The name of the author (lawyer) has been withheld by BU

Chief Justice Designate Marston Gibson

IN 1973, Lord Reid, had occasion to comment on an apparent absurd legal conclusion which arose in the case HAUGHTON v SMITH.ย  The absurdity arising from the decision in a Lower Court was that the law had made it possible to steal from an empty pocket.ย  Reflecting on an earlier assessment by Mr. Bumbleย of Dickensian fame, the learned Law Lord remarked โ€œthe law may sometimes be an ass but it cannot be so asinine as that.โ€ The absurd notion was therefore rejected.

The Nationโ€™s Editorial of Monday 13 December 2010 caused me to reflect on the above assessment. The emphatic and unambiguous assessment of the writer was that a person who had practiced in India or any other Commonwealth country for a period of fifteen years was qualified to be appointed Chief Justice of Barbados; Mr. Marston Gibson who qualified to practice in the Courts of Barbados and was admitted to practice in 1981, WAS NOT.ย  It was the most magnificent piece of foolishness I had ever seen in the editorial of a newspaper and which was being passed off as informed comment.

The genesis of the debate surrounding the appointment of the Chief Justice which has taken on a very unfortunate political element may be located in the last appointment when Mr. David Simmons, the then Attorney General was appointed Chief Justice.ย  Further fuel was added to the already inflamed political passions when the political directorate refused an extension of his tenure earlier this year and he had to demit office.ย  This unfortunate event has in my view stripped the debate on the new appointment of the much desired objectivity; I shall therefore try, by this contribution, to give some greater insight into the law affecting the appointment of a Chief Justice.

THE LAW

The appointment of the Chief Justice is made pursuant to S.81 of the Constitution of Barbados.ย  However that section stipulates that the qualification for appointment shall be such as may be prescribed by any law for the time being in force.ย ย  The Editorial and other commentators have correctly cited this law as Sec.7 of the Supreme Court of Judicature Act Cap 117 A of the Laws of Barbados.

Sec 7 (2) stipulates:

โ€œAny person is qualified for appointment as Chief Justice or as a judge of the Court of Appeal who

1. Is a judge of the High Court; or
    2. Is qualified to practice as an Attorney-at-Law in such a Court and has been in practice as such for a period of, or periods accordingly in the aggregate to not less then, 15 years.
    (3) In this section โ€œpractice for a period as an attorney-at-lawโ€ includes any period during which a person served as an attorney-at-law, advocate, barrister-at-law, Magistrate or Registrar of a Court in some part of the Commonwealth or as a Parliamentary Counsel or as a professor or teacher of law at the University of the West Indies or at a school for legal education approved by the judicial and legal services Commissionโ€.

The above provision was used by the editor to categorically state that Mr. Gibson DOES NOT FULFILL THE QUALIFICATION

Statutory Interpretation/Construction

The philosophical underpinning of the interpretation/construction of a statute has always been to see what Parliament intended.ย  To arrive at that intention, a court will first apply a LITERAL reading of the statute.ย  If that reading leads to an ABSURD conclusion, the literal approach will be substituted for a PURPOSIVE approached to arrive at the LOGICAL INTENT.

Let me first pose the fundamental question:

Could the Parliament of Independent Barbados have intended that a person from India, Malawi, Pakistan, Ghana, Zimbabweโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ be qualified for an appointment as Chief Justice in Barbados by virtue of his having served in the commonwealth, and a native Barbadian who QUALIFIED FOR PRACTICE AND WAS CALLED TO PRACTICE 29 YEARS AGO be not qualified?

Let us therefore examine the provision:

โ€œ7 (b) โ€œis qualified to practice as an attorney-at-law, advocateโ€ฆโ€ฆ. To not less than, 15 years.โ€

A person is โ€œqualified to practiceโ€ law in Barbados by virtue of acquiring the appropriate certificate from one of the approved Law Schools in the Caribbean.ย  Some exception to this was made for a number of persons in the 1980s, but the door has since been shut.ย  All practitioners of law must produce certification as stated above.ย  Mr. Gibson has that certification.ย  Is the editor suggesting that a Commonwealth person who does not have that certification might be so qualified and Mr. Gibson is NOT?ย  Can there be any greater illogic?

