Submitted by Rosemary Parkinson –  (as a comment)

Credit: my rustic Bajan garden blog

When one questions what will be done in this area to generate money re foreign reserves…how about export? As I said before, if we do things right, if we plan our agriculture correctly and show farmers, for instance, how to make their farms into productive eco-sustainable tourism facilities like say Goodfellow Farm in The Bahamas (just spent a week there and have done a study for IICA Barbados on this), we can earn those much needed US/Canadian/European euro etc. etc.

We could also export. There are niche markets to capture. My Tobagonian/Swedish friend Duane Dove owns a chocolate shop in Stockholm – and saw such a niche for instance. He bought an old cocoa farm in Tobago, revived it, and now it is a totally eco-sustainable tourism product where people visit and experience the cocoa story. He has also just produced in conjunction with a French chocolatier the first ever single bean (from his estate) from this part of the world – and it is amazing (he gave me a bar so I know). His chocolate is selling for a hefty price in Europe because it is made from organic chocolate and is a luxury item of perfection. But he did not just buy a farm, called himself a farmer whilst driving an escalade and covering himself in gold and designer clothes…he was out there with his staff learning, working, digging and planting. Now that is real different isn’t it? And he had to go to Europe to discover that farming in the Caribbean can be lucrative?? Man! Why are we so ignorant!!!

If we can perfect certain agricultural products in this same way, we too can make a huge name for ourselves. I say sugar cane for starters because this is what we do best here. Tours from cane to sugar to rum…and amazing products from all these sections that are so beautifully made and exotic they will fit right in to any niche market abroad. A pound of muscovado golden-brown sugar is like gold in health food and luxury stores around the world! Now take Golden Apples…we grow them here in abundance…does any one have any idea as to what we could do with these? Well…I do!

Farmers can be recognized as an important part of the society if only we would get rid of de dyamned slave connection to this most respected profession. That was hundred years ago and instead of carrying the burden on our shoulders, we should put it in a wheelbarrow and dump it as compost! We can start by encouraging agriculture in schools, and sending children to agricultural universities. Yes! Governments have to respect farmers…they do not need financial subsidies, what they require is a system of free import duties and knowledge from a good team of passionate agriculturists… Praedial larceny is a huge problem and easily rectified too with the co-operation of the powers that be.

You know what? Give me two years to rectify the chupedness that goes on, give me the tools to make this work, and I will show all disbelievers that food is the source of our maximum gain…imagine all the hotels/restaurants in this country using local produce…making gourmet dishes with what we consider to be staples – ‘foodies’ would flock from all over the world! Right now the only real cuisine is served up the traditional way in small local ‘cookshop-type’ facilities and whilst I take my hats off to the people who cook for us in this way and I support them all the way to food-heaven, I still feel that we are not showing how we can take this to level of gourmet. Are we so ashamed of our own foods? I have proven oft enough that those who visit us want local…! For crying out loud we have all the food networks scouring the islands looking for those special tastes but it does not always have to come across that we only serve these foods in “huts of bamboo” as they are portraying us! If we gave our local flavours the respect they deserve, if we  had our local flavours displayed in a beautiful manner, if we could show how our local flavours are grown and the love and pride put into the growth, the cooking, the display on a plate..  we would be on our way. There is nothing more satisfying than to be able to tell someone from the US or Europe…this is our beef, grown right here on our land…taste the difference Sir and Madam, just taste it!!

There is much to be done and it could be easily done. I visit farmers all the time and I have heard their cries. And I am frankly exhausted at the ignorant lot of people we have become who would prefer to give a TGI Fridays (US processed food in a microwave), KFC, now Subway all our business and to go to a restaurant and have a US steak – if only people were aware of what a US steak contains imbeded in its meat, perhaps then they might consider eating our local beef. See the movie Food Inc. Read the books Fast Food Nation, Omnivore’s Dilemna, In Defense Of Food – there is proof that we are killing ourselves and our children by what we are importing.

As I said before it does not take a Rocket Scientist. And we have people like Mrs. Ena Harvey who is wealth of information, people like myself who are passionate about growing, processing, eating local who would be committed to improving this area and showing how to keep our foreign reserves’ bin filled to capacity through food…but???
Sometimes I tire of the fight. Because our Caribbean brains perhaps have been far too fried in US soya or corn oil, our stomachs are addicted to trans fats, the enhancers, the preservatives etc etc that are part and parcel of imported (particularly US imported) foods…We are drowning in a quagmire of shit peoples…we really are!

And just to answer the African snail thingie…why the hell can’t each individual in this country kill or bag every snail they see in their daily life instead of sitting munching on KFC and watching American Gansta movies as couch potatoes waiting for government to do the work. I am so tired of governments being blamed for the inefficiencies of us the people. We are the problem, not them. We all have known for eons of time that politicians love us during elections and hate us for the rest of the time they are in power. So why not elect them because we have a right to, ensure they do what is good for us because we can and ought to by insistence, and get up off our arses and work towards our country making it without losing ourselves to America and Europe – with the latter having ‘again’ written after it several times.

It is all up to us. And it is up to us because we can each make a difference. We cannot be that stuped not to see how. or at least I try not to believe it. It is getting more difficult each day, however!

132 responses to “How About Export Barbados?”

1. The image on this submission was taken from a wonderful little Bajan blog we stumbled across named my rustic bajan garden blog.

2. We are living in difficult times, so it is refreshing to find someone who is optimistic about the future, and of agriculture and the sugar industry in Barbados, to boot!

I agree with much of what Ms. Parkinson has said, but it is not that easy to implement her suggestions! The naysayers have a wealth of bad experiences and failure to bring to the table, so the optimists have to sweat the small stuff. The proof of this pudding is not in the eating, but rather in making a good bake of it.

I am going to propose to my Board of Directors, at our next meeting, that we develop a framework for engaging the positive energies of people like Ms. Parkinson, whose thinking seems to be fully in accord with mine, at the current juncture.

