Former Chairman of the NAB and BLP Supporter

Two things are crystal clear: the public have had enough and in their view – the DLP has so betrayed their trust and confidence that it has lost the moral right to govern Barbados. The out-going DLP has buckled to logical public pressure and has issued a directive to the relevant State agency to forgo the lawful collection of acquiring and paying for Entertainment Licenses this Crop Over season. But how could the DLP seek to collect that money when it gave a company it said was “sound” and well-managed” $10 million? How could the DLP collect fees for entertainment licenses when it wrote-off $19 million for a brand-name entity?

This and “OTHER” incidents are proof that the electorate and the taxpayers of this country, will have to rescue the DLP from itself long before 2013, if it is to be prevented from imploding and doing even more severe damage to this country. DLP operatives collectively being paid some $2.4 million for a 28-day-summer-camp, is scandalous, so too news of DLP operatives operating businesses at the Airport but not paying rent for three years and now owing the Government, in some instances, in excess of $150,000 in rent.

When the Prime Minister was in China, the Finance Minister announced that a Statement of Financial and Economic Policies (commonly referred to as the Budget) will come before Kadooment. We now hear that the proposed “Kadooment Budget” will actually happen much later in August. Is this a strategic shift, given that while in St. Kitts recently, the Prime Minister announced that the country will have a new Chief Justice before the beginning of next month? Or, is the Budget being timed so that a now badly deflated DLP – can salvage something for its base because it is struggling badly to go into its Annual Conference, which starts on August 19th, on a high.

Whatever the reason, Barbadians must remember that having endured unnecessary economic pain since the 2008 Budget, and despite repeatedly pleading for relief ever since – any such relief now given by an extremely weaker DLP – will constitute what former Prime Minister Thompson referred to as: “Political Hush Money.” Citizens of this country must also be aware of the advice given by Mr. Barrow in his “Mirror Image Speech” ‘not to allow politicians to bribe them with their own money.’ And so, given the recent poll (which confirms what the people had known for a long time) the electorate is showing the DLP the “RED CARD” but it remains defiant; power-hungry and desperate.

It was not long ago when the DLP said it wanted more time. On that occasion I asked: “more time to do what.” We now hear that through the up-coming budget, the DLP intends to reduce the deficit and get the foreign exchange earning sectors firing. This is curious, especially since the Medium term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) presented to the country by the DLP long before the Moody’s downgrade – was designed to do precisely that. According to the DLP, its Medium Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) was intended to put the Barbados economy back on track. The Moody’s downgrade is therefore irrefutable proof that the DLP’ economic policies are not only not working but they will not work and if allowed – the the DLP will continue making a bad situation much worse.

In the MTFS, the DLP gave a commitment to: “to reduce the overall fiscal deficit and generate a balanced budget by 2014/15 and a surplus by 2015/16, while keeping economic growth to acceptable levels by focusing on the foreign exchange earning sectors. This will ensure a reduction in the debt ratios to sustainable levels.”

But, even without the Moody’s downgrade, it was crystal clear that the out-going Democratic Labour Party Government had failed to: “ensure domestic and external confidence, in the ability of the Government to manage its resources in an efficient and balanced manner.” The point is: everything the DLP does from here – up to the time it calls elections – will be pure “time-wasting.” And should the people allow anymore time-wasting and bench-warming, the job of cleaning-up the mess the DLP continues to make – will become even more difficult (but not mission impossible) for a competent Team BLP.

You can expect that despite the perilous state in which the DLP has placed our public finances, it will roll-out the gravy-train in the up-coming budget. Do not be surprised when it adjusts the Excise Tax downwards because that $80m BNOC debt has been significantly reduced. Do not be surprised when it reduces Road Taxes, which was a double-burden to pay, for the same ABC Highway, it also borrowed $165 million for. It was announced in the 2008 Budget that the increased road taxes would raked-in $44 million in a full calendar year. Do not be hood-winked by any adjustment in the Land Tax rates or bands because I have been calling for that for more than six months now.

The long and short is: be on your guard! The DLP will attempt to use the up-coming budget, not to “ensure domestic and external confidence, in the ability of the Government to manage its resources in an efficient and balanced manner,” but to bamboozle you and to soften up so you would say: ‘man there is a global financial crisis but this government still giving we an ease!’ My advice to the country is: “Trojans trust not the horse.  Whatever it be, I fear the Greeks even when bringing gifts.” Do not let a DLP, which knows that it cannot win the next general election – brain-wash or bribe you with your own money. All such recklessness will achieve, as you would have seen from the DLP’s 1990 fiasco – is to put Barbados again in the hip-pocket of the IMF, which might have already taken-up residence at Bay Street, by stealth.

1. How much propertry tranfer tax did ownen arthur waive for First Caribbean(that is when Barclays and CIBC)

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Henderson

” it wrote-off $19 million for a brand-name entity?”

Becareful how you attack that “brand-name entity” the Barbados Turf Club.

Bear in mind that the Barbados Turf Club is loaded with members who are big contributors to the Barbados Labour Party coffers. You may well be biting the hands that are feeding you. The big businessman from TUDOR BRIDGE might SEALE your fate.

The last time another blp joker like YOU made the statemjent “that is there nothing in the BLP constitution called ELDERS”,HE CAUSED GREAT HARM.

