CEO Senator Santia Bradshaw of Pyramid and Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East (santiabradshaw.com)

Sometimes the most optimistic person in this world is forced to hang their heads and cry shame. Listen to the audio of one of the most popular artists in Barbados. Although recently fired by Voice of Barbados (VOB) he had no difficulty getting back on the airwaves compliments of SLAM 101.1. He is everywhere, on the ZRs, in the dancehalls, the calypso tents, on facebook, dub fetes, he is ubiquitous. He has a loyal fan club mainly comprised of our young minds.

What does he have going for him? He is a member of the Pyramid stable of artists managed by budding politician Senator Santia Bradshaw.

BU family you be the judge. Is he entitled to unbridled freedom of expression under the cloak of freedom of expression? How should we view the role of CEO Senator Santia Bradshaw of Pyramid and Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East in this matter. Do we have a case of an artist corrupting public morals?

What can we say? What are we to do?

PLEASE NOTE THE AUDIO CONTAINS OFFENSIVE LANGUAGE AND SHOULD NOT BE LISTENED TO IN THE PRESENCE OF MINORS.

1. “Is he entitled to unbridled freedom of expression under the cloak of freedom of expression?”

Yes, he is. Next!

Moving along …

2. Random Thoughts Avatar

Yes he is,

3. @David,
    Seems to me the Attorney General, the Police and the Lawyers will have to deal with the content of the song.

The lyrics are vile and disgusting but like the rappers from the Ghetto he may be singing about his personal life experience.

You reap what you sow.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

Don’t you DLP thugs have anything better to do than harrass Santia?

Many of us who have been around long can call our immoral DLPites.

You want us to do that?

Wasn’t Errol Barrow a bigable adulterer? Long after he was dead his wife told me so herself.

Wasn’t Cammie Tudor a buller?

Didn’t Joe Payne promiscous as hell and didn’t he die of AIDS?

Wasn’t Theodore Branker a buller?

Isn’t former DLP MP Dr. What’s his name a buller? and hasn’t he lived with woman’s bisexual husband for nigh on 40 years?

You want me to call out some of the current crop?

Or will you leave Santia alone?

5. Interesting subject David. I notice you don’t openly offer much of an opinion yourself. I think you will be shocked at some of the responses you get on this.
    I myself have no comment except to say that in recent years when Bajans were busy counting their money, trumpetting fancy statistics and patting themselves on the back, squabbling over Bees vs Dems, politicians’ personal business, juicy political gossip and such, the REAL issues like this went unnoticed and now it may be too late to save ourselves.

Honestly and sincerely,
    VERITY

6. Random Thoughts Avatar

Who set this DLP operative to be a ruler and judge over the morals of Barbadians?

Tell this idiot that we Bajans know how to raise our children and that we need no moral help from DLP operatives a good number of whom don’t even know where their 6 year old daughters sleep at night or which serial “stepfather” is feeling them up today.

7. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

A gentleman must sometimes comment appropriately..

You really think de fellas reading this thinking about morals, seeing that nice pic of the lady on the title?

Lawdy hooziemama! ”budding politician ”.

And ‘budding’ very nicely too. I done going vote for she. Think I could vote for Hams when I got she tuh vote for?!

An I I din have a next half, I would surely be looking forward to the elexshun visit.

8. Before we get sidetracked, the lyrics of the song are vile and disgusting.

Santia Bradshaw may not even have heard the song so it is unfair to blame her without proof that she approved this song .

The peformer is one of the most energetic and dynamic performers in Barbados.Pyramid was right to have him in their “stable”.

If he did not sing smut he would be marketable outside of Barbados.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Birds of a feather flock together.

The Barbados Labour Party is a corrupt party and she is a proud member, and the individual is a corrupter of public morals.

Expect anything from members of the Barbados Labour Party.

And delete Random Thoughts post, it is deprave just like the Barbados Labpour Party.

