CHOGM (Commonwealth Conference 2011) Official Photograph

It is generally accepted civil servants in Barbados are technology averse. A litmus test would be to ask the question: how many government departments use teleconferencing facilities? The technology is not very expensive and can repay on the investment in short order by generating cost saving from reduced travel and overseas calls. There is also saving time if we were able to reduce the number of man hours civil servants spend on our highways and byways negotiating traffic to attend meetings.

A search of the Internet will toss-out millions of results of ways companies have adopted to reduce cost brought on by the world recession. One of the popular decisions is to introduce teleconferencing. For example, Bayer Corporation is using high-tech teleconferencing, or telepresence, to help cut the cost of travel; local and overseas. BU understands many private sector companies in Barbados have installed teleconferencing facilities in their board rooms to communicate with employees located in different offices. It seems a no-brainer if private sector companies see the benefit why shouldn’t the public sector? The civil service seems to be living up to the label appended to it by a former Prime Minister as an army of occupation.

The news this week that Ronald Jones is acting Prime Minister has raised the awareness in the eyes of some Barbadians to ask – why are so many government ministers and civil servants travelling at a time when government is printing money to pay civil servants salaries?  Yes we know managing government is a complex business in a modern world but the question must be asked, is all the travelling necessary?

Prime Minister Stuart, Foreign Minister McClean, High Commissioner to London Tony Arthur and the obligatory team of civil servants are in attendance at the Commonwealth Conference in Perth Australia this week. BU cannot speak to the benefits the Barbados government expects to derive from attending the Commonwealth conference Down Under, however, as citizens it is our right to be curious about how public officials are spending our tax dollars.   A plane ticket to travel to the land of Kangaroos drops at about S25,000. The High Commissioner is traveling from London so his ticket is cheaper at about $9,000. If we assume the PM and the Foreign Minister travelled with a minimum of two civil servants plane tickets alone rack up $100,000. We have not bothered to tabulate per diems, hotel accommodation and miscellaneous expenses.  You do the math!

It seems so silly that several leaders from Caricom will be attending and some arrangement could not have been made to ask the Caricom Secretariat or some other regional agency to represent the region, the upside being the sharing of cost while at the same time fostering a kindred spirit.

Should we repeat? We are operating in extraordinary times which call for our leaders not to be afraid to depart from the ordinary; our survival depends on it.

1. What’s the reason for going there? Is it to bring foreign exchange into Barbados? Is it to bring ANY sort of funds into Barbados? Is it to garner a trade deal that will help us financially? If not, it’s a waste of time!

2. Been up to the UWI at Cavehill last night, heard the new Chief Justice giving a lecture on crime and justice in the 21st century Barbados.
    There he mentioned some of the short comings in the system. I’m sure such wasteful spending if redirected, would go a long way in delivering justice. Magistrates having to take court proceedings in long hand.
    How much would this and other wasted money go toward improving the system.

3. @seeker
    What’s the reason for going there?
    It is a jolly. A trip for the boys and girls. Just a waste of money that could be spent on better things. A loud stuuupppessse

4. One man's bacon is Avatar
    One man’s bacon is

The Opposition is concerned that the Jamaican Government may not be represented at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Perth, Western Australia.

It is still not clear if Prime Minister Andrew Holness will attend the meeting, which will run Friday until Sunday.

Daryl Vaz, the former minister with responsibility for information said last week that no decision had been made on whether Holness will be present.

According to Senator AJ Nicholson, opposition spokesman on foreign affairs and foreign trade, the Government seems to be in hibernation mode with regard to the country’s vital international commitments and overseas representation.

He noted it is critical for the country to be represented at the Commonwealth meeting as it will give the Government a chance to have its voice heard on world issues including democracy, the rule of law and human rights.

Senator Nicholson asserted that the absence of the Jamaican Government would not be in the best interest of Jamaicans in this globalised environment.

5. An importance can be tagged to everything, the question is one of priorities given the times.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You are quite wrong, Government has embraced the technology but they use it only when it suits them. Recently they were conducting interviews for magistrates and, it is my understanding that they embraced the technology to interview their hand-picked man. I am told that the interview with the now Magistrate Graveney Bannister was conducted by teleconferencing. They wanted their man and they got him using the technology.

7. In order to comment meaningfully and with merit on the attendance of Barbados Government to Commonwealth meeting in Australia the script should include:
    1) The purpose of the meeting
    2) Barbados’ proposal to be presented at the meeting
    3) Expectation
    4) Possible benefits

LIME (Cable and Wireless) was using teleconferencing for years. Teleconferencing was implemented internationally long before 2000. Maybe we were the last to hear of Skype. I am not clear as to the contents of this script and what is expected to derive from it. I am sure that USA, UK could use teleconferencing to communicate to Israel, Iraq, Iran, India even Barbados without the airtravel yet each state chooses to send their governemnt representatives to interact face to face at some point.