The same ELLDERS have now withheld their financial contributions to the BLP and poor one foot Joe got the boot and also the BLP secretary and as Bajans say “wunna now scrabbling fuh money”.

So watch your mouth. You know you have a habit of talking first and thinking after.

3. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

A vagabond and a crook that is Hederson Bovine who stole from HAMPERS FOR THE ELDERLY really should not be near a computer but rather behind bars for fraud.
    He must want a change to steal form Barbadians some more, his SUPPLIES AND SUPPLY OF HAMPERS MUST HAVE RUN LOW.

4. Has Minister Sinckler given a reason for the change in time for presenting the financial statement?

5. THE THING IS that the BLP will rescue Barbados again but ignorant bajans are going to take the economy for granted, cuss the BLP and its leader ,call them arrogant and corrupt and shout Change and will vote the DLP again

ITS A VICIOUS CYCLE
    BAJANS TOO FOOLISH THOUGH

6. Hry youu guys do what ever you can to help your country. At least you can argue policy and seek to bring about change. Let Barbados continue to be a leading light in this hemisphere. You do not have race politics to contend with. In one country it was argued by a candidate for the Presedential post that you can take a goat and put him at the head of the party in a certain country and he(the goat) will win.

7. Abunch of political hogwash. ‘DLP’s 1990 fiasco – is to put Barbados again in the hip-pocket of the IMF,’ NO, the BLP did a good job of setting it up with borrowing half a billion for cricket world cup, seven hundred million for Dodds and another few hundred million for the ghighway, all WITHOUT TRANSPARENT REPORTING of expenditures.

@Roach, ‘THE THING IS that the BLP will rescue Barbados again ‘

More xullshit. Again, need I repeat, Sandiford made the hard decision, then the BLP ran the global expansion wave. All ended now.

Certainly, I too am annoyed that the DLP has not yet put in place systems to enforce accountability and transparency and certainly CLICO has been a behemoth issue pulling them down, but then again, remember that the CLICO issue started well BEFORE their entry to power, the reporting by Clico and underfunding then existed under the previous administration. That is a matter of public recored, not political gobblydegook.

Understand this chappie, we voters want susbstance not ranting and unsubstantiated nonsense.

We now are asking for more, whether from Mottley, Stuart, Sinckler or whomever leads.

We also expect ALL Ministers to contribute and not be ‘silent’ in Parliament.

The problem with the BLP is (and I say this as a voter and NOT a card carrying member of the DLP..get that), they have not got past the 20th century politics of pushing the ‘leader runs all’ line.

With a poor middle-order, with individuals who sat in Parliament for 15 years and said nothing, they now expect the voter to accept that they are the ‘all’.

‘Believability’ is just not there, without a rejuvented candidate slate.

And if you do not accept that I say this as a voter, with good intent and without bias, more fool you and woe betide you, you will find out when the ‘x”s start coming in.

Fact is, we voters now want more…,more…more.

Pomp and pageantry done, we want THINGS done. Whether it be DLP, BLP, David Commissiong and his party (he is seeming quite the alternative nowadays).

Got it?

And as an aside, the ability of parties to select candidates has been brought into question recently, even if glossed over nicely. No?

Jokers.

8. @Crusoe

Tina is obviously a relatively young person raised on the back of the economic boom.

How can such a person understand the global realities which are at play now?

Even Arthur has not tabled anything new except to not tax as much.

The DLP like Sir Courtney suggested is a young government and given its dearth of economic talent in cabinet, it seems to have exposed a weakness which is being exploited by public perception.

9. @ tina roach,

the BLP will rescue Barbados once again?, humph I laugh when I hear people like you. People who obviously have no idea what is happening in regards to Global Economics. How will the BLP/DLP rescue Barbados when our dollar is tied to a failing one, that is not backed by anything, and is lowering the perceived value of such, with every dollar printed. Money from nothing. Do people even know why there is such a mad rush on for GOLD and SILVER? They are the only two REAL currencies in the WORLD.
    Enough said for now, when the REAL crisis hits home Bajans are going to be scampering. As for me, I am fortunate that I have a sizeable plot of land that I can use to grow my own food and thus stem the tide.
    (hint) look how much arable land is being bought up by large corporations in Africa.

10. I forgot to add, look out for HYPER-INFLATION, if you don’t know what it means Google it.

11. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Carson C. Cadogan | July 10, 2011 at 10:04 PM |

Dear Mr. Cadogan, you wrote: “Be careful how you attack that “brand-name entity” the Barbados Turf Club….Bear in mind that the Barbados Turf Club is loaded with members who are big contributors to the Barbados Labour Party coffers. You may well be biting the hands that are feeding you. The big businessman from TUDOR BRIDGE might SEALE your fate.”

Your advice seems well-intentioned and was noted in the spirit in which it was given. Note, however, that while I am not in a position to make policy statements for the BLP, I take particular comfort knowing that the former Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., – is on record as calling for (1) a new politics in Barbados, as well as for (2) the reform of Parliament and (3) Campaign Finance Reform, ‘to preserve the integrity of our democracy.’

Have you ever stop to consider that the very persons you now allege to have millions, in many instances, got those alleged millions from “GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS,” whether School Meals; contract/s to supply the QEH and other hospital with food items; contracts to build roads or schools and so on? This is why the Rt. Excellent E.W Barrow cautioned not to allow people to ‘bribe you with your own money.’ (see paragraph 4 of my post)

Haven’t we reached a stage, as a mature democracy – where, say: $3 million can be put in the Estimates every five years, for each major political party to finance General Elections, so that the very brand-name people you alerted of, would not have the influence you seem to think they have?

