Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Delisle Worrell

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) recently released a statement on the Barbados economy which has caused some Barbadians to sigh with relief. Central Bank Governor Delisle Worrell was also also full of glad tiding in April when he forecast the economy to grow 2% during his Review of Barbados’ Economy for the First Three Months of 2011. Why is BU not as optimistic?

Is it not ironic suggesting growth for an economy which relies heavily on that of the United States? The US legislature is currently debating whether to raise its debt ceiling to 16 trillion dollars!ย ย  Following close behind the US is the UK governmentย  who has committed to cut 600,000 government workers over a three year period. How can we be so confident about growth when the two main markets we rely on for inflows of tourist, foreign direct investment and remittances continue to struggle? What growth the US has managed to achieve in the last year is what the economists refer to as jobless growth.

Given the prevailing economic uncertainty one might have reasonably expected our intellectual cadre of professors at Cave Hill,ย  to have come to the assistance of ordinary Barbadians, and provide an unbiased and reasoned interventions to demystify the economic gobbledygook we are being fed. No such luck. Instead what we have had to ‘processed’ is an attack on the credibility of the information presented by the Central Bank of Barbados in its periodic updatesย  to the nation. The Central Bank of Barbados has always held the respect of both sides of the political spectrum in Barbados. This is our first recollection of any Governor of the Central Bank attracting the kind of attack delivered with the fierceness as we are witnessing from former Prime Minister and Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur and former Central Banker, economist and Arthur’ s right hand man Clyde Mascoll. They have both vehemently dismissed the view posited by Governor Worrell that the economy has grown.

At the crux of the puzzle if you followย  BUโ€™s layman interpretation:

If nominal GDP (gross domestic product (GDP) figure that has not been adjusted for inflation) fell in 2010, and if prices were rising it means that real economic growth also fell. Against the foregoing how is it Barbados can report economic growth? In January when the government reported 0.3% growth that was based on an estimate. To be honest BU has become irritated at the carving up of the statistics and analysis to obfuscate ordinary public. What about the intelligentsia on Cave Hill? Had a peek at the Barbados Economic Society blog to make sure we had not missed any elucidation on the mystery of Barbadosโ€™ economic performance in the first three months of 2011.

BU will leave it up to the economic gurus to bang each other on the heads about who is right or wrong about the numbers. Here is what we know. If there has been some manufactured easing of the global economic conditions then it stands to reason that Barbados will benefit from a few more tourists visiting the island, increase in FDI and remittance inflows because a few more people feel a little more confident. Does it mean however that our debt to GDP ratio does not remain North of 100? Does it not mean that we are spending more than we are earning on Current Account? Does it not mean that we are flogging the same economic fundamentals which have served us well for the last 30-40 years? What is the status of our renewable energy program? On a related note it is ironic that President Barack ‘Clean Energy’ Obama gave the approval last week to ‘drill baby drill’ in Alaska and the Gulf.

There are facts and then there is the truth. To sensible Barbadians the truth is how long we can continue to withstand the boom and bust cycles which are approaching of late with increasing frequency. Wholly dependent on a fossil based economy in times when cheap oil is a thing of the past. We are given to understand we are at the tail end of the last recession described as the worst since the Great Depression. It has destroyed the wealth of developed nations and heaped more debt on developing nations. Developing nations have no choice but to turn cap in hand to the IMF, World Bank, IADB and other international financial institutions; all controlled by the developed world.

While our economists argue about whether we have nominal or 2% growth, it seems to pale in insignificance when we view the big picture.

126 responses to “Filtering Truth From Fact About The Performance Of The Barbados Economy”

1. I don’ know, the’ got somet’ing ’bout de way dis Central Bank Govna look, somet’ing ’bout he, dat says “Don’ accept nuttin’ dat I say hear … I is jus’ a creature ah politicians hear, I know which side a my bread got butter pun em …”

I don’ kno’ bo, I ain’ too keen on much dat he gotta say …

2. “Liars canfigure and figures can lie”but i would prefer to listen to Worrell than Mascol . Worrel is the one that have the information at hand. Seems to me that Mascoll analysis is base only what he perceives . with limited information. The main problem is the pain and suffering the people are feeling in the pocket book.

3. From where I sit (back of the class), 0.3% or 2% do not mean a thing to me or the rest of people next to me.

All this pretty talk does not negate that a large number of people believe they were better off before the “change”.

