Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus, however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who is [sic] going to support average Barbadians who have [sic] their life savings in CLICO ? My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking re-election[sic] after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why he was so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honesty   expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing outWatching

BU is on record that Prime Minister Fruendel made an error by not calling a general election after the death of David Thompson. His explanation as to why he did not rings of political naiveté which does not bode well for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) heading into a general election in a recessionary climate. If the political landscape gives an advantage then is should be accepted and exploited with the ruthlessness that it deserves. The irony for some is that Stuart represents himself as a student of history, recent history supports the view that if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had called the general election when Thompson and Mascoll were warring the DLP would still be warming the opposition benches.

With a general election constitutionally due in two years Stuart would have been forgiven if he had called a general election to refresh the mandate. The analysis of the last general election suggests that the public profile of David Thompson loomed large. Six months after Thompson’s death Stuart continues to manage a cabinet handed to him by Thompson. The longer he remains inert on the issue of manhandling his men the more it becomes fodder for the opposition and stokes the perception he is dithering on the job.

Up to now the electorate has been sympathetic towards the government’s management of the economy in a global recession.  Is it unreasonably though for the people of Barbados and particularly the 38,000 CLICO policyholders to expect a caring government to reciprocate? The CLICO issue continues to be a difficult one for the country economically and politically for the government. The relationship between the Thompson family and perennial CEO of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris has been part of the national conversation since the news broke about CLICO’s financial problems that Friday afternoon. The Thompson led government took the decision then to reassure the public that CLICO Barbados was largely a well managed company and there was no need for panic. The Mia Mottley led opposition at the time seized on the political opportunity and as they say they rest is history. The life insurance part of the business has been a problem for the government because of an annuity product which CLICO Life Insurance had been given permission to sell. The bottomline is, CLICO has now become a big problem for the Fruendel Stuart government.

During the Estimates Debate in parliament yesterday (16 March 2010) Stuart made his biggest gaffe to date by indicating he did not regard Leroy Parris as a ‘leper’. He further stated   “I don’t agree with everything he does. I have never agreed with everything he’s done, but like all other Barbadians he has worked his way up and he has had his ups and downs”.

Prime Minister Stuart has a right like his predecessor to be loyal to Leroy Parris. Most Barbadians however will have a problem with the political correctness of the statement at this time. It smacks of an indescribable insensitivity. The CLICO issue is a hot potato issue for the government, it has the potential to add 200 million to the national debt. The national ‘feeling’ index for Leroy Parris at this time is at an all time low given his surprising action to sue CLICO for 10 million dollars, a company which is unable to honour its financial commitment to policyholders. Why on earth would Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart utter the most insensitive statement to date which is sure to stoke political debate and alienate support is incomprehensible. Following the recent error in judgement by Minister of Finance to be seen publically socially cavorting with Leroy Parris in the Sandy Lane Box on Gold Cup Day makes one wonder if the government has an urgent need for a political strategist to be part of the setup, or do they? Bear in mind all through this fiasco Leroy Parris remains Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation.

It will be interesting to see how the CLICO matter unravels. It would be foolhardy for the government to enter the general election which is on the horizon with this matter in tow which must drag like an albatross. The dilemma for the government by placing the matter in the purview of the Court, it will make decision making a protracted affair.   It means the call by the Nation newspaper for the government to speak to the issue is asking it to violate the protocol of sub judice, something they (Nation newspaper) should understand very well.

Some where in the sweet bye and bye there is someone lounging on the beautiful shore who bears a contented smile.

1. It is obvious that P.M Stuart intends to sink or swim with Leroy Parris, what he has on the DLP is anybody’s guess. Maybe the entire party is so tainted that they can’t wash away the stains. I’ve statedd quite recently that something is in the air and I” state it quite BOLDLY now, ELECTIONS ARE JUST AROUND THE CORNER, there is a heightened sense of urgence which has hit the camp, which has caused Denis Lowe to come out of his sick leave and start putting his house in order, Boyce, Jones,and many others are doing the same. The good news is that, like in St Philip South, Stuart who knows he would be beaten, is throwing in the towel and like Sandie is willing the government back to the BLP. I warned then, during and after the St.John by-elections that the DLP should not boost about their success too long because there is problems brewing in their camp and who laughs last laughs best, it is now unfolding. The problem is a return to the BLP CAN be a return to the last term scenario of the party unless the matter between Arthur and Mottley is resolved and on winning the elections and staying in office for a year or so, for him to bow out and hand the government over to Mottley, maybe the two are playing possum right now. POLITICS IS A DIRTY GAME.

2. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

I think the name should be no longer politics.. New name **POLITRICKS**. While all this BS is going on, the people of Barbados who’s not making a good salary is feeling the pinch more than others; It’s time for new blood in hopes that they will get with the program on making Barbadians more comfortable in knowing that someone has their interest and doing what has to be done for the betterment of all; From what I have been reading about Mia Mottley I feel that she can bring something new to the table that can benefit the little man. One things is for sure. Unless the people let their voices be heard loud and clear that they had enough of being BS and taken advantage of. You might be going back for more of the same; **ACTIONS SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS**;
    I hope that all goes much better for all Barbadians, which is quite possible if some of the money that’s being made isn’t pocketed by elected officials. The whole situation **STINKS** BIG TIME;

3. Well….P.M Stuart has shown who he is loyal to and who he is backing….and it’s not the electorate or a Clico policy holder…it serves bajans right though,the old people always tell you that a promise is a comfort to a fool…and Barbados has many fools….”MANY”.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is really amazing that once again you all are missing the point.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Ship Sunk

bajan loose lips cost local contractors pickering project

The contract to build one of the largest projects ever undertaken in Barbados has gone to a Jamaican company.

And a “depressed” Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler is blaming the hands-off attitude towards the $1.6 billion Pickering Housing and Town Centre Development in St. Lucy by all Barbadian contractors on the “loose lips” and “irresponsible comments of people in Barbados”.

Sinckler made the disclosure this afternoon as he announced that following charges from Opposition Leader Owen Arthur that the developers had no money to undertake massive venture, officially launched last year by late Prime Minister David Thompson, construction of the first 37 houses there would begin by mid-year.

“The Pickering people came to see me with a team (of) quantity surveyors, architects, (and) builders, who are our brothers and sisters from Jamaica. I was happy to receive them in the Ministry of Finance, but when they came and I was speaking to them I discovered that the lead contracting team on the Pickering project would be a Jamaican construction firm,” he said in the House of Assembly while wrapping up debate on the Appropriation Bill 2011.”

Once again, “the blind is leading the blind”
    One of these days my Black people will learn sense.

6. @Carson

There is no blog or newspaper out there defended government’s position on CLICO and Parris like BU. That said how can we be blind to the cavalier attitude represented by Sinckler and Stuart by their actions and utterances? You can try to shift the conversation all you want, BU,s position is fair we think.

7. Your lead article is right on. As an investor in CLICO, I knew that there was a risk, but it was many years ago, and the interest rate was not substantially above the average interest rate at the time. Information that I have received about the way Parris behaved inside CLICO, and the way that he and his cronies Thornhill and Brewster lined their pockets at every opportunity, shows that he obviously knew that he had a “godfather” to look after him when things went wrong. What is astounding is that it turned out to be a party of godfathers, whose insensibility to the plight of thousands of CLICO policyholders is second only to that of Parris himself. I, too, have held some sympathy for the government in inheriting the financial crisis, BUT THIS? I am totally flabbergasted, and whether I get back my money or not, I know where my vote is going next time.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I am not trying to shift any conversation. Two things abound in the World, Truth and Fantasy.

What is becoming increasingly clear is the fact that we Black Bajan people have a penchant for embracing Fantasy.

I placed the quotation from the newspaper to demostrate the point that we have lost another golden opportunity due the fact that here again we chose to listen TO and embrace FANTASY and ignore the TRUTH.

9. Freundel Stuart is an extreme disappointment! How could he speak in this manner of a man who is seeking 10 million dollars from a company that he was responsible for sinking. By the way I thought Leroy was Thompson’s friend and did everything to crash the Dems in 2003. The same Stuart lost his seat then. What is the catch? What is this insensitive, stupid and may be even untruthful statement about Leroy being his friend all about. This statement will go down as the most stupid political act by a PM.

10. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

@ Carson Cadogan
    What was the atmosphere prior to the last election when you jump up and down with your corruption allegation? You don’t think the investors were watching then. So it is ok for you to do it prior to the last election but now it’s bad when the shoe is on the other foot. What goes around comes around.
    The simple truth is that investors don’t trust this government and they will not put their money in this economy under this government and they handling of the CLICO matter may have a lot to do with it.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FAIR AND BALANCE

“The simple truth is that investors don’t trust this government and they will not put their money in this economy under this government”

Your logic escapes me. Here is the $1.6 billion Pickering Housing and Town Centre Development in St. Lucy. Investors putting up $1.6 billion in a project in Barbados. One of the largest projects in Barbados ever.

A man with a great affinity for WHITE SEETHRU RUM tells the Contractors of Barbados, “don’t mind the Government no body will put that type of money into Barbados” they listen to the ramblings of an old drunkard who had absolutely no insight into the project. The FANTASY he was spouting became music to their ears.

The investors are anxious to get the project off the ground , encomposing FANTASY the local contractors “skin their ass” at the investors, so the investors look elsewhere to a country where people know the TRUTH when they see it and when they hear it.

The same thing is happening with clico. Some of you are exchanging TRUTH for Barbados Labour Party FANTASY. Then I am to believe that you are so “SMART”.

“Allegations” of corruption? In all the history of Politics in Barbados the last Barbados Labour Party administration was the most corrupt

12. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Have we heard this before? Remember 4 seasons. We will wait and see if the project really gets started. Like the other projects. Has the St. John Polyclinic started in March as was said in the by election. But wait March is not done yet so I will wait. I won’t hold my breath though.
    You expect me to believe in an environment where construction has declined that local contractor will give up on an opportunity like this if indeed it is an opportunity. Do these local contractors listening to Owen Arthur include Bjerkhamn and Maloney too?
    Bajans are not stupid

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FAIR AND BALANCE

Was it yesterday or last week that you and the rest of your Barbados Labour Party family realised that “Bajans are not stupid”?

Maybe all is not lost.

14. According to the Minister of Finance the Pickering project should start in June this year. Great timing! Rainy/Hurricane season also starts in June. Digging foundations in rainy season ?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

watching

“Great timing! Rainy/Hurricane season also starts in June”

You Barbados Labour Party people are SO intellegent.

Let me see now “Rainy/Hurricane season also starts in June” so therefore we do nothing at all ON ANYTHING until the close of November when it ends. What a wonderful way to push the country forward.

Go to the back of the class WATCHING.

16. If this project starts in June, we the “intellegent” (Carson’s word) people of the Barbados Labour Party will say that we were wrong. Until then, don’t hold your breath!

17. Carson why dont you stop your disrespectful behaviour and stop calling Owen Arthur a drunkard. David Thompson indulged in other substances and was a bigger drinker and than Owen Arthur and I have never heard you call you “great” leader a drunkard or a druggie. Stop the nonsense, man. It was the excessive drinking of Absolut Vodka that caused Thompson to get pancreatic cancer that eventually took him. Are you still mourning? Or are you vexed that Owen is still with us and got the DLP on the run?

18. Carson C. Cadogan

You got any idea who doing all de legal work on dis project … ? What about the engineering work and other elite services? You t’nk it really matter who the contractor or designers is? Man dey could even bring they own labour, as long as specific local interests are satiafied … Wah you think?

19. Fumble Stuart could never be a disappointment, he din nah good tah begin wid … just another condescending member of our local jack ass fraternity.

20. What is it that Rihanna sang..”shut up and drive?” Well to the DLP…”Just shut up and call elections”Bajans are waiting on you!!!

21. Tell dum Carson, and doan forget ‘bout Hammie La and de ackee tree dat get cut down fuh $11,000. Corruption ga-lore.

22. Fran,
    The Dems see nothing wrong in what Leroy Parris is doing, they will take the taxpayers money and give it to him if they have to and to clean up the mess he made at CLICO.

Remember he has used CLICO’s money to bank roll the DLP for years and more so to win the last general elections. The DLP had CLICO, JADA and SOL’s money coming through its ears. I have connections to someone who saw the cheques written by DT drawn on FAMILIES FIRST account where all the money went. Mara should had over that money to the policy holders. Leroy has too much on the Dems for them to cut him loose. He does not have too much up top so they dont know what he would let go!

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

Give me a break, where you see me call names?

24. Under-Disguise Avatar

democratic labour party ?

answer – ————————————

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

“If this project starts in June, we the “intellegent” (Carson’s word) people of the Barbados Labour Party will say that we were wrong”

It is not if the project will get off the ground in June or not, Ali Baba told the contractors that no one will invest any money in that project. That was the Barbados Labour Party’s TRUTH. I keep saying that if the blind lead the blind they will all fall into a pit.

Now look what happen.
    The JAMAICANS will be laughing all the way to the Bank.
    I anxiously await more words of TRUTH from the Barbados Labour Party to their followers. As they embrace more and more of it, I am certain that all of you will end up in the poor house.

