Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus, however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who is [sic] going to support average Barbadians who have [sic] their life savings in CLICO ? My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking re-election[sic] after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why he was so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honestyย ย  expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing out โ€“ Watching

BU is on record that Prime Minister Fruendel made an error by not calling a general election after the death of David Thompson. His explanation as to why he did not rings of political naivetรฉ which does not bode well for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) heading into a general election in a recessionary climate. If the political landscape gives an advantage then is should be accepted and exploited with the ruthlessness that it deserves. The irony for some is that Stuart represents himself as a student of history, recent history supports the view that if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had called the general election when Thompson and Mascoll were warring the DLP would still be warming the opposition benches.

With a general election constitutionally due in two years Stuart would have been forgiven if he had called a general election to refresh the mandate. The analysis of the last general election suggests that the public profile of David Thompson loomed large. Six months after Thompsonโ€™s death Stuart continues to manage a cabinet handed to him by Thompson. The longer he remains inert on the issue of manhandling his men the more it becomes fodder for the opposition and stokes the perception he is dithering on the job.

Up to now the electorate has been sympathetic towards the governmentโ€™s management of the economy in a global recession.ย  Is it unreasonably though for the people of Barbados and particularly the 38,000 CLICO policyholders to expect a caring government to reciprocate? The CLICO issue continues to be a difficult one for the country economically and politically for the government. The relationship between the Thompson family and perennial CEO of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris has been part of the national conversation since the news broke about CLICOโ€™s financial problems that Friday afternoon. The Thompson led government took the decision then to reassure the public that CLICO Barbados was largely a well managed company and there was no need for panic. The Mia Mottley led opposition at the time seized on the political opportunity and as they say they rest is history. The life insurance part of the business has been a problem for the government because of an annuity product which CLICO Life Insurance had been given permission to sell. The bottomline is, CLICO has now become a big problem for the Fruendel Stuart government.

During the Estimates Debate in parliament yesterday (16 March 2010) Stuart made his biggest gaffe to date by indicating he did not regard Leroy Parris as a โ€˜leperโ€™. He further statedย ย  โ€œI donโ€™t agree with everything he does. I have never agreed with everything heโ€™s done, but like all other Barbadians he has worked his way up and he has had his ups and downsโ€.

Prime Minister Stuart has a right like his predecessor to be loyal to Leroy Parris. Most Barbadians however will have a problem with the political correctness of the statement at this time. It smacks of an indescribable insensitivity. The CLICO issue is a hot potato issue for the government, it has the potential to add 200 million to the national debt. The national โ€˜feelingโ€™ index for Leroy Parris at this time is at an all time low given his surprising action to sue CLICO for 10 million dollars, a company which is unable to honour its financial commitment to policyholders. Why on earth would Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart utter the most insensitive statement to date which is sure to stoke political debate and alienate support is incomprehensible. Following the recent error in judgement by Minister of Finance to be seen publically socially cavorting with Leroy Parris in the Sandy Lane Box on Gold Cup Day makes one wonder if the government has an urgent need for a political strategist to be part of the setup, or do they? Bear in mind all through this fiasco Leroy Parris remains Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation.

It will be interesting to see how the CLICO matter unravels. It would be foolhardy for the government to enter the general election which is on the horizon with this matter in tow which must drag like an albatross. The dilemma for the government by placing the matter in the purview of the Court, it will make decision making a protracted affair.ย ย  It means the call by the Nation newspaper for the government to speak to the issue is asking it to violate the protocol of sub judice, something they (Nation newspaper) should understand very well.

Some where in the sweet bye and bye there is someone lounging on the beautiful shore who bears a contented smile.

1. I agree with the former Permanent Secretary, NOT A CENT of taxpayers money should be used to bail out any of the so called professionals who invested in CLICO and refused to carry out their own due diligence. I recall that my family had the opportunity a few years ago to buy insurance and the same annuities being talked about and my husband decided not to because he thought at the time that it was too risky because CLICO was investing too heavily all over the place. He said back then when CLICO falls it was going to take the rest of the Caribbean with it, but we never thought it would be so soon. Well, the chickens have come home to roost. Wunnuh should not be blaming Parris, blame the regulatory services that refused to do what they were being paid to do including the damn BLP government at the time. Wunnuh did tek a risk, now live wid it.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Cinnamon

Bravo, Bravo.

3. Under-Disguise Avatar

ac | March 17, 2011 at 5:06 PM | This is truly mind boggling. I am also flabbergasted at the emotional outburst coming from the mouth of the PM. for โ€œhisfriendโ€.
    ———————–

I happened to switch the radio a minute before Fumble Stewhat started talking shite
    I could not believe it when I heard it

Reminded me of the SANDY–Like it or Lump it speech in the House
    Simply frigging unbelieavable.
    If this DLP government get back in power , I gwine turn Lesbian !

4. The only point we would disagree with you cinnamon is that we have to blame parris. Was it not him who lead the company in that direction. If he had lead it properly we wouldn’t be talking about clico collapse now would we ?

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

As usual you miss the point.
    Remember This part of what she said:
    “Wunnuh should not be blaming Parris, blame the regulatory services that refused to do what they were being paid to do including the damn BLP government at the time”

6. @CCC

You seem to political ranting. Did I say the blp have none the blame. no. Just pointing out the if parris had lead the company properly we would have had no issues. that blame rest first on parris/management then everyone else. So stop showing your bias political rant. we know your brainwashed but we expect a bit better for you.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

Again the Barbados Labour Party has you blinded.
    Why you did not mention that if the Supervisor Of Insurance had done his job properly none of this would have been a problem. If the last Barbados Labour Party Prime Minister had done his job properly none of this would have a problem either.
    You conveniently forgot to mention either of those two jokers but you did not forget Mr. Parris.

8. @ CCC

If parris did his job no invention of outside parties would be need. ๐Ÿ™‚ see the brainwashing is very effective.

9. @CCC

To help get rid of the brain washing hopefully we present a simple senario that should get past it . If someone come to a bank and steal money and they get away with and you don’t cath them until a few year latter . You do blame the bank if it security was bad. You do blame the police if they where lax in catching the crook. Finally all the blame for the stealing the money rest on the robber because if he/she didn’t rob the bank the money would have never gone missing. So you see paris get most of the blame. QED.

Finally going back to your political rants. I didn’t disagree with anything cinnamon wrote other than paris has no blame. I never said no fault was @ the supervisor nor did i say no fault was the the blp. So like before we all know your brainwashed in you the political rant and believe parris has no blame in matter for agree with cinammon statement whole heartedly. One can hope that one day your eye will be opening from the brainwashing until then we expect no better from you.

10. Why are you all blaming the Dems alone for the Clico fiasco, when the Bees have admitted the the statutory fund deficit started in 2002 and was allowed to continue unabated. The also allowed Clico to repatriate all its cash to the parent in TNT and leave the local entity high and dry. Both are at fault for the way Clico was allowed to flout the Supervisor of Insurance’s authority with impunity. It seems that everyone has forgotten Trade Confirmers, Narsham and the Canadian insurance firm, whose name escapes me at the moment. We have not learned from these debacles. It is time we take a serious look at these occurrences and take the necessary steps to prevent repeats. We are too lapse and trusting where these things are concerned. We need agencies and officials with guts and the teeth to handle these situations. If no changes are made this will happen again in the near future; mark my words.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

From over at Barbados Free Press:
    Anonymous
    March 18, 2011 at 12:03 am

“@what will they think of next

I also see nothing wrong with what the PM said. I donโ€™t understand why the PM should ostracize the man. The policy holders will be happy they will be getting back the principal.

I would also like to make a suggestion that some sort of biography be created on Parris.

The man in my opinion has done Barbados, and the wider world well. The company hasnโ€™t suffered because of Mr. Parris, there is also a Trinidad component.”

After you read this the Barbados Labour Party scales might fall from your eyes.

12. @CCC

You seem not to read or follow even simple scenario. The like minded post in bfp have also been brainwashed also. Does not the Barbados clico have to obey regulations. Didn’t parris not run clico barbados. Didn’t clico barbados experience massive problem. To say the trinidad part took money is ok but either parris is complicit to the taking of funds or he lack the professional integrity to not say no to the taking of the company capital. either way parris is wrong and he and rest of management of the company should be facing charges for mismanagement of annuities.

To go over the reason why support parris again would be point less because you failed to read them above, but for the hope of the brainwashing wearing off i shall try again. Parris is sueing clico. in the suit it seeking for 3.5 million in annuities that have mature. the former pm stated in the plan that none of clico policy annuities would be repaid. So parris is trying to circumvent the policy by suing to get back money. Now i hope it is as plain as day why supporting this suit was wrong by the pm. This goes against government own policy that none of annuities of clico staff should be repaid and support of this action by the pm mean it no hold bared on clico. one can always hope for ccc to be removed from the brainwashing but we all know it quite hopeless.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

The person over at BFP brainwashed too.

You BLP supporters are funnier that Laurel and Hardy and the Blues Brothers all rolled into one.

14. Not for one minute do I feel the need to speak in support of any one involved in the CLICO matter,least of all Leroy Parris who has brought all to a state of bafflement with his impending efforts to recoup ten million. Causing equal bafflement is this thread. Lets look at your take on the importance of history. Does not history say that change of government usually survives one term? If this is so then the ally you seek is not history…..or perhaps it is. The minister cavorting with Leroy Parris at a social and public event has now become grounds for indictment. Pariah ,leper or one may choose to employ a title closer to the bajan vernacular, at the end of the day you know as well as I do that in tiny Barbados the creed of class is as strong and as sturdy as the Berlin Wall . One day that too will fall. Today it still offers the same protection it gave Owen Arthur. It gave Barney Lynch and others long before him. This act of surprise is just that. They say that one man’s trash is another man’s treasure, and the very same applies between foe and friend. The best known middle man in Barbados HN has made millions off of the tax payers and he still has many friends in high places .BU knows this . BU also knows that in tiny Barbados everyone knows someone where ever people gather, therefore if cavorting inside the “Bigwheel Of The Socialites”ever constituted a prima facie case ,picture or no picture the last administration would have lasted two terms. Surely BU does not believe that the PM’s refusal to offer a public repudiation spells doom. Sub judice not withstanding ,to what end would it have served? Just whom whould it have made whole? Let us not forget the sole reason Bajans demanded change. For them to again demand such, there has to be a choice. Any group in which Owen Arthur sits does not qualify.

15. @ Cinnamon
    Donโ€™t be like that though. How do you know CLICO only took money from professionals? Every profession (so called or otherwise) can’t be expected to know the dangers of an insurance company ‘investing too heavily all over the place’?
    Frankly, your family (and mine too) ran a mile from CLICO and we are the ones who made a mistake. Thanks to the PMโ€™s long standing friendship with CLICO on-again, off-again boss, they are GUARANTEED to get back their principal by the government.
    Can you imagine that? Take out a risky investment; you get over the odd returns on the up-side and a guarantee of your principal on the downside (compliments of the taxpayer). Thatโ€™s a pretty sound investment strategy if you ask me.

16. Under-Disguise Avatar

bajans demanded change ?
    BIG LIE
    I DEMANDED NO CHANGE

17. If this whole issue had been tied to a known BLP supporter, there would be hell to pay. But as usual, Dems think they can do whatever the hell they like and get away with it and they have supporters who would defend them to the hilt.

How could you people say dont blame Parris? By George, if the BLP wins the next election, I want them to go after him like a raging bull and all the Dems who spent the policyholders money. The statue of limitation would not be up by then.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

What about the BLP man who brought in the new Coast Guard Boats and pocketed tons of money off the deal?

19. @Islandgal246

You said this @ 4:43pm…….”This government has lost their way and donโ€™t know how to find their way home. ”
    I ask you this, Hon. Did they ever know where they were coming from much less where they were heading?
    DEM ain’t had a clue either way! The only horrific part is that I’m afraid that I, and many more like me, will be left without a roof over our heads by the time they are through! The the 1970s and 1990s all over again with DIS DAMN DLP regime.

20. CCC,

If that is true, he should be charged, I dont condone that sort of thing. That’s the difference between us Bees and you Dems on this blog, we Bees, take our licks and say when our party does wrong, the DLP and its supporters are NEVER wrong for you.

BTW, I thought you went to work, shouldn’t you be on the job being productive?? Or the hotel empty???

21. de hood,

Have you noticed how many properties are being foreclosed and up for sale in every Sunday Sun? It is frightening.

In the estimates debates, I heard Chris Sinckler (he’s so out of his depths) saying that everything in Barbados is going good etc,etc and that garbage is still being picked up regularly. In my neighbourhood, if I dont call, we have no pickups. Under the BLP, yes, CCC, under the BLP, we had two pickups weekly, now we cant even get one pickup every two weeks.

I agree with you, the Dems aint lost their way, they never knew where they were going. They only knew how to win the election and I think they were surprised that they managed to pull it off with all their lies. Since the late “great” one left unexpectedly, they are totally at sea. But I am sorry he dead so fast, he should be alive to face the heat with Parris. Rats they are/were.

22. @ccc

Brain washing it the only reasonable answer to people who try to defend this nonsense. You should be ashamed of this trying to defend it but we didn’t expect better from you. What are you to do , the dlp keep cracking at all the points they had over the blp . they sold land , the sold shares, there been cost overruns.

23. You all Missing A Piece Avatar
    You all Missing A Piece

You all acting like Leroy got where he was in Clico by merit lol!

Always remember one thing, Leroy is a man beholden to his older friend Lawrence Duprey and the โ€œspecial relationshipโ€ they enjoyedโ€ฆask anyone in CLICO

Given his limited intellectual scope I am sure he used what he hadโ€ฆand โ€œLarryโ€ wantedโ€ฆto get him to the topโ€ฆor is that bottom?โ€ฆof the pile!

Then you put together the โ€œspecial relationshipโ€ David had with Leroyโ€ฆand Freundelโ€™s unmarried statusโ€ฆ.and where do you get?

Whulossโ€ฆ

24. @You all Missing A Piece

You asked. . . . . .”Then you put together the โ€œspecial relationshipโ€ David had with Leroyโ€ฆand Freundelโ€™s unmarried statusโ€ฆ.and where do you get?”
    Could the answer be Top? Or could it be bottom? Or perhaps both?
    As Dr. GP would say. . . . . . .”Murrdurrrrr!”

25. With this particular blog generating so much discussion and the Marston Gibson matter scheduled to be debated later today in the house (Gibson blog moved to top of page), BU will not be updated today.

26. Can someone explain why the Supervisor of Insurance has only now applied to the court to have a JM appointed? Regrettably the matter has been adjourned to May 2. What is happening?

To court over CLICO

Fri, March 18, 2011 – 12:06 AM

GOVERNMENT HAS APPLIED to the High Court in a bid to have CLICO International Life Insurance placed under judicial management.

Yesterday, Solicitor General Jennifer Edwards appeared before Justice Jacqueline Cornelius requesting the courtโ€™s leave to present a petition for the appointment of a judicial manager for the beleagured insurance company.

The court application was filed on behalf of Supervisor of Insurance Vernese Brathwaite.

The matter has been adjourned until May 2.

The latest development in the CLICO saga follows fierce debate in the House of Assembly over the past several days with Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler taking issue with the way the Opposition Labour Party (BLP) and the media were handling the issue.

Opposition Leader Owen Arthur during the current debate on Governmentโ€™s Estimates of Income and Expenditure had queried when a judicial manager would be put in place.

Last January, CLICO International Life Insurance president Geoffrey Brewster said the company would cooperate with judicial management of the organisation.

Hundreds of policy holders have expressed deep concern about their investment.