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Henderson
    “I take particular comfort knowing that the former Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., – is on record as calling for (1) a new politics in Barbados, as well as for (2) the reform of Parliament and (3) Campaign Finance Reform, ‘to preserve the integrity of our democracy.’”

I support her 100% on that. Those are my feelings exactly.

13. I do not accept the crap that you people are using as excuses.

What Global Economics what ?
    Foolishness !
    You people argue and use information when it is expedient to do so.
    Why when certain ‘good things are happening in these places that you refer to, it is not reflected in Barbados. I can quote a hundred good things that happen in the ‘outside’ where people benefit , where people are treated properly , as human beings , treated with respect and dignity but this aspect is not copied or refer to in Barbados.

Barbados’ economy is one that calls for great skill to RIDE IT , it is like bucking a horse, its like batting on a sticky wicket. If you are not capable , you will make excuses and blame others..
    Away with the CRAP
    I will hear none of it
    VERDICT : CRAP DISMISSED !

Freundel and his team know not what they do. One thing I must give Freundel credit for and it is that he knows about DOGS, He has learnt how to silence a PITBULL

14. There are many arguments to be had, however the facts speak loudly the BLP stole and gave away alot of money, then borrowed in a time of plenty and wasted the rest in cost over runs, gave money to their friends and invested the rest in their own businesses now we are in a time of need every body mout white and looking to the DLP to run their blood to water. All like bibadee aka underweir beneifited from DLP hotel funding and now pelting pebbles at the housing minister to do what? you care nothing about the people all that biting the BEES is the fact that opposistion doesnt feel so well and all we get from the Blp is nuff stealing and empty promises.

15. Even if that is true and I know it is an orchestrated lie because Liars abound,
    We were better off
    Your response I anticipate but the records show that we have a good economy under the BLP and a bad economy under the DLP .

You blame the BLP for the bad economy but you never give them credit for any thing
    Hey !
    This is your word BIAS !!!!!!!! b—i—a—-s

16. Hey Tina…..COCKAROACH have no right in fowl cock dance !

The BLP in opposition now and would remain there next time around.

How could you rely on the BLP to be taken seriously when Owen Arthur accused Henderson Bovell ( without a denial from Bovell ) of tampering with BLP files and computer equipment ?

Has Owen Arthur addressed the public charges made by Rawle Eastmond of voter padding/ rigging for the BLP Annual Conference of October 2010 ?

Has Owen Arthur explained to Barbadians how come $ 750,000.00
    in BLP Campaign funds ended up in his personal Bank account ?

Hey, bring back MIA at the helm of the BLP to avoid a DLP wipeout at the polls months from now.

There is plenty tonnes of muck on Owen Arthur soon to be released.

Freundel knows when to TALK !

17. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Could this writer easily have been writing about the DLP and today’s Barbados? Do you trust our government to give us the truth about the true state of our economy?

“Quite simply, its debts were too high and inflation was out of control. By 2000, the EU finally allowed it to join, though there were suspicions at the time that Greece was operating a “limbo dance” – squeezing its figures to hit the stringent euro criteria, only for them to flip back to dangerous levels once it had entered. Indeed many believe Greece simply lied about its figures to gain entry.” (Source below)

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/greece/7646320/Greece-why-did-its-economy-fall-so-hard.html

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tina Roach

“we have a good economy under the BLP and a bad economy under the DLP .”

You like you blind in one eye and can’t see out of the other one.
    Where have you been the last two and half years or so?
    Under a rock, living on Mars, vacationing on the moon?
    Are you not aware what has taken place in the entire world during that time?

19. @ Greg Holder
    “There are many arguments to be had, however the facts speak loudly the BLP stole and gave away a lot of money.”

I think that in the interest of Barbados, the DLP should have implemented the much touted freedom of information and integrity legislation that was on the party’s agenda as far back as 2004 with the slogan “Integrity legislation in 2004 – Charter for Change”, as well as ministers declaring their assets as was promised if they won the election. It is interesting to note that with all the talk of forensic audits and people soon to be resident in Dodds, we have not heard or seen any proof coming from the accusers, but you political pimps keep coming to the fore and repeating (like parrots) what was said by politicians.

“Apologies for not getting back to you much sooner.

DLP leader David Thompson hosted a press conference today where he distributed the attached documents dealing with a proposed legal framework to promote accountability, transparency and accountability in public life and fight corruption.
    The Ministerial Code TAKES EFFECT IMMEDIATELY AFTER A DLP GOVERNMENT IS ELECTED. THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT AND INTEGRITY LEGISLATION WILL BE DEALT WITH IN THE FIRST 100 DAYS IN OFFICE. Any questions, give me a call. If you were part of the traditional media, you would have been invited to the news conference where you could have asked whatever you wanted.
    Best regards
    Reudon Eversley
    Communications Director
    DLP General Election Campaign 2008”

The cheque from CLICO, the millions stolen and corruption accusations, worked harmoniously with the people being fed-up of the BLP. It is time that you people come with something new. If your party had implemented the promised legislation and followed through with the appropriate investigations, surely the claims of theft and corruption would be substantiated and justified. However, under the current circumstances and in the absence of such legislation, the DLP’s creditability in this area must be questioned. If you are honest, you would be aware of some questionable decisions being made by this administration that can be viewed as being corrupt.

