Submitted by Porridgeboy
Senator Orlando Marville, Chairman of Governance Advisory Board

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) came to power on what is known and clearly established as a myriad of EMPTY promises. This country was promised an accessible and transparent government. In his 2008 Budgetary Proposals, page 25, the late Prime Minister David Thompson spoke about a Governance Advisory Board that was set up under the Chairmanship of Independent Senator Orlando Marville, former Central Bank Governor Calvin Springer, Professor Dr. Eudine Barriteau, Attorney at Law Monique Taitt, the Very Reverent Frank Marshall, Dean of St. Michael and Shantal Munro-Knight a leader and policy–advisor in the NGO movement.

This board was to prepare draft legislation in the following areas:

• Integrity (to include declaration of Asset by Public officials, and a code of conduct for Ministers
  • Defamation
  • Freedom of Information
  • New Constitutional Provisions to rationalize the power of the Prime Minister.

Hence I am forced to ask a few question:

• Where has this board disappeared to?
  • Did it die with the late Prime Minister?
  • Was this just another promise to capture the vote of the people?

Folks, I am only asking.

In it’s 2008 declaration of principles, policies, and objectives, commonly known as a Manifesto, the Democratic Labour Party stated on page 6, under the caption “Putting the People First” that lowering the cost of living was its objective. It stated factually that the BLP was responsible for ordinary Barbadians not enjoying a comfortable living in this country. Because of their failure to correct the imbalances in the wholesale and retail sectors, hence forcing small and medium size business (including black businesses) out of the sector.

It further stated that a new DLP administration will use the power and patronage of the government not to disadvantage existing participants in the distribution sector. Instead to allow for new and efficient players to come into the sector and through increased competition contribute to the creation of a fair market structure. Also to liberate the sector and spread options and opportunities to Barbadians creating a new environment for lower prices.

The question once again goes a-begging. Has this administration done anything different since taking office in 2008? Is it not the same distributors that the DLP accused the BLP of giving monopolies?  Are we still not waiting for businesses like Cost U Less that was promised by the late Prime Minister, if the distribution sector did not pull up their socks? We are then left to conclude that the statement “to liberalize the sector and level the playing field by spreading more options to Barbadians” was just the same old rhetoric by the DLP.  Simply put, a whole set of emptiness to fill the minds of the people. One thing for sure and that is, life has not been made any easier for Barbadians as promised by this DLP administration. Inflation has soared since 2008 -2011 and the erosion of the middle class is well on its way to being extinct.

This Caring For The Poor government also stated in its 2008 Manifesto under the caption Improving Access to Property Ownership, page 8 that Barbadians from all sectors of society, especially those now starting out on life’s journey a piece of this rock. They promised to maintain the plight of pensioners with “a roof over their heads’’. The manifesto goes on to say that “decent housing is the key to good family life,” and that every citizen has the right to decent affordable housing.

But what has this administration done? The Coverly Project which was to be a pilot project of fifty (50) houses has turn into one large concrete jungle. These houses were built by the private sector and government at a cost of over $300, 000.00 each. For whom are there built? Not the poor.  Over one thousand houses and very few are sold, and serious inquires are dwindling by the day (More on this later),  while those who are really in need of a piece of the rock can only drive-by and look over the walls.

The poor and those who are now starting out on life’s journey are required to rent two and three bedroom houses at places like Country Road Towers at $600 and $830.80 monthly, Tweedside project  three bedroom home rented at $590.80 monthly, to whom? These minimum wage workers are required to meet the high cost of utilities and high cost of food in the supermarkets and pay these exorbitant rents on their little minimum wage. Let us not forget that most of these are very young people with two or three children. Do the math. What about those single mothers and fathers who can’t  find work and will never qualify for any of these homes. What has this caring Government done for them and the poor, NOTHING. Sadly those who were able to elevate themselves through the programs that were put in place by the BLP in the fourteen years they held government now find themselves slipping back down the ladder under the pressures of this idol Government (What humour).

