Submitted by RUSERIOUS

On August 3rd gunmen killed a business owner and his son in law during a robbery at their residence.

Only in Barbados can you kill someone during the commission of a crime. Get charged for murder, plead guilty to manslaughter before the trial and get sentenced to 10-15 years. This although the maximum penalty for manslaughter is life in prison.

Only in Barbados can you get charged for forty armed robberies, plead guilty to all at the same time in the lower court, and receive a two year concurrent sentence on all of them.

Only in Barbados can you kill your wife and dump her body in a well and then say sorry in court and receive a ten year sentence.

Get used to old Barbados in its final days, and say hello to the new era; where armed robbers troll the streets during the night and day while unarmed Police cower in the Police stations and police vehicles. What you are seeing is the final phase in the death of a paradise and the ushering in of Trinidad/Guyana/Jamaica style criminal take over.

Until the ordinary law abiding citizen supports the police, until the judiciary passes lengthy sentences for violent offenders, enjoy violent offenders on a rotation basis as they are released in short term from prison.

March against crime and lawlessness, it could you or someone you know next.

1. in need of guidance Avatar
    in need of guidance

THE DPP MUST GO, SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME HAVENT WE HAD PEOPLE SENTENCE TO DEATH AND HANGED WHO WOULD HAVE COMMITED MURDER DURING THE PROCESS OF A ROBBERY? WHY ALL OF A SUDDEN NOW OUR CURRENT DPP IS SAYING IT’S NOT MURDER? NO LEGAL LUMINARY IM LOST

2. @Chris

Go find somebody else to walk around the park.

3. @Zack: “Go find somebody else to walk around the park.

Why?

When I have you to go around the oval with?

4. @Zack, I would suggest exchanging body fluids, but that probably wouldn’t go over so very well….

5. @Chris
    You’re a sick puppy. Good luck with that.

6. @Zack…

It’s called pushing the envelope.

Making people uncomfortable and putting them outside of their comfort zone.

It works…

7. @All…

While Zack tries to deal with his little problem, let’s “break the forth wall”…

You see, some want to keep you afraid; some others want to show you that in fact there is nothing to be afraid of — despite what some might say….

Oh, wait! Zack might possibility return to the stage shortly.

Don’t tell him I talked to you through the fourth wall — it would spoil the joke!!!

8. @Chris
    You’re no threat to my comfort zone Chris, but the degenerates who are prowling around with masks and guns robbing and killing, are a threat to my comfort zone. Why don’t you be my hero and find them and eliminate them?

9. @Zack (suddenly returning to stage): “You’re no threat to my comfort zone Chris, but the degenerates who are prowling around with masks and guns robbing and killing, are a threat to my comfort zone. Why don’t you be my hero and find them and eliminate them?

Funny, I don’t find many degenerates with masks and guns robbing and killing.

But instead somehow I find many (like you) claiming many scary things…

(I would put that in a high voice if I could; but I can’t.)

Laaaaaaa!!!!

10. If the perpetrators are Bajans, I bow to all of you. For now, I will wait and see. A number of Guyanese and Jamicans are in Barnados illiegally and refuse to leave, with no work they have returned to their former ways from whence they came. They have brought a gang mentality to Bajans and are recruiting our young boys who seem spell-bound by their music. I know this wont be a Campus Trendz event. This is the work of non-nationals so i will take my licks and be proven right. The guys from Campus Trends didnt intentionally kill those girls, those guys from teh Chadderton incident went to kill- teh work of those damn illegal Gts and Jamaicans. And i do not retract my statements.

11. Blame one of the former AG’s who said that it was illegal for the RBPF to stop and carry out searches on cars. This aided the transmission of firearms and drugs, not to mention the continuing brisk trade in praedial larceny.
    We need to concentrate on the apprehension of illegal firearms. Without a firearm, many of these culprits are under 6 feet tall, runts in fact.

12. in need of guidance | August 3, 2011 at 8:21 PM |
    THE DPP MUST GO, SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME HAVENT WE HAD PEOPLE SENTENCE TO DEATH AND HANGED WHO WOULD HAVE COMMITED MURDER DURING THE PROCESS OF A ROBBERY? WHY ALL OF A SUDDEN NOW OUR CURRENT DPP IS SAYING IT’S NOT MURDER? NO LEGAL LUMINARY IM LOST.

Perhaps Ratko Mladic, the Bosnian Serb General should have opted to be tried in Barbados instead of the Haig.

13. @Str8 Up…

Ah, and now the second…

Without balls, like the first, but making the same claims…

It’s a little sad when the first and the second don’t have the balls to step forward like men…

But what do we expect from ball-less men?

