Submitted by Eli Davis

Peter Wickham recently sacked from the CBC TV8 has been at the forefront of calling for political campaign reform in Barbados

Every so often I get the urge to contribute (?) a comment to this forum that I believe merits attention. This time around it is that of The Business of the Political Campaign and its Financing. It is an issue that is basic in determining the relevance of our electoral process and, as a result of the moneyed interests involved, is the most difficult of topics to have discussed in public.

Few people would know that a study on this topic was commissioned by the OAS back in 2003 and resulted in a report that was published about three years later. My concern with the entire topic has to do with whether or not it is an appropriate topic for consideration in our current political environment that has demonstrated little in the furtherance of the long term viability of our peoples and nation states.

Basically, in my view anyway, a political party is simply an (legal?) entity that seeks to gain administrative control over the funds in the Treasury, and that’s it. How these are spent and on whom form the essence of the business of the party. The business requires that the populace be deceived into supporting the party campaign and once successful, that control over the funds be maintained for as long as possible.

Of course this necessitates that at the very least, the barest minimum be done by the incumbent to demonstrate that the concerns of the civilian population are being looked after. In fact today all that is really required is for there to be a “recognition” of the concerns, without the matching desire to make good on addressing them (through designing and implementing workable solutions). So the issue of how these (legal?) entities are funded will most certainly expose the nuts and bolts of the business of the political campaign.

Recently a popular public personality lost his pick at the CBC without an accompanying explanation. It is believed however that his involvement in a partial expose on the source of campaign financing in Barbados may have been one of the roots causes. If this is in fact the case, it is an action that needs to be highlighted as part of a deeper sinister whole, and an action that should heap shame on the present administration.

1. @ BAFBFP

I am just trying to try to make sense. Firing Wickham for what was in the Wikileaks cable simply makes no sense to me.

2. But the irony of it all is that Peter Wickham has been astaunch supporter of theFOI act . However he failed to reveal what inside information he knew publicly but was not hesitant to give such information to the USA government who has strung him out to dry.

3. @Enuff

I am just trying to try to make sense. Firing Wickham for what was in the Wikileaks cable simply makes no sense to me.

I am in agreement with those sentiments, perhaps many of us have been barking up the wrong tree and the Gov’t operative (CCC) has been conveniently stoking the story to make it appear that it was the Wikileaks story that caused the dismissal.
    The dismissal was almost coincidental with Wikileaks story and if my knowledge of Bajan politicians is sound, I don’t think that any of them makes these moves with any alacrity.
    There must be other reasons.

Time to put on your Sherlock Holmes hat

4. Oh shoite….Lawd I hope dat my past conversations wid Americans bout hey doan come back tah haunt muh. I now gottsa go and check my memory bank tah see wha I did say. Bonny yuh might be next two. It seem dem gots nuff wikki wikkers bout hey. I wunder what I gine lose from dese leaks? Pee?

5. Ultimate Insider Avatar

The problem for Mr. Wickham is that as a political pollster he should not be espousing his opinions to anyone. As a pollster his political neutrality is paramount as is confidentiality and these WikiLeaks cables (whether accurate or not) can only harm his career and his business, CADRES.

I think one only has to use one of the WikiLeaks search programs to realise the entent of cables in which is name is mentioned, which as we say in Bim is PLENTY. All of them mek up?

6. Islandchick

I hope you still look good, you got me in a mood now… Ooops look at that, I just now ..shups…. I gun need a napkin now …!

7. Enuff

Seriously, keep talking … There is obviously a real reason for firing the only true talent that works in that station… No no, dah ain’ mekkin nah sense, not in Ba’bados … Islanchick you still got me dizzy …

8. @Ultimate Insider

What you have just said makes absolutely no sense, political posters shouldn’t have personal opinions? Based on that he shouldn’t be on the CBC or Nation or anywhere, Wickham was and is very opinionated on many subjects.

What you should have said is that he should not let his personal opinions get in the way of any polling assignments that he should undertake.

Ultimate Insider, take a seat at the back of the class.