Who has reaped the sweets from this administration?  The little work generated by this administration has largely gone to the private developers that kept all the work for themselves thus avoiding any crumbs falling off the table for the poor to get. The jury is still out on the amount of work small contractors would have received from the developer at Covertly.

This is the Government that boast that they are doing so much for the poor? All this DLP GOVERNMENT has done since it as come to power is to make the poor poorer and is on the verge of bring the middle class to their knees by taxing them here, there and every were,  however they feel like .The DLP conviction leaves a lot to desire .

If this the fulfilment of some of the promises in the DLP Manifesto to the people of Barbados, then I salute them. But did the administration think that we would let them get away with a do nothing cabinet? Ooops I forgot, a Manifesto is not a social contract between the people and the party.

292 responses to “The Democratic Labour Party Caring For The Poor”

1. @ac

Was that your take away?

The discussion is about our inability to implement transparency legislation. The fact this government promised to implement it makes it more of an issue.

We need to use our best comprehension skills.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | February 22, 2012 at 11:03 AM |

Please explain the point you are trying to make here!
    According to you the BLP stole for 14 years so it also OK for the DLP to follow suit?
    We were promised a new path to progress and governance.
    The BLP has been sidelined. Deal with the current people running the show. Let us hold them accountable for current events. Name and charge those that committed crimes in the past.
    Stop your ranting and 14 year references. You are beginning to look and sound rather stupid. Deal with the now not 14 years ago unless you are going to name and shame some of the perpetrators, you get it ac?

3. @bajan for life
    You dont read? According to the straw poll conducted by BU Arthur is leading Stuart by 2-1. The eager 11 stated that they cannot win with Fruendel Do you think that people believe that if the Dems do not want him then we should? If Fruendel cannot make a decision about the 11 how can we make a decision about him? Lack of decision on Alexandra, about the GG, about who is in charge. Stuart or Arthur , there is really no debate. Think on these things

4. @ ac
    Shame on you girl…is that the best you can do….today you just drop to a new low in the onions book…the king now get caught with dirty hands and you just dismiss it so casual…..your morals are seriously lacking

Look BIRDS of a feather hear..but you don’t worry….it is the wilderness for your kind..EVERYDAY NOW….tell me if I lie…more and more coming out to further concrete this path for you and all like you….shame on all you ..the bajan word >>>> THIEFING FROM THE POOR !!!!

5. @ ac…about bajanFalife
    You are being rather disingenuous to yourself tagging with this fellow as all he ever mumbles is AFFA,like a pugnacious little school boy.
    Take my advise disassociate yourself from the diatom.”

I take that (the above) BACK……he seemingly got more scruples than YOU

and to think we spend all that money pun a big watless funeral..

YOU ALL HITTING ROCK BOTTOM…

6. @ Sargeant
    The payment alleged to have been made to Thompson & Co. may not have been made if we had laws with teeth on the books with respect to disclosure
    No sir I totally disagree….its called integrity.No laws on the books can give you that.If you are going to steal…you are going to steal. All those menboys up at Dodds in their blues pants hangin LOWDOWN..are not lesser than one in white collar who steals.

7. VOB 929 NEWS….12.30 PM
    The Govt paying attention to MANUFACTURING in the 4 th year all a sudden…..next we go hear bout AGRICULTURE…Watch!

Kellman says” a serious error was made neglecting manufacture and we about to revamp a bank like BDB..”..to facilitate…..somebody duz read listen to Brass tack and does read… BU.. David

Ac you tell the man about the aloe plantation in Greenland yet ?
    Or the geese farm in Black Rock ?

8. David wrote> (on Agriculture its all we Have)
    The Nation newspaper has reported that Jeff Broome apologized to parents in the presence of the Chief Education Officer for given instruction to cut the hair of two students.