Hey, an honest question from a man with balls.

14. @Chris
    You’ve proven to me that you are an asshole. Should it take an army of degenarates with masks and guns for Barbadians to become concern? Do you have some way of counting how of them are out there? Isn’t 20 murders in 7 months enough reason for Bajans to be concerned. Do you know who or where they will hit next? People like you only talk crap until you or someone close to you becomes a victim. You can have the stage for yourself pal.

15. We should be outraged that a 79 year old man and his son in law have been senselessly murdered in their home.

It will take 20 years to raise a generation of honest young people.

One way to reduce the current level of criminal activity in Barbados is by stiffer penalties especially for crimes of violence and possession of illegal guns.

You don’t hunt rabbits,birds or monkeys with a hand guns.
    They are intended to shoot to kill human beings.
    Sentences for illegal possession of a gun should reflect that.

Some young criminals can become useful citizens if their time in jail is spent learning a trade or skill.

Prison should not only be for punishment but also a process to help those who can be helped to live productive lives.

16. @Str8 Up | August 3, 2011 at 9:35 PM |

Now how the hell can you be certain that the Campus Trendz fire bombers didn’t intend to kill? Because they used fire rather than guns? Do you know what were in their minds? Didn’t they understand the potential danger to people’s lives. Didn’t they do the same thing in Bank Hall at the chicken outlet the previous month and see the outcome. Those two should be boiled alive like lobsters.

17. str8 countries that are way more developed and sophisticated than bds have crime problems what say we?dont put bds in a vacuum ,the inequalities that affect people all over the world does exist in bds ,people feel marginalized and neglected ,listen to music of marginalized and neglected and form in the mental there own rebellion which manifests in incidents like these..

18. This is not the time for finger pointing or remonstrating, there will be more than enough time later. The task of all good citizens is to assist the RBPF in apprehending these two cold blooded murderers. In an island the size of Barbados someone knows something or saw something which will be beneficial in an investigation.

The Police need all the help they can get on this one.

19. @Zack | August 3, 2011 at 10:09 PM |

I guess a man is no longer innocent until proven guilty. As long as the police arrest and charge you, it is all over bar the sentencing.

Beware of that slippery slope.

20. You know what’s worrying too, the police have been doing a supposedly good job of apprehending violent criminals throughout the year so far, they have carried out raids and confiscated a number of weapons, but they still seems to be more and more violent criminals on the streets with guns.

21. @Raw Baked
    I’m voicing my opinion with confidence that they have the right men in custody. What is your point? Have you been following the news and heard that one pleaded guilty to manslaugher? I’m saying he knew the potential danger of what he was doing and he should be boiled alive…I’m not moving from that position.

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticlenew.php?ptitle=Guilty%20Plea&article=6318

22. Can you fix the link in my previous post David?

23. Zack | August 3, 2011 at 10:09 PM |

@Str8 Up | August 3, 2011 at 9:35 PM |

Now how the hell can you be certain that the Campus Trendz fire bombers didn’t intend to kill? Because they used fire rather than guns? Do you know what were in their minds?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Zack | August 3, 2011 at 11:16 PM |

@Raw Baked
    I’m voicing my opinion with confidence that they have the right men in custody. What is your point? Have you been following the news and heard
    that one pleaded guilty to manslaugher? I’m saying he knew the potential danger of what he was doing and he should be boiled alive…I’m not moving from that position.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I have no point, just an opinion if that is allowed. BTW, this article does not state if the other accused also plead guilty to any charges.
    http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticlenew.php?ptitle=Guilty%20Plea&article=6318

24. pleaded

25. My condolences and sympathy go out to these families. The people of Barbados feel your pain at this time and our prayers are with you.

Dis nonsense gotta stop. We gotta start popping dese criminals neck. We pussy-footing too long and de lawyers n psychologist finding all de rasshole excuses fa dese vagabonds. Hanging is not a deterrent, it is a punishment fa murder. ya kill, ya surrenda ya life ta de state. tummuch long tawk n dese criminals walkin up ta Glendary smiling. POPP dem necks.

Crime down fa tru. Um down in St.Lucy, um down in St. James, um down in St.Michael,um down in…………………………..

De powers dat be, wunna get serious n start poppin offf sum a dese good-fa-nutton necks do, fa croiss sake man. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee

26. Light Love (LiLo) Avatar
    Light Love (LiLo)

BARBADOS HAS DECLARED WAR ON CRIME.
    Anybody who does not have a good reason to be on the street after 8 pm at Night and who does not have a valid area pass from the joint police/BDF Operation Restore Barbados Office will be jailed at Harrisons Point.