A special Oversight Committee headed by retired permanent secretary in the Ministry of Finance William Layne had recommended to Government that the company be placed under judicial management. (TS

27. Wait so you mean chris could have talked about it since it wasn’t under judicial management. They now actually applied after they where suppose to in November. smh. Really how can they treat this any worse. It seems like they holding the process up at every step. Now we have to wait till may 2 before the judicial can even decide if to put it under judicial management. I taught the situation was bad not I see it even worse that I could imagine.

28. @Anthony

I am playing teacher Mildred but I have to correct you on this, you have been making this mistake too often. Taught is the past tense of teach. Thought is past tense of think.

29. thanks for the correction islandgirl. english has always been sore point for me :(.

30. Freundel Stuart’s statement in Parliament on the Clico issue has left me speakless, all I can say is

HE IS A NATURAL JACKASS, HE NEEDS NO EFFORT TO BE ONE, FOR HIM IT COMES NATURALLY.

31. @anthony,

tot is de pass tence uh taught too effin yuh want to write Bajan too. but yuh should listen to teacha Mildred.

32. @Fran

Good one Lollll…..all he needs now is the tail LOLLLL

33. Mia Mottley and the Bees vindicated!!!!

34. THE PEP COLUMN: DLP has no sense of direction

FRIDAY, MARCH 18, 2011 – 12:00 AM

We were utterly bemused when we learnt, a couple weeks ago, that the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was holding a โ€œretreatโ€ to make plans for the next general election.

And we were bemused simply because, up to now, we still canโ€™t understand why exactly they contested the โ€œlastโ€ general election! Indeed, some three years after the last general election we are still trying to work out what exactly the DLP has come to power to do! And now they are talking about the next election?

We would be extremely grateful if Messrs Stuart, Henry, Sinckler, Estwick or Kellman would condescend to inform us and other members of the Barbadian public what exactly โ€“ of a positive nature โ€“ they have come to power to accomplish.

Surely, they did not come to power simply to raise taxes and bus fares, and to cut back on social welfare entitlements? What precisely is it that they propose to do, that the previous Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government was not already doing?

As perceptive Barbadians are aware, our party โ€“ the Peopleโ€™s Empowerment Party โ€“ along with the Clement Payne Movement, played a significant role in bringing about the removal of the BLP Government and clearing the path for an eventual DLP victory.

We were, and we remain, satisfied that the then BLP administration was a failing Government that deserved to be removed.

But in recent months we have been wondering whether a worse evil has not been inflicted on the Barbadian people.

At least the BLP administration had a positive regional policy based on championing the Caricom Single Market And Economy (CSME) and inculcating in the Barbadian people an enthusiasm for Caribbean integration. The new DLP Government, on the other hand, has exhibited and encouraged the worst aspects of a smug, insular, narrowminded brand of petty island nationalism that has severely set back prospects for regional unification.

It is clear to us that the DLP came to power in 2008 with no systematically worked out programme or philosophy. Indeed, we were aghast at the extent to which their election strategy was based simply on spending money on propagandist advertisements and public entertainments. We concluded that big business was assisting them to buy the election, and we were proved right!

And so, before we even begin to think about the next general election, this current crop of DLPites need to enlighten Barbadians as to who and what they are.

What are their ideas? Do they have any? What is their political philosophy? Do they believe in capitalism, socialism, neoliberalism, conservatism, pan-Africanism? What type of state do they favour, and how do they see the role of the citizen in relation to the state?

These are all basic political positions that should be made clear to the citizenry even before a political party comes to power.

What does Mr Stuart consider to be the next stage in the historical evolution of the Barbadian and Caribbean people, and what role is his Government to play in bringing it about?

35. Ping Pong | March 17, 2011 at 7:14 PM |

Clico + Barrack = loss of confidence

> gain of confidence = – (Clico + Barrack)
    > gain of confidence = -(Parris + Ince + Investors – (Barrack Building + Contract debt))
    > gain of confidence = 0

ja ja

36. Unless we are seeing Stuart employing the old tactic or infuriating the public, and using that as a premise for throwing parris under the bus…..you know like Roman days, piss the crowd (vulgus) off then give them want they want and “wash your hands”. Was it Pilate that was a former master of the technique?

