Submitted by The Scout

There is always something special about this time of the year. Even for those who do not believe in Christmas still will have that feeling of giving and friendship. I remember, as a young boy, they were many little things each of us were designated to do be it scrub the floor, weed the yard, catch that special cock to purge for a week before it is killed, even bring marl to spread around the house for a “White Christmas” – making our own decorations from crape paper and post cards.

A few day before Christmas was time to cut a piece of “mile” tree or cherry tree to be our Christmas tree, the decorations were all handmade. Then that time for the tar ham or salted ham that was strung up in the house for months to come down and start boiling or baking. The smell of coconut bread and pound cake, and great cake, would lick you down as you walk through the village.

Christmas Eve was extra special for that was the time for carolling throughout the village, and households looked out for us and they would have eats and drinks prepared for us as we moved around the village. However, our activity had to come to an end for us to prepare for either mid-night mass or 5AM service. After service is visiting time to friends’ houses for a lime and eats again then home for that special Christmas lunch – green peas and rice, doved peas, jug-jug, pork, chicken (yard-fowl) and red juicy mixed with coconut water. By the time we were finished our little bellies were popping.

This time of the year was special and seemed to take too long to come now if you sleep too long you would have missed a Christmas season as people prepare for another. Oh for the lovely times we used to have, times of sharing and giving and generally having a true family life within the entire village. Our young ones are missing that special warmth that we made as children, commercialism as taken over the season and many people overextend themselves . It is time to return to the joy of Christmas. Live within our means at this time of year and we would be able to once more enjoy the true meaning of Christmas.

To one and all, especially those who “cussed” me through the year, whether you celebrate Christmas or not, just enjoy the season and remember those less fortunate than ourselves and help them to enjoy the season too. Merry Christmas or Seasons Greetings and may 2012 be the year where good health be yours and your family.

119 responses to “Merry Christmas The Bajan Way”

1. On this the final Sunday before Christmas the BU household takes this opportunity to wish you Scout and all the other members of the BU family et al a Merry Christmas. This is the fifth Christmas BU has shared with you, let us all continue to play our part to keep Barbados a safe and wholesome place to live -especially for the children.

2. Thanks BU for giving us the opportunity to express ourselves in a wholesome manner. Throughout the years there were times when we agreed and time when we didn’t, however that makes for true freedom of speech, if this was allowed at a greater level, maybe things would have been different, we’re not all diehard Bees or Dees but we’re all lovers of this little rock we call home. thanks for a good year and let us put our differences aside and enjoy a Blessed Christmas and a Healthy New Year.

3. I also wish to thank BU for granting us Barbadians this privilege to express ourselves in a free and unrestricted manner. It is clear to me that in the near and distance future, this forum will take on an even greater importance as Barbados and the world in general, moves into a new dispensation. Thanks to BU and all BU contributors. Enjoy the xmas season and all the best for 2012.

4. I can’t help but refect on my first Xmas with BU and the related controversial topics pertaining to the holiday Spirit led in part by GEORGIE PORGIE! ROK ! Zoe! and technician even though tempers flare and ideologies clash it it was well meant and a rare freedom of expression that BU allowed on such topics, Not forgetting the Hot Bonny Peppa who was quick to throw in the humuor when egos got into the way ! To one and all and those who we have not heard from in a long time “A BLESSED AND HAPPY SEASON”

5. A simple Xmas wish to all BU contributors and readers, Merry Xmas, focus on your family, friends, spiritual needs and all that’s good in your lives.

As usual I like to include a Xmas piece for your pleasure..

6. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

A very Merry Christmas and Prosperous New Year to all BU contributors and readers. May we pause for a reflection on peace and goodwill at this time of the year. Merry Christmas.

7. George brathwaite

I like the Part where you mentioned PEACE and goodwill . Is that your way of waving the white Flag.Peace and goodwill to you Too.

8. what a relief from all the political madness. Somebody anybody put another Xmas song here! I am tired of hearing about “The gringh who stole Xmas”

9. AC

Your wish is my command, another favourite

10. Thanks Sarge you have good taste in music . one of my favourite. I remember when i first came on BU you were very kind i want you to know i have not forgotten. Have a Merry Xmas.

11. To all the Christian believers, a Merry Christmas and Prosperous New Year.

I only baked twelve cakes and a dozen breads this year. I will make the pone this week. Only have three orders for pone. The old ladies are dying out, it is sad. This year my cakes are only going to Toronto and Victoria, not New York nor North Carolina.

Please watch the drinking and dont over cook the turkey so it becomes dry. Remember shorter baking times at higher heat will do it. No need to cook the bird for 8 or ten hours.

12. Merry Christmas to David and his family and same to all BU bloggers. May the New Year be good to you all.

13. Yes we know things change with time but alot of the expectation of the Christmas season experienced years ago seems to be gone. It is now about ‘buying’ stuff.

14. I got plan this year and that is today give my two neighbors a present each, maybe a cake or something, giving them sufficient time to rush out and get me something in return and start a trend going, so that next year after they have decided to give me something first I will just say thank you very much and of course … Merry Christmas!

BTW
    No more turkey this year, no more ham neither … I cuttin’ costs as always. So if you call on me yah getting turkey ham, two in one. And now that dey mekkin’ sorrel flavoured Kool Aid …

15. A very Merry Christmas to David and the BU family and may peace, joy and good health be with you throughout the Holiday season and during 2012.

