Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart
As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus, however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who is [sic] going to support average Barbadians who have [sic] their life savings in CLICO ? My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking re-election[sic] after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why he was so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honestyย ย  expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing out โ€“ Watching

BU is on record that Prime Minister Fruendel made an error by not calling a general election after the death of David Thompson. His explanation as to why he did not rings of political naivetรฉ which does not bode well for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) heading into a general election in a recessionary climate. If the political landscape gives an advantage then is should be accepted and exploited with the ruthlessness that it deserves. The irony for some is that Stuart represents himself as a student of history, recent history supports the view that if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had called the general election when Thompson and Mascoll were warring the DLP would still be warming the opposition benches.

With a general election constitutionally due in two years Stuart would have been forgiven if he had called a general election to refresh the mandate. The analysis of the last general election suggests that the public profile of David Thompson loomed large. Six months after Thompsonโ€™s death Stuart continues to manage a cabinet handed to him by Thompson. The longer he remains inert on the issue of manhandling his men the more it becomes fodder for the opposition and stokes the perception he is dithering on the job.

Up to now the electorate has been sympathetic towards the governmentโ€™s management of the economy in a global recession.ย  Is it unreasonably though for the people of Barbados and particularly the 38,000 CLICO policyholders to expect a caring government to reciprocate? The CLICO issue continues to be a difficult one for the country economically and politically for the government. The relationship between the Thompson family and perennial CEO of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris has been part of the national conversation since the news broke about CLICOโ€™s financial problems that Friday afternoon. The Thompson led government took the decision then to reassure the public that CLICO Barbados was largely a well managed company and there was no need for panic. The Mia Mottley led opposition at the time seized on the political opportunity and as they say they rest is history. The life insurance part of the business has been a problem for the government because of an annuity product which CLICO Life Insurance had been given permission to sell. The bottomline is, CLICO has now become a big problem for the Fruendel Stuart government.

During the Estimates Debate in parliament yesterday (16 March 2010) Stuart made his biggest gaffe to date by indicating he did not regard Leroy Parris as a โ€˜leperโ€™. He further statedย ย  โ€œI donโ€™t agree with everything he does. I have never agreed with everything heโ€™s done, but like all other Barbadians he has worked his way up and he has had his ups and downsโ€.

Prime Minister Stuart has a right like his predecessor to be loyal to Leroy Parris. Most Barbadians however will have a problem with the political correctness of the statement at this time. It smacks of an indescribable insensitivity. The CLICO issue is a hot potato issue for the government, it has the potential to add 200 million to the national debt. The national โ€˜feelingโ€™ index for Leroy Parris at this time is at an all time low given his surprising action to sue CLICO for 10 million dollars, a company which is unable to honour its financial commitment to policyholders. Why on earth would Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart utter the most insensitive statement to date which is sure to stoke political debate and alienate support is incomprehensible. Following the recent error in judgement by Minister of Finance to be seen publically socially cavorting with Leroy Parris in the Sandy Lane Box on Gold Cup Day makes one wonder if the government has an urgent need for a political strategist to be part of the setup, or do they? Bear in mind all through this fiasco Leroy Parris remains Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation.

It will be interesting to see how the CLICO matter unravels. It would be foolhardy for the government to enter the general election which is on the horizon with this matter in tow which must drag like an albatross. The dilemma for the government by placing the matter in the purview of the Court, it will make decision making a protracted affair.ย ย  It means the call by the Nation newspaper for the government to speak to the issue is asking it to violate the protocol of sub judice, something they (Nation newspaper) should understand very well.

Some where in the sweet bye and bye there is someone lounging on the beautiful shore who bears a contented smile.

1. Did you not think it passing strange that he was not granted the visa? Do you know what did David Thompson have to do with him not getting the visa??

Do not get into things of which you know nothing!

Do you know that Jerome Walcott the outstanding doctor was given a contract by PAHO, nothing to do with the Barbados government to do some work with Caricom, your king David Thompson created a stink and wanted heads to roll because Jerome got a contract to work outside of Barbados, mind you?

There was more to that refusal than meets the eye.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

Let me tell what is wrong with lynch, outside of the house he can’t get a job like most of the former Barbados Labour Party administration.
    Outside of the house no wants Barbados Labour Party rejects. Hence they are fighting tooth and nail to get back into the house. They are useless otherwise.