Fa real now…..(error again)….what is happening in this place people ?
    It seems like a prevailing madness…..the Mayans like they are right … ” stupor shall transcend as chaos prevail “

9. http://news.discovery.com/space/the-2012-mayan-calendar-doomsday-date-might-be-wrong.html

According to all the ridiculous hype surrounding Dec. 21, 2012, the Mayans “predicted” the end of the world with one of their calendars. On this date, doomsayers assert that Earth will be ravaged by a smorgasbord of cataclysmic astronomical events — everything from a Planet X flyby to a “killer” solar flare to a geomagnetic reversal, ensuring we have a very, very bad day. As we all know by now, these theories of doom are bunkum.

And now, according to a recent study by an associate professor at UC Santa Barbara, this fundamental “end date” may also be inaccurate. It could be at least 60 days out of whack.
    Doom-278×155
    WATCH VIDEO: With hundreds of thousands of space rocks zipping past Earth, how do we avoid an asteroid apocalypse?

WID

10. ac@ February 21, 2012 at 9:36 PM |

so onions but when the BLP had a chance to build the poor mansion They Stupse and look the other way ! stupse! real hard!…………………………………………….

But ac, be fair, the BLP developed Barbados so much so that it was given an official UNESCO designation. That was not done by you all and the “I and MY” minister took all the credit and would not even mention Dame Billie Miller, the driving force behind the redevelopment of Bridgetown. The BLP developed the infrastructure of Barbados and provided the means and made the way possible for Barbadians to buy their own land and for them to get their own 100% mortgages to build what they wanted not the chicken coops the Dems are building and calling them houses. These are insults to the people!

Now all the Dems are doing is putting DEMS’ names on every single thing that the BEES built. The only building they have not been bold to stick a DEM name on is the new Judicial Centre. I waiting on the Dems to put David Thompson name on it in light of the damning revelations today of the dead king and his law firm.

So much for his legacy. Now that is a legacy the dead king has left, laundering money from CLICO for his friend!!!

11. Prodigal
    They putting the King of th.ie. name on St John Polyclinic….It would be a travesty of Gigantic proportions if the put his name on our Supreme Law Courts HQ. (for those ovseas ).

In law there is section on tracing funds (lifting the cloak)….. I would like them to go after recovery of these funds for the poor people..and lockup any holders too, today being Ash Wednesday.

12. correction: Lifting the veil

13. Just imagine the dead king was all over Barbados talking about…Hardwood, Hardwood, Hardwood….. corruption, corruption, the BLP is corrupt. Then said he was proposing integrity legislation in 100 days and every man jack in his cabinet had to declare their assets. Now look we now find out that was all a big cover up. Huhhaw!!!!

But let me tell you all something, David Thompson did not expect to die so soon and this is the reason why all hell has now broken loose. If Thompson was alive, none of this would have come out that is why even a few days before he died, he was telling Barbados that a solution would come soon.

Leroy Parris was spending the policy holders’ money like it was his. Terrence Thornhill is a fool to let an idiot like Parris use him this way. All the education he has and let an idiot like Parris trick him. Shame on Terrence.

The people of Barbados still need to know how much of their hard earned tax dollars went to CLICO for all the trips the dead king took on the CLICO jet. The dead king did not fly commercial only on the CLICO jet. The jet was even ordered up to New York to bring him back on his final flight but when the jet got all the way from Miami, the doctors said that Thompson had to go by medical jet hence the reason why the taxpayers had to foot the bill.

14. Sigh. So some of CLICO’s money did indeed make its way to Trinidad. On top of that. the Life insurance OWES the Holding company millions, and as we speak, millions are still unaccounted for due to external loans etc.

I always thought that CLICO would be an albatross around the government’s neck (with Thompson, Stuart, Sinckler et al) singing the praises of Parris) and defending the company. The more that comes out before elections the less the government will be able to weather the integrity/credibiltiy storm. They’re already losing the economic/governance storm and clearly have enacted probably only 15% if so much of their manifesto. Time for them to get on the offensive and prepare for battle. Show us they are a serious party that are willing to fight if nothing else.

The BLP lost because they lost the pulse of the people and thought performance alone would see them through and shadow the arrogance. It took them 14 years to get to that point. It has taken the DLP only 4, and they still don’t have that much of a performance to shout about. Bear in mind too that some of the DLP’s 2008 enacted manifesto promises were also in the BLP manifesto. Really just a case of which half of the dozen the electorate would prefer.

