Submitted by a Concerned Citizen

hiltonAs a local Barbadian who has being attending the Barbados Hilton since the 1970’s for the numerous entertainment shows and I also presently go to the popular Tuesday & Saturday nights shows featuring Wayne Jackman & his Show Time Band,I was shocked when it was announced that the same Wayne Jackman’s Show on Tuesday & Saturday nights are being cancelled by the new general manager of the Barbados Hilton because too many Black Barbadian go to that show.

After making some inquiries with some of the patrons who are accustomed attending that show, I was informed that  indeed it appears that was reason for the sudden cancellation of the show.

The Wayne Jackman & Showtime Band show at Barbados Hilton on Tuesday & Saturday nights were fully patronised by Barbadians including many local politicians.Politicians such as Ministers, Steve Blackett, Dr David Estwick, Patrick Todd, Donville Inniss, Adriel Brathwaite & even formers ministers such as Noel Lynch among others attended those shows.

I was made aware that the show was a lucrative venture for the hotel because the bar where the show is usually held makes some money for the hotel on those nights. I cannot believe that in Barbados in year 2010 Barbados could still be attracting white expatriate hotel mangers with racist tendencies who will seek to deny Barbadians the opportunity to enjoy the luxuries hotels in Barbados have to offer. What is so distressing about this whole situation is that the Barbados Hilton is part owned by the government of Barbados and by extension the people of Barbados. A newly arrived white general manager of the Barbados Hilton that has government money in it is denying Barbadians the opportunity to enjoy the hotel.That is reprehensible.

As a Barbadian who usually take my family to the Sunday Lunch Brunch and occasionally have dinner at that hotel,I will not be attending that hotel anymore,if what I have heard is true.

I am calling for the Board of the Barbados Hilton, Barbados Hotel & Tourism Authority, Barbados Tourism Board, Ministry of Tourism, The Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy & The Barbados Government to investigate the cancellation of the Wayne Jackman & Showtime Band Show at the Barbados Hilton because the new general manager of the hotel does not want Black Barbadians at the hotel.

It seems the Barbados Hilton is making a name for itself in Barbados,allegedly last year another expatriate white manager kicked a Barbadian worker and now the hotel has a new expatriate white general manager who does not want Black Barbadians at the hotel.  It appears the Barbados Hilton is the place where Barbadians rather not be.

46 responses to “Is This Really Happening At The Hotel Built With The Proceeds Of Barbados National Bank Sale?”

1. This was submitted by a concerned member of the public.

2. In the East we have one race… we call it Han. This is not a problem for us. I think you should sell Hotel to my family. Big Hotel in hand of people who know Eastern market and treat White people like Black people… no?

3. BAFBFP you are just a white racist clown.

4. Mr Doodle you must not refer to me as a clown… that is racialist and I am here to make friendly with everyone… no?

5. In the event that what the writer is hearing is true and not just an executive decision to offer something different to guests staying at the hotel, the satisfaction of who also happens to be the primary interest of any hotel. Why should the year 2010 be confusing?

6. I asked someone who works at this institution and it IS TRUE!!!!!

7. When some of us make comments of what happens in Barbados, we are taken to task for so doing. However, a blind man walking between cane fields on a dark night, would be more aware of what is happening in Barbados; than “us” who walk around blind to our “peculiar institution”.

8. It is common knowledge that some barbadians pretend that they do not know that discrimination exists in Bim irrespective of racist or other unacceptable habits.I do not care whether it was Wayne Jackman’s Band or Spice and Company(which would never happen)which was cancelled.Fact is something ain’t right.It is time that barbadians sabotage these establishments and let them know that without bajans in hard times there would be no balance. Kicking a black person, firing a black woman for braiding her hair- all this shit happens but only in Bim! I am sure the show was not cancelled because of lack of patronage or poor performance.This WHITE SLEIGH OF HANDS should be investigated and exposed!! This is bare rasshole!! It sucks!!!

9. I am not surprise at what the commenter has posted .The tourist industry in Barbados is racism at its worst.
    I have said it before,I worked in the hotel industry in my my younger days and believe me I could not wait for the day to come to make my exit from that particular line of work.The insults from the white quest,the humiliation that many of us hotels workers had to endure not only from the racist,obnoxious quest,but also from the management of the hotels were too much to handle.I am one the happiest persons now that I no longer have to depend on the white,stinking,racist,tourist that visit Barbados for a living.My heart goes out to those Black Barbadians who are dependent on the tourist industry for a job & a living.
    I have made contact with some workers at the Barbados Hilton regarding the situation highlighted by the commenter.Indeed,it appears that many of his observations are true.As the commenter indicated I cannot believe that something like that is happening in Barbados in the year 2010.
    This situation needs investigating by all the relevant authorities including the Prime Minister’s Office,Immigration Department,Ministry of Labour and other interest groups.This is indeed a very serious matter that must be dealt with in a very forceful way.No way in a modern Barbados in the year 2010 any stinking,musty,disease carrying white expatriate hotel manager should be cancelling entertainment in Barbadian hotels because Black Barbadians are attending those shows.
    If the information that is contained in that post is correct and indeed it seems to be correct,then the new general manager of the Barbados Hilton must be sent packing from Barbados.His work permit should be cancelled forthwith and that stinking scoundrel & white trash for a human being should never ever allowed in Barbados again.
    The press of Barbados not only Barbados Underground,but all the other media houses including The Nation,The Advocate,CBC,VOB & the rest,I am calling on all of them to fully investigate this matter.This is a serious development that must not be allowed to go uncheck in a modern Barbados.
    The new general manager of The Barbados Hilton must go.