George Reid, PhD

3. “Farmers can be recognized as an important part of the society if only we would get rid of de dyamned slave connection to this most respected profession. That was hundred years ago … we should … dump it as compost!”

How are private citizens suppose to view this “profession” when the leaders in business (Hotels, Supermarkets) and governments think little of them as they care little about curbing praedial larceny and wanton imports

“There is nothing more satisfying than to be able to tell someone from the US or Europe…this is our beef, grown right here on our land…taste the difference Sir and Madam, just taste it”

Madame excuse me, with respect, but I love my teeth and with age they have become a little more suspect. I am not aware that there is such a thing as quality Bajan beef…!

“And just to answer the African snail thingie… I am so tired of governments being blamed for the inefficiencies of us the people. We are the problem, not them”

As a private citizen I accept absolutely NO responsibility for the presence of African snails in Ba’bados as a infestation, and cannot understand how it is that those government officials who are responsible can still maintain their jobs and salaries. In any event to galvanizing support in any cause in any part of the world is far far far more easier said than done.

4. The challenge Bajans face is lack of financial support to start a company .Noted that in USA many Jamacians products are sold in many leading food chains. It is apparent that some where along the way the leaders of this country did not see a vision or felt any sense of pride in exporting our home grown products and as a result agriculture died along the way, Now with sugarcane revenue falling we hope and pray that the leaders would not only talk about breathing new life into agriculture but would be passionate in doing so..There are people would have vision and great ideas in the public sector but have diifuculty in generating the monies to do so. .

5. The problem with agriculture in Barbados is that persons at the top do not seem to understand that ideas must be analyzed and thought through. There have been a million and one ideas but we cannot point to one success in the last ? years.

We need to screen out the ideas and pick a handful. and put our best brains to think through the fine details on how to make them work. No longer should we just fall for what sounds good. We must seek out ideas that are workable.

6. Kammie Holder Avatar

People, Barbados can create many niche markets by selling what we have as goods of ostentation. The same way a British company can sell us chopped bottled garlic for $12,why cannot we market ours as a garlic with an extremely high antioxidant content. Its called Niche Marketing !

The French market their red wine as good for your heart while the Chilean say their jalapenos good fuh de heart too. We need to find ways to earn foreign currency.

The Ministry of Agriculture needs a complete purge.Neither BLP OR DLP HAS EVER TAKEN AGRICULTURE SERIOUS. We will someday soon realize we have no money to buy vegetables,money but no vegetables to be bought or land to grow crops. All it takes is a war or world prolonged event like the volcano recently.

7. When the former government installed Erskine Griffith as Minister of Agriculture his knowledge of the maze of new and emerging trade rules learned from his posting in Geneva was expected to move agriculture forward. Totally agree with Anonymous, let us take 2-3 products which we believe we can grow and market and DO IT!

8. Erskine Griffith (stupidly) introduced bajan branded sugars to Barbadian consumers. The result – the over the counter price of sugar increased by 400% for the same sugar that you would normally buy as ordinary packaged sugar. The difference was the label. At the time the belief was that the offering would be for export. Don’t let me start on that a#s… You will never see ordinary packaged sugar on the shelf at the same time as the branded package sugar.hmmm…!

9. @Anonymous

How long does it take to form an idea on exporting Barbadian coconut water ? Or exporting Barbadian . Even canned fruits like plums .and many other home grown products? Even coconut bread . I meaning unless a serious discussion is undertaken by leadership . Nothing would happen we would continue to spin or wheels and like chicken little say “The sky is falling” How about Bajan Bottle cane juice. How about and on and on .People are looking for alternative foods and products for healty living and lifestyle and the leaders must not be afraid to tap into that market “Everthing Bajan” Get the ball rolling leaders . Stop looking to the sky for answers . Instead listen to what the people are saying. A Store like Walmart USA would be interested in our Products .Unless or products are well marketed they would only be sold in carribean stores. .

10. @ Chairman, BAMCL

Something like this requires a telephone call. What next meeting of the Board of Directors what!?!

If and when you get agreement BU can facilitate any communication to make this happen.

11. Kammie Holder

Barbados needs to stop rewarding academics by placing them in senior positions in the service, particularly in the areas where EFFECTIVENESS matters… (foreign affairs and every development agency that requires a heavy dose of selling and marketing expertise…!) There is no point producing anything unless you have the ability to sell. If as a region we had a strong and effective marketing team, we would have no need for “Negotiating Machinery” of any type

12. @Kammie Holder

War what. Marketing and product commercial and plenty money.since we are going to have to start from scratch. A Team like myself who knows how to sell iceto an eskimo.LOL
    Seriously If Jamaica can sell they BUN and CHEESE world wide in big food chains why is it that we can’t or unable to do the same.

13. Look lets face there was no real vision or way forward for exporting our products . Now we have to play catch up . However if our makerting skills arevsionary we can do it. They are many home made products which should and can be still exported and would do exceptionally well in overseas markets, This I know for sure.

14. David

To make dese businesses work you must first be originally from de North with de right look and accent so to be appealing to those who would be your target market. I am from de East and I do not soun like dese people, oh no hon son ho

15. Look Rosemary, Bush Tea still thinks that you are MAD as hell!!

If I was you, i would be careful with these ideas of yours, do you know what happens to people who are ‘different’?

You remind me of another ‘mad’ Bajan, ‘Lowdown’ Hoad.
    But wanna need to know that there is no place in Barbados of 2010 for that kind of common sense approach to things.

How do you expect that someone can just up and start a productive agricultural project just so???

– First thing that will happen is that some educated idiot in some ministry who never did a productive day’s work in his/her life will find some way to require you to beg on hands and knees for some license, tax-free waiver, import permit or other such concoction.
    ….good luck with that – unless you are then prepared to kowtow to some parasite politician who will then be needed to get around that civil servant.

