Submitted by Cat Eyes

Clorinda Alleyne, CEO, Public Workers’ Co-operative Credit Union Limited
  1. How is it that the CEO of this credit union makes almost $20,000 per month, inclusive of allowances. More than the Prime Minister of this country?  More than what some executives of private sector banks and insurance companies earn; more than some executives who have to perform and are appraised on performance. She also receives leave passage – the type that longstanding civil servants receive- holiday with passage paid for by the members. They have smartly sat down and crafted an exceptional salaries and benefits package for Alleyne who adds no value to the institution if you were to review her performance. Her salary is almost 6 thousand dollars more than her deputy the Legal Counsel. Those gaps in salary ranges are highly unusual. The CEO of the PW credit union has no financial qualifications, save for the credit union courses, and was a less than stellar attorney before joining the organisation as its Legal Counsel, yet through the machinations of Paul, and certainly not on ability or skill she is the head of this organisation.
  2. The CEO has a chauffeur who is paid out of the organisation’s coffers. The reasoning was that she was suffering from dizziness so she could  not drive. For five years or more this has been occurring. It was suggested that the driver, who is a messenger at the credit union, be paid the overtime for chauffeuring her, out of her salary. He also picked up her children from schools that are within walking distance of the credit union..
  3. For over three years Paul Maxwell, who was laid off from Cable and Wireless and worked nowhere, spent most of his time at the organisation and drove to and from the Credit Union in the car assigned to Alleyne, while she was driven around in another vehicle. The organisation’s car was in the possession of a non-executive director for over a year – being serviced etc. with members’ money – and nothing was done about it.
  4. When Caswell’s trip was cancelled, we the members lost approximately $10 thousand dollars in non-refundable expenses which were paid. His trip was cancelled out of spite, and we all know who was behind it. They have absolutely no regard for how our money is spent, as long as their end is achieved. So ” … cancel his trip, who the hell cares if the members’ money is pitched into Maxwell Pond as long as he does not go anywhere we are happy.”
  5. For the past decade some very bright and independent minds have left the institution because of the actions of the “musical chairs” Board. The management  staff complement then becomes a compliant, mentally sterile, ethically devoid group of trip hunters who take the lavish salaries, the healthy profit sharing and say “yes sir, yes sir, three bags full” and grin all the way to the salary counter. Petrified to object to anything.

My recommendation is that the whole Board face a no-confidence motion. Also, people like Cedric Murrell, who have proven to be major disappointments in the manner in which they have condoned this behaviour as members of the Supervisory Committee, should be permanently off.

The function of the Registrar of Cooperatives has functioned in this case just as the Supervisor of Insurance functioned with CLICO. THEY DID NOT FUNCTION!!! Couple their inaction with a complacent, greedy membership which seems to have no concept of what a credit union should be and no comprehension of their responsibility as members, and we have problems.

In moving forward, members would have to petition/agitate for Paul Maxwell to be forbidden to serve on any decision-making entities related to the credit union. They are currently making plans to establish a new company that will be providing services to smaller credit unions, and another unemployed clique member, Dean St. Hill, is tipped to head that company. Paperwork is with the Registrar. Members need to put their foot down.

It is unfortunate that this matter had to be aired here. But that is what happens when people feel they have no voice in the forum that should listen and act. I certainly hope it does not undermine public confidence in the institution, which by and large is a great one. But this development is a result of a lapse in the vigilance we all knew used to be the hallmark of successful credit unions.

Get to the AGM, demand answers- do not allow Paul and company to use by laws to block discussion (and threats of legal action from the bully Alleyne). Organise, and do like them and get a lawyer to go with the group if you can. And when you get your answers, petition, move motions, do whatever you can to bring the freewheeling by that group to an end. Take back your credit union.

329 responses to “Barbados Public Workers Cooperative Credit Union Members Urged To Take Back Their Credit Union From The Few Who Have Hijacked It”

1. Is this not something the Financial Services Commission should be interested in or credit unions are still operating under the ambit of the Registrar of Cooperatives?