3. Boy! Oh! Boy! ccc I sure like the way you drop dem banana peels for the BLPites to slip and slide all over the blog. BTW i yet have to read ccc comment on the way The PM overreact to negativity about”his friend” Parris. CCC you sure have everybody slipping and sliding along the yellow brick road.Talking about a change of game plan!

4. As usual, he does not address any of the issues or points made. He makes unsubstantiative statements and runs. Typical Dem!

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

you are not bad yourself.

It is necessary to keep reminding the people of Barbados how awful these BEES are before their revisionists can fool them otherwise. The people must remember that the Barbados Labour Party members and supporters are not nice people.

They wolves in sheep clothing.

Plus I owe it to my late father.

6. @CCC
    Ha! HA! like yuh style Do! they really act like sheep in truth .It is so easy to point them in another direction. Keep throwing them banana peels. That might have a dominoe effect evenutally all dem falling in unisom!.

7. @ Prodigal
    Whose fault is it? CCC have his game on. He didn’t ask wunna to play.

8. CCC & ac,

Read the PEP’s column today.

9. Prodigal Son

Where is the PEP column on the net? I’d like to read it.

10. Josquin Desprez | March 18, 2011 at 3:47 PM | Heard the Minister of EDUCATION, Ronald Jones, in a news clip yesterday talking
    ————————
    Was english handed down from heaven
    You people speak as though english is a some sacred cow.
    english is just another dialect

I hate to hear wunna people talking shoite !

11. Check it,

enuff posted it a few threads up @8.57 and it is also on Barbados Today.

Thanks

12. It was in barbados today article on page 11 in march 17 2011 edition

13. Fran
    I totally agree with you, the BLP in its last term of office became arrogant, that’s why I voted for the DLP with the hope that they had clean up their squabbles and ready to put this country back on a firm footing; boy, oh boy am I disappointed!!!!!. The stability of governance in Barbados is under threat, now we have a bunch of amateur politicians who are just looking to satisfy themselves from the word GO. I fear a return to the BLP would mean, “I told you so, therefore whatever we do you must accept because you don’t have anyone else to turn to.” That’s why we need a serious, genuine third party, persons who have the interest of this country at heart, there are persons in Barbados who have those characteristics, PLEASE come forward and save this country from disaster.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I never read the PEP column. Why start now?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anytime you have to rely on the PEP column for support you must be in dire straights.
    The PEP leader is a known political Pondfly. A man who puts self above everything.
    Even his best buddy David Denny had to abandon him because he was making no sense at all.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC
    “Jamaica among 15 countries with top broadband speeds

Published on March 19, 2011 Email To Friend Print Version

KINGSTON, Jamaica (JIS) — Jamaica is ranked among 15 countries in the world with top broadband speeds, chairman of Columbus Communications International, Brendan Paddick, has revealed.

โ€œWith Flowโ€™s introduction of up to 100 megabits (per second) of internet speeds into Jamaican homes, I am proud to announce that Jamaica has now moved up the information and telecommunications technology (ICT) ladder…ranking higher than places such as Canada, the United States and even the United Kingdom for broadband speeds,โ€ he said.

Columbus Communications International is the parent company of telecommunications entity, Flow ”

Jamaica has Cable & Wireless just like us, Jamaica has Digicel just like us. Seems like these companies are offering far better service to the Jamaicans for their money than they do in Barbados.
    Jamaica also has the Company Flow which we do not have.

17. I was most disturbed to see the debate reporting yesterday, refer to Own Arthur’s comments on education and schools, basically that one of the major expenditures is to education and therefore the schools need to begin to assist in funding.

While accountability is encouraged and schools should report financial statements, one issue that disturbs me, is that now the populace is up in arms on Government expenditures, the two areas that both parties are attacking are health and education!

Is this coincidence, guileful or just logical?

Commenters i.e. citizens criticise needless spending and in particular, cost overruns and the ‘machinery that enables such wilful spending and lack of accountability’.

In return, in Parliament, opur representatives have not addressed such in legislation but instead choose to attack those two things most dearest, health services and education.

Is it a case of ‘attack is the best defense, ‘y’all want cost cutting…okay, wunna going get it’?

While that interpretation is cynical, it is nevertheless unusual that the representatives are ignoring one of the MOST pressing issues that commenters have raised, while spending energies on attacking ‘pillars of a good society’ i.e. health services and education.