15. No i am just trying to point out the hypocriscy coming from the BLP camp. more over the fact that all this is being played out in the public forum speaks to the integrity of the DLP in wanting to give such negative information in an election year. i call it as i see it. now deal with it no apologise.

16. @ ac
    I hope you got some of the Clico money and when the judge says 25 yrs hard labor to Leroy and Terrance….I hear you holla murder… “Onions & co did right” cuz you is a Die Hard DLP.If they kill your mother …you would be DLP…..shameful

17. I am not going to be fair to any wunna. the fact is that the BLPIites are asking the DLP to accomplishedplenty in four years with litle money or time to do so compared to the 14years the BLP had.

18. @ ac
    the fact that all this is being played out in the public forum speaks to the integrity of the DLP in wanting to give such negative information in an election year”

Ac I know you did not say that…..that coming from you ? Stupesss what it does show is the WEAKNESS of FUNNY_D( think this could happen under EWB or JMGA) and the stupidity of the Eager 11 to be lead by aaaaa…lol this is the sure route to hell boys.(at least he got Marson)
    Hush up and step up …lol

19. @Prodigal Son

Was it not Kyffin Simpson’s jet the late Thompson would fly to New York?

@Observing

While the BLP politicos will revel in the revelations of today, it is a sad time for the electorate of Barbados whose quest is to seek good governance.

20. If this were the US…..Family First .( property and all) would be sold off to repay Debt.

When the Earl and Countess of Wessex get wind of wha happening, she gine left the DIAMONDS pun D ship ..and hold D handbag tight tight… welcome to.D Den of tiefs maam…lol

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | February 22, 2012 at 1:51 PM |
    “No i am just trying to point out the hypocriscy coming from the BLP camp. more over the fact that all this is being played out in the public forum speaks to the integrity of the DLP in wanting to give such negative information in an election year.”

What are yo saying here? That the DLP administration can overrule the Court and its duly appointed Judicial Manager?
    Don’t make us cry! Not even laugh! The DLP is such a clean and honest party working in the interest of justice and integrity that it is even prepared to risk its electoral chances by not muzzling the Judiciary and due process of the Law. The King is dead! Long live the King!

22. @ac
    The disturbing feature is the information that was known and the actions that were taken circa 2008-2009 when the public was being told all is well, everything is running smoothly, everything is being governed properly and that B’dos was insulated from Trinidad. Try telling a policy holder who can’t get a cent out of CLICO but has mounting bills and maybe debts that they should give this government another chance.

Do the electoral maths. Start with a fraction of the 25,000+ policy holders, then add their family members who would have been affected, then add their friends who have heard them complain and groan for 2+ years, then add the independent voters looking on…..bare in mind, this is only over the CLICO issue based on current information in the public (not what’s to come). Given the margin of victory in 2008 I would say the next election is almost all but a foregone conclusion. The DLP’s only possible saving grace would be to throw a few people under the bus, enact integrity and FOI forthwith and pray for some economic miracle. Barring that, the fat lady is ready with microphone in hand.

23. For those interested in the coming UsA .v Iranian war

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

I think there should be a bye-election for the Constituency of St. John. In the interest of decency and integrity the sitting member should seriously consider this option. This might automatically trigger general elections.

When a former PM could have been so deeply intertwined in such corrupt and unlawful dealings then persons involved directly or indirectly have to take responsibility for this sordid act of maladministration and malfeasance. We pretend we follow the Westminster form of governance. Now that the Royals are in town let us follow the niceties of the “Amused’ concept of constitutional monarchy and invite the parties involved in this internationally damaging CLICO affair to step down as the people’s representative(s) and let the commoners decide.

Do Bajans really understand the serious implications and ramifications that will ensue from this financial scandal? Our image of a “clean” jurisdiction worthy of the so-called white list designation is seriously dented in the eyes of the OECD and other international finance regulatory bodies. Like a fish, the rot and stink start at the head.

