Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

Itโ€™s a pity all Barbadians could not have been in attendance to hear the argument that broke out in the barbershop last Monday morning. As usual, I was texting away on my Blackberry, therefore it would have appeared to some, that I was not listening. Actually, however, I was making copious notes of the conversation, so I could relive the experience with friends and members of the Under the Microscope family. Space is limited, so, here we go:

Barber No.1 โ€“ Boy I see the Big Man reshuffle the Cabinet. What you think about the changes?

Barber No. 2 โ€“ I aint see nothing wrong with them, but I donโ€™t like the way that man Estwick behaved.

Barber No. 1 โ€“ But that is how he gets on all the time. A big up in the party tell me that is the said same way he behaved last time and the time before. Once he gets move, he does throw a tantrum. I really thought he wasnโ€™t going to accept the position this time around.

Barber No.2 โ€“ What freaked me out was that statement he released, talking about how time longer than twine. I find that very offensive, especially when you consider that the Big Man sick. Estwick, as a doctor, should know better! He really made himself look thin skin, uncaring and silly. That statement, as far as I am concerned, was offensive, insulting and in very poor taste.

Barber No. 1 โ€“ As far as I am concerned, Thompson should have taken back the offer of a ministry and fired him there and then. There is no way if I was a Prime Minister, a member of my government could talk to me like that. Estwick only risked that because he knows the Prime Minister sick.

Barber No. 2 โ€“ Well, I tell my girlfriend when I hear it, that if that was Barrow, Arthur or even Sandiford they would have fired him there and then. There is no way that Errol Barrow or Owen Arthur would have tolerated such nonsense from any member of their government. I remember Owen Arthur, in particular, firing ministers for far less. Owen Arthur would have gotten a letter to the Governor General within minutes of that stupid statement being issued.

Customer Nearby โ€“ Boss Man, I was saying the said same thing, but this morning when I picked up the papers I see Arthur like he defending Estwick and saying how ministers should be consulted before a reshuffle.

Barber No. 2 โ€“ You canโ€™t be serious! Owen Arthur fired ministers in the middle of a Cabinet meeting. You didnโ€™t hear about the time he fired Liz Thompson on the spot in Cabinet and Mia and Billie got up and walked out in support of she? I hear that when Mia said she was going to quit in support of Liz Thompson and it looked like Billie was going to follow, that Arthur threatened to dissolve the parliament and call fresh elections.

Customer Nearby โ€“ That is what had me so shocked this morning when I read what Arthur had to say about Estwick, because I know he, Arthur, only trying to edge up to Estwick now so as to get him to cross over to the Bees. That is the said same thing he did to Mascoll and Kerrie Symmonds and the same Estwick brother a few years ago. Arthur wasnโ€™t any sweet bread when he was in there!

Barber No. 2 โ€“ You remembered when he fired Hammie Lah? I hear Hammie Lah was home putting on his clothes to go down to the ministry when he got a phone call telling him he was fired. Not that he was going to get fire. That he was fired! And the said same thing, I believe, happened to George Payne, when he was minister of Tourism. I hear Payne cried like a baby. So who Arthur thinks he fooling with this nonsense that Prime Ministers supposed to consult ministers on hiring and firings? Arthur like he would say anything to win a vote and get back in power.

Barber No. 1 โ€“ I really cannot believe that Owen Arthur came out in defense of Estwick and that awful statement that he released. But, this is politics and I suspect that he trying to get in the good books of Estwick so as to get Estwick to cross the floor and join them. One thing I could say about Estwick, he does get vex and chat a lot of foolishness but he is not disloyal. He is a true, true Dem!

Customer Nearby – Boy Arthur really desperate to get back in there, you hear what I tell you? I hear he supporting George Payne, whom he never used to speak to, to run against Mia Mottley for the Chairmanship of the party. Can you imagine George Payne and Owen Arthur working together on anything? Politics does really make for strange bedfellows. Anyhow, they tell me that if George Payne wins as Chairman, it is all over, bar the shouting, for Mottley, because Arthur would then challenge her for the leadership of the party. I hear he would win, because six of the nine members on the opposition side in parliament firmly against Mottley, so that would give him a clear majority.

Barber No. 2 โ€“ I donโ€™t follow politics to that extent, but I really had to laugh this morning when I read how Arthur say that Thompson abusing his powers as Prime Minister, just because he moved Estwick. This is the same Arthur who cursed people, black as white, from the floor of Parliament, knowing that nobody could sue him. This is the same Owen Arthur who called Harold Hoyte a Negrocrat and the journalist Terry Ali, the son of an indentured servant. Arthur really believes that Bajans got short memories.

Customer Nearby โ€“ All of this is turning my mind off of politics. Arthur was in there for 14 years and he got knocked out. I really do not see why he canโ€™t stand down and give Mia a chance. If she loses, then he could come back later on or let somebody else replace her. But I feel it is unfair for him to try to knock out the girl even before she fights one election.

Barber No. 1 โ€“ And what makes Arthur feel that he got the right to be Prime Minister of Barbados again anyhow? He had his time and he messed it up! He should go home and rest himself. The BLP got in a whole set of other people who could lead it if Mottley gets beaten. I really donโ€™t see why Arthur getting so desperate all of a sudden. He has gone from saying nothing to now saying everything. Every day you open your newspaper, he talking about something or the other. It is really sickening, as far as I am concerned.

