Submitted by Yardbroom

Mia Mottley, former leader of the Opposition

In making a political decision you “must” factor in what is the likely outcome and how you will respond to it, obviously to your advantage…..that is real politics.  We are where we are, therefore the present situation has got to be dealt with.  The euphoria – for some – in the recent successful change of leader in The Barbados Labour Party is almost a distant memory but the heat of the next general election has already started to warm the hands of a few; others can feel the chill of defeat.  In balancing the risk factors resulting from that change of leadership and how to turn them into a positive result, it will take the acumen of a keen actuarial brain coupled with tactical awareness; but so it should be for the prize is to be the next Prime Minister of Barbados.

Like him or loath him, Owen Arthur was able to persuade his parliamentary colleagues to support his bid for re-election as leader of the Party.  I will not concern myself here with the minutiae of that challenge germane as it is.  I am looking forward.

A section of the electorate – even here on BU – who are dedicated DLP supporters seek to praise Mia Mottley with a view to sow discord in the BLP ranks; not to be outdone a few BLP supporters are praising Chris Sinckler and even asking why he is not leader of the DLP, such activists – not always – seek to be mischievous and appeal to ego.

My track record in these things is fairly solid; so I will be up front once again.  The outcome of the next Barbados General Election will depend on decisions made in the BLP,  having made such a bold statement I must explain the reasoning which underpins it.

Owen Arthur has a difficult decision to make, the BLP will not win an outright victory – with a governing majority – unless Mia Mottley is on board.  Arthur has to decide how that feat will can be accomplished, politics is about practicalities and outcomes.  The best brains and ideas are useless unless you are in Government and in a position to implement policy…all politicians know that.

Mia Mottley has more power now to influence events than she did before, to compound that she is rock solid in her constituency, the bell is not tolling for Mia Motley.  Others might wish that were the case but it is not so.  In examining a political situation one must stand back from a stance based on personal likes or dislikes, a failure to do so ensures flawed thinking.

A political construct based on what has happened or is happening to a particular party in America, Canada, UK or other Caribbean islands does not take account of the peculiarities of Barbados politics, where positions are fashioned on a myriad of issues beguiling to an outsider.
The Barbados General Election campaign started some time ago, it is now the fine tuning which has to take place, for if the BLP fails to act – whatever the economy – the DLP will gallop away with a resounding victory.

You might have noticed there is no mention here of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, neither have I sought to highlight the abilities or otherwise of Chris Sincker, my reasoning is that to do so at this juncture and in this submission would be to take my eye off the ball.  I have focused on where the “real action” is and the factor which will determine the outcome of the next general election in Barbados.  I have no wish list of any kind, just naked pragmatism.

Others might take  different views, those I will respect but they are theirs to give.

Can Owen Arthur offer anything to Mia Mottley and if he did would she accept his offer, or perhaps more pertinent should she accept, or are the wounds too fresh.  The clock is ticking and only they can decide but the words exchanged between them and the body language presented and perceived by the Barbados electorate will determine the future of Barbados for a decade or more.  Other issues are significant and will to some degree impact on the next Barbados general election, my omission of them does not mean they are trivial but I contend that the Mia Mottley Owen Arthur factor will determine the real prize…the next Prime Minister of Barbados.

1. Yuh know, if Mia could say something that we could judge, the ‘five’ could be looking for seating at general elections. If it was that she took a decision on integrity to benefit the island she would hardly be scoffed. She can give an insight as to her activities during the time – as she does so eloquently – and then let the public decide where Owen and his team can step off or stay on. She remains silent and so we await Owen to state his reason other than personal views on lifestyle. A lifestyle issue in Barbados can be brought to the public and we will deal with it accordingly. Barbadians uphold integrity even if not by legislation.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Scout:
    However, whichever party is successful, it would be in the country’s best interest that a strong opposition be formed to keep the ruling government in check.”

If the current management of this country’s financial and economic business continues on its present course both the lame duck Government and its monkey-teasing opposition would have very little say in the decisions that would be taken. A new set of managers will be in charge- hired by the country’s overseas creditors who have decided not to extend further credit (snatch back /eat the credit card) or to call in the loans. It might be more palatable to accept the presence of the international mangers of finance (imf) than to play “poor great” and be visited by the bailiffs just to be laughed at by our envious and watchful neighbours who are just anxious to see Bim fall from its socio-economic pinnacle so that they can have a good laugh at our alleged pomposity.

