Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

It was interesting to hearย  Brian Clarke reveal in his eulogy that the Late Prime Minister David Thompson was not passionate about the legal profession.ย In contrast we understand Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart has a great love for the profession. It will be left to Prime Minister Stuart to champion theย  Prevention of Corruption Bill 2010 commonly referred to as Integrity Legislation (IL) which had its first reading in parliament recently. Time will tell if Stuart is motivated to enthusiastically chart the efficient implementation and application of Integrity Legislation.

The current debate in Barbados is when will Prime Minister Stuart ring the bell to call a general election constitutionally due in 2013, a state of affairs brought about by the death of David Thompson. In the opinion of BU the proclamation of IL and Freedom of Information (FOI) legislation will be critical to the decision to determining the date of the next general election. Although Stuart has been catapulted into the current role based on the unfortunate circumstance of Thompsonโ€™s death, as a member of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) opposition campaign platform he would have endorsed the promise to deliver IL and FOI legislation as tools to fight soft corruption in Barbados on winning the government. Three years have past and the people are still waiting. If the two pieces of legislation are not rolled out before the next general election the opposition will have the making of a platform agenda.

Feedback from our legal and political sources confirm that theย  Prevention of Corruption Bill 2010 is one of the most complete and far-reaching pieces of legislation ever brought to the fore in Barbados. It is believed that the bill [IL] as drafted should make its way very easily through the process. Much if not all of the credit for drafting the legislation should go to the current Prime Minister performing in his former role as Attorney General. Top of mind for Prime Minister Stuart must be the possibility of the IL trail blazing legislation being hijacked if the DLP were to lose the next general election. If such an eventuality were to occur it would taint the Thompson legacy for sure.

To โ€˜operationalizeโ€™ IL a group of commissioners will have to be appointed to apply the legislation with a high level of transparency required under the tabled legislation. The criteria for selecting commissioners although clearly articulated in the Prevention of Corruption Bill 2010 is required to be done with some finesse. We could select people from the old boys club of which Stuart should be very familiar or we could buck the status quo by selecting those who would resist the tentacles of influence.

BUโ€™s best research has tossed up the following names who would make up a group of fearless Commissioners:

• Sir Denys Williams Q.C.
  • Sir Frederick Smith Q.C.
  • Mr Errol Chase Q.C.
  • Mr Frederick Waterman Q.C.
  • Mr Vernon Smith Q.C.
  • Andrew Pilgrim
  • Mrs Beverley Walrond Q.C.
  • Mr Michael Springer Q.C.

To support the list above BU understandsย  we have some celebrated foreign jurists who are members of the Barbados Bar. Sir Gavin Lightman, a retired QC and English Chancery judge is one example. The inclusion of Andrew Pilgrim should not raise eyebrows. He is young and a little brash but one of the few who practice law in our stuffy court system who is not afraid to challenge the system. In essence we want Commissioners who will do a job more so than being rewarded because they are โ€˜one of the boysโ€™. For example BU would not expect to see Leslie Haynes, David Simmons or Johnny Cheltenham appointed as Commissioners.

The coming days and weeks will be pregnant with expectation.

Your move Prime Minister Stuart!

1. @David,
    Is there a reason why you have only selected members of the Legal profession?

2. “Your move, Prime Minister Stuart!” Who started the game? Who determined whether it was draughts or chess? How dare certain people to build a game from scratch and then select their opponent – especially when that opponent is no less than the Prime Minister? Was DeTocqueville right? Can there possibly be a tyranny of the majority?

What WE want, WE must fight for! What the game IS has been pre-determined. We all want the Prevention of Corruption Bill to go through the House and pass. What we don’t want is to make such legislation impossible by forcing the hands of those most likely to pass it.

3. @Hants

The legal eagles in BU’s view will be the backbone of the 15 member Commission and will inevitably have great influence given the small pool from which to recruit. It was the focus of this blog but you are correct that others described as prominent Barbadians in the proposed legislation will round off the selection.

