Newly Appointed Chief Justice Marston Gibson

On August 14, 2010, BU broke the story that our late Prime Minister David Thompson, after consultation with the Attorney General, Freundel Stuart, the present Prime Minister, and with the then Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley Q.C., had made the decision to appoint internationally acclaimed Bajan jurist, Marston Gibson, as Barbados’ new Chief Justice.

In making this appointment from outside the inner ring, the word of the late Prime Minister to Bajans has been kept from beyond the grave. The reason for reaching outside the ring has been fully discussed in this forum. A ring infested by incestuous relationships shaped by lodge and other fraternity ties. The course of events that followed are well known.

Many believe His Lordship should have been allowed to assume the CJ position without the hassle he has had to endure.  The Government, out of abundance of caution because it wanted to ensure that no nuisance legal challenges to the appointment could be made, amended the Supreme Court of Judicature Act to use the words “common law” instead of “Commonwealth”. Therefore any politically motivated time-wasting legal challenges to the appointment of an undoubted and eminently qualified son of our soil was effectively thwarted. A son of our soil who, as can be easily ascertained from the Internet, has never forgotten his roots and whose unrelenting promotion of Barbados is well documented.

Now, almost a year after it broke this story, BU is able to formally welcome Chief Justice Gibson back to the land where is navel string is buried to share with us his scholarship, energy and experience and to deliver back to Barbadians a justice system which has lost its way. Chief Justice Gibson inherits a comatose legal system that he must now raise from the dead. It is an gargantuan task, but one in which we are optimistic he will rise to the challenge.

To His Lordship the Chief Justice we say:

Dear Chief Justice,

Our most hearty and heartfelt welcome HOME!

You have a tremendous task before you and BU urge all Bajans to give you their unswerving support and a hearty welcome home. We realise the enormity of your task and we are encouraged by the number of senior counsel who have expressed their willingness to afford you their best efforts to accomplish this.

In this day and age of transparency through the social media, we offer, without really expecting you to do so, the forum to share your views with Bajans and residents of Barbados and Bajans around the World, as well as those who may have an interest in the justice system of Barbados.

We do not promise to always agree with you and you will see that our family have robust and outspoken opinions, but we have every confidence in your good-will, ability and determination.

Once again, welcome home, melud!

To the Prime Minister, our late Prime Minister Thompson, Miss Mia Mottley Q.C., and the Government of Barbados, we say well done! Pity it took a year, but better late than never.

1. @Bush Tea

If all was equal yes but we are in a bad place at the moment and the citizens need people like Sir Cow who have some firepower to see this as a civic responsibly. and lead from the front.

Sir Cow is no ordinary citizen.

2. @David: “Already agreed with you but it is because he is rich he will become fair game.

Um… No.

He might be considered fair game.

But that’s a different matter.

3. @ David

…. you are the bushie’s friend, but you are beginning to talk some real nonsense now…..
    Are you saying that Sir C has a responsibility, BECAUSE OF HIS WEALTH, to press for justice and rightness in Barbados?
    Are you saying that poor people have no responsibility to press for justice?
    Do you know how many poor bajans suffer from this foolishness? THEY cannot afford to hire a security firm like COW- THEY have to depend on the idiot COP and the even more moronic AG – who tells them that things are not so bad…

Calls for justice is a TOTAL responsibility….not COW’s

4. @Bush Tea

Yours is a Utopian argument. Of course all people should demand justice. Of course it is all of our responsibility.

In the real world however some citizens by the power they access become super citizens and are better able to influence change more than the other.

5. Did the moderator of today’s Brasstacks stealthily solicit a job from Sir Charles or did I misunderstanding?

6. @Bush Tea: “@David: “Yours is a Utopian argument. Of course all people should demand justice. Of course it is all of our responsibility.

Kinda weird, isn’t it.

We’re told it’s our responsibility, but then we’re told it isn’t.

Then we’re told it is, then we’re told it isn’t.

At the end of the day, our existence is our responsibility.

Deal with it.

7. Actually David, it is NOT a utopian argument at all. It is a BASIC spiritual law that a society ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

You see this thing call Justice and righteousness? you would be SHOCKED at the direct correlation between a collective focus on these attributes and resulting national success.

The big mistake being made in Barbados right now is with us all leaving it up to ‘somebody else’ to do what is right – while we bend the rules in our own little corners.
    You are REAL wrong to argue that COW has a special responsibility to deal with this foolishness – he can afford to build a high wall and hire tough security, or just pack up and enjoy his money – what will the poor widow do?
    It is you and I that have that special responsibility – especially you, as a super blog master LOL.

Bushie wonders who that judge is…..and what was their thinking?

8. @Bushie

Good debate, agree with you.

9. @Bush Tea: “Bushie wonders who that judge is…..and what was their thinking?

You are, in my opinion, exactly correct.