Food for thought!

18. @CCC

Jamaica has 3g service which also don’t have. Though it is incorrect to say they moved up passed canada/us/uk. their are companied in those use countries that offer 100mbs+ service to consumers if they willing to pay. On purely interesting note the Columbus Communications International which is parent company of flow is based in Barbados.

19. The Government recently launched the issue of $161 million bonds for the sugar industry. To date, at least $50 million of these bonds have been taken up. Now today Mr Arthur says that the sugar industry can’t repay this investment and the burden of repayment will be carried by the state.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/arthur-sugar-sector-cant-repay/

Now when one juxtaposes Arthur’s (and others’) opinion with the recent behaviour of Government re: Clico and Barrack, is there a high likelihood of default on repayment on those bonds? Let me also remind readers that some people have not received their income tax refunds for last year.

20. Ping pong

I don’t think there is any risk for non repayment as these are government back bonds vs court settlement vs a company bail out. The government continues to repay bonds by issuing new ones. The sugar industry hasn’t in any recent time repayed any of their bond whether it be bees or dee so a total revamp of industry is need as suggested by aruther and estwick.

21. Anthony

thanks for your reply. This present administration does not give me confidence that they will behave in a principled manner when confronted with issues that conflict with the personal interests of members of government or with political party interests. On the specific issue of the bonds for the sugar industry, I am skeptical that branded sugars will be a profitable project. Other than that I am not aware of much else being pursued in the sugar sector. Minister Estwick is however expending some energy in addressing the problems of agriculture and initiatives to combat praedial larceny and to ensure phytosanitary quality control of agricultural products are welcomed. It is passing strange that the sugar industry does not fall under his ministry (i.e. agriculture).

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

“the Columbus Communications International which is parent company of flow is based in Barbados.”

well, well, well

I wonder why we are not making use of them.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PING PONG

You still letting the WHITE SEETHRU RUM man mislead you.

Don’t you remember that he said that no one has any money to invest in Pickerings?

You Barbados Labour Party people dumb, blind, stupid, gullible, sieve brained, forgetful, peabrained, foolish, ignoramous, absurd, unwise and all the other nice adjectives.

24. @ping pong

The branded can be a profitable project. all we have to do is go in any supermarket in the states/uk/europe etc and we see multiple companies offering branded sugar. tate lyle has many of variety of branded sugar here. It is time we leave the bulk sugar market it not even profitable for us to continue there. we keep losing money there. the branded sugar market sell bajan sugar at a premium at anywhere between 5-20 times the price of bulk sugar we are currently selling and should turn a profit for the sugar industry.

@ ccc

Show how the lack of infrastructure development by lime when the pillage us for all those years, with all the profits they made we should have a far better network that we currently have. we should be just like trinidad and jamaica offering normal consumers service up to or exceeding 100mbits and actually getting those speed.

25. There is an obscure law somewhere that states that in the event that less than 30 percent of the population turns out to vote the entire result will be scrapped in favor of bi-partisan management until such time as an improved system of determining a suitable government is formulated…! I will be part of any NO VOTE Campaign that is in the offing …

26. Anthony,

If given a choice, would you buy branded sugar over “ordinary” sugar in a plastic bag? The world is in a recession, won’t consumers be looking to economise? Branded sugar offers no benefit to the consumer over unbranded sugar other than fancy packaging. In Barbados, a kg of sugar may sell for $5. Branded sugar sells for $40/kg! I suppose if ONLY branded sugar is made available then this will have a major impact on the fortunes of sugar producers (and there goes those promises of lowering the cost of living!). However, is it likely that this value added will go to Barbados or to the distribution companies in the UK like Tate and Lyle?

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Seethru”Arthur is the most unpatriotic Barbadian in Barbados. Every utterence is calculated to cause maximum damage to Barbados. That fact that nothing he has rambled on about in the recent past has Bourne any fruit does not stop him from continuing to make a Royal Ass of himself.

He is an enemy of the state. The worst thing about this is despite the failure of all his predictions there is a class of nincompoops called Barbados Labour Party supporters who would have us believe that he is still relevant today.

I my opinion he relevant to the Mount Gay rum factory.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

I agree with you.

29. @ping pong

but the market you wish to attract it not the normal market. you wish to attack people who have cash to spend . the branded sugar isn’t going to be marketed at bajan but as luxury good. LVMH the world leader in luxury good has at steallar year with revenues & profits growing 10+%. So the luxury side is growing and we should take what piece of the pie we can.

30. @ Crusoe

What Owen was talking about is in essence referred to co-location of services/shared uses. Schools in Barbados offer tremendous opportunities for generating income. Why must plants with various types of facilities only operate between 8am – 5pm Monday to Friday; closed during the holidays.

31. should have read:

Why must plants with various types of facilities only operate between 8am โ€“ 5pm Monday to Friday and be closed during the holidays?

32. Speaking about branded sugar Anthony comments about a market that you wish to ATTACK! … Could not have put it better Padre.

In all my recent life I have never seen a super market put Branded Sugar (Mum’s or Muscovado or w’aever) on the shelf along with the regular package sugar so as to give the Market a true choice …! We does get attack too regular ’bout hey …!

33. @ ping pong
    If given a choice, would you buy branded sugar over โ€œordinaryโ€ sugar in a plastic bag?
    Bush Tea has bet ‘a package of green tea’ that ping pong has brought branded water in a plastic bottle, over ‘ordinary’ water from the pipe…. like the many thousands of others who do so daily…

34. Bush Tea
    I have bought “branded” water in Barbados maybe ONLY about three times in my life. This was done out of curiosity as to what the attraction was all about. Some bottled waters are different from tap water for example there are flavoured waters and the fizzy kinds like one from France (can’t remember the name) but at the higher price, bottled water will stay on the shelf as far I am concerned. Also the reality that the hygiene of many (most?) bottled waters is suspect is sufficient for me to stick to tap water which is fine for me. Anyway I take your point but why do people buy bottle water and are these “motivators” applicable to sugar? Can people be fooled that branded sugar taste better, has higher sucrose content, is healthier, is more hygienic than sugar packed in a plain plastic bag? I take Anthony’s target market approach i.e. snob appeal but is this a large enough market to help make our sugar industry profitable again? Also are we differentiated enough from other sugar producers to dominate the branded sugar market or at least carve out a niche for ourselves? As an indicator our sea island cotton projects have not turned out as well as predicted and we had to sell Mount Gay to the French to access that luxury market.

35. @ping pong

The sea island cotton project was never given the help it need to get into the market. The buzz word for most of these sugar would be to add organic infront the name. that normally get people interested for what ever reason pleases their mind. as for snob market. ideally it said 5% of the world control 80% of the wealth so why not target the 5% for all it worth.

36. Here is an idea, why not chlorinate the damn sugar and sell it as an artificial sweetener …? My God we got all the cane, and a sea full of chlorine, not to mention boat loads of diabetics around the world that could find a use for Branded Artificial (Organic) Sweeteners …! We could brand it Barsucralose and pay our traditional friends Tate & Lyle a little something something for the use of their patent (or hold on till it expires)

37. @ ping pong
    …just pulling the old leg a bit… the bush man probably bought a couple bottles in my time too.
    The point however is that most people are not like us ping (most other folks are ‘normal’…) and with the correct marketing approach, you can sell them fresh air in a can and make millions.

In fact, you probably know the story of bottled water – where a famous marketer bet that he could get people to buy water in bottles over free piped water….. the rest is history.

Branded sugar is a viable product. It could be marketed as organic, clean, healthy, etc; and it could be ‘fortified’ with various spices (Grenadian?) , herbs or other enhancers -such as garlic, aloe etc; and touted to achieve appropriate benefits…

Lastly, a pretty package and a ridiculous price and we would have a sure winner… of course bush tea and ping pong will stick with our good old bajan brown, but David, BAFBFP and the other ‘normals’…. ? couldn’t get enough of the stuff….

What you think Rihanna’s perfume is…? li’l cus cus mixed with some bush teas..and with a pretty name….and a big price.

…wanna just lucky that the bush man don’t want no more money…

38. In theory what you guys are suggesting is doable.

The only question for BU is the assumption that the brand would penetrate deep enough to generate the required revenue from the get go.

It takes time to build a brand, it takes money to build a brand, in takes expertise and mucho money to build a global brand.

