Submitted by Charles Knighton

Gerald "Jerry" Sandusky (l) Michael Jackson (c) Herman Cain (r)

It can’t be. Not him. Whenever a prominent pillar of the community is accused of some form of sexual misconduct, friends and admirers insist that the charges don’t square with the really fine person they know. That’s what Michael Jackson’s adoring fans said when several of the boys he took to his bed came forward to say that, yes, he had been molesting them. That’s what former players and colleagues said when a former Penn State assistant football  coach was charged with sexually abusing eight underprivileged boys he’d been so kindly mentoring. That’s what fans of Herman Cain said when the presidential candidate —a likable Baptist minister—was accused of sexually harassing a series of women. An accusation is not proof of guilt, but I am constantly amazed at the willful  naiveté of these defenders. How can anyone over the age of about fifteen think that a “nice” person couldn’t possibly be a sexual predator?

If you’ve lived at all, you should have figured out that a person’s public persona is but the tip of an iceberg. It tells you little or nothing about what’s submerged  below the surface. Human sexuality is a complex, mysterious, and sometimes dark force; a pedophile can appear to be kindhearted and benevolent 99 percent of the time, and confine his predations to children he believes won’t tell. A public champion of women’s rights like Bill Clinton can also be a compulsive womanizer and serial sexual harasser. Pastor Jippy Doyle could passionately condemn the sins of lust and child abuse publicly while indulging in both privately.

Human beings are not consistent or transparent. We all contain multitudes. People can be successful and admirable in most of what they do, and still succumb to urges that shock even themselves.

104 responses to “What You See Is Not Always What You Get”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

At the National Ecumenical Service Monsignor Vincent, aka Harcourt Blackett, came out swinging for gay rights. I was not surprised that a catholic priest would be so forceful in his support for buggery. Before some nut says that he was talking about gay rights and not the homosexual act, go and disabuse your mind of that nonsense: the two cannot be separated. My first reaction was that he aught to be ashamed of that putrid nonsense but after reflection I realised that he is representing the Catholic Church, a veritable bastion for buggery of young boys. They probably introduced more young boys to buggery than they led to GOD.

Harcourt go and look for a job and stop defending the indefensible, you are only trying to justify an exercise where men go fishing for E. coli and not fishing for souls, which should be your job.

2. Caswell ……”Methinks thou dost protest too much.”

3. But Caswell peodiphilia is not the same as buggery, although some peddiphiles commit buggery.

Most pedophiles are respectable married men such as yourself.

Although yes some are Catholic priests; and some are male and female homosexuals.

4. David the pictures of those 3 fellas at the top of the page is so ugly, I thought it was still Holloween.

5. Jerry, Michael and Herman, all respectable married men.

See what I tell ya.

Ya allways have to be on the lookout for those respectable married men.

6. Oh shoite Random yuh got muh cracking up ROFLMAO

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

islandgal246 | November 29, 2011 at 8:59 PM |
    “Caswell ……”Methinks thou dost protest too much.”
    So island girl, you have managed to put a handle on our friend!
    These are all signs of a person trapped in the closet but fiercely knocking to come out.
    Gavin would agree!

8. I haven’t laughed like this for a long time! Random Thought I raise my glass to you ROFLMAO

MillerA …..ease up pon de man nuh? I know he put himself out there pon de wicket to get stone but be gentle.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | November 29, 2011 at 9:45 PM |
    No harm intended! Just a little clip around the ear to let him hear the advice:
    To each his own! Live and let live! The world is big enough for all types and aslong as no one is being hurt against their wishes!

10. Equal time.

There are pedophiles of the female variety but they are not as numerous as the males but I keep reading about female teachers who have their way with young males in their charge. Most of these stories only come to light when the mother of the student becomes suspicious and investigates but I believe that this would rank among the least reported crimes.

Having grown up in Barbados and knowing the Bajan sensibility most Bajan males would consider this a rite of passage. Here is the dilemma if it was a male teacher taking advantage of a young female student would people think the same?

11. @ Sargeant

Nope, they wouldn’t.

But even that is changing nowadays…some girls are now flinging themselves at the teachers…and some of those don’t know what they’re getting into. Some, however, know exactly what they’re doing.

12. I recognize someone’s depth of intellect whenever they express themselves on homosexuality. Caswell, you disappoint ..!

This also explains why there is always the introduction of non related discussions (like pedophilia) whenever homosexuality is placed on the table.

I am a born heterosexual, and I am fortunate that the majority of Barbadians are likewise disposed, so I do not have to hide from their scorn. Homosexuals do not offend me and do not in anyway make me uncomfortable. I embrace them as equals and recognize that it is from these ranks the best in the world of creativity is drawn.

