Submitted by islandgal246

A strange thing happened to me on Monday September 19th 2011. I went to deposit some US cashiers cheques (bank drafts I received from family last week ) to my savings account with a local bank that has been operating in Barbados for some years. I proceeded to fill out the deposit slip in front of the teller and told her that I was depositing  two US bank drafts.

I know that they normally take 30 days to clear so that was not a problem and it was my savings account after all.  The teller took my drafts and went to speak to another employee who sat behind a desk. She came back and told  me that I cannot deposit these drafts to my account. So I asked her how else can I deposit them? She told me that it will take 30 days for them to clear and I must leave the drafts with them and when they clear they would put it on my account. I asked her how were they going to prove that I gave them these bank drafts? I also stated that I needed  an official receipt on their letterhead that I have left my drafts in their possession. The teller then pulled out a receipt book that was bought at a Bridgetown stationery and showed me. I asked in my best scornful voice if that was their official receipt? She replied  with a yes and that they would put their stamp on it. I asked if I lost my receipt or if they lost the book, how would I prove that I gave them these bank drafts.  She said that, that was a new procedure in the bank. I told them that was a backward and back street procedure and I have never experienced this in all my life banking in Barbados.  I took my drafts and left.

Next day I went to the bank,  requested a bank draft and  withdrew the majority of savings and deposited  them in my old bank along with the US bank drafts. I have an official record of my transactions with my old  bank and I know that my US drafts  will be cleared in 30 days.  I have lost faith in the former bank  and when I did some sleuthing on the net I learnt that they had lost a lot of money in 2010 due to loans to the hotel sector in their country of origin. They were bailed out by an English company. Many people who held stocks in that bank for many years have lost all their equity.

I related this story to a friend and she told me that she had a strange experience with that same bank. She was paid by someone with a cheque from that bank. She went to cash it with her ID. She was told that she needed the other person’s ID in order to cash the cheque. She asked them if they wanted her to take jail for carrying someone else’s ID card. She left and asked the person who had written the cheque to pay her in cash or issue her with another bank’s cheque.

This reminded me of the Trade Confirmers  and the CLICO debacle that enticed people with higher rates of interest. So Bajans,  beware of any procedures you find bizarre and not in keeping with local banking practices that you are used to. Please forsake the higher interest rates with these johnny come lately companies. It seems that we now have to go back to the *UTM  and forget the ATM.

*UTM…..Under The Mattress

1. What is so wrong by name the institution where you experienced this issue? Without it your readers are none the wiser. What was the point?

2. @ Islandgal246

That’s pretty strange.

I love to cook but when the butter falls on the floor in the kitchen, it can be pretty slippery and downright dangerous.

3. @Adrian: I am wondering about this scenario myself. If “islandgal246” person had a good experience at any institution or business I’ll bet she’ll have no problem in naming that institution, and they like that type of publicity. In the same manner, as long as she is telling the truth, she should not be afraid of bringing this awareness to the public. I also hope that she would contact someone higher up in the bank because there is usually “more in the mortar than the pestle” Very often some of these people who tend to be very particular are the very ones we have to keep an eye on.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

I agree with Adrian Hinds! If what Islandgal246 is a true report of events then we need to know the banking institution responsible for this load of crap. All the bank had to do was to credit your savings account with the Barbados dollar equivalent of the US $ draft (less their fees and commissions, of course !) and make the funds inaccessible for withdrawal until cleared through the system. You will be expected to forgo interest that should normally accrue during the 30 day “waiting” period- which I think is a big ripoff in this digital age. These transactions- when processed electronically should not take more than 7 days to be settled. But local banks like it so ! The longer the delay the more profit they make on your money without interest accruing to you. Time is money but not for you!

5. @islandgal

Agree that you should name the bank, if you are not comfortable doing so please email BU.

6. In case like this i would ask to speak to manager as this is not the normal protocol with any of the local banks. If it is indeed then i would follow the same course of action. The problem here i think is you should name the bank so they can defend their practices or state it was an error on part of the teller. Calling name gets actions to blog posts.

7. Agree, Islandgal should name the Bank. Sometime ago when Adrian Loveridge couldn’t get anywhere with FCIB over a dormant account he wrote about it here and the issue was cleared up tout suite.

I think what we have here is a “failure to communicate”, some of these “senior” people sit behind their desk at the various banks and send junior staff to explain issues to customers and when the customers complain or don’t understand the “junior” is left to say make some silly explanation e.g. “Its Bank policy”.