4. If nothing has been learned from the most recent past in Caribbean history, Freundel Stuart would best be served by not listening to the idiots that are thinking elections. If by chance, he makes the decision to call an early election, he would have committed political suicide just like Patrick Manning did in Trinidad. My suggestion to you Right Honorable Sir, is to leave well enough alone, and do not tamper with fate. Owen Arthur is like an old punch drunk fighter, hanging around for one last hurrah. But even an old has been, if under estimated can prove dangerous, if not deadly. The election is constitutionally due in 2013, so let things run their constitutional course. Mr Prime Minister, don’t worry about being your own man, your own legacy, coming out of the shadow of the late David Thompson, or any of that rubbish. Time is the only equalizer in politics. When you received the instruments of government from the Governor General, you received a mandate to govern from the people. Do not be led like a lamb to the slaughter, by the idiocy of ambition. The global reality of financial despair looms large and inpacts every single global governmental entity, the political climate does not allow for the shock of going to the electorate early. People are nervous and cautious, and recovery on the macro, is around a long corner. The lights at the end of the tunnel, are those of a locomotive and strong consistent fiscal responsibility, will do the DLP and the people of Barbados good, long term. Do not allow the seekers of fifteen minutes of fame, to derail the philosophy of hope and change as was laid down in the DLP manifesto. Be honest to yourself first Mr Prime Minister, your family and ultimately the people of Barbados. Do not allow the political saber rattlers to attempt intimidating you, and forcing your hands, on matters of state. Sir, be diligent, prudent, temperate and discrete. And may god bless your tenure as our leader in Barbados.

5. @ Hants

I do not think it is a question that the DLP “could” win, I think the DLP WILL WIN the next election unless they do something absolutely silly.

It seems we are beating up ourselves over PM Stuart. That’s because we seem to manufacturing perceived weaknesses as opposed to focussing on his enormous strengths.

PM Stuart is what Owen Athur is not: can you see PM Stuart putting campaign contributions into his personal bank account?

When PM Thompson was ill: did PM Stuart rush to replace him or even change his Cabinet eventhough PM Thompson gave him full power and authority to do so?

PM Stuart is a symbol of honestly, loyalty, sincerity, decency, and integrity in public life.

He seems “squeaky clean,” and like Mia Mottley of the Bees, PM Stuart is not the type of leader corrupt people will be pushing to do business with.

To have Stuart as PM is therefore to honour PM Thompson’s legacy since Stuart is a symbol of what is good about Barbados’ politics and what PM Thompson intended by talking about ITAL.

He has just became Prime Minister but Mr. Stuart has naturally elevated to being a Statesman. Think about it!

Arthur was PM for 14 years but is not. If an old lady drops her pocket-book, she does not have to worry if PM Stuart sees it.

My friends, the issue is not whether Staurt (who might have been a “teacher?”) seems friendly. He is a good role model because he is “squeaky clean.” He is a good decision for the Office of Prime MInister because he is honest. With him as Prime Minister of Barbados, there is absolutely NO need to put the BDF and the Police to guard the Treasury.

PM Staurt is a man you can trust. He seems like an honest fellah. That is a serious statement to make in Barbadian politics these days and can only be said about himself, or Mia Mottley (who it would seem) was axed because she tried to clean-up the corruption in the BLP and because she did not ask PM Thomspon to resign or state who was paying his medical bills.

This brings me to Hants’ concern.

The DLP will win the next general election because of the leadership crisis within the BLP. The leadership crisis within the BLP and the breach of trust it will continue to cause) cannot be healed.

On one side you seem to have corruption and persons who feel that women cannot lead them and on the other side stamping that crap out, is Mia Mottley. It would seem that for there to be healing within the BLP, Mia Mottley and the three who supported her, would all have to become corrupt.

This is where the electorate come in: they have to force change by sending home Payne, Toppin, Dale and the like, home.

Secondly, the DLP has to deliver on the Prevention of Corrution Act.

3. In the national interest, the people of Barbados (the electorate) must VOTE FOR THE DLP, because the BLP needs time to clean up the corruption PM Thompson exposed and the Nation newspaper highlighted as regards, electoral fraud; election rigging – which seems like organised crime and corruption to many.

It is not the economy but the corruption in politics that needs to be fixed. A strong economy only means more money and a bigger lure to the corrupt.

6. @Expatriate

To compare the Barbados political landscape to that of T&T when Manning called a recent election is a no-comparison.

The economy will continue to deteriorate and on the other side the government will have to impose austere measures to manage the current account deficit.