3. To be provocative Mia has a vested interested to clarify the matter in the public eyes given her political aspiration. The St. Joseph Hospital Inquiry and Sir Branford comes to mind.

4. @Prodigal Son……..It was never my intention to draw you or anyone into matters of the heart,for all I did was state a few facts that you seem unable to refute.Mia was the same Mia she is today when she was made deputy,proclivities and all.This episode is made easier if you and others recognize and admit the opportunistic dealings of the so called master tactician,who seems to think that it is a birth-right of his to be Barbados’s Ruler.Time will tell the tale that you and others now seek to deny…..Ps… lets not concern ourselves with who is gay and who is not. Ya might mek me rename the B L P.

5. Mia Mottley does not need advice from the likes of me, but she should not speak on this matter. I say this without any self interest but only to be reasonable.

It is for her accusers to bring the charge with evidence to substantiate the charge, and then she can defend herself. She cannot be expected to lay a charge against herself for others to say oh no! it was not that,it was something else.

I am not taking sides here, but trying to have a balanced view in the interest of fairness to all parties.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom:
    So you are with me on this one! MAM is innocent until proven (or even assumed) guilty. It is only by the submission of evidence, albeit inconclusive and circumstantial, that we the jury can have a feel for the intricacies of the case brought before us. Unless the prosecutor and witnesses can offer a semblance or thread of evidence to support the charges before the court of public opinion, CASE DISMISSED!!
    Yardbroom, Sweep these accusers out of the Court yard! We have seen a similar ploy in the scene where Jesus was sent before Pilate. No evidence, just malice! (Please don’t jump to the conclusion that I am putting MAM on the same plane or cross as Jesus Christ). Far from, MAM has her shortcomings just like us all but deserves a fair hearing but only after charges understandable to the public are laid.

7. Wasn’t Mia invited to a meeting at their Roebuck Street Headquarters the day before she was to be removed as leader to make her case and defend herself and she bluntly refused to do so citing that the invitation was shared with the media? She is a lawyer and one wonders why she did not want to defend herself as commonsense would tell you that something had to happen to cause her removal.

As far as I can see, the BLP does not have to even invite her to the party if she thinks she is so damn important. Without the BLP, she would not be that important, do you really think the Dems want her? She needs the BLP!

8. @prodigal
    Steupseeeeeeeee!

9. WHY cant I find Questions to ask on this particular thread ????

IF Owen Arthur was so Bad, Howcum I did not hear that before ???
    WHY should I believe people talking nonsense about Owen Arthur ????
    WHA’ Owen do some o wunna ????
    YOU dont know that some people does mek yuh laugh with the mek -up stories about our public figures ????

10. @Prodigal

Does it matter what the voters think?

11. Home you bring christian understanding to the BLP yardfowls who make it seem like Owen will win elections on a canter after the trailer load of lashes he hold less than a year ago in St. John. What utter crap. The DLP is trying its utmost in the worst prolonged recession in modern times. They cant deliver on a few of their promises because there is no finance to do so and the reason this is so is because USA, Britain and the Euopean countries are catching their royal asses economically. They are our major trading partners for Gods sake. Owen can talk all the drunken economics he wants he dont have the magic bullet Obama, Cameron, Sarkozy etc cant find. He too will have to scrunt in power so bring him back to do what take cruel revenge on the people who he believe voted his ass out. No way I say the Dems are fighting the good fight for the people and society of Barbados.

The educated and deep thinker who is Bdos’ PM is in no one’s pocket and thats a good yet rare thing. Cant say the same about Owen and his Prior Park rustlers who ambushed poor Mia. Their Waterloo is on its way dont fret what goes around comes around. No brief for Mia but on the ground the support and admiration for her surpasses that for the APM gang. My own survey reveals the Dems will retain the government to continue their honest hard work to earn foreign exchange for citizens and to house and progress the people of this great island state. Owen is the past . It is important we make him stay there.

12. It is not in OSA’s DNA to reveal or explain why Mia was removed so wunnah could call till the cows come home and be none de wiser.