2. The newly constituted Financial Services Commission should address this, but one would ask under which by-law? You must understand that some of the things mentioned do not violate any by-law. The actions may be unethical, immoral, corrupt and a violation of good corporate governance. But they may not be illegal. She is a lawyer and he is a schemer. Caught up in a whirlpool of money they have come to think is theirs. The beauty about this situation is that the organisation is constructed in such a way that people power means just that. Problem is, the people have become complacent and the power has not been exercised in so long that they seem to have forgotten the leverage they have.
    We have stalwarts like Ralph Boyce who seem to have become tired, otherwise engaged or too caught up in other pursuits to be interested.
    Plus all those who have stood up to oppose these people have been systematically marginalised within their own institution – kicked off the board by lobbying and using credit union incentives to gain support against them; frustrating staff members enough to make them leave; or by bringing QCs to contentious meetings to support their positions.
    Remember, the strategy has been well crafted through almost ten years of practice. Once members get the paltry dividend, can get a loan and withdraw at will, they really are not interested in anything else.

3. @Cat Eyes

“… an a violation of good corporate governance”

If it is one thing which should cause a regulator to sit up and take notice since Enron and the like is decisions by management which compromise good corporate governance. If the FSC is not armed to deal with this then it should go back to the drawing table.

4. @David. The by-laws and other regulations of any organization rank inferior to the Laws of Barbados.

5. Does this not sound like sour grapes or envy to you, David? On second thoughts, don’t answer that.

Why do we always complain when someone makes more money than the Prime Minister? What are the qualifications for being PM. You and “Cat Eyes” would be surprised at the number of people who make much more than the PM!

6. TELL us what these persons share in common Cedric murrell,Anne-marie Burke,Clarence Greenidge,Errol Gay ?All are surporters of Paul Maxwell and Walter Maloney and will turn they eyes to any wrong doings by management so long as some benefits come they way -how many times has cedric travel on credit union business , do the maths u will see more than D eyes can see ,and all of them are Questionable -CEDRIC ,ANNE-MARIE,ERROL GAY WERE THE FOOT PERSONS TO GET CASWELL OUT OF THE CREDIT UNION AND NUPW , PLEASE DO SOME MORE CHECKING OR ASK YOUR SELVES WHY THESE PERSONS SURPORT EACH OTHER , SOME OF YOU ARE MENBERS OF BOTH THE CREDIT UNION AND NUPW – DO THE RESERCH . YOU WILL FING IT VERY INTERESTING and worrying .I rest my case for now .

7. Bu all means hold the Board accountable, but this seems to me like character assassination, not good corporate governance. This is a financial institution with $673 million in assets at March 31, 2010 and I hope members will go the AGM to probe the Board on how it is managing the major risks that are faced by a large financial institution and its vision for future growth and stability.

Every story has more than one side. Imagine bringing a no-confidence motion against the Board of a credit union that has seen growth in surplus from $1.1 million in 2006 to $7.3 million in 2010! Most of the concerns raised seem to me to be more about petty personal differences than arising out of concern for the welfare of the credit union and its members.

8. I don’t know much about credit union management, but I know there is a financial performance monitoring system known as PEARLS. I would advise members to ask the Board is the credit union is under-performing with respect to any of the PEARLS ratios and benchmarks, and if so what is the Board’s plan for these areas.

If there is nothing in PEARLS that covers things like expenses for salaries and travel by directors, then members should ask the Board how they decide the overall reasonableness of these amounts and how they compare to expenses in other credit unions of similar size.

9. Members must decide if they are comfortable with directors putting in long hours of work outside of Board meetings, to further the development of the credit union, and if so what controls they would like to see the Board put in place to deal with significant concerns. The rules might not now be crafted with this practice in mind.

10. It seems a visible code to govern business conduct needs to be placed on the table as well. The issues of conflict of interest and business ethics are real issues. No where has BU read that the credit union’s balance is not performing however this not mean that concerns raised should not be addressed. Non financial issues are important!

11. David, the problem is that when you descend to this level of guttersniping and nitpicking there is no end to it – the “guttersnipers” will never be satisfied. As someone said on the other thread stick to the key issues and leave out the personal attacks and other nonsense.

12. @Brutus

You are correct that ideally we would want issues discussed.

Sometimes the comments on BU remind us of the debates in parliament when ad hominens and trivia trumps the issues.

Perhaps such is the nature of man.

13. Brutus, if you are a member of a go check the literature which explains the philosophy of like institutions. The credit union is not a bank, despite the mammoth asset base; you should also read the history of that institution and research how that asset base was built. So when the comparison is made with “like”institutions, kindly compare credit unions with credit unions. If you wish to recommend that the credit union make the transition to banking status, and make itself amenable to all the fiscal rules and regulations and corporate standards requisite of the bank, make it and I will agree with any suggestion that these comments are nit picking.
    However the behaviour of these people would NEVER be condoned in a regularised corporate environment, and anyone condoning this has to be a part of the cabal or plain ignorant of what a credit union is. Or just a mind with a callous disregard for peoples’ money. Unjustified CEO salaries – 6 grand space between her and the next in line – unheard of in any regularised corporate environment.
    A CEO commandeering a messenger to be her personal chauffeur -not part of her package – and him being paid all of his overtime out of the institution – unheard of in any regularised corporate environment.
    Financial irreregularities perpertrated by two dismissed staff members and the acts not reported to the relevnt institionasl authorities as required by the laws- unheard of in any regualrised corporate entity!
    And I could repeat ad nauseum.
    Credit unions have benefited from decades of concessions from government, concessions which have encouraged savings and loans growth.
    The whirlpool of money that these people are playing with is a result of those special considerations and the hard, hard work of founding members and some staff members over the decades.
    The institution has remained sound because of the vigilance of the membership. That is what a credit union is. And those of us who are members, who have the institution at heart, have been concerned for a while. Anyone who cannot see that what is going on is wrong cannot be a credit union member who understands what being a member really is.

14. I would also wish to say that I have no brief for Caswell Franklin. Not a Barbadian I admire. In this instance his points are well-made, but I will say as an observer that when things were going well for him in there, he and some of the same people doing foolishness were a team.
    Somehow though, things have become increasingly worrisome for all. That is why members armed with full information should, as was said before, take back their organisation. It belongs to them.

15. @Brutus, don’t believe I am attacking you personally; I do not know you. But I sense a trivialising of issues which, within the credit union financial environment (any financial environment for that matter) should be taken seriously. Just remove the names of the individuals addressed and pretend they were, for arguments’ sake Ding Ding. Then consider if the discomfort of members is justified.

16. Thanks Cat Eyes. I get the distinct impression that you did not read carefully what I wrote because I did not say anything about banks, and I did not say to simply compare to “like” institutions. Do you disagree though with my recommendations to members?

Regarding the specific concerns, were these matters first raised at Board or Committee level and if so, what was the outcome?

17. @Brutus
    The problem is not one of ‘bad’ people on the Board. It is about a loss of fundamental focus.
    Co-ops are unique institutions. There is a specific founding philosophy that guides the development and direction of the organization.
    This philosophy is fundamentally at variance with that which drives regular businesses.
    For example the operation should be NON profit in focus. The objective being service to members. There is to be ABSOLUTE transparency of operation. This is a major challenge when ‘secret’ deals (like buying CLICO assets) are undertaken, BUT THIS IS EXACTLY THE INTENT.

ALL such plans, proposals and issues REQUIRE prior membership agreement. This is only possible through complete openness and ongoing communications.

When therefore the co-op approach gains he kind of results that we have seen over the past 25 years, we end up with a very attractive ‘prize’ – often described in terms of the net assets.
    Why would we be surprised that some, unaware of the background, roots and philosophy of the movement, seek to bring their ‘business’ approach? ….It is for those who understand the true strength of credit unions to defend the movement.

As the Bushman said before, if CLICO operated on the co-operative approach, things would have been VERY different years ago.

The current hullabaloo is not ‘sad’ or ‘bad’, indeed it is a sign that real credit unionist are finally awakening.

…..’Cat Eyes’ is a definite inspiration…..

18. One foolish question; can there be a credit union without members?
    Another foolish question; can the board dismiss a CEO or can the members dismiss the board?
    Who holds the ultimate power in any credit union?
    Why all the lotta long talk then?

19. Bush Tea – does “non profit” mean that a credit union should not have a surplus or should not target a surplus? Could you explain why you think that decisions like “buying CLICO assets” require PRIOR membership agreement? Does this hold for all investment decisions of the credit union?

20. @Brutus

Did you attend the ICB AGM last year?

Why did the management of ICB bring the matter of the CLICO due diligence to the shareholders?

ICM is a stock company no?

21. DisiClean | June 5, 2011 at 10:42 AM | One foolish question; can there be a credit union without members?
    Another foolish question; can the board dismiss a CEO or can the members dismiss the board?
    Who holds the ultimate power in any credit union?
    Why all the lotta long talk then?
    ————————————————————-

ha ha ha Oh lord Disiclean. I was hear wondering the same. I have been a member of a credit union in my neck of the woods for the last 17 yrs and like many other members will be leaving the instituion. We can no longer differientiate between a regular bank and our credit union.

22. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

David, Congrats on posting what is a most well thought out and reasoned article on the subject, well done on doing what needs to be done to attract contributions such as this one is.

23. @WIV

Hope your party is looking on with interest.

24. Brutus
    How can you say that a member raising the fact that the CEO of a Credit union in Barbados is getting $20000 a month is nick picking. I am a member and do not see it as nick picking
    Most of the members of the credit union work for less that $2000 a month and then when they save their money the dividends paid on that savings is very small.
    The credit union should divide more of the surplus between the members and not pay such high salaries which are out of sync with what the public workers who are the members earn.

25. @Clone

To be fair the credit union movement is no longer a mom and pop operation to be managed from the seat of the pants.

If you want competent professionals to lead the movement you have to pay them market rate or close.

In fact this maybe a regulatory issue as well.

26. One wonders how did the movement even survive or grew without these “competent professional’ at the helm.

27. @Clone – I did not say which charges I consider to be nitpicking, and I was referring to some of what was written on this thread and the previous one. I suggest that you go to the AGM and ask the Board how they decide on compensation for senior management. You can also ask how they decide how much to pay out as dividends and what rate of interest to pay on deposits. Nothing unreasonable there but you might need to have a sense of what are reasonable answers to those questions so that you can probe their responses. You might also ask if the Board thinks there should be a policy whereby all of the senior management salaries are disclosed to members.

28. @DisiClean

Hope you are not trivializing the point that credit unions now operate in a regulatory environment which demand certain skill i.e. accounting, financial etc

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

More than you know.

30. @ Brutus
    A Co-operative is intended to be a collective body whose main objective is to collectively satisfy certain specified needs of its members.
    The financial co-op (credit union) has a role therefore of providing facilities like loans, savings, and investment facilities FOR MEMBERS.

The intent is to have a maximum of volunteerism and collective synergy in providing these services; to respect individual rights and to minimize the greed factor. Surplus is therefore NOT and objective – indeed any such surplus rightfully should be RETURNED to those members in proportion to their respective service charges paid (interest on loans etc) as a patronage refund.
    A perfect credit union therefore is one that manages to supply its members’ financial needs, maximize the voluntary contributions of all members; and that exactly covers the cost incurred in doing so from charges.

A billion dollar credit union may very well need to hire a manager at $30,000 per month, but it MUST be clear to the majority of members why this is necessary and how it achieves the co-operative ends….

The business of the new regulatory framework introduced by the BLP is a whole lot of bovine excrement. This is the same kind of structure that regulated Trade Confirmers, CLICO, ENRON etc etc…. Nothing beats a situation where alert members have the RIGHT to know about their money and to appoint a body (Supervisory Committee) with ABSOLUTE power to access all information and to suspend the directors if they so determine- UNTIL THE MEMBERS make the final decision as to what they want.

Only OSA would support such a change… a clear sign of ignorance…. and at a time when our movement was showing BY RESULTS how sound the philosophy is…

31. David, one would have thought that those skills were always required.
    Are you saying that the CEO now performs these task?

I rest my case now that Bush Tea has stated his.

32. Bush Tea commented on the philosophy of the movement which does not preclude/ignore the requirement to have specialized skills onboard when managing people’s money in today’s world. Those skills are not limited to the CEO’s position.

33. So the regulatory requirements are so complex that only a professional who is paid at the higher end of the scale would suffice.

Is this also mandatory for smaller credit unions or are they not subject to the same regulations?

34. There was a time the accountant was not a qualified accountant, there is the need for IT professional etc. Obviously the larger credit unions like public worker would require those skills more than Shamrock or BSTU credit unions. It is all about managing the bigger risk which stands to disrupt the Barbados financial system.

35. Sound financial practices are sound regardless of size of risk. All that is required is for the person in charge to follow the accepted principles.

All I am trying to say is that in my book, it is not necessary to hire a professional from the top tier, when one a couple of rungs lower would do just as well.

Now if you were suggesting that the competent professional is required because of they creativity in designing products and solutions that advance the movement, than that would be an entirely different matter.

36. @DisiClean

Why else would the leading credit union in Barbados which represents more than 50% of the movement not want to hire the best?

To your point about risk and how a small credit union compared to a big would impact the overall market you are incorrect.

37. House of Cards Avatar
    House of Cards

Pick sense from nonsense

1 Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. It already had and they’re laughing all the way to the bank.

2 Don’t you find it strange that the same people run every year unopposed not because they’re good at what they do, but because they masters of malipulation. The silence is deafening.

3 Don’t you realize that as a member it is your right to run if you so desire, get your friends, family, community, workmates, church, etc. to vote for you. As Obama says be the change you want to see. Or sit quietly and accept the shit and watch your house of cards come tumbling down, its already leaning.

4 Check out the old school ties of Paul and Co. Friends indeed. Every man has a price all you need to do is find out what it is and offer it to him, oh how very few would not accept.

And finally great saying become great because they’re true so I will leave you with this ponder it.

First they came for the Jews,
    and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
    and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the communists,
    and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.

Then they came for me
    and there was no one left to speak out for me.

Who will be left to speak for you when you sit back year after year and let these people destroy this great institution? Those people who don’t give a damn about the members or staff members only friends, and family. Those people who make $20,000 a month and blatantly threatened staff members at the staff meeting on 01st of June. Sign a new confidentiality agreement or give in your resignation, etc blah, blah, blah along with a lot of other shite talk.

But then again that’s how Mrs. $20,000 a month always talks to her staff, disrespectfully and down right degrading. What a way to build morale. Woohoo! Go team!

The incompetence of Mrs. $20,000 and Co. is staggering, but what do you expect when musical beds got you so incompetent people many to the top? Truly wuk fuh wuk.

Staff live in fear of a wrong word, or a wrong move. The one’s who don’t stand for shite just simply walk away from an environment that can be akin to Alice through the looking glass. As Alice said when she was told she could visit the Hatter or the March Hare, who were both discribed as mad. ” But I don’t want to visit mad people! the reply was you can’t help it every one here is mad.

Pure madness.

P.S. You can do what you want but not for as long as you want.

38. @House of Cards

It is not unusual for a financial institution especially to ask employees to sign a confidentiality agreement, all part of the code business conduct referred to earlier. You are correct that certain management skills should be brought to bare to make sure employees understand the reason for it.

Hope the directors have signed of as well.

39. Why else would the leading credit union in Barbados which represents more than 50% of the movement not want to hire the best?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Absolutely nothing but if you read the submission again, you might notice there is a suggestion that the credit union did not get the best and is not getting value for money.

To your point about risk and how a small credit union compared to a big would impact the overall market you are incorrect.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Nowhere have I suggested such.
    My point was about following accepted principles and procedures and managing the risk regardless of size

40. A manager in Ba’bados mekking $30,000 per month … A MANAGER IN BA”BADOS MEKKIN $30,000.00 A MONTH … With impunity, nah manager ’bout ain’ even wurf a third ah da salary…. Not in a population of only a quarter million. If a manager, by his presence is able to attract to the company $60,000.00, well I guess he would got good ground to claim ’bout half; but to be acting as a manager, and this talk about the risk factor is tripe, is ripping off the people that he claim to be serving and the consumers dat will be forced to contribute to dah salary through purchasing the service or goods that the company got on offer.

41. Ask Oriel Doyle and de res’ ’bout de kind of salaries that they use to get back in de day … ! $30,000.00 a month fah academics … my ass!

42. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Brutus | June 5, 2011 at 6:12 AM |
    “…bringing a no-confidence motion against the Board of a credit union that has seen growth in surplus from $1.1 million in 2006 to $7.3 million in 2010!”

if that growth is so how come my interest/dividend in 2010 was much. much less than what i got in 2006 even tho my savings were 10 times what i saved in 2006?

43. who is this BAFBFP fella with the foto
    seems a little crazy ,

eh! eh! Bonja !
    he sallop !!!

44. @ David – you sure he is incorrect…?
    The fun part about the movement is the wide variety of opinions that exist. Classifying these various opinions as ‘correct or incorrect’ is risky, since correctness is to a large extent a matter of perspective.

Suppose the BU family decided that BU had now reached the stage where we wanted a big-up blog master with a Phd and nuff other papers….
    … you know full well that ru4real and them fellows would want to hire their friend and pay her 28,000 per month….

Some of us would complain that you had done all the hard work to get us to this point….., and some others would argue that such a critical operation needed top-of-the line-skills…. who would be right?

Now if we had the open, extensive, factual discussion, – (challenging as it may be,) we could come to an agreement (in the end a majority vote does it) and we would all know exactly where the body stands.

The current discussion is therefore well in keeping with co-op principles.
    BPWCCUL is an excellent example of success, and a great organization to be part of – the main weakness has been the absence of adequate member involvement and the consequent shift to top down control.

Members won’t attend meetings, but if BU can take the meetings to them – so that now informed members can effectively participate in the business – so much the better……

45. @DisiClean

Do you accept small credit unions cannot manage risk the same way the bigger more financially better credit unions can?

Interesting comment about the alleged size of the salary paid to BPW credit union ‘executive’. Usually a company performs a benchmarking exercise in the peer group it competes in and decides based on its balance sheet if it will peg staff salaries low, mid or lead the market. Regarding BWU credit union given its size relative to companies in the movement who would they have benchmarked against?

46. David
    I agree with BAFBFP, no manager of the credit union should be getting that kind of money when people mortgage interest went up and as smooth chocolate said dividends have been declining.
    Let’s do a comparison throughout the Caribbean and I will bet that this salary is the highest for a credit union manager.
    I have not seen any new benefits to the members with this large asset base

47. @Bush Tea

Our comments crossed which might partially answer your last comment. Sure you are aware a lot of the risk policies and governance structure credit unions are being called to implement is externally driven.

What if we told you BU has turned down offer (to date) for investors willing to convert the brand to a newspaper? Of course it is obvious we have not monetized either 🙂

48. @David
    A good manager is a good manager, a bad risk is a bad risk regardless.

I am lost David, is there a different way to managing a small risk as opposed to managing a larger one.

A prudent employer considers the complexity of the task and then selects the employee that can successfully accomplish that task for the least amount.

He certainly does not offer top dollar simply because others are doing so.

49. @Clone

Have you had a look at BPW credit union website?

The credit union has been buying buildings which would increase its asset base. Are you saying the buildings on Broad Street and Belmont are non performing assets?

50. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

i think too that we are being hood-winked with our loans. i cannot understand how come, i had a loan for $15,000 in 2005 and that loan today is no where near finish. i am pay $395 per month. i am starting to believe that somehow, i am paying for a loan that should be finished…it is not decreasing. but i will say that i am attending the meeting and i know when i leave, it will be the last meeting i attend as i will be withdrawing my membership