You will then meet similar challenges with the bank if you need capital. Be prepared to spend thousands on business plans, projections, plans etc which are designed -not to improve YOUR control of your business, but to make it understandable (and replicable) by these charlatans and their cohorts.

…but even if you get pass all this, expect that other (suspiciously similar) enterprises will suddenly arise (surprise surprise) to undermine your market projections and business model.

…..Ask Lowdown, EVEN GOVERNMENT will do this to you -and UNDERSELL you.

Not to depress you too much, I will not touch on crop theft, crime, employee stealing, unions, or weather challenges.

…see if you can work out the REAL challenges that we face….

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I asked a question before and no one answered me. I will ask it again. Is Owen Arthur still working his backyard garden or was that only pappy show at election time?

17. @Carson Cadogan

The question you should be asking is if his message was on point*.

18. @BUSH TEA

Are you saying that tyhe DLP and BLP are Wuhloss no good people who don’t give a damm about its people or country. How depressing.

Any how what is that to do with marketing products that are already out there to larger markets?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Thanks, since you think that his “message was on point” I take it that he is no longer spending all his time in Antigua helping the people of Antigua, he is here in Barbados working his garden and showing Bajans how it is done.

I am looking forward to a few tomatoes and some cucumbers from his garden in the near future!

Wonderful.

20. Wow! David did not know you would be posting my little rant. Well…not so little. I am passionate about what I speak. And still believe over and above the lazy disbelievers that we can make our agriculture work.

Now just to answer BAFBFB, is this just not typical: “Madame excuse me, with respect, but I love my teeth and with age they have become a little more suspect. I am not aware that there is such a thing as quality Bajan beef…!”. This sentence is what I talk about when I say that we swarm in ignorance and just love to mouth off without thinking! Bajan beef can be tough because it is not aged. The butchers butcher on a Wednesday/Thursday and sell on a Friday/Saturday. I learned (from a young French Chef – and yes! it had to be a Frenchman eh!) that if you buy local beef, wrap it in a damp towel and place at the bottom of the fridge for about three/four days, you have some of the most delicious tender meat ever! And it is indeed cheaper than the imported one….go to the market, support your butchers at BDs$7 a pound for any cut! You can also marinate in simple mustard…the meat does not take in the mustard taste but just tenderizes. I did a story on Peronne the other day and discovered that they only used local beef in the fresh section of the meat departments at Super Centre…I bought several pounds to make a curry for a dinner party I was having – marinated same in curry powder overnight and let me tell you everyone was asking me about that sweet tender meat! So please! we are just too lazy to go that little extra to support local so that they can grow. Doesn’t anyone realize that if we continuously buy foreign beef, the local market will also continue to disappear? So yes! it takes a little extra time to support, but the rewards are so high that we should be proud to put this little extra work until….

Now as I said and will say again…our beef is absolutely delicious because for the most (and it should be mandatory) we raise cattle on grass…yes! that is what they are supposed to eat – NOT their entrails, newspapers, chicken feathers and fowl entrails, hormones, fattening agents etc etc as they do in most American cattle farms! – and then we have to have facilities for proper aging…and mostly we have to apart from increase our cattle farming so that we can get fresh meat and FRESH milk (the latter I should add ‘back on our shelves’ ), we need to be able to produce such great organic beef that we can export to other islands who do not have such a thing, and perhaps even to the US…for there is a niche market there and Canada…Good Bajan Organic Beef reared on the most beautiful island…imagine your cow grazing peacefully, looking out at our crystal clear waters with fresh air going through its nostrils instead of fumes of its own faeces!!! Read the books.

To the same gentleman and the African snails…no one is making you responsible re their taking over our land. And yes! obviously our government agencies may not be doing all they can. But again…they have tried, they did show us the people what to do…and when you consider they were willing to pay people for bringing them in by the bagful and the response was negligible compared to the problem…will you not say that we are “a lazy lot who could not give a dyamned if the snail eat up we gardens and farms ’cause we have the glory of fast foods dat will always be there for us!” and why could we not give some credence to what Farmer Laurie had to say about the African snail? Purge them, eat them. Bajans do not have to eat them but perhaps if properly farmed (as the do in other parts of the world), we could bottle and sell off to escargot lovers…ha haaa! Who knows! A Bajan Escargot basking in glorious sun with the sea in the background could only be considered a luxury item! But no, no, no….snails are disgusting and snails will remain a pest…! By the way, let me show another piece of ignorance that a CSME understanding about the movement of food could aid – I know an island that is chock-ah-block with sea eggs to be picked in waters that are the same as ours and shallow too – no going out to sea for this! Fat huge sea eggs that a Bajan would die for! A container load of dem would rid the waters of this island to a pest and create a loving delicacy for us here! Hmmm. Sea egg for thought anyone?

To ac: Instead of making all kinds of foolish rules and regulations in Parliament…one of the foremost that should be done is to force the hand of banks. First thing to be noted is that it is we the people that make banks rich…at the expense of our health cause we do not get any service whatsoever from them – we stand in line, we beg, we plead, we cry and have stress related illnesses that could result in death… while they laugh at us all the way to their bank in foreign heaven! So….why can they not give back a little to society? It should be mandatory that if I come to you with a business plan (and I mean a simple business plan) that shows quite categorically that you can make a food-oriented project work…then bankers should look kindly. If you are producing a book that is food-oriented that can be used as a teaching tool, this should also have its ease for printing loans. (I had to produce on my little own such a book taking up every cent I had because the bank gave me a total run-around having me fill up fifty million sheets of paper which annoys the hell outta me anyhow in today’s technological advances that should help us to SAVE THE TREES. Has anyone noticed that since these advances we are using more paper? Has anyone gone to Mannings and bought one screw to be given a ream of paper with the information on it?). But I digress. Also, I happen to know there are loans/funds available to those who want to get into such a respected profession but do we hear a lot about them…? Nope. We only hear through the grapevine. And when they get finally approved, it takes months and months to have the monies disbursed, by this time those seeking them have lost all or are fed up – and hate to say it – but sometimes those put in charge (our people) of these disbursements just seem to be very very inept at what they are doing…giving those who have reached certain levels of application a hard time like just trying to break their spirit of entrepreneurship instead of encouraging! I heard (and I stand to be corrected!) that the EU offers all manner of funding for projects in the Caribbean and a lot of these grants are returned unused after its usable date. Now why does this happen?? I am an ordinary citizen. I do not read in the papers big and bold about these grants. And of the occasion that I do, it is all so raas complicated I get tired reading about all that is required for me to even begin to apply. Its crazy!