The only offer that Owen could make to Mia to get her back on board would be to surrender his job to her, so unless OSA makes her an offer she can’t refuse the dance floor will be empty.

Speaking of dancing I just remembered this oldie…. if that Mocking bird don’t sing he’s gonna buy me diamond ring…..that’s it he gonna buy her a diamond ring.

13. Parliamentarians have the right to choose a leader, and to change their mind if they want. I been in town too long. I did not know that Arthur or Ms. Mottley could make themselves leader.I was in town when Branford and Barrow fall out; when Adams and Bree fall out. It ain’ do a thing to the election chances. Fail to see why the unseemly removal of Mascoll did not affect DLP chances, and the removal of Ms. Mottley will make a diference to BLP chances. Politicians used to gather in my father shop talk, quarrel and cuss one another. Some get some good blows, but took it in good part. And mind you I never see any of them carry on to endanger the party or country, but it might be a woman ting. To me Bajans right now concerned about the crisis in their pocket and want somebody to do something about it. While some feel for her I do not know that they will saddle themselves with this inept incompetent government for five more years because she is not leader. The Bajan public do not have confidence in her to deal with this situation, I think they would consider her down the road, but certainly not now. So what is the problem? For Bajans to put in the dems because Ms. Mottley get tek down, dey head would want examining. I still feel that she can lead. Some like her, just wait her chance, others will get past the lifestyle.

14. @Bajan Truth

Your position is flawed. Mascoll was replaced by a leader who was vastly popular than he ws on the national front and to boot he succumb to the politics of inclusion so there was no perception of in house conflict after he went over, in fact it was removed.

15. David, but if memory serves, there was discontent in a small section of DLP over the matter, as is the case in the BLP. After his dismissal Mascoll did not seek to exploit it and manipulate national emotions to play out an agenda. He left and went the other side. All the polls to date demonstrate that Arthur is more popular than Ms. Mottley, Stuart, or Sinkler. This is depsite the fact that Peter W. has tried to revise the published numbers of a poll to suggest ms. Mottley was two point sbehind Arthur. never published such a thing in 2010. Arthur is the most popular. So what is your point, David?

16. @Bajan Truth

The point is that it is Mia’s right to take the political path she wishes. If our read is correct Mascoll has suffered politically for his decision and many believe because of the decision to cross the floor he has been relegated to the political dustbin of history.

To fast forward Arthur now finds himself having to wrestle the St. James constituency from a loyal BLP servant to sneak Mascoll into the lower house.

17. the manner in which both mr mascoll and miss mottley was taken down was and is despicable in both cases. the situations are similar. mr thompson noting mr mascolls somewhat success in obtaining more seats under mr mascoll’s leadership and observing a growing discontent by the electorate and with his trump card clico cheque in hand sensed victory and aided and abetted by the black elite negrocrats masquerading as grassroots in the party clandestinely plotted to remove their only grassroots politician whom he undermined in parliament by his silence. the evidence is there for all to see. i see such satirical rubbish in the paper suggesting that had mr mascoll play loopy dog like mr kellman and mr estwick by now he and not mr stuart would have profited from mr thompson’s demise. utter rubbish. we might not like his decision which i considered hasty but in the overerall scheme of things i do no know how he could have remained in a party which progresses to be grassroots and treated him like that. now in miss mottley’s case, bajan truth, mr arthur too sensed victory realising the deficiencies in the party without mr thompson’s leadership and plotted to to regain the reins of power but again bajan truth it is the manner in which her removal was done and the vile comments made by mr arthur against a colleague whom he elevated. mr arthur needs to explain his actions as well as the circumstances surrounding the receipt of the cheque from clico. i understand that both parties receive campaign contributions but i want to know if the cheque remained in mr arthur’s personal bank account or was transferred to the account of the party. if not, no matter how well in my estimation he has managed the economy, he has been found to be a thief and is not fit to hold office.

18. david your commehnnt-to be provocative- at 4.55. please clarify the link sir barandford, st joseph hospital enquiry.

19. @balance

By deliberate leaving the St. Joseph matter unresolved rumour was allowed to ferment which was a political death knell for Sir Brandford.

Not that in the cases of Mascoll and Mottley is the right of the parliamentary group to support the leader of their choice. This is not the argument here.

20. Fuh real, you could want to be leader you colleagues got to vote for you, they did not. You cannot grab it, the question should be put to Ms. Mottley’s colleagues, and it would seem she nor them relish verbalising the answers. I keep hearing talk about the way it was done. Whether Mascoll or Ms. Mottley like it or not people have to get together and vote. That is no crime.The only difference between Mascoll and Ms. Mottley’s story is that Mascoll asked for the opportunity to do it in a way to save face, let him resign and hand over, but according to him, Thompson chose to humiliate him by sending to the Gov. General behind his back, despite his offer. Thompson is a nasty scoundrel, very Machiavellian. In Ms. Mottley’s case according to them, they had a meeting invited her to provide a chance to put a united front but she refused. Instead held a demonstration, what childishness. People are not obligated to have a person as leader, you do not own the leadership. All the talk about democracy and she cannot respect people’s democratic vote. What was nasty was Arthur going on TV several months in front, to strike back at her unfortunate remarks that she was supposed to have made publicly to their national conference. Balance -The money you should be asking about is the millions given to DLP for the last election and millions for this one, that come from Clico, which got the resources 300m in assets missing. Robbing Bajans of what is their right that is what Bajans will be mad as hell about next election, silence aint contentment. You should ask if Thompson get back his money while telling Bajans to keep paying, the company is sound. If you had any balance or objectivity you would recognise that 300m that mek paupers out of honest hardworking Barbadians surely deserves more attention from you.

21. The Mascoll and Mottley cases are different Mascoll was democratically voted out as leader of the DLP by the full party even as he abruptly left the leadership of the party and crossed the floor in one of the most disgraceful acts in local political history. Mascoll was plotting with Arthur long before that making his cross over much more distasteful.

Mottley was double crossed and backstabbed in secrecy. Two completely different scenarios.

22. David don mek muh laugh how he is on a dump heap. Simmons cross he not in a dump heap, Hammie cross and will win again, others cross but end on the heap. Unless you are clairvoyant, how is Mascoll on the political dump heap. I think he lost last time by 200 votes, in a major swing away from the Bees and piles of money spend in a hand to mout constituency. Check yuh crystal ball again, and it will tell you, its too early to call if he finds a constituency.

23. Passing thru – you was dey because no such info came out. What was back stabbing,tell us more because the papers only stated they had a meeting to discuss voting again for a new leader, what is wrong, they called a meeting and invited her, what was wrong, They met and did the vote what is wrong. When they voted for her the first time were they backstabbing Arthur, when she called for a second vote when there was unrest and Arthur was making his move, they voted for her and decided to make it unanimous, did they back stab Arthur. When they voted next time they voted for Arthur, did they back stab her. That is politics, voting and democracy get over it. Making ten mountains out of a loss at a poll,like it is the last chance. Wheel she can still win their vote.

24. @ Bajan Truth

I think he lost last time by 200 votes, in a major swing away from the Bees and piles of money spend in a hand to mout constituency

Heh Heh heh. Never thought I’d live to see the day when a political operative refers to a constituency as “hand to mout”. It has me wondering if there are affluent constituencies which may be more suitable for BLP candidates.

The politician whom you are advising would be wise to ignore it, and I recommend a course in “How to Win Friends” before you comment on politics again.

25. @Bajan Truth

It is not that he may not win again more that his legacy has been forever tainted as a politician. Does not mean he can find a way to deliver some modicum of contribution.

26. In Barbados many leaders have been changed overtime and without any fallout. Grantley Adams replaced Freddie Miller in the 1966 elections. Errol Barrow after he had resigned the leadership in 1976 came back. Sleepy Smith is reported to have said that once Barrow was there he was only subbing.Thompson replaced Mascoll in 2006.the Dems felt they had a better chance with Thompson and they chose him. Leaders cannot and do not choose themselves. they serve at the behest of their colleagues and must have the confidence of their backers to lead. Owen replaced Mia with the majority of members voting for Owen. He could not say he wanted the job and get it.Bear in mind a year perviously Mia had the qualified support of the team..the BLP must have believed that in the present circumstances that Owen Arthur was their best bet. The elections will prove whether this is right ofr wrong. but I detect a mortal fear of Owen Arthur from the Dems and they believe that trying to demonise Owen will make their case. I doubt it. The people of Barbados know Arthur. They know of his shortcomings and they know of his successes. Among this crowd Owen is a colossus. Owen Arthur has been the most successful and effective PM Barbados has ever had bar none. His record is living proof of work well done and a man who has served his people well. the Dems have floundered they have committed mistakes ,bleeps and blunders at an alarming rate. No on could do worse if they tried.. The Dems must defend their record. Arthur record is clear it is one of success and it is visible on the landscape of Barbados. Think on these things