Lady at the front desk โ€“ The gentleman there with the phone in his hand, you are next in the chair!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

125 responses to “Political Happenings Create Strange Bedfellows”

1. David;
    I think you asked for comments re. the message implicit in the barbershop scenario and I would like to share my thoughts below.

Since presumably the reshuffling matter was settled when Dr Estwick took up his position in the Ministry of Agriculture, HH by publishing this apparently unprovoked piece attacking Estwick, can only be viewed as making another effort to destabilize Dr Estwick and perhaps provoke him into further action that could lead to his firing the ministerial position or providing clear grounds to be fired.
    Remember that the original demotion was most likely an attempt to provoke the initial response it elicited but Dr Estwick, on calmer reflection, removed himself from the firing line. So HH is clearly now extending the game with further provocation to achieve what was the original expectations.
    They could have offered Dr. Estwick a more prestigious Ministry but they didn’t. Haynesley Benn was performing reasonably creditably as the Minister of Agriculture despite the spin now and despite the low historical support offered that Ministry.

HH wants Dr Estwick out!. Why??? Is he being seen as a challenger to persons who might have been anointed by the incumbent?
    But could the continuing provocation result in unexpected problems? Could Dr Estwick, if stretched to the limit, react in such a way that could create a lot more problems for the DLP than if they treat him with kid gloves, even at this stage? Was the Barbershop scenario wise in these circumstances? Or is there a machavellian hand at play here that is seeing further down the road than us ordinary mortals can?

On another matter, there is a clear hint in today’s Nation that the PM might be in a coma in New York. A coma can be prolonged for months even years. Could it be advantageous to some to have the PM’s life so extended. Could he still be considered as being in charge while in a comatose state? Could he continue as PM while in a coma and for how long? Remember Sharon in Israel who suffered a coma and for a few weeks remained in charge but eventually, while still in a coma, had to give way. Perhaps we should ask GP and Dr Ishmael, if in a hypothetical situation such as this one, a PM could still be in charge with no control of his body functions but perhaps still brain active to some extent?

Is the end game afoot?

2. gp is ok – he just needs to grow up; he is a being silly – has never gotten over himself and has never understood that he needs to move his EGO out of the way so that people can HEAR what he is saying – he does not understand that his opinion – like everyone else’s – is JUST that, an opinion. Additionally, he is TOTALLY lacking a sense of humor – a baaaaaaad thing (so the “ROTFLMAO is totally NOT the gp we see on-line and as I said before, gp cannot roll on the floor anymore and stopped laughing DECADES ago). If you look in the dictionary under Pow’ful foolish – you’ll see a pic of gp. He just needs to, as the young people say – “chill”.

3. Thanks Checkit-out

There is the other side of the coin that Estwick like Kellman are regarded as loose cannons i.e. not team players and now maybe the time to jettison what is thought to be political excess weight two years out from a general election. It might explain why Kellman is making some noise in recent days to be heard on VOB 9.30 in full Sunday. It gives the new players time to get comfortable in their roles and for the realigned adjusted power bases to ferment.

4. My humble opinion is that Estwick knows (sometimes too late) when to shut up!!!!!

On the other hand Kellman is MAD mad mad!

I think that he needs to shut up and become a team player or better yet leave the damn party and run as an independent!!!!!!!

You never know he might form his own party and become Leader of his party.

5. Negroman
    Yesterday, Breaking News
    this news is taking a bit long to be aired, maybe the official information is not going to be phoned into Barbados but instead flown into Barbados. If what I’ve heard is true, it would be a sad day.

6. JC
    Can I ask how you come to the conclusion that Kellman is MAD? What is your definition of mad? Is everyone who is not a team player mad? If Kellman has an opinion does he have the right to speak freely in our country?

Kellman has been able to retain his seat repeatedly and do what many BLACL persons in Barbados find it very hard to do. Run a sucessful buisness. I apprecite that he must therefore have some good or value in him. Dont you think?

Must everyone fit into moulds that persons in Barbados make for them?

7. Charlie | October 7, 2010 at 11:16 PM |
    Forget about GP
    Good idea.
    GP bashing will not change GP.

J
    You have correctly answered Halallโ€™s stupid question by referring to the correct text.
    I preferred to used the Principle of Proverbs 26:4.
    But you are correct to tell the twit that there is no sex in heaven hence no gender and no sexual orientaton, โ€œin heaven there is no marriage nor giving in marriageโ€ sexuality is only designed for the primary EARTHLY purpose of procreating of replenishing the earth and so there is no reason for sex.

8. David; I think your “other side” scenario might be creditable except for the likely immediacy of the problem. Almost everything points to the PM being at an ultimate stage now. If this is so, then the HH story seeks to provoke Estwick into quick action now. Why would he do this?

Kellman is in a different box and he, in an unprovoked manner, is returning to his old very independant ways and indicating that he is putting his hat into the ling for an imminent prime ministerial post. Whether he will have the support of his colleagues in such a fight is still moot.