Additionally, it would be interesting to note the response of persons like you, if, in the absence of these proposed legislation, members of your party were accused of similar infelicities. My suggestion would be to investigate from 1994 to July 31, 2011, any politician found guilty of corruption should be punished to the full extent of the law, introduce the proposed legislation, and then start from “day-one”.

20. There is absolutely no doubt the rollout of FOIA and IL should have been a DLP priority given the importance alleged corruption played on the political trail last general election. The economy would have demanded unplanned but in the same way the government has found time to do other things so too these important pieces of legislation should have been enacted/proclaimed by now. importance alleged corruption played on the political trail last general election. The economy would have demanded unplanned but in the same way the government has found time to do other things so too these important pieces of legislation should have been enacted/proclaimed by now.

21. @Tina,

I am not going to get into any brawl with you or anyone else for that matter. Unlike you, I don’t back either party. I do my research. You know what else, history repeats it self (I’m not talking about the DLP in the 1990’s).

If people are too blind to see what is in front of them, then that’s their business. Deception from both sides, and all sides. Take off your blinkers Tina.

22. old man river, Avatar
    old man river,

me light bill gone up, may soon have to sell nut by de river stand, to live, cause de little bit of money de govenment givin me can cut it…….from de old boy.

23. Barbados has done better under the Barbados Labour Party in the last 35 years-45 years

It is a simple fact.

24. @ Henderson Bovell ………Well founded is your fear of Greeks ,even when bringing gifts, as much as ours is of Bees in control of our purse strings.On the assumption that all you said is true,would Barbados not be faced with a dilemma called no alternative? In all honesty is your view of bajan mentality so skewered that you would even think that this piece could pass muster? Or is it that folk such as yourself are starting to miss THE GOOD LIFE ? Hendy,Hallam and the Henchmen have had hit, after hit, after hit,and have left us all in a position where it is extremely difficult to be bribed with our own money ,for your group and its lead singer made our treasury your recording studio. Red Plastic Bag tells us that “Married Men Aint Blind” . The same can be said for most bajans.

25. There is an old adage that tells us “Promise is comfort for fools”. If taken to be true then it begs the question what do politicians think of us? On this note I say to the Prime Minister you hold the key to the outcome of the next election. Unless you see us as all fools , you must remove every obstacle that clogs The Pathways To Progress. The introduction of Integrity Legislation is a good place to start.As a matter of fact public opinion says it is the only place to start. It is not enough to tell us of relief from fourteen years of corruption, when there is no placement of a single statute to combat what John Public now, and with good reason believes is the politician’s way of life.Harken the massive crowd that gathered at the Bussa Roundabout.With rapt attention they swallowed everything fed them, and at the appointed hour showed the courage and commitment to repose in this party what little faith bajan resiliency was able to hide from the torturous reign of a man who day by day grew stronger in the belief that Barbados belonged to him. So often in the last fourteen years we bore witness to instances where the connected ones like the aforementioned Hendy,Hallam and the Henchmen ,Owen Arthur’s sacred cows reaped benifits to the exclusion of all others, the sacrificial lambs. Without the passage of this legislation what is there to convince us that in ten years there is not a repetition of history ,with just a substitution of party, and all we are left with is a stronger belief in that old adage?

26. A man gave I-Man a copy of the DLP’s DRAFT MINISTERIAL CODE PROPOSAL (the same one that they were to implement within the first 100 days after winning election), to read. Said he got it from off a truck that Truthman was driving. So I-Man read it and what I saw left me with Random Thoughts.

MINISTERS AND CIVIL SERVANTS

9. Ministers have a duty to:
    a. Give fair consideration and due weight to informed and impartial advice from civil servants, as well as to other considerations and advice, in reaching policy decisions;
    b. Uphold the political impartiality of the Civil Service, and not to ask civil servants to act in any way which would conflict with the Civil Service Code;
    c. Ensure that any influence over appointments is not abused for partisan purposes; and
    d. Observe the obligations of a good employer with regard to terms and conditions of those who serve them.
    10. Civil servants should not be asked to engage in activities likely to call in question their political impartiality, or to give rise to the criticism that people paid from public funds are being used for Party political purposes.

Now, to let you people know up front, I-Man ain’t no bright boy like Georgie Porgie, Money Brain, Trained Economist, Justin from UWI, or the other PhD man, George C. Brathwaite; I can’t speak Chynee like BAFBFP (I hear that he and Foo Ping Long went with Frundel to translate and get tourist from the Shaolin Temple to come to Barbados, no?); I-Man am no big boy like Caswell, Hants, Bush Tea, nor I don’t wear the type of blinkers that Truthman Burton, Carson C. Cadogan, Tina Roach, Doc Bovell or Indar does Weir. And I done know that Just Only Asking gine cuss muh and call me a desperate Bee. I am just a simple Negro Man.
    But when I-Man see what does be happening on CBC TV news night after night, and at the GIS, I-Man had to say that any individual of reasonable firmness would be compelled to conclude that what is being perpetrated at these two state-owned agencies contradicts # 9 and 10 above. (George C and Frundel tell be bout dem big words).
    When I-Man read #9, the first thing that come to mind was how they put Reudon, Peter, and John Lovell at CBC to manipulate the news and change the address to George Street, and how dem showing duh self every night, I have to ask George C what impartial really mean. So I tell I-Man self “Self, no integrity legislation ain’t coming, so don’t look for it.”