10. Personally, I am not thrilled about the lyrical content of the song, but the adults of Barbados have to first take responsibility for most of the corrupt morals that are being outwardly displayed by “entertainers” & accepted by wide variety of out youth.
    While our fore fathers kept their immoral behavior under lock & key & behind closed doors, we later came to learn that we “cannot hide at night & wuck ground”. Our young people are crying out for guidance & stability. Many of these kids come from stable homes, with hard working parents, but are impressionable in their adolescent stage. They become defiant & display deviant behaviors towards the older generation.
    Most grow out of this & parents chalk it up as a “phase” the kids were going through, but in the mean time assisted & supported their kids by not challenging their behaviors, talking down to them, & attempting impose house arrest until age 40. Parents who show support, love & gentle guidance to their kids, succeed in helping them through & securing their future as responsible adults, with acceptable morals.
    If politicians continue to slag each other off in public, parents leave the rearing of their kids to the schools, PSV staff, computer games & television, we would have done nothing to lay a firm foundation. We need to deal with ourselves & our parenting skills first, before we can deal with & sort out the Peter Rams & Lil Ricks of the Society. You knock them off of the airwaves, kick them out of the clubs & your kids will still find a way to follow them & WILL be more determined to do so. In your attempts to put them in disrepute, ridicule & silence them, for every Rick & Ram you delete, there will be 6 more to replace them.

11. Sad Days In Barbados Avatar
    Sad Days In Barbados

The US now has Barbados listed as and unpredictable Country, everyone is doing as they please law enforcement has no control of the people, the two TOP Cop’s fighting among each other, To much guns, drugs, bribes and payoff.

12. Why do we care so much about what the US thinks?
    Why do we follow the US?
    Man the level and type of crime that exists in US towns smaller Barbados is mind boggling.
    Everything that you list above is seen here at a much higher percentage What US thinks what?

13. @Verity

If you are new to BU please feel free to read our blogs under ‘category’ morality.

14. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Eric Chase. Eric Chase said: Fighting The Fight Against The Corruption Of Public Morals |: Eurozone manufacturing improves markedly January 3… http://bit.ly/dNH40J […]

15. Nijinsky was a Russian Ballet dancer who was so into his dance that he would masturbate during the throes of his dance.Sadly he went insane and was reportedly found dead in an aslyum psychiatric ward.Was it society who was to blame for his death?I am led to think so.All the negative shit along with the identity crisis!
    I have no problem with Lil Ric or his music.He has managed to remain at the top of his game and nothing that anyone does can remove the impression which he leaves on his supporters minds. The youth luike what they hear and parents sadly are caught between a rock and a hard place since;This is the culture which their children love.The kids who don’t, do so by choice! Wallah!
    Girls had already gone wild by the time Lil Ric brought out that song which caused most barbadians to go balistic especially when they saw the gyrations of the girls.The public kept even more noise
    since the girls wore the colours of the barbados flag!! Fly it do!!
    A wuck up is a wuck up!lying down or sitting up! What is wrong with society? The man is making money legit and fire or no fire, some wavelines are the poorer for it! I guess we are forgetting Rhianna for now eh?
    Music like poetry takes good imagination the writer either projects the image as it unfolds to him or her or he simply pens as is -Raw !
    Lady Saw,Beenie man,Mr.Vegas,Mackadiamond all spout filth but it makes $$$$$$.Bottom line.
    Senator Santia Bradshaw, has NO OPOLOGIES to make to anyone for managing Lil Ric. someone has to!!She is a lawyer who well represents the music fraternity.She has balls! oops! not literally!
    Can you imagin any old timers keeping up withthe yuts today.At least she has a chance to ably represent Barbadians at the polls.
    So who is bulling who or who has bulled who or who is wicking who or who has wicked who has nothing to do with the price of eggs. What was is and evermore shall be!More power to gay pride!Yeah!
    and Trans too.Does not anyone get it? One life to live-Your choice
    Bajans have good values and guess what! You can take a cow to the water but……ya cannot make it drink!People too bad mind!Vote fa Santia do!! no matter if she represent din ding!I voting for Tom Adams now dead as he is!One Body and One mind! We foot!!!
    Jah boy…Lox it up!

16. It seems to me that this is a disgraceful attemp to slam the politician and not the artist!

Why not be honest and tell it like it is?????

Be a man!!!!!

17. @noname

The blog was meant to slam both. In any event do you see a problem?

18. I don’t understand the reference to Santia either. Would any of us refuse to manage Lil Ric? This is a poor political innuendo…perhaps to contrast her with the much plainer Mara?

19. Are you saying that Santia should not be part of this conversation? As a society we would not want hold an aspirant to the highest court in the country responsible for backing smut? Bear in mind it remains a big problem in our schools.

20. Stupse !

21. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear David:

How or when or why is a lawyer responsible for the behaviour of his clients?

Did David Thompson ever defend anyone accused of criminal behaviour?

Were any of hisMr. THhmpson’s clients ever convicted of any criminal behaviour?

Were any of them ever imprisoned?

Was Mr. Thompson responsible for his client’s behaviour?

Are there any other lawyers/MP’s/Prime Ministers who have defended criminals?

Did Grantley Adams ever defend a murderer?

Did Tom Adams ever defend a murderer?

Did Bree St. John ever defend a murderer?

Were or are these other lawyers responsible for thier clients criminal behaviour?

Whatever you say about Lil Rick he is NOT a criminal. He is NOT a murderer.

Lil Rick has not been convicted of ANYTHING.

I am sure that if you do your research you will find that MANY lawyer MP’s/Prime Ministers have defended people who were accused of and CONVICTED of MURDER.

22. To my knowledge this song was never released to the public and was done for an individual in Jamacia and then leaked via internet. Barbados Undrground is now responsible for the release of this track so that children can go on their blog and hear it. Its so sad to see how far badmind people would go to tarnish other people. What whoever is rsponsible for posting the song need to do is look at them selves,listen to the song and then follow instructions.

23. I am no fan of the artiste but um, didn’t we hear the current PM chanting the lyrics of this same artiste at his DLP conference: “guh down guh down…” etc, to loud applause from those in attendance?

24. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear David:

The best way to ensure that children turn out well is for the children to have plenty of access to both parents.

Children are best raised not by the school, the church, the community, or by Lil Rick.

We fool ourselves (but we do NOT fool our children if we think so)

Children are best raised by their parents.

You are a big supporter of the recently widowed Mara running in St. John.

Evern though one of her daughters is an adult the other is a mere teenager and the youngest little more than a baby.

I am a full supporter of women participating fully in the life of their communities. But I am also a full supporter of acting in the best interest of the child.

And yes David sometime there will be a conflict. And if there is a conflict I am fully infavour of resolving it in the best interest of the young child.

But honestly now David. Is it in the best interest of the Thompson’s youngest child to have lost her father and to have her mother distracted by the political life.

Honestly now David. Try looking at this matter not through foolish rose tinted political shades, but through the eyes of a young child who has just lost her father and whose mother if elected and if she is to do a good job as an MP will have too little time for that youngest child.

David maybe all of us have to become as this little child and then to experience what she is experiencing.

Because it is not as though the DLP could not find another candidate for St. John.

Honestly David do you feel comfortable knowing that this child’s father has been taken, and now her mother will be taken too.

Would you love that for yourself David? If you were 10 years old?

EXCEPT WE BECOME AS A LITTLE CHILD WE CANNOT ENTER THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN.

25. i would like to make a comment as I really am not too enthused with the lil rick, if that’s him but I cannot for the life of me understand the words as u all seem to do. i decrease the volume, i increase it etc, i cannot understand what he is saying-therefore i can offer no comment

26. Sad Days In Barbados Avatar
    Sad Days In Barbados

Georgie Porgie,

You can keep that attitude of yours up am just say that someone is watching us and what is going on in our country our elected officials will never tell us the people what is going on around us in our own Barbados so am glad that am in a position to get and see certain info that I can share with my fellow Barbadians.

Jamaican, Guyana, Trinidad etc. are all barricading them self’s in they homes and I can bet you Georgie Porgie all the money in the world that with in the next 15 years or less we in Barbados will be doing the same if the authorities do not act now an take back control of this country.

27. David kindly allows whosoever has a PC and access to the internet to post their pithy pissy puerile pedestrian posts on BU.
    Unfortunately, however, he has no control of thier intelligence or comprehension as exhibited by the post above, where we see the work of an incoherent illiterate moron in full flight!

The main point of my earlier post is that the USA IS IN NO MORAL POSITION TO WATCH BARBADOS AS THEIR CRIME RATE IS HIGHER THAN OURS AND EVEN IN VERY SMALL TOWNS, SMALLER THAN BARBADOS.

INSTEAD OF LOOKING TO THE USA FOR EXAMPLE WE CAN EASILY LOOK BACK TOWARDS THE PRINCIPLES TO WHICH WE ADHERED IN THE PAST!

I am quite aware that GOD IS WATCHING US. I could care too hoots about the immoral and very corrupt USA.

Now read my post again, and see if you can enroll in the O level Institute and recieve some instruction in English comprehension, and basic English language skills. You are woefully lacking.

28. How de youths get so? Avatar
    How de youths get so?

I think she also manages Peter Ram too, the one that has the disgusting pat and crank video. I’m not accusing her of anything. But she really needs use her skills to try and uplift these talented but misguided young men, not encourage them in foolishness just so she and them can make money. It hurts my heart as a product of the because Lil ric is actually quite talented, but he obviously needs guidance and needs to act more responsibly because its so easy to destroy your future without realising it Don’t throw your success away carelessly Rick nuff people would love to see you destroy yurself including some who smile up in your face everyday. Guidance.

29. Should do nothing and follow a predictable path which Jamaica, T&T and others are blazing a trail?

Do we fight the decline to win the minds of our young people?

Agree with GP, we are small but we can lead the world here.

30. Lil Rick has not changed, he was the same way when he sang the DLP’s last campaign song. Is it fair then to say that the person(s) who hired him are no better than Santia? Was it the late PM or his Kingmaker?

31. We seem to have a need to encapsulate politics in everything.
    But there was a time when boys solved disputes with talk- threats- and maybe a little fighting. BUT CERTAINLY NOT WITH GUNS.

And whereas we dont any longer frown on “took music” and other indigenous rhythms, there is definitely no reason at all to accept smut in lieu of proper lyrics.

I love to listen to the Tradewinds and other Carribean songsters of the 50’s 60″ etc. Some of theres artistes are still going, and there are still a joy to hear AND WITH OUT THE UNNECESSARY SMUT.

tHIS IS NOT AN ISSUE TO POLITICIZE.

32. We like to politicize everything.

The writing is on the hall.

We need to exercise some options, time is running out.

33. Enuff, everything must be partisan politics for you>

The DLP campaign song Lil Rick sang was not smut. So he was not contracted by the DLP to sing smut.

Whoever manages and advises Lil Rick on a day to day basis? Check with them about how he is developing as an artise.

I agree with the post above that the artistes needs proper guidance, because everybody in whatever career needs good guidnace and the right influences. Doctor, lawyer, banker, everybody. Otherwise they can lose their way. I will stick my neck out that deep down fellas like Lil Rick is a good hearted person.
    We dont have to politicize everything.

34. @ loyal subject

“How should we view the role of CEO Santia Bradshaw of Pyramid and Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East in this matter.”

The above is an extract from the lead article, which reeks of politics. I therefore could not have politicised a situation that was already political.
    Of course the campaign song was not smut, but Lil Rick’s ‘smut’ appeals to a particular demographic whose votes the Dems targeted. To use Lil Rick to do your campaign song just to get votes, knowing his Guinness Rush Hour persona, is no different to Santia being his manager. That was the point I was trying to make NOT to politicised the issue as you screamed.
    Then again you are a loyal subject, so I am not surprise that you lack the basic comprehension skills GP referred to earlier.

35. People keep saying we need to stop this and that before it jeopardizes our youth, what you really want is censorship right? Young people will get their hands on information earlier than adults realise, are far more savvy than adults realise and should be given more credit.

This is really a classic debate over art projecting or art reflecting culture, and I would hasten to lean to the latter. Aside from the fact that every era has had its ‘misguided’ youth listening to music considered outrageously sexual and suggestive – Rock N Roll in the 50’s anyone? Not all of it was clean, nice lets rock around the clock stuff. Quite a lot of it – particularly artists most strongly influenced by the blues, the mother of Rock N Roll, was quite sexual in content. And there was a charm even to SMUT in ole time Kaiso. We even see smut in Kaiso now as an art because it took some clever linguistic talent to say shocking things in a poetic and witty way – in fact the effect was always more shocking than if spoken plainly.

The big difference now is that things don’t shock us anymore. In our materialistic society everything and anything has become publicized to the point where nothing is taboo. I’ll always remember the first time I saw Britney Spears… just 16 years old,,, doing her stripper routine in her first video. It was outrageous but people got past the shock, because it was sexy and she had a banging body and that’s what sells albums. The fact that such a girl would be making pole dancing so popular.. you had girls 11 and 12 years old – abetted by their parents – dressing up like Britney Spears and adopting her mannerisms in her videos, it was ridiculous. Even in the fashion industry the sexualization of young people was happening early in the 90’s…But Stuff got sold because we’re so nonchalant in our wealth and so MODERN … so what’s the big deal right? I’m rambling …. but getting rid of these artists and censoring them isn’t going to stop the deluge of filth and it’s not why Jamaica and Trinidad are in the mess they’re in.. but that’s for another discussion…

And the reason some young man/woman decides to follow the stupidity some artists sings in a ditty has nothing to do with the song but their own susceptibility and weakness.

36. Now i just listened to it and the man said who don’t like what he say to f off i aint vex all who don’t like don’t listen
    But i am glad that wunna people could sit down and study that right now i hey studying that my fridge want tings i want EMPLOYMENT and i aint got none so how about find a campaign to shut down the vat and the other corrupt things that going on lil rick is the least of the problem
    FIND PEOPLE WORK FIND PEOPLE FOOD JOHNNIES LIKE WUNNA

37. use her skills bsh*t i am not a fan of hers but since when you can tell an attorney not to represent a client wunna does be serious before wunna type this shit this is my second comment ever and i seriously cant believe this
    Correct I never heard this song yet until the people that want to tarnish d people study it..i sorry dis forum aint live like msn or hotmail cause wunna want b linding man

38. A BU source has confirmed this song is known in Barbados.

39. @Enuff

The Senator is a budding politician and has the opportunity to be part of a law making body. This is the context for our description.

The following definition of public morals may help to guide the discussion:

Public morality

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia     This article does not cite any references or sources.

"Public morals" redirects here. For the television series, see Public Morals (TV series).

Public morality refers to moral and ethical standards enforced in a society, by law or police work or social pressure, and applied to public life, to the content of the media, and to conduct in public places. A famous remark of Mrs Patrick Campbell, that she did not care what people did as long as they "didn’t frighten the horses" shows that in some sense even high tolerance expects a public limitation on behaviour (sexual conduct is implied here). At the opposite extreme a theocracy may equate public morality with religious instruction, and give both the equal force of law.

Public morality often means regulation of sexual matters, including prostitution and homosexuality, but also matters of dress and nudity, pornography, acceptability in social terms of cohabitation before marriage, and the protection of children. It is a main justification for censorship; it can lead to campaigns against profanity, and so be at odds with freedom of speech. Gambling is generally controlled: casinos have been considered much more of a threat than large-scale lotteries or football pools. Public drunkenness is quite unacceptable in some societies, and legal control of consumption of alcohol is often justified in terms of public morality, just as much as for medical reasons or to limit alcohol-related crime. Drug legislation, historically speaking, has sometimes followed on similar reasoning. Abortion is sometimes treated as an aspect of public morality, even if it is legally defined, regulated by medical professionals, and almost entirely hidden from public view. AIDS as a health policy issue is linked to public morality in a complicated manner.

Views on public morality do change over time. For example, there have been proscriptions against eating in the street or allowing women to smoke in public. These examples show that public views on which things which are acceptable often move towards wider tolerance. Rapid shifts the other way are often characterised by moral panics, as in the shutting down of theatres a generation after Shakespeare’s death by the English Puritans.

It may also be applied to the morals of public life. Political corruption, or the telling of lies in public statements, tarnish not only individual politicians, but the entire conduct of political life, whether at local or national level. These are fairly universally regarded as blots on reputations, though in some cases there is a grey area between corruption and legitimate fund-raising. Whether the private lives of politicians are a public morals issue is not a matter of agreement, internationally speaking; the existence of an extramarital relationship of a Prime Minister would in some countries be considered a revelation well within the sphere of the public interest, while in other countries it would be considered quite irrelevant.

40. @ David

And David an entire party HIRED him, and if you can’t see the correlation between managing and hiring and the responsibility of both well I don’t know what to say.

41. Enuff, try another brand of BLP spin.
    Since it’s already partisan let me ask.
    Did the Dems appeal to the youth vote using Lil Rick’s smut or promoting smut? NO.
    Is the BLP lady earning a living from promoting smut? YES.
    Big difference!
    Full stop.

42. Enuff, you idiot boy!

Big difference between managing and hiring.

Managing = direct control over the artist and his products
    Contracting= requesting a specific product (clean campaign slogan etc), no control over the artist himself as artist is self-employed.
    Get it? I know you’re a bit slow. Ask Santia the big up lawyer if you doubt me.

43. This is where the problem in the society is coming, the DLP hired Lil Ric well aware of his ‘smut’ appeal, the Senator is managing Lil Ric well aware of his smut appeal. Both parties should be making decisions which send the message that there is line which the society is not prepared to cross.

44. David wouldn’t that violate the freedom of expression in the constitution.

45. @ loyal subject
    Let me simplify for you:
    Salary = benefit
    Political support = benefit
    If my contributions are spin unroll them.

46. @ David

Thank you!! Now you are talking sense.

@ loyal subject
    And companies that want to project/maintain a positive image HIRE (contract) and or FIRE an artiste based on their public behaviour. As a matter of fact, a manager has less control over an artiste than someone who hires him/her. An artiste employs a manager; and a promoter employs the artiste.

47. @David …

Unfortunately, I think that line has already been crossed.

I agree however it would send a powerful message not to endorse an Artist such as this, but there’s worse being heard on the air and on TV… you know? And as Sexi sey…. there are far more pressing concerns….

48. The song is vile and disgusting but you cannot deny that lill rick is a dynamic performer.

With a little effort he could sing clean lyrics and he would still have a powerful stage presence.

You don’t have to sing smut when you have talent.

49. Smut sells….clearly there’s a market for it, which is why the problem really isn’t the artist. I remember ages ago when 50 cents first came on the scene .. in an interview he said he was gonna be different and come with a new vibe…………. oh well.

50. Random Thoughts Avatar

Has anybody ever listened to “Jean and Dinah?” Jean and Dinah, two prostitutes willing to do business with the locals after the Americans left Trinidad at the end of World War 2 or as Sparrow sang “The Yankees gone and the SParrow take over now”

Anbody even listened to “Benwood Dick?” The man who had “never eat a white meat yet?” The singer was not talking about chicken here he was singing about a black man having cunnilingus with a white woman.

You want me to go on David?