Submitted by Rosemary Parkinson –  (as a comment)

Credit: my rustic Bajan garden blog

When one questions what will be done in this area to generate money re foreign reserves…how about export? As I said before, if we do things right, if we plan our agriculture correctly and show farmers, for instance, how to make their farms into productive eco-sustainable tourism facilities like say Goodfellow Farm in The Bahamas (just spent a week there and have done a study for IICA Barbados on this), we can earn those much needed US/Canadian/European euro etc. etc.

We could also export. There are niche markets to capture. My Tobagonian/Swedish friend Duane Dove owns a chocolate shop in Stockholm – and saw such a niche for instance. He bought an old cocoa farm in Tobago, revived it, and now it is a totally eco-sustainable tourism product where people visit and experience the cocoa story. He has also just produced in conjunction with a French chocolatier the first ever single bean (from his estate) from this part of the world – and it is amazing (he gave me a bar so I know). His chocolate is selling for a hefty price in Europe because it is made from organic chocolate and is a luxury item of perfection. But he did not just buy a farm, called himself a farmer whilst driving an escalade and covering himself in gold and designer clothes…he was out there with his staff learning, working, digging and planting. Now that is real different isn’t it? And he had to go to Europe to discover that farming in the Caribbean can be lucrative?? Man! Why are we so ignorant!!!

If we can perfect certain agricultural products in this same way, we too can make a huge name for ourselves. I say sugar cane for starters because this is what we do best here. Tours from cane to sugar to rum…and amazing products from all these sections that are so beautifully made and exotic they will fit right in to any niche market abroad. A pound of muscovado golden-brown sugar is like gold in health food and luxury stores around the world! Now take Golden Apples…we grow them here in abundance…does any one have any idea as to what we could do with these? Well…I do!

Farmers can be recognized as an important part of the society if only we would get rid of de dyamned slave connection to this most respected profession. That was hundred years ago and instead of carrying the burden on our shoulders, we should put it in a wheelbarrow and dump it as compost! We can start by encouraging agriculture in schools, and sending children to agricultural universities. Yes! Governments have to respect farmers…they do not need financial subsidies, what they require is a system of free import duties and knowledge from a good team of passionate agriculturists… Praedial larceny is a huge problem and easily rectified too with the co-operation of the powers that be.

You know what? Give me two years to rectify the chupedness that goes on, give me the tools to make this work, and I will show all disbelievers that food is the source of our maximum gain…imagine all the hotels/restaurants in this country using local produce…making gourmet dishes with what we consider to be staples – ‘foodies’ would flock from all over the world! Right now the only real cuisine is served up the traditional way in small local ‘cookshop-type’ facilities and whilst I take my hats off to the people who cook for us in this way and I support them all the way to food-heaven, I still feel that we are not showing how we can take this to level of gourmet. Are we so ashamed of our own foods? I have proven oft enough that those who visit us want local…! For crying out loud we have all the food networks scouring the islands looking for those special tastes but it does not always have to come across that we only serve these foods in “huts of bamboo” as they are portraying us! If we gave our local flavours the respect they deserve, if we  had our local flavours displayed in a beautiful manner, if we could show how our local flavours are grown and the love and pride put into the growth, the cooking, the display on a plate..  we would be on our way. There is nothing more satisfying than to be able to tell someone from the US or Europe…this is our beef, grown right here on our land…taste the difference Sir and Madam, just taste it!!

There is much to be done and it could be easily done. I visit farmers all the time and I have heard their cries. And I am frankly exhausted at the ignorant lot of people we have become who would prefer to give a TGI Fridays (US processed food in a microwave), KFC, now Subway all our business and to go to a restaurant and have a US steak – if only people were aware of what a US steak contains imbeded in its meat, perhaps then they might consider eating our local beef. See the movie Food Inc. Read the books Fast Food Nation, Omnivore’s Dilemna, In Defense Of Food – there is proof that we are killing ourselves and our children by what we are importing.