In any event, the more the homosexual males the more the available women (of any leanings) …!

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

BAFBFP | November 30, 2011 at 11:29 AM |

That’s a most intellectual approach to this human condition or syndrome.
    The price humans pay for creativity, artistic or scientific genius is usually in the form of either “madness” social unorthodoxy, perceived sexual abnormality or deviance.
    Human history is replete with such cases. Leonardo da Vinci is a classic example. One could not ask for a more (what so-called ordinary humans would describe as) “wacko” or “socially strange” person than Einstein
    At the end of the day (pardon the cliché) human beings are just that, human. An extreme ability in one or more areas must be compensated by equal but opposite challenge(s) in others to keep the pendulum of human life swinging.

14. Jesus Take The Wheel: Former Boston Red Sox Manager Sexually Abused Young Black Boys For Two Decades

Posted on November 17th, 2011 – By Bossip Staff

” Long before revelations that former Penn State football coach Jerry Sandusky had allegedly sexually abused a number of at-risk youth, another high-profile predator used the cover of athletics to molest young boys. Between 1971 and 1991, Donald Fitzpatrick, a long-time Red Sox clubhouse manager, systematically molested and abused nearly a dozen African-American boys in their hometown of Winter Haven, Florida, where the baseball team held their Spring training.

“He grabbed me and told me to take my clothes off,” Leeronnie Ogletree, who said Fitzpatrick lured him into years of molestation when he was just 10, told thepostgame.com. “I’ll never forget him putting his mouth on my pe**s. I don’t mind telling it now because I’m over it. But that stands out. And I’ll never forget it.”
    It took decades for the truth to come out about Fitzpatrick, who is white, and his criminal desire for young black boys. In 2003 the Boston Red Sox settled a $3.15 million federal lawsuit brought against them by Ogletree and seven other men from Winter Haven who said Fitzpatrick repeatedly molested them as boys.

Benjamin Crump, the lawyer who handled Ogletree’s case against Fitzpatrick and the Boston Red Sox, said the similarities between the Penn State and Red Sox scandals are startlingly similar. There were cover-ups, denials and the enabling of pedophiles to use the power of their institutions to prey on the weak, in the Red Sox case, “poor black boys,” he said. The kinds of youth often considered society’s “throwaways.”

It wasn’t until 1991, two decades later, that wheels of justice began to turn. Howard Bryant of ESPN.com, wrote that in ’91, a young aide whom Fitzpatrick was suspected of recruiting showed up at a nationally televised Red Sox game with a sign that read “Don Fitzpatrick sexually assaulted me.” The Red Sox paid out a $100,000 settlement, Bryant wrote. The $3.5 million settlement came years later.

Mr. Fitzpatrick served as the team’s clubhouse manager from the 1960s until 1991, and the actions you have inquired about occurred between 1971 and 1991. When the team, then under a previous ownership group, became aware of the allegations against Mr. Fitzpatrick in 1991, he was promptly relieved of his duties. Civil litigation was filed in 2001 by victims of Mr. Fitzpatrick for actions that had occurred more than 20 years earlier. The team, which was acquired by the current ownership group after the lawsuit was filed, reached a settlement in 2002. Mr. Fitzpatrick has since passed away. The Red Sox have always viewed the actions of Mr. Fitzpatrick to be abhorrent.”

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP | November 30, 2011 at 11:29 AM | I recognize someone’s depth of intellect whenever they express themselves on homosexuality. Caswell, you disappoint ..!

SO!

16. Further to Keisha’s story which also appeared on :

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/15/donald-fitzpatrick-red-sox-sex-scandal_n_1095118.html
    Ogletree (one of the young black victims) who has battled the trauma brought on by the boyhood assaults, was in a mental institution when the multimillion dollar settlement was reached.

These things are BAD because it perverts the child’s development, and sets up the child for mental illness, drug and alcohol abuse and maybe to become an abuser also. And this is all to give a “respectable married man” an orgasm.

Respectable married men should go home and have sex with their wives and leave people’s children alone.

Unmarried men (and women) should learn the joys of solitary masturbation.

17. Random Thoughts you are a scream ! You could be married and doan know yuh husband at all.

Poor Herman Cain, I was liking this man , he came across as a clean, honest and very likable man. I was hoping that he would become the Republican candidate.

Why do men feel that people will keep their dirty secrets for them when they are climbing higher and higher. The latest is an ex mistress coming forward about her 12 year relationship with this kindly Baptist Pastor, Businessman and Presidential wannabe.

How could such a nice man like Herman be capable of all these things that are being said about him? Herman did you do any of these naughty things?