10. No one will do shit!!

Bajans will just talk and talk and he same shit will continue because we are jokers when it comes to standing up for anything!!
    What boycott what……the wannabees will still go to keep up appearances.
    Remember the blog on dreadlocks?
    Let that be a guide to the mentality of Bajans…..stupse!!

11. And they are encouraging us to support Staycation? Nothing has changed in Barbados over the years. And I might add that its our local brothers and sister working at such places who in the end have to carry out the dictate of their racist managers. Does anyone think that these expatriate managers see our Member of Parliament /Ministers or VIP as anything other than just another ‘Nignog.?’ And for all of that , Bajans will still be flocking to the Hilton for one reason or another. Where is the Rosa Parks within us?

12. Ahhh Techie boy you are right. However, there are one or perhaps two persons who will stand firm!!!!!

I AM ONE!

I had made avow never to buy another nation newspaper and up to this date I have not!!!!!!!!

ahhhhhhhh as they would say such is life!

13. If black patrons of the Hilton Hotel are treated like scum. Then we could understand how the black workers are treated. Maybe the Barbados Workers Union should be included in any “concerned group”.

14. Bosun there are many Rosa Parks! It is just that a lot of lick asses wanna bes venture into those places!

Many Rosa Parks are just going along minding their businesses until somebody decides to mash their corns. It just ain’t happen yet! LOL

15. Smells a bit like sour grapes Avatar
    Smells a bit like sour grapes

Why does this come across as a desperate cry for employment from the band Wayne Jackman &Amp The Showtime band?
    Anyone else smell something funny?
    I happen to know thatr the band was costing more than was brought in in drinks sold.
    Hence they were cut. Nothing sinister or racsist there. Sorry to disappoint. Just business.
    Its time for us black people to grow up and stop playing the race card every time a business decision doesn’t go our way.
    Business is tough enough in the tourism sector without this bullcrap!

16. @ Raymond, not so long ago very few blacks could have entered the Yacht Club, unless they were barmen or maids. Now Bajans are trampling over each other to attend a function /seminar etc at the same racists establishment.Correct me if I am wrong, but there was a time when John King was lead singer in Spice & Co,and an Old Years night function was being held at the Yacht Club,and lo and behold, the original lead singer of Spice & Co was drafted back in for the night.
    To tell you the truth Bajans appear to like being kicked in the arse by whites, and it would not surprise me if after being kicked, they remark,”Man skipper, dah was a good wun.”
    I often said we should have learnt something from the Irish .

17. Mr. Sour grapes
    It is always the black people who have the problem. Every time a black person makes a comment against a white person they are deemed as racist.
    Now I would never be exposed to racism in the Hilton or any other hotel in Barbados because I am not going in any. Even black Americans are not treated well and they do not come to Barbados but go to the Bahamas and Jamaica.
    Barbados survives on the most subtle racism in the world.

18. Smells a bit like sour grapes // July 22, 2010 at 12:40 PM

You know that most persons who frequented that particular bar on Saturdays nights. KNOW FOR A FACT that it use to make money, and it was also a time when persons ‘rubbed shoulders’ with the BLACKS!!!!

Why are you lying?

In there use to be burst from what my sources tell me!

19. Can the Hilton Corporation please refund the millions and millions of dollars illegally and in breach of the Management Agreement taken from Needhams for the Hilton Caribbean Marketing Initiative? At last count it should be about 5 million bim dollars.

20. @Bosun you jolted my memory and you know what? You are so right!Management however want some good God blimmas in he transparent skin. Now MIA! I do not know why you should ask what is so confusing bout the year 2010. You were once manager of the band Sygnature or you rather owned Sygnature. Here is your chance to kick some ass so reel and come again!!!! Oh well guess not………

21. The tourism sector in Barbados has been weaned on racism and one of the reasons – not perhaps in this case – is that a few local whites impose their racism on the tourists. In that they believe the white tourists will not like this or that experience because of its proximity to blacks.

Have you ever wondered why certain yachting trips etc are not more inclusive to black tourists, have you ever wandered why more black tourists are not seen at the boatyard and such places, because a subtle method of selection by certain local reps is employed…it is not by accident.

Tour briefings after arrival can be changed at short notice, with the knowledge of a few in the party. There is the unexpected time change, the phone call that was never made, thus not received and a myriad of other excuses. All because of local prejudices implanted as perceived knowledge of what tourists want. I speak of reps of large players…they know who they are.

The tragedy is that Barbados is being “short changed”, many black tourists with money to spend give Barbados a miss and thus a lucrative market is lost, because of a narrow view of the world…all part of the “peculiar institution” but hey! it does not happen here.

22. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

Black People always looking for excuses and something to mope bout.

What racism what ?

The people cancelled the show , so what >
    He dont like black people

Come On !
    Blacks always feel that people planning against them -Talk about thin skinned—Oh my !

Get a life Blacks !

23. Smells a bit like sour grapes Avatar
    Smells a bit like sour grapes

@JC

“Used to be burst”

Seems you hit the nail on the head JC.
    Check your sources to see if it has not dropped off considerably since then.

Or maybe that’s just another racist plot.

Time to grow up. Our island is tourist dependent. The majority of tourists and ex-patriate managers are not racist…Don’t let a few bad apples make you into one too!

24. Kammie Holder Avatar

I have started my investigations as a concerned and civic minded Barbadian. Thus I am trying to contact Wayne Jackman, Llyod Nurse or Leo Welch of the Band. Hopefully, I will have some preliminary info by tomorrow. Lets not jump to conclusions yet. It would be foolish to cancel a show, thats making money unless there where guest complaints, or security issues. Hold of the salacious gossip until!

25. i guess they will soon stop breakfast for locals. dont worry u good u will get play

26. @flavour of the month

your quote: get a life blacks.

—————

And let me guess your not a racist…..

27. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

of course I am not racist

28. Kammie Holder
    I am waiting for your response Have you not yet gotten in contact with any of the members of the group?
    Lloyd,Leo,Shirnelle or even Wayne if you of you all are reading this post,it will be intersted to get the band’s postion on the whole matter.

29. Flavour of the Month

I believe that I must say to you that you soundon’ a little scary me and my family,,,!

30. @flavour of the month

Interestingly enough … many racist people never see themselves as racist.

31. Flavour of the month
    And what is your flavour for this month? Wait, lemme guess. SHITE pun top a PUPP. I right? Had a mind so. Fkucing idiot.

32. @BAFBFP

Question. How come you and yuh chinese family don;t support black restaurants.While we black people buy wunna chinese food? no!
    Also you and yuh family make lousy cheap productsnuf junk no!

33. ac

No No, you must not say these thinigs, it is not sexy ..no? We do not eat in your restuarants because we are most times already to full from serving in our own restaurants ..no? We from East have small belly, very very small.

But you must remember that in the sixties they said that Japan had cheap product too. And in the seventies they said that Korea had cheap products too. And in the eighties they said that Hong Kong had cheap products too. Today it is China that is fighting to keep the cost of good and service at affordable level ..no?

34. No no Bonny you must not say those words… you must make friendly with everybody…no?

35. @BAFBFP

Yuh family don’t hire we blacks either ..No! yuh belly small and yuh minds small too.No! yuh people only friendly when we blacks spend de money wid yuh .No!
    Now tell yuh family dat fuh me now O.K. . BTW some of the foods yuh produce also killing de people . How about dat milk you and yuh family produce dat kill many babies. I tink you and your family a bunch of racist too No.!

36. @BAFBFP

BTW you and yuh family must stop using people as slave labourers to get rich. No.!
    pay people a living wage . You and yuh family getting rich off the blood sweat and tears of the poor and disadvantage people of the East! NO! and yuh products should be banned world wide disgusting No!

37. @ BAFBFP

You are engaging in *duplicity* giving the impression – photo- you are of a race which you are not. If a photo of a black person was so used by someone of a different race for inane comments would that be funny? anyway, funny you are not.

38. ac

You must understand that because of success of East we have been a but of Western campaign to vilify. You hear of milk and children toys that West say is tainted, but is this true?

You must know that we are pawn in overall campaign by Western marketers to exploit whatever is available, even if it means encouraging Chinese contractors to cut corners. Ever you hear of Rendition? It is a policy of West to kidnap foreign citizens and ship them off to territories where torture is allowed. Bajan complain bitterly of places like Cuba and China for human rights violations but conveniently ignore atrocities of their big and powerful neighbor who has done little more than spit on you at your every turn with unfulfilled promises…

You buy Puma, IBM, RightGuard and every other brand name product that employs Chinese in one way or other. You do not complain to the marketers, they are the ones making the most off of your purchases… we are Socialists competing in a Capitalist world. I do not like what is happening but we are pawns who just want to make friendly with everyone …no? (Now they say our exchange rate is too cheap …no? We are beating them at their own game and they are changing the rules)

By way, does Bajan have minimum wage legislation..? We do…

39. Anonymous

You must not refer to me as a duplicit that would make you a racialist. Actually I was always from the East but posing as a Bajan with a Bajan photo. But of course you have no problem if I mimic a Bajan even though I from the East .. no? I think I need to stand in upside down position to figure you out …no?

40. Anonymous @ 8:05
    Doan mek ma laff. I hate ta laff sa early pun a Satada.
    How do you know which ethnic group BAF is from? And why can’t he be Chinese? Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, look doan be sa tin-skinned do. Um too near ta Kadooment Day Wuk-Up spree ta spile de fun.

BAFBFP
    I luv dah new pic a you rale baddddddddd. I always had a feelin dat u did Chinee.

But BAF, Bonny no wanna make frien-ly wih evvabody. Me no Chinee. Only Chinee like ta make frien-ly wih evvabody. Me racialis. (wink,wink)

41. JC said:

You know that most persons who frequented that particular bar on Saturdays nights KNOW FOR A FACT that it use to make money.

I have a question- Is your knowledge about the profitability of this arrangement based on the say-so of the patrons who frequented the bar?

The only way a person would know “for a fact” that the arrangement was profitable is if he or she saw the hotel’s accounts.

It may be that the band was popular and many people attended the bar on a Saturday night. However, I don’t know if anyone on this blog knows for sure that the income that was generated from the sale of drinks and food was enough to offset the expenses related to having the Band perform every Saturday.

42. @Anonlegal

Spoken like a true lawyer, keep reading…

43. On a good Tuesday or Saturday night when the band performs,the bar at the Barbados Hilton could make about $5,000.00 or $6,000.00 in the 2 & 1/2 hrs to band played.On an average night when the band plays & the bar is not that busy the average sales could between $3,000.00 to $4,000.00.
    Wayne Jackman & his Showtime Band get either $1,000.00 or $1,200.00 as payment.
    Taking into consideration that on the other nights the bar is open,the bar is practically empty and if the bar makes $1,000.00 or $1,500.00 on those nights,the bar has done well.The Wayne Jackman Show generates significant income for the main bar at the Hilton.I challenge the new expatriate general manager,Director of Operations Leroy Browne or Food & Beverages Manager Mark Welch to come and challenge this post.
    The cancellation of the Wayne Jackman Show has nothing to do with the financial viability of the show,but with other issues.As with the suggestion that other commenters have put forward,I also join the group in stating that the large presence of Barbadian Blacks at the Hilton Hotel was the major reason for the cancellation of the show.
    Anonlegal,it is people like you who always seek to find justification for the discrimination & unfair treatment that is meted out against Black People.The Black Race could never progress when we have educated clowns like you around spouting your garbage.

44. @ I know

Relax. No need for the acrimony. I have no clue why the decision was made to cancel the show and I do not pretend to know.

My only point was that unless a person has access to the bar’s accounts (as you clearly do) he or she cannot say with any certainty, based on patronage, that the arrangement was a profitable one.

Income is not all that determines profitability.

One another note, you do not know anything about me so how would you know that “people like me” seek to find justification for discrimination. I find that a strange comment.

Anyway, just so I am clear. I know nothing about this situation. So I am not challenging anything you say.

45. whistling frog Avatar
    whistling frog

I just cannot understand the white and black thing here in Barbados,,,Is it afew die hard blacks who because of their incompetence to excel etc have a personal axe to grind against the handfull of whites who have attained some level of uppance?? Look around Barbados,,,WHO DRIVING DE $400,000.00 BMW’S??????WHO LIVING IN DE BIG BIG BIGUP MULTI BEDROOM HOUSES ON DIS HEIGHT AND DAT HEIGHT??????WHO BREKKING DOWN DE CRUISE SHIP DOORS TO GO CRUUUIISEEE????WHO IN ALL DE BIGUP FANCY TONGUEBITING JOBS ???? I AND I AND ALOT MORE SAY BLACK PEOPLE ,,,,,,it is PLAIN AS DAYLIGHT,,,BLACK PEOPLE RULE HERE IN BARBADOS<<<<JUST CHECK AND SEE WHO OWN WHAT IN SANDY LANE(BLACK PEOPLE),,,,YET wunnah all still trying to BLAME THE WHITE MAN AS USUAL,,,,AAAHH ME BIG TOE HURT,WHO TO BLAME ?? AH THE WHITE MAN<<<OH LORD AH CAN PAY DE MORTGAGE<BECAUSE AH DUN BUY A BMW<<<WHO TO BLAME ???? DE WHITE MAN<<<OOHH LORD WHAT A SCAPEGOAT DE WHITE PEOPLES BE!!!!!

46. Continue with your comments HERE.