I still believe, however, that with very little we can make a lot. If we can start by making a good product at home…we can also slowly expand. There is much that can be done still. At the end of the day niche markets require an excellent product, and most of all exceptionally different packaging…those tired old jam bottles for instance? time they left us for more attractive ways of displaying our jams, jellies and sauces – same could be said for the plastic bottles on the table with pepper sauce. Mind you they do have their market but if we want to move forward into the future…we have to start with marketing that will turn the eyes of those who see the product and make those wallets open… and this does not mean trying to sell a tired clay pot, or an exhausted guava jelly that no longer tastes of guava for crying out loud…can we not get outta de box and get into the exciting…is this too much to ask? I am not surprised that the tourist buying power has gone down…the truth is it has not gone down…it is simply tired of our offerings! Ashtrays from China? The same old shirt with coconut trees? I could go on and on about our products….they simply lack vision.

Niche markets…these are available for the simplest of produce by the way….is there one farm in Barbados that looks at a niche market? Yes! Mr. David Kinch grows 200 golden apple trees and all he does with this is send it to be pulped for juice. That is a great start but could we not look into a certain amount of golden apple (easy to grow) farms and what can be done with them? And there are a lot of other fruits that we grow well! Mango, guava, tamarind, lime – all hardy fruits that we can make into farms that process same, with restaurants that can feed healthy food to those who visit (and I mean locals – tired of everyone thinking that we do not have a business unless we go tourism!) using same products…and have those products beautifully packaged for sale too. At reasonable prices as well. Our prices are outta order at the moment and I am sorry to say not, and I say not, necessary! Greed has taken over in most instances.

There is more…and I could take the eight years of my writing, pushing,. talking, begging and put it all on this blog but that would not be fair. I have already ranted. And to the Chairman of BAMCL – put your money where your mouth is Sir…give me one project to work on and I will show you an eco-sustainable local and tourist successful attraction that involves food – glorious food. Just one could be the template for several more. And no! we do not want the whole of Barbados to go through anymore what it has already – the copy-cat syndrome – if one farmer is successful with tomatoes, instead of thinking something different, tomatoes then begin to be a glut on the market – what foolishness!

I will end this little rant and rave on a sour note for me. I met a lady the other day whose husband is here as a consultant. What is he consulting on? Whether the sugar industry is a viable entity? what? Run that one by me again I said to the lady. We have people like David West here who has long screamed the viability of the sugar industry and we people gine pay big money to someone who has nevah lived here and doan even understand de language to tell us what to do with sugar cane? Do me a cane-cutting favour and give me a salt-bread and two break!!! In the 80s I worked on a presentation campaign with Mr. West designing the little crocus bags with a print of a working sugar plantation where muscovado – our golden gorgeous sugar – could be packaged and sold to niche markets – There was more, of course, that we did to promote this industry…nothing came of it even ‘though he took it to England if I remember rightly. Today it has taken a European to see the glory of our amazing sugar, a simple little tiny grain of pure unadulterated divine taste, and he has produced beautiful tins and packaging with even little sugar spoons – and is making good money – is this money staying here? I doubt it!

While in Berlin last summer writing on the impact of Caribbean food abroad…well I learned yet again (been to New York/Toronto/Miami/London doing the same) that Caribbean food rocks everywhere except at home. That is one thing I give Jamaicans – in nearly every hotel the visitor has a choice of Jamaican or other breakfast – guess which one is loved? The Jamaican. Jamaican Chefs are experimenting with everything local too. Even the ackee, yes their Jamaican Ackee is dipped in chocolate, made into beautiful cakes etc. etc. See Nyam Jamaica – a collector’s item at Pages!

As I said…there is so much more…I have a book to write on Barbados, and my website creator is screaming for me to send him stuff. Two magazines are waiting for photos and stories…so I will leave you with ((and I am sorry if it is too long) what I have written….by the way David if you ever need photos for the blog…I have over 50,000 food shots from the entire Caribbean!

Love and light…eat something local today…A motto in my house “Shock your children (friends, family), eat local!”

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just a question, anyone remember CARMETA FRASER?

Who she was, what she stood for? and what the Barbados Labour Party did to her?

Tell me again about local agriculture.

22. @BAFBFP

In the marketing arena it doesn’t matter who the messenger is . It is all about the message. However those with the money would always get first preference. If i have a product which I need to be market . Maybe I would have to go outside of Barbados to get the funds necessary to do so. I am not going to sit and wait on others to do so for me . However others might not be willing to take such routes as they might think it would benefit the island eventually.

23. I hear you Bush Tea. There is nothing much more that could be done to insult my intelligence in this life me dear. For I have always had these ‘crazy-ass’ ideas. Yes! I know all the challenges…glad someone else put them down like it is. But if it is a challenge, it can be beaten. But yes! its a hard road. Perhaps time we started to walk it? Walk de walk and stop de talk? I am a writer and a messenger…only to do with Caribbean food – see Culinaria: the Caribbean written in 1995/98 published in 1999. But I walk de walk and jump over anything imported in whatever island I am in much to the surprise of many. If we all play our part, the least we could do is show that imported goods will stay on your shelves! Bless!

24. @Rosemary

It seems that men are always ready to take a pessimistic approach to these challenges rather than speak of solutions. The woman of today are very optimistic that is why we are in the drivers seat while the men are in the back seat.