The facts speak for themselves.

โ€œAnd has been in practiceโ€ฆโ€ฆ..โ€ what does that mean?ย  I submit that as long as an Attorney-at-Law is on the Rolls.ย  HE IS IN PRACTICE.ย  If Mr. Gibson wishes to appear in our Courts TODAY, he only has to pay his fees.ย  HE DOES NOT HAVE TO BE READMITTED.ย  But, Sec 7 (3) clenches the pointโ€ฆ.:

In this section โ€œpractice for a period as an attorney-at-lawโ€ INCLUDES (my emphasis) any periodโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

It is a basic rule of Statutory interpretation that the presence of the word โ€œincludesโ€ implies the additional meaning โ€œBUT NOT LIMITED TOโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆ.

This submission puts Mr. Gibsonโ€™s qualification for the post BEYOND DISPUTE.

It is unfortunate that the editorial writer did not avail himself of the kind of guidance necessary to assist him in interpreting the statute, and it is a warning to all, that it is unwise to jump into a matter such as this without that guidance.ย  Statutory Interpretation requires more than a basic ability to read the English Language and โ€œa little learning is a dangerous thing.ย  Drink deep or taste not the Pyerian Spring.โ€

1. Earlier today BU posted a comment which asked Barbadians to focus on national priories and remove the cloak of partisan politics to frame our thinking on almost every blasted conversation. The above elucidation of the government’s decision to appoint a CJ is shown to have been done with a basis in law.

As pointed out by Amused et al, it would have been highly irregular to learn that the late Prime Minister, former AG Fruendel Stuart and other legal beavers consulted, would not have reviewed the law to support Gibson’s appointment with eagle eyes.

Letโ€™s move on!

2. What an excellent interpretation of the Law. I think this lawyer must have spent quite a few years as a constitutional jurist and must have done quite a bit of work in “interpreting” the laws of Barbados. I wonder if he/she is still in practice? He would be good if I wanted to sue someone, based on his above. He surely knows how ‘to pick the nits’, so to speak. His piece reminds me of some of the arguments I have read from the Old Bailey.

3. Where did this “lawyer” learn law? This is, with all due respect, utter nonsense. Where did Gibson practice or teach law for a period of 15 years? This “lawyer” should return any degree he might have stolen from some online diploma factory.

4. David;

That piece is itself replete with illogic. Look at it again. It steers clear of addressing the main issues and deals instead with the strawman of someone from India or elsewhere in the commonwealth being eligible for the post and not a native barbadian. The comparison leaves out too many of the factors intrinsic to the case. I agree with Jack Spratt above.

Seeing the argument above I am left to believe that the Government may indeed have a fight on its hands if a legal challenge on the appointment is made.

5. @checkit-out

You need to be more detailed in your rebuttal.

6. @Checkit-out: “I agree with Jack Spratt above.

That says more than you might have wanted to say….

7. I like this interpretation of the law. This guy knows his stuff. Am I hearing a Jeff C. in the background.?

8. I was told that the Nation has a lawyer on retainer and controversial articles are referred to him for review lest they give rise to a claim of libel. One wonders if the editorial was referred to him or whether he had some input in the interpretation of the law and the opinion expressed in the Editorial.

The Editorial states โ€œIf we strip away the emotion for a minute, it is clear to see that though qualified, Gibson is ineligible under the laws of Barbadosโ€.

That is a absolute statement no โ€œifs and or butsโ€, would an Editorial writer publish the above without some legal opinion or was the Editorial written by a lawyer?

The clarification posted here presents a compelling rebuttal but I wonder if the stage is being set for legal jousting between members of the local bar at some future date

9. I am watching this “battle” with interest it seems quite interpretive I will download the law and read before I make a definitive comment. Reminds me of common law – can be proven by both sides. Either way I know he will get the job.