27. MINISTERS’ CONSTITUENCY AND PARTY INTERESTS

1. Ministers should not use for Party or constituency work facilities provided at Government expense to enable them to carry out their official duties. Ministers should ensure that expenses for constituency work are not charged to the public purse.

The first thing that came to I-Man mind when I read this was the Constituency Councils, and how they got a Director and staff that are being paid from the treasury, and how they got $5,425M for 2011-2012; and how all of the people that get pick on the councils are associated with the DLP. These people know their own, which mean that no help for you if you are a BEE, the MP gine get Enuff votes, 30 to 0 next toss. Imagine if all the council members were like Carson C. Cadogan, Wishing in Vain, Just Only Asking, Hamilton Hill, Pooposition Is At Sea, Curusoe, or Hants, you really feel that wunnah gine get help?
    I sorry for people like Truthman, George C, Indar, Sandra and she husband, Tina, Doc Bovell, PDC, Scout, and the Cuban (ah mean Denny, not the doctors). David from BU got wunnah IP addresses, so don’t think wunnah gine get away. Then Truthman Burton told me that Frundel seat aint sure, so he flex he muscles and hold on pun Urban Development Commission, Enuff houses gine get repair, more votes, and Barney lick-up.

28. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

I so glad that people refuse to take on that PIMP AND CROOK HENDERSON BOVINE BOVELL. People had enough of your crookery and they aint forget get how you and Owen and Mia carry way and thief from we Bajans. It will be a long time we been scared by your corruption.

A vagabond and a crook that is Hederson Bovine who stole from HAMPERS FOR THE ELDERLY really should not be near a computer but rather behind bars for fraud.
    He must want a change to steal form Barbadians some more, his SUPPLIES AND SUPPLY OF HAMPERS MUST HAVE RUN LOW.

29. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Families face £260-a-year surge in food bills as prices jump by 6.5%By Becky Barrow

Last updated at 2:13 AM on 13th July 2011

Comments (0) Add to My Stories Share .
    The average family has to spend an extra £260 a year on the weekly food shop, official figures showed yesterday.

Although the overall cost of living is falling, few families will have noticed because food prices are continuing to rise at an alarming rate.

The Office for National Statistics said the annual inflation rate dropped from 4.5 per cent in May to 4.2 per cent in June.

Straitened times: Many of us are finding that we get less for our money at supermarket check-outs
    But over the last 12 months, food prices have jumped by 6.5 per cent, the biggest rise for more than two years.

The ONS said meat is 7.2 per cent more expensive than last year, bread and cereals are up 8.5 per cent and soft drinks and mineral water are up 10.6 per cent.

A typical family with two children spends £76.50 a week on food and soft drinks, according to the ONS.

More…Inflation falls back as the struggling High Street slashes prices in early summer sales
    Millions give up on sunshine holidays as hard times and exchange rate make Europe too expensive

But the recent rise in food prices means the same basket of goods is now costing an extra £5 a week, or £260 a year.

To add to the pressure on cash-strapped families, the rate at which food prices are rising is far higher than the rate at which their pay is going up.

The average private sector worker has received a pay rise of only 1.8 per cent, but this is being wiped out by the jump in their food bills. All public sector workers earning £21,000 or more are being hit by a two-year pay freeze.

Hard choices: Some of the stuff we used to like is going to have to stay on the supermarket shelf
    Many families are being forced to make cutbacks, by buying cheaper food or simply buying less.

And economists predict food prices may continue to rise over the next few months.

It comes at a crippling time for families whose income is being eaten away by tax rises, such as VAT, record petrol prices and rising energy bills.

Last week British Gas came under fire for adding almost £200 a year to the cost of heating and lighting from next month.

Gas is going up 18 per cent and electricity by 16 per cent, taking the average annual dual-fuel bill to a record £1,288.

Inflationary British Gas is raising its prices for home energy customers from next month
    Brendan Barber, general secretary of the Trades Union Congress, said Britons are facing ‘a toxic mix’ of attacks on their living standards.

‘The cost of living is still rising twice as fast as wages, so our income squeeze is getting tighter every month – and will continue for some time,’ he said.

James Foord, from the price comparison website mySupermarket, said: ‘Although we have seen a drop in inflation, this drop has not benefited shoppers.

‘They will not notice inflation coming down as food prices are still on the up. Shoppers need to be as clever as possible and look for the best deals around when doing the supermarket run in order to save their wallets.’

A report from another comparison website, MoneySupermarket, showed the extent to which people are being forced into using their credit cards to survive until pay day.

One in four are running out of cash around a week before their next pay day.

Kevin Mountford, the website’s head of banking, said ‘most of the population’ are ‘feeling the pinch’.

For savers, although inflation may be falling, it is still far too high for them to have much chance of keeping up with the cost of living.

Inflation has been above the Government’s 2 per cent target for 19 consecutive months.

It is estimated savers have lost £72billion of interest since the Bank of England base rate was cut to 0.5 per cent in March 2009. Some banks have cut their interest rates as low as 0.01 per cent.

Simon Rose, from the campaign group Save our Savers, said: ‘Savers are getting burned.’