9. There is a move to bring BU into this fracas. Our position is clear, we are not prepared to attack Peter’s reputation on the basis of a Wikileak cable. It appears Wikileaks maybe a blind for what has happened.

Perhaps one of Peter’s recent interviews?

10. Hope you ain’ referrin’ to my friend Earl Bourne …

11. DAVID

Didn’t Wickham conduct some poll or the other a while back concerning the most popular members of a Party? That seems to be the thinking in my neck of the woods.

12. @looking

Why wait until now to act if that is the case?

13. Peter Wickham should model himself after Scott Rasmussen and continue to build out Cadres as the Gallup brand has been done. Indeed I think he has, but in the caribbean, politics and its actors are not very mature.

14. @ Sargeant

You are knucklehead. Are you aware that Mr. Wickham is a self confessed political analyst and public opinion pollster?

Ultimate Insider never said Mr. Wickham should not have opinions, what he said is that he should not have espoused them. I would add that he should not have have been providing information or opinions to the USA government. He has played with fire and got burnt.

15. Isn’t the information Wickham is alleged to have given the US not in the public domain?

16. Nonsense that a pollster should not make known his opinions on politics or any sector on which they conduct polling. Such is universal. Cadres has a record of integrity and accuratcy in its polling methods and results. Many pollsters also have consultancies, and give speeches and opinonate in the media as well.

Peter’s problem is the perception base on the written style of document —plenty attributes and an entire paragraph dedicated to his academic and professional bonafides— that he did indeed meet/converse regularly with embassey officials. There is an obvious concern about what else he might have said. Our Politicos do have a lot to hide.

17. Cuhdear:
    Wickham speaks openly, with his deeply held, genuine analysis at say a pleasant Champers all expenses paid evening with his US hosts.
    To judge the man for that would be to condemn every commentator upon this blog ( OK CCC excepted) as hypocrites,

Peter: your credibility and that of CADRES in the caribbean is fucked.

Being a regular conduit to a foreign state, whilst supposing scientific aloofness may have seemed attractive at the time,
    But those dinners, however pleasant, you may now regret as your ill advised words caused the death of our beloved CADRES.

Such a shame that a man with the inside track on so much political corruption in this region preferred to tittle-tattle it to foreign agents rather than use his priviliged position
    to enlighten the poor suckers who are forced to vote for these creeps.

18. Trick Bike

Peter Wickham gifted nothing to the United States of America. Plse refer to his earlier comment. I am leaning towards a more sinister reason for his dismissal … I feel somebody get horn …!

19. Check out http://cablesearch.org/ and search against Peter Wickham and see how many time his is referred to in embassy cables, from Barbados to St.Kitts to Grenda to SVG to Dominca.

Bajan politicians are hyper sensitive and naturally weary of the potential pitfalls, some real but alot perceived where none exist.

20. @BAFBFP…

Just wondering…

Have you read Machiavelli “The Prince”?

http://www.constitution.org/mac/prince00.htm

No one else seems to be willing to admit to doing so, even though it explains a great deal….

21. Trick Bike

I did what you said but instead I used the name David Thompson … oh shoot, allot a stuff came up. You mean to tell me that David Thompson was spying for the US as well?

22. But Chris

How you get so insightful ..?

23. @David
    That’s how our ‘Tricians behave.

24. @BAFBFP… I note you have not answered my question, but simply asked another.

How did *you* get so insightful?

25. Chris

Did you not know that I have Jewish ancestry?

26. @ Straight Talk

You are so diplomatic.

I especially liked “Peter: your credibility and that of CADRES in the caribbean is fucked.”
    Dinners….thats all, he spilled his guts for food. Thats rather queer, there must be more.

27. Seems the Nation is getting in on the act, there is newspapers to be sold:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/leaked/

Is it not strange how the US has been forced to apologize in the past as a result of cables leaked?

Will Phillip Goddard make a public statement?

Will other blogs currently making a stink about Peter make a similar stink about Goddard providing feedback to the US Embassy?

Will he get a pass because he is White?

28. Senator Phillip Goddard, a White Barbadian, is a spy. Now my attention will turn to John and Duppy Lizard, Rosemary Parkinson and Trick Bike, Zack and de hood and the rest ah de BFP crew (including Ian “Fat Arse” Bourne).

29. Intelligent agent inform that Comrade Wickham will talk with Barbados Today newspaper today. Now maybe you find out weather comrade be spy no?

… Intelligent agent not very happy with Comrade Goddard, he very major asset, maybe whole thing with comrade blow over no?

30. @David

You would have to know that the Peter Wickham’s leak was only the tip of the iceberg. I look forward to more revelations and some people are going to be very embarrassed. Can the leaks about money laundering and corruption be far off?

Let the denials start now.

31. Philip Goddard is more American than bajan. Of course he will get a pass on BFP.

32. @Sarge

Indeed, it is why BU has been cautious on the Wickham saga. Let us wait to connect the dots and see the big picture which emerges.

33. I will listen to and probably engage anyone who sees governance in Barbados for what it is-weak, inadequate, and in need of reform. Peter Wickham has a long history of seeing and speaking about this weakness, Mia Mottley more recently has done the same; although the circumstances under which she had undergone this transformation is suspicious, yet none other in parliament seems to understand that the Barbados economy cannot be reform and put on a growth path without reforms to governance.

In addition, Barbadians that the Americans and members of the minority White Bajans tribe seemingly want to destroy I am more likely to support. Mia Mottley equip herself well in her meeting with Ambassador Ourisman yet the Ambassador –in typical North American fashion- attempted to diminish Miss Mottley by relying on the opinions of former US Army warrant officer Phillip Goddard to tear her down.

Ambassador Ourisman as well as Mary Kramer has sought to diminish Mia Mottley in their cable submissions. What is it that they really fear about her? In Ourisman meeting with Mottley the concern of the Americans centered on access and issues American Business were experiencing in the Barbados market, noting that Mottley was not committing to any approach to address the US concerns since her ministry had no jurisdiction.

Mary Kramer seem not to like Government intervention in commerce –I don’t either- and this led to her negative comments on Mia for her speech she gave to the BIDC which Kramer titled MOTTLEYNOMICS – THE RETURN OF THE STATE? Undermining Mia seems not to be contained to the Arthur faction of the BLP, it seems like there is assistance if only in commentary, from the US. But doesn’t Mia BIDC speech not seems and sounds similar to Obamanomics? And what pray tell, is his reception in the US? Arthur once accused Thompson of benefiting from US help in an election, could he be attempting the same against Mottley?

34. Peter seemed to have been a jolly good friend to these Yanks. I can’t believe how many cables contain information purportedly supplied by Mr. Wickham.

It is interesting to see how frank the cable are in describing the attitudes of Barbadians politicians. In one the Ambassador says ” the only thing that matches her ignorance is her arrogance”.

35. Yes yes my Intelligent agent also confirm Comrade Wickham speak with Barbados Today. My Intelligent never use Political Analyst as spy, bu use Political Analyst as Political Analyst no?

36. @ Adrian Hinds

Both Kramer and Ourisman were Republican Ambassadors wtf do you expect but pro-market and homophoic/anti-gay rhetoric?

37. Mary Kramer was clearly being petty and emotional -typical of North American politico’s towards opposing opinions and ideiologies. I saw her pettiness as an attacked against government capitalist intervention more so than against Mia Mottley. She would have probably said the same about others with similar views.

The facts are that in cable after cable where Mottley’s opinoins are mentioned Mottley demonstrates an incredible breath of knowledge and understanding of the issues. Mary Kramer can be dismiss as demonstrating typical feminine bias towards someone that she feels is more intelligent than she is.

38. CEDAR FALLS, Iowa — Mary Kramer has opinions about everything, and she is happy to share them with anyone who asks.

But when Kramer is discussing politics or moral perspectives there is one thing she won’t include in the conversation — personal attacks against those with opposing viewpoints.

http://wcfcourier.com/news/local/article_10b9d52e-b6b7-5201-8016-b0d7eb6635c6.html

New Members Of Mitt Romney’s Iowa Leadership Team:

Former Ambassador to Barbados and Eastern Caribbean and Former Iowa Senate President, Mary Kramer, Clive
    Former State Representative and Former Chief of Staff to Governor Terry Branstad, Bob Rafferty, West Des Moines
    ……..

“We used to be able to debate issues without demonizing,” Kramer said. “We used data, wit and wisdom to make our point. Now we begin the discussion with attacks.”

Kramer, a former president of the Iowa Senate and former U.S. ambassador to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean, was on the University of Northern Iowa campus Tuesday to discuss the polarization of American politics. She said the slide to “rude, hateful dialogue” has been fast and steep since she ran for office in the ’90s.

Read More: http://wcfcourier.com/news/local/article_10b9d52e-b6b7-5201-8016-b0d7eb6635c6.html#ixzz1XBkOquUQ

39. I will advise Peter Wickham to press on with his work. He is one of the finest young citizens we have. There are always stumbling blocks and we should not be so critical of him simply because of this issue. Now they are leaking that Phillip Goddard a fomer candidate of the B.L.P and a consultant to former Prime Minister , Mr.Owen Arthur, has been a reliable contact for the US embassy.
    We need to grow up a bit, it’s a new day and information of this nature will now become the norm. I find no evidence that Wickham, in any way has tried to destabilise our country.
    Businesses and business persons have financed both parties from the very earliest days when the merchants used to send their trucks with corned beef , buscuits and rum to certain areas to buy votes.

40. @ David
    It is time we de-stress on this Wikileaks Cablegate. Unfortunately for Mr. Wickham, his credibility is in tatters. Going to the press for further clarification on what was said isn’t going to help the situation. Governments and Opposition Parties throughout Europe are silent on the revelations. The GOP and the Democratic Party in US are silent. However the founder of the Tea Party would like Assange to be executed.

Newspaper Quote -…… A prominent Tea Party group issued a statement Tuesday apparently calling for the execution of WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange for the recent release of confidential U.S. documents.

Judson Phillips, founder of Tea Party Nation, claims that WikiLeaks has done incalculable damage to American security by releasing the documents, noting that some of the leaked documents identify people in Iraq and Afghanistan that have helped the U.S.”If none of these people have been killed yet, it is only a matter of time,” Phillips wrote. “And now, it is time to tell Assange that we expect him to die.”
    End Quote

The most hilarious response to the leaks so far, is from is from the Chief Minister of India’s Uttar Pradesh State. She said that the founder of the Wikileaks should be in a mental asylum. Read the entire comment at
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-14800646. It is so so funny. lol

41. @BAFBFP

Do you know who owns Barbados Today?

42. Dear Eli Davis you wrote “an action that should heap shame on the present administration.”

But politicians and the present administration in particular have no shame.Didn’t the Prime Minister tell us that Leroy Parris is his friend (with the implication that he will not throw Leroy Leroy to the wolves (sorry I mean policy holders) even if Leroy deserves such a fate?

There is no difference between the PM’s “he is my friend” statement and the statements of those parents who stand in the courtyard and say of their sons “he is my son, and he is a god boy”

43. David

you would not want to know the BIG money people behind Roy … believe me …! But my friend’s intelligent agent might know a lot of people, after all he claims to work in the intelligent office …!

44. Random Thoughts

You is the first person to talk ’bout the article. I feel that you is the onliest person to read it too (other than me …)

Look the kind of information that all this SPYING provides

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/26507.htm

45. @BAFBFP

Why should it be a secret?

46. And for those of you that seem to be touting the USA as some paragon of virtue with respect to campaaign finance laws and policing, here is an interesting read:

http://motherjones.com/politics/2011/09/exclusive-audio-koch-brothers-seminar-tapes

47. David

My friend’s intelligent agent is my contact too … I can’ betray his confidence man. Maybe if you mek Sarge apologize to me instead I might be able to do swing something 🙂

48. According to BU intelligence Bizzy and Peter are the people behind the online paper.

49. BAF ain’ saying nuttin’ …

50. Peter who David?