CEO Senator Santia Bradshaw of Pyramid and Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East (santiabradshaw.com)

Sometimes the most optimistic person in this world is forced to hang their heads and cry shame. Listen to the audio of one of the most popular artists in Barbados. Although recently fired by Voice of Barbados (VOB) he had no difficulty getting back on the airwaves compliments of SLAM 101.1. He is everywhere, on the ZRs, in the dancehalls, the calypso tents, on facebook, dub fetes, he is ubiquitous. He has a loyal fan club mainly comprised of our young minds.

What does he have going for him? He is a member of the Pyramid stable of artists managed by budding politician Senator Santia Bradshaw.

BU family you be the judge. Is he entitled to unbridled freedom of expression under the cloak of freedom of expression? How should we view the role of CEO Senator Santia Bradshaw of Pyramid and Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East in this matter. Do we have a case of an artist corrupting public morals?

What can we say? What are we to do?

PLEASE NOTE THE AUDIO CONTAINS OFFENSIVE LANGUAGE AND SHOULD NOT BE LISTENED TO IN THE PRESENCE OF MINORS.

1. @Random Thoughts …..Exactly and there are a couple older kaisos just as outrageous. There’s also a hilarious one by Lord Blakie called Chinese Accident…..and Sparrow’s notorious Salt Fish.

The smut in ole time kaiso is just different to the explicit lyrics in music today.

2. Random Thoughts Avatar

“All saltfish sweet”

And the wsinger was NOT talking about cod here.

He was singing about the pleasure of unwashed vaginas.

As did the great Napoleon who on his way home from a military campaign sent ahead a message “don’t wash Josephine. I am coming home”

And the great English writer Chaucer put these words in the mouth of the Wife of Bath, and remember the woman had already been “married” 5 times and was on the lookout for number 6

” I will use my instrument [pokey] as freely as my Maker has sent it. If I am unaccommodating to my husband, may God give me sorrow. My husband shall have it [pokey] both evening and morning”

And I was taught this play in school in 1950’s Barbados.

3. Random Thoughts Avatar

Sorry it was the Congoman who had never had a white meat yet.

See the imagery a man from the heart of darkest Africa, relishing the though of cunnilingus with a white woman.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

This is Benwood Dick, standing under the window (like a lovesick Romeo) and pleading with the little brother of the woman of his desire:

“Tell ya sister to cum down here, I got something fa she. Tell she it is it Mr. Benwood Dick, the man from Sande Grande, she know me well…she must remember me now, go on , go on, tell she Mr. Benwood cum”

5. Random Thoughts Avatar

And of course everyone remembers the song about the parrot and the dumboy and of course since no song is good without its naughty woman (the wife who was driving some horns in she husband)

Between the parrot and the dumboy the cat (hee!!, hee!!, hee!!) was almost let out of the bag, and the parrot (foolish bird) ended up being served for dinner to the cuckolded husband.

6. @ Random Thoughts
    You seem to have forgotten some pf the lyrics to “Ben(d)wood Dick”.
    If I remember it was something like “ah gih she awready, go on, go on tell she Mr. Ben(d)wood cum.” And I was only a young lad when that first played on the airwaves. ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Might Sparrow does be all up in dat kinda ting oui ….

8. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Hood:

Pleae forgive me for my senior moment and thank for reminding me of the lyrics.

In the good old days we were instructed not to sing banja on Sundays, but ee did, and we ain’t in jail yet, nor have we been struck dead.

9. Another Classic Lord Kitchener – My Pussin

10. @ J LG

You and RT have me here laughing my head off. Yeah, My Pussin (Mr. tek off yuh han from she, doan touch my pussin atall!) was another fantastic double entendre. Don’t let us forget the master one called “The Lizard” , Mighty S again!

11. Random Thoughts Avatar

“De lizard run up she leg and it disappeared everybody was searching everwhere, where de lizard teacher Mildred?”

12. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting myself “the parrot and the dumboy the cat (hee!!, hee!!, hee!!) was almost let out of the bag”

Maybe I shouild have said the “pussy” was almost let out of the bag

13. LOL!

14. @ GP

Doc, wey yuh gorn wid all dis “poetry” flowing ’bout hey. Fuhget JC an’ all DEM things an’ leh we hear yuh wid some uh de classic kaiso, nah man, eh, eh!

15. Random Thoughts Avatar

And quoting the Song of Solomon “I found him whom my soul loveth, I held him and would not let him go, until I had brought him into my mother’s house and into the bedroom of she that conceived me…thy two breasts are like two young roes that are twins…thy lips o my spouse drop as the honeycomb, honey and milk are under thy tongue, and the smell of thy garments is like the smell of Lebanon… I would lead thee and bring thee into my mother’s house, who would instruct me. I would cause thee to drink of spiced wine of the juice of my pomegranate”

Maybe Dr. Georgie Porgie who knows more Bible and more physiology that I do can interpret this one for us.

Particularly I’d like Dr. GP to tell me what is the “juice of my pomegranate”

16. “my brudda was hungry, hungry, hungry”

17. @ RT
    Man wuh you trying tuh do wid ol GP? Yuh trying tuh cornfuse he or wuh? De doc musse dun snuggling up wid a JC oopps ah really was meaning tuh say Ju-C! ๐Ÿ™‚

18. Random Thoughts
    Give me the reference and I will check it for you
    I have not mastered what is called thec”sapiental litterature” portion.

De Hood
    I was listening to Kings College Choir today singing Gabriel’s Message. IN this Basque carol part of the chorus goes like this ” most highly FAVOURED lady.”

We had a tied tongue tenor in the choir at Ch Ch Parish choir in my day who sang ” most highly FLAVOURED lady.”

What you think? You think JC is highly favoured, highly fLavored or both? MURDAH!

Havent had a JuC for ages man. Nor a JC. wUH LOSS!

19. @ GP

I thought that would get a “rise” out of you. ๐Ÿ™‚

20. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

I have noticed that whenever your morality alarm goes off, it is always one segment of this society that you accuse. Are you not aware of any other threats to public morality in this 2×3 country?

Are you aware of any strip clubs in Barbados does Lil Rick own any?
    What about those exotic massage parlours, Peter Ram own all of them, right?
    You aware that bush selling up Bush Hill and that people does lurk in dimly lit areas near to Central and the police do not find that suspicious, but if you try that anywhere else in town, yuh ass is grass?
    Why have you not complained about the amount of gambling that take place in this country?

Corrupting public morals my ass, who died and made you protector of public morals? I feel dat you is a hypocrite but I ain’t gine call you so.

21. The justification you guys are making here explains the problem we find ourselves. It is like comparing a sportsman from an earlier era to the present. The circumstances are entirely different.

22. @I. R. Nottobright

BU condemns them all.

23. I. R. Nottobright | January 4, 2011 at 11:24 PM
    You claimed:- “You aware that bush selling up Bush Hill. . . . ”
    You quite sure dem all got on “bush”?? ๐Ÿ™‚

24. @ David

But Dave, man, you think all this is something new? You do not read the scriptures or what? It is all there, Dave, for all to see and know for themselves. Signs and wonders, my friend. Go take a read.
    There is nothing new under the sun, David. Just different folk with different strokes in different times. Follow de I-man?

25. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

@de hood
    I ain’t pass up dey recently, but if dey ain’t got nuh more bush, den de name want changing.
    I will have to take a closer look the next time I pass, things tight right now. ๐Ÿ™

26. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Was he not a promoter of Family First concept as well? Who were the ones who were bringing in Vibes and Movado? Were they not sponsored or associated with Family First. Are they not accused of corrupting public morals and promoting violence?
    Did you condemn the late PM like you are condemning Ms. Bradshaw for being the attorney for Clico when they were breaching the financial rules?
    Just asking?

27. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

David | January 4, 2011 at 11:26 PM |

@I. R. Nottobright

BU condemns them all.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then I hope we will soon see a blog about how every two weeks the Lotto people announce a new game and the church people keep silent, but if the word casino is whispered, they are all over the place like flies on carrion?
    Take a look at the people waiting to hand over their money, the next time you pass a gas station and tell me we do not have a serious problem with gambling in this country.

What about CBC deciding to show Days Of Our Lives for five hours every Saturday, do you agree that that show is not in the public’s best interest and should be banned? ๐Ÿ˜‰

28. Fair and Balance

BU is on record of telling movado and kartel to get lost!

We have to start speaking with a clear and consistent voice on morality issues. It will not be perfect but we we have to try. If we don’t there are examples of what the end result will bring.

29. @I. R. Nottobright: “Then I hope we will soon see a blog about how every two weeks the Lotto people announce a new game and the church people keep silent, but if the word casino is whispered, they are all over the place like flies on carrion?

Ah… The Tax on the Stupid.

Sorry…

The Tax on those who are bad at Math….

30. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

@Christopher Halsall | January 5, 2011 at 12:47 AM |

Math? What math are you talking about?
    Oh you mean the multiplier ball ๐Ÿ™‚

It is, or should be, the duty of those that can add to help those that cannot.

Why would the shepherds stand idly by as the wolves devour the flock?

31. @I. R. Nottobright | January 5, 2011 at 1:49 AM: “Why would the shepherds stand idly by as the wolves devour the flock?

That’s a very serious question (which I often think about, but) to which I cannot speak about (because I do not know).

32. All is morality, but Sparrow didnt promote rape or slaughter like a lot of these dub singers. So Random Thoughts and Janine dont get tie up. I could bet wunnah live in the heights and terraces and don’t have to put up with this loud voilent music, de lotta weed and foolish gun shots outside the window every night like some othe Bajans.

33. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Dr. Georgie Porgie:

The quote is from the Song of Solomon. King James version. I used that one because this year is the 400th anniversary of the King James version. I did not think that I would have to quote you chapter and verse. The Song of Solomon is of course a very short book, so I am sure that you will be able to respond today.

34. This is a disgusting song, if you can actually call it that. Clearly it is designed to appeal to a sub-class or sub-classes of average, good minded and God fearing Barbadians.
    Nastiness from beginning to end……..filth. God help Barbados if the youth or whomsoever find this entertaining.

35. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear David:

I hope that when you say that you condemn them all that you are not condemning the Bible and Chaucer etc. And did you read or see on stage Austin “Tom” Clarke’s “The polished hoe” No it is not about a whore (ho). IT IS A ABOUT A WOMAN WHO CUT OFF MASSA’S HEAD WID SHE WELL SHARPENED HOE BECAUSE SHE WAS SICK AND TIRED OF HIS SEXUAL VIOLATIONS ON HER FAMILY. THE BOOK AND THE PLAY CONTAIN PLENTY OF SEX AND VIOLENCE.

Art David is often a reflection of real ife.

And life is messy David.

As as our children grow we have to teach them to negotiate the messiness.

We cannot keep them in the house for ever, neither can we expect the state to take the role of good fathers and good mothers.

Its our job David.

We have to do our jobs.

36. Random Thoughts Avatar

And the business of the rum merchants David. I put it to you that more “moral” problems are caused by excessive rum drinking in Barbados than by anything else.

37. Random Thoughts Avatar

And the fried grease and sweet drink merchants who are driving the obesity epidemic.

38. @ Random Thoughts

You are a BIG dummy if you think that crap is art. News flash, that is not art, that is FILTH pure and simple.

39. @ Random Thoughts

Who are the fried grease and sweet drink merchants??

40. This clown Random Thoughts posting nuff, but aint saying much. More mad out than in for true.
    David, the strategy is to distract from the main issue. People encourgaing Bajan yutes to kill one another and other people like RT cheering them on. We takling about our own young men, human beings, not aliens, not animals. RT you better keep them ramblin thoughts to yourself cause you’re really sick in you head.

41. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Cupcake:

Please respond to me AFTER you have READ “The Polished Hoe”

And while you are in the library (you know where to find a library right?) read a little Bible, and a little Chaucer, and a little Shakespere and thing.

I take it that you can read?

42. @ RT
    Man, if I did not know better I would think that when I read some of your comments that I am really reading de Doc’s words! You sounding more and more like him. ๐Ÿ™‚

43. Random Thoughts Avatar

Last post on this subject

WE ARE REAL, REAL, FOOLISH IF WE EXPECT THE STATE TO TAKE THE PLACE OF GOOD FATHERS AND GOOD MOTHERS.

1. To improve public morals we must all become good fathers and good mothers.

2. Excessive alcohol drinking is the leading cause of bad public morals in Barbados (but wait aren’t those the same guys who fund political campaigns?)

3. Followed closely by use of illegal drugs and by use of tobacco (but wait aren’t those the same guys who fund political campaigns)

So we are afraid to touch the merchants of our destruction those who obscenely profit from the sales of alcohol, tobacco, illegal drugs etc. but we pick on Lil Rick and on Santia?

Reason with me if you can.

If a father (or mother) will not stop smoking (or drinking) and dies early and leaves his (or her) childen fatherless (or motherles), doesn’t that leave his (or her) children exposed to exploitation by those who in every society seek to exploit fatherless (and motherless) children.

And some of those same people also seek to exploit widows.

No wonder the Bible warns many, many times about those who exploit widows and orphans (back me up here Dr. GP)

Don’t you all agree with me that parents have a DUTY to keep himself (or herself) in good health?

44. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear de hood:

Truthfully I’ve never met the doctor and have no idea who he is.

Unlike the good doc, I didn’t have the brains (or whatever) for Harsun.

45. I ride the vans and minibuses and listen to Lil Rickโ€™s โ€œmessageโ€ โ€“ it is one of hyping up himself to the masses โ€“ to make himself appear like the โ€œgetto yuteโ€. (whatever that isโ€ฆ).

I see no shanty towns, barrios or favelas hereโ€ฆ and we all have access to food, water and education.

What I can say is that this music is popular in the sub culture of the youth today and that is not going away easily. This has been a phenomena stretching back as far as the early 90โ€ฒs with the boomerangs, rock-de-cradle and milkshake. It is listened to by little children going to and from school, by the elderly and middle agedโ€ฆ Few have the guts to get up and say something to the conductor /driver for fear of retribution.

I remember the government (BLP at the time) made the PSV operators wear maroon uniforms with badges, confiscated their over sized speaker systems and made them โ€œsaferโ€. Could it be that this move was so unpopular with the owners of these vehicles (public officials included), that pressure was brought to bear on this program to make it collapse?

The only way to lessen the spread of such hateful music is to hit the profit centres where it thrives. Use the existing laws to crack down on places that play those lyrics, such as the clubs, fetes and PSVs. Especially the DJโ€™s that promote the violence, gangsta life and degradation of women.

46. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting iWatchya “I see no shanty towns, barrios or favelas hereโ€ฆ and we all have access to food, water and education.”

And health care.

AND we all have COMPLETE AND FREE access to religious instruction.

Every hour of every day churches and other places of worship are open and ready to receive even the most grevious sinners.

Do we cherish this constitutional freedom of worship?

Do we even understand what it means?

Do we understand that this freedom is NOT available in many places in the world?

47. RANDOM THOUGHTS

RE Song of Solomon 8:2 King James Bible
    I would lead thee, and bring thee into my mother’s house, who would instruct me: I would cause thee to drink of spiced wine of the juice of my pomegranate.
    ========================
    In this verse the Shulamite woman is saying that she would bring Solomon into her mother’s house. Her mother would teach her how to conduct herself towards him.

The Shulamite knew how much she yet came short of being to him all that a wife should be. But in Jerusalem the bustle of court life and the burden of his regal duties did not permit him to devote himself to her; but in her mother’s house, if he were once there, he would instruct her, and she would requite him with her spiced wine and with the juice of the pomegranates.

Spiced wine was wine rendered peculiarly strong and invigorating. The bride and bridegroom on the wedding day both drank out of the same cup, to show that they were to enjoy and equally bear together the comforts and adversities of life. The Slumite was going to give Solomon spiced wine to drink made from the juice of pomegranates, instead of grapes.

Spiced wine was much used by the ancients, and in the eastern countries: so Phoenician wine, or wine of Byblis, is said to be odoriferous; so the wine of Lebanon, Hosea 14:7; the Babylonians had a wine they called nectar: spiced wine was thought less inebriating, and therefore the ancients sometimes put into their wine myrrh and calamus, and other spices sometimes it was a mixture of old wine, water, and balsam; and of wine, honey, and pepper . Now these sorts of wine were thought to be the best and most agreeable.

Some ancient writers suggest that pomegranates were a symbol of concord and said that : the pomegranate was a tree of Venus.

So Hoodie, I got to get some spiced up pomegranate wine from my JC! When you miss me from BU you know tht I somewhere drinking JC’s pomegrante spiced up wine. Murdah.I not sharring a drop wid a soul!

48. How STUPID do you have to be?

Just how dull do you have to be? In a country thatโ€™s a NET EXPORTER of human beings, just how stupid do you have to be to worry about some dullard with a dull song while youโ€™ve made an editorial decision to publish the opinions of racist shitbrains who think that a Canadian tourist murdered on a Barbadian beach is โ€œwhite trashโ€?

Are you out of your minds, you tiresome little people? Who educated you? How much moral imagination do you have, you pricks?

49. @ GP
    Ok Doc, man I wish you well, at my stage it would not matter what kind of wine JC or anyone else might offer. I gine ha tuh stick wid my lowly Ju-C. According to you, it is murrrdah!

BTW, it seems as if Bonny has gone AWOL. She and ROK mussee link up eventually. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wuhlosses!

50. @Andy

Suffice it to say you know very little of my background. I would never buy a Lil Rick CD because in spite of my youth I cannot stand a lot of modern over produced music that is so lacking in musical imagination. I agree with David that Times were different in Sparrow and Lord Kitchener’s hey day, the society was different but we’re trying to bolt the stable door after the horse has already bolted.

Resorting to violence and coarse behaviour to release your frustration shows a mind that believes it has no options – specifically no economic/financial options. In a time where we all wanna keep up with the Joneses are we really surprised that people who see themselves as marginalized will do whatever it takes to get a piece of the pie?

Do you know that the biggest audience for gangsta rap in the States are suburban white kids who go on to be doctors/lawyers/investment bankers while black kids listening to the same garbage kill themselves in the street? Still wanna blame Lil Rick and ‘artists’ of his ilk?