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I believe that is so much more we can do to stimulate exports. From a tourism standpoint, every single (500,000 plus) long stay visit and cruise ship passenger (700,000 plus) should leave our shores with something MADE in Barbados.

We try our little bit with Earth Mother Botanicals (hand made soap, lotions etc) and Earthworks potteries and EVERY repeat guest receives a Barbadian made gift.

Rum has been an overwhelming success being shipped to over 70 countries but when I see the latest
    BARCARDI product I have to wonder?

Barcardi Torched Cherry made with what they describe as the Barbados Cherry!

We still import around 74% of the food we consume and that has to change.

26. @David who wrote:

The image on this submission was taken from a wonderful little Bajan blog we stumbled across named my rustic bajan blog.
    ===============================================================

Just a question. When someone makes a submission, it is up to you to decide what image to associate with it, or can the same person suggest what image heshe wants to associate with the submission?

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Sorry, should of course be BACARDI!

28. Here is the Bacardi link whichj Adrian L referred:

@Atman

Most of the submissions are received without an image. BU has always used our best judgement to insert an image which complements the message. In those cases where the author submits an image 99.9% of the time we go with it. As you must be aware by now Atman, BU is a vehicle for freedom of expression and except in very few cases when a poster exercises poor judgement in our* opinion we allow that free expression to occur.

29. Ms. Rosemary Parkinson,

We feel so great to see that here, on BU, there is such a marvellous person like you who has got so much love, passion and enthusiasm for agriculture and agricultural development in Barbados; for the need for agricultural exporters to find their own external niche markets; for the need for some people in local agriculture to develop sustainable eco-tourism in agriculture; and for individuals who are involved in the business of agriculture in this country to sow the “right” mental and commercial attitudes as a sliver of what it really takes overall to reap some big financial returns, THAT WE THINK IT FITTING AND PROPER THAT YOU SHOULD GO STRAIGHT NOW AND ALONG WITH SOME OTHERS FORM A POLITICAL PARTY, AND LET THE PARTY RUN YOU AND OTHERS IN THE NEXT ELECTIONS SO THAT YOU MAY ONE OF THESE DAYS YOURSELF BRING SOME OF THESE IDEAS INTO REALITY.

Ms. Parkinson, we dont know who you are, but that is our honest suggestion!!

You obviously have a lot of knowledge about many things agricultural inside and outside of this country, and of which you so selflessly share with many others.

Hence, you might have a lot to offer at the national level.

So, consider our unsolicited advice and along with others go and form this party, and thrust it along the line of a green party – which would be Barbados’ first – and make sure that it has an emphasis on agricultural development and developing agricultural synergies and symbioses with other areas essentially outside of agriculture.

Truth is, if you and they had to really form such a type of party, the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) would support you and your party, and will encourage others to do so, primarily because we strongly believe that outside of the health sector in this country, agriculture is the most important social political sector in this country and that therefore all ideas and programs for the proper development of agriculture must be sourced and tapped into – but within the context of a national political environment where the progenitors of such ideas and programs can help preside over their institution or implementation – hence, the need for national coaltional government.

But, why agriculture in Barbados must be given the strongest supports possible at this stage? is primarily because of the fact too that it is one of the most manageable productive sectors in the country – one of the easiest to turnaround – notwithstanding that over the years it has been gradually deliberately put into this state of near decay and ruin by the bankrupt agricultural trade fiscal monetary policies of weak and indecisive pro-elitist DLP and BLP regimes that have come into existence – with the present governing party having among its ranks none other than two noted agriculturalists Mr. Haynesley Benn and Mr. James Paul – who though now are disgracefully part and parcel of the destruction by the DLP of many facets of agriculture in this country; and has been dramatically put into this precarious troubling state by those devious greedy alternative land grabbing, land and tourism choke holding dedevelopment policies of many of those so-called power elites in agriculture and construction in Barbados like Sir Charles O Williams.

So, not only talk will do it, Ms. Parkinson, to help take agriculture out of the hands of a few – for food for a masses and middle classes is so so very vital that it must NEVER be placed at the disposal of a greedy craving narrow minded few – but actual revitalization and repositioning of agriculture must come about in Barbados.

Too, the production of a well husbanded nurtured social political action strategy, which proves that you dare to be different from many others in agriculture or from many other commentators on agricultural issues, will go a long way into many people realizing that politics in this country cannot be seperated from agricultural development or the lack of it.

Therefore, any serious commodity or market or sectoral development in agriculture in Barbados must be delivered with the understanding that the existing political and financial structures underpinning it must be dealt with, or otherwise such developments based on the good laudable intentions WILL BE DOOMED TO FAIL.

That is why we in the PDC are CONSTANTLY insisting that

1) these anti-agriculture DLP and BLP factions be sent packing from the parliament of this country in 7 years time,

and asking that

2) as many people as possible come and join or support our party so that that there will be a future PDC Government in existence in this country that will, among so many other things –

3) Abolish TAXATION in Barbados, in order to help produce astronomically high levels of wealth and income for the country, and in order for far higher levels of wealth and income to be helped generated in the agriculture sector of this country, et al,

2) that will Abolish INTEREST RATES in this country, in order to help bring about unprecedented high levels of national production distribution income and investment, and to help bring about substantially high levels of production, distribution, income and investment in agriculture in the country, ett al,

3) that will Abolish INSTITUTIONAL REPAYABLE LOANS FOR PRODUCTIVE PURPOSES – as a means of helping to make sure that the cost of living and doing business in the country are drastically reduced – but physical output and commercial services phenomenally raised – via the money goods and services transaction processes being made quicker more efficient through the money circulation process being speeded up and through productive debt being eliminated in this country for the benefit of country and the agricultural sector, et al,