Annually, there is the CARICOM Heads of Government Meeting – why is this money well spent when caricom leaders come together at its neighbour in a conference and the same taxpayers’ money should be questioned when once it is over many many seas.

I suggest that it will be impossible to socialize and speak privately on pertinent issues to certain allies at a cocktail reception during the teleconference.

Furthermore, the numbers attending from Barbados cannot be discussed except the author of this script states job title and role they will play on the ground in Australia.

It is taxpayers’ money, but why should we be concern about something that we do not know. We cannot assume that the money is being wasted unless we know why it is being used – the team is not on holiday.

8. @Home

It is why we are asking questions. Traditional media reported that a team led by Prime Minister will be attending the conference. Why do we feel so uncomfortable asking question?

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Now wunna think a politician will give up free travel, which by the way comes along with some serious spending money with hotel accomodation, for teleconferencing? Chuuuuuuuuupse. I was told that a former female minister in the BLP hood never stayed in the hotel with the money given to pay for it but instead stayed at friends and pocket the money. Now I do not know if the story is true because I consider that female minister to be credible after all she did state her assets when Dem made the challenge. So unless these fellas and gals found Jesus I telling you now that we ain’t gine see cost saving technology bout hey in no hurry.

her assets. \buy

10. All of a sudden LIME is this world class internet service provider.
    Wha happen?
    Only a few months ago wunna did saying how sour Lime service is.Did a miracle happen ?

11. First up, International Travel is not funded by Tax Payers’ money. Its much worst than that. It is funded by the proceeds of international business and repatriations … When the late PM (recent) wanted people to voluntarily send money back to Barbados, why the hell do you think no one jumped to the effort?

12. Home

Why should representatives of a people seek to “socialize and speak privately on pertinent issues to certain allies at a cocktail reception”? What the hell would they be speaking about, and how do you determine that it would not be for the benefit of the country as opposed to the individual?

In any event, how do you measure the returns for the investment that is made by these trips?

As we speak, there are about four Ministers in Central America and will be for another week …

13. One man’s bacon is

” … democracy, the rule of law and human rights …”

How dare you place those three words in the same sentence !

14. @BAFBFP: “Why should representatives of a people seek to “socialize and speak privately on pertinent issues to certain allies at a cocktail reception”? What the hell would they be speaking about, and how do you determine that it would not be for the benefit of the country as opposed to the individual?

It is actually true that there is upside from important individuals meeting in person in what the “geeks” call “meat space” at least once.

But once that has happened once, the recently developed technology called the “telephone” generally works just as well for all future exchanges.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“First up, International Travel is not funded by Tax Payers’ money. Its much worst than that. It is funded by the proceeds of international business and repatriations”

One thing I admire about your threads: you go straight to the heart of the matter! It is hard earned (one way or the other) foreign exchange that these junkets cost the economy; not mickey mouse bajan dollars. These “get-away-from-the office” trips should be measured in terms of costs and benefits to the forex sink. Every overseas trip should be seen as a sales mission and evaluated in terms of its contribution to various sectors of international business and foreign direct investment.

16. @BAFBFP

We have individuals and companies that earn forex but your point is taken.

17. @ David

You ain’t gonna see any changes in our lifetime, David. It’s gonna be same old, same old ’till de ol’ cows go home (permanently!) When the younger ones take over (those born with technology in their laps!) then and only then will any changes be made. Put that in yuh pipe and smoke it instead o’ de edder ting!

As for the flying junkets (jolly rides/shopping trips?) well you already know my opinion on such free-loading at the taxpayers expense! Even if one HAD to make the trip now and then, David, it would not be so bad but any excuse to get on a plane and fly here there and everywhere on a whim and excuse is detestable. And, to rub salt in open wounds is 10 and 15 of DEM going. Even worse, they don’t know about flying “economy” like me and you, it is FIRST class seating, if you please, and 5-star hotel accommodation when they arrive. So wha de FRANCE, David, DEM gine get dere before de ress on de plane when DEM spen’ alla dis and dat money for FIRST class seats? Tell muh, David. Leh muh gear yuh!

18. ooppps…………sorry. not G-ear should be H-ear

19. @de hood

We have to remain optimistic if not what is the point of our existence?

20. @David: “We have to remain optimistic if not what is the point of our existence?

Optimistic is somewhat orthogonal from being realistic.

21. @CH

Hi CH, still got ya head buried in the sand?

22. jamaica’s Opposition leader is concerned about the absence of their PM from conference in Australia the Gleaner reports as follows:

“Senator AJ Nicholson, the opposition spokesman on foreign affairs and foreign trade, has called for the Government to apologise to the Jamaican people for its absence at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Perth, Australia.