But do we know if the other pretenders to the throne have yet thrown up their hands and accepted sinckler as the anointed one? Is it possible that there would be serious infighting if the PM is forced to demit office soon and is not in a position to control Ministers by dint of his hold on Ministerial appointments and firings?

The Game is afoot!!

I suspect that it wiil be hours or days, not weeks, before we will see how the forces are aligned in the fight for the PM’s job. Harrassing Estwick, is in my view quite ill advised and could only lead to the exposure of possible inefficiencies in the management of the economy by the DLP, especially since it has been reported in the grapevine that Estwick, in his initial reaction, has been violently critical of actions taken by at least one of his ministerial colleagues.

9. Na GP don’t get me wrong I do admire SOME OF Kellman’s qualities. I was one of the few who agreed with him about rasing the salary of agricultural workers.

However, Kellman is stubborn and not a team player he has proven this by opening his mouth to John Public! I didn’t mean mad in the true definition. I just think he should know when to shut up!

I have learned that skill well. One time I would have f***ed up lots of people with my toungue and fists. However, one must know when how and where to do it. Furthemore, at this point in time Mr. Thompson has the ‘goodwill’ of the majority of the people (excluding you of course).

Therefore, one should be wise to wait till this abates and then make your move amongst your colleagues again …. not for the public to know. Therefore I must conclude that Kellman is stark raving mad!!!!!

Just a mother and voter’s opinion.

10. @Georgie Porgie: “…But you are correct to tell the twit that there is no sex in heaven…

What?!?!? There’s no sex in heaven??? Seems like maybe it’s misnamed if that’s true.

I’m not going!!!

11. Touche CH hahahahahahaha LOL!!!

12. The Scout | October 8, 2010 at 7:45 AM |
    Re Youโ€™re going higher up the tree
    Re more of your tail is exposed Donโ€™t have a tail man โ€ฆ.not a monkey man
    Have not climbed a three for years Man Lol

Re Pity that education was wasted on a dunce like you.

Wonder whose fault that is Scoutie. Didnโ€™t pay a cent for it either.
    Guess what I will come home soon and get some more too โ€ฆ. AT YOUR EXPENSE! Not bad for a dunce eh? LOL

But I was still able to get the BLP to abandon the plan to run our NHS like the Britsโ€™ and do as we started in 1985. Would you say that I was able to apply what I had learned.

Do you hear the fellas walking bout recently spouting my plans for its improvement described here on BU in early 2008. Would you say that I was able to apply what I had learned. Not bad for a dunce eh Scoutie?

Soutie look up the word oxymoron before you try to use it, man LOL

Re Are you so dumb that you canโ€™t except that youโ€™re in a class by yourself ?
    You mean accept right?
    Do you really want me to answer that? LOL Bare fun man

Re It seems that he has senile cataracts that are not only blocking his vision but blocking his ability to think sensibly.

That does not make clinical or other sense Mr Scout Sir. It just reveals your ignorance of the areas you chose for your illustration Sir

Re โ€œthe only difference is that the world heโ€™s walking around with is loaded with greed, envy, spite, hatred, arrogance and a million such garbage; Lord, that got to be HEAVY and worse of all STINK.โ€

Now that is what you call hate and vitriol. No greed or envy Sir. My daily focus is I John 2 :16 -17 No passion no position no possessions. You donโ€™t know me, but you hate me because I spoke the truth, about your idol and party leader. HE WILL BE PLANTED
    HE HAS/IS BEING JUDGED just like Uzziah and all the others I listed for Hants from the Bible and in secular history.
    Here is the incident with King Uzziah. God judges leaders Scoutie He puts them up and he takes them down THIS IS A FACT THAT CANT BE REFUTED
    Now he tekking out your boy David, and you cant do a thing about it except hate me and spew venom at me for my SINCERE opinion based on my study and understanding of the Word. .
    16. But when he was strong, his heart was lifted up to his destruction: for he transgressed against the LORD his God, and went into the temple of the LORD to burn incense upon the altar of incense.
    17. And Azariah the priest went in after him, and with him fourscore priests of the LORD, that were valiant men: 18. And they withstood Uzziah the king, and said unto him, It appertaineth not unto thee, Uzziah, to burn incense unto the LORD, but to the priests the sons of Aaron, that are consecrated to burn incense: go out of the sanctuary; for thou hast trespassed; neither shall it be for thine honour from the LORD God.
    19. Then Uzziah was wroth, and had a censer in his hand to burn incense: and while he was wroth with the priests, the leprosy even rose up in his forehead before the priests in the house of the LORD, from beside the incense altar.
    20. And Azariah the chief priest, and all the priests, looked upon him, and, behold, he was leprous in his forehead, and they thrust him out from thence; yea, himself hasted also to go out, because the LORD had smitten him.
    21. And Uzziah the king was a leper unto the day of his death, and dwelt in a several house, being a leper; for he was cut off from the house of the LORD: and Jotham his son was over the king’s house, judging the people of the land.

Re Time to stop climbingโ€ฆโ€ฆclimbing and going where Sir. You call sitting at home with your PC doing a likkle work here and there climbing Sir? I donโ€™t.
    You call having a likkle fun on BU climbing? Man I just sharing my opinion like everybody else under FREE SPEECH, man. Ah lie?