As I said before it does not take a Rocket Scientist. And we have people like Mrs. Ena Harvey who is wealth of information, people like myself who are passionate about growing, processing, eating local who would be committed to improving this area and showing how to keep our foreign reserves’ bin filled to capacity through food…but???
Sometimes I tire of the fight. Because our Caribbean brains perhaps have been far too fried in US soya or corn oil, our stomachs are addicted to trans fats, the enhancers, the preservatives etc etc that are part and parcel of imported (particularly US imported) foods…We are drowning in a quagmire of shit peoples…we really are!

And just to answer the African snail thingie…why the hell can’t each individual in this country kill or bag every snail they see in their daily life instead of sitting munching on KFC and watching American Gansta movies as couch potatoes waiting for government to do the work. I am so tired of governments being blamed for the inefficiencies of us the people. We are the problem, not them. We all have known for eons of time that politicians love us during elections and hate us for the rest of the time they are in power. So why not elect them because we have a right to, ensure they do what is good for us because we can and ought to by insistence, and get up off our arses and work towards our country making it without losing ourselves to America and Europe – with the latter having ‘again’ written after it several times.

It is all up to us. And it is up to us because we can each make a difference. We cannot be that stuped not to see how. or at least I try not to believe it. It is getting more difficult each day, however!

132 responses to “How About Export Barbados?”

1. Masta Rasta

I am in your debt Sir… (Be good, the americans owe me too much already)

2. J

“Mascoll is a town boy and knows nothing about agriculture”

I am in your debt Ma’am… (Be good, the americans owe me too much already)

3. @Rosemary:

Well done and well said Rosemary. I have read some of your previous articles. I dont know if anything has ever been accomplished, but just continue. Someday, someone will listen. Regards to Pat and Jeffrey and their families.

@BAFBFP

So now you be Chiney. You betta change de name den. I like Ting Ling.

4. Pat

So you not like me anymore..? Yo hau quin cho suka ruri..?

5. How ’bout Big Ling… ho ..?

6. Simple to buy Bajan productsNo! it cost more and people buy what is more cost effective to their pocket books!
    No matter how many products we produce and they are not marketed properly they would only sit on the shelve . The idea is to introduce our products to an international market which at this time is woefully lacking.

7. This topic will always be a hot topic on the lips of bajans because every right thinking bajan, except politicians, know how important crop agriculture is to the stability or growth of its GDP. So no one in Barbados should be surprise that successive governments are not interested to that extent in agriculture. The question begs to differ though, Why? I say high class ignorance could be one of the reasons; I say another is that much draw backs cannot be had for lining the pockets of many of the high profile crooks; I say because successive governments have not the balls to challenge some of the crooked merchants who use imports as an excuse to keep prices’ inflated (not to mention many of our politicians are bought by the merchants); I say ignorance and our small thinking has us believing that anything over and away is better; I say we continue believing that we are too small to produce this or that, not enough land, not enough interested persons endeavouring to go into productive agriculture; I say we have a bunch of jokers masquerading (not all to be fair) as so called agriculture experts whose contribution is far more counter productive because they are paid to talk and talk is basically all that they do; I say because of our lacklustre approach to agriculture research or research on a whole is waiting to finally to be given a reality from those who view research as just a mere figment of the imagination; I say we seem contented on praises and bragging that we feel good knowing that we give away our genetic black belly sheep line to the over and away people for them to develop succulent lamb whilst they reap the monetary rewards and we get the rights to say, THEY GET IT FROM BARBADOS.

Our approach to food and food security just needs to take a look at how long it is taking government to establish the National Agriculture Health and Food Safety Authority (NAHFTA). We take eons to do anything and another eon to establish it when we start to do it. So how in God’s earth we expect to make money from agriculture when it took us so friggin long to establish a food security agency ? This is how we do business bout hey and as per usual we gotta wait and see if it gine happen.

8. Now here is a story that boggles the mind…and on a Monday morning when one is gathering all the strength required to live through another week of foolishness.

Just called a contact that was given to me for the making of traditional old-time sweets…tamarind balls, sugar cakes, fudge, comforts etc. In conversation the lady who has been making these for a long time tells me that she is having problems buying Bajan sugar. She was busy as we were speaking making Sugar Cakes with Florida sugar crystals because the other sugars from Colombia etc etc are not good enough for her sweets…they cause endless problems with the recipes. This lady has complained to the sugar industry, and the Ministry of Agriculture. She was told from the sugar people she would have to buy a ton of sugar (in all seriousness) if she wanted real Bajan sugar! She ends her conversation with me on this note: “De only ting that is 100% Bajan in my sweets right now is me!” What de backside….I mean I am besides myself with anger!