10. I heard most of the exchange between the announcer and Sir C.

A number of things struck me :-
    Sir C was genuinely frustrated about the incident.
    He felt that having stuck with a losing enterprise for several years he could at least have been met half way by the justice system re. showing that it really cared about the plight of the farmer losing significant amounts to crop thieves.
    He indicated that he was giving up and thereby had no qualms about putting his workers out of work, inter alia.
    The moderator tried her best to get Sir C to rethink his expressed reaction to the incident.
    She made a serious thoughtless gaffe in trying to imply that Sir C’s workers might have been involved in the original theft. (She said it might have been an inside job)
    She was opinionated, insensitive, etc. etc., but she really tried her best to counsel Sir. C and tried to get him to continue the good work he was doing for the benefit of the Island, Agriculture, and his workers.

I did’nt hear the end of the exchange.

Praedial Larceny is perhaps the most serious constraint to agricultural production in Barbados. Successive administrations have paid lip service to the problem but at least there is a law on the books which can be used to severely punish offenders and send a message to would be future offenders and thereby assist all those practising farmers, rich and poor, that suffer on a continuing basis from the depredations of those who harvest and do not sow nor till.

The Sir C case was a good one for such a message to have been sent but someone dropped the ball. I understand the situation fully. It either appears that someone thought that the wrong message would have been sent if the convicted offender was severely punished for stealing from Barbados’ richest man; or that farmers and praedial larceny is not really a serious issue and he/she should not inflict a serious penalty; or that perhaps they should wait for a more low-profile case to effect a proper judgement.

I think Sir C should have his lawyers appeal the sentence if such is indeed possible.

Praedial larceny and farming in Barbados will never improve, despite all the good things that the current Minister of Agriculture said in the recent Budget debate, until the Indiviidual Policeman, the Police Hierarchy, the Magistrates, the Politicians and any other concerned entity takes it seriously.

11. Now that the government has finally announced the appointment of CJ 7 days after the CJ Designate did so, the reaction from Owen Arthur and the Opposition maybe the next drama to unfold.

Arthur did promise a couple weeks ago he knew of the appointment but would hold his peace for the moment.

The moment has come.

Agree with the Barbados Today editorial 100%.

Absolute disrespect

2011-08-25

Constitutionally, the office of Chief Justice is the third highest in this land, coming only after those of the Governor General and Prime Minister. In fact, traditionally, it has not been unusual for the Chief Justice to act as Governor General in the absence of the substantive holder of the post.

In the Barbadian context, the post of Chief Justice has always garnered wide-scale respect, regardless of the individual holding the post.

It is against this background, and in the face of the apparent appointment of a new Chief Justice to replace Sir David Simmons who retired well over a year ago, that we accuse the Frendel Stuart Government of blatant disregard for, and respect of, the people of Barbados.

Barbadians are being told by the man who allegedly has been given the job, via the Associated Press, Reuters, the New York Post and a host of other American publications, who their Chief Justice will be, while not so much as a squeak can be heard from Bay Street.

In fact, since the name Marston Gibson was first mentioned publicly last year, it would appear that members of the Government, but particularly the Prime Minister, took significant offence at anyone even asking who the Chief Justice would be.

Since we have no reason to doubt the integrity of the apparent Chief Justice-designate, based on his words he will be turning up at the Grantley Adams International Airport any day now, and will be moving to his office in the new Judicial Centre from September 1 — next week — to take charge until he is 70 years old.

Is this the way you treat a population? Is this how a savvy administration acts to maintain the high standing of an office as critical as that of the Chief Justice in an environment where the almost natural tendency now is to dismiss the status quo and any position of authority.

At this stage it makes no sense, as far as we are concerned, harping over the administrative manoeuvring that characterised the lead up to the filling of the post; and there has been absolutely no suggestion we have seen that Gibson is not well suited in terms of academics, on-the-job experience and moral standing — but we believe the Government’s handling of this appointment has not served to enhance the office.

Every political leader [and by extension, every political party] has his own character and style and it would be unreasonable to seek to make our current leader into someone he is not, but on this one we can only offer him a failing grade. How can you manage a process like this where the candidate announces to a foreign audience he has the job, but seven days before he takes up office, the Government has made no announcement?

12. @David. Agreed. They have put Mr Gibson in a very difficult position. He has to resign/retire from the New York Supreme Court and there must be a period of notice. So, they ask him why (and so does the press) and he is supposed to say nothing? Instead, he tells them the truth. He is going to take up the office of Chief Justice of Barbados. They then throw him a party with all the great and the good of the New York legal world, to show how much they value him and to congratulate him on his new appointment.

Meanwhile, the government fails to announce the appointment and, without thinking it through, some idiots on the other blog seek to blame the CJ for the delinquency of the Government.

13. @Amused

I was about to make the same point.

Mr.Gibson is not a self employed person like Hants who can be in Barbados on 48 hours notice.

Offer me Job ($200,000 per year) and I will be their in 24 hours. lol

14. New York evacuation start. Hope the CJ left already.

Irene look like she ent mekkin sport.

15. I in missin dis ‘swearin-in’ fa nutton. I jess luv dis gentleman. Tawk ’bout sexyyyyyyy. My lawddddddd.
    So wunna-all kin look out fa me in ma purple frock, lime-green hat,brick- red pocket-book n fluresent shoos. Almos faget ta menshun de blu panty-holes.
    Look fa ma.