4) that will ABOLISH EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES WITH THE BARBADOS DOLLAR, in order to assist in making sure that the so-called transaction costs involved in the import and export business of persons and other entities in this country will be entirely eliminated for the benefit of the maximizing of all the opportunities for earning foreign exchange, sector by sector, household by household, etc, whilst minimizing the alternative/cost of holding and using foreign currency ( different currencies) in Barbados, and thus for seeing the real importance of foreign currency ( different ones) under this present global financial currency order – which does not have an international currency, et al,

5) that will make sure that IMPORTS ( INCLUDING AGRICULTURAL INPUTS) ARE ZERO-“PRICED” AT ALL POINTS OF ENTRY, as a means of aiding in the reduction of the cost of living and doing business (agro-business) in this country, as a means of helping to diversify the existing range of imports, of strengthening politically industry in Barbados, and as a means of lowering export costs in the country, et al,

6) that will ensure that EXPORTS ( INCLUDING AGRICULTURAL EXPORTS ) ONCE BOUND FOR EXTERNAL MARKETS WILL BE PAID FOR IN LOCAL CURRENCY/”PRICES”, as a means of aiding in the strengthening overall of the country’s export sector including that of the agricultural sector, and as a means of guaranteeing stability of income for the export sectors of this country, including the agricultural sector, et al.

and, finally,

7) that will make sure that NO foreigners are able to own our LAND SPACE RIGHTS – instead THAT THEY WILL ONLY BE ABLE TO LEASE SUCH – that NO agricultural lands will taken out of agriculture, and in many cases where they would have been recently used for other purposes, that they are – WHEREVER POSSIBLE – reclaimed as agricultural lands to be used for STRICTLY agricultural purposes – that there will be MAXIMUM NUMBER OF LAND ACRES RIGHTS ALL BARBADIANS or BARBADIAN BUSINESSES WILL BE ABLE TO OWN – such and more as a means of making sure that these precious lands truly belong to Barbados, and Barbadians, and that they are shared out among Barbadians as fairly and as sensibly as possible.

Ms. Parkinson, in the case of 1 – 4 above, these systems shall be replaced with the fairer more effective and efficient systems under a future PDC Government, and in the case of 5 – 7 above they will be used to make the present systems referred to more amenable to greater levels of political financial cost efficiency and effectiveness.

And, finally, seeing that we deal with real machiavellian politics as it happens in this country, we beseech you to be aware of the wolves in sheep’s clothing that are now about to surround you and inveigle you with their very meretricous allurements.

Such wolves are afraid of your potential/power in this and other forums and would feel eminently better if they do whatsoever to take it away from you, or to see you become an accomplice to the undoing of your greatest capacities.

Have a GOOD day, Ms. Parkinson!!

30. you see what I mean when I say I am hooked on anything to do with food? Leaving me real work to join in again – thank goodness I am a fast typer!

@Mr. Loveridge – “From a tourism standpoint, every single (500,000 plus) long stay visit and cruise ship passenger (700,000 plus) should leave our shores with something MADE in Barbados.” I agree wholeheartedly with you on this one…but if you visit several times a year or yearly surely another straw basket or wooden bird is simply tiring. Food products that are well-packaged (yes! Earth Botanicals does a great job) and tasty – this is consumed and next time one can come back for more! *

“Rum has been an overwhelming success being shipped to over 70 countries but when I see the latest BARCARDI product I have to wonder? Barcardi Torched Cherry made with what they describe as the Barbados Cherry! We still import around 74% of the food we consume and that has to change.”

Tell me about this! And guess what? Rum producers will sponsor a fete, sponsor a car race, sponsor a one-time fly-by-night event. A bar? One that has been in existence for a long time, one that serves the tourism product well? A few bar towels does not suffice. Bacardi will come in and pay for the bar and all. They understand marketing. That is why although they produce a rum/water with flavourings, they are still the most sought-after rum in de world. Yuk! Our tired bottles, our lack of vision and stepping outta de box is offensive to people like me! Our Bajan rums are the best in the world….even the white which by the way I prefer. But we do nothing with the latter. And there is so much more in terms of the fruits we have here – like as you mentioned the Bajan Cherry – are there any farms that only grow the famous Bajan Cherry that other islands/lands are now exporting in all forms and fashion? We let the grapefruit go to Florida, that is even now considered American, are we going to have the same happen to the Barbados Cherry. I guess so.

Now the rum people are still doing alright I know…but food producers….how about food products using rum? For instance in Jamaica a young entrepreneur who I placed into my book Nyam Jamaica came up to me and thanked me ever so much because I saw the potential in her rum/tamarind balls and her rum/chocolate balls – today she is exporting! And happy with the local market too! Her packaging is also cute and loveable…making what’s inside even more delicious because you can see that the person making this product has love for same!

I rest my case. Take what I have said and put it into the context of any food product that this island has! and another bone of contention with me is sugar – why must we use white sugar in the food industry? And please do not even go there and tell me about colour…create a great product with OUR brown sugar…it can be done!!!!

Oh! I do go on don’t I? Well, I am not repentant!

31. Sorry…did not mean that Earth Botanicals is a food product…saw it after I submitted. I meant their packaging/promotion/quality is good. Those ladies had to fight and stay with their belief to get where they are…they did not put out two soaps, buy two escalades and an apartment in Miami…they lived frugally, worked their ass off, nevah stopped believing and made it. Still fighting but they have made it.

32. At the end of the nice stories,we must ask some basic questions such as: Can the farmers make money from the crop? Are the profits sufficient for the farmer to make a decent living? Are the products easily copied by others with more favorable conditions?

33. There is so much blank written about Barbados Agriculture and exporting.

Example. The North American market is flooded with fruit and vegetable grown in countries where the workers earn about $10 a day.

That is why we can buy one mango for $1 in Canada.
    Every tropical fruit and vegetable is sold up here cheap.

Note there is a niche market in major cities. Jamaican mangoes $3, 1 coconut $3, 1/2litre coconut water frozen fresh $3.25
    Avocadoes from Jamaica $3 to $5 each.

Import substitution and food security should be the focus of any effort to improve Agriculture in Barbados.
    and tell de people mekkin hot sauce to put fresh tumeric in um. That dry powder tumeric en fuh we peppa sauce cornersores.

My late father was a farmer and he had great knowledge of Agriculture. Ask Jeff Cumberbatch.
    (don’t out me Jeff,I need my secret identity)

I tried to convince my father to sell everything he grew directly to the Public,Supermarkets and Hotels. Like most small farmers, he did so much work in the field that he was too tired to market his produce.
    I still think this is the only way small farmers (working 20 acres or less) can make a decent living.

The big plantations have the acreage suited to growing for export but do they have any incentive and drive to change the status quo.

34. @Anonymous gih yuhself a nickname nuh.

You just ask some reasonable questions.

Agricultural land is $100,000 an acre. Farmer has water,light and transport cost like de rest uh we.
    Add cost of labour, fertilizer and feed.Don’t forget crop losses etc.

Farming in Barbados is a high cost,high risk venture.

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Oh, is that you, Hants? Your secret (identity) is safe with me!

36. I really don’t know where to start in this forum. For the past 25 years I have been hearing the same story over and over again, that we must develop and export our products. Yet it seems that only rum and pepper sauce are the only products that are out there. Are they? We expect that the world should wait on us for our products and that everything we produce is exportable.

We have to get real about manufacturing and exporting. Not every product is marketable for a niche market. The cost of doing business is expensive in Barbados and no government in power has ever done anything in keeping manufacturing costs down for manufacturers. The supply of raw materials has to be consistent and adequate. Many farmers are not open to new ideas and new crops. The biggest pests in agriculture are the government officials who haven’t a clue about about what they are doing. Everything is by the book, with no correlation to the reality of what is on the ground. There are no new crop trials taking place on a regular basis. What has happened with the Chinese who introduced jicama and yard long beans? Oh I know, they are now busy with construction.

The many hoops and hurdles one must navigate makes it difficult to do business. The system is repetitive and time wasting. There is no passion for agriculture and therefore no improvement.

Bajans do not want to work in agriculture let us face this …we have all been brainwashed to believe that a lawyer and a medical Doctor and a politician is the nearest thing to being God. And we all want to a GOD. GOD is power and working the land isn’t. As if GOD don’t have to eat too. I often say that when the big boats don’t come with our food, we will all be in the pastures fighting with the sheep and cow for their grass.

We have to have a natural love for the land in order to develop and produce. We have to be able to use whatever resources out there in this big wide world. Gone are the days for guessing , we have to know what we are doing. Small farmers have to stop trying to grow the same things every other farmer is growing. Take for example, melons are a great crop to grow here. Barbados is ideally suited for growing them, yet very few farmers are growing them. Why? Many who have tried, didn’t know when to harvest them so they picked them when they were still green and took them to market. They didn’t know that melons (honey dew and cantaloupe) have to be vine ripened. That is why we are being charged $20.00 for a honey dew in the supermarket. So now they only stick to what they know. Apart from that, we need an interactive message board for growers and buyers to interact and do business. Yes there are many challenges in agriculture but we also need to have a healthy attitude towards change. Knowledge is power!

37. I hear you PDC. I will continue the fight in my small way…I do not seek to ruffle feathers, I simply seek for those in power to see wisdom instead of foolishness. If this is ruffling feathers, then we have no hope on this little rock.

I will not enter politricks. I try to avoid cocktail parties.

I will not even believe all that you say you will do if empowered with this country’s vote…why? ’cause I have been through too many of these elections…In Trinidad, I voted for change from the PNM – the NAR – the people did not get their free rum and roti after the election instead they got a mandate to get out there and do an honest day’s work. They refused and voted the NAR out within four years. And have continued until recently to prefer the shenanigans of the PNM…They have thrived on the corruption, loved their leaders even after seeing what their country has become – rich in oil money, sad and criminal in its daily life, its agricultural amazing produce dwindling for imports to thrive, its cane land lying idle and its farmers demoralized.

I firmly believe our problems in the Caribbean are not the fault always of the politician…it is our own fault. We sit idly by and believe, and when it does not happen we cry. Yes! we do on occasion stand up and vote out. But when we get the same old, we do not mind…we get vex…we say tings and go about our business.

I know that we do not have to vote anyone out to get a little action. All we have to do is the case of food, for instance, as well as other products, is to simply stop buying foreign….we the people I am talking about. Not the politicians. If someone tells you that poison is what they will offer, do you say okay and drink or eat it? Well that is what is happening right now with ALL we import from the US for starters…and I need not yet again go on about why because the books I have mentioned say it all.

This is how I play my little part and this is what I urge all to do for starters…begin the work…do not and I say DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THE US OR ANYWHERE OUTTA DE CARIBBEAN BASIN FOR DAT MATTER. If I go to a supermarket and the product(s) I require is not made here or the Caribbean, I simply do not buy…instead I change the menu accordingly with what they have to offer that is local.

All I am saying is simply before we go running into politics, or fancy words of what we are going to do or not to do to those who have wealth when we get into power…those who are ruining our agricultural land…those who we simply for some reason or another just envious of people with ideas….perhaps a simple thing like ONLY BUYING BAJAN OR CARIBBEAN would help tremendously.

At the very least we have to understand that we must start at the bottom of the ladder and climb up slowly, carefully never letting anyone tip same or have us step on a broken rung that they have created for us…ie. place ladder in cement…ensure all rungs are strong and can withstand a lot of jumping up and down on them when we are stuck there for awhile before going to the next step. Life can be that simple. And now I am going to have a totally local Sunday lunch…at what I understand could be a small beginning to the farm to table idea I am throwing out…the proof of the pudding is in the eating!

38. @Rosemary

Keep talking!

Have a look at p.10 of today’s leading newspaper to assess how sector leaders are thinking.

God be with us!