10. @Sargeant

The lawyer who the Nation refers these matters is Ezra Alleyne.

11. @BU.David: “The lawyer who the Nation refers these matters is Ezra Alleyne.

And then the question becomes…

Is Mr. Alleyne proud of the work he is doing?

Or is he simply well paid?

12. Ezra is reputed to be a guru in constitutional and corporate law. One remembers a young Ezra as lead counsel for the BL&P and able Deputy Speaker.

13. I concur with the author of this opinion.

I disagree with those who think there will be a legal fight. The challenge to Chief Justice Gibson was a last-ditch attempt by legal pygmies โ€“ some of them members/officers of the Bar, some of them members of the Judiciary and a lot of them from the support organisations like the Registry โ€“ who have seen the writing on the wall and were attempting to stave off the inevitable ending of their heretofore safe, secure and utterly slovenly sinecures. All these had their attempt at derailment supported by those who stand to lose ($500,000 and/or 5 years in jail) if convicted through the proper application of the new integrity legislation โ€“ and we all know who these are likely to be. And the whole thing given voice and focus by the Nation, the agenda of which is well known.

May I take this opportunity of urging Chief Justice Gibson that, if it is his intention to hold a press conference and answer questions from the media upon his arrival in Barbados and installation, he make it known that he will address written questions from the social media and credit them to the individual blog. I think that the Chief Justice will find that the level of questions posed by the social media will greatly and impartially assist him in getting his message across, rather than the questions? of the tabloid press, such as the Nation, that cannot even take the time to obtain a high quality legal opinion before spouting forth horse manure on its front page.

Finally, it is clear to me, Chief Justice, that our own dear Bonny Peppa has every intention of offering you a night to remember (and believe me, it is a night to remember) on the back seat of her convertible bike.

14. Dont BE SO QUICK to swallow everything written here,
    This is one lawyer’s view point
    There will be other view points
    dont be so daft people
    That is why we have courts with lawyers and judges.
    Concensus ?

15. correction to spelling
    tried to correct before sending didnt work
    yuh know how nitpicky you people are
    Consensus ?
    is needed in these matters

16. The unknown lawyer wrote: Could the Parliament of Independent Barbados have intended that a person from India, Malawi, Pakistan, Ghana, Zimbabweโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ be qualified for an appointment as Chief Justice in Barbados by virtue of his having served in the commonwealth, and a native Barbadian who QUALIFIED FOR PRACTICE AND WAS CALLED TO PRACTICE 29 YEARS AGO be not qualified?

My response:

Yes.

I have no reason to second guess the many post-Independence Parliaments (including the current one) that have met since 1966 and have not sought to change this law.

Parliament stated UNEQUIVOCALLY that one of the qualifications is that the person must have practiced in a Commonweath juridistiction for at least 15 years. I believe that Parliament’s words and Parliament’s intention was AND IS that a person in so important a role as CJ must be EXTREMELY familiar with the law as it is practiced in Commonwelth jurisdictions.

No doubt Mr. Gibson is a very bright man. Perhaps he is also a loyal Barbadian. But there is no evidence which suports his appointment. If he has been as busy and as successful in the U.S as he has been, when then did he get the time to become intimately familiar with Commonwealth law?

And please do not tell me about a law degree tht he earned here 30 years ago. Earning a degree is one thing. Practicing COMMONWEALTH law is another. In the last 15 yars Mr. Gibson has NOT TAKEN ANY OPPORTUNITIES to practice in Barbados. That is an undisputable FACT.

And no I am not a lawyer, nor a member nor supporter of any political party. And no, neither my job (nor that of anybody I know) nor my pension is at risk.

In this matter I believe that the DLP government has been EXTREMELY CARELESS. And I would say the same if this nonsense was done by the BLP or any other party.

Just an ordinary citizen having my say.

