Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

In addressing the question of whether it is better to be loved or feared, Machiavelli writes, “The answer is that one would like to be both the one and the other; but because it is difficult to combine them, it is far safer to be feared than loved if you cannot be both.” As Machiavelli asserts, commitments made in peace are not always kept in adversity; however, commitments made in fear are kept out of fear. Yet, a prince must ensure that he is not feared to the point of hatred, which is very possible – Niccolò Machiavelli

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart finds himself in a quandary as a result the widely publicised letter incident. It is a fact some members of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) felt it important enough to seek an audience with the Prime Minister. Whether all of them agreed to sign ‘The Letter’ is irrelevant at this stage in light of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler’s interview with Editor in Chief of the NATION newspaper Kaymar Jordan.

Since the revelation that some DLP members are concerned with  Stuart’s leadership and the length of his coat tails with a general election looming the political chatter has gotten noisier. The current reality for the government is that having to manage in the harsh economic environment would have made being re-elected a difficult undertaking. The imbroglio caused by ‘The Letter’ has easily shifted the advantage to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) its own perceived leadership issues not withstanding.  Why the disaffected group would have entertained thoughts of communicating with the Prime Minister in the form of a letter remains unfathomable at this stage. Some say it is as a result of political ignorance and naiveté. Others believe the plot is a sinister effort to reorder the political structure of the DLP.

The debate will continue why Minister Sinckler made the decision to give the NATION a reveal-all interview. It is obvious from the Prime Minister’s few public remarks about the incident that he would not have approved the interview. Sinckler could not be so naive to believe that his tête-à-tête with NATION newspaper Kaymar Jordan given the weighty nature of his revelations would have killed the controversy for the DLP. He must have known or even been advised that his position within the hierarchy of the DLP would become tenuous at best. His admission in the NATION interview that he would never put forward his name just over one year of doing so since the death of David Thompson is instructive. A politician never says never. Why then has Sinckler signalled that he will never put his name in any hat to vie for the Prime Minister’s job? The answer probably is explained by a comment posted on a related blog.  If this is the case Barbadians have witnessed the sudden fall of a young politician of whom much was expected.

‘The Letter’ has created a headache for the Prime Minister. His options are limited. He can’t do nothing. Whatever he does must positively feed public perception that he is in charge of his men. The question is: will it be enough to sway the voter? Bear in mind many voters are currently siting on the fence for one reason or the other. One of those reasons which should concern not only the political parties but Barbadians themselves is a growing cynicism of politicians.

Sinckler indicated in the interview he sees no reason why the Prime Minister should fire him.  If Sinckler in his naiveté expects to continue his role, in a business as usual mode in the cabinet of Barbados, then the only conclusion to be drawn is that he is forcing Stuart’s hand to fire him.

Recommendation – send Sinckler to the Ministry of Transport, drop Boyce from the cabinet, Estwick to Finance and divvy up Estwick’s portfolio to Lowe, Kellman and Benn.

224 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart’s Quandary Unravelled”

1. @ David

Followed by lunch with the PM at Ilaro Court. Sinckler, Brathwaite and Boyce are reported to be a quite uneasy bunch.

There was no Cabinet meeting in Thursday last week as is usually the case, all on the account of the PM leaving instruction that Cabinet was not to be convened in his absence.

2. @Antz

The last ‘supper’ in a reversed manner?

3. Antz
    How will putting an Attorney General in the Senate at this time help the Prime Minister win the next Election?
    Are you saying he is willing to give up the St. Philip Seat?
    You advisors really want to see the DLP loss the government.
    Are you aware that right now that the DLP can barely hold on to 16 constituencies?

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Antz | December 21, 2011 at 7:05 AM |
    “A local prominent attorney and good friend of the PM is being tipped to be put in the Senate from where he will be in the Cabinet as Attorney General.”

Are you sure of the constitutional validity of this political move?
    Correct me if I am wrong (Caswell to the rescue!) but should not the AG be an elected member of parliament, like the Finance Minister or Exchequer?