I may be wrong but from Islandgal’s post it seems like the Bank was not accepting the Drafts on Deposit but was going to send them on “Collection” which means that the Bank would mail the Drafts to the Issuing Bank which in turn would negotiate the items and send the cleared funds either by wire or another Draft back to Islandgal’s Bank. Why they would do this is beyond my limited understanding if Islandgal already had Bank drafts issued by the US Bank but the workings of some Banks in Barbados remains a mystery to me.

In the Bank’s defense this is a very sophisticated world where cash and credit cards can be counterfeit and Drafts can be altered or forged with spectacular results and Banks are wise to take precautions to minimize losses. That being said the Bank should also acknowledge the impact of some its actions when they deal with long time customers but it seems that there is an attitude of “we don’t need you, you need us”.

8. David it is very easy to figure out the name of the bank, there are not many branches on the island and they were the last to come in. I followed up and spoke to a manager and was told that was their procedure. I told him that I would never be doing business with this bank again.

9. Thanks islandgal, you must be referring to Butterfield Bank. This is a bank which has been having financial issues and required a heavy capital injection a couple years ago. The bank has been sending home people both in Bermuda and. Barbados.

10. what it was was a scam between the two bank employees trying to rob you, raise an official complaint with the bank about your concerns

11. That’s unfortunate. I would like to recommend that you can create a PayPal account and get overseas funds sent to you online directly into your local account. It is so much easier, safer and stress-free than having to deal with the banks.

I know some persons here and overseas might prefer to still send and receive money the traditional way, but it is so much more convenient and cheaper to use PayPal.

This year for the first time PayPal has allowed Barbados and most other countries in the Caribbean to receive funds into their account online from overseas.

12. I agree that you should name the Bank and I also agree that it should have been reported to Management. This is in no way normal procedure and sounds to me too that it was a scam attempt by Bank employees.

13. I have deposited foreign bank drafts with them and never had the same experience. That said one horrible experience can make you change your business. You should write a formal complaint to either managing director Lloyd Wiggan, Managing Director or Glyne Harrison, Manager – Banking Operations about your complaint as that is not their standard banking practice.

14. These banks are not easy, A few years ago I went to Bank of Nova Scotia in Warrens to open an account .After waiting a half an hour an employee came to me and asked how can she help me. I stated that I am here to open an account. She told me that the waiting period would be long and I responded that I will wait. She then proceeded to tell me that to open an account I first have to make an appointment. I started laughing, and she looked puzzled. I asked her if I will have to make an appointment to withdraw my funds as well. I asked her if she is asking me to drive back home to come back another day She said yes. I told her she is clearly telling me something. She asked me what I meant by that, I responded that she is telling me to go elsewhere for better service and that they do not want my business. I left and went to RBTT and when I told them the story they laughed.

15. DICK HARDING aka STONES Avatar
    DICK HARDING aka STONES

Shame on Island gal for not naming the Bank—

COWARD !

Typical un-informed,fearful and mendicant female
    How do you expect to get solutions to problems
    Jokers !

16. RBTT always had mixed service for me some days good some day awful that why i left. soctia bank been ok. Didn’t have to wait to open an account like you obviously service level at the banks depend on which branch you go to. Some are whole lot better than other in the same Brand of Bank

17. Dicky harding aka blue balls

The Bank was named so what de rass yuh boddering me fuh!

18. I am glad the bank was named, it is unusual for this bank to be operating like such.A couple of months ago I did some wire transfers with them and they wee expedited rather quickly as a matter of fact after leaving the bank and going home, when I checked online the vendors already had their money in the account.The other banks take at least 1 working day, now for a bank to have this type of technology then on the other hand handle those US foreign drafts the same way we would handle drafts drawn in Singapore currency etc, by sending them on Collection desires questions to be asked.

19. @islandgal

Made a couple of inquires and what you described does not seem to be the policy of the bank.

You should register a complaint with one of the persons Anthony suggested.

20. Islandgal
    Ef I did wid you dah din gun happen causen I woulda start ta buse dem tellas stink,stink, n hole up my close fa all de customas ta see. Bank shut dung fa de res a de day. Simple. Two bumba-clawts dem.

Dicky Hard
    you got a problem wid women or wah?Da got sum men dat does get on like rale khunts tu so wah is ya point? Um in got nutton ta do wid genda.stupsee. Sum men, not all. Not good ta generalize. aaightttttttttttttttt?

21. A few years ago, while a client of FCIB i took a decision that i would not be paying the bank a charge for every cheque I wrote, having previously allowed to cheques a month free. Consequently, i wanted to untie my credit card account from my chequing account and requested that a check be made to see whether i had any outstaning commitements before so doing. The information gven was wrong and hence when i divorcesd the afornentioned two accounts, i subsequently got some finace charges which i refused to pay.

I took the matter to middle managment and was told that I would have the charges, i followed it up with a letter. the chrges were reversed but it was too late as i had severed contacts with the said bank. the morale of this story is fight the banks for your rights.

Some years ago, BNB wanted to chrage me for cheques written. I told them that they could not do so and the supervisor argured with me that they could, they had forgotten one thing ,that they had bought over chase manhattan bank and it customers and the agreement i signed with chase at the time alloed cheques to written free of any charges. After I advised her to do her homework and get back to me, she did and eventaully conceded that i was correct.

Consumers need to know their rights and banks dont like losing good customers..

22. You should never accept a stationery store hand-written receipt from any bank for anything you deposit. There are proper deposit slips, and foreign draft or not, they should be used. IG246, I have a feeling that someone tried to scam you. What you did was absolutely correct. bank employees aren’t above committing fraud, as many of us know only too well. I will certainly be watching my transactions with the same bank.

23. DICK HARDING aka STONES Avatar
    DICK HARDING aka STONES

Islandgal is a Coward and it is women like she who got things in Barbados screwed up because with the one parent homes and mendicant mentality, they bring their stupid mendicant behaviour to bear on their charges who are unable to do anything for themselves and are always looking for somebody to do it for them. Watch how they use their blackberry phones as though their lives depend on these devices. They cant do anything unless they get on the phone and ask somebody for instructions.This society is going down the drain influenced by women and their mendicant approach . All of a sudden , every little issue becomes a big mountain. WOMEN KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ANYTHING except gossip and causing stress.

Yes, I am have a problem with women
    Women are a problem

24. dicky hard aka purple balls ……LOL yuh ole bulla leff muh alone yuh woman hater. You would be surprised what I am capable of, in fact I will make your balls shrink further.

25. @Stone

your mother was not a man.

26. Dick … introspect. Head loads of canes, sweet bread and mauby, cornmeal bakes, sugar cakes with ginger/bay leaf, cocoa, meal pap, cornmeal cou cou, scale, gut and bone flying fish, school meals servers (eventually), not forgetting the uncertified, non-schooled and unqualified nurse, doctor and surgeon that practice fearlessly to ensure that you reach manhood – is whom you have a problem with today – she is WOMAN.

Take a deep breath – exhale slowly – share who you are to us and see which man (nurse or doctor) will assist you should you need medical assistance. I assure you that only a born again Christian will assist out of the goodness of her/his heart.

Your posting is strange for 2011.

27. Dicky Hard
    Listen ta me carefullly, I will say dis once. Doan tink ya evva herd it befo:

‘YOU, DICKY HARD, SHOULD’VE BEEN AN ABORTION”.

28. I have a fraudulent matter with this said bank right now which was reported earlier this year and to date I have not been reimbursed with any of my funds I am being told the matter is still being investigated

29. While fighting for change is noble, you must first look after your own interest.

Anytime you have a problem with a bank involving your money ask to see the manager.

It is also important to raise your voice (without shouting) to a level that those around you will hear.

It is YOUR MONEY.

30. when you raise a complaint and it gets rejected
    you raise a complaint with head office
    when head office reject it you raise a complaint with regulators
    get reference numbers for official complaints

31. What…y’all bothering with Stones the troll? REALLY? Don’t worry, Obediant…his parents must’ve been 2 men, and he seems to like them so much!

Now on to better things…the banks should have branded and printed stationery & legal form to do their business on. It does seem strange that this wasn’t done. If a scam was going on, though, it would have to have gone very high, as islandgal said she followed up with management and the same thing was said. I think it’s a case of having a new policy and they didn’t have the forms done up right just yet. I could be wrong. Either way, islandgal did the right thing for her money.

32. The marriage between CIBC and Barclays has ended in divorce, a quiet divorce if you please. The children (clients) are the last to know.

33. @Island Girl

What divorce? CIBC bought out Barclays in 2006 and I’m fairly sure an announcement was made in the local Press

34. So why are they reverting back to their old name and stationery. First Caribbean is reverting back to CIBC and Barclays I heard is redoing their stationery as well.

35. @islandgal

From the appointment of Monsour as Chairman and Barclays having to make do with CEO position you knew it was a CIBC take over and not an acquisition. They tried the FCIB brand but it is not working, they have been losing money. What you see is CIBC transitioning back to the CIBC brand.

36. indeed it as david said. Well not losing money but not making enough for profit to continuing growing year after year. cibc is better recognise brand. They should just drop the fcib part which will probably happen in a few years

37. @anthony

Agreed not making enough money when they match up with asset size.

38. Well it became Worst Caribbean where service was concerned. The customer is treated like cattle and they don’t seem to care. These banks want your money but don’t want to be bothered with the customers.

39. actually fcib is the only bank that never let me down on service. Butterfield bank , RBC and scotia bank one or twice really let down by the service. RBTT couple time let down by service. BNB is almost every other time i go there.

40. @islandgal246,

The same way you come here and articulate your points of view, you can demand to speak to the Bank manager if you do not get the service you are paying for.

They need your business and should treat you with respect.

41. Hants I have tried on many occasions talking to Managers of businesses where I have had problems, the problem is that these managers are incompetent or have no powers. I remembered call Scotia Bank about the incident I had with them. Well my phone call was sent to several persons before I got to the manager who was not very interested in what I had to say. She told me to hold on in the middle of my complaint because someone was knocking at her door. When she came back to the phone without any apology after keeping me waiting for over 20 mins, I asked her if the person at the door was more important than I. She asked if I wanted her to keep the person at the door waiting. I stupsed and put the phone down.

42. DICK HARDING aka STONES Avatar
    DICK HARDING aka STONES

Hants | September 25, 2011 at 9:58 PM |

@islandgal246,

The same way you come here and articulate your points of view, you can demand to speak to the Bank manager if you do not get the service you are paying for.

They need your business and should treat you with respect.

That is the thing that I have with people like Islandgal –women or men
    Islandgal is BIG COWARD who likes to talk

43. DICK HARDING aka STONES Avatar
    DICK HARDING aka STONES

you BONNY PEPPA should have been – GAS

44. Dicky Harding aka Purple Balls is a woman hater who is a piece of cat shoite! If Bonny should have been GAS you are definitely the SHOITE that come after the GAS. At least the GAS comes out invisible.

45. Greeting BU Bloggers
    Salutations
    Reality Update…..the worst is yet to come!
    [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oy0oEikZ470&w=640&h=360]

take care of yourself and each other

46. I have friends who work in several different banks here and I have asked them about this… It’s definitely a scam by the tellers and you should really report it to the manager of that bank.

With that said, I’m not sure whether or not I’ve been lucky, but I’ve been banking with RBC for quite a number of years now and I have never once had a serious issue with them. And I say “serious issue” because I have had my account manager, a pompous so-and-so, call me a few times to try to exert his power. Imagine, I go into overdraft by $3.14 for a total of 24 hours after which he calls me and uses a very condescending tone to inform me of what has happened, and then proceeds to DEMAND that I make a deposit before close of business that day, which might I add was within an hour and thirty minutes of him calling me! I simply asked him to review my history to see whether or not this was a regular occurrence, and informed him that a deposit will be made the following morning. LOL he stepped of his high horse and conceded.

I have heard so many complaints about all of the other banks; most notably for FCIB and Butterfield. I have also heard that Scotia “is the best”, but this comes from people who have been banking with them for YEARS! It’s not very easy to open an account with them nowadays; been there, done that.

I guess it comes down to personal preference and how much in fees you’re willing to pay for that preference. Scotia might be “the best”, but they’re also fairly expensive when it comes to fees, or so I’ve heard. You’ll just have to try them all until you’re happy, or get a safe and keep your money yourself!

47. DBain….to come to think of it I was the only customer there at that time in the Collymore Rock branch. But the receipt book they showed me was one that was bought from Rogers Stationery and had been used.

I don’t think it was a question of not having the printed stationery at the time of this new procedure because the deposit slip should be the official receipt for any type of deposit. Remember, I called and spoke to management who confirmed that was the new procedure.

David stated he called and was told different to what I stated BUT David did you ask if it was a foreign draft you were depositing? Whom did you speak to? I would like to give them a call as well.

48. Dicky Hard
    It is dick-heads like you dat mek me support de ‘abortion bill’ 100000%. you shoulda bin simply a jerk-off dat nite.