Area passes wlll be issued to the relevant workers,
    All major Roads to be patrolled by joint Police / BDF PATROLS

27. We are a scared people, appearing helpless, we need tough enforcement of our laws, penal reform and for Barbadians to be civic minded and assist the police.

The anti-police culture which is so prevalent today is a problem.

28. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Str8 UP you wrote ” The guys from Campus Trends didn’t intentionally kill those girls”

Dear Str8 Up you are a complete idiot.

Anyone who sets fire to a store full of textiles and people intends to kill or is indifferent as to whether or not his actions will kill.

The Campus Trendz men are a half foolish fatherless lot but they are murderers never the less.

29. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Str8 Up.

You will find that these murderers are our VERY, VERY, OWN..

You will find that they have been raised in a house with an absent or indifferent 100% BAJAN father.

Or a hostile 100% BAJAN stepfather.

We have to stop blaming foreigners/immigrants/other people for OUR VERY OWN FAILURES.

Our failure to love our sons.

Our failure to socialize our sons.

Our failure to provide our sons with Christian instruction.

Our failure to provide our sons with Christian examples.

Our failure to discipline our sons.

Our failure to teach our sons any useful skill.

Our failure to teach our sons how to earn an honest decent living.

If we want to know the cause of these problems. Look in the mirror.

If we want a solution, look in that same mirror.

30. @David
    “Yes our murder rate is still a manageable number “.
    I would tend to believe that though the murders in Barbados is at a manageable rate even one murder is too much.

31. Without offering any opinion, let me say that negotiating a deal for a lesser charge saves the State a lot of money. The expense of a trial is fierce and it comes out of the taxpayers’ pocket. Having said that, let me be very clear that deals ought only to be offered if the Crown is unsure that it can prove the greater charge and sell it to a jury. Remember, we have a little thing called double jeopardy. Should the crown’s case fail, that person is free and cannot be re-tried. And having said that, I have no idea what the Crown’s case in any of the cases where pleas of guilty to a lesser charge have been agreed. So, I am not able to give any opinion on the wisdom (or lack of it) in negotiating a lesser charge. Certainly I agree that greater transparency is necessary and, in cases that make the public feel unsafe and insecure, I see it as the duty of the Crown to explain precisely why deals have been done – but the inevitable problem that has to be overcome is right to privacy. Having said that, I fail to see how the right to privacy of an individual can possible be more important than the public good, which includes the right of the public to feel safe. There has to be a way of accomplishing this. I would suggest that this is via proper reporting by the so-called Fourth Estate and clear press statements (properly reported) by the DPP.

Bonny, my love, good to see you again.

32. de way wunna talking tells me that wunn aint know wha gine ,so i will be brave enough to tell wunna part of de problem.people in barbados does smoke alot of ganja from de top right down to de bottom,just look at some of the amounts held by police 800lbs 1200lbs etc dont feel de boys pun de block does smoke all of that all kinds of ppl in bajan society does use it and just like bulling some does hide cause they have to either because of who they are of what they do.last year and this year operations have made ah serious dent in this demand and supply trade and have cause the price to skyrocket so,the violent ones among us who rely on this plant to sell and live when their is ah shortage like what is going on at present the violent ones will take up their guns and choke and rob in order to get money to purchase what lil supply they have left back.and to make up for the lost in income due to their 800lbs sitting in de police station.wunna live in bim so long and aint know that is de cause of all of these recent shootings .watch and see as them get back some things gine ease off.but as long as they aint none it will go on,and another thing one time it use to be ah rasta thing in de 70’s early 80’s but more young ppl using as young as 13 and it real sad in that 13-20 age group and the most violent are the 16-27 age group all of this fueled by negative lifestyles from Jamaica and north america

33. I heard the Attorney General with my own ears say last night on CBC that although there has been a ‘recent’ spate of criminal activity, and the Police Force is on the alert, Barbados is still safe, and Barbadians and visitors alike can continue to feel as safe as they did in the past. So me ent know what all ya talking ’bout hear? Oh! forgot the best part….after the AG finished his speech, we got some advice from CBC to help the Police Force by calling 211 when we see anything suspicious…Could this be the same 211 that nevah answers???? Could this be the same 211 that the gentleman held up at gunpoint on Rendezvous Ridge who followed the car with the men who perpetrated the act, who on seeing where they landed – in Sargeant’s Village – called and and called without hearing a peep on the other end? Bless. Remember peoples we are safe.