It is unbelieveable that a man with a bottle of white rum in one hand and a microphone in the other can mislead so many. I think we better shut down the University, all we are getting are people with tons of degrees and little or no common sense.

How could something like this happen?

Our fore parents who went to school at Bromley and the Stand pipe were far wiser than this crop of idiots that one has to deal with today.

26. Carson Cadogan’s mouthings mirror those of the party to a tee; and shows the state of the government.

27. well lets see. Have you seen the bidding contract? where they up to normal standard. how much was allocated to mobilization. how was payment to be decided. did the plan follow bs spec for structure. did the contract allow for variance due to architect or builder need for change. did the contract not allow for varying cost of materials. did the contractor show ability to finance the contract. what was the size of performance bond. what was rules binding to settle disputes. where further request for information/explanation about drawing not acknowledge or denied

there are many issue that would arise that make contractors pull out from bidding. i take it chris never asked the contractors their side of the story. Bajan contractors have felt the bug of propose projects then the withdrawing of financing of the projects and kill their cash flow and overdrafts.

Further from whose to say the investors in north ridge development won’t back out because their haven’t been any sales.

In case like this i think the the 4 th estate should ask the very valid question why did no bajan contractors bid and await their answer.

28. Home Drum Hum Drum Avatar
    Home Drum Hum Drum

hmmm.. Maybe just maybe Bajans ARE stupid enough to believe in the FANTASY of the DLP promises!

I suspect that soon will be time that Stewart says, “well, let them eat cake!”

29. To all BU Contributors:
    Carson wrote:

“I think we better shut down the University, all we are getting are people with tons of degrees and little or no common sense.”

Previously he wrote:
    Carson C. Cadogan | March 12, 2011 at 10:29 AM |
    “I have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.”

Carson’s incoherent, and often irrelevant, contributions to the blog can easily lead one to conclude that the man has no common sense. I wonder what will happen when Carson’s wife and two daughters graduate.
    The man has proven himself to be a real ……
    Open mouth, insert foot.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

josquin

Don’t get tie up.

My family is at University however the are DLP supporters that put them in the sensible category.

No white rum man can mislead them.

31. @ Carson

“My family is at University however the are DLP supporters that put them in the sensible category.”

Makes no sense. Incoherent as ever.

However, sir, Barbados Underground is not about YOU.

32. alas ccc is purely political rant again but can we expect better from him. His rants get more illogical each day. he critizes the blp for the selling land but majority of it was never owed by the goverment at the time. then praise the same the dlp for selling land. if anything is sure on this blog ccc will try his best to show the blp is bad and the dlp is good. he quarrel about when blp sold share bnb and icb then doens’t quarrel when bl&p shares are sold. It purely his motive and he helpless pawn to their brainwashing as calling it anything else would mean he lack any sense. though sometimes we wonder if this is true.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

what rants are you talking about?

Do you mean not falling for Barbados Labour Party propaganda?

Being fair and balance?

34. No you ranting as always :). see you did it again.

35. Carson, oh Carson, where is your brain. You are on rambling mission, talking up in the air and it dropping right back in your face. Stop the politricks and deal with the issues.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anyway duty calls, I am outta here.

Josquin, we will have to talk later about BU not being about me.

37. Folk really do not get misled by CCC. He wants to switch the conversation from Clico to Pickerings, and you all are helping him to do that. Any right-minded, right-thinking , God-fearing person would be horrified at the callous disregard shown by Sinckler and Stuart in the remarks they have made. My ears still ringing like a bomb went off. Could these people be for real?

38. DAVID - NOT BU Avatar
    DAVID – NOT BU

While I read all your comments with interest we should not be distracted from the issue (s) at hand. Barbadians now are at risk of losing substantial amounts of investments and savings. There are persons of retirement age who now find themselves almost destitute and others who have lost their sole source of income. While we engage in word warfare, bajans are suffering, and if not the EFPS policy holders, simple people who depended on CLICO for regular policies.
    This is the cross roads, will we continue to be a people easily led or will we take a stand. Your single vote for the ‘other’ party is no longer enough, we need to send a clear message to the Parris’ and Stuarts’ that you can’t play with peoples livelihood and as a PM, you serve the people who put you there.

Enough is Enough

39. @DAVID at March 17, 2011 at 3:17 PM…

ROFLMFAO…

@BU.David… It has been said that impersonation is the greatest form of flattery….