To tell the truth Herman had me bawling when he was asked what he thought of Obama’s handling of Libya. That pause was classic and he responded like some suddenly awakened from a very deep sleep all bazoodee. I wanted to crawl under my chair when as he was fumbling and trying to make sense from the question.

Herman, dadadadada Herman, you were my man for the republicans but now you are canned. I wonder if his wife has changed the locks as yet?

18. how could anybody in their right mind think that Herman Cain would become the republican nonimee. That man made no sense ! The republicans used him and now discard him he deseves what he is getting. A black man trap in a white man body, A self hating black. Boy am i glad the republicans sent him in the back of the bus.999

19. AC…..Time out in the corner! At Once!

20. @ islan up fuknd gal

Now can i come out! thank you1 seems to me you have taken up full time duty as the blog Police. Did i say Police

Now on to the subject at hand. The pale face one Sandusky or whatever he name admitted to taking bathes wid the youngster i know some Bu perverts might think that is nothing wrong wid that except when it is your child. These men should be castrated forthwith ! if found guilty of these sexual,crimes.!

21. California state senator who opposed gay rights announces he is homosexual
    THE TELEGRARAPH , 8/3/2010.

” Roy Ashburn, a California state senator who has staunchly opposed gay rights has announced that he is homosexual.

Mr Ashburn, a conservative Republican, came out in an interview with KERN radio.

His pronouncement ends days of speculation following his arrest last week for driving under the influence of alchohol.

Mr Ashburn said he felt compelled to address rumours that he had visited a gay nightclub near the Capitol before his arrest.

“I am gay … those are the words that have been so difficult for me for so long,” Ashburn told conservative talk show host Inga Barks.

The 55-year-old father of four said he had tried to keep his personal life separate from his professional life until his March 3 arrest.

“When I crossed the line and broke the law and put people at risk, that’s different, and I do owe people an explanation,” he said.

Ashburn was arrested after he was spotted driving erratically near the Capitol, according to the California Highway Patrol.

The next day, reports surfaced that he had left Faces, a gay nightclub, with an unidentified man in the passenger seat of his Senate-owned vehicle.

“The best way to handle that is to be truthful and to say to my constituents and all who care that I am gay,” he said. “But I don’t think it’s something that has affected, nor will it affect, how I do my job.”

Over 14 years in office, Ashburn has voted against a number of gay rights measures, including efforts to expand anti-discrimination laws and recognise out-of-state gay marriages…………….”

22. Idaho Statesman: More gay men describe sexual encounters with U.S. Sen. Craig

From Idaho Statesman:

BY DAN POPKEY, dpopkey@idahostatesman.com

David Phillips. Mike Jones. Greg Ruth. Tom Russell.

” Four gay men, willing to put their names in print and whose allegations can’t be disproved, have come forward since news of U.S. Sen. Larry Craig’s guilty plea. They say they had sex with Craig or that he made a sexual advance or that he paid them unusual attention.

They are telling their stories now because they are offended by Craig’s denials, including his famous statement, “I am not gay, I never have been gay.” Those words, spoken on live national TV on Aug. 28, are now memorialized on a just-released-for-Christmas Talking Senator Larry Craig Action Figure.

David Phillips is a 42-year-old information technology consultant in Washington, D.C., who says Craig picked him up at a gay club in 1986 and that they subsequently had sex.

Mike Jones is a former prostitute who told the world he had sex with the Rev. Ted Haggard last year. The former Colorado Springs evangelist at first denied it but eventually confessed. Jones says Craig paid him for sex in late 2004 or early 2005.

Greg Ruth was a 24-year-old college Republican in 1981 when he says he was hit on by Craig at a Republican meeting in Coeur d’Alene.

Tom Russell, now 48, is a former Nampa resident who lives in Utah. Russell said his encounter with Craig occurred at Bogus Basin in the early 1980s.

A fifth gay man, who is from Boise but who declined to be named for fear of retaliation, offered a recent and telling account: He was in a men’s restroom at Denver International Airport in September 2006 when the man in the next stall moved his hand slowly, palm up, under the divider. Alarmed, the man said he waited outside the restroom and then identified the man in the adjoining stall as Craig, whom he had met in Idaho…………”

Read more: http://miamiherald.typepad.com/gaysouthflorida/2007/12/idaho-statesman.html#ixzz1fFTBqnpJ

23. Although the practice is not new on this blog, I am still surprise by the precision employed by groups here to defend what they “believe” to be true. From Caswell’s point of view, I got the impression that he was alluding to the fact that persons involved in a “practice” should not be the same persons who tell the rest of us it is alright. What is wrong with that point of view? The Millers, Island Gals and Others obviously have a particular stance on the “practice”, but they seem to be believe that Caswell should not be “so” strident in his offensive. So what do they do; they accuse him of being a “closet” gay. Well folks knowing Caswell as I do, and not gayly of course, he shall not back down from his resolve and this practice shall not work this time. You need to bring your evidence and let the rest of us see your case for the gay and lesbian philosophy. People do not be putrid in your approach and render this call an attack on people; let us talk about a philosophy. You can even invite Harcourt to assist.