Time getting short and it ain’t looking suh good for DEM.

4. I have never considered myself to understand economic matters, but isnt it ironic that the two men who used to lock horns on economic matters can find a comon ground to attempt to dispute the information presented by the Governor of the Central Bank and confirmed by the international bank. It serves both these gentlemen to oppose the facts, even though they cannot dispute that there was growth in the economy.

David, oure developments over the years have been based on varius models, we had the sugar industry, industrialisation by invitation, and now the service industry. All the models had their advantages, but the one that appears to have brought the greatest benefits to this country is the service industry and thus Barbados has been transformed from a collection of villages to developed country.

Barbados has gone through its worst recessions that I have witnessed, the country has weathered the storm. There has not been massive layoffs and employent is growing, Simialry the unemployment rate in the usa has begun to drop. Tourism has begun to pick up. It is in owen’s interest to predict toom and gloom, but Barbados has not got short memory in relation to the atrocious infellicities committed by the BLP to swell the coffers of a few. When the DLP came to power the coffers were empty. In the circumstance, this administration has done well, the economy has been stabilised and I expect further growth this year. As Erick Wiiliams normally say, to understand the future, you need to go back to the past, thuse therein lie some of the reasons for the recession. The Aurtur adminisrtation caused the economy to overheat and there was only a matter of time before it had contracted becasue of the bunching of construction projects, coupled with the international meltdown.

The reason why the ecoomist on the hill has not refuted the growth is because they cant. I dont know how old you are, but Courney Blackman and Marion Blackman used to be accused of creatures of the Minister of Finance. Those of you who have been preaching doom and gloon, you are disapponted that you predictions did not come to pass.

As I continue to say, Barbadians will decide if they want to return the corrupt BLP to Government next time around to place the ecoomy in the hands of a few for the benefits of a few.

I wish to point out, that very few samll island economies, if any can influence international development. What they need to do is ensure that they have a good agricultural base to feed their populations as they have no control over the movement of prices. Barbados will survive and so will the the DLP.

5. @ Observer
    Your claim about economic matters is patently obvious in your comments. what do you mean by the coffers were empty. No disrespect to you, but the Dems will fool who they can fool. Gov’t does not have a bank account from which it makes withdrawals, so that a previous administration can clean it out and leave nothing for the next. Foolishness. Citizens are taxed every year in a budget, and that is the money used by each gov’t. It is only allowed to tax for what it decide to spend in any one year. BLP last tax 2.8b, David Thompsom administration in first budget taxed 3.2b. What coffers empty what. Those are the lies told by the Dems to stay in power, when it is so evident that they were incompetent. More later

6. @Bajan Truth

You cant lecture me in how govt works, if expenditure is greater than revenue what do you expect? Increase taxation or borrow to close the gap and consequently an increase in national debt.

Do you mean are imcpmpetent instead of were imcompeten at the Dems are still in power and will be there for a while.

I am awaiting you more later so that we can start from 1994-2008 for the VLP and from 2008- to current for the DLP. Please hurry up and lets go on this matter.

7. for the “BLP” instead of “VLP”

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FIRST THINGS FIRST.
    What type of bogus headline is this:-

“Filtering TRUTH From FACT About The Performance Of The Barbados Economy”

What is TRUTH?
    “That which is true or in accordance with fact”

What is a FACT?
    “A fact is empirically true”
    Consider this for a while in your rush to call a 6 a 9. Donald Trump, sorry I mean DAVID.

9. @CCC
    I thought you would not get involved in this discsussion, i dont have a clue about economics except to add and subtract and arrive at the balance.

So I am going to need your help in tearing the headline to shred.

10. Justin Robinson Avatar
    Justin Robinson

A growing economy does not necessarily mean that things are fine and there are no major problems. It means that the economy did better than it did for the same period last year. We can dispute the various numbers, but my own sense is that 2010 was an improvement over the 2009 period and the first quarter of 2011 was better than the first quarter of 2010.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Thank you for admitting that there is only TRUTH AND FACTS in the statements of the Central Bank Govenor.

I know that you did not mean to it just happened. Then again you could not have done otherwise as he being proved correct each time he speaks unlike the GLOOM AND DOOM Barbados Labour Party whose every prediction of desaster for the Barbados economy have fallen flat of its face.

I have a sneaky feeling that the BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY was the driving force behind the prediction that the World was going to come to an end LAST SATURDAY.