The Institute of Directors said falling inflation ‘kills any chance of a rate rise this year’, adding: ‘There may not be any rate rise next year either.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2014145/Families-face-260-year-surge-food-bills-prices-jump-6-5.html#ixzz1Rwij4snL

I so glad that people refuse to take on that PIMP AND CROOK HENDERSON BOVINE BOVELL. People had enough of your crookery and they aint forget get how you and Owen and Mia carry way and thief from we Bajans. It will be a long time we been scared by your corruption.

30. Cursing Henderson Bovell is not going to take away from the fact that the DLP has failed and must be voted out of Office in the next election.

Whatever lies that you try to trump up against the BLP will not save the woeful DLP from demise.

So carry on with your nonsense; it shows that you are clutching at straws that the wind has already blown away. GET REAL AND OPEN YOUR EYES !!!! AND BEHOLD THE COMING OF A NEW DAY !!!!!!

31. The facts and realities are there for all to see
    This has notthing to do with politics but reality

Any obcervant person can see it for what it is

32. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Tina Roach AKA JEROME WALCOTT you are a fine one to speak, someone that neglected and caused the demise of the entire health care system wanting to preach to Barbadians ? Give me a break .

33. Moodys has relegated Ireland’s credit rating to junk status.

34. Listen ! Pooping Stink in the Sea

I am not Jerome Walcott
    Ho could I be ?
    very amusing !!!
    So much for your foolishness and off base assumption
    . It is amazing how people assume crap ! really interesting !

35. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

A character using the alias: “Pooposition Is At Sea,” has been making some nasty comments about a citizen of Barbados on this blog and despite sound advice from David that: “You need to back off,” he has been proceeded arrogantly.

Permit me to set the record straight, as regards: “The Christmas Food Gift Programme” before called the: “Hamper Programme,” executed by the National Assistance Board (NAB), under a Barbados Labour Party Government.

One of the first things done when I became Chairman of the Board of the NAB in 2003 was to get the Board to agree to a written policy, which would change the name and regulate what was to become: THE ANNUAL CHRISTMAS-FOOD- GIFT PROGRAMME.”

That policy reads in part:

“The annual Christmas-food-Gift Programme, or the Christmas Barrel Programme as it is affectionately referred – shall be a needs-based programme of the Board, and is provided for at Section 5. (1) (d) of the National Assistance Act, which states: “The function of the Board shall be to carry out such duties and functions in connection with assistance to poor and needy persons (medical and non-medical) as may be imposed on it by this Act… .”

Accommodation is also provided within the spirit of Section 5. (1) (e) of CAP. 48 of the Laws of Barbados, which states: “The function of the Board shall be to accept and administer gifts of money and property from individuals or organizations donated to it for the benefit of poor and needy persons.” THE SECOND THING THAT THE BAORD DID WAS THAT IN 2004, IT CHANGED THE PERSON WHO COORDINATED THAT PROGRAMME.

Page 3, Item 4. of the official Minutes of the National Assistance Board, of Meeting N0.2/2006 held on February 22, 2006, confirms that in 2003, the NAB distributed a meagre 454 hampers. By 2004, that number jumped to 750 and in 2005 to a whopping 1024.

In fact by the 2007 the NAB was distributing a massive and breath-taking 2,500 Food Hampers. Where food items were inefficient to give a hamper to the Board’s high standards, those items were given to the Church and credible Civil Society Organization who had a ‘Meal on Wheels Programme.’

ANALYSIS
    How is it that in 2003, when according to the DLP – Barbados was a land of plenty – a time when a thousands were employed, so much so that according to the DLP – thousands were brought in to Barbados to do work bajans did not want to do; A time when people felt good that their jobs was not under threat; the economy was sound; OIL AND FUEL PRICES WERE LOW so too inflation and the cost of living – and yet – the NAB was only able to give-out a mere 454 Hampers?

How is it that with me as the CHAIRMAN of the Board of the NAB and despite the cost of living going through the roof by then; oil prices and food prices galloping through the ceiling and yet – the NAB was able to distribute 2,500 Hampers by 2007?

PERHAPS IT IS ONLY A CO-INCIDENCE but from 454 Hampers to OVER 2,500? Here is where it got interesting. The person, who was removed from coordinating the progamme, told Sinckler that BLP politicians were getting hampers. PERHAPS IT IS ONLY A CO-INCIDENCE but what she did not tell both he and Thompson – who rushed and held a Media Conference – was that DLP politicians were getting too. Not for themselves but to distribute to poor people in their constituencies.

PERHAPS IT IS ONLY A CO-INCIDENCE but what the DLP Operative did not explain to Sinckler nor Thompson – is: why is it that when food prices were extremely high in Barbados, the National Assistance Board (with Henderson Bovell as the Chairman of the Board) was able to distribute FIVE TIMES AS MANY HAMPERS TO POOR PEOPLE than when she and her DLP friends coordinated the Programme in 2003.

CONCLUSION:
    I will consider any further and similar comments from Senator Peter Gilkes: a hostile act of malice, as well as an unprovoked and unjustified attack on me – hence an act of war, by an “unlawful combatant.”

You were warned!!!!

36. If you Henderson Bovell can talk/write shite/propaganda about the DLP, it’s ‘Pooposition At Sea’ or anyone’s right to talk/write about you. The truth hurts.

37. You folk never cease to amaze me. On the first edition of Brass Tacks Sunday that touched on politics ( perhaps the fourth sunday of the programme)Chris Sinckler repeated a statement, and in about thirty five seconds a very familiar voice was on the air demanding a retraction. How he was able to get through so quickly ,we wondered then,that answer we know now. This time we are being told of “A hostile act of malice.” Unprovoked and unjustified is this act of war. In the first instance Chris quite rightly retracted ,avoiding the ready talons of the legal eagle. If such is your course of action Hendy B, then please proceed, so that as a matter of public interest this matter could be fully vented ,and you would have exposed to all and sundry ….the connected ones. The point I seek to make here is that threats of legal action in times past have always been met with the intended results…… The application of the muzzle. While the people remain silent the chosen few ,on either side of the aisle can do as they please,and there is no recourse for there is no INTEGRITY LEGISLATION.

38. I doan expect na answer but Hendy you know dat you and Hallam and de others—de henchmen, do de dog in BABADUS fa real long. Dah was de first time dat bajans get ta see over-night millionaires. When ya get a chance tell “De Minister Wid Muscles” hello fa me …….As always,much love…Hammy.

39. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Don’t run!!! Answer the question.

Former Chairman of the Board of the National Assistance Board was accused of having stolen “food hampers.” I have stated the facts that in 2003 when the cost of living; inflation, food prices and world oil prices were low and even local petroleum prices and electricity were subsidized by the then BLP government – the NAB was only able to distribute 454 hampers. HOW WAS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE!!!!

I then showed that by 2007, the same National Assistance Board was distributing a overwhelming 2,500 food hampers despite oil prices on the world market and food prices going through the roof. What was different? I became Chairman of the Board and the Board immediately changed the coordinated and the persons who worked with the programme.

In fact, it was Henderson Bovell, who – as Chairman of the Board – made the hamper programme transparent and accountable.

YOU SAID THE TRUTH HURTS: IT WILL NOT HURT ME!!!

Yes! I want the truth to be told. Were it – the record will reflect that:

(1) It is Henderson Bovell who conceptualised Barbados’ wellness and active ageing programme. A comprehensive document was actually prepared and copies issued. In 2005, letters were written to the Minister of Health, Education; the Community Independence Secretariat and the Chief Medical Office. I have letters of response from the Minister of Health; PS Ministry of Sports; the Chief Education Office and even met with the acting Chief medical Officer.

(2) It was Henderson Bovell who conceptualised the wellness programme in schools

(3) It was Henderson Bovell who conceptualized the same community Games, people only stumbled on a few days ago at an award ceremony. In a document produced by me in the 1990’s and made public in 2005 – it was intended by me that community Games or Community Family Games – would lead to a Barbados Family Games, a Caribbean Family Games and intimately – to a Barbados Global Games for Families – where as a component to our tourism product, Barbados would take the lead on the international stage in the fight against CMCD’s. Families from across the globe would come to Barbados to participate – – not in an athletics championship but in a wellness and active ageing initiative.

(4) It was Henderson Bovell who wrote several Papers, including one on Population Ageing as well as one which calls for a national protocol and the appropriate treatment of centenarians.

(5) It was Henderson Bovell who conceptualised the inter-school; intra-community/National skipping championship

(6) It was Henderson Bovell who in 2005 – wrote to the Community Independence Secretariat to suggest that instead of flowers, shrubs and hedges, the PM Best Community Competition should have a health/wellness and active ageing component and should also include fruits/ vegetable gardens and parks.

(7) It was Henderson Bovell who actually wrote the Cabinet Paper for a CNCD Commission, which recommended an Envoy; a wellness allowance, basket of goods and so on.

(8) It was Henderson Bovell who conceptualised Barbados Retirement Training Planning and Counselling Programme and wrote a Paper recommending that it became part of Barbados’ mandatory employment policy.

THIS IS WHAT I WAS BUSY DOING – changing Barbados and I was not even in Parliament!!!

So yes, I am hoping that somebody would finally tell the truth.

Under my watch, the NAB NEVER had a problem with the food hamper programme. The only problem would have been that we change the Coordinator and the staff who worked with it up to 2003 when a mere 454 hampers were possible. That 454 went to 2,500 despite food prices being high. People do not spend more when prices are high. It is why VAT receipts are now down.

Incidentally, the public record will show that while in Opposition – the same DLP politician who ran half-cocked to the media to say that BLP politicians were getting hampers (not realising that DLP politicians were also getting) accused NAB workers of being “THIEVES” when he became the Minister.

You said you want truth but can you deal with it?

40. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Henderson Bovell

Have you told the whole story, what about a company you had to milk the system?

41. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

DLP Wasting Time but No Red Card

What if the tourists do not come? What if the DLP gets it wrong again, as it has been doing consistently, since its rule over Barbados began? We already know that the DLP’s best effort has been a monumental failure.

According to the DLP, its Medium Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) was intended to put the Barbados economy back on track, yet Moody’s has now downgraded Barbados’ Credit rating, thereby confirming that the DLP does not have a clue.

Barbadians: you already know that the DLP’s policies are not working and will not work and that the DLP has made a bad situation much worst. Why not show the DLP the red-card? What are you waiting for: devaluation of the Barbados dollar, or for the IMF to take fuller control?

As I understand it, the objectives outlined in the MTFS were to: “to reduce the overall fiscal deficit and generate a balanced budget by 2014/15 and a surplus by 2015/16, while keeping economic growth to acceptable levels by focusing on the foreign exchange earning sectors. This will ensure a reduction in the debt ratios to sustainable levels.”

The DLP is yet to explain why despite saying to public servants that they should hold strain – there is an allegation that the Government’s wages bill still managed to increase by some 20% or by some $32 million.

42. Henderson Bovell you are a crook.

And that is being charitable on my part.

43. the DLP Stinks
    and they are stinking up Barbados
    every aspect of Barbados.
    It might seem long but just now we are going to kick the DOGS out –

44. Oh dear! oh dear! oh dear! Mature, intellectuals, of sound character, wisdom, understanding are called to shed light into darkness.

Do you swear to speak the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help me God?

Always remember that ‘DOGS’ are not registered with the Registrar at birth. And those of us who care for them are the ones that are registered. The Electoral and Boundaries Commission do visit houses seeking to know how many ‘DOGS’ are in the houses or apartments.

Remember also, they are the undecided voters who are not ‘DOGS’ when describing supporters of and members of the DLP.

The people that read this forum will remember those that write about each party and we all await Election Day. Especially, even the days before that day, we wait to meet canvassers, nominees and of course the one day when we take the opportunity to exercise our democratic right and give our Barbados Identification Number with our name Christian and Surname to the ‘people’ not ‘DOGS’ in the Polling Stations.

Just REMEMBER what you BLP supporters call or refer to the electorate of the country!!!!

45. @ Tina Roach

Oh dear! oh dear! oh dear! Mature, intellectuals, of sound character, wisdom, understanding are called to shed light into darkness.

Do you swear to speak the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help me God?

Always remember that ‘DOGS’ are not registered with the Registrar at birth. And those of us who care for them are the ones that are registered. The Electoral and Boundaries Commission do visit houses seeking to know how many ‘DOGS’ are in the houses or apartments.

Remember also, they are the undecided voters who are not ‘DOGS’ when describing supporters of and members of the DLP.

The people that read this forum will remember those that write about each party and we all await Election Day. Especially, even the days before that day, we wait to meet canvassers, nominees and of course the one day when we take the opportunity to exercise our democratic right and give our Barbados Identification Number with our name Christian and Surname to the ‘people’ not ‘DOGS’ in the Polling Stations.

Just REMEMBER what you BLP supporters call or refer to the electorate of the country!!!!

46. So who let the Dogs out ?????

47. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@Peter Pan | July 15, 2011 at 10:03 AM |
    “Henderson Bovell you are a crook.
    And that is being charitable on my part.”
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Henderson, as former UNITED NATIONS Big Man KOFI would say, “yuh punching way above your weight man.”
    You just cat-spraddled the cyclopean lie-factory in George Street, and left them scattered all bout the place like Errol’s ashes! Sweet CAM CAM, the original builder of the lie-factory, must be weeping in his grave like the MOCK WOMAN he was. (If you recall your history, that is how ERROL described him right on the floor of parliament)

Their only response to that parade of statistics, that treatise of ideas and hard work at the NAB, is a limp, “overboiled macaroni-like” unfounded whimper from PETER PAN that, “You are a crook.”
    How amazingly pathetic!

And when I say CYCLOPEAN, I really mean with ONE EYE AND ALL, which ONE EYE will be punched out whenever Freundel rings the bell.

48. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@Henderson Bovell | July 15, 2011 at 8:29 AM |
    “Don’t run!!! Answer the question.”
    “(3) It was Henderson Bovell who conceptualized the same community Games, people only stumbled on a few days ago at an award ceremony.”
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Yes Henderson, I did see STEVE BLACKETT with his very false American Accent on CBC DLP TV, declare with great applomb, ” We will spread these games over two days ……. in response to the wishes of the stakeholders”

DUH! After all of Henderson’s planning, working his brain cells to come up with exciting and visionary ideas, designed for the healthy development of our beloved senior citizens, fancy Steve Jacket comes along with all the flair he can muster, and declares very PROFOUNDLY “Two Days”, trying to give people the impression that he had something to do with those games.

Well STEVE is a real TWO DAY man. Remember he will also spread Kadooment over TWO DAYS? The point I am trying to make here though, is that I think the DEMS should seriously consider creating YET ANOTHER MINISTRY! They could call this one THE MINISTRY OF COSMETICS! See …… since they took over the reigns of GUHMENT, (Donville’s pronounciation ….. makes me laugh everytime I hear him say it) they have not only increased CBC DLP TV’s expenditure on face make-up, judging from the nightly parade of the Cabinet on TV heavily made up like cadavers, they have been busy adding cosmetics to every BLP project. E.G. (1) Installing plaques and renaming places to insure a DLP name is visible, (2) Unnecessary painting traffic lights on certain roads, the paint fading away in a about a week. (3) Over $50 MILLION in cosmetics on the heavily criticized ABC Highway, which was substantially completed when the BLP demitted office (4) Another brand of cosmetics as exemplified by the actions of STEVE JACKET above (5) Impulsive installation of the name of Eric Holder on that centre in St.Joseph. Holder is the the worst and arguably most corrupt Attorney General of the United States ever, even though he has bajan roots! (I will comment further on this in a separate post) But I could go on and on …… endless COSMETICS!