34. Perhaps the times has come to take up Andy Armstrong’s suggestion for the government to outsource the drafting of legislation, the CPC Office seems to be woefully slow at it for whatever reason.

For example we have a situation where cash for gold and the purchase of scarp metal is a big issue affecting crime but by the time legislation is proclaimed Barbados would have gone to hell in a hand basket.

Yet the irony remains when we had to pass sunset legislation for CWC it was a breeze.

35. @David- why do you think that an anti-police culture is so prevalent in our society?

36. @bk

You have asked a good question.

Policemen reflect the culture born into.

Are we recruiting fit for purpose?

Is the government allocating adequate resources to safeguard law and order?

37. I found the AG’s response yesterday to the current situation very cliched, wishy-washy, and not reassuring at all:
    For example:
    “I believe the time has come for legislation to deal with Cash for Gold”?!?

How about instead: “Legislation WILL be implemented post-haste to deal with Cash for Gold.”
    It’s just weak, spineless language. No wonder the criminals out there are laughing and doing as they please.

And can he PLEASE stop with this nonsense that because our crime rate is lower than most other Caribbean territorties we shouldn’t worry so much?

38. lord have mercy “the cash for gold and scrap metal trade is before prlmnt
    in ja ,bahamas and barbados and i guess right across the carib,…jamaica last week has shutdown that industry permanently and will be closing down the cash for gold soon”’bahamas has done likewise …we are small island states that dont generate much in terms of scrapmetals ..so those trade can only be good for a few short months after which they will start to take your gates and pipes out your yard….shut it down””’

39. @David
    I couldn’t help but notice your disclaimer just above the text box for entering comments. Maybe you can clarify something for me. Your disclaimer says, “Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Barbados Underground”, so I really need to know who is BU? Aren’t your comments the comments of BU? If not, then who on this blog represents BU?

40. @Nia | August 4, 2011 at 10:51 AM | I found the AG’s response yesterday to the current situation very cliched, wishy-washy, and not reassuring at all:
    And can he PLEASE stop with this nonsense that because our crime rate is lower than most other Caribbean territorties we shouldn’t worry so much?
    ——————————
    Thank you very much Nia. If he’s going to compare Barbados with Jamaica, T&T, or Guyana, he’d have to compare per capita. Those countries are larger than us in size and population. But as you rightfully said, telling us that our murder rate is lower than theirs is a comfort to a fool.

41. Thank you Nia …our leaders are wish washy when it comes to decision making for themselves and Bajans. When it comes to foreigners they cut straight to the bone. Someting reel wrong wid dat kinda leadership.

42. Foreigners I mean like Guyanese, Jamaicans and other West Indian islanders.

43. What a country,when little stripling of women, have the courage to come forward and enlist in the police force , while big muscular men prefer to sell coconuts ,ackees and snow cones by the wayside.

44. How irresponsible of the Nation newspaper yesterday to speculate that the intended target ,during the deadly encounter might have been the victim’s brother,and then went on to point out the difference in location of the two homes.
    On another note, I do hope that the Lotto and other prize givers do take into account the existing climate ,and defer from publishing the photographs of winners.

45. Colonel Buggy | August 4, 2011 at 1:48 PM |
    What a country,when little stripling of women, have the courage to come forward and enlist in the police force , while big muscular men prefer to sell coconuts ,ackees and snow cones by the wayside.

Colonel dem is pansies dat’s why.

46. When the police compare crime rates it is done as a per thousand of the population.

47. @islandgal246: “Foreigners I mean like Guyanese, Jamaicans and other West Indian islanders.

So, then, are you arguing that the “whites” and the “yellows” are all OK?

@islandgal246… If I may please be very frank and honest: in my opinion you are being manipulated to direct your anger, and your distrust, against those who should be your allies.

48. Twenty people have been detained for suspicion of smuggling drugs into Barbados.
    They were caught after they came in on a Caribbean Airlines flight from Jamaica.

Methinks we have a problem.

49. @Chris Halsall….you have misunderstood me terribly

When it comes to those who we call foreigners, that is our fellow Caribbean neighbours the leadership don’t mince words when it comes to their decision making, But when it comes to talk straight to Bajans the talk is wishy washy.

50. @Hants: “Twenty people have been detained for suspicion of smuggling drugs into Barbados.

@Hants: “They were caught after they came in on a Caribbean Airlines flight from Jamaica.

Wow. Sucks to be them.

Was it in their luggage?

Or was it elsewhere?

Leave a Reply to Ping PongCancel reply