Submitted by Charles Knighton
NASA's Kepler space telescope discovers 5

In the time I have left on planet Earth, there are a few historic events I am counting on witnessing. World peace isn’t on the list, because I am not that naive; current indications point to a few centuries of additional slaughter. But I am increasingly optimistic that I will be around for the discovery of extraterrestrial life.

Last year, science took a cosmic leap toward that possibility, as astronomers used the Kepler space telescope to identify hundreds of planets around distant suns, including some where temperatures are just right for liquid water and, presumably, life. Astrobiologists will be training radio telescopes on these temperate, Earth-like planets this year.

Our galaxy we now know, is teeming with planets—millions of them. Our solar system is not unique. And how will our species react when confronted with proof that life has arisen elsewhere, whether in the form of bacteria, bugs, or intelligent beings? It will be profoundly disorienting — as disorienting as the discovery of the New World.

Perhaps this humbling new perspective will bring human beings together, as we see the relative unimportance of differences in skin colour, nationality, and religion. Or people might react to their demotion from creation’s centre with a frightened backlash, as they did in the times of Galileo and of Darwin. Perhaps we will be in an uproar for a few months, and then go back to petty bickering, war, reality TV, Facebook and sports. While I can’t speak for anyone else, I’d like to stick around long enough to find out.

61 responses to “How Will Earthlings React To NOT Being Alone In The Galaxy?”

1. I ended the post above without having commented on the main thrust of the article. How will Earthlings react to not being alone in the galaxy? I suspect that if we are visited by three dimensional beings from within our galaxy that the reaction will be diverse (I think we have been under constant watch and dream and other contacts by beings that operate in a fourth or higher dimension since the beginning of our recorded history. Check with the Dogon). However, many would have noticed that our young people are being conditioned on a constant basis in a high powered campaign through Movies, Video games and such like media, about such a future contact. The ubiquitous Ben10’s, Alien Forces, Men in Black Movies and Video games have been designed to ensure that such contact will not be the shock it would otherwise have been and I think the campaign has been a purposeful one to show aliens as not being abnormal and not real scary. I think that the typical older folk would be devastated, scientists and religious people alike, as we really would not expect such an event in our lifetimes despite the various stories about alien abduction, Area 51, UFO’s, etc.

The contact would not spell any total fallout of religion since various incidents in Bibles can be interpreted as being related to extraterrestrial visitation and the Priests will quickly find some spin to explain the event or events.

2. All Human beings were created from A&E.
    Totally agree.
    We are all PHUCKING ACCIDENTS.

3. I hear about a mathematician had a problem with constipation.
    He worked it out with a pencil.

4. There was a man, imagined he;
    Could walk upon the Sea.
    SO with much ado,
    put down his sandled feet AND promptly sank from VEIW.
    But he was of great foresight and had taken a breath of AIR
    and held it as he walked the bottom and came up on the shore,
    The CROWD went wild,Showman he ,had touched them ,they were fickle
    And as one word ;
    ,their VOICES were heard.
    JESUS a PHUCKIN MIRACLE.

5. Simple Simon Avatar

@Moneybrain January 7, 2012 at 11:12 AM ” Why did Elijah and Ezekiel disappear into what was obviously a space craft from the description given by primitive humans that witnessed the events?”

Aaaahhh!!!!!! Moneybrain. If you choose to believe the Elijah thing, understand that that story is less than 5,000 years ld.

Understand also that human beings 5,000 years ago were NOT primitive. In fact they were just the same as we are now.

You deal with the money, and leave the biology to me.

6. @ Checkit-Out
    “…..But we are still a long way from identifying a first cause.”
    …only cause you did not ask the Bushman…. 🙂

7. There was Zebra
    Couldnt make up his mind
    if he BLACK or White
    So he asked the Wise Ole OWL
    The wise Ole Owl scratch he head and say
    ZEBRA you gotta ask GOD.
    So the Zebra Trek all the way up the mountain and speak with GOD.
    Zebra come all the way down Scrathin he head.
    WELL? Say the Ole Owl??
    Dont know said the ZEBRA.
    GOD just said :
    YOU ARE WHAT YOU ARE MY SON.
    OH! said OLE OWL :you WHITE
    Cos ifn yuh was Black he ‘d a said
    YUH IS WHAT YUH IS MAH MAN>!!

Yeah Yeah I know, but no worse than the rest of the religion Crap, Bout Heah!!

8. GO Zoe, YEAH.
    IQ = IGGURRANCE quota
    NICE ONE.
    The next BIG BANG THEORY will be the
    EXPLOSION
    of “MONKEYBRAIN”‘s (another nice one)

EGO.

9. KAAaaaaaaaaa BOOOOOM!!!!!!
    GOODBYE UNIVERSE!!!!

10. Colonel Buggy. Avatar
    Colonel Buggy.

An Anglican Rev and a Catholic Priest went fishing in a boat. On their return as they were still out in the bay, the Catholic priest got off the boat and appear to walk on the water until he hit the beach. The Anglican vicar, not to be outdone ,stepped off the boat,into the sea, and down he went in the ocean . He tried this a couple of times without success. The Catholic priest, seeing what was happening , shouted to the Vicar, ” Fer Chris sake Vicar, used the underwater concrete causeway!”

11. I agree with Moneybrain,God was an Extraterestrial being,and really the Earth is his farm yard and he works on a different timescale to Earth,so when we are really around six months of His time he will return and collect up his stocks and EAT them.
    Quite a realsitic theory.