To those we have not heard from for awhile, Georgie Porgie, JC and Bonny Peppa your places are still set at the table and we often think of you.

16. On behalf of the BU household best wishes to you all.

This post will be put to the to on Christmas Eve.

Thanks to The Scout for sharing memories of Christmas Bajan style.

17. If tomorrow is judgment day

And I’m standing on the frontline

And the Lord asked me

What did I do with my life

I would say, I spent it with you

18. Wooo …. Trust Sarge to bring something White … Sargeant where you born …? Stupse. You got a’ incurable disease!

19. BAF
    So where is your black musical contributions. I am waiting. How about James Brown.” SANTA GO BACK TO THE GHETTO”

20. Ho Ho Ho ac,

Ghetto enough for you? It is Johnny Mathis though …

Happy Christmas

21. @ BAF
    Wuh happen to de JAMES Brown Xmas song! Merry Xmas to you. BTW here anything about Bonny Peppa unusual not fuh she to peek in. I hope she eyes not giving she trouble cause she had surgery on them a while back.

22. David

You got any idea who Bonny really is? Might be an idea to find out if all is well. I know that she helps old people and so on. Ac says that she had eye surgery but I always thought it was silicone implants in the you know whats … Any chance of emailing her and finding out if everything is ok?

23. @BAFBFP

Bonny likes to take a break sometimes.

Sure she is fine.

24. MERRY XMAS BONNY PEPPA from all THE BU family island gal been checking fuh you. Don’t get Drunk. THat was the the self proclaimed “Hardest Working man in showbiz. Thanks BAF!

25. Quoting BAFPF “And now that dey mekkin’ sorrel flavoured Kool Aid …”

Dear BABFP:

If you drink sorrel falvored Koolaid for CHristmas you may as well drink the Koolaid.

ROFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

26. well baf that is highclass ghetto like it any way. i understand that the singer is a confirmed buggist.

27. Buggist?

This reminds me of the follow who went to court and siad “Your Horor I always knew that he had bullistic tendencies”

28. Johnny was an all state champion athlete who could have represented the US in the Olympics in the sixties if he wanted to. You can’t get more masculine than that. And yes, he is homosexual.

29. @BAFBFP

Wooo …. Trust Sarge to bring something White … Sargeant where you born …? Stupse. You got a’ incurable disease
    I keep waiting on you to make some sense, could you surprise me for once? Those products that you sell to bring in all the foreign exchange that you keep harping about, who manufactures them? Where are they manufactured? What about the first video I submitted isn’t the artist black? And the conductor?

I appreciate good art, literature, music, architecture etc. whatever the source, if you want to confine your appreciation to only those objects produced by blacks more power to you.

About the initials BAFBFP at least some are correct, I hereby rename you SFB
    or as we say up here “Shit for Brains”

30. @SARGE

LOL! LOUDLY! HA! HA! keep them jokes coming was that before or after a drink. but you know SFB formerly know as BAF brings out the beast in people.

31. Radom thoughts ! it is Xmas and some of we are drunk . BUGGIST! Or maybe i meant to say BUDDHIST! if i am wrong with my permission you can correct me. However i will leave that up to new and improved SFB.

32. Sarge

Now that is down right disrespectful … that was plain ol’ mean, coming from someone who appreciates “good art, literature, music, architecture etc. whatever the source” … yah sick bi”ch ..! 🙂

33. @BAFBFP

This is the Xmas season so I won’t sin my soul (as my grandmother would say) but the first piece is by a group called the Nathaniel Dett Chorale which is very popular in this city .It was founded and led by Brainerd Blyden-Taylor who was born in Trinidad..

Here is my Xmas gift to you, see a bio of R Nathaniel Dett ( I know that you never heard of him before)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Nathaniel_Dett

34. now that we have the music can some one download a touch of spice like a bottle of Tequila Let;s just have a XMAS PARTY here

35. SARGEANT

YOU CANT POSSIBLY BE WRONG WITH YOUR CHOICE OF MUSIC
    1 HALLELUJAH FROM THE MESSIAH= PEOPLE ARE STILL STANDING WHEREVER AND WHENVER IT IS SUNG SOME 500 YEARS

2 KINGS COLLEGE CHOIR CAMBRIDGE

36. Hallelujah Chorus

37. Silent Night

If you like Divas, Kathleen Battle accompanied by Wynton Marsalis

38. O Holy Night

Denyce Graves

39. That’s it folks, unless there are any earthshaking revelations before Christmas we will ease of posting until that special day has passed.

40. Jessye Norman

41. Here’s a little Rhythm and Blues

42. Thank you! Thank you! Sargeant! What a wonderful way to start off the day! I’m trying to figure out how I can get that music on my MP3 or a CD to have it for keeps.

43. To Island Gal:
    I only deal with the New Year celebration so Happy New Year to you. At times you can be one of the free thinkers here on this blog.

44. Kiki remember this one?

45. Bafp
    Vaguely remember it but -was before my time (under 50)

46. May the joy of Christmas be not only yours but I would like us to extend it to others. MERRY CHRISTMAS and HEALTHY NEW YEAR.