7. Bajan Panday, you are so true,We need Ministers who have a vision for this country and NOT for their pockets, Ministers who will look after the citizens and not allow non nationals to have the best while we as bajans look on in despair, We suffered for 14 years under the Aurthur Administration, I for one do not have a short memory, our Treasury was Rape by these people who are now using the World Wide economic situation as a whipping stick against the DLP .
    The one good person in the BLP was Mia and she was toss aside .
    PM Stuart will do a great Job , He is honest and has integrity

8. It is both hilarious and transparant the way some dems have become Mia’s ardent defenders. She has all of a sudden become a paragon of virtue; the one who was going to stamp out corruption in not only the blp but the entire political sytem.
    Silly season has started?

9. @independent

The same can be said for the BLP supporters who berated Thompson for sending Estwick to Agriculture.

10. Exactly. And remember at the time poor, innocent Mia said how she felt for him. The day after he(Estwick) had said that Mia was talking bare foolishness, and didn’t understand economics at all.

11. Mia Mottley was not the only good person in the Barbados Labour Party and she would be the first to tell you that! She would also be humbled and refer to her colleagues as also’good’ people despite their disgusting behavior. So hear wha..Mia is a king David,a Solomon,and a Peter.You see, she should know that weeping endures for a night but joy commeth in the morning!Seymore has done her nothing .Anyone can rise from the ashes but trust me it is a task which is ongoing.This is why I pay such close attention to my favorite artiste Lucky Dube’s song ‘That’s the way it is’.
    Now then! I have no doubt that Prime Minister Frundel Stuart is an honorable man however, tell me who else on earth would be suited right now for his post? He is also G.G material.Politics is like Russian Roulette and he is wise.Being of the last line of decent polititians speaks volumes.Putting aside tiefing and all dat-all governments have their fronters. Ah well, Barrack must be a very forgetful man.I say no more.How the scene plays out over the next months,depends soely on last words and the people’s word.In the opposition camp the real meaning of let Rome in Tiber melt, should cause some concern. However……Fe Fie Fo Fum…..I smell the blood of an Englishman! Corruption Act or no corruption Act, some things will never change. You everr pitch marbles spawn and use a gouchie (a Tom) to lick out eggies from de circle?Think bout it!!

`

12. Has Owen Arthur spat on Mr. Thompson’s grave and his legacy by appointing Kerrie Symmonds to the Senate.

Imagine. Owen Arthur removed Holder from the Senate but says he wants an economic slant in there by replace Holder with a Kerrie Symmonds.

Word on the ground is that Holder was worth five persons in the Senator to the Bee, him being (1) a trained Lawyer (2) a trained social worker or social policy specialist (3) a trained educator (4) a trained economist and a lecturer in the subject and (5) a respected family man who does not beat his wife and for that would have met the approval of PM Thompson – a sybol on families in Barbados.

See what I told you? Owen Arthur wants to remove an threat in economics that would upstage him. But placing a wife beater in the Senate, he blatantly and knowingly dishonours the legacy of the late Hon. Prime Minister Thompson.

This is the second greatest insult that Owen Arthur has paid to PM Thompson. First Arthur called a media conference on the day Mr. Thompson dies, now he places a wife beater in the Senate knowing full well that PM Thompson supports families.

Has Owen Arthur spat on Mr. Thompson’s grave and his legacy by appointing Kerrie Symmonds to the Senate.

13. @Bajan Panday | November 8, 2010 at 4:10 AM. Astute and absolutely correct. I have nothing to add.

@David. A good list. It is a good suggestion to have some of the commissioners from overseas as well. The only problem as I see it is that most of the people on that list are of retirement age, if not past retirement age or retired. However, maybe that is what is needed – people with life-long records of integrity who have held high offices for the country and, rather than being honoured by being in those offices, have brought honour to those offices. One thing for sure, if they put Andrew in there, a lot of people on both sides of the political divide may go into hiding, not to mention certain members of the judiciary. I would observe that whole process with considerable amusement. Talk about a shakeup.

Personally, I believe that it is best and optimum to have the most respected members of the Bar (notice I do not say the “leaders” of the Bar) as commissioners. That way, when a potential case comes before them, they can bring to bear COLLECTIVELY their considerable local and international experience and ensure that IF a case is handed over for prosecution, it is safe. Once a case is handed over for prosecution, if it is unsafe, the potential for serious damage to an innocent party is vast, particularly in these days of the Internet. And that surely would defeat the object of IL in the first place (or maybe I should use a little Latin to satisfy GP and say “ab initio”).