40. Well said David. I am still in shock at PM Stuart’s mouthings yesterday because I thought he was the only one left that had some measure of integrity but he behaved as if he has nothing to lose. He should be offering CLICO policyholders some hope and comfort but instead he all but said brek fuh yuhself. It is frightening because you have at lest two persons in this country who are not elected members of the Lower House of Parliament or selected members of the Senate who are in control of the political direction of this country.

41. Carson is sitting on his brain so he cannot think straight. He is the perfect example of a FOOL. Carson try and get some tick and flea powder, dem got yuh real busy here today.

42. What I don’t understand is why would Mr Stuart openly support Mr Parris under these circumstances? Returning Nationals and would be investors will think twice about Barbados before they bring their money here. Does he not think that his utterings will have a negative effect on doing business on this island? Man I really don’t know what to think of how Barbados can economically improve in this climate. This government has lost their way and don’t know how to find their way home. The sh@!% is hitting the fan and more to come. I am soo sorry I gave them my vote last election. Next election better come soon!

43. Here is a quote from the PM speech that everyone seems to want to disregard

He said the Government was committed “to ensuring that at the level of principal . . . ‘pal’ not ‘ple’ . . . the commitment of the Government is to ensure that people get their principal investments in CLICO. I do not resile from that”.
    Give the Government some level of credit for that.
    Trade Confirmers crashed and not a boy got a cent.
    You BLP sharks who smell blood will have to circle for some while because you are not getting back into government at the next elections because the people are seeing a government working in harsh economic conditions to keep the country afloat.
    One of you mention how Jamaica tourism was booming well reports shows that poverty has increase in Jamaica by 20% since last year.
    Why do you want this country to fail? Maybe we should develop the Japanese mentality.
    At this time fifty workers are sacrificing their lives to stop the nuclear reactors from melting down; this is to save millions not only in Japan but in the US.

44. I want to know what has become of the CLICO bailout plan David Thompson on his deathbed said that was approved by cabinet. Was this man still lying to the Barbadian public even on his deathbed? I mean, you cant believe anything the Dems say??? Must they always live up to their name DAMN LYING PARTY?

Thompson died on October 23, 2010. It is now March 17, 2011, nearly five months later. Surely if there was a plan approved by cabinet, it should have been made public by now as for sure the government would have had to bring a bill before the House! Or was this plan non existent like the St John Development plan? We have elected members who say nothing about this, how do they face their constituents?

But what do the policyholders get, a PM who would not address the country on any of the revelant issues but comes boldy to Parliament in his strongest speech since becoming PM by the fate of Thompson’s death, …. Leroy Parris is his friend and he will not abandon him.

So policy holders you have to decide if you are going to believe Fumble when he said you may get back something. But in the same breath, Leroy Parris has the right to sue.

Policy holders begin your class action suit as well. Let the courts decide who gets paid first.

I really held out a little hope for Mr Fumble but at the end of the day a Dem is a Dem!

45. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

@Charlie
    I once remember when everything that Owen Arthur said was twist and turn and taken out of context to look bad. Remember his tribute to DT. Remember his remarks about the St. John queen.
    The shoe on the other foot now and the DLP spokesmen now under scrutiny and you all don’t like it. What goes around comes around. The shit now hitting the fan. This is only the beginning.

46. This is truly mind boggling. I am also flabbergasted at the emotional outburst coming from the mouth of the PM. for “hisfriend”. How can a person who as a leader and sworn to protect country and people put the interest of one person above all else. He could have given that same emotion and sympathy towards the people who are seeking a resolution for the Clico matter. The Pm wasted all his time and energy for naught and has created a tsunami backlash against himself and the DLP. His mouthings were 10+ on the Richter scale.

47. Charlie you do remember that under the propose deal, none of clico staff is suppose to get back their own annuities. So for a parris to sue to try to get back his while the deal is still in works seem at best foolhardy. To support such action which under minds policy put in place in government is ludicrous. get real please. If the japanese mentality was applied then parris would be selling his assets to help pay back the policy holders and not suing his company to get money that can’t be paid because of decision he made.

48. Jepter Ince (Physical Deficit) had a hand in this mess at CLICO in pushing the annuity plans. I understand that there was a lot of pressure put on agents to sell these bogus plans which they didn’t mind as commissions were sweet.

Isn’t it strange that so many persons now in the DLP government are all tied up with CLICO?

49. Clico + Barrack = loss of confidence

50. Under-Disguise Avatar

This Government is supporting Parris
    Case closed
    THE MILLIONS THEY receive to run their ad campaigns in the last election have tied them to CLICO