27. Hell bent on the destruction of the Democratic Labour Party Owen Seymour Arthur engaged in a campaign of torture, torment and intimidation against anyone that dared to make known their support for the Dems.That tactic was quickly followed by the dangling of enticements,a move that caught only the fickle and the opportunistic,of which one Clyde Mascoll heads the cast of characters.Prayer tell us all BAJAN TRUTH, how does one spend one’s entire life preaching from the old testament and at the drop of a hat comes denouncement of that very doctrine.Mind you this is not just a lay person of which we speak,this is the voice that wills the flock.Do you not see where integrity,loyalty and trust will certainly be questioned? Let me not get side tracked with the lack of political acumen of this Stepney( and i get dat from owen) lets focus on the root of the problem that now haunts the Labour party.Owen Arthur has to deliver on the promises that came in the package of enticement,and to do such he has to be the leader.We were told of his choice for the position of Co-Leader.Dare I say that this prospect is as fictional as The Republic Of Barbados,a thought that just happened to coincide with the campaign to destroy the Dems. Discount or discredit the female vote all you want Mr.Bajan Truth,”de women in bim”may well have a voice that some will not very soon forget.In the still of the night Mia Mottley fell victim to “de old boys club” all because Owen Arthur has to find a way to pay the piper.Karma suggests that the song the Piper played was entitled The Last Post.As Bajans can we be so lucky?As always time holds the answer.

28. those headlines are misleading. in all it is only18% which gives a poor grade. The Barbadian people are not all that dumb anybody can read numbers that are skewed for sentimentalism. The real story is 82% of people gives a favourable grade to government .

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac:
    “The Barbadian people are not all that dumb anybody can read numbers that are skewed for sentimentalism. The real story is 82% of people gives a favourable grade to government.”

There are three types of lies: Lies, damned lies, and statistics.
    Which lie is that you just told?
    Would you say that from the recent IMF report that the Government scored is excess of 80% on performance?

30. WHY is Freundel Stuart still Prime Minister of Barbados ????
    WHY is Chris Sinckler not taken over like how Holiness has taken over in Jamaica ??

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Just Asking:
    Because CS is still wet behind the ears and must first prove his mettle as a ‘competent’ Minister of Finance!

32. WHY has -Chris Sinckler not taken over the Prime Minister ??
    IF Chris becomes PM , will Kellman still hold a ministry ??
    Will Arni Walters regain his prominence ?
    Will the DEMS win the next election even though they want to lose it ???
    WILL we get an election in 2012 May ???

33. DO we want Chris -YES or NO ?????

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING:
    “DO we want Chris -YES or NO ?????”
    YES!! BUT ONLY AS MINISTER OF FINANCE & ECONOMIC AFFAIRS FOR THE DURATION OF THIS SESSION OF PARLIAMENT!!
    If the Dems were to be re-elected with FS as PM,CS will not be in charge of Finance. FS would be emboldened by his electoral victory and with this mandate appoint his deceased friend’s brother to the position of exchequer as promised in the “time longer than twine’ compromise.

35. @miller
    it ain;t that tell the big Whopper of the Lie .,It is the daily rag

20% Good
    40% Fair
    22% don’t know
    that is a total of 82% favorability

18% Poor..
    Even if the 22% is removed that still gives the government a 60% favourable view in these harsh economic times. Now OSA must be saying to himself ” Barbadians must be real r..ss hole to be giving the country favourable ratings . Now MIA must be beginning to look like Xmas morning to OSA ‘all gift wrapped.

36. ac you are bang on target the survey’s real story is only 18% Bajans voted government doing a poor job .Owen huffing and puffing still no traction for him and the co-leader. BarbadosToday like The Nation always on the look out to make governmentt look bad. Trinidad government is rated worse than Barbados according to the survey.