Everyone will also remember Barbados Labour Party strong supporter TINA ROACH warning everyone of the World’s end last Saturday.

I don’t put anything rediculous past the corrupt Barbados Labour Party.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID
    You behaving just like the NATION NEWSPAPER.
    You have completly ingnored MIA AMOR MOTTLEY’S statements in yesterday’s newspaper. It is much easier for you to drag this red herring across the trail.

MIA ON A CRUSADE
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/mia-on-a-crusade/
    What is this saying aboutthe state of affairs within the Barbados Labour Party? Not interested at all? DAVID

13. @Dr. Robinson

Thanks for your intervention, BU is asking some simple questions.

Is it not true the statistically insignificant .3% which was heralded by Minister Sinckler for January period, the Governor et al was based on provisional numbers?

Is it not true that the 21,000 tourist arrival number has in-transit passengers as a significant percentage?

We are simply trying to separate the truth from the facts for ordinary people.

As you know the local media lacks the financial wherewithal to put the government/central bank under pressure on these matters with the perhaps the exception of Pat Hoyos.

14. @David

Did we have increased receipts from tourism spending?

Grwth is growth even though you migt consider it insignifcant, what is sigficant is that the economy has turned the corner and the growth is the paltform for further growth.

15. GDP is not a very useful indicator of economic growth when the worlds largest economy is attempting to monetize (print money) its way out of a mountain of debt and you are pegged to that currency.

Some simple mathematical truths:

Lets say GDP is 2billion (just an example) and next year it is 1 billion. That is a 50% decrease which is way worst than depression numbers which most recognize as 10%….. Now lets say the year after GDP grows to 1.8 billion…. 80% increase in one year ( this is just an example to demonstrate the maths ) Even with 80% growth you are still 20% short of where you were.

If you get the the inflation calculation wrong (which you will if you can’t account for the extent to which the Fed Reserve will continue to monetize the debt) then the real GDP will be off…..way off!!!!!

Natural disasters are not discounted from GDP so if like in Japan a disaster destroys a whole lot of stuff…..GDP is not effected, but if productivity takes a hit , farms, factories close etc… then GDP will be affected. However when you rebuild all of that destroyed infrastructure….it counts to GDP…. Now look at the mathematics above…..GDP as a percentage always looks great after a big bust (disasters included) The rebuild is always a larger percentage to return you to where you were….but over the entire period there was ZERO GROWTH if the numbers are real GDP, and NEGATIVE if they are nominal GDP.

If inflation causes worsening wage deflation, i.e your dollars by less….WHO CARES what the GDP says you are still screwed.

16. @observer

Overall, travel receipts are estimated to have grown by $49 million, seven per cent more than the earnings received during the first three months of 2010.

Note the above statement has also been challenged in light of a dip in FX for the same period.

@AOD

Thanks for that explanation, the destruction of wealth and the dynamic which it attracts is something which we have discussed on BU.

17. Justin Robinson Avatar
    Justin Robinson

GDP figures are always subject to revisions (up or down). Personally I take a 0.3% gain or decline in GDP as an indicator that the economy was essentially flat in 2010. That is not great, but an improvement coming off a 4% or more decline in 2009, and a sign that the economy is stabilizing after the shock of 2009.

I have no difficulty accepting 2% or more growth in the first quarter of 2011 on the back of a stronger tourist season than the first quarters of 2009 and 2010. The numbers can always be disputed and improved upon, but I have seen no indicators on the ground that suggest the first quarter of 2011 was not a better one in terms of tourist arrivals than the corresponding periods in 2010 and 2009.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If a cricket match is won by one run or one hundred runs, a win is a win.
    In the economy the same is true. If there is growth of one percent or ten per cent, growth is growth.
    Also what must not be ignored is the fact that success breeds success.
    Small growth patterns shows the Government that it is on the right course. The measures which have been put in place are bearing fruit as they said that they would.

19. @David

I asked you that question deliberaly so that we can see, that even though numbers are important, the increase of receipts from tourism and you have stated that receipts have increased by $49millions, and that increase demsonstrates that that sector is rebounding. Even though you stated that that figure is being disputed. The Minister of Tourism and the Tourism Planners must be commended for a job well done.

@Dr. Robinson

Thank you for the explanation as it is also of interest to me as well.