I have a headache….

9. “Export Barbados” – A vision for a post recession Barbados I see as a key part of the equation in “lowering” our dependence on the tourism and the financial sector.

10. Josquin Desprez Avatar
    Josquin Desprez

Carson C. Cadogan // July 18, 2010 at 9:10 AM

I asked a question before and no one answered me. I will ask it again. Is Owen Arthur still working his backyard garden or was that only pappy show at election time?

It is very interesting to note that Hansley Benn suggested to Barbadians that they should take up backyard gardening to help with the rising cost of living. Can you tell me what was his agenda.

Sir, I think that you are a very sick individual who is filled with an enormous amount of hate. An idiot with a computer + access to the internet = Carson C Cadogan. This guy can never bring anything educational to this blog. Agriculture – cuss Arthur and Mottley; football – cuss Arthur and Mottley; a house burn down – cuss Arthur and Mottley. Get a life, sir, you are making yourself an ass, and I am serious. Do some research and bring something educational to this blog.

11. There is a product called bagasse which is used to make paper . Bagasse is made from the remanants of sugar cane ,In barbados we called it trash. I wonder if anybody in the agriculture industry is aware of the benefits Moreover it is enviromentally friendly. Recently I purchased a notebook made with this product.I

12. @ Rosemary Parkinson // July 19, 2010 at 8:06 AM

Now here is a story that boggles the mind…and on a Monday morning when one is gathering all the strength required to live through another week of foolishness.

Just called a contact that was given to me for the making of traditional old-time sweets…tamarind balls, sugar cakes, fudge, comforts etc. In conversation the lady who has been making these for a long time tells me that she is having problems buying Bajan sugar. She was busy as we were speaking making Sugar Cakes with Florida sugar crystals because the other sugars from Colombia etc etc are not good enough for her sweets…they cause endless problems with the recipes. This lady has complained to the sugar industry, and the Ministry of Agriculture. She was told from the sugar people she would have to buy a ton of sugar (in all seriousness) if she wanted real Bajan sugar! She ends her conversation with me on this note: “De only ting that is 100% Bajan in my sweets right now is me!” What de backside….I mean I am besides myself with anger!

I have a headache….

Ms. Parkinson, I was beginning to like you, so I shall tell you that having a headache is a good sign. It means that your head is still screwed on right, and it is working. Look, I don’t plan to waste what little time I have on these blogs. If you are a real person, and a serious one, please call Leslie Parris, GM ,BAMCL at 425 0010, and let us arrange to discuss any good ideas you might have on how to rescue the sugar industry. God knows, that the industry, agriculture, and Barbados need some halfway-decent ideas to get out of the current mess.

13. @Mr. George Reid

Couldn’t you just have provided the contact information without the disparaging remark? Didn’t the blog facilitate this constructive engagement? Would you have felt more comfortable doing this in the Nation Newspaper?

14. ac wrote “Bagasse is made from the remanants of sugar cane ,In barbados we called it trash”

No ac. In Barbados we call it bagasse.

Trash is the dried unprocessed leaves of the sugar cane as found in the fields.

Bagasse is the fibrous remnants left over from crushing the sugar cane and which is produced only at sugar factories. Traditionally some bagasse is left over from one crop season to the other, and used as fuel at the beginning of the next crop season to get the machines started.It can also be used to make paper, cardboard and many other things.

Please take this correstion in the spirit in which it is given.

J who was raised in the middle of the sugar cane fields (literally)

15. @J

Well as a child I always heard the old folk calledit “Trash”. Recentlyas I said i bought a note book which was made from it.
    Your correction was taken in the kindred spirit it was given THANKS i appreciate it

16. I t would be interesting to know if Barbados export any bagasses to other countries.

17. @ David

I feel that this is a matter that should be followed up in the public interest. I really can’t believe it….

Rosemary comes on BU and obviously ‘off the cuff; rattles of a series of obvious challenges to agricultural business in Barbados.