Re and exposing your ignorance or tail or better still your ignorant tail and instead take a bath and unload the stench that your walking around with.

There you go with your vitriol and ad hominems and hate once more.

Re I believe you can do better than that, have some pride in yourself.

Have you ever read that PRIDE GOETH BEFORE A FALL!?

I have said what I have said and written what I have written, and I stand by it. God is my judge not you Sir.

YOU WILL NOTE DEAR SCOUTIE THAT THERE ARE NO AD HOMINEMS OR VITRIOL OR VENOM ABOVE

After all you is a boy I likeโ€ฆโ€ฆits just that I donโ€™t agree with either your Psychiatry or your Pathology. LOL

13. JC
    ReMr. Thompson has the โ€˜goodwillโ€™ of the majority of the people (excluding you of course).

Are you saying that likkle KIng David does not have โ€˜goodwillโ€™ for me? LOL

Wonder why? I never told anyone before what he did to my budy Leroy or my doctor friend in 87. And he does not know me. We have never met.

If you trying to say I have no goodwiil for Thompson I would ask you why should I ? Because a man ought to be able to chose the persons he admires or cares about. And as I said before on BU I just have this penchant for not being a worshipper of either politicians or celebrites. I do have a healthy respect for my school teachers and university professors.

14. @checkit-out

Interesting times ahead it surely looks like huh (borrowed that huh from the PDC)?

On a related note has the matter of the gun incident been dealt with by the Speaker?

Do you know that it has been suggested in some quarters that Estwick and Kellman were being goaded and Estwick fell for it?
    BU and other members of BU family can speak to the barbs Kellman has had to field on his Facebook page. Liz Thompson took it to the political platform 2 BLP meetings ago. Luckily for the DLP Kellman he deflected the barbs nicely.

What we can say is that timing in politics is everything.

15. Scout my usually reliable sources confirmed that our Prime Minister went into a coma why being attended to by his physicians.
    My source also indicated that his condition has deteriorated to the point where our Prime Minister is non-responsive to stimuli.
    Brother Scout,we must continue tp hope for the best for Prime Minister David Thompson.

16. BU reiterates that our sources which was subsequently confirmed by the PM Press Secretary last night indicates the PM is fine i.e. requiring treatment for pancreatic cancer as announced by Dr. Ishmael.

17. David; One really needs to parse the statements from the PM press secretary. As far as I can recall from what was published in the Nation and on VOB, the statements only addressed the matter of if the PM was dead. They indicated categorically that he is not dead but they did not treat with whether or not there was a deterioration in his health over the past 4 or 5 days. Why?

The PM’s Press Secretary would obviously have been aware of the full import of the rumours going around re. a coma, etc. Why did they not state that the rumours are totally incorrect? eg. The PM is not dead, indeed the PM’s health has not deteriorated since he left Barbados and there is no truth in the rumour that he is in a coma. Words to that effect would effectively scotch the rumours. Instead the statements do not exclude the possibility that the part of the rumours related to a coma might be true.

If there is any truth in Negroman’s rumour above it can explain, in large measure, what Hartley Henry is trying to do now as his power base will be largely eroded in the event of the PM’s death or total incapacitation .

18. Georgie Porgie Why the hell you do not left Brother Scout alone.Brother Scout has made a tremendous contribution to the success of this blog.
    Why a pompous,arrogant,educated Dr.Jack Ass like you stick to the issues at hand and stop nit-picking at many of us, the contributors knowledge of the English Language.Some of us were not that fortunate like you to attend the prestigious schools in Barbados. Nevertheless those of us who did not attend the prestigious secondary schools in Barbados have made significant contributions to the development of country.I am sure that Brother Scout in his own special way has made a tremendous contribution to this island.I cannot say the same for you,because after reading many of your comments on this blog,I am of the opinion that in your area of expertise-medicine,your contribution might have been limited as a consequence of your warped personality.
    Dr.Jack Ass Georgie Porgie,you are the perfect example of what a christian is not suppose to be.Dr Jack Ass Georgie Porgie,I cannot believe that a person like you have chosen to go into a noble profession such as medicine – a discipline that tries to preserve & saves lives and you as a member of that discipline is rejoicing because our Prime Minister David Thompson has a terminal illness and is on the way out.
    Dr Jack Ass Georgie Porgie,you are a letdown & a disgrace to the medical profession & also the christian religion.
    Dr JackAss Georgie Porgie,you should abandon Christianity & seek spirituality to fully appreciate & understand the significance of life.

19. @checkit-out

Let us remain dispassionate. The rumour is that he was dead. The government has responded that he is not.

8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 7, 2010 – Prime Minister David Thompson, up to late this evening, remains hospitalised in the United States, where he has been waging a private and courageous battle against pancreatic cancer.

Political advisor Hartley Henry told the Nation that persistent rumours of the prime ministerโ€™s death are โ€œabsolutely not trueโ€.

โ€œHe is very much alive. Not well, but very much alive. In fact, his condition is no different today than it was yesterday,โ€ says Henry, while admitting that he has been bombarded today with inquiries into the prime ministerโ€™s condition.

Reports are that the ailing 48-year-old leader, who was re-admitted to the New York Presbyterian on October 4 after returning home on September 25, had entered into a coma and was at deathโ€™s door.

But Henry, who is with the prime minister in Manhattan, says Thompson is due back in Barbados next week. (KJ)

20. @David: “Let us remain dispassionate. The rumour is that he was dead. The government has responded that he is not.

Yes, let us please be dispassionate. And there were two rumours. One that the PM was dead. The other that the PM is in a coma (brought forward by Negroman, AFAIK).

Please note that HH did *not* deny that the PM is in a coma. “In fact, his condition is no different today than it was yesterday,โ€ says Henry.

Going with simple logic, HH could truthfully say this if the PM had entered a coma the day before HH was asked this question.

@BN: “But Henry, who is with the prime minister in Manhattan, says Thompson is due back in Barbados next week.

This doesn’t actually say anything. The FOIA, for example, was due 100 days after the last election, but it’s yet to actually come.

I’m not trying to be mean here. And I hold no negative energy towards Mr. Thompson.

I’m simply bringing forward analysis which anyone could do, examining the possible realities based on the limited information we have been given.

21. Georgie Porgie, J
    Would de two of wunna-all please stop spreading rumors about life in Heaven. Wunna-all will nevva experience life up there so please, please, please stop de pontifications. And as for you Mr. Porgie, no even Lucifer wants to have any dealing wid you. He doan like people dat worsa than he. So ya loss out wid he too.

JC
    you in got to ansa nun a Porgie questions ’bout Kellman, Buddy Braffit nor Winston Hall. Leh he kno he place man. I ask he a simpl question n he in ansa um yet? Here goes:

DR. PORGIE, HAVE YOU EVER KNOWINGLY DONE AN INJUSTICE TO YOUR FELLOW MAN?

Negro
    My soon -to -be, we all know dat Porgie is a idiot dat thrives on attention. He is such a ………………………stupseeeeeeeee.So pay him no mind and cast all thy attention to your dew-droplet.mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

22. @Chris

If such is the case and the PM is comatose the Governor General would have to intervene according to the constitution.

23. @David: “If such is the case and the PM is comatose the Governor will have to intervene according to the constitution.

OK.

But who is responsible for informing the Governor that the PM is comatose?

Where has that been defined in our constitution?

24. @Chris

Have we become so distrustful and cynical of the system we have?

There must be the assumption the GG has a structure in place to maintain a comfort level about the situation at hand.

See Section 66 (2) of the Constitution of Barbados to understand the power which resides in the GG, a ceremonial position most of the time but in this scenario a powerful player.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“If such is the case and the PM is comatose the Governor General would have to intervene according to the constitution.”

Intervene and do what?

26. Exactly what power david ? Section 66 (2) The GG doesn’t choose the next PM, he fires current one if he fails a no confidence motion and refused to step down or dissolve parliament. he merely acting as instrument of parliament and hold no power himself other than the sign the order. As for section 67 (1) as he is currently absent there is already a acting PM. Unless the PM dies then the acting PM wll continue to be the acting PM. section 66 (1) a confirm this in the statement with the rule of section 44 or 45 have nothing to done with being medically incapacitated.

Therefore there is no standing for him to be removed from being the PM if he in coma. Only way to do that now is if a no confidence motion was brought against him. I don’t think anyone wants that political suicide. So it just business as usual as far as parliament is concerned.

27. Negroman | October 8, 2010 at 1:29 PM |
    Re Why the hell you do not left Brother Scout alone.

Why donโ€™t you ask him the same question Sir? LOL He was the one that said I lost it and called me a variety of names man. He even called me an oxymoron man, cause he donโ€™t know what the word mean. I just responding to his indisretion man. LOL

Re Brother Scout has made a tremendous contribution to the success of this blog.

And I have made none? LOL

Re Why a pompous,arrogant,educated Dr.Jack Ass like you stick to the issues at hand and stop nit-picking at many of us,

Why donโ€™t you all stop the GP bashing LOL? And nit picking at everything I say and stick to the issues at hand?

I thought that David said that there was FREE SPEECH ON BU?

Re I am sure that Brother Scout in his own special way has made a tremendous contribution to this island.I cannot say the same for you,because after reading many of your comments on this blog,I am of the opinion that in your area of expertise-medicine,your contribution might have been limited as a consequence of your warped personality.

Sir since I left home I was flown to teach in Rarotonga ) BTW I highly recommend AIR NEW ZEALAND) Bonaire , Curacao, St Kitts Antigua Mexico and was paid DUTY FREE and I worked for more money than I ever worked for in Barbados………………………EVEN WITH ” MY WARPED PERSONALITY.”

LOL You can not adjudicate without the facts Sir
    Every time I pass the Polyclinics I know that I achieved more than many politicians have Sir. September 1 1985. LOL

Re I cannot believe that a person like you have chosen to go into a noble profession such as medicine โ€“ a discipline that tries to preserve & saves lives and you as a member of that discipline is rejoicing because our Prime Minister David Thompson has a terminal illness and is on the way out.

What does that have to do with me Sir? And only God can save and preserve lives Sir. The most a doctor can do is what he has been taught…..or what is referred to as current therapy, man. YOU HAVE TO TAKE THIS UP WITH THE LORD MAN. I have not contributed to the man’s illness. So dont get vexed wid me.

Your argument is a non sequitur Sir
    I have spent this whole year giving THANKS FOR THE WILL OF GOD IN MY LIFE

With respect to the PM THE LORD GIVETH AND THE LORD TAKETH AWAY. WHAT YOU WANT ME TO DO BEAT GOD? YOU GUYS MUST TRY TO ACCEPT GODโ€™S WILL AND GIVE THANKS

It is written IN EVERYTHING GIVE THANKS!
    Thats what I have been working hard at this year.

If David live or dead it does not benefit me or do me any harm.
    I AM HOWEVER VERY HAPPY TO SEE THAT SMOKEY BURKE IS BACK HOME I WILL GIVE THANKS FOR THAT

WUNNAH HATE ME CAUSE I DONโ€™T SHARE YOUR OPINION ABOUT DAVID. DONโ€™T I HAVE A CHOICE?

DONโ€™T I HAVE THE CHOICE TO SAY WHAT I WANT UNDER FREE SPEECH?

I enjoyed your rant though it illustrates what I have been saying Free Speech is free for some….but not for others LOL
    Keep censoring what I say. In between I here picking out a likkle living LOL

When you are finished with all your ad hominems, I will still eat well today, and make a little bread on the side setting up some virtual labs at home in my boxers. We will all still dead BUT DAVID LIKE HE WILL PRECEDE US AND WHEN HE DIES HE WILL BE PLANTED LIKE EVERYBODY ELSE EVEN WITH MORE POMP AND CIRCUMSTANCE JUST AS I SAID A FEW MONTHS AGO WHEN THE HERD FIRST ROSE UP AGAINST ME

I WILL CONTINUE TO SAY IT AS LONG AS I HAVE BREATH LOL CAUSE I AINT TELLING NO LIES
    I DONโ€™T UNDERSTAND THAT YOU CANT UNDERSTAND THAT THAT IS A FACT THAT CANT BE REFUTED LOL

AND YOUR NASTY WORDS WILL NOT STOP ME FROM OPINING THAT DAVID HAS BEEN JUDGED AND CUT OFF BY THE MASTER . OR THAT THE LORD SETS UP LEADERS AND TAKES THEM DOWN. HE IS NOT THE FIRST AND HE WONT BE THE LAST

I will be sticking to my convictions man

I HAVE NOT BROKEN ANY OF THE LAWS OF GOD OR THE LAWS OF BARBADOS BY STATING MY OPINIONS

Check the text of both. LOL

28. @anthony

Here is Section 67, how do you interpret clause 2?

67. (1) Whenever the Prime Minister is unable, by reason of his illness or absence from Barbados, to perform the functions Ministerโ€™s of his office, the Governor-General may, by instrument under the Public Seal, authorise any other Minister who is a member of the House of Assembly to perform the functions conferred on the Prime Minister by this constitution (other than the functions conferred by subsection (3) ) .

(2) The Governor-General may, by instrument under the Public Seal, revoke any authority given under this section.

(3) The powers conferred on the Governor-General by this section shall be exercised by him acting in his discretion if in his opinion it is impracticable to obtain the advice of the
    Prime Minister owing to the Prime Ministerโ€™s illness or absence, and in any other case shall be exercised by the Governor- General in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister.

29. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

Are we looking at a constitution crisis if the PM is indeed in a coma

30. David;

The GG seems to have some awesome and far reaching powers in the current likely situation.
    Do we have a substantive or an acting Governor General at this time? If the Governor General is not acting it might be of interest to know when he was appointed and by whom.

31. @Negroman | October 8, 2010 at 1:29 PM | – Ignore the little georgie – head aint brain. pompous as he is – he does ignore the fact that his time, as does the PM’s and each individual’s, will come. He is champing at the bit to take over God’s say-so over life & death. Thank the real God – it is not in this little pompous man’s hands. Whatever degree he was given, i don’t believe he is a practicing doctor. Actually, I don’t believe he is a practicing human being… We all ASSUME that with maturity and advancement in one’s career/ profession/ life, some level of grace & professionalism will be present – we can see by pgp’s frequent RANTINGS/ OUTBURSTS & constant bragging that this is not so. pgp is still in the school ground…he must have been given hell at school and this is his way to “show them”. He must have a whole lot of people on his “hit list”. poor soul!

32. Maggie
    And when you see Porgie typing in Bold and getting on like a scald-dog, that is when he is at his madest. I swear to God, dis man is a ‘jinkins-patient’. Doan mind de doctor talk. A lotta dem mad as hell. He is one.
    Doan pay he na mind.

Porgieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, ya losing it ol’ boy. I gun pray fa ya. Pray dat ya lose it allllllllllll. ya crin-imal.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

In case you did not notice there is an Acting PM.

34. Negroman
    Sometimes is best to ignore GP, it think it is my fault to waste times with a moron. I elevated him to being a oxymoron and he prove me wrong; there is no wisdom attached to that fool. G.P I apologise for even considering any positivity to your negative lifestyle. MORON

35. No Prime Minister
    No Governor General
    No Attormey General
    No Chief Justice
    No Minister of Agriculture

Lawd HAVE MERCY !
    Barbados on auto pilot
    May Day !
    May Day !
    Lets sing the song

DLP-DOOMED
    ONE TERM!
    ONE TERM!
    ONE TERM !
    ONE BAD TERM DOES NOT DESERVE ANOTHER

36. There are four votes in my house and when I discuss the behavior of GP and other BLP supporters on this blog and others since the PM became ill, the DLP now has four votes. If every caring Barbadian family follows that principle then the DLP will win handsomely again.
    BARBADIANS ARE NOT INTO THIS SONG AND DANCE OF WANTING PEOPLE TO DIE WHEN THEY BECOME ILL. Since the PM became ill these BLP supporters and that pond grass picker GP have been clamouring for him to die. Starting rumours every day, well I am now a crusader for the DLP

37. But Charlie GP has not clamoured for the PM to die. GP is a doctor and I am sure that he knows the survial statistics for people with stage 4 pancreatic cancer 5% at the end of 1 year and less than 1%percent at the end of 5 years. GP has said that he has never met the PM, does not know him and does not care one way or the other if he lives or if he died. He has said further that we will all die. And he has further said that the PM and his family and friends should not be praying for the PM’s recovery but rather they should be praying that the PM accepts whatever is God’s will for him.

None oe this can lead a reasonable person to believe that GP is clamouring for the PM to die.

38. Thanks to J for putting Charlie right
    It is really pure nonsense when people come to conclusions and make statements about other based on false premises.

Charlie !
    Man up! and apologize to GP and every other commenter and blogerites

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Kissmya

Remember:-

“Evil as hell the lot of them”

40. J, KISMIA
    I will repeat GP and the BLP supporters on this and other blogs have been very unsympathetic to the PM illness bringing up all the wrongs he has done to show that he is an evil man and so has been visited with this illness.
    The last thing you jump on the hobby horse with was that he was so evil that even on his sick bed he doing an evil act to Dr.Estwick.
    Barbadians will not forgive you for that behavior so your party will feel the effects.

41. @Charlie

Stop painting everyone with the same brush. There are only two persons in this forum that seem very cold and unsympathetic about the PM’s illness. Sympathy votes is not really doing our country any good. I voted for this present government to give them a chance. What have I gotten? Atrocious food prices, water bills to drown a man and lots of excuses. I am neither B or D but I will elect the party I think capable to lead this country. I have always voted that way. When the B’s were in full power, I later voted for the D’s so that there will always be some opposition. Opposition is healthy for a Democracy. Now I believe that I have to look at the performance of this present government, with all the many reshufflings , how can any person be able to do their job comfortably and effectively with just a few months on the job. Every minister has to learn about the ministry they are managing, that takes months. As soon as they are beginning to get a feel for it they are moved. Now that is not very good management. It will take more time for a new person to learn the job , time lost and the ministry suffers by nothing being done until the new minister get a hang of it. It is all a mess, and we cannot manage a business nor can we manage a household like this, least to say a small Country like Barbados. There will always be unsympathetic people in this life so I just ignore them. Remember today might be me and tomorrow might be you!

42. J
    You have made a sane, sober and sensible summary of my sayings. (Scout that sentence is full of alliteration. I suspect you will call me alliteration now just as you call me oxymorn yesterday you dummy LOL)

How is it , J that you can understand what I have clearly said, and the herd who would have my blood can not understand what I have said.

I will say it again

On hearing the symptoms of jaundice and abdominal pain I posted a ppt made by my Biochem students in 2005 in Curacao ON JAUNDICE followed by one on adenocarcinoma of the pancreas for the edification of those who were interested.

I further said that the PM will on dying be planted like every body else, even if with more pomp and circumstance. The herd came after me even though everyone of them must at some time in their lives witnessed such a scenario. Several burials occur in Barbados almost daily. Yet some folk on BU though they themselves exercised the permitted freedom of speech allowed on BU did not afford me the freedom to express my opinion on something they know to be a fact.

After all they know the PM better than me and about his lifestyle, so I am sure that they donโ€™t expect him to be translated like Enoch without dying , or be carried up in a chariot of fire like Elijah.

Anyway, they will not stop me from expressing myself under the free speech provision on BU.

I further expressed myself on the way he treated Leroy and my colleague in 1987. I have not forgotten it and I see it as an early symptom of power grabbing at all cost irregardles to who was hurt. This corroborates the view expressed by Mr Stuart that he caused much โ€œblood letting in the DLPโ€ that saw many DLPites defect to the BLP. It is a symptom that say him seek not to have Estwick as a candidate in the last election for whatever reason. If you will recall Estwick was chosen by his constituency branch before King David (not the real one) regained leadership of the party from Mr Mascoll- who was also used.

All these are facts that are generally known, but I have to endure a barrage of venom, and vitriol presented with vim and vigor for stating the truth.

I have also opined that God appoints leaders and removes them and that he also judges and cuts them off, and was at pains to give several examples from the Bible in support of my thesis, and I am willing to say these things over and over daily until the herd understands. And I donโ€™t give two hoots who agrees with me or not. You can hate me and call me all the names in the whole world but I remain resolute and repenteth not, as I have done nothing wrong. I just am not a hypocrite like many in Bim who expect to benefit from his demise in some way.

I am not interested in politics and donโ€™t care two hoots about either the DLP or the BLP and I care less about your King or idol.

THE LORD GIVETH AND THE LORD TAKETH AWAY BLESSED BE THE NAME OF THE LORD
    THE LORD SETS UP LEADERS AND HE REMOVES THEM
    The herd can continue to call me all kinds of names for stating the truth. The more they protest, the more I will say it.
    IT IS THE TRUTH

43. @ David.

The GG can revoke the power of acting PM @which time then the power revert to person of next seniority ie the Deputy PM and is made the acting PM. As the case now the Deputy PM is acting PM the power of the clause is none. The power of the clause only exist in section 67 and has no power in section 66 which is section that can remove a PM. section 44 & 45 governs who can be a member of the house and what disqualifies them. being medically incapacitated is not in there so it doesn’t qualify. As such HH doesn’t need to tell the GG even if he did nothing the GG can do about it. Only if they vote a no confidence can anything be done. And who want that political suicide . If his wife has power of attorney as he medically incapacitated I think she could resign him from the PM office but not sure how the constitution would view it .

44. @anthony

Will have to have another read of the document. Did not think the constitution recognized a deputy PM.

45. Charlie
    Doan mind J man. She in GP corna now, so she gun join he in unison bout evry ting. De two a dem use ta be busing one anudda leff, rite n centa but sumting happen up-stream n de two a dem is bosom-buddies now so doan expec much diffrance. J in neitha B nor D but she’s living in a fool’s paradise so doan pay she nor he na mind. ‘birds of a featha……….’

islandgal
    with the world economy as it stands, do you expect miracles? Should elections be held tomorr and the opposition regains power, do you expect a 360 degree turn around of the economy? C’mon, there’s no magic wand fairy-tale in dis place or America would got all. De whold world is in a crisis.

Porgie
    you is a idiot n misery love company. Only J would differ but deep down, she too knows that you’re a clown. Even JC like she realising it too since ya ask she shite bout being a university graduate or sumting so. You sa igrant doe. stupseeeee. Ya still in ansa my question yet. Ya con.

46. @ GP…….

You have said many times over that THERE IS NO FREE SPEECH ON BU.

Yet you say this today…’Anyway, they will not stop me from expressing myself under the free speech provision on BU.’

Man mek up ya mind do….LOL!!

47. GP is in a state of Depression, Denial, Delusion n Doubt.
    (Somebody call Jinkins please)

48. Tech
    You jus commit de cardinal sin. You should nevva point out GP shortcomings. He gun hate you fa life now too. You pun he ‘hit-lis’ now boy. Watchout.
    NO ONE DARES TO MESS WID ME, GP. and live to tell de tale.
    It’s a mad,mad,mad whirl.

49. @Bonny

I am aware that the world is in a recession, but to promise lower food bills, and raise de water by a whole 60 percent is wicked.
    The other side wouldn’t make miracles but I believe that they would handle things better. Just muh opinion.

Yuh see ah doin bodder wid GP anymore, he call me an ole whore, a drug addict and a unwed mudder. But I had to tell he dat he was birthed by one a dem he called muh. I realise he is a demented Doctor and I does pay he nuh mind. Yuh right , he belong down Jenkins. LOLLLLLLLLLLL

50. Dear Charlie:

I am not a member of the BLP.
    I am not a member of the DLP.
    I have never been a member of the BLP.
    I have never beena member of the DLP.
    I have never been a member of any political party anywhere or anytime.
    Nobody in my household is a member of any political party or has ever been a member of any political party at anytime or anywhere.
    I have voted for BLP candidates many times including the last election.
    I have voted for DLP candidates many times including the election before the last one.
    I hope to vote for both parties in the future.
    I do not wish the PM any harm. Like most peope I am sorry to hear that he is sick
    But I am a pragmatic person. I have accepted that he is dying. So no I have not prayed for God to heal him.
    I wrote the eulogies for each of my parents many months before either one of them died. I did not pray for God to heal them either. This does not mean that I did not love my parents. I loved my parents very much and anyone can tell you that I was a VERY, VERY DUTIFUL AND LOVING child.

But when I saw that death was imminent I did not pretend that they were going to get better, nor did I ask God to give them more time (I am not a greedy person, and my parents were not greedy people, we were able to say to God whatever you have given us is sufficient for this day) I accepted that death was inevitable and on the day they died the eulogies were already written, the burial fees had already been collected from all their children and I put the check in the undertakers hand the same time that he came to pick up the bodies.

If the Prime Minister was my father I would treat him with the same practical love. I would prepare for his inevitable death. I would make the arrangements with the priest. I would make the arrangements with the undertaker. I would write the eulogy, and I’d have the money saved and ready for the undertaker, and then I’d give him a dignified funeral. The same as I did for my parents.

Someone told me that my father’s funeral was the most beautiful and most dignified funeral he had ever attanded. And this someone is a genuine Barbados big shot. And my father was NOT a big shot, in fact he did not spend a day in school after the age of 11. My father had no money or high status, he was not at all politically connected. In fact the MP for the area did not come to the funeral nor did the opposition candidate but 1200 other people came. My father was rich in love, both in giving love and receiving love.

In my way of thinking this is LOVE IN ACTION.