If the AG can be appointed from outside the Lower House who will be dropped from the Upper House to make room for this loyal bright spark? I am hoping it would be DB, that waste of space and plank behind the fiscal ruination of Bim.
    PS: Caswell, please expatiate on this one to enlighten the situation.

5. like i said, i really feel for the PM. re-shuffling the deck means nothing to this economy. what the voting public will be looking for is results.

i think there is a fox in the hen house. i believe this fox is the one who leaked the letter. he had great cover by the “eager 11”. he is s not in the 11 but i will wait to see where he lands when it is all said and done.

again i feel for the PM. so much people wanting his job, who do you trust?

6. This problem which PM Stuart faces reminds me of the story of The Miller ,his son and the donkey. The PM is flooded with suggestions but I believe that he has few options.. He does not have the majority on his side and he knows it. they will gang up against him and if he touches one he will have to touch all.. he cannot substitute one traitor for another. There is no one ring leader in this coup. There are all ring leaders and so it would be a mistake of enormous propotion if he tried to exchange one for the next.. If all Ministries are equal then he just changing one Judas for the next. The PM must be wondering why some who say they ere with him are saying so.He must suspect the traitors and the non-traitors and wonder about their motive and why the other men did not include them. He is in a quandary and it would not be solved by reducing the cabinet .He would bring on another controversary about cabinet numbers and ability about numbers. Think about these things

7. The coup was thwarted. Some have said that some amongst the plotters got cold feet. This is what is important in terms of the PM’s ability to chop and change. He is dealing with some who are weaklings and therefore he does not have to worry about the gang element as was suggested by ‘true to form’. Necks will be lost. I would be very surprised if the PM acted otherwise.

8. For your information

YOu will remember that Sir Fredrick Smith then Senator FG”Sleepy Smith was the first Attorney General in1966. The Second Attorney General was Senator George Moe Think on these things.

9. Of interest to date has been the silence of AG Adriel Brathwaite.

10. Miller

I am not an expert in the law: I just like reading and sometimes things stick. However, I have read the Constitution several time and I will attempt to answer your query.

The constitution provides that there shall be a cabinet consisting of the Prime Minister and a minimum of five other Ministers, one of which must be styled Attorney General. The Prime Minister must be a member of the House of Assembly. However, I have seen no provision which require that any other Minister must come from the House. The only qualification for being a minister is that the person must be a member of either the House or the Senate. I know that it has been the custom to appoint a lawyer as Attorney General, but that is not a requirement of the Constitution.

11. The funny thing is, there was no attempt at a coup. All this proves is the ability of campers on this site to blow things well out of proportion. But it is fun reading, with that in mind of course …

12. @BAFBFP

It is unusual to read you doing damage control.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ true to form & Caswell;

Clarification noted! Thanks for the elucidation and enlightenment on these Constitutional niceties and workings.
    The next topic of speculation is: “Who is this potential “AG”? Can it be Hal the “not so shallow” constitutional law guru ga(o)lloping to the Upper Chamber?

14. This conversation is so absurd that next sentiment should make a whole lot of sense in this environment …

Freundal Stuart should make Mia Motley Attorney General … (she got de experience, and there is no mention of “political party” in the constitution …)

15. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@BAFBFP

Lol! What a master stroke? How many birds or birdies will be killed by that stone? Will FS remain in place after the next election or will the Queen replace the Jack?

16. There is no way that Stuart can win
    1. if he demotes, fire or discipline anybody –=TROUBLE
    2. does not discipline–seen as weak- =TROUBLE
    3.calls election-=TROUBLE
    Can not win-Out goes the dems
    Kellman could be leader of the opposition this time next year
    —————————————————————–
    Owen Arthur is laughing at in that inimitable style of his. I can see him now.–giggling and dubbing (not rubbing) he hands together saying –I got duh !
    Let me say for the record that Owen Arthur is the most cunning and shrewd politician Barbados has ever seen. The Short man aint easy.
    Love me some Owen !
    Glad to have you back as Prime Minister Owen
    Glad to have yuh !

17. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Julie B

I echo Some of your sentiments. PM Arthur with the help of his BLP team will Rescue, Rebuild, and Restore. The DEMS have SORELY disappointed.

18. @George

You say Arthur and the Bees are ready. Does this mean Mia has fallen in line?

19. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

How can I effectively answer the last part of your question? What I do know is that the BLP can only have one political leader at a time and that person is the individual around whom the bees swarm. Hence, the first part of your question, the answer is: bring on all competitors, the hive is prepared and ready to do the will of the people.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ George C. Brathwaite | December 21, 2011 at 11:35 AM |
    “Will FS remain in place after the next election or will the Queen replace the Jack?”

Is this your wish to see the Queen leave the hive and join a sinking ship to be really missing in action? (BAFBFP, you serious?)
    You certainly can’t be referring to the queen from the principality of St. John? That’s a “no-brainer”!

Let the Dems sink without an extra weight on board. Sugar is sweet but not as sweet as “honey”. Time will tell!

21. @George

Don’t mean to press you but based on your last response would you dismiss the concerns of Jeffery Bostic and Gregory Nicholls at the last BLP Annual Meeting when they both expressed concerns about the perceived rift?

22. David wrote | December 21, 2011 at 12:53 AM |
    Senator Kerri Symmonds made and interesting point in the Senate debate yesterdday. There is no semblance of urgency across the public sector. There is a sloth which does not recognize the sign of the times. He suggested this is a failure on the part of government to lead (words to that effect). This is where Stuart and his men need to show leadership. It can’t be business as usual:

My question :- When in your living memory was there urgency across the public sector? Many times I flew into Barbados to get things done while I was working overseas and had to return without the transactions completed. There have always been long wooden benches where you waited/still wait till 9am to talk to the first Gov. employee who should be at work before 8am. Errol Barrow and Tom Adams tried their best to clean up the Civil Service to no avail.. David, the truth is that if efficiency is to be increased, staff must be reduced. Sound like if I going crazy? No man. Since the computerization of Government departments, the staff stretch the work to justify the numbers being employed. Pray tell me why I should have to wait 3 working days to get a birth certificate, if I supply all the information that is required . A minimum of people process the information before you get a receipt for the payment and a note telling you when to return. The data are already in the computer.The wait-time shouldn’t be any different from taking a prescription to a pharmacy and having it filled within 3 hours. No politician is in a position to criticize the other for this inefficient Civil Servant. They all know the situation and yet overload the system with people from their respective constituencies hoping that they will vote for them on election day.

23. My December 21, 2011 at 12:13 PM posting should read ‘ A minimum of 3 people process ” etc.

24. @ David

It is so telling when people try to use these blogs to fear the PM into the position that he cannot and or should not make changes to his Cabinet. It will not work as you cannot store power and as we know power, like electricity, is a use on demand commodity.

The ring leaders must pay a price for their comtemptous and reckless behavior. If they were sucessful, the PM would not have had a role in the Sinckler administration, he would have been crushed like a cockaroach and made to fend for himself in his constituency all while carrying the shame associated with being a toppled PM.

PM address the people of Barbados for Christmas, give them your best wishes and given them also what they want, a new Cabinet revolving around a confident leader.

25. @Chuckles

While your point is understood there is the urgency of now.

In this brave new world it cannot be business as usual.

What defines a good leader is that he or she finds a way to make things happen.

26. St George's Dragon Avatar

Regarding the article on Iceland, I mistrust things which contain silly errors. If I can see something wrong with the detail, how do I trust the main thrust of the piece?
    For example:
    1. Icesave was not a type of on-line account offered by all the privatised banks, it was a brand name used by Landsbanki.
    2. It’s Landsbanki not Landbanki.
    3. It’s Kaupthing not Kapthing.
    4. The loans negotiated were in $billions not $millions.
    5. Iceland did not declare bankruptcy.
    6. FMI should, I guess, be IMF.
    7. The last mention is that the IMF froze the loan to Iceland. They actually lent them $2.1 billion.
    Oh well, at least the article had the word “neoliberalism” in it, so it must be right.

27. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ millertheanunnaki

There is no way that I would send a Queen Bee into a den of plotters and schemers. So while ‘no-brainers’ may sit quietly, they are some who prefer to attach financial costs to every eventuality and they know that elections will cost them. Hence, and more reason why the Queen is being grafted into a position to replace the Jack. In answering you, please not let it be said that I speak on behalf on anyone else. I know not what Mia’s intentions are except to advise that she is best suited to the hive and there are other friends of hers that thinks the same. There is no politician in Barbados, as far as I know, that has it ordained from on high that they should be or will be the Prime Minister. I have the greatest respect for Mia; and I gave to her the greatest expression of loyalty when she was the political leader. I feel assured that the humility in her would direct her paths to be as honourable serving as she was leading because none of us can be exact on the future. The BEES are swarming, the hive is active, and we nestle behind the single and undisputed leader. Those not on board will not be cast aside, but surely they will wonder, have I contributed my utmost in rescuing, restoring, and rebuilding Barbados since it is not only the leader that makes a difference but all of those who put their hands to the plough.

28. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@david

Since I was pulled out of my silence to reflect on what you guys are mis-conceptualising as an internal rift in the BLP. I say that none exists beyond the natural unfolding in oppositional politics when contending parties, operating within the same precinct of a basic social philosophy, jostle for position. As a matter of factually speaking, and since you reminded me of words said at the last annaul conference, the unanimous conclusion was all had settled but the dusk. Failure to play team-work one could easily join others in the ‘not me’ chorus or worse, claim to be releived ‘forever’ from serving as ‘top-dog’.
    The BLP is not under intense scrutiny nor should they be more than the fact that the BEES symbolise an alternative government in waiting. With the current vagaries that now plague the Stuart-led DLP administration, it is there that I encourage you to set your eyes, less you falter and fail to do your part in ensuring that Barbadians are not coerced, influenced, or made to endure the pain of swapping a localised Jack for an international Queen.

29. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ David and BU

Forgive the typos. Maybe I am thinking about being merry since I have not yet started any spirited celebrations with Barbados’ best out of St. Lucy somewhere near Mount Gay.

30. @David

You couldn’t want better leaders than Errol Barrow and Tom Adams. The
    urgency died from the time they empowered the offspring of the working class. It is a most unfortunate comment to make but it is a fact of life.It hurts David. Go upstairs the Land Tax office now and you would see staff eating macaroni pie, rice and peas, salad, lamb chops and washing it down with a pine drink. lol. That has been going on for years. They eat on the job for 1/2 hour and then take an hour or more lunch time.

31. @George

Note George that the beam of BU’s focus is of the wide angle type.

@Chuckles

Next time take a picture and forward so we can do our civic duty and save them from themselves. It appears from recent reports diabetes is on the rise in Barbados.

32. Chuckles

LOL Yah lie …. I never see nah body eating lamb chops at the’ desks yet …ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

33. To Chuckles:
    How you get in the Tax office so often to see people eating lunch at their desk. You owe the government taxes or what? How you know that the lunch room is not too small? How many of these people did you follow like a PI throughout their lunch to verify the time they took for lunch? Chuckles, put up your hands for that damn lie!

34. @Miller et al`
    IN America the Attorney General is realy a man who advises the government on law and does not have to be a party man. He is rthe expert on the law but in our case we put on Minister of Home Affairs which is the political part of the portfolio. An Attorney General does not have to be a card carrying member of any party since technical and legal advice can be brolught in from othside and Hal as you may suggest is outside help.