Foreign Affairs Minister Dr. Ken Baugh said an apology was sent to the Australian government and the secretary general of the Commonwealth.

However, Nicholson said that is not enough as it is the people of Jamaica who would be affected by the Government’s absence. But according to Baugh, Jamaica will not suffer because the country did not have representative at the meeting.”

Trinidad’s PM left Tdad under SOE to attend the conference in Australia – their citizens, nightclub owners, hotels and all that are losing money because of closure to John public during the night when they are usually making their greater turnover have to pay for government travel and other expenses through taxes. Wouldn’t Kamla have known that before she left Tdad.

We will generate the monies to pay our bills and make sound and wise investments to secure a comfortable future for our children. I include the author of this post in the “we” above. We all want Barbados to prosper we will not prosper if we continue to pick out the good rice to through it away. Networking is important to any business and to spend $5,000.00 to get a turnover and or returns longterm is worth every cent.

23. @de hood: “Hi CH, still got ya head buried in the sand?

Not to the best of my knowledge.

Why do you claim I do?

Please explain.

If you can.

24. @ CH
    No particular reason just a matter of recent observations. However, if I have missed the mark then just ignore my query and I will endeavour to try a “likkel” harder to make better observations in the future?

N.B.”Endeavour” is spelt the correct way using the Queen’s English not the bastardised N.A. application! And, “likkel” is pure bajanese.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de hood:
    “And, to rub salt in open wounds is 10 and 15 of DEM going. Even worse, they don’t know about flying “economy” like me and you, it is FIRST class seating, if you please, and 5-star hotel accommodation when they arrive. ”
    Our foreparents left us with some proverbs (words of wisdom):
    “Night does run til day ketch um!”
    “Sweet life ain’t long life!”

These guys know that things soon come to a head. The party is reaching is finale. Morning soon break. Eat up drink up and wuk up even with Jones the demon!

The IMF will put a stop to all this wastage since the attachés would want to use this gravy to finance their salaries back home and pay for the myriad allowances and perks given for the effort involved in overseeing the activities of the incompetent locals and to defray the cost of luxurious sweet tourist life with condo living, fully maintained hired cars and unlimited charge accounts at the best eating and entertainment establishments the little tropical paradise island has to offer.

26. @de hood: “No particular reason just a matter of recent observations. However, if I have missed the mark then just ignore my query and I will endeavour to try a “likkel” harder to make better observations in the future?

So you made a claim, and then when I called it you had nothing to say you stepped back and claimed “I didn’t mean anything by it”.

Let me please say this to you:

You are an evil coward.

Sue me for my above. If you are able.

You gutless coward.

27. Travel is part of doing business but what example is being set and how many are in the contingent. Dr Denis Lowe was in Korea and did the country hear from him on his return. Not good enough. The people are looking for a difference, have we seen it under this government? Is Mr Stuart being led?

28. @David: “Is Mr Stuart being led?

I thought Prime Minister Stuart was the leader….

29. @Chris

Are you aware Minister Sinckler will be holding a press conference this weekend?

How do you believe this will further drive rising the perception in Barbados regarding leadership?

30. @David: “Are you aware Minister Sinckler will be holding a press conference this weekend?

Yes.

@David: “How do you believe this will further drive rising the perception in Barbados regarding leadership?

If Minister Sinckler plays his opportunity correctly, it could seriously change the game.

On the other hand, many will be wishing to take away from Sinckler’s opportunity.

Such is the game.

31. Oh no David you got it wrong. The cost of a first class seat from Barbados to Perth is around $24,000 US and business class seat is about $14,000 US.

32. This is another powerplay by Chris Sinckler. A strong leader would not have allowed such a Press conference in his absence. Stuart should have called a Press conference and have the key Ministers around him to answer question he is unable to. No one can fault him as we know economics is not his thing. He is a decent guy but a poor leader.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Are you aware Minister Sinckler will be holding a press conference this weekend? ”

“If Minister Sinckler plays his opportunity correctly, it could seriously change the game.”

If this turns out to be true, it will be one of the biggest political moves ever seen on the political chess board of Machiavellian proportion!

Who really is running this pappy show? Unless this PR exercise- to prepare Bajans for the bitter medicine to be prescribed- has been approved by the PM, boy, things brown ,brown, brown (AC, I beg your indulgence) !!

If this “big-foot” move has not been sanctioned by the wordy gentleman at the helm, then all hell should break loose and general elections called early in the new year to allow us the electorate decide our own fate.

34. @ CH

So what’s your grouse? If I said I was mistaken in my observations then what more would you have me say?

OK, so big deal you have adjudged me, as you claim, “an evil coward”. So am I supposed to be all trembling in my shoes now? Ha, ha, perhaps you can only judge me using your own yardstick. Feel free to continue the judging. Like I told you before you certainly do not disappoint me. You react just as I expect!