George Reid PHd, Chairman BAMCL come on and enthusiastically offers
    ****************************************************************************************
    “I am going to propose to my Board of Directors, at our next meeting, that we develop a framework for engaging the positive energies of people like Ms. Parkinson, whose thinking seems to be fully in accord with mine, at the current juncture.
    ****************************************************************************************

Have you noted what the Doc promised?

“…to develop a framework for engaging positive energies”

Nothing to do with the issues Rosemary raised mind you!! If we are lucky, this could be something in alternative energy ROTFL….
    ..although it is much more likely to be another academic exercise requiring the use of a consultant from abroad and a couple of research assistants…… LOL.

18. Bush Tea, naughty, naughty.

19. One of the things that George Reid PHd, Chairman BAMCL can propose to his Board of Directors, at their next meeting is that they find a way to help small farmers (less than 5 acres) get cultivation services. A couple of years ago I lost a whole growing season because I could not find a ploughman who lived near enough to make it worthwhile for him to come to my small lot. In the good old days one could call Bullens, or Jerusalem or other agricultural stations and make a reservation tto have the land cultivated. WIthin a day or two a competent ploughman would show up and plough the land for a fee and the the small farmer could plant. People who are farming less than 5 acres generally cannot afford to buy a plough, but are happy to purchase ploughing services as required. Like I can’t afford to buy a whole car, but am happy to pay my busfare so that I can get to work. No point waiting until I can afford a car before going to work.

20. BTW, Ms Parkinson, are you a relative of Cyril Northcote…?

21. This person George Reid seem to spend alort of time blogging.Is he employed by the taxpayer and if so would he tell us what he has done on the job in the last week .

22. China recently bought twogovernment own sugarcane factories in Jamaica.Listen Barbados!If you can take care of your own ,there is always some one with mega bucks to do it!

23. What have become of our once thriving Sea Island Cotton industry? Has China bought that too? I know of an agronomist who was with the Ministry of Agriculture cotton programme,who opted to teach in New York city rather than continue working for the MOA. A waste of a valuable resource.

24. @ Rosemary Parkinson

“We have people like David West here who has long screamed the viability of the sugar industry and we people gine pay big money to someone who has nevah lived here and doan even understand de language to tell us what to do with sugar cane? Do me a cane-cutting favour and give me a salt-bread and two break!!! In the 80s I worked on a presentation campaign with Mr. West designing the little crocus bags with a print of a working sugar plantation where muscovado – our golden gorgeous sugar – could be packaged and sold to niche markets – There was more, of course, that we did to promote this industry…nothing came of it even ‘though he took it to England if I remember rightly.”

I decided to use my real name to provide an indication of my sincerity in getting a dialogue going. And yes, Bushie, I do have a PhD, which I earned after 18 months of graduate study. I might be better off if I had a PHD, even if I made my money in producing “non-milk”. However, after reading the more recent comments (remember mine was no #4), I am beginning to wonder whether the volubility of some of the contributors to this topic does not indicate a hidden agenda behind all the cackle! And, by-the-way, Bushie, long ago I decided that I had no interest in narrow “economism”, and that my preference was for broad-based social analysis. In my years in public life I have tried to be an agent for what my calling card describes as “helping people to think things through”. Further, at my initiation I was taught to be cautious. Hence I stand by my promise as Chairman of BAMCL “…to develop a framework for engaging positive energies”. This may sound vague but there are limits to what can be achieved by the direct “project” approach. Although the BAMCL is an agricultural producer it has lost a lot of money in the attempt to implement concrete proposals, which it probably should have left to the construction sector –talk about $750 million wasted in “overruns”. When one attempts to deal with the Barbados sugar industry one must understand both praxis, and taxis, as well as the ethnogeography of socio-economic development on our Island. Nuff said!!

25. @ ac // July 19, 2010 at 9:11 PM

“This person George Reid seem to spend alort of time blogging.Is he employed by the taxpayer and if so would he tell us what he has done on the job in the last week .”

You seem to be another of those persons who cannot tell the difference between “jobs” and “jobby”. However, for your information, and those of other inquiring minds, I retired from the Public Service in August 1996, with a full pension, which isn’t so “full” now, considering the rise in the cost-of-living over the intervening years.

26. @ Dr Reid
    When one attempts to deal with the Barbados sugar industry one must understand both praxis, and taxis, as well as the ethnogeography of socio-economic development on our Island.
    ************************************************************************************************
    Man George, I like you!!!
    I feel you continue to have loads to contribute to Barbados…. but you going have to ease up on the verbosity doh!!! …although somewhere in that statement I feel that you have encapsulated the basic problem with the sugar industry in Barbados LOL…but a poor bushman needs two dictionaries to get at the meaning…rotfl

….btw, would you like to withdraw from your initial position on the wisdom of inviting the IMF to hand us a program….?

27. @George Reid

You seem to be another one of those persons who cannot tell the difference between :”jobs”and jobby:”applause please!

Now for your information and those of inquiring minds, A job is something that you don”t have ,and a “jobby:” is something which you do a lot of the time . who is listening to you!I know it is past your bedtime!Nightie nite!

28. ac // July 19, 2010 at 9:39 PM

“China recently bought two government owned sugarcane factories in Jamaica…”

You now have expose my reason for me in your cuntry… (the English is difficult, it take time no…?)

29. Dear Mr. Reid:

I am not a relative of Cyril Northcote.

I noted your insistence that I call the BAMCL. I have no problem with that – once I finish the project I am working on right now – a culinary tour of Barbados. But….and hear me well Sir:

You do not want me to tell how I feel about words like (not yours) “Oh! Rosemary, you are needed. Be at a meeting at….and we will put you to work.” From then on, it is ‘proposals’ to fix easily fixable things that no one else seemed capable of doing even after twenty or more years in their positions of power; paperwork that destroys acres of forests, meeting upon meetings, taking same paperwork to boards upon boards, meetings with same boards, University jargon that makes no sense to this simple type for I am just this kind of girl: “I show you how much it will cost in perfect detail, you give me the resources (as I require them) and let me get on with my job and I will prove to you this can all happen quite easily for success”. And then later, months and years later, when proposals are finally approved, it is double standards, jealousies, those who do not want to be shown up ensuring they keep trying to trip you, meetings upon meetings…perhaps I should just say a repetition of all of the above.

Tiring foolishness. Little people behind big desks that must be constantly made to feel important because they do not appear to know they are, and do not seem to care that stroking egos just wastes precious time that could be used out there in the field for those of us who do not mind getting our hands and feet dirty in de mud and bagasse!

Your other comments I am not sure if they are there to mock or if they are serious Sir. Either way…perhaps you might like to pave the road for someone like myself, (and the many who have gone before, still go today and who really want to see the whole Caribbean become an entity to be respected by other continents) not to waste precious time with ignorance. Right now I have chosen the path of documenting food and recipes, traditional and present…so when the day comes that we are eating concrete and drinking ethanol, we can read same to our children and remember the good old days!

I have no time to waste time.

I am humbly your servant,

Rosemary Parkinson
    Author: Culinaria The Caribbean, Nyam Jamaica and soon to be published Barbados Bu’n-Bu’n

30. Dear Ms. Parkinson:

I’m sorry if I have offended you since I am sure that you mean well by your efforts to preserve a modicum of agricultural sustainability in the economy of Barbados. Having seen your photo on Facebook, I now recognise that my reference to understanding the “ethnogeography” of the sugar industry and agriculture in general may have rankled. But I, too, have little time to waste, and though I have spent more than 45 years sitting at a desk, and my lack of muscle tone, and suspect feet confirm that, I do understand the limits of the desk-bound life.

It is unfortunate that the financiual difficulties that currently confront the GoB, severely constrain the scope of the creative solutions that can be applied to saving our agriculture. I applaud your efforts to document the process of converting local “ingreasements” into palatable and nutrituous food. I suspect that “ethnicity” has something to do with the penchant for “fast food” in Bimshire! Ironically, if you are too fast you don’t eat.

Good luck with your book, but give a thought to whether you do not get “bu’ bu’n” through applying too much heat or too little liquid, or both to the rice!!

31. You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the article you
    write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you
    who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart.