The name of the author (lawyer) has been withheld by BU

Chief Justice Designate Marston Gibson

IN 1973, Lord Reid, had occasion to comment on an apparent absurd legal conclusion which arose in the case HAUGHTON v SMITH.ย  The absurdity arising from the decision in a Lower Court was that the law had made it possible to steal from an empty pocket.ย  Reflecting on an earlier assessment by Mr. Bumbleย of Dickensian fame, the learned Law Lord remarked โ€œthe law may sometimes be an ass but it cannot be so asinine as that.โ€ The absurd notion was therefore rejected.

The Nationโ€™s Editorial of Monday 13 December 2010 caused me to reflect on the above assessment. The emphatic and unambiguous assessment of the writer was that a person who had practiced in India or any other Commonwealth country for a period of fifteen years was qualified to be appointed Chief Justice of Barbados; Mr. Marston Gibson who qualified to practice in the Courts of Barbados and was admitted to practice in 1981, WAS NOT.ย  It was the most magnificent piece of foolishness I had ever seen in the editorial of a newspaper and which was being passed off as informed comment.

The genesis of the debate surrounding the appointment of the Chief Justice which has taken on a very unfortunate political element may be located in the last appointment when Mr. David Simmons, the then Attorney General was appointed Chief Justice.ย  Further fuel was added to the already inflamed political passions when the political directorate refused an extension of his tenure earlier this year and he had to demit office.ย  This unfortunate event has in my view stripped the debate on the new appointment of the much desired objectivity; I shall therefore try, by this contribution, to give some greater insight into the law affecting the appointment of a Chief Justice.

THE LAW

The appointment of the Chief Justice is made pursuant to S.81 of the Constitution of Barbados.ย  However that section stipulates that the qualification for appointment shall be such as may be prescribed by any law for the time being in force.ย ย  The Editorial and other commentators have correctly cited this law as Sec.7 of the Supreme Court of Judicature Act Cap 117 A of the Laws of Barbados.

Sec 7 (2) stipulates:

โ€œAny person is qualified for appointment as Chief Justice or as a judge of the Court of Appeal who

1. Is a judge of the High Court; or
    2. Is qualified to practice as an Attorney-at-Law in such a Court and has been in practice as such for a period of, or periods accordingly in the aggregate to not less then, 15 years.
    (3) In this section โ€œpractice for a period as an attorney-at-lawโ€ includes any period during which a person served as an attorney-at-law, advocate, barrister-at-law, Magistrate or Registrar of a Court in some part of the Commonwealth or as a Parliamentary Counsel or as a professor or teacher of law at the University of the West Indies or at a school for legal education approved by the judicial and legal services Commissionโ€.

The above provision was used by the editor to categorically state that Mr. Gibson DOES NOT FULFILL THE QUALIFICATION

Statutory Interpretation/Construction

The philosophical underpinning of the interpretation/construction of a statute has always been to see what Parliament intended.ย  To arrive at that intention, a court will first apply a LITERAL reading of the statute.ย  If that reading leads to an ABSURD conclusion, the literal approach will be substituted for a PURPOSIVE approached to arrive at the LOGICAL INTENT.

Let me first pose the fundamental question:

Could the Parliament of Independent Barbados have intended that a person from India, Malawi, Pakistan, Ghana, Zimbabweโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ be qualified for an appointment as Chief Justice in Barbados by virtue of his having served in the commonwealth, and a native Barbadian who QUALIFIED FOR PRACTICE AND WAS CALLED TO PRACTICE 29 YEARS AGO be not qualified?

Let us therefore examine the provision:

โ€œ7 (b) โ€œis qualified to practice as an attorney-at-law, advocateโ€ฆโ€ฆ. To not less than, 15 years.โ€

A person is โ€œqualified to practiceโ€ law in Barbados by virtue of acquiring the appropriate certificate from one of the approved Law Schools in the Caribbean.ย  Some exception to this was made for a number of persons in the 1980s, but the door has since been shut.ย  All practitioners of law must produce certification as stated above.ย  Mr. Gibson has that certification.ย  Is the editor suggesting that a Commonwealth person who does not have that certification might be so qualified and Mr. Gibson is NOT?ย  Can there be any greater illogic?

The facts speak for themselves.

โ€œAnd has been in practiceโ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€ what does that mean?ย  I submit that as long as an Attorney-at-Law is on the Rolls.ย  HE IS IN PRACTICE.ย  If Mr. Gibson wishes to appear in our Courts TODAY, he only has to pay his fees.ย  HE DOES NOT HAVE TO BE READMITTED.ย  But, Sec 7 (3) clenches the pointโ€ฆ.:

In this section โ€œpractice for a period as an attorney-at-lawโ€ INCLUDES (my emphasis) any periodโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

It is a basic rule of Statutory interpretation that the presence of the word โ€œincludesโ€ implies the additional meaning โ€œBUT NOT LIMITED TOโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆ.

This submission puts Mr. Gibsonโ€™s qualification for the post BEYOND DISPUTE.

It is unfortunate that the editorial writer did not avail himself of the kind of guidance necessary to assist him in interpreting the statute, and it is a warning to all, that it is unwise to jump into a matter such as this without that guidance.ย  Statutory Interpretation requires more than a basic ability to read the English Language and โ€œa little learning is a dangerous thing.ย  Drink deep or taste not the Pyerian Spring.โ€

1. Malaysia was subject to the British Empire. However, as a consitutional monarchy in its own right, it did not share the same status as the British Empire per se.

2. Ping Pong

Your suggestion as per your 3rd paragraph sound eminently reasonable on paper but how will the members of this โ€œjudicial and legal servicesโ€ be appointed? Will the members of the local Bar Association have any input or will it be comprised of members selected by the sitting Govโ€™t or a combination of both?

However such a commission is comprised it will be subject to political taint given the size of Barbados.

Perhaps the gentlemen mentioned who served as CJโ€™s in jurisdictions to which they were not connected by birth or heritage were chosen for that very reason, but I think the political debate would really intensify if any Barbados Govโ€™t chose a CJ who was not born in Barbados or had some tangible connection to Barbados.

Does anyone remember when Drexel Gomez was made Anglican Bishop?

3. I have also got to ask exactly what job Dale Marshall had in mind. Appears to me that Mr Gibson has been under consideration for some years for the CJ job. And the only objection now is motivated by political mileage. Sad when the interests of the people are made secondary to those of their political servants.

4. Sargeant

It’s time that Barbados grows up. There may be no perfect system but it would be much better if persons interested in being judges had to apply to a commission, submit qualifications and be reviewed something along the lines of the way US supreme court appointees are vetted.

Barbados should move away from the quasi-Westminster model and adopt a republican arrangement. Such a judicial and legal services commission could be answerable to a non- executive President.

Maybe with a St.Lucian now elected to our House of Assembly, such parochial responses will be muted. LOL.

5. It seems that Dale Marshall is rather artful about the conversation he had with Mr. Gibson, but the paper also reported that Gibson was also being courted by Owen Arthur. So now Marshall wants us to believe that he contacted him simply to ask him about his long term plansโ€ฆ..

Now if he had met him at a reception I would chalk it up to small talk but when there is contact via cellphone I think the conversation would be on a deeper level unless Marshall is prone to calling up people and ask โ€œWhatโ€™s happening?โ€

Political gamesmanship

6. Skinning Cuffins Avatar
    Skinning Cuffins

Mr. Gibson aint lawfully eligible for this position. One only needs to look at the DLPs intent to go to Parliament to change the law for confirmation of this fact.

7. Ping Pong

You have made my point.

US Supreme Court judges are vetted to a point by the Administration that appoints them i.e. there are multiple questionnaires, questions, past papers, judgements, opinions et al. any personal information that would embarrass the Administration is checkedโ€ฆBUT when it comes to confirmation most questions are of a political nature and are of the โ€œgotchaโ€ variety.

As for politics, Democrat Presidents select Democratic judges and vice versa for Republicans, more often than not their rulings are according to their to their political affiliation.

Ask Al Gore

8. Trinidad needed a top cop and they got a Canadian.
    Jamaica needed a top cop and they got an Englishman.

Barbados needs a CJ so maybe wunna should get a Englishman of impeccable character old chaps..

Then again another BLP Lawyer as CJ would mek a lot a wunna happy.

All de lotta long talk does not hide the fact that some ah wunna friten that Gibson may just be an honest man.

9. If he a honest man i think then backlog of case will be speed up. Also the al barrack issue may require resolving then

10. @David

Debunked? They courted Hammie, Rudy, Kerri and the then LOTO too!!! You better do some research.

11. If as some are trying to argue under the current law Mr Gibson qualifies in the spirit of the law why then does the Government see it necessary to return to Parliament in order to amend the very section of the law which deems him inelligeble?Just a thought.

12. The more we tinker with the law the more lawless this country is becoming. i hope this Mr Gibson don’t foulup because if he does it would make the DLP look real bad. What happens if he comes with his America type of law and when challenged by the CCJ he constantly comes out on the wroung side. America law is far different to English law and the Westminister system is what we practice here.

13. It is interesting to read all the complimentary comments from the legal eagles in Barbados who all say Gibson is a competent man for the job but the law….. If the law is showing itself to be an ass here by blocking a competent Bajan from doing the job isn’t that good grounds to amend the damn law?

Recently the President of the Law Society of Trinidad addressed the Barbados Bar Association and rendered a stinging indictment on our backlog of cases in the court system. Martin Daly stated unequivocally that to process case files in a business as usual manner will not solve the problem. Now answer the question, how can we believe our Judiciary was administered efficiently in recent years and nothing* of significance done to resolve this problem? A problem which has had the effect of slowing down how justice is dispensed.

14. @The Scout,
    Exactly what are you saying?

This man has practiced both English and American Law. Do you think a man with his academic and professional track record would not know that in Barbados his judgments must be according to the Laws of Barbados?

Is it not reasonable to expect that he would want to be the best CJ Barbados ever had ?

I now understand why so many outstanding Bajans are not persuaded to return to work in Barbados.

It is only a ratass unqualified fella like Hants who would risk dealing wid wunna nasty attitude an try to come back befo he dead.

GP where you at? Hope all is well.
    It is -20c outside so I hey on BU overworking my limited brain cells.

15. David,

Take a look at the faces of the CJ’s in Barbados over the last 50 years and tell me what you see.

16. David,

Take a look at the faces of the CJโ€™s in Barbados over the last 50 years and tell me what you see.

Old boys club.

17. Exactly.

18. One of my favourite songs from my youth.

19. @David. All the best known counsel in Barbados, EXCEPT those who think (or thought) that they would be offered the job of CJ (and it turns out there were quite a few) are solidly behind the appointment of Marston Gibson. The work of the courts has ground to a shuddering halt. There are 3 actions, either filed or pending, against 3 different judges for failure to carry out their offices. This is unheard of. The Registrar has been placed on notice of several pending actions against the Registry. This too is completely unheard of. The situation in the courts is now so dire that it presents an Everest for the new CJ to climb โ€“ and none of the local legal yard fowls could manage it. For actions to be brought against judges it means that the lawyers themselves are fed up and, frankly, will not stand for it any longer. You quote Martin Daly. If any one of those cases against judges was appealed to the CCJ, then there is every likelihood that a ruling would be made against the judge. What sort of a signal would that send to overseas investors?

As a nation, we cannot afford to allow the mess perpetrated on us by David and Marie Simmons to continue. But so deep is the mess (and I am not overstating this) that it requires a man of unique ability at the helm to turn it around. Marston Gibson is such a man.

It has also been said that โ€œthe law is the lawโ€. The law is, in its highest and purest sense, a living, breathing entity that changes to reflect the needs of its society. The good of the society is the ruling imperative of any legal framework. You will notice that I donโ€™t say the โ€œmajorityโ€ of society, but society as a whole. If the law, therefore, needs to be changed to ensure that timely and efficient justice is given to the people, indeed, that the now-dead justice system is revived, then the law must either be changed, or it is indeed an ass. Note that I say โ€œIf the law needs to be changed.โ€ I expressly deny any such need to appoint Mr Gibson โ€“ however, I defer to the caution of my friend, Anthony.

So it is clearly time to put aside:

(a) the images of Dale Marshall making an extra-expensive overseas telephone call from his cellphone (instead of a cheaper landline) for which we, the taxpayers, paid, solely for a chit chat with Marston Gibson and a โ€œby-the-wayโ€ enquiry as to Gibsonโ€™s long term plans;
    (b) Owen Arthur making similar enquiries (by which time he had abundant evidence of his gross mistake in allowing David Simmons to finish off the courts as his wife had finished off the Registry);
    (c) the image that we are expected to believe of David Thompson, Freundel Stuart and Mia Mottley discussing the appointment of Marston Gibson, all three of them senior lawyers, without researching and discussing the law involved (and this is the most stupid image of all);
    (d) of Owen Arthur and his gang, post Mia Mottley, realizing that the debunking of Mia had placed them way beyond the pale with the electorate, choosing not to support the election of Mr Gibson and the revival of the justice system, in the National Interests. Or is it because a fully functional justice system would demonstrate to the electorate how badly let down and betrayed they have been?

Time to move on. Very clearly we have a new Chief Justice and he has a hell of a job ahead of him. I personally intend to observe with great care the process of this law change. I want to see exactly which MPs try to obstruct the resurrection of the Barbados Justice System. I suspect that many Bajans will be doing the same as me. And we will deal with these obstructionists in due course โ€“ at the next elections.

20. @Hants/ David,

David | January 23, 2011 at 11:39 PM | David,

Take a look at the faces of the CJโ€™s in Barbados over the last 50 years and tell me what you see.

Old boys club.

————-

Ridiculous point. They all had the background of substantial legal (practical) experience in the commonwealth and were just as, in some cases moreso, academically brilliant.

That said, Hants statement has suddenly convinced me that Mr.Gibson is NOT qualified by background, by the glaring lack of sunstantial practical experience in the commonwealth and as a jurist.

Although obviously an intelligent gentleman, he lacks the practical background. No jurist experience whatsoever? So, no jurist experience and he does not qualify under the spirit of the law nor the letter.

But don’t take my advice, we will see in five years.

I tell you, how many people will get ahouse built by an engineer who taught for years and consulted, but never visited a building site. Or how many people would get an operaiton by a doctor who taught for years and consulted, but never performed surgery?

Last thing I say on the matter.

Regardless of everything, this should be fun.

21. @Crusoe

Your examples are extreme.

When reference is made to old boys club it does not have to be about questioning the credentials.

22. What happens if or when this Mr Gibson is appointed and his style and that of the judges don’t mesh, what do we do next? Do we fire ALL and bring more overseas persons to fill their posts? What if the CCJ rejects many of his rulings do we withdraw from the CCJ?
    I have nothing against a quaility man like Mr Gibson becoming C.J, I have nothing against amending the law but I think he should be allowed a period of working within the system first and getting familiar with this sytstem before the appointment. I suspect there will be some resistance by the local judiciary, that’s why it is not fair to throw him in at the deep end of the pool, it can have some adverse effects on law in this country. Having said that, I too agree that we need someone outside of the “old boys club” to get barbados back on an even keel, however let it be someone who is tottaly familiar with the westminister system of justice; I’m sure they have to be one somewhere.

23. @jeff C
    u want the post?

24. Remember, it is Her Majesty’s loyal Government and Opposition.

The two leaders may have come up with the candidate but the GG, a former Judge and member of the judiciary has to make the final appointment as Her Majesty’s Representative.

It is simple.

If the law has to change then Mr. Gibson is not qualified for the job as posted and they should move to the next candidate.

I would not want such a job under those circumstances and if Mr. Gibson takes the job in those circumstances people will fear the worst.

One thing is sure, the candidate will need additional qualifications.

These are courage, principle and humility because this system needs shaking up from top to bottom.

No university in this world offers degrees in these disciplines.

We have seen an Englishman chosen by the Government of Trinidad to conduct an inquiry into the doings of CLICO only to have his appointment rescinded because he was conflicted, having represented CLICO two decades before.

Courage, principle and humility …… maybe we have to advertise on Mars!!

25. After all the usual pretentious “bush law” from Amused, Stephen Alleyne’s column in today’s Advocate seems to be spot on.

26. I still giving the job to Jeff C.

if marston cant make the 10 year requirement to be a judge, then he bust luck.

at 10 years ….make he a judge today, then make he cj tomm.

have to promote a current sitting judge tho… no vacancies… rather … a dont see (ag) behind Alleyne name no mo. (may jus be a typo!(as ususal) but check adriel….