39. The thing is David I wouldn’t feel any more foolish buying sugar because it got a brand stick on the package than getting trick into buying ‘good old bajan brown’ which is really packaged Guyanese scrap sugar … LOL

40. Actually Bush Tea
    I think that your idea of branded spiced sugar a very good idea! At present the branded sugar idea is just sugar in a pretty package. There is nothing to lure the consumer by suggesting that there something really different about the branded sugar. There could be aloe and sugar, cinnamon and sugar, nutmeg and sugar, mustard and sugar (for basting ham). The bottled water consumers believe that they are getting cleaner water or water with some mineral or vitamin that will improve health. It may require some food chemistry work and the marketing effort that David alluded to but what do we have to lose?

41. actually there are already spiced sugar which are even more expensive than the just the branded sugars.

42. Hell why not package the spices and brand them as “Sweetened” …? Just saying …

43. Tests carried out in Canada showed that most bottled water came from local pipes. But people still buying it by the cases.

I would buy branded sugar with a flavour like vanilla.

44. I would simply buy a branded sugar named Pat … ja ja

45. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

@ Under-Disguise

Agreed sir, English is not from heaven, nor is it a sacred cow.
    However, if it is your first language, and had you paid attention in school when it was being taught, surely you would have understood the reasoning behind what I wrote.

Minister if Education —- proper English. See the implications!

You have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that you (in your words) are a “shoite”.

46. @ David
    The only question for BU is the assumption that the brand would penetrate deep enough to generate the required revenue from the get go
    ..skipper, you sound so ‘bajan’ that the bush man nearly ‘dead wid laff’….
    Dave, this is a simple no-brainer…. What penetrate what deep what..!!??
    First of all, unlike bottled water, bajan sugar actually IS a very good product.
    Secondly, it is UNIQUE, and LIMITED in supply… (even better than gold)
    Thirdly, it has a long and interesting history – tied to such emotional concepts as slavery, plantations, pirates, naval history and rum…a marketing dream.
    ….how could it get any better…?

Then there is your question of ‘penetration…’
    YOU SERIOUS?
    What penetration? Barbados is a paltry 21 X 14 village with a couple families on it. All we need are 10 good customers and our production is all gone…. get 12 customers and we can double the price and limit production like OPEC…LOL

Why don’t we do any of this obvious stuff…?? LEADERSHIP!!!
    -BECAUSE, as the bushman explained some time ago, we are a bunch or educated retards, with some of the most idiotic leaders conceivable.
    -Because we have a university that is more focused on attracting government funding than on producing EFFECTIVE alumni…. and they are rewarded with more and more dollars for less and less impact.
    -Because we have been fed on mendicancy and yard-fowlism at all levels – and everyone is just looking for handouts…

The sugar industry is a case study in incompetence, idiocy, nepotism and waste. Look at the management structure; the managers; the thinking and the planning, and it becomes obvious why it will ALWAYS be a liability…..

..so how are we addressing the problem of our water system falling into disrepair…? Did we contract someone from a well run utility like Light and Power to reform the water department…? OF COURSE NOT!!!
    (…that would make far too much sense…)

We sent someone who has been a key player in the sugar industry for years… highly experienced in ineptness…. and we ACTUALLY expect results LOL!! ha Ha!

We should praise God that these are indeed the last days…..can you imagine things getting any worse..??!!

47. @ bush tea

this would be funny if it wasn’t so serious.

48. @Bush Tea

First of all, unlike bottled water, bajan sugar actually IS a very good product.Secondly, it is UNIQUE, and LIMITED in supplyโ€ฆ (even better than gold)
    Thirdly, it has a long and interesting history โ€“ tied to such emotional concepts as slavery, plantations, pirates, naval history and rumโ€ฆa marketing dream.
    โ€ฆ.how could it get any betterโ€ฆ?

Yes it is a good product but it still has to be marketed to guarantee the sales necessary for it to be a profitable venture. There are many good quality products which never made it.

49. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/baico-suit/

guess it wasn’t long before more people started suing.

50. @anthony, yes and it indicates that the ‘Clico Matter’ does not lie just with our Parliament and that of T&T, thank gosh! Denzil Douglas aint about to let go.

Maybe the local policyholders and pensioners should contatc him and develop an action plan.

Old saying ‘dah fuh lick yuh!’ The ‘small’ islands goin learn the big islands how to ‘regulate”.

How ironic.

This legal battle should be interesting. CCJ going to have a regional case on its hands.

Looks like the money shortly going get tie up. And if ‘any’ gets paid hurriedly, it will bring much into question.