20. @Observer
    The only gov’t with expenditure exceeding revenue is this DLP admin. No previous gov’t BLP or DLP created deficits on the current account. In a situation of a recession you keep increasing your spending, you do not use it to stimulate the economy; you do not use it to properly to shore up the earning sectors, but you can spend an additional 500m every year, the bulk of which has gone to employ supporters while cutting the budget for supplies, equipment and projects.

The claim about 2.8% growth has been accompanied by little visible evidence. Mr. Jordan over at BHTA indicated that the season was mixed for the hotels of highs and lows and they did not experience the increased torusim arrivals of 20,000 in the hotels. What ever the numbers we Bajans need to know if we really going soemwhere or if this is smokescreen.

21. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@ Observer
    For an individual who stated that you do not support any political party, you seem to go at all lengths to try to represent the DLP. In this instance, in your usual hast to โ€œbig upโ€ the party, your contribution seems a bit incoherent.

When matters in the development of this island need to be addressed, you and your kin are always using the convenience of โ€œthe recessionโ€ as a cop out. This is evidenced by the fact that you interchange the reasons for Barbadosโ€™ economic recession, when things are not going your way. On one hand the world recession is responsible, and on the other, Owen Arthur is responsible.

You also stated that when the DLP came to office, the coffers were empty: can you bring any documentation to substantiate this fact, or are you just repeating party political diatribe?

Can you please inform me of any policies that were implemented by your administration that assisted in the growth of the economy?

Lest we forget, the private sector should be lauded for its contribution to the stability of Barbadosโ€™ economy.

22. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is on record that his government took a decision to keep people employed during the difficult economic times, it might explain the high level of domestic debt which the government has incurred i.e. public wage bill against declining revenues.

@Doctor Robinson

Thanks for your explanation.

Is it fair to say that you disagree with Clyde Mascoll and Owen Arthur assertions regarding their dubious position on growth in the economy?

23. Do any of you follow what is happening outside of Barbados?
    Barbados is truly an Island .

24. @Hants

Debate about the performance of the economy, the integrity of the systems and numbers, and calling out smoke and screen behaviour by politicians when it is manifested does not preclude that we are unaware of the global influences at play.

25. Josquin Desprez
    What is your fcuking problem? Observer is the only person who you kno dat does claim to be neither B nor D then attack one party wid a vengeance? Man cahhhh ya ass do n leff Observer fa ma. Mek ya point n move on smartly if ya kno how ta. stupseeeeeeee
    De comments seem incoherent ta youuuuuuu, speak fa yaself. Anybody wid a iota a commonsense would realize dat dem is only typo-errors not grammatical errors, ya p-hole. ga long do, ya klown.

BAF
    He wife Monica is a friend a mine so I in gine long wid you. ya ring-neck-vagabon. (He is a real gentleman).
    mwahhhhhhhhhh

26. The President of the BHTA said that hotel occupancy was down and so was revenue even though the Minister of Tourism was boasting of record numbers during the first quarter of this year. That’s a fact.

The only reason that this economy has not hit rock bottom is because the government is using up 69% of the NIS funds. That’s a fact.

If this government does not stop using up so much of the NIS funds, (remember the NIS wanted the invest the monies from Emera outside and the governor of the CBB ordered them to repatriate the monies) the NIS fund is going to end up in the same dire straits as the US social security fund………broke. The monies which were collected and should have been invested were all spent just as this DLP administration is doing to the NIS funds. Remember the government ordered the NIS board to loan to the Credit Union the funds to buy out CLICO mortgage.

It is passing strange that all other Central Bank governors were never seen as political even though one said he was a creature of the PM but this particular one is so political that his “facts and figures” are always disbelieved!

27. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Bonny Peppa

I have never read this blog and see you express yourself with the dignity and decorum that is expected from a civilised female (if indeed you are a female). Though you behaviour may be tolerated by those who fear your wrath and want to get in your “good books”, it is extremely obnoxious to others.
    An analysis of your contributions, (which is more often than not laced with profanity, and does not bring any thing worth while to any topic) can lead one to take appreciation of the old saying that this is the manner in which illiterate people express themselves. You know no better.