27. How about appointing Gibson as a judge and promote the most compitent senior judge to the position of Acting C.J while Gibson gets his feet wet as he relearns the system here. After a year or so that Acting C.J can retire, then Gibson succeeds him, if he proves himself. Maybe, it’s another case of the late David Thompson ruling from somewhere in the great beyond. Please give us an insight of what else to expect. Is P.M Stuart a faithful desciple of David Thompson,( this would be a 360) or is he just tagging on to keep his pick

28. Nobody wants to say it, but David Thompson messed up. He did not know the law.

29. @Spratt. Simmons-esque to the end. And you fool nobody.

30. In all this, sad to say as I admire Marston Gibson and his evident ability and achievements, why would he want a job for which the Government would have to change the law for him to qualify?

Would’nt he be beholden to the Government that made that change? Wouldn’t his rulings be forever sullied by the manner in which he got the job? Could he make a ruling in favour of the current Government without someone thinking that his manner of getting the job carried some weight in the decision or, contrariwise, if he made a ruling in favour of the Opposition couldn’t that be seen as bending over backwards not to appear biased?

Could a CJ remove himself from consideration of a case (recuse himself) if he thought that his involvement therein might be controversial? Would such be good for the Barbados legal system?

What would be the honourable thing for him to do at this stage?

31. @Checkit-out | January 24, 2011 at 5:06 PM. The answer to your questions:

Take the job and serve the justice system of your country of birth to the best of your considerable ability, secure in the knowledge that, whether they admit it or not, BOTH sides of the political divide think you are the best man for the job and BOTH have courted you at one time or another for the job of CJ. And when someone raises the issue of why you, a licensed member of the Barbados Bar of over 20 years standing was chosen and the law changed to remove meritless objections, reflect that after all Simmons was moved from attorney general to chief justice without any pause whatsoever and unless you display political bias, any manufactured objection to your appointment will pale in comparison. Reflect that after a few years of resurrecting the judicial system from its demise under the Simmons administration, no one will care about these manufactured and curiously Simmonsian (which is another way of saying โ€œmeritlessโ€) objections. Forget the Simmonsian objections by reflecting that they come from someone living in a glass house who cannot help pelting rock stones in an effort to shore up the dead and gone legacy he has left.

Most of all, reflect that the justice system of the country of your birth needs you to bring timely and even-handed justice to its people โ€“ that is to say to the little man or woman in the street for whom, at the moment, justice is the province of the rich, the privileged and the politicians and has little room for the poor and disenfranchised, unless they get lucky and find one of that rare breed of lawyer for whom justice is a vocation and not a cash cow. Reflect that you are in the position to ensure that justice is for ALL.

THEN TAKE THE JOB!!!

32. @Jack spratt

Read the article and when all was said and done by Stephen Lashley here is the part of the article which caught the eye below:

The reason for Parliamentโ€™s insistence that an applicant should have been a judge in a Commonwealth jurisdiction cannot be gleaned from an examination of the legislation itself, but we know that all but a few of the members of the Commonwealth of Nations were dependencies of England, their legal systems followed the English common law and their final court of appeal was the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (some still hold on to the Privy Council). This could be one reason for the insistence.

Full Article

He has presented an opinion but to be fair to him he admits he is unsure why the framers of the law would include the Commonwealth requirement.

33. Amused
    Yes, we do need a person who can shake up the justice system in Barbados and from all my investigations Mr Gibson appears to be suited for the job. However, there is one hiccup, the gentleman DOES NOT QUALIFY. There are many persons who can fit many positions in this country who do not qualify and they are overlooked. What makes this even more serious is that we are tinkering with the law to qualify a chosen person for a position that as far as I am aware was not advertised. Had the position been advertised and no suitable person was found, then we may think of choosing the next best person if it even means bending the laws a bit. As we start changing laws to suit certain people, soon we will lose the respect of the law. Let’s say we found a teacher who was exceptional but was not a top graduate and the position of Principal of Harrison’s College was vacant, would we change the rules just for that person? There is a reason why some advertisements ask for certain qualifications, therefore if we change the law for anyone person, how can you then say someone else is good but not qualified? If we continue to trivialise the law, we can be looking at a lawless society.

34. Amused;
    I recall that in the US when they were choosing the latest 2 Supreme court justices, almost as soon as Obama’s choices were publicised, the relevant authorities published a paper trail of all the rulings of the learned judges so that Congress and any other interested party could have a feel for the leanings of the judge as well as his/her scholarship, inclination to challenge Roe vs. Wade, integrity, fair mindedness, etc. etc. Mr. Marston Gibson is practising his calling in New York. Such a paper trail or record should be available.

Is it possible for one or more of the legal luminaries on this blog to research this, examine what his rulings in New York say about the man and the relevance of such rulings to the whole gamut of the type of rulings that he will have to make as CJ of Barbados? It would also give us some sort of picture of whether or not he would have to make some adjustments to reasonably succeed in the tasks you have enumerated above re. cleaning up the legal system here.

In addition, looking at the things that you say need to be sorted out, perhaps what the country really needs is a well qualified and experienced non-barbadian consulting team, properly briefed and assisted by the relevant authorities here, to study our system thoroughly and make recommendations for changes which can then be implemented by the new CJ and Government following the agreed blueprint provided by the consultants.

35. It appears fairly clear, although I am not a mind reader, but a resonable person can surmise, that the reason that the framers of the legislation in question, deliberately referred to ‘Commonwealth’ exactly because throughout the Commonwealth there was a common legal base and case law, thus anyone coming into the position therefrom comes with a sound understanding of the legal principles and case law, that will be utilised in assessing case precedents and delivering judgements therefrom.

I do not know why the writer of the article was so hesitant to surmise this, he has come to the correct conclusion.

The Legislation is specific, as I said.

Sorry, last post was to be my last word, this is now. Lol.

36. @Crusoe…

Please correct me if I’m wrong. But does not Barbados claim to be a sovereign nation?

If this is so, why must we ask the Queen of England for permission (even if a only a technicality) to do anything?

From this, then, the use of the word and meaning “Commonwealth” in our laws must come into question.

Must it not?

37. Actually far as the law goes isn’t she the Queen of Barbados as well ?

38. Must we then go on a change laws at our whims and fancies, just that we can get who we want in any position. Then take hanging out of the law because even though it’s in some legal fraction is stopping it. So the law is proving daily to be for the small man only. No wonder Errol Barrow said ” if you want justice, stay out of the law courts.”

39. @anthony: “Actually far as the law goes isnโ€™t she the Queen of Barbados as well ?

I thought that job was taken… By Mara?

Confusion reigns….

40. =David, the writer may be unsure why the legislation refers to Commonwealth altho I think Crusoe @ 8:04 gives the answer. The point is IT IS THERE!

41. lol Chris . Mara is the people choice for Queen of St.John.
    Yes it does seem she is still the Queen of Barbados.

42. Not all things in life are simple but some are.

This is one of those things.

If lawyers and psuedo lawyers need to justify Mr. Gibson’s appointment by developing intriguing arguments to justify that appointment, or even seek to tweak the existing law it becomes even simpler …………,

…. both for Mr. Gibson and the Government and people of Barbados.

The last CJ was appointed in a cloud of controversy.

This appointment should be blameless.

Find the right person (man or woman, foreign or local) who can start blamelessly and let us move on.

Enough old talk.

43. For all the supposed progress of Barbados, Barbados is still a “banana republic’.

Imagine that laws have been set in place to govern, and maintain some semblance of order and low and below you could change the laws at your whims and fancy. No wonder the young people doing as the like. If the people who make the laws ain’t got no respect for the law why should the young people.

Nobody is denying that the man is eminently qualified, but he is not eligible for the position because he has not practiced law in the country for 15years. That is the requirement.

The persons who are suggesting that the law meant that any body who lives in Rwanda can be eligible for the position because Rwanda is part of the commonwealth, is just as much ass as the law is. That certainly could not be the intent of the framers of the law.

@Crusoe , i agree with you ,the man teaches law but has no practical experience, imagine a man teaching somebody how to drive but don’t know how to himself. .LOL

@Check -it-out, agreed! why would a man of integrity allow a government to change a law simply to accommodate him. He cannot be naive enough to believe that he would not be beholden to the present government.

@Amused! i normally enjoy your elucidations on the law, but this time I hear a bias coming through in your writings, and i am surprised. This issue is not about any party, this is about the law as it is written.

BARBADOS IS A REAL BANANA REPUBLIC. FA TRUT !

44. @FRAN: “Imagine that laws have been set in place to govern, and maintain some semblance of order and low and below you could change the laws at your whims and fancy.