37. and them 22% wishy washy . It all depends on the weather . Something like Scout i would put him in the 22% . But by election time them 22% would be split most of them independent. So the DLP must do all they can to court them. Them de kind that love to save they money.

38. Now we all know that the management of our public affairs by this Government has been less than stellar, but the attempt to canonize Owen Arthur by BLP operatives is nothing short of a sick joke. Yes he was successful, but he also failed to restructure and retool our economy when he had the chance. In fact, we would not now be in such a poor rakey condition had he done so. There is absolutely no doubt about this.

To all those who feel that Miss Mottley has no support and refuse to accept that the public needs to be assured that the Party in Government is settled and united you have to look no further than the 14 years the BLP was in office and the Dems were in Opposition. It don’t take an Einstein to see that as soon as the Dems finally settled down and chose their most popular leader, coupled with the unanswered questions about corruption by Arthur that the electorate was prepared to give them a chance.

What many people here overlook is the part that George Payne has played in the overthrow of Miss Mottley. Where was the meeting held? At his house. What we should be asking is what is the deal that was struck between him and Owen Arthur and who will outfox whom if they regain the seat of power. Bajans would be well advised to keep these two men as far away from any position of power as they can.

I have heard enough stories from his victims to know that Owen Arthur is the most vindictive PM ever to rule this country. People used to say that Tom Adams was vindictive, but Arthur makes him look like Mother Teresa.

The fact remains that the public feels that these men un-faired Mia Mottley. WIll it influence how they vote? It is a possibility among some BLP supporters who I have heard say they will not be voting next election. The fact that there is disunity in the party is likely to have far greater resonance among the wider public.

As far as the Government’s performance goes, does anybody remember how Bajans marched against Sandiford and then gave him another chance. Has anything changed to make them act any differently this time around? I doubt it, since unemployment at even 12% does not compare to the 24% percent that decimated so many families back in 1994 when they finally had enough of Sandiford. Not to say that our economy is not precariously perched, but it seems that the public does not yet realize this.

So we will see who going be dancing come the morning after elections.

39. DAVID I THINK IT WAS DELIBERATELY LEFT UNRESOLVED BECAUSE THE SYSTEM ACROSS THE DIVIDE DID NOT WASNT TO TARNISH THE REPUTATION AND GOOD NAME OF ONE OF ITS OWN. WHY HASN’T THE DLP RELEASE THE REPORT AS PROMISED? REMEMBER TOO IN THE HEIGHT OF ALL THE RUMOR AS YOU CALL IT, MR TAITT WAS ACCOMPANYING MISS MILLAR ALL AROUND THE GLOBE TRYING TO INFLUENCE COUNTRIES TO SUPPORT THE NOMINATION OF SIR GEORGE ALLEYNE TO ONE OF THESE IN MY VIEW DON’T DO ANYTHING PRESTIGIOUS BODIES. NOTICE HOW THE SYSTEM OF GOVERNANCE HAS BEEN FINE TUNED TO THE ART OF PLAYING US FOR SUCKERS.