25. @millertheanunnaki,

A former Prime Minister of Canada domiciled his ships in Barbados so as to pay low taxes in Barbados and avoid high taxes in Canada.

As long as the transactions are electronic and they have no physical assets(cash or Gold) in Barbados Rich people do not care about a little shiiiite company like Clico and a dead man.

Capitalists have no conscience

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | February 22, 2012 at 3:25 PM |
    You are right there!
    But the current IBC and offshore banking legislation along with Double Taxation agreements facilitate this low tax regime. This preferential tax regime is on the chopping block both in Europe & North America. I don’t think the current scandal can be viewed as a “stay of execution”. The guillotine will soon be oiled along with the sharpening of the credit rating agencies ” financial integrity” test criteria. Sorry to use a pejorative term but Barbados will soon be “blacklisted”, big time. Not a nice place to do business anymore. Even the top dog can be bought for chow, bow wow!

27. Word is this DLP scandal is a hot topic on Broad St. today…….the LIME workers are stratagising ( meeting being held as we speak ) with the BWU . Implications are that a WEAK government will not be able to bring about a speedy settlement as they overseas buzzards usually take advantage of the situation.
    We may have rough waters ahead people, as the Alexandra teachers are getting tired being place “on dispatch”.

Remember Sen Kerri Symmonds’ analogy “holding on to a team of wild horses, determined not to let go until the very end.” Looks like we in for a rough ride.

28. Who the hell Kellman think he fooling with this one….He in the 4th and final year of this (a can’t call it )guvverment, wants to tell the Barbadian public that ALL A SUDDEN…he revamping AGRICULTURE….and looking to open a BDB Bank to help get it going…..BIGGEST ELECTION PLOY for the year ..what will they think of next ?…….clever distraction from the failing of the dead king too……tek off ya hat Kellman..lol

29. D FINGER….D FINGER starting again

30. correction ; MANUFACTURING

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | February 22, 2012 at 4:45 PM |
    “Who the hell Kellman think he fooling with this one….He in the 4th and final year of this (a can’t call it )guvverment, wants to tell the Barbadian public that ALL A SUDDEN…he revamping AGRICULTURE ( & MANUFACTURING)”

Why doesn’t this sorry-ass government just resign and call elections? We the voters did not elect you for this crap to be thrown in our faces. If Bajans want to return you to power, by all means let them do so. But give us a chance to decide, NOW!

32. Well well well…it sounds like the dead King’s firm was laundering money for LeRoi P. Folks remember we we told by our PM that LeRoi is a friend and we must not treat him with disrespect. The dead King was awaiting sainthood I wonder what will happen now? LOLLL

This does not look good for the present Government and this is another nail in the coffin. How will they crawl out of this? More lies? Wunna DLP supporters are you all going to turn a blind eye to this as well and bury wunna heads in the sand? Come on, if you all cannot see this wunna real blind and real foolish. If any of you all have some level of integrity you would come out and condemn the dead King’s action and demand that justice prevail. Will you? Won’t you?

33. Boondoggle #7
    Sealy today open the Sherbourne car park cost under $9.3 Million….imagine dat $9 million for a car par ?We musse got gold beams and silver streams in that construct…but wait this is nearly 15 yrs and the white elephant aint PAY BACK for itself yet…..but 9.3 M more boy
    FAMILY FIRST boy !…off loading time.

34. and observing do not forget they still owe mr parris too.

35. ““These payments were made by CIL on behalf of CHBL to different associates and related companies of Mr Parris, such as David Thompson, Thompson & Associates, Branlee Consulting Services Inc., PFS, as well as payments to Antigua Commercial Bank.”

Is this the same David Thompson that paraded a $75,000 cheque at Haggatt Hall last election as if he was as innocent as God him/herself of receiving such?
    By the way at the time of this $3.3million payment to David Thompson & Associates and the subsequent $10m deposit by the Central Bank, one of the ‘Associates’ was (and remains) a member of the Board of the Central Bank.
    Are any of the lands being used in government’s $5 per square foot programme previously owned by CLICO, and if so, how much did the government pay for these lands?