The “forefathers” who drafted our laws were not omniscient — they could not see into the future nor were they all knowing. And they *might* have been influenced by others.

As a great man once said: “The law was made for man, not man for the law.

@FRAN: “The persons who are suggesting that the law meant that any body who lives in Rwanda can be eligible for the position because Rwanda is part of the commonwealth, is just as much ass as the law is.

But, that is what the Law says…

Would you not therefore agree that perhaps the Law as written is broken?

And, please do note that even the “Great” (and litigious) United States of America have several Amendments to their own Constitution written by learned forefathers.

45. Come on Chris. America does much more than its fair share of really stupid things but I would not be surprised if Barbados is unique in this case and will outdo even the USA. Changing a law to allow ONE man to qualify for a job as the CJ!!!. I don’t think even the US would do that, irrespective of their penchant for changing laws willy nilly.

Honestly, I would prefer the Government to follow “Amused’s” earlier advice and opt for leaving the Law intact and thereby take its chances on withstanding any future challenges re. illegitimacy.

Sometime in the future it could then amend the Act to allow a more rational interpretation of the qualifications required for future aspirants to the post (not the current aspirant). Something along the lines of 15 years relevant experience in countries in which the common law is practiced, at least 10 of which must be in one or more Commonwealth countries.

In addition, it seems to me that the things which almost everyone expects that Mr. Gibson will do better than anyone else are really administrative functions. What is his track record on administration? Could the expected improvements be effected in some other way than how they are now envisaged to be implemented by Mr. Gibson?

46. The law does evolve with society.

Capital punishment is an example.

….. but there is usually a principle involved.

Define the principle, change the law.

I don’t have a problem with a person from Rwanda filling the post so long as that person is capable and will do a good job.

I don’t have a problem with someone who has practised in the US filling the post, again, once the person is capable and will do a good job.

But don’t rush to change the law to accommodate a situation that has arisen.

The last time the GOB changed the law relating to a post was back in the 1990’s when the post of the Chief Government Electrical Engineer was redefined because of a situation that had arisen.

CCJ recently gave a ruling on the litigation that resulted, 17 years later.

47. For Mr Gibson to be effective in this post, he must have the support of his staff, my gut feeling is that he will not get that support. Therefore Mr Gibson would be very desperate for this job that he would accept it knowing that a dark cloud hangs over his head. Again I say, we are playing politics with the law and the “bad-boys” is watching, this stupid partisan attitude can be the downfall of this country. Already we have a rift between the two top men in the Police Force, now we’re having a wrangle over the post of C., what next, are we going to have a war over who should be P.M? or what Min Mara Thompson should get? or who should be Dep P.M? where will it end ? in the mean time the devient crew is planning their strategy. Wake up Barbados, stop the infighting and start putting this country back on an even keel. Where is our PRIDE and INDUSTRY?

48. John re. your post of Jan 25, 2011 at 3:52 PM;

You said;
    “The law does evolve with society.โ€ฆ.. but there is usually a principle involved. Define the principle, change the law.”

But there does seem to be a principle; It seems to be that the provisions of the current law regarding qualifications for a CJ are somewhat archaic and require upgrading to reflect Barbados’ position in the world, the changing legal environment, its relationships with the USA and the need to widen the pool from which a CJ can be sourced.

Given the above, which seems reasonable to me, the Law could have been changed at anytime, without contest.

The problem however is, that Government seems to be putting the cart before the horse here. Government can’t legally appoint their already PUBLICLY announced chosen one under the current law so they are setting out to change the law to allow that individual to take up the post legally.

If they had changed the Law, say 2 years ago, and then transparently make the appointment at this time, all might have been well. But the actual sequence suggests someone was sleeping at the wheel. Perhaps things might have been done differently had David Thompson not had that extended illness during which everything appeared to come to a standstill.

49. It seems like Mr.Gibson will have to do like GP and stay where he is wanted and respected.

50. Checkit-out
    Are you suggesting that the now P.M Stuart was sleeping on that matter? the whole DLP knew for a while that it was just a matter of time before the inevitable happened and yes Barbados was just drifting during that period; had the Act been amended then there would still be a negative reaction but not so bad. I agree it seems the DLP government is putting the cart before the horse, they seem to be forcing this man on us, I hope he lives up to expectations or the party is going to have to deal with that in the general elections.