40. BAJAN TRUTH DO NOT GET HOT. I AGREE ALL THE THINGS THAT YOU SAY SHOULD BE ASKED SHOULD BE ASKED AND I ASK ABOUT WHAT IS IN THE NEWS.MR THOMPSON ACCUSED MR ARTHUR OF RECEIVING A PERSONAL CHEQUE FROM CLICO WHICH MR ARTHUR PLACED IN HIS PERSONAL ACCOUNT AND MR THOMPSON SUPPORTED THE ACCUSATION BY EXPOSING THE EVIDENCE FOR ALL TO SEE..MR ARTHUR HAS NEVER TO MY SATISFACTION AND OTHERS EXPLAINED THE CIRCUMSTANCES SURROUNDING THE RECEIPT OF THE CHEQUE. ALL I ASK BAJAN TRUTH IS IF THE CHEQUE WAS TO HELP THE PARTY WITH CAMPAIGN FUNDING, DID IT FIND IT’S WAY INTO THE PARTY,S COFFERS, IF NOT WHY NOT? PURE AND SIMPLE. SINCE THE EXPOSITION, MR ARTHUR WAS NEVR HIS FORMER SELF AND ONLY REGAINED A LITTLE STING SINCE THE SICKNESS AND DEATH OF HIS NEMESIS; AFTER MR THOMPSON EXPOSED THE INFELICITY, HIS BITE LEFT HIM AND THE USUAL BITING REPLY TO THE OPPOSITION LEADER’S REPLY WAS NOT TO BE. ON THE OTHER HAND, MR ARTHUR HAS NOT SO ASED OR EXPOSED MR THOMPSON NOR IS THERE ANY EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THE COMMENT THAT HE OR THE PARTY RECEIVED 300MILLION OR WHATEVER YOU SAY IT IS FROM CLICO. I HAVE NO BRIEF FOR MR ARTHUR. I AM ON RECORD ON THIS FORUM OF PRISING MR ARTHUR FOR HIS ECONOMIC MANAGEMENT OVER THE LAST 14 FOR MANAGING TWO BIT ECONOMIES LIKE BARBADOS WHERE FREENESSES ABOUND IS NO EASY TASK AS THE DLP IS NOW FINDING OUT , BUT LEADERS MUST BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE MORESO THAN OTHERS AND MR THOMPSON MUST BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR HIS ACTIONS IN RELATION TO CLICO.

41. @j for jerome
    no one has to canonise Arthur. he is as human as any one of us. The facts are that he has been successful experienced and gave account of his srtewardship. you just call a spade a spade. This economy was retooled under Arthur, check out tourism, the sugar industry , the cultual lindustries , the tax system, .the offshore banking sector and manufacturing. You will see changes , diversification but we can get back to that.Tthe problem is that the DEMS must take the baton and move on in these areas.

If you think Mia is the best leader then invite her to lead the Dems. you would have the besat of both worlds. you would be able to praise her and she would lead a party you like , but I doubt it I thiink you live in morrtal fear of Owen. You are afraid that as Owen is the leader you will have little chance of winning. The second eleven which the Demis have is no match for Owen who has experience success and capabality. the Dems are piss poor and their mistakes are many.

TIhe problem with this group is not only the level of unemployment . It is also the cost of living. The government has shown no ability in this area . It was a hoax to pretend they could do something about it. i know you are disappointed, but hope is on the way. Keep your chin up.Owen is not your problem . He is your solution Think on these things

42. The BLP annual conference to be held this weekend none of the post will be contested.

Jerome Walcott – Chairman
    Dale Marshall – 1st VP
    Maria Agard – 2nd VP
    Treasurer – Doug Skeete

43. Think on what true to form the stinking conspiracy to topple Rawle Eastmond and insert Clyde Mascoll or the sinister dipsy doodling to shift Cynthia Forde for Mascoll and Arthur to cherry pick her seat. Bajans not foolish they are thinking on these things.
    The gulf between Mia and Owen is so wide the $65 million the BLP saddled taxpayers with in payment to shoddy contractor Barrack could not fill it. We are thinking a party with such a deep rift is a recipe for disaster if they get a sniff of politcal power.

44. @ac
    82% favourability? Well Freundel should call elections.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ enuff;
    With a rating so high it would be political advantageous to call election just after the party’s 4th year in office. There is no need to carry on with mandate given to the David Thompson Administration. FS should go the electorate and seek his own mandate thereby securing an additional 5 year term where he can be his own man, wear his own shoes and silence his internal enemies.

What doeth thou, FS?

46. If Stuart did not call elections one year ago after Thompson’s death when he would have been a shooin, why would he now?

Stuart has no choice but to go the tern now.

47. @David: “Stuart has no choice but to go the tern (sic) now.

Well, duhhh….

The real question now is, what will the electorate do when they are allowed to express their opinion.

Will they simply switch the Government?

Or will they hold their elected officials to account?

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    “Stuart has no choice but to go the tern now”
    Stuart has more chances of winning the elections if called within the 1st half of 2012 than later. If things continue as they are, the economy will be in such a bind Stuart will be forced to call elections because of the unpopular measures that must be taken. The sooner the better.

49. @enuff
    With all the internal theatrics that has befallen the BLP. Stuart isn;t in any hurry to call election as in the meantime the BLP implodes from within.called elections for what. The BLP has already given him an easy win.