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ enuff | February 22, 2012 at 6:13 PM |

Who are the members of the Board of the Central Bank? Maybe Caswell, can help!

37. BOARD OF DIRECTORS Dr. R. DeLisle Worrell. Ph. D, Chairman

Grantley W. Smith, Esq., B.C.H., D.P.A., B.A. (Hons.)

Mr. Cecil McCarthy LL. B, (UWI) L.E.C.

Ms. Onika Stewart LL. B (UWI) LL. M (Lond) L.E.C.

Justin Robinson B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph. D

Mr. Ashley Toppin JP, FCCA

Mr. Harold Hoyte, G.C.M.

Mr. Elson A. Gaskin, LLB. (UWI) L.E.C. Legal Counsel / Secretary to the Board

38. The BLP while feeling as though they have won some major victory by today’s nation story is clearly overreaching on the issue of integrity.
    On the issue of integrity, Affa vs. Stuart – Stuart wins hands down! Even his firecest critics in public life will attest that PM Stuart is an honest decent man. The BLP cannot win the integrity issue with its current leader. Any political analyst and pollster will tell you that.
    Integrity legislation must be a bi-partisan effort because Affa was there before and never did it. Surely, if he overlooked it for 14 years, he knows why and there is nothing to suggest that he is even interested in it now.
    They can bring the big screens but they cannot touch Freundel on integrity.

You know what is amazing is that the BLP is celebrating the article in The Nation as if

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | February 22, 2012 at 9:55 PM |
    “Even his firecest critics in public life will attest that PM Stuart is an honest decent man.”

So why have friends like LP?
    Why keep men like the marina flotsam and the $400 mill waste to energy toxicologist in the cabinet as ministers of the Crown?

Decent honest men adhere to the law.
    Why not direct the CoP and DPP to institute charges of malfeasance in office against your Affa, or CCC’s Seehtru?

40. Further to my points about Integrity and Conflict of Interest, with sound legislation in place Thompson and all his Ministers would have to sever their relationship with their former businesses, the Members of the Opposition and backbenchers would also be subject to some restrictions.

Many people responding here are all for treating the symptoms rather than the cause face it folks this or some similar events happened under the BLP watch and now there is some evidence that some irregularity was afoot under the DLP. If legislation is not passed it will happen again no matter which Party assumes power.

41. Undisputable Fact –
    Before the DLP came to office in Jan. 2008, the CLICO statutory Fund was in deficit. The question is Why did Owen Affa do nothing in 2006 and 2007 when this problem surfaced and he was told.Affa could have acted and he did not.
    There is a lot of blame to go around for CLICO. Affa was either lazy or incompetent or possibly both.

42. @ AC February 21 2012 @ 9:40 PM

AC my dear, the NIS may have had 1.5Billion (your figures) but the BLP did not have to use any of that money to built homes for the people because programs were put in place for people who were now starting out on life journey to qualify for mortgages so to build their own homes in all shapes and sizes and those who had a homes was able to qualify for repairs or to extend they homes which ever they wanted. Take a drive around the country and see for yourself, the records are evident; these are the same people that now find themselves sliding back down the ladder due to the DLP “what-ever” programs.

43. @miller
    “So why have friends like LP?”
    Every man will be judged on his own integrity and merit.Because I put a homosexual in my cabinet does not make me one.
    The integrity of Freundel Jerome Stuart is apparent. Barbados has a decent, honest, intelligent man as PM with an inspirational life story.
    My point is the BLP will have to throw another dart at Stuart but not the integrity one.
    That one will not fly!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 22, 2012 at 10:17 PM |
    “If legislation is not passed it will happen again no matter which Party assumes power.”

So let the governing party bring or rekindle legislation before the House and see if the Opposition would oppose it. Then we would know who is decent or who is for or against the people.