28. William Skinner Avatar

I ask you all one simple question: Has Mr.Mascoll said anything positive about the economy since he ceased to be the(DLP) Oppostion Leader? I ask you all another question: Is this the same Mr.Mascoll, who spent his entire political life castigating the Barbados labour Party for poor management of the economy?
    Now, the another question: Is this the same Mr. Mascoll who unearthed all the corruption with the GEMS/JAWS project and accused the Barbados Labour Party of squandermania?
    And finally: Is this the same Mr. Mascoll who brought a no confidence motion against the BLP while he was a DLP?
    I maintain that if he had not lost the battle to lead the DLP, he would be all like now praising the DEMS and putting licks in the BEES. Just very sour grapes, I say.
    As for Dr. Worrell, he is one of the most progressive intellectuals we have produced to date. I would advise that we at least give Dr. Worrell the benefit of the doubt because he can never be accused of being an opportunist, singing for his political supper.

29. Josquin Desprez I agree wid you … I agree wid … Bonny ’bout hey chastisin’ innocent people and she mout’ stink stink stink, like she jus’ lef from a two week cruise pun a slave ship … Le’ you an’ me drop some lashes in she tail in hey tonight … Bonny we comin’ fah yah hear ..!?

Josquin Desprez I got a stick an’ a big rock, wah you biring ..?

30. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

BAFBFP

Psychoanalytical theory.

31. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

BAFBFP
    The blog should be used as a forum where individuals can discuss any issue, though they may not agree with each other points of view, instead of what it has progressively become; a forum to attack and call each other derogatory names.

32. @Josquin

What happens to all the borrowing that was undertaken under the owen administration and become due under the DLP, aint that got to be repaid. If you dont understand logic, sorry fah yah, Your administration run up a lot of debt, couple with the recession. Dah mek sense to you now.

The Obamaa administration stabilised the economy, that was his first priority and subsequently growth is now evident. The same thing happened with the Barbados’ economy. Would you have wanted the DLP to lay off Public Officers and the Private Sector also to lay of staff in drovs? The government made all types of concessioons to encourage the private sector to play it part, such as the soft agreement to use NIS funds.

I am entitled to criticize the BLP and you the DLP. Are you political or apolitical.?

Regradless to what you or your detractor say, the economy is on the way to recovery and it has just stared to recover on its own, perhaps the BLP is reponsible for its recovery (lol) ? Hasn’t it. As I have said to you, the electorate will have a chance in less than two years to detrmine who will rule, and it surely wont be your party.

You said that when it suits me i reference the recession, when the dlp came to power the world econmies were in turmoil, the recession was/said to be worst than that of the 1930’s and if tourism is one of the biggest fx exchange earner, dont you expect a fall off in tourist and subsequently revenue, further the demand for fx goods the world over decline and the little exports in barbados would have declined. The government has done an exellent job, that is why we have been seeing some growth, not the amount that I would have liked to see but, growth nevertheless.

One thing I can assure you that if an investigation is done between the blp and dlp at year four in their tenure into the level of corruption the dlp will come out like a rose. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

BY the way, i dont have to go and prepare any script to write on this blog i sit and type, the information is in my head, furthermeore, logic is one of the things i did at uwi, so I understand it.

Since you are the one that has put the thesis, that the dlp did nothing over the last four years, you are the one to show me that the economy just rolled along until light was seen at the inn of the tunnel. I dont want to take an intellecual approach to witing on this blog, just as crossing all my t and dotting my i, yah hear me.

33. @ Bonny Peppa

Dont mind desperate Josquin. Express yourself, all we does use a little expletive here and there. If he and the next one attck you, me and rok coming fuh them and we gon mek them snort.

The DLP for the poor man that is why i does defend them.

34. Like the Obama administration our government is kicking the can down the road.

35. @Josquin… please excuse Bonny de
    ole aunt of Chris…she is hitting de bottle again . BONNY! PUT DAT ABSOLUTE DOWN!

36. AOD
    kicking the can down the road with success.

37. Those condemning Governor Worrell would be doing the same to the many central bankers who are charged to give him the information he presents to the public.

Many of the people there are the same who supported Marion Williams before she left.

38. @ Bonny Peppa

I hear you like two things, absolut and goose neck _____ girls, true?

39. To Bonny Peppa from the BU family, snobs excluded.

40. An interesting report on the economy we depend and whose currency we are pegged:

Nearly half of Americans say that they definitely or probably couldnโ€™t come up with $2,000 in 30 days http://j.mp/m2nyTq

41. What ignorance Observer, if you would follow the facts and not a party line you would make better contributions. In 14 years the BLP added 2b in debt. BLP took government revenue from .5 and grew the econnomy until gov’t revenues reached 2.8b. In that period i can see, a coast guard, airport, bridgetown renewal, buildings, schools, boardwalk, prison, sewerage projects, halls of justice, roads, houses, Eductech, to name a few In two years DLP added 1.5b, and this year alone plan to add an additional 1b from its budget deficit. What did they do with the money? Which debt killing we?