I agree that it is probably the most far-reaching (not to mention timely) legislation brought before the House for a very long time. I agree that it will stand as David Thompson’s legacy, and what a magnificent legacy. I always warned that 100 days days was way too soon to expect such legislation and that to have anything worthwhile would take considerably longer. Now, once passed, the trick is going to be to ensure that it is properly implemented and administered – and that, my friends, is the tallest order of the lot.

14. Still trying to rationalized the appointment of Kerrie Symmonds. He resigned after admitting to a personal situation with his wife. He has not publicly updated the matter yet he is reappointed.

15. David
    Maybe Kerrie patterning he personal lifestyle from he leader. Wah is de phrase again pertainin to de U.S gay soldiers fighting in Iraq again? ‘Doan ask, doan tell’ or sumting so?
    I wonder why evrytime I say de word, ‘immoral’, BLP resonates in my mind. Am i crazy or wah Dave? stupseeeeeee.

16. Now I know Owen Arthur does not have any solutions to our problems.
    He said before the appointments that he must put people there who can contribute to the economic debate and put forward policies to get Barbados out of this mess he created.
    Lo and behold he puts Kerrie Simmons and Santia Bradshaw. I always felt he would have put Mascoll but something must be going down behind the scenes because he a sly old fox.
    The rasta man like he in bare hard luck because as fast as he went in the faster he came out. At least he use to speak like he know something of economics.
    Freundel do not be afraid you will win a general election now but with the world economy staying flat I think you will have a problem winning three years down the road.
    The people are on your side still, put Owen Arthur back in opposition now. He is very uncomfortable that George Payne may be charged for fraud and Mia Mottley not taking his calls.
    It will take great gymnastics from George Payne to get Rawle Eastmond off his case at the general conference on Sunday.

17. @ Bajan Panday

Why did Thompson appoint a known woman beater to his Cabinet?

18. It would seem that Santia’s appointment is to appeal to the youth and entertainers. I think she represents Lil Rick, Ram and so on but she has been the candidate since about October 2008, yet not a word from her even when the units in the Pine are leaking from the recent storm.

You can’t take Holder out of the Senate and replace him with Kerrie unless you want to insult PM Thompson. Holder is a family man. I think Holder lectures in economics.

I think Mascoll is a UWI lecture. It left to be seen if now that Mascoll is lead spokesman for the BLP (because Arthur do not want to be scarred by Sinckler) Mascoll is allowed to keep his Friday column at the nation newspaper.

Didn’t the BLP have an economic team under Mia Mottley. I remember hearing their radio programme many a Friday and hear it announced that this person and the other is a member of this and that Team.

The point is: Arthur made another blunder. He is saying that both Liz and Holder resigned. My instict tells me that somebody is telling lies.

Did they resign or did they placed their appointment at the disposal of the leader (as convention requires) with the specific indicattion that they are available to serve?

Let us see the letter they wrote because the impression is given that they do not want to work with Owen and resigned.

SOMEBODY IS TELLING LIES. If it is Owen then that is a credibility issue and highlights why PM Thompson was right about ITAL and freedom of information legislation.

David, can you find the news item when Owen went to the nation newspaper cussing because his friend was no longer able to get $4000 monthly from the public purse because he was in a tight spot? Seems like Owen forgot the convention then.

19. So Kerrie Symmonds replace Arthur Holder who replaced Kerrie Symmonds?

I didnโ€™t the Upper Chamber had a revolving door.

What game is that? Rounders? Hopscotch? Itty Bitty? Tiddlywinks? Hide & Seek?

Politics in Barbadosโ€ฆ A barrel of laughs

20. BU will not be updated tonight. Thanks for your patience.

21. PM Stuart MUST NOT call a snap general election. He should first allow the byelection in St. John to take place.

Owen Arthur said that there is a clamour for him, eventhough it is now known that he means a clamour of one (HIMSELF)

Owen said he wished Mia Mottley had so run the BLP that no one would be calling for him to return. He is now issuing a disclaimer that he cannot win a St. John byelection.

Wait a minute, you would have thought that given all he is saying about the economy, that the people all across Barbados would be rushing for he and his (dark-half) of the BLP.

Owen Arthur led the BLP to a defeat at the polls in 2008 when he suffered a crusuing defeat at the hand of PM Thompson and must be made to lose again this time by PM Thompson from the greave because PM Thompson represents all that Arthur is not. Strong families and PM Thompson like Stuart and Mia Mottley are not leaders who corrupt people would be pushing to do business with.

PM Stuart must let Thompson defeat Arthur is life and death. So that having led the BLP to a defeat at the polls in 2008, Owen Arthur will again lead the dark-side of the BLP to another defeat in 2010. I say his dark side because it is clear that Mia Mottley, Rawle Eastman, Cynthia Forde and other – are not with him.

There is simply no for Owen Arthur.

Arthur will also have to mount a platform in St. John. What will be his message and who will speak. Will his speakers represent all that PM Thompson was against.

Will a BLP St. John platform show the unhealable division in the BLP.

CALL A BYELECTION MR. STAUART – NOT A GENERAL ELECTION. Owen Arthur does not want 2 1/2 years as Opposition Leader, he does not have the energy.

Stretch out that process and the cracks in the BLP will be seen even more.

22. THE BLP CONTINUES TO CRUMBLE. YESTERDAY I CALLED THE OPPOSITION’S OFFICE AND MIA’S STAFF HAVE ALL BEEN FIRED BY OWEN ARTHUR. IS THIS HEALING OR IMPLOSION MODE.

THE HEALING PROCESS in the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) seems to have become a little more difficult following the announcement of two new senators by Opposition Leader Owen Arthur yesterday.

It has left one candidate contemplating his future with the party, and another long-standing member expressing concern about how it was handled and the implications for healing.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/blp-sore/

23. The appointment of Kerrie Symmonds and Santia Bradshaw is interesting. Bradshaw is a Mia appointee, is Arthur holding out an olive leaf to Mia?

The activation of Mascoll on the other hand maybe seen as a slap in the face of Mia because Mascoll was very much dormant during her sojourn as opposition leader.

Barbadians also should remember that Arthur used Mascoll to dilute the perception that Mia was the leader in waiting during the last general election.

The political machinations continue to be intriguing.

PM Stuart has been dealt a good hand but still be played adroitly.

24. David
    Owen Arthur will go down in history as the most opportunistic politician Barbados has ever seen.
    He lamented in parliament that he could not live on his present salary and the BLP replace Henry Forde with him.
    He knew David Thompson was very ill and he rushed to replace Mia Mottley knowing that the poll said he was just 2% more popular and would have a chance to be PM again.
    He said that David Thompson should have call David Quick Draw McGraw Estwick and let him know he was being changed as Minister of Economic Affairs.
    He fired three managers without calling them and now he fired two Senators without calling them.
    This man is a full hypocrite.
    Freundel Stuart and the DLP must not let him settle. Get on his case early.
    Silence from you maybe a sign that whatever he says is the truth.

25. @Charlie

Did Arthur rushed back or was he asked by the majority of his parliamentary colleagues to return?

26. What olive branch? More like a piece of โ€œflat hand pimplerโ€

When Arthur replaced Mottley he said that the candidates selected under her watch would be allowed to keep their nominations. Now seemingly he has got rid of one (Arthur Holder) as he didnโ€™t even have the courtesy to call Holder and let him know that he was being replaced. A similar fate was in store for Liz Thompson who was a Minister in his Govโ€™t. From all appearances it seems these two submitted their โ€œresignationsโ€ as a formality but expected to maintain their roles in the Senate.

Arthur is slowly undermining all base of support that Mottley has within the Party and will make it uncomfortable for her to remain or do so at considerable loss of face.

Mascoll who was virtually invisible under Miaโ€™s leadership has now been elevated to the role of โ€œchief national spokesman on economic affairsโ€ (thatโ€™s a mouthful) as Arthur continues the process of succession planning.

27. I’m minding my business but I would like to know if it is true that Owen’s appointment of Mascholl to an office within the BLP is an effort to persuade Mascoll not to cross back over the river. While minding my business, I would like to know if it is true that certain “big-ups’ in the DLP is/was also courting the said Mascoll to join their camp. As Jimmy Cliff sang “Time will tell”.

28. @Bajan Panday

I respectfully disagree with your point that the DLP should wait for the cracks in the BLP to widen before calling an election. The situation within the BLP cannot possibly get worse and can only get better for them politically. The people of Barbados today have a clear choice that the international economy and the American push for the second tranch of the bail-out might only further muddy.

I cannot see the Mottley faction and the Arthur faction coming together as one on the same election platform in January. The same would not be true by September next year. A week, as they say, is a long time in politics. The goodwill that the memory of David Thompson is currently giving the DLP might not last through the summer as a potent force for voters. Remember how Bree St. John waited for 1986 instead of calling for an election in 1985 and what the outcome was? I think that it is in the DLPโ€™s best interest to call a general election at the same time that the bye-election in St. John is due. Mesh the two together. Strike while the ironโ€™s hot. Give yourself 5 tears for the economy to turn around, rather than 18 months (deducting canvassing time) for the BLP to possibly get a foothold and once again benefit from the outcome of the programmes of the DLP. Strike while your enemy is weakest. Donโ€™t allow the snake to grow another head. And donโ€™t give the snakes behind you the time to foster dangerous alliances.
    Strike!

29. correction: 5 years

30. I have wriiten some information on the untimely death of Prime Minister David Thompson using Numerology. I thought long and hard before writing it, but decided that too often we do not say anything for fear of ridicule. Take from it what you will. It is too long to put here I think. But feel free to share it if you wish. It can be found at http://www.numerologygoddess.blogspot.com

31. Persnicka_t

I agree totally with your analysis above. Indeed I was preparing to write something very similar when I saw your analysis.

It seems to me that calling a very early snap election is actually the only sensible choice available to Freundel Stuart and that actually that if Freundel Stuart is really interested in remaining as Prime Minister for a relatively long term that the best choice may be to preemp a bye election in St John and call the general election before Chris Sinckler gets a chance to deliver his budget statement and build up his credentials for a future Prime Ministerial contest.

The current discord in the BLP and the low chance of that discord being settled in a few weeks is probably the major reason why Stuart should call the election now but other factors that will likely cause a resurgence of the BLP if the general election is held near to 2013 are CLICO, CLICO, CLICO, the economy and the constrained options that the Government has for deling with the economy given the relative lack of action over the last several months.
    If given time an Owen Arthur – Mia Mottley team (Yes Politics can make strange bedfellows) will be able to make tremendous inroads in the current sympathy factor for David Thompson and shower telling blows on the Government’s handling of the economy. Indeed, if David Thompson’s handling of CLICO and the rest of the DLP’s lack of knowledge of the intracacies of that matter is as huge an elephant in the DLP camp as I think it is, an adroit handling of David Thompson’s and the DLP mismanagement of CLICO by the BLP, along with the expected severity of the economic measures that must be taken soon to keep Barbados afloat, will make it very likely that the DLP will lose the next general election if it is held anytime near 2013.

Calling an election very soon is the only reasonable choice for the DLP. Failure to grasp this opportunity will most likely lead to a long period in the political wilderness for the DLP with only the one current disastrous term in power.

32. @ checkit-out

Right on! Right on! Right on!

33. @ Persnicka_t | November 9, 2010 at 11:10 AM |

Your analysis is sound. The DLP will win now or then. However, my thesis is based on the fact that the longer Owen has to endure George Payne, the bigger the explosion will be.

Arthur sees Payne as a clown. That is why he just fired him ( a sitting MP) from Shadowing Foreign Affairs and oppointed Kerrie – an un-elected man.

I hear that Owen already cussed Toppin. Owen’ use of Mascoll and Kerrie is not breaking news. They are simply there to ensure that Mia Motttley never become Prime Minister.

For Owen this has nothing to do with the economy or Barbados. In 2007 he said that his only aim in politics is to ensure that the DLP never forms the government again. The DLP won and Arthur remains angry with the electorate and wants revenge (hence his politics of spite).

Arthur elevation of Mascoll and Kerrie shows that George Payne, Toppin and Dale Marshall are seen by Arthur as clowns in his sight because Arthur is merely positioning Mascoll to be the next PM and Kerrie his deputy (or so he thinks).

Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin and Gline Clarke feel that a woman should mop floors and cannot lead them or Barbados.

That explains Mascoll and Kerrie being elevated yesterday

Study it!!!

34. “Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin and Gline Clarke feel that a woman should mop floors and cannot lead them or Barbados.

Study it!!!”

I was going to, but I then remembered that one Santia Bradshaw was also appointed by the same Owen Arthur, it was then that I realized that you believe that we are all as ignorant as you.Ki

35. Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin and Gline Clarke feel that a woman should mop floors and cannot lead them or Barbados.

Study it!!!
    ===============================================

I was going to, but I remembered that one Santia Bradshaw was appointed by the same Owen Arthur. It was then that I realized that you seem to believe that we all are as ignorant as you.

Your agenda is as clear as a white cat in the middle of Buckley long road on a full moon night.

36. @Bajan Panday

You are correct. By the way, re Kid me Not’s submissions: if you are going to Bridgetown from Eagle Hall you will never get there if you stop to pay attention to every dog that barks along the way.

37. Have it your way, but I suspect that you will have a hard time convincing many more people, that Owen Arthur has something against women.
    Where is the evidence to support your claim?

38. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

True Kid me not
    The only PM to promote so many women to top position in this country. Trevor Eastmond even had a joke about it and the former fire chief Velmo Cadogan lol

39. @Kid Me Not
    “Where is the evidence to support your claim?”
    You can’t be serious. Start from where the homefires burn or have burnt and move in concentric circles outwards.
    If you promote women only to insult them, you DO have something against them!

40. I would not say he does not like women because he had women in his cabinet and some with his wife as can be seen in his former secretary.
    By saying that Mia Mottley had this problem that would not make her a good leader at a press conference gutted the only woman that remained from his government in parliament. A woman whom he handed over the leadership of the party to. That was the first piece of disrespect to the woman. Mia may know a lot about his personal life too but she did not hold a press conference to denigrate him.
    He then schemed with George who did not speak for over five years in parliament when he was PM to replace the same woman.
    Can any person envisage the negotiations that George and Owen when through to be on the same side of a leadership battle. Something must have been offered that George could not refuse.
    Mascoll is going to be the fly in their ointment because neither Dale, George, Glyne nor Ronald will allow Mascoll to be their leader.

41. @check it ou
    Well reasoned. I must say fellow bloggers that it appears Owen Arthur does not have any fresh ideas. I say this simply because we are seeing the same recycled persons again such as Mascoll( who played a large role in arthur’s defeat in 08) and Symmonds.
    We in Barbados are very tame . In another more socially aware society before u cud have said jack sprat women would seriosuly protest the appointment of K Symmonds. I am one looking forward to the Integrity Legislation but I do believe as individual citizens we spend way to much time waiting on politicians and by extension Government. I’m tired of it. And sometimes we must take what we get because of it. We talk of being politically mature but are we really? Could this man be appted in any first world nation so easily?? I think that as a society we are not ready to make hard choices.

42. Bare crap on this thread.
    Never heard so much nonsense.
    Cannot believe the nonsense that has been written here
    Kid Me Not —-joker comments
    stunnaman—–idiot comments
    Bajan Panday—-asinine comments
    Charlie—-foolish comments

The most illiterate comment was made by Bajan Panday
    “PM Stuart is what Owen Athur is not: can you see PM Stuart putting campaign contributions into his personal bank account? “

43. Not only untruthful and misleading
    Bajan Panday is so full of SHITE
    Look what he/she write
    “”””””Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin and Gline Clarke feel that a woman should mop floors and cannot lead them or Barbados.

Study it!!! “”

When the facts do not support the shite written by Bajan Panday, what strategy will be next !!

44. page 5 of BarbadosToday is very interesting.

45. JOHN BOY
    Not only untruthful and misleading
    Bajan Panday is so full of SHITE
    Look what he/she write
    โ€œโ€”โ€”โ€Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall, Ronald Toppin and Gline Clarke feel that a woman should mop floors and cannot lead them or Barbados. John Boy, wherever there’s smoke, there’s sure to be fire. Bajan Panday speaks from the heart, and illuminates some utterances of truth. Mr Arthur who for years promoted himself and his party as women centric, has proven to be a farce. Whether Mia Mottley, Liz Thompson or any other woman in that party, Arthur’s concept has proven to be one of self evolution, above party or country evolution. You may want to redicule Bajan Panday, but you must be mindful of the hyprocrisy of Owen S Arthur. When he saw the evidence, that Ms Mottley could effectively mount a challenge to him, he derided and ultimately derailed her. He never intended to walk away from politics. Arthur wanted Mia to “Stompt on the grapes, while he drank the wine.” Pure and simple, Owen has always attempted to “Politically pimp” the women in his party. When those women stood up to him, and advocated for themselves and each other, the truculence, and vitriol of Mr Arthur was unleashed on them. Owen Arthur is the greatest provider of “Left handed compliments,” to the women of Barbados in the country’s history. Yes, John Boy Owen Arthur’s deeds are more potent, than his words. And so, Bajan Panday in my opinion has spoken truth to power.

46. There’s an old African proverb, that says”To thyself be true.” Clyde “Benedict Arnold”Mascoll, is a spineless, weak, wicked purveyor of untruths. He along with the devil incarnate Owen S Arthur, attempted to codify themselves, while attempting to destroy the democratic principles of Barbados. I will go to my grave, never forgiving that selfish son of a bitch Clyde Mascoll. Here’s why, David Thompson made Clyde Mascoll, he took him under his wings, schooled him in politics and looked out for him. Mascoll, the only politician in Barbados’ history, to be a sitting leader of the opposition to cross over, betrayed the confidence of his friends and colleagues. I am ashamed that Mr Arthur, would offer this ignominious individual, to the people of Barbados, in any capacity. That in itself alone, speaks volumes of how mentally diminutive Arthur thinks Barbadians are. Friendship is important to me, and a persons word, is all they’ve got. There’s nothing that Clyde Mascoll can ever say to justify the wickedness of his deeds. Perhaps, he should offer himself to the fate of his predecessor Judus Iscariot, and have himself hanged and dismembered in a “Potter’s Field.”

47. @ Expatriate

You said:- “Mascoll, the only politician in Barbadosโ€™ history, to be a sitting leader of the opposition to cross over,. . . . . . ”
    Either you do not remember or you are blatantly telling a lie! Mr. Mascoll was NOT LOTO (Leader of the Opposition) when he crossed the floor! Go check your facts.

48. PM Thompson’s family first legacy and his emphasis on sound corevalues like layalty, friendship, trust and integrity in public life is superior to anything Owen Arthur did or did not achieve in 15 years.

PM Thompson has a legacy whereas after 14 year Arthur does not..Plain and simple.

Remember! In the 2007 budget, David Thompson did not trouble Owen Arthur. Arthur was beating up on Mr. Thompson as he had done before. Then Thompson floored Owen Arthur AT WILL and poor Owen had no response and has not recovered since.

The man that though he was a giant was painted as corrupt with the evidence on the way. Arthur really did not see that coming

David Thompson walked out of the House, as Opposition Leader and told Arthur that his Parliament was irrelavent to the people and that he (Arthur) should called election.

Arthur had no option than to do so. Less than a month later, Thompson walked back into the Parliament as Prime Minister of Barbados.

It was said that even when Arthur was going to Government House, Thompson already knew the date of the election. So that from December 2007, David Thompson was essentially leading the country.

Owen Arthur was reduced to being a mere pedestrian when David Thompson was alive.

Prime Minister David Thompson literally ran Owen Arthur from the Parliament of Barbados. Arthur’s only response was that it (parliament) was poor rakey.

The point is that David was growing in the Office of Prime Minister and while he was on the up–a tired owen arthur was on the decline.

Owen Arthur is yet to come to grips with the fact that David Thompson defeated him. There was no clamour for Owen then as Barbadians clearly did not agree with his ego thing: arthur now more than ever.

It was David Thompson to ended the reign of Arthur. That is why Arthur needs counselling (transitional counselling)

He is bitter. He said that his aim in politics was to ensure that the DLP never ever became the government again.

OWEN ARTHUR’S ONLY AIM NOW IS TO ECLIPSE THE RT. EXCELLENT ERROL BARROW AND BECOME A 4TH TERM PRIME MINISTER.

Owen Arthur is going for a 4th term. that is what it is all about. To out-do Mr. Barrow.

Owen Arthur’s role in life is to take out his frustration on women and old men. He certainly couldn’t with Thompson and certainly cannot with Sinckler or Prime Minister Stuart and so a tired Owen Arthur is forever bitter.

49. de hood | November 10, 2010 at 12:18 PM | @ Expatriate

You said:- โ€œMascoll, the only politician in Barbadosโ€™ history, to be a sitting leader of the opposition to cross over,. . . . . . โ€
    Either you do not remember or you are blatantly telling a lie! Mr. Mascoll was NOT LOTO (Leader of the Opposition) when he crossed the floor! Go check your facts.

de hood,
    I stand corrected. On this matter you are indeed right. Clyde “Benedict Arnold”Mascoll was indeed not the leader of the opposition when, he sold the DLP out for “Thirty pieces of Silver.” Thanks for your astute illumination, of my error.