers to come on this blog. You actually have to gall to mention these names as leaders…………..

Denis Kellman??? the biggest joker ever to become an MP, no wonder DT never gave him a ministry not even on his dying bed (hey and you all have the gall to talk about rifts in the BLP)

Cant be Michael Lashley…..he cant leave Barbados, poor soul all he could say for years was that he had to clean up the mess the BLP left and look now the BLP will have to clean up after him…….

Estwick…..you really think this vulgar loud mouth man could be ever be a leader

Donville Inniss……….to promote porn in this country, hell no

Sinckler…omigosh…..have mercy, Lord… dont you see that he aint got a clue about what he is doing, the plot failed so he said he does not ever want to be a leader

Jones…oh no, Jones aint interested, he could not even solve the AX matter, a simple education matter, you really think that Jones could lead a country??? You thing running a country is running football.

Wheel and come again. Poor DLP, no wonder FS could not pop the necks of the GANG of 11, the cupboard is bare.

35. Fellow bloggers,

I urge you to ignore the rantings of CCC. He needs to divert the attention away from the cruel revelations of the operations of CLICO on the dead king, the queen and Leroy Parris. Ignore his foolish postings. Desperate people do desperate things.

36. Listen to the little rum bunny OSA at Haggatt Hall last night. He constantly looking at his watch, mumbling and jumping around form one topic to the next and get the facts and names wrong. He does be good when he first get pun stage (on account of the rum I suspect) but then whenthe rum does wear off he does talk bare foolishness.

MIA go gine take OSA bait and respond to the budget from CS when for the last 4 years he OSA tell any and everyone who would listen that it was you who approve the Dodds Prison deal while he was out of the office for your good friend Glyne Bannister and pocket the millions?

37. One has to admit Noel Lynch turnaround (less than 5 years) by declaring his assets is interesting if not laughable considering his tirade which was soundly criticized on social media.

38. @Cadogan

It is brilliant because what are her options?

She responds and immediately has to line up behind the team or refuse and face the wrath of the party because of the appearance of not being a team player.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I hear you.

This is the election for the Barbados Labour Party to loose. The BLP will be rid of Seethru and The HON. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY WILL TAKE HER RIGHTFUL PLACE at the helm of the Barbados Labour Party.

Seethru cant stop it

He knows that he is a facing a hat-trick of defeats at the hands of the DLP come next election and he is scared stiff.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All Mia has to do is to bide her time.

The elements are on her side.

She does not need any gifts from Seethru!!!!!

41. Brilliant the least! Hypocritical the most! here is a man OSA who over the past 4years demonise MIA in every which way and now for his own political gain expects the intelligente of the electorate to believe all is well within the BLP and himself with MIA as for the CLICO matter when the FACTS are borne out by the DLP not PERCEPTION as being done her on BU daily OSA and the BLP government would have to answer for all that has happen in this debacle and DT 3million paycheck would pale in significance. Just wait and see. NOEL LYNCH is calling a BLUFF one that is surely gonna bite him in the arsss. Just listen to him apologising to whomever he took liberty to invoke their name at the BLP fiasco called The CLICO GOT YAH MEETING. But just wait to see who get who in the weeks and months to come.

42. @ac

The window of opportunity is closing where the government can deposit information of wrongdoing by the BLP to stem the swarming tide of public opinion. Bear in mind there is the economic situation which has the CLICO and Barrack issues in tow.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 6, 2012 at 5:39 AM |
    “But just wait to see who get who in the weeks and months to come.”

So DLP YH, can we look forward to the police applying to the magistrate courts for warrants of arrest or issuing of summons against the BLP alleged crooks?
    Or can we expect to treat your hot air as just signals coming from an empty vessel not even worth the paper the AX accord is meant to be written on. Molasses spilled in Portvale sugar factory would flow up Mount Hillaby by the end of next week before the DLP administration got the guts to bring charges of malfeasance in office against the key members of the previous political administration.

44. old onion bags Avatar

@Carson Cadear Cadagon
    All this talk of Mia replying to the budget smacks of desperation to me.

Carson are your serious ? Do you really want to put up yourself to that of joke category for all us bloggers to redicule ? Fine with ME.
    What have you been smoking or rather drinking Carson ? DESPERATION ?
    Are you saying that the most reverened PM of this hemisphere… of 14 years experience… who most articulately enjoys these debates in parliment, suddenly is inept or at loss on how to reply.. to sofar “nothings” from a group of proven so far incompetent school boys whose only motive shown to the Bajan populace is drawing a salary(parlimentary) and eating parliment food.
    Carson I say with no remorse or reservation…truly thou art a member of the DLP party aviary family and possibly cousined to the reigning calypso monarch’s Cornwall as well..you truly belong to the barn yard and not to be showing up your ignorance for all to see with your paltry attempt at the art of blog.

45. old onion bags Avatar

David et al…
    Due to problems being encountered posting on this blog ( LIME sabotage notice) ….any errors occasioned are non intentional and are regretted.

46. Of interest, the Estimates 2012/13 will be laid in parliament by the MoF today and debated from next week Monday.

47. old onion bags Avatar

CLICO pensioner and policyowners NEED to PICKET PARLIMENTARY prooceedings now with placards …and stop being so passive…this PM Stuart seemingly only responds to Marches…..DURING THIS BUDGETARY and ESTIMATE upcoming proceedings…time for AX teachers to demand STAGE II

48. It was an interesting turn of events yesterday hearing Lynch calling David Ellis on Brass Tacks to say that a minister’s private assets should be known to the public. The man had Ellis almost speechless.

Isn’t this the same man who sued VOB on this similar issue, and won?

49. I suspect the BLP will be bringing a FOI act in their manifesto when next elections are called, and Lynch is “Toein’ the Line”

50. @Guy Fawkes

Lynch agreed to a settlement of 70 grand.

There was no litigation.