17. It should be obvious why the framers of the law would have placed emphasis on a CJ having an experience in Commonwealth jurisprudence. The Commonwealth was a very influential bloc of the past. However the Commonwealth’s influence on our activities/life has diminished significantly. To stay tied to an archaic position can be compared to those countries in the region who heap scorn on the institution of the Caribbean Court of Justice.

18. This interpretation of the law is quite fine but leaves some hole at which it can be attacked. There is nothing wrong with the literal reading of the law since it doesn’t leave an absurd conclusion as such constitutional court might let it stand as a literal reading.

“I submit that as long as an Attorney-at-Law is on the Rolls. HE IS IN PRACTICE.”

If we take that as fact for effort for CJ roll then any number of attorney just on the roll that hasn’t practice maybe up for the position. What would then separate them is there use of law to get judgement render for them. ie actual court time. So we get back to where we start on that argument.

“It is a basic rule of Statutory interpretation that the presence of the word โ€œincludesโ€ implies the additional meaning โ€œBUT NOT LIMITED TOโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆ.”

If we take this meaning where does it stop really ? I can practice anywhere and still apply to be CJ ? The jest of this argument is that anyone can be selected for CJ position once they have 15 years experience in any jurisdiction.

These arguments leave to many loopholes for people to attack or use. As a result we may be tangled in court battles for far too long.Far just simple to change the act to include US as a jurisdiction and have the man appointed and gazetted far as I am concerned.

19. Once he is on the Roll, he is deemed to be practicing. End of argument. No loopholes in sight. He has also taught at UWI for a period of time well in excess of 15 years. End of argument. Again, not a single loophole in sight. Case closed.

20. what will they think of next Avatar
    what will they think of next

Ezra Alleyne is also a crooked Lawyer who holds onto clients money while doing nothing for them. I have a friend who had to take Ezra Alleyne to court to recover monies owed to him by this thief.
    “Ezra is reputed to be a guru in constitutional and corporate law.”
    That is just window dressing. He is also a very bad man. Before one can be good at anything one has first to be a good Human being which Ezra is not.

Find out why Ezra only ran for the House Of Assembly once and then retired and get back to me. Or I may have to tell you!
    Birds of a feather flock together that is why he sticks to the Barbados Labour Party like glue. Crooked party, Crooked Lawyer!

21. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

David and Zion,
    This is to disavow that I am the author of this piece. The Gibson fiasco is sadly becoming a partisan political issue of which I wish to stay clear.

And, for the record, I do not agree with the author’s interpretation which I find tendentious and which betrays a misuse of the principles of statutory construction.

Marston would make a fine Chief Justice of Barbados. The issue as to whether he qualifies is a purely legal one at this stage.

22. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

I find this writer’s analysis to be self serving in the extreme and far from dispassionate.

He selectively edits his quoting the law in his interpretation. At a best case scenario this could be considered an argument that might be raised before a court. As the interpretation that he argues could only be made by a Court, not a government, not a lawyer (not even a Chief Justice). In this case that court is likely to be the CCJ.

The matter of this appointment has (like so much else) been handled badly by this Government. Even a relatively simple appointment process is beyond their limited capabilities.

23. Amused

When has he taught @ UWI for 15 year ? I am finding no record of such so can you provide one ?

24. David

Re The Nationโ€™s lawyer

Of course I knew the name but Ezra often weighs in on these matters through his own byline and that is why I was trying to be clever when I posed the question โ€œWas the Editorial written by a lawyer?โ€

As Jeff C expressed it has degenerated into a partisan issue; you objected to our choice (Simmons) so we will object to yours
    ( Gibson) no matter how eminently qualified. I believe that no effort was spared to find and exploit a possible loophole which would question his fitness for the position.

It is a sad reflection on our society when the best and brightest among us are subject to rejection through the machinations of party politics and the game of โ€œone-upmanshipโ€

25. I know nothing about the law and find BU to be a refreshing and reliable source of knowledge; since I can look at all the arguments set forth and then make a decision.

Therefore, I must say that the above post written by Sargeant is the one that I agree with moreso than ever.

Long live BU!

26. We are Not Amused Avatar

Amused wrote “He has also taught at UWI for a period of time well in excess of 15 years. ”

Are you trying to be amusing?

Has he been a full time UWI teacher for over 15 years or has he been an occasional lecturer during the last 15 years?

Your argument reminds me of those women who married lived with their husbands for a year or two, then they went their separate years, then the old boy dies and they show up in “widows” clothes to claim the pension money, nothwithstanding that their “husband” have been living with someone else for the past 33 years and has 5 children and 6 grandchildren with that other person.

The law is truly an ass.

WE ARE NOT AMUSED.

27. We are Not Amused Avatar

Jef Cumberbatch worte” This is to disavow that I am the author of this piece…And, for the record, I do not agree with the authorโ€™s interpretation which I find tendentious and which betrays a misuse of the principles of statutory construction. ”

Dear Jeff:

Thanks. Written like a SCHOLAR AND A GENTLEMAN.

28. We are Not Amused Avatar

Dear Amused:

The case may be closed for you , BUT the minds of the people are not closed. And you don’t have the power to close the people’s minds.

WE ARE NOT AMUSED.

29. @He Who Chooses Not To Be Amused. If he taught law at any UWI campus during the last 15 years, occasional or otherwise, it counts whether you like it or not. The arrant stupidity of your remark is truly worthy of one D. Simmons. Because, what you are saying is that Gibson is okay to teach Barbados law to hopeful future Barbados lawyers as a guest lecturer, but not “qualified” to put that law into practice as chief justice. Have you the slightest idea, of he who is not amused, how amused the rest of us are. Man, you’re a mock stick. You are applying the sort of rubbish that Sir and Lady S applied and which got us into the terrible mess we are now in, in the first place.

However, the most important part is that he has been on the Roll and certified to practice law in Barbados for well over 15 years. Ergo, he has practiced law in Barbados for over 15 years and is therefore qualified. End of argument and no amount of red herrings, for which of course, you are already a laughing stock, is going to serve you on this.

It is clear to me that the opinion, with which I wholeheartedly agree, is written by a senior member of the bench (retired or active) which, with respect, Jeff is NOT. Without any doubt in my mind at all, I say that this opinion will prevail and the Simmons faction that now seeks to cover up the dire consequences to our justice system of the appointment of Simmons which should NEVER have taken place on the basis of political partisanship and conflict alone, will be disappointed. You can twist and turn it how you like, but that opinion is solid law and will prevail.

So therefore, you who choose not to be amused, better develope a sense of humour. FAST!!!!!

30. @Sargeant
    Ditto, and I go further. ๐Ÿ™‚
    It is the main reason I left with joy and no regrets except when winter arrives, lol! Yet no amount of persecution from Bushtea for my decision will move me to return anytime soon. To this day I cannot understand why โ€œover-in-awayโ€ bajans does put up with people who clearly have little uses for them in Barbados. I left wunnuh at home bajans to be bought out by Trinidad, to be overrun by South Americans and be boxed into the interior of the island by Brits and other Europeans. We remain our own worst enemy.

31. @Jeff C
    When someone as you said ” betrays a misuse of the principles of statutory construction.” have they don a good or bad thing??

32. But, Amused, do you have to be CERTIFIED TO PRACTICE LAW FOR 15 YEARS or to have been PRACTICING law for 15 years?

33. The law can truly be an ads.

34. AH I still think that you and GP are men enough to put these sell out bastards in their place!!!!

35. Anonus
    The point the man is making is that he has not been disbarred or struck off the register to practice law in Barbados. Having been called to the bar in Barbados and having not been disbarred he is certified to practice. He only needs to pay his registration fees.

He has already done what is necessary to be eligible to practice law in Barbados. I cant speak with authority on the law with respect to CJ.

JC
    Its time that you install me in your place! Wow. You keeping me waiting to long. Time for you to bring me home. LOL

36. @Christopher Halsall | December 15, 2010 at 11:33 PM |

On reflection and looking back at Jack Spratt’s post. I agree with you. I agreed only with the part of his submission which said “Where did Gibson practice or teach law for a period of 15 years?”. I think that and the question of the framers intent was quite misleading in the article.

37. @Anonus | December 16, 2010 at 11:41 AM | In the eyes of the law, they are the same thing. I thought the writer of the legal opinion was very clear, and so was I when I concurred. Was I (and the jurist who wrote the opinion) not clear?

Let us take this highly amusing scenario to the next step.

In selecting a new CJ, the Prime Minister David Thompson (Q.C.) was required by law to consult with certain persons. Viz. the Attorney General (now PM) and the Leader of the Opposition, on behalf of the party in opposition (the BLP). This last was Mia Mottley (Q.C.) The meeting would have been minuted and a little bird has told me that all parties (Thompson, Stuart and Mottley) agreed the choice of Marston Gibson. At that time, Mia Mottley had the power to speak for her party and would have been required to discuss the appointment with members of her shadow cabinet. I would take a bet that that meeting was also minuted. She would then have conveyed the consent of her party to the Prime Minister and the Attorney General.

Since Miss Mottleyโ€™s entire background is law and the smooth administration of the justice system, why is it so hard to believe that she, a responsible Queens Council, would want to cure the almost mortal wounds inflicted on the justice system? I think we have to give her credit, not only for her style and class during recent reversals and her exemplary conduct, but also to admit that she is dedicated to the law and the justice system and to ensuring that Bajans of all walks of life have timely access to justice.

So, since the minutes of meetings allegedly show that both parties across the political divide agreed with Prime Minister Thompson, why all this manufactured issue?

Two possibilities.

First (and investigation on my part would tend to deny this) the BLP, now under a non-lawyer, wants to try to score political points. Except I am advised that the BLP has no problem with its earlier decision โ€“ my source is very good, so I have little option but to accept this. Which brings me to the second point.

At whose door must this whole exercise be put? My secondary investigation has certainly pointed me in a very distinct direction. However, absent solid proof, I leave that to the speculation of the BU family. Sorry about that. But the whole thing is a non-issue to start with and giving wing to the foetid frustrations and dreams of rewriting history to suit oneโ€™s agenda of certain parties really doesnโ€™t deserve the coverage this is getting. But there again, we are a democratic, self-governing country and everyone has the right to air their views โ€“ and that is the way it MUST BE. Just like we have the right to timely access to JUSTICE, which currently seems not to be working too well. We do well to protect both of these rights. So I will be more tolerant of idiots who are not amused by this tempest in a teapot in the future.

38. If amused understanding of the law is correct then the law is in a truly sad state. I would hope it isn’t.

39. Please let us not be asinine in our own arguments. The law makes a requirement that it be in a commonwealth jurisdiction; it includes aggregate years practicing in a commonwealth jurisdiction, therefore making the requirement one of familiarity and expertise in commonwealth law. As Chief Justice guiding other justices in charge of our judicial system you would want someone with competence in our brand of law.

Therefore just being admitted to the bar 15 or more years ago does not qualify, it requires practicing and practicing in a commonwealth jurisdiction. Based on this how does the gentlemen qualify?

If the writers logic follows why then hundreds of lawyers living here would qualify to be Chief Justice and in a time of economic hardship why should we should the expense of relocating someone here to be Chief Justice if the qualification is simply admitted to the bar at least 15 years ago.

40. @Amused (December 16, 2010 at 1:23 PM)…

Well said; well done!

@BAJAN TRUTH: “…why should we should [probably meant to say shoulder or incur] the expense of relocating someone here to be Chief Justice…

Perhaps because it is considered that this candidate is the most capable of getting the job which needs to be done done.

If I may make a tangential observation / argument…

In Canada anyone who enters the RCMP (the national police force), after their training, are not allowed to work in their home province for many years.

Why? To ensure that they have no bias towards anyone they may have grown up with.

I would argue having someone who’s been “away” for many years might be a net positive for a CJ who needs to do some things which might not be too popular to some currently in the local “system”….

41. @Bajan Truth

You do accept that often times off-CV qualities are factored in who eventually gets the job?

@Jeff

What is* the legal issue to which you referred earlier as you see it?

42. @ Jeff C. I am sorry boss, but I was only pulling your leg.

On a larger note, that is why when I was a student I stay far away from the humanities and the social “sciences” and left it up to the weaker mortals to battle it out. Yes sir, from the dismal science of Economics to the what I call ” semantical acrobatics” -otherwise called the Law , are too uncertain and fraught with “appealing to the emotion”.

I find more solace and predictability in Newton’s equations, Maxwell’s equation, Schrondinger equation, Modern Algebera , Bernoulli Principle and the Gas Laws etc. I am always amazed why the law and its draftsmen–even to this day- have always revelled in the use of shrouded language(from Latin to highfaultin words) that opens itself up to a plethora of interpretations. But worst, for most of us, who the law is written for …the language becomes indeciphable. Are lawyers –like other rent-seeking group- deliberately engaging in this type of sham to add prestige and mystique to their profession?

43. @Zion 1971
    Re Schrondinger equation a.ka the particle in the 3 dimensional box exhibiting vibrational movement, rotational movement and translational movement.

As undergraduates in Physical Chemistry way back in 1974, in order to grasp the intricacies of this equation with its interesting motion we likened the particle as unto the large backteria of a sexy female colleague and considered the oscillations of her backside that accompanied her ambulations to be the physical poetry that described the hitheretofore mentioned movements of the particle in the 3 dimensional box.

I teach my biochem students that the relevant chemistry might most easily be understood by having such a most vivid imagination- particularly when it comes to bonding.

44. @GP: “I teach my biochem students that the relevant chemistry might most easily be understood by having such a most vivid imagination- particularly when it comes to bonding.

Wrap your head around quantum uncertainty, and you’ll really get your rocks off.

(It’s why I became an agnostic, rather than an atheist. LOL…)

45. Dr. GP. You are one brilliant brother. Now as I think about it, why not apply for the CMO position. It is guys like you make me be proud to be Bajan.

46. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar

To all Ezra Alleyne is also a guru on Contract Law, his gown with all those holes speaks volumes.

47. Zion
    I thought that you dont like men that think in the abstract ! I got it . You live guys that into bovine effluent talking LOL.

But truly though, if you cant talk some BS you wont see that stuff. Best way to learn science is BS through it with a collegue of like BS mind. LOL

When I teach the fact that phosphorylation of glucose to glucose 6 P keeps the glucose from leaving the cell. I tell them Look I have this chick I like bad called lets say JC.

But all the boys like her and want to steal her from me, so I had to keep her at home (in the cell) by giving she a baby, now the fellas dont want she no more with that baby cause i PHOSPHORYLATE HER. I GAVE HER A P!
    Man they crack up.
    JC done wid me now too. LOL She dont phosphorylation. Murdah

48. Zion
    You have to show the student something that they can see man. Schrodinger was clearly not a Bajan. Particle in 3 d box my eye. Bajan would be Chemist understand a big botsy bouncing bout Bridgetown like a wind mill!
    Rename the equation the Zion-Halsall equation do!

49. @Georgie Porgie: “Rename the equation the Zion-Halsall equation do!

Equations are not renamed.

But let me please present an algorithm in sudocode which you might resonate with:

if (ThingsAreInteresting()) {
    ExpectLotsOfNoise();
    }

50. @ CH. Now, as Einsten said “God not play dice with the universe”.Up until this day I cannot wrap my head around quantum theory. Its just too probablistic for me and quanum entangement is just too unrealistic a the macro level. And when you add the singularity concept to that …. that stuff will make you end up like John Nash or Georg Cantor.