37. Freundel Stuart is a marked man. You see, he has the misfortune to be Barbados’ third APM… Accidental Prime Minister.. and our Accidental Prime Ministers have an unfortunate history.

Bree St John became APM in 1985 when Tom Adams died and he promptly lost the next election… and his seat, in less than two years.

Sandy, the “errant school teacher” became APM in 1991 when the Dipper died. He called elections two years early and lost.

Now we have our third APM, compliments of the death of David Thompson. He didn’t call elections two years early… when he would have won.

Methinks the fickle finger of fate has him firmly fixed in its foresight.

Bummer!

38. Seriously Inkwell, would you really want Fumble Stuart to win an election ’bout hey?

39. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

I supposed unless you get a decripid old white man, you are either a dog (see comments to carson cadogan) or a monkey now directed at freundel stuart.

White is right,black stand back.

40. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Sorry -reference to stuart is likened to being a jackass not monkey.

Hmm.

41. @mash up and brek down

Now look you have gone and made a monkey outta yuself. Why don’t you keep quiet?

42. We need a third party BADLY, I am soo tired of recycled politicians. I wish those of you who are so blinded by the party you support to open your eyes. No party is beyond criticism. Why can’t some of you get that into your heads? Wunna heads like a cannon ball?

43. I could not believe my eyes this morning when I read the Weekend Nation.

Chris Sinckler said in the House as recently as Monday that a judicial manager had been appointed for CLICO. He said in January that one was going to be appointed. Thompson said on his deathbed that cabinet had approved a plan which included the appointment of a judicial manager. The Speaker interrupted Dale Marshall on Wednesday and told him he could not speak in detail into CLICO as it was under judicial management. The PM said the same.

Now we are only now hearing today that the government only went to court yesterday to begin the process which has now been adjourned until May 2. I do not use profanity but I have to now, these Dems are some blasted liars. I mean they cannot tell the truth, ever. Is lying a learnt behaviour in the DLP?

How many more lies can the policyholders of CLICO take from these lying bastards? Chris Sinckler said that he knows everything about CLICO but everybody else must hold off. Hands off, dont dig into CLICO. Dont whip people into a frenzy, you dont know, he want locking up with Leroy Parris.

Goodness me these dems are worthless. For once I can agree with the PEP, their column this week is recommended reading.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246

“We need a third party BADLY”

Then form your own. I am sure that you would get about half dozen votes.

45. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

@ Inkwell
    “Sandy, the โ€œerrant school teacherโ€ became APM in 1991 when the Dipper died. He called elections two years early and lost”
    Sandi was APM in 1987 but won his own mandate in 1991. He should not be compared with other 2 clowns. I could do with a Sandi now instead of these clowns we got running things. He was decisive and act in the interest of Barbados

46. @ Carson Cannon ball head

I will get much more than you for sure. You do not have the BALLS to think for yourself…… ooops I meant the cannon.

47. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Heard the Minister of EDUCATION, Ronald Jones, in a news clip yesterday talking about “schewdunts” (students), deese (these), dose (those), chewsday (Tuesday). Does this man realise that he is actually the Minister of Education? When will he learn that he is being heard all over the world?

But then I thought to myself that maybe Carson is right about his university comment.

48. The BLP in the last few years of their reign had become quite arrogant, but this lot is a mind boggling enigma.

I can’t figure out fa de life a me, ef de movin and ef de movin wey de goin, and wey eh es de sayin or wey eh es da goin, Wuhloss

49. Inkwell,

I think you are right! Remember that Freundel Stuart has never been re-elected in the same constituency. Once Noel Lynch runs against him, he will beat him. Remember Noel defeated an APM in person of Sandi in the very same constituency. Is history going to be repeated?

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON
    Noel Lynch running again, I thought that he said that he done with politics.
    Is this the former Minister of Tourism who the American Govt. refused to grant a work permit?
    Have you ever wondered why even though he is a former Minister the Americans cared little about him?