35. Dennis Lowe, Maxine McLean, Freundal Stuart, Dennis Kellman, Richard Sealey have absolutely NO track record of soliciting business from overseas ventures in their private acivities. The same is true for EVERY Permanent Secretary and their assistants. How the hell can the excuse of representing a country be seen as making their current exploits any more relevant …?!

36. @ millertheanunnaki | October 27, 2011 at 5:32 PM |

Our foreparents left us with some proverbs (words of wisdom):
    “Night does run til day ketch um!”
    “Sweet life ain’t long life!”
    Sir, I made the observation in 2007 that if this present cabal was ever to govern this country it would be the beginning of the end for life as we knew it. History has a strange way of repeating itself (check out the early 1970s and early 1990s).

37. @de hood: “Like I told you before you certainly do not disappoint me. You react just as I expect!

As do you.

38. @BAFBPF: “How the hell can the excuse of representing a country be seen as making their current exploits any more relevant …?!

An excellent question.

Answers?

Anyone?

39. Here is Jamaica’s response to Opposition criticism to not attending the Commonwealth Conference.

@Home

When has Barbados ever followed Jamaica?

Barbados use to be known as the model which the others followed.

What has changed?

40. Now Minister Donville Inniss building an $800 million hospital on a yet to be identified site. Seems like the late PM took his sub-$500million version to his grave.Comedy at its finest I say.

41. Stop exaggerating the situation - only a few people really want Chris Sinckler to be the PM. Avatar
    Stop exaggerating the situation – only a few people really want Chris Sinckler to be the PM.

42. Perhaps the folly of the world we live in is summed up in this article.
    Pay for directors “rose 50% in past year”, a report claims
    Directors’ salaries rose 3.2%, while other benefits boosted incomes by 50%, says IDS
    Continue reading the main story
    Related Stories

Top bosses’ bonuses ‘up by 187%’
    Pay deals ‘lag behind inflation’
    Investors warn on boardroom pay
    Pay for the directors of the UK’s top businesses rose 50% over the past year, a pay research company has claimed.
    Incomes Data Services (IDS) said this took the average pay for a director of a FTSE 100 company to just short of £2.7m.
    The rise, covering salary, benefits and bonuses, was higher than that recorded for the main person running the company, the chief executive.
    Their pay rose by 43% over the year, according to the study.
    A statement from IDS said that that figure suggested that “executive largesse is evenly spread across the board”.
    Base salaries rose by just 3.2%, although that was above the median rise recorded by IDS this week for average pay settlements of 2.6% for private sector workers.
    The latest consumer price inflation figures showed inflation at 5.2%.
    Directors’ bonus payments, on average, rose by 23% from £737,000 in 2010 to £906,000 this year.
    Steve Tatton, who edited the IDS report, said: “Britain’s economy may be struggling to return to pre-recession levels of output, but the same cannot be said of FTSE 100 directors’ remuneration.”
    Mr Tatton said that while closer scrutiny of pay awards was expected in future, “remuneration committees will have to make sure that they are able to provide full and thorough justifications for the bonuses awarded.”
    More on This Story
    Related Stories

Top bosses’ bonuses ‘up by 187%’ 05 SEPTEMBER 2011, BUSINESS
    Pay deals ‘lag behind inflation’ 27 OCTOBER 2011, BUSINESS
    Investors warn on boardroom pay 28 SEPTEMBER 2011, BUSINESS

43. let me see if i can make head or tails of this situation.
    the gov ment must not travel by airplane. horse and buggy acceptable
    the govment must not leave the island.Must stay home and babysit its people
    Chris Sinckler must Not EVAAAAAAAAAAA hold a press Conference . Backstabber or Traitor !Right!

44. @ac

A very simplistic analysis based on concerns raised.

45. If cost 800 million total financing might be on the order of 1.3 billion. Guess they really want to show off. How the debt to gdp will be able to take that without downgrade would be a interesting as government is still currently adding 500+ million a year in debt to finance current account & capital projects.

46. yeah yuh guys make it seem as if it is that simple. Teleconferencing. Have yoiu guys thought about individuals schedule. There are a myriad of reasons as to why in some circumstances it is not always possible to use technology. How about signing certain legal documents. Time concerns very important . as because of varying time zones. Sometimes before getting on the “HIGH HORSE” make sure none of his legs not broken.

47. this is of course if they didn’t do the same thing the blp did for dodds say the price in us but forget to tell everyone that.

48. 李得胜

49. 讷于言而敏于行

50. DO YOU EXPECT CIVIL SERVANTS TO GIVE UP THE DAILY ALLOWNACES THEY GET WHEN THEY GO OVERSEAS ON GOVERNMENT BUSINESS ??
    DONT you know that everybody thinks that Government is a fountain of money ???
    DO you think that civil servants care about you ???