24. Le Mule……I am quoting Random Thoughts
    “Respectable married men should go home and have sex with their wives and leave people’s children alone.

Unmarried men (and women) should learn the joys of solitary masturbation.”

25. Le Mule…….Methinks thou dost defend Caswell a little too much.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | November 30, 2011 at 11:13 PM |
    “You need to bring your evidence and let the rest of us see your case for the gay and lesbian philosophy.”

What philosophy! We are talking about rights of approx. 10% of Barbadians and indeed humanity!
    What you have just argued is similar to what white supremacists would argue for not granting equal rights to black people in America or Britain. It’s their inalienable right not to be persecuted and prosecuted for engaging in sexual activity between ‘CONSENTING ADULTS”. And please don’t bring any bible talk because what the bible has to say about the treatment of women you would not want to quote.

As a matter of fact,the evidence is bound up in the teachings of your Jesus. Love, compassion, forgiveness, ‘do unto others’ as you would have them do unto you, love, thy neighbour as thyself, freedom of association, right to do anything between two consulting adults behind closed doors as long as people of non-consenting age are not watching. (The same way heterosexual people should not engage in sexual activity in front of children neither should homosexuals).
    You can bet your “bottom” (no pun here) dollar that unless Barbados amends its laws on this matter (not those regarding the physical violation of another person without consent, i.e. rape) it will soon find it exceedingly difficult to borrow money or access grants from the IADB or EU financed lending or Aid agencies. And hell knows how much we can do with some foreign money at this time! But in your view, we can always pray to god and manna would descend from above to save Bim!

27. So you fell out of love with Brother Cain after you found out he was stealing love on the side for 13 years? Tell me you don’t vote in Barbados don’t all the politicians have “outside” women? Chris Rock has a joke about men cheating according to their options and Herman had a lot of options with his frequent travel and the wife at home so when he wanted a little ‘strange” it wasn’t difficult to arrange.

Sorry to dash your hopes but Cain would never have been the Republican nominee the Tea Party was supporting him because he wasn’t Romney (can’t trust those Mormons) and they also wanted to silence the accusations that they are a racist bunch by pointing out that they supported a black man.

Cain is a smart man but on the political trail he was this year’s Sarah Palin (albeit black and male) just fodder for all the comedians with his lame ideas and an incredible gap in knowledge about International Affairs. Herman will stay on the campaign a little longer but it is effectively over he is just hoping that the wife gets tired of waiting by the door with the frying pan and the cou cou stick.

28. My comment above re Herman Cain should have been addressed to IG246

29. The Financial collapse and not a single criminal charge against the Wall Street barons, perhaps Spitzer was right they were out to get him, he was the only one with the cojones to lay any charges against these merchants of greed.

30. how can cain with so many skeletons in his closet have the nerve to run for president . wouldn’t he think that at some point and time the skeletons would come crawling out of the closet the man is a buffoon and he showed himself as that. He doesn’t even realised that his campaign is over and nobody listening to his sorry excuses.

31. The question, if Cain was used by the tea party element in the Republican party as suggested, how does this beat up on an already lower perception of the black image?

32. Meet Herman Cain…what a resume !
    Regardless of your political preference or his electability this is guy is interesting. There should be some place for him in helping run this country
    COMPARE OUR COMMUNITY ORGANIZER RESUME WITH HERMAN CAIN; HE STANDS IN FOR SEVERAL OF THE RADIO TALK SHOWS, NEIL BOORTZ BEING ONE. PLEASE READ
    ABOUT THIS MAN

> Herman Cain is running for president….
    He’s not a career politician (in fact he has never held political
    office). He’s known as a pizza guy, but there’s a lot more to him. He’s also a computer guy, a banker guy, and a rocket scientist guy.

Here’s his bio:
    > Bachelor’s degree in Mathematics.
    > Master’s degree in Computer Science.
    > Mathematician for the Navy, where he worked on missile ballistics
    > (making him a rocket scientist).
    > Computer systems analyst for Coca-Cola.
    > VP of Corporate Data Systems and Services for Pillsbury (this is the top of the ladder in the computer world, being in charge of information systems for a major corporation).