39. Correction my blog is called my rustic bajan garden

40. Maybe the government should identify the agriculture-related niche markets that have potential, then try to find foreign investors (with related expertise) with whom to partner to exploit the opportunities.

In today’s newspaper Avinash Persaud reminds us that he got involved with the Four Seasons project after David Thompson invited him to a meeting with prospective British investors. I don’t know if this meeting was only about real estate investment, but if they can send the big boys out looking for real estate investment why not for other types of investment? Barbados is always sending people overseas to tradeshows and the like so let them work on finding investors.

The government does not even have to be involved in the partnerships, unless local investors and partners can not be found. There are regional players with expertise in food processing and distribution, etc but we can look extra-regionally as well, which may assist in eventually penetrating those markets. The terms of the partnerships can be structured such that local interests (including ownership, jobs, know-how, patents, etc) are protected.

Entrepreneurs in Barbados think that they can be successful alone and without capital, and they underestimate the resources needed (money, expertise, etc) that are required to move from a good idea to a world beating proposition. Just ask Bush Tea!! (Sorry, couldn’t resist that)

41. @islandgal24
    You are paying $20 for a melon because of profiteering. Don’t blame Bajan farmers.Blame the opportunistic importers and wholesalers.

Farmers in Barbados have been growing quality Honey Dew,Cantaloupe and Sugarbaby melons for years.

Jeff you are a Paragon of virtue. lol

42. OK people, If wanna be REALLY serious bout this agriculture thing, Here is the first problem that needs to be addressed……
    If we can’t fix this one, don’t even bother to look at problem number 2.

THE PROBLEM IS BAFBFP.

…well not really, but wanna hear him just now cuss out a former minister of agriculture (who wanted cussing anyhow… but that is another story..) for re-branding local sugar with the result that the price went up.

well….
    Agriculture will NEVER gain its rightful place as an industry until the stupid misplaced idea that food prices must be low at all cost in Barbados -ESPECIALLY for local produce, is abandoned and discarded.
    That is an idiotic policy/attitude.

Food prices should be COMPLETELY market driven. Farmers SHOULD routinely be making attractive profits.

What cheap food what??!!

….cheap ting no good – good ting no cheap!!

If our policies and attitudes force farming to remain a subsistence industry we will never be able to move to the next stage.

…so what is it going to be BAF????!!

Keep your selfish, lazy, cheap attitude to food prices? …so that you have more money to lime (pay LIME for blogging….) and fete…
    ……..or pay farmers their JUST wages for their hard labour and investment?

43. I watched the video on the cocoa estate and I have some questions.

What is wrong with our people? How come the St.Lucian workers know everything about growing cocoa but the estate and ultimately the chocolate business was recently purchased by British people? One of the St.Lucians in the video relates that his grandfather manged the estate from the 1920s to the 1970’s!! (It is not that there is anything wrong with an Englishman owning the estate per se but why do West Indians prefer to drive around in $250 000 benz’s and complain about nobody wanting to get into agriculture as they jet off to Miami to shop). Did anyone notice that the DNA testing of the plants was done at Reading University in the UK? What happen to UWI? Do we know and remember that UWI St.Augustine was once one of the major centres of knowledge in the world for cocoa. I waiting for someone from New Zealand to come and show us how to raise black belly sheep!!

What is it about our upbringing and education that makes us blind to the resources, legacies (and I don’t mean slavery) and opportunities that exist in the West Indies?

We like being slaves i.e we like others to tell us what to do and to be responsible for us. Being free means hard work, sacrifice, prioritizing and accepting that success and failure are the result of one’s own decisions and actions.

44. Bush tea

I understand your thinking but I want to add one little “dynamic” to the mix. It comes from E.W.Barrow who once said (to the effect) that he wasn’t sure about the high cost of living but he understood the cost of high living.

45. i agree with Bush Tea..once the Masons don’t have a hand in your basket the project is likely to fail..better yet your idea might be stolen at the bank u seek assistance from and u might see someone of another persuasion doing the very same thing..only to benefit them of course..lol…the people have to break for themselves no matter what.

46. By the way save this vid,the Masons don’t like it..they don’t like u sheep waking up.
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7886780711843120756#

47. @ Brutus
    Entrepreneurs in Barbados think that they can be successful alone and without capital, and they underestimate the resources needed (money, expertise, etc) that are required to move from a good idea to a world beating proposition. Just ask Bush Tea!! (Sorry, couldn’t resist that)
    ****************************************************************************************
    et tu Brutus?

My man, leave me out of your shenanigans ya hear? You know full well that the bushman disagrees with your tendency to defer to the ‘foreigner’ for capital, expertise market etc..

The WHOLE point about life is SELF DEVELOPMENT. It is not about what you can get from others or even from yourself, it is ultimately how you are able to take you own life and character to the highest level possible.

As anonymous was questioning above then, why are we so fast to look for outsiders to own our industry, to tell us how to be successful, to make us look good…when we clearly have the potential?

…. because we are ignorant of the REAL purpose of it all.

A nation is like a family – just a bigger one.
    One does not develop a family business by bypassing one’s own sons and giving it to an outsider just because that outsider appears to be more capable. One works with what one have in the family, and DEVELOP that son to the MAXIMUM of his potential.

Your problem Brutus is that your eyes are too big. You want a multinational billion dollar company listed on the NYSE.
    But that is not needed for Barbados. A nice 20 acre farm that employs 30 people and turns over $10 million annually could be developed over a period of years and EASILY funded by any one of our large credit unions.

…..but you probably want to start with a big ride and live in a hilltop palace like the bushman right?….rotfl

48. Read page 10 of today’s Advocate. Interesting article by E.Coleridge Pilgrim.

Bush Tea wrote “Food prices should be COMPLETELY market driven. Farmers SHOULD routinely be making attractive profits.”

That is why you must have “Farmers markets” owned and operated by the Farmers.
    That is why Small farmers must try to retail as much of their produce as possible.