35. David & BU Update on immigration matters
    (1) Economic citizenship is coming for all Non-Nationals who have six (6) million dollars or more to invest in Barbados
    (2) Induction ceremonies are to be held for all newly approved Barbadians who have gained their citizenship.At those induction ceremonies,an oath of allegiance must be taken by all the newly approved Barbadians.
    David & BU,There are some very interesting and questionable proposals in the new immigration policy that have undergone radical changes since Freundel Stuart has taken up the post of Prime Minister of Barbados.

36. @Lemuel

I received the wrong land tax bill although I applied for the pensioners’ rebate three months before I received the final bill… I called the Land Tax department and was told to come and see Mr.X. and he would correct the error. On my way to his office I saw staff playing ‘patience’, eating their lunch, discussing MCTV programs and doing things which can’t be described as Government work. Sadly I wasn’t the only outsider who was in the department at the time.. When I told a senior Civil Servant about my experience, he said that Government spends more money training staff than most private companies but somehow the staff don’t put into practice the things that they are taught at the Training Center in the Pine.

37. Well if you give a man an appointment and he has a job for life, while protected by the Union, can’t expect anything different.

38. @ David
    “What defines a good leader is that he or she finds a way to make things happen”

A good leader (in the Barbados sense) is one who marries a non-Barbadian (preferably North American) and claims to be a Caribbean man. 🙂

@ Negroman
    Say it isn’t so …! I do not believe you …

39. @george

Hope by the time elections are called u will complete your phd parly sponsored by the gov to help your party regain control. Look forward to seeing you.

40. Seeking confirmation as to whether or not Bonny Peppa was indeed and in fact Desmond Bourne.

Ian Bourne could shed some light and confirm or deny as the case maybe.

41. To Chuckles:
    Thanks for the clarification, and my humble apology for jumping the gun on your intentions re: civil servants. For what you described there can be n excuse.

42. To Uneducated:
    Why are opining about George Brathwaite’s scholastic endeavor; I would wish him every success, especially since it is the DLP who gave him permission to pursue his studies and is facilitating the funding. Are you saying that members of the DLP are more uneducated than even you?

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

One woman’s drive to find work

After six months without work, job seeker Laureen Bassett resorted to handing out flyers to morning traffic along East Broadway.

“Desperate times call for desperate measures,” the Smith’s woman, a training consultant, told The Royal Gazette, adding: “Make that innovative measures.”

Vowing to get a new job by 2012, Ms Basset took to the street, saying: “Sitting at home filling out applications wasn’t doing it.”

By the day’s end, she reported getting a “fabulous” number of calls including from executives overseas.

It began early in the morning, when Hamilton motorists passed a series of signs saying ‘Need Work’ and ‘Have a Degree’, followed by a well-dressed woman handing out a CV with an invitation to talk about employment.

http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20111221/NEWS11/712209907

44. Did anyone catch Sir Roy’s comment on the VoB 5.30PM news this evening?

He termed the DLP fracas has unfortunate and wondered why this parliamentary group had to use a letter to communicate to the PM.

His more insightful statement was whether the action of the paliamentary group was being influened by some on the outside who might not even have a political agenda…hmmmm.

Sir will be remembered for being part of the precedent setting no confidence motion against then PM Sandiford.

45. Simon Joseph

Bonny Peppa might have come across as crass, but lemma tell ya, she was easily one of the more intelligent of this tribe. To me her only failing was that she like Toony Marshall and Stasis Stuart. As for Ian ‘Fat Ars’ Bourne, he don’ possess dah kinda intellect, sorry …!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW Ian Bourne’s father, Desmond Bourne died two days ago at age 79.

47. @lemuel

I never knew u were so smart, have to look at u differently and how about that. Merry Xmas and an intelligent 2012.

48. Desmond Bourne was one of a kind, a true talent of international merit. He was a creative without comparison. Some say that he was a little bit off, I say he was justifiably different.

RIP

49. @bafBFP

WHERE IS BONNY PEPPA. I MISSED HER.

50. Pepps was around two months ago. David says that she is awright. I want to conveniently believe him. Lord David is omniscient and ubiquitous.