42. Sorry the BLP took government revenue from 1.5b to 2.8b.

43. Bonny Pepps

Me and Josquin got a posse and we coming fah yah … Yah could run but yah can’ hide … We got you Psychoanalyze baby, so you best had give yourself up and be brought to justice, you hear …? We’ll give you a fair trial, and then we gun hang yah pretty little ass … silicones and all

44. And then we going fah dah Canadian Hants fella … for his involvement in 9-11. You think that you Hants ain’ get Psychoanalyze too …? You aiding and abetting known criminals as well … Fair trial and pop neck fuh you too!

45. Would like Carl Moore to read the link above and observe commenters using user name on the WSJ Blog!

46. Central Bankers must do the bidding of their masters the POLITICIANS and they in turn must obey their masters the BANKERS. Could Bdos be different?

The CB can spread whatever info it wants BUT the bottom line is,”are jobs plentiful? I can assure you that this is the most important measuring stick to the electorate. BIM is in deep shite as both Europe and US will need at least 5-7 more years to solve this self inflicted financial horror. Part 2 of the collapse is bearing down fast and should be hitting ground zero within 12 months when big Countries in Europe go under ie Italy and Spain, the deathnell. Japan was going under without the disasters of 2011 since their debt to GDP is 200%. Over 100% is very difficult to stay afloat. The US real estate situation is getting worse and prices should drop 15-20% MORE over the next 2-3yrs. US unemployment is NOT improving and 5.5MN people who have dropped off the roles are still NOT employed. 43 MN on food stamps. My point is when this blows there is nothing that Bim can do but try to feed the poor. It will be wayout of the Rocks control.

To all of those talking party politics, please open your eyes to reality…….political leaders are all in it for themselves NOT for you or me. Dem all corrupt, thief, drink with each other, pander to the business big-ups etc. Poor peeps be damned! SAD REAL SAD!

47. Bajan Truth,

I agree with you. The BLP spent money wisely and they have a lot to show for it. So far the DLP has run up a deficit of over TWO BILLION dollars and nothing to show for it but employment of their supporters.

I read observer blogging and I quote “when the DLP came to power the coffers were empty. In the circumstance, this administration has done well, the economy has been stabilised and I expect further growth this year.”

Now Bajan Truth you and I know that if this was true, all Barbados would have been told this morning noon and night. The dead king would have made haywire of the BLP leaving an empty treasury. Instead they had a field day, sharing the fatted calf, putting the economy in trouble and that is why, Barbados is still in a recession with no light at the end of the tunnel.

For all the spending the unemployment rate is still at 11% and I know people who just cannot find a job who have children to maintain. One friend told me she has to depend on her siblings to help her, she does not work and her husband has been out of work for 2 1/2 years and they have two kids in university to maintain. It aint easy but the Dems on this blog are feeding on the fatted calf, so they are not hurting by the incompetence of this government.

What job is Dennis Lowe doing this week?

48. Wunna ain’t hear Mr. Stuart say that DEM decided not tuh send home nuhbody, so how wunna cud seh dat unemployment at 11% ? Who tell wunna so?

I ain’t too gud wid de figures so I ain’t really no if um higher or lower, but I hear dat nuff people only working 3 days and some working week on, week off, but doan tell nuhbody I seh so, cause certain people seh dat de economy get restructured and stabilized.

DEM also seh dat nuff capital works gine on all over the place so everybody gine soon get a lil pick. I newses tuh fret dat de same people dat did mekking corn before 2008 still mekking corn as if nutton in change, but sumbody tell me not to worry cause duh got sumting call trickle down economics, so we bound to get a crumb or two every now and then.

Anyhow I gine back outside and see if any trickle down yet.
    I hope dis searchlight still working.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

blp stalwart henderson bovell admits this about arthur:

“Here is something else the BLP must be prepared to address. The argument that in the best of times (and with a man who it alleges is an economic guru in charge) the Barbados economy was only able to manage three per cent “average growth annually”; therefore, for the DLP to now realise even 2.8 per cent growth (in what many consider the worst of times) any such achievement may be acceptable, especially coming from people Barbadians are being told are incompetent.””

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Chew on that DAVID and your crew of jokers.