Welcome Home Your Lordship. Bonny luvs ya. smoochhhhhhhh

16. Heh-heyyyyyyyy, I faget ta menshun ta me BU famblee dat I is a year nearer ta retirement dis week. Happy birfday ta myself n me. Luvs me.mwahhhhhhhhhh.
    Yes, I acceptin giffs. Monetary n uddawize. Ariginal paintins n krystalz much welcum tu.

17. @Aunt Peppa…

Happy Anniversary of your birth day. Sorry I didn’t get you a gift.

But I have to ask you — why do you insist on appearing and talking incompressively when serious matters are being discussed?

18. Waaaaait Bonny dat is you? Welcome back ! Yuh ent see New Yark getting a visit from Irene. Looka tings doh. Anyways I missed yuh wutlessness bout hey.

19. OOOps Happy birdday tah yuh Bonny and Chris Halsall leff yuh ole ant alone nuh?

20. @islandgal234: “leff yuh ole ant alone nuh?

Yes sir.

21. HYATT HIDEOUT - 2 ‘big fish’ from Sea Lots arrested at Waterfront hotel Avatar
    HYATT HIDEOUT – 2 ‘big fish’ from Sea Lots arrested at Waterfront hotel

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/HYATT_HIDEOUT-128515563.html
    HYATT HIDEOUT
    2 ‘big fish’ from Sea Lots arrested at Waterfront hotel
    By Akile Simon

Story Created: Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT

(Story Updated: Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT )

22. @David

The NYT article that you linked to has a link to the BU story about the selection of Gibson as CJ.

Hmmmmnnn BU has gone up in the world when the venerable New York Times has linked to it which means the IQ of your readership just increased about 1000% or decreased about the same amount depending on your POV.

Now that you are being read in households from Long Island to California could you give Sarge a bit of a promotion? I don’t want any remuneration, just list me on you masthead as one of the contributing writers. 🙂

23. @Sarge

BU is about you* and all the members of the family who contribute. To be honest BU would trade links to the NYT blogsite with local media sites where our message would hit at more of the target, Barbadians* in a heart beat.

24. Alien | August 25, 2011 at 8:11 PM |

Yah right …. She looking fah a pick an’ she probably feel dat she in line get one. She ain’ know dat Cow din born yesterday … Bizzy got heself a sweet Black young t’ing and yah never know, de moderator might get a stealth pick too …

25. Any how as it turns out, the event with Sir C did NOT even news … well well, maybe the stations acting news manager/editor thought in the national interest to keep from the public the fact that the Justice process is truly screwed, before the new CJ takes up his guard … after all he in ALL likelihood will make no difference anyway, why draw the public’s attention to this in advance …?

26. Happy Birthday old woman …

27. Nefu Halsall
    Serious matters? I leff dah fa de brite whuns like you n BAF n Amused n David n etc, etc.
    I giveth not two fcuks ’bout dem sorta matters. I moe intristed in de ‘lighter side a life’. Git? Hole-tite den.

Islandgal
    Yes, de ol gurl back wid a hint moe a wotlessniss in de sistem. Tanks fa de birtday-greetz.

BAF
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

28. Look anyone who has read
    Amused | August 24, 2011 at 1:52 PM |
    will be tempted to be sympathetic with the amount of shight that lawyers in Barbados have to put up with, but let’s be honest, these people have put up with it because it somehow works in their favour as well, the lazy shigts …

29. @Auntie Peppa: “Serious matters?

Yes.

@AP: “I leff dah fa de brite whuns like you n BAF n Amused n David n etc, etc.

Why would you trust us to be correct?

@AP: “I giveth not two fcuks ’bout dem sorta matters. I moe intristed in de ‘lighter side a life’. Git?

Yes, I “git” (read: Get).

But I would argue such blind faith, and disregard for the important things around us, doesn’t scale to our own advantage.

Just my own opinion, of course.

30. Listen to a very impassioned delivery by President of the BAR Association Andrew Pilgrim today on the callin show about what it will take to claw back the crime situation in Barbados. Good job!

31. Amused said:

“@CH The issue of a computer programme to avoid duplications in scheduling ought to be fairly simple to both set up and to use. However, I defer to you on this.”

I know I am late but I am not the avid blogger that I once was. Amused, there is court management software called “JEMS” (acronym for Judicial Enforcement Management System).

The program is supposed to very powerful and can help with many of the problems that our court systems currently face. I have heard that it has been recently installed at the court but I am not certain. The trick is getting people to actually use it.

32. @Anonlegal. I know that the programmes are available. Therefore, the fault for their non-use lies firmly with the Registrar. So, the taxpayer has eschewed a system sanctioned by Government and, presumably, the courts, and paid for by the taxpayer. Anarchy, would you say? Grounds for dismissal – and I do NOT mean by being put to sit on the judiciary and, upon retirement, to be paid a pension by the taxpayers.

33. @Anonlegal. I said:

“So, the taxpayer has eschewed a system sanctioned by Government and, presumably, the courts, and paid for by the taxpayer.”

It should read:

“So, the Registry has eschewed a system sanctioned by Government and, presumably, the courts, and paid for by the taxpayer.”