We were expecting this since June 2008 much earlier than the Constituency Councils Bill. But April 2012 would witness a reactivation of this proposal only to be sent to a special committee again as an electioneering gimmick.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Bajanfuhlife | February 22, 2012 at 10:28 PM |
    “Every man will be judged on his own integrity and merit.Because I put a homosexual in my cabinet does not make me one.”

Being homosexual is NOT a Criminal Offence. Fraud and money laundering are serious criminal offences.

46. this Clico debacle spawned the BLP administration as well and when the full story is revealed as to who got what wunna BLPities might have more egg on wunna face than the Dead King.

47. Bajanfuhlife are you right in your head? you bring this fault argument about FS vs OA. what planet are you on again? what are you smoking on that planet and what did you smoke to get there?

yes they are thing that are questionable when it comes to OA but when did this become about the integrity of the two men?

FS is incompetent and that is what will drive him from office. not some faults race about FS vs OA.

i’m not a member of any party and i call it like it see it but i really hope that the DLP goes back to the 14 years OA and company had in office. the people of Barbados place their vote on OA and company in the last election. so if you are a planner for the DLP walk that road again and see if you don’t end up with another 14 years out of office.

48. FS is an honourable and very likeable man who seems to be cut from different cloth to most politicians, but he inherited a cabinet in which dishonesty demonstrably flourished and apparently did nothing to correct it. He must also have known of some of the facts that are now coming to light about DT’s involvement with CLICO but did nothing about it. The stories of DT setting up a dynasty starting with Mara appear to have had some grain of truth yet FS, with the concurrence of his party, facilitated the first act of concretizing that dynasty and then proceeded to try to sanctify DT even though he must have known that DT was no saint.

The jury is not yet out re. the question of Mr. FS’ honour in matters that affect the DLP.

49. @miller
    “Being homosexual is NOT a Criminal Offence. Fraud and money laundering are serious criminal offences”
    The point is that the standard must be on the individual and not if they have “friends” who are alleged to be involved in wrongdoing. If we set a standard of holding a politician liable for the actions of his friends or aquaintances, then the current opposition leader and many others might have to leave Parliament.

@David(not BU)- It is simple – there are a lot of glass houses in the BLP so they need to get off the high horse about integrity. They cannot lead with that argument.

50. @ Bajan(DLP)fuhlife February 21 2012 @ 9:17 PM

I will refer to you from now on as the above I don’t honestly consider you a Barbadian, but as someone who has just drop out of the sky, landed on your head and therefore your comments would leaves a lot to be desire and this is understandable. When you speak of Coverley i take it that you are referring to Phase 1 where houses were built and sold by NHC to part of the very 26,000 you clamed were left by the former administration. None of the 26,000 can afford the houses that are being constructed under this administration and that’s the reason why so many are currently unoccupied. The project you are speaking of is the concept of the BLP, you surely can’t be speaking of the concept that was sold to the DLP by the RICH developer who is now building out as he likes only for those returning nationals who are buying them sporadically at the cost of three and four hundred thousand dollars each . If you can find any lower income earner owing any of the houses constructed by the private contractor, bring the proof other wise return to were you came from and shut your mouth.

Judging from you comments, one can tell you have just driven by or have been driven pass these homes and no investigation on your part was ever carried out on the state of this project. I will encourage you to check the facts so to save yourself embarrassment coming to the public with your rehearse scrip that was handed out to you by your teachers. Right thinking Barbadians that have used the spring board which was place for them to up lift themselves will never mind your folly about housing being on pause. Were do you think the building boom came from? Do you think it was just capital projects or private sector building? Not so DLPfuhlife, it was through the thousands who qualify for mortgages to build they own homes ,those for repairs and for extensions of their homes, That was the type of program that was put in place for lower income owners to bring them out of poverty not the grease pole polices that your shallow minded Government has put in place to keep them poverty. Don’t take my word, ask your Minister of Social Care.

You see DLPfuhlife the facts may be “warmed over sour onion porridge soup” but it carries a lot of substance and value which may be hard for you to digest.

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply