Quotes from the BU family:

The Late Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson

“The question of leadership, has already been comprehensively dealt with, as David Thompson has shown by his management of the DLP’s campaign, that he has the ability, not only to plan but to execute. Perhaps one of his most important attributes, is he has a skill which engenders confidence in others, therefore they will follow him” – Yardbroom

Life gives us very few natural born leaders. David Thompson, was charismatic, stylish and he was from my generation. I enjoyed bragging about my Prime Minister, to folks here in Washington – Expatriate

The death of former Prime Minister David Thompson is a tragic lost to this country and indeed the Caribbean. We had some tragic occurrences in Barbados this year.Tragic death of those six young ladies in the Tudor Street tragedy,the recent floods and now the death of our beloved former Prime Minister David Thompson – Negroman

It is with profound sorrow and grief that I acknowledge the passing of the Late Prime Minister, The Right HON. David Thompson, my friend and neighbour. Many persons will never know the David Thompson that we in the Sanford/Mapps community were privilege to experience. David was a very down to earth young man and this also goes for his entire family. I remember the many conversations we had and even though we differ on many occasions, we would always remain close friends. When David became ill, our relationship got closer and we regularly exchanged e-mail messages as his health deteriorated. He liked his blackberry and hence I would always expect a response from every e-mail I sent. I recognised a spiritual side of David that grew stronger ever time we communicated. I believe that David was preparing himself for the life beyond this, therefore I am not worried about his future. I don’t believe in what some people call “untimely death”, I believe David is called to higher service, therefore I would remind you of the words the Apostle Paul wrote to his friend Timothy ” the time of my departure is near – The Scout

It is with deep sadness and regret that we have learned of the passing of the Honorable David Thompson, Prime Minister of our beloved country. Mr. Thompson has truly served Barbados and indeed the wider Caribbean with distinction. As an avid sports fan and an ardent promoter of the value of investment in youth, Mr. Thompson has given much support over the years, to the furtherance of our sports and cultural industries – Seibert Straughn (Chairman of National Sport Council)

My deepest condolences to the family and friends of the late PM David Thompson. Our nation has lost a good citizen and public servant. May he rest in peace – The Gatekeeper

Your last words spoken penned in lines
To the people you loved so much
Cut deep..more than skin deep
Now you are asleep.
You served Barbados selflessly
Not only in thought or word
But by your productivity against your longevity
So much in all the eyes of the world
The golden bowl is broken
So too the silver chord
Many shall mourn your passing
Now your pain is done
You left us new beginnings
-A true son on the soil-
yes! a true son! –
Raymond

I offer my condolences to the family of the Rt.Hon.David Thompson, I am so sorry to hear of his passing, our country is in mourning once again. Gone too soon this man had a lot to offer this country of ours, but he as been called to a higher service, he is resting now in the arms of Jesus – Pretty Blue Eyes

I share in this tremendous loss. I mourn for my friend David and his family, friends, and the people of Barbados. Prime Minister David Thompson is a good man by any measuring stick. May he rest in peace – G.C. Brathwaite

The Cumberbatch family extends its deepest sentiments of condolence to the family, friends, colleagues and staff of Prime Minister David Thompson on his death – Jeff Cumberbatch

Prime Minister David Thompson has left this mortal coil for greener pastures. Tears come to my eyes as I send my deepest condolences to his wife and three children, and to those who considered themselves his friends and admirers.

I met the Prime Minister for the first time at the beginning of this year (seems like yesterday) at Ilaro Court where he graciously received me to accept a Nyam Jamaica book and to hear my plans for a similar book on Barbados. I felt I had known him all of my life. He not only endorsed the book but from time to time, even in his illness, managed to encourage me to move forward with it – he even told me that when I knocked on doors and got no response, to knock again until a crack opened, and then push and to be ready for when the door became ajar and for those behind would then understand what I was doing and why. I do believe, like Barrow, this was one man who loved his country and the rest of the Caribbean. I prayed he would overcome this cancer of his as I knew he had so much more to do and wanted to do. My deepest condolences first to his wife, three children and to the people of Barbados. I believe Prime Minister Thompson deeply loved this island. Another beautiful mind gone. Rest in peace Sir – Rosemary Parkinson

26 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson Never To Be Forgotten”

1. Very nice words for late Prime Minister… Velly nice touch by BU family no? It be velly important to speak kindly of those past… But man East never great fan of late PM . However late PM’ Brother was velly velly good friend many many year ago when I first station here … not hear very much of good friend today. Intelligent agent inform that nothing is known of late PM’ Brother better known as Rabi …! He velly funny guy … Rabi where you at?

2. I truly understand the very human-side of the vast outpouring of sentiments, grief, condolences, etc, etc, over the death of our Prime Minister, David Thompson, and this is to be expected.

However, and I expect this to irk some, there is a reality, far beyond this so very temporal, transient, sorjourn on earth, that we all are going/gone through, eternity, either in Heaven or Hell, and for David, his Creator, Almighty God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, whom he apparently came to know as his Saviour, as a direct result of his illness, WAS the most important decision he ever made in his entire life, which settled where he would spend eternity, in Heaven.

All of his charm, intellect, common touch with all people, and everything else that has been said about David, could not save his soul, as all of this means absolutely nothing to the Lord, as all of this, obviously preceeded David’s salvation experience with Christ, while he was a dying man, and this aspect of ‘Salvation’ is NOT understood by many, including Anglicanism, et al, for NO ONE can be Saved, Justified, by doing good works, as Salvation IS a Gift, from God, appropriated only, in, by, and through sincere repentance and faith in Jesus, as Saviour and Lord, NOT OF WORKS, lest any man boast. ( Eph. 2-8-9).

Now, on the heals of David’s departure, we have this Storm, Tomas, is God trying to get our attention? Yes, for He is shaking the whole earth, one way or the other, as mankind is all caught up in ‘Himself’ looking for answers and solution, to our global plight, in every direction, other than IN ‘HIM’ Jesus Christ.

Instead of Gloryfying, Praising, and Honouring our Creator, Almighty God, and His Son, Jesus, from whom all blessing come, here we are as a nation, literally, and it is a subtle form of idolatry, magnifying the man, David Thompson, instead of the ONE, who gave us David, in the first place!

What more is the Lord, going to have to DO, to get our attention, away from mere man, and to come before HIM, in repentance, NOT ‘lip-service’ and churchianity, in order for HIM, to spear us, much worst things than Thomas!!??

3. @Zoe

You are truly stretching this idolatry business.

4. @David, not really, if you only understood, that anyone, OR anything, that IS exalted, lifted UP, praised or venerated ABOVE, Almighty God, and Jesus, constitutes idolatry; and while I understand this is not the intended idea re David Thompson, nevertheless, this IS what constitutes Idolatry, in God’s sight; it could be a car, house, dog or cat, or even a child, it, they, must NEVER take what onlly belongs to HIM.

If, Bajans et al, would just give a little of this veneration to Almighty God, and Jesus, that’s being given to David Thompson, what a change would come over this land of ours; we NEVER hear people, write or speak about JESUS, in such numbers as they are now doing with David Thompson, think about it carefully!

5. @Zoe, the outpouring of kind words is normal for most people in times like this.

We human beings choose how we deal with death and mourning.
    To some he was the best and to others not so but obviously a vast number of Barbadians liked the PM and invested a lot of emotional capital in him.

David is correct.”You are truly stretching this idolatry business”.

For the record I Hants do not believe that Hurricane Tomas is the hand of God punishing or sending a message to Bajans.
    I went to Harsun Kolij an learn Geography taught by Lady Adams an Dennis Conway.nuff said.
    Every year I expect Barbados to get hit by a Hurricane. We just lucky.

Zoe as a super christian go and pray for your neighbours in St.Vincent, St. Lucia and ecpecially pray for Haiti.

6. @Zoe

What we have here is a young man who was PM with a national and international profile who died of an illness before he was able to fully rollout his vision. As a consequence many Barbadians et al who happen to be human are expressing sorrow that such would have occurred. In the process we humans are talking and writing about his achievements and the positive impact he had on people before he died. In the process it may serve as inspiration for those who remain on this earth. No idolatry, it is called being human.

7. @ Zoe as a non believer, I have to agree with brother David and Hants that you are really stretching the meaning of idolatry to conform to your super-christian values. Calm down and let us Bajan be Bajan. That is how we mourn our dead.And if this outpouring of love and emotion is affecting your super-christian sensibilities….then you really need some prayer because you beginning to sound like the Phillistines and the Saducees.

8. Zion1971 Sir
    Could you kindly define “idolatry” for me.
    I am always willing to examine a new doctrine.
    Could you kindly explain what “stretching the meaning of idolatry” means, Sir?
    The widely respected Easton’s Bible Dictionary defines idolatry thus
    The forms of idolatry are,
    • Fetishism, or the worship of trees, rivers, hills, stones, etc.
    • Nature worship, the worship of the sun, moon, and stars, as the supposed powers of nature.
    • Hero worship, the worship of deceased ancestors, or of heroess

Could you kindly define “super-christian values” for me, Sir?
    What does the Phillistines and the Saducees have to do with the issues?
    Permit me to enlighten you on the Sadducees Sir
    The Sadducees
    1. They believed in adopting Greek customs.
    2. It is thought they originated at the same time as the Pharisees (3rd century B.C.)
    3. They took no part in the Maccabbean revolt for the nation’s liberty.
    4. They were a priestly clique, aristocratic and snobbish.
    5. They were not numerous but they were wealthy and influential.
    6. They controlled the Sanhedrin.
    7. Their doctrines:
    a. They doubted the supernatural.
    b. They denied the existence of angels.
    c. They rejected personal immortality.
    d. They stressed the Pentateuch only.

9. Regular Christian like Hants. Believe in God but uses his own interpretation of the Bible.

Super Christian. Believe in God and reads,marks,learns and inwardly digest the Bible,understands every single word in the Bible through constant and relentless study and prayer.

GP I expect a 20 paragraph x uh jiss.lol
    Glad yuh not in Bim on neat de palin.

10. @Hants

The interpretation of things with consideration to context always appear to be a challenge for some. Feeling sorry for a young man dead at 48 who was PM and developed an international profile is idolatry?

The BU household will burn for sure.

11. @Hants, “For the record Hants do not believe that Hurricane Tomas is the hand of God punishing or sending a message to Bajans. I went to Harsun Kolij and learn Geography, taught by Lady Adams and Dennis Conway, Nuff said.”

BTW, Hants, Lady Adams or Conway, taught you Geography, they ever taught you WHO created Geography, and WHO CONTROLS the forces of nature? To either HIS displeasure, or delight?

Let us HEAR from HIM, not Lady Adams or Conway!

“This is WHAT the LORD says, He who appoints the sun to shine by day, WHO decrees the moon and stars to shine by night, WHO (does what?) STIRS up the SEA so that its WAVES ROAR – the LORD ALMIGHTY is His NAME…”

what essentially causes the SEA to rise up, “…so that its WAVES ROAR…” High winds, Storms & Hurricans, “….The LORD ALMIGHTY is His NAME.”

We ain’t SEE nothing yet, re what will come our way, IF, we don’t STOP this nonsense, rampant 21st Century Idolatry, in its multiplicity of modern day forms!

12. The above quote re “…WHO stirs up the SEA so that it waves ROAR_ the LORD Almighty is His Name” is taken from Jeremiah 31: 35 NIV).

13. “Sing to the LORD, ALL the earth; Proclaim the good news of HIS SALVATION, from DAY to DAY. Declare HIS GLORY among the nations, his wonders among ALL peoples.”

“For the LORD is GREAT and greatly to be PRAISED. He is also to be feared above all gods. For all the *gods of the people ARE IDOLS”

“But the LORD made the heavens. HONOUR and MAJESTY are before HIM.”

“Strength and gladness are HIS place.”

“Give to the LORD, ( not mankind!) O families of the peoples, Give to the LORD GLORY and strength. Give to the LORD the GLORY due HIS NAME”, ( not mankind)

“Oh, WORSHIP the LORD in the beauty of holiness! TREMBLE before HIM, ALL the earth. The world is firmly established. It shall not be moved.”

“Let the heavens REJOICE, and let the earth be glad; And let them say among the nations, ‘THE LORD REIGNS,” Let the sea roar, and all its fulness. Let the field rejoice, and all that is in it. Then the trees of the woods shall rejoice before the LORD, For He IS COMING to JUDGE THE EARTH.” ( I Chronicles 16: 23-33) emphasis added.

14. @Hants
    Super Christian. Believe in God and reads,marks,learns and inwardly digest the Bible,understands every single word in the Bible through constant and relentless study and prayer.
    ===============
    lol Hants thats basic trying to live Godly.
    you should check the writings of men like Arthur Pink, Strong,Vine, Woodbridge etc etc and others like that and you would see what super Christians were. You see these guys had little to distract them.

Your use of “reads,marks,learns and inwardly digest “the Bible tells me that you remember part of the collect for “Bible Suinday” or the second sunday in Advent! Very good. lol

Note Hants that the interpretation of things with consideration to context is not a challenge for the believer, who tends to interpret things relative to what The Bible teaches. Such a man seeks to be Theocentric or Christocentric.

Feeling sorry for a young man dead at 48 who was PM and developed an international profile is idolatry as it goes on and on ad infinitum ad nauseamque, and as one repeats the same thing over and over to the point of blasphemy by some like one school person who opined that the earth trembled at Thompson’s death just as it did at the death of Christ.

But one is allowed to do that under free speech. however, Zoe is not allowed under the same free speech to correctly recognize idolatry when he sees it. If a theologian and Bible scholar like Zoe does not know what idolatry is yet, he never will.
    I notice from the nation that a lot of young folk in Barbados dying. Are they or thier souls less valuable TO GOD just because they were not a PM? hilarious! I am sure that there has been some good classical music on tv and radio in Bim these days. I used to love days like that when I was home.

ZOE CONTINUE TO TEACH THE WORD IN SEASON AND OUT OF SEASON. FOLK ON THE INTERNET ARE READING AND LEARNING.
    Remember that it is written that “those who will seek to live godly in Christ SHALL suffer persecution.” spiritual morons and illiterates will even go so far to try to teach you what is context…………but idolatry is after all, just that……..idolatry (cf Psalm 115)

15. @GP

You need to stop being dishonest.

Please indicate how BU is preventing Zoe and yourself from commenting on the issue?

What we have are others who have disagreed* with Zoe.

You accuse BU et al of idolatry, we accuse you of being dishonest on the matter that you and Zoe don’t have benefit from speech on BU.

You as always may have the last word.

16. Quid dixi scripsique, dixi scripsique.
    Zoe has correctly interpreted what idolatry is, despite what any Biblical illiterate thinks! And I support his view.

On BU methaneogogues speak freely unchallenged even when speaking blatant untruths or evincing ignorance to its zenith. But when others speak the truth [and truths well accepted by several scholars on the subject] others are mocked with scorn. It is called “challenging” and “engaging.” Hilarious

If you David will read what I said again, and interpret correctly, you will find that I did not say what you think I have said. I meant what I said, and I said what I meant, and I am very accurate! LOL

17. GP has a weird idea of what free speech means. To him it means no criticism of what he said…just agree and call him bright! Yet he is on BU all day long. Free speech indeed!

18. ANONUS
    YOUR CALLING ME BRIGHT DOES NOT MAKE ME BRIGHT SIR. LOL YOU THINK THAT I COME ON BU FOR MORONS TO CALL ME BRIGHT? folk have been saying so for almost 60 years now——-long, long before there was a BU! LOL

I am on BU when I have the time for doses of hilarity from you methaneogogues. You are welcomed to disagree with me but bring facts and figures. Bring details and sound reason. Is free speech only supposed to be verbal diarhoea, Sir? It should be fun this evening on BU man LOL!

19. Georgie Porgie to run for safe seat in St John for DLP… DLP need more Doctor and less lawyer to make more fun at Bajan people no?

20. Almighty God, our Creator, gave to Adam & Eve, and by natural extension to ALL mankind FREEDOM of CHOICE, to choose to either obey, OR disobey, with very carefully noted consequences for disobedience; spiritual DEATH, came first, separation FROM fellowship and communion WITH GOD; then physical DEATH, separation of the spirit/soul FROM the body.

This entire idea of FREE SPEECH, emanated from what God first gave Adam, FREEDOM OF CHOICE, to either live IN complete harmony with His Creator, which if, adhered to, would have given Adam KNOWLEDGE beyond our wildest dreams, and peace, joy, happiness, WITHOUT any intervention of SIN, which came with the FALL, result of disobedience; from that moment in time, mankind has been in a spiritual mess, which of necessity leads to all of the other self-opiniated crap, that flows from so many, on subjects they no LITTLE, or nothing about.

When Biblical scholars, who have invested a life time, in earnest diligent study of His Word, and carefully seek to address certain issue here on BU, coherently, entirely within the proper CONTEXT of the ‘meaning’, Scripturally, instead of learning about matters they are obviously ‘ignorant’ of, what do we get, couched in the ‘redherring’ of FREEDOM of speech, ‘man, you scholars have expressed your opinion, which we DISAGRRE with…” How can anyone, who have NOT studied the Biblical subject matter, are not Saved, do not know Christ as Saviour and Lord, be so ARROGANT, as to venture an ‘opinion’ WITHOUT any basic knowledge on the matter, is downright ignorance!

The crux of the matter is NOT freedom of speech per say, but, rather, how so many, as displayed right here on BU, go about abusing, and misusing this FREEDOM, in ignorance, meaning a LACK OF KNOWLEDGE on subjects they are simply not the least acquainted with!

21. Ignorance. A lack of knowledge, either in general, or with respect to a particular fact or subject.

I feel the need to expand a bit more on the term, ‘Ignorance’ being ignorant, as I’ve used this expression a number of times on BU, especially with regard to some posters, and, it is never intended to be insulting, but used in its correct meaning, as stated above.

I am ‘ignorant’ on many different subjects, i.e., Medicine, Engineering, Law, Physics, and a host of others, I lack any real knowledge in these various disciplines, therefore, I am IGNORANT in this regard.

Biblical Descriptions. The OT describes ignorance as a failure (1) to know clearly ( Deut. 19:4; Ps. 73:22; Isa. 56:10; or (2) to act acceptably ( Lev. 4:2, 22, 27; 5:15; 18; Num. 15: 24-29). Divine provision for those who had committed sins of ignorance was found in the sin offering ( Lev. 4:2-12) and the cities of refuge ( Deut 19: 4-10; Josh. 20: 2-6). Guilt for such acts was recognized, but the extent of culpability diminished.

However, the New Testament expresses ignorance ( agnoeo and agnoia) as (1) failure to understand or perceive ( Mark 9: 32; Luke 9:45); (2) to be UNINFORMED, not to KNOW, as in the phrase “I would not have you to be IGNORANT, brethren” (Rom. 1:13; 11:25; I Cor. 10:1; 12:1; II Cor. 1:8; I Thess. 4: 13); (3) Ignorance that leads astray ( I Tim. 1:13; Heb. 5:2); and (4) not knowing as a consequence of the WILLFUL closing of one’s mind to the appeal of TRUTH ( Acts. 11:27; Rom. 10:3). Once again sin is acknowledged, but cupability is tempered by the dimension of ignorance involved.

Theological Synthesis. Man, the sinner (Rom. 3:23), is constitutionally ignorant. Having lost the prestine knowledge of God in the FALL, he is aware of the existence of deity, but totally incapable of KNOWING how to effect peace with Him ( Rom. 1:19-20; Eph. 2;12; 4:18). Man’s ignorance is most clearly expressed in this inability to recognize the Son of God when He appeared; this failure issued in Christ’s rejection and death ( Acts. 3:17; I Cor. 2: 7-8). Only divine intervention has prevented man from perishing in his IGNORANCE ( Hos. 13:9 AV), as the Gospel is proclaimed ( I Cor. 15: 1-3) FAITH is created ( Rom. 10:7) and a KNOWLEDGE provided that eventuates in man’s salvation ( John 17:3; II Tim 3:15). In eternity, the ignorance of redeemed man, will be superseded by consummate knowledge ( the beatific vision, I Cor. 13:12). (Evangelical Dictionary of Theology, p. 544) emphasis added.

If PM David Thompson, who it is believed, from reliable sources, had the opportunity over the last few months of his life on earth, in close, personal one- on -one, serious dialogue with a Pentecostal Pastor, who would have shared with David, from the Word of God, the absolute necessity of repentance, as a sinner, followed by accepting, and receiving Jesus Christ, as his personal Saviour and Lord, AND, if this was in fact done, by Grace through Faith, not baby baptism and confirmation, and church membership, as David and so many of us were ‘sacramentalized’ in the Anglican church, none of which have any Biblical warrant whatsoever, and have mislead many into an entirely FALSE sense of salvation; then David Thompson, purely on the basis of God’s Grace, through FAITH in Jesus Christ was Saved, and would NOT want, being in Heaven with his Saviour and Lord, to come back here on earth, save to TELL the others, family, friends, fellow MP’s that NOTHING fightng for on earth, regardless of what it is, can, or will ultimately SAVE anyone, except, KNOWING Jesus, as one’s personal Saviour and Lord, as all else, is simply, nothing more than humanistic folly!

22. GP wrote “folk have been saying so for almost 60 years now”.

They have been saying Hants real bright too but they were wrong.

@Zoe
    Nothing you write will change my thinking and my beliefs.
    I am really an arrogant bastard who tink he know evah ting and does got a plasta fuh every sore.

Now write 10 paragraphs so GP can respond wid 11 and you two can have your intellectual orgasms.

23. Just so you know I am really a bastard as in a chille who fahda in marry he mudda so I reserve de rite to call my self a bastard whichin is the ingalish terminology in de pocket oxford dickshunary.

24. Hants
    They were wrong bout me too– but the point is I didnt/and dont have to come on BU for them to tell me.

25. Being a bastard is not one’s choice, but, being an ‘arrogant’ bastard, well…some do choose their lot, or ROT that they spew forth…after all, ignorance does give rise to about 9/1oth of the world’s conversational output…keep making your contribution.

26. Waiting in my car for KFC in Oistins makes me hard Avatar
    Waiting in my car for KFC in Oistins makes me hard

Where is you, Negroman? Ya wid Baffy, givin comfort to the PM? Ya got ma bawlin!!!! Heah????

And lol.