All achieved before reaching the age of 35. Since he reached the top of the information systems world, he changed careers!

Business Manager. Took charge of Pillsbury’s 400 Burger King
    > restaurants in the Philadelphia area, which were the company’s poorest performers in the country. Spent the first nine months learning the business from the ground up, cooking hamburger and yes, cleaning toilets. After three years he had turned them into the company’s best performers.
    Godfather’s Pizza CEO. Was asked by Pillsbury to take charge of their Godfather’s Pizza chain (which was on the verge of bankruptcy). He made it profitable in 14 months.
    > In 1988 he led a buyout of the Godfather’s Pizza chain from Pillsbury.
    > He was now the owner of a restaurant chain. Again he reached the top of the ladder of another industry.
    > He was also chairman of the National Restaurant Association during this time. This is a group that interacts with government on behalf of the restaurant industry, and it gave him political experience from the non-politician side.

> Having reached the top of a second industry, he changed careers again!
    > Adviser to the Federal Reserve System. Herman Cain went to work for the Federal Reserve Banking System advising them on how monetary policy changes would affect American businesses.
    > Chairman of the Kansas City Federal Reserve Bank. He worked his way up to the chairmanship of a regional Federal Reserve bank. This is only one step below the chairmanship of the entire Federal Reserve System (the top banking position in the country). This position allowed him to see how monetary policy is made from the inside, and understand the political forces that impact the monetary system. After reaching the top of the banking industry, he changed careers for a fourth time!
    > Writer and public speaker. He then started to write and speak on
    > leadership. His books include Speak as a Leader, CEO of Self,
    > Leadership is Common Sense, and They Think You’re Stupid.
    > Radio Host. Around 2007—after a remarkable 40 year career—he started hosting a radio show on WSB in Atlanta (the largest talk radio station in the country).

> He did all this starting from rock bottom (his father was a chauffeur
    > and his mother was a maid). When you add up his acccomplishments in his life—including reaching the top of three unrelated industries: information systems, business management, and banking—> STACK THAT UP AGAINST THE ‘COMMUNITY ORGANIZER’….
    Herman Cain may have the most impressive resume of anyone that has run for the presidency in the last half century.

but on BU a pack of semi illiterates who know nothing about the man will criticize him though none of them even if given the rum and the cokes cannot run a rum shop successfully.

THIS MAN IS BETTER QUALIFIED AND HAS HAD MORE RELEVANT EXPERIENCE THAN THE MORON WHO HAS RUINED THE USA IN THE LAST THREE YEARS

33. Not forgetting Cain in his interviews had the same low perception of blacks along the same thinking of the Republican.

34. To Miller:
    Look, you are one of the few people here whose point of view I respect, even though we shall always be at logger heads. Do not try the non sense you are attempting. If there were no gay and lesbian philosophy why would they be asking in Europe and the USA that their “history” be taught; that “their” exceptional people be recognized, separate and distinct from the heterosexuals; that they be allowed in the class room to teach ” their” take on what should be a normal family structure; that they will move as a group to either “out” those who are closet gays or use their collective buying or economic power to force poor governments to “recognize their thing” and all that it stands for, the good and the bad. Stop throwing around the love thy neighbor herring; this is about the philosophy of a group that has amassed so much economic and political power world wide that even the PM of Britain is warning Barbados, one of the most liberal countries when it comes to toleration of this lifestyle, about economic sanctions if we do not change our laws on “buggery”. Remember we do not have one single law against homosexuality or lesbianism; ask Mia and Peter the spy man Wickham then. Miler, i take that you do know what the word philosophy entails. Just pulling your leg. Now deal with the issue.

35. To georgie porgie:
    How could you read what Sargeant wrote with regards to Cain and still insist on your myopic madness. Cain is being tolerated. Who you think spill the beans on him and his “love style”- Republicans. You could have forty five degrees and still be an ASS; ask Uneducated then, if you do not believe me.

36. To Island gal;
    Did I not say that I do not know Caswell “gayly”. About the protest, any time or place where this philosophy is presented to be accepted as main stream, I shall always protest.

37. The world is run by sexual predators and paedophiles.

38. @GP

His CV as outlined by you is impressive but the electorate will judge based on his performance in the Primaries. As a Christian are you saying his adulterous exploits as alleged should be ignored?

39. @Lemuel

The latest night Sir Errol believes Barbados is still bothered by an unacceptably high level of homophobia which explains why Gays in Barbados elect to remain in the closet and it seems to be his view that it explains why there is some relationship with HIV and AIDS.

40. Le Mule……It is so like people like you to hide and do things and then present another face for the public.