In recent weeks two issues have surfaced above all others which have served to vex the BU household. There is an unwritten rule in Barbados if one has to be critical of the legal community or Mrs. Ram  instinctively you breakout in cold sweat and may even shiver. Mrs. Ram is said to be a lawyer and has judiciously picked her battles with others through the years. The legal community with its several parts always seem to be able to intimidate all-comers because of the intimate knowledge of the court set-up which remain a mystery to most; others may add that our government and ancillary governance systems are controlled by members of the legal community.

In his most recent article Henry felt pushed to pat Mrs. Ram on the back when he wrote …I take my hat off to Mrs. Ram Merchandani and her team at Casa Grande. She could have thrown her hands up in despair, but rather she has gone outside of the box and established a family oriented entertainment centre that’s like a God send for thousands of persons, visitors and locals alike, each week. Why can’t others get up off their hind and do likewise?

From all reports Casa Grande which has been converted to an amusement centre continues to be a big draw card for entertainment starved Bajans. Originally constructed to be a low budget hotel located strategically 5 minutes from the airport, the owner to prevent a financial disaster has demonstrated some quick thinking to save the enterprise. A visit to the widely read TripAdvisor listed a litany of woes which visitors to Barbados experienced while staying at the Grande.  Of late on any weekend hundreds of people can be seen visiting Casa Grande to drive bumper cars, amuse themselves in the arcade and believe it or not, to bowl.

Here is the problem BU has with Henry bigging up Mrs. Ram. Has the Furniture Limited building in Bridgetown been remodeled by the astute Mrs. Ram to reflect the fact the owner is concerned with ensuring that many Barbadians, especially Black work in a decent physical environment? It begs the question what have our unions and inspectors from the Barbados Fire Service been doing over the years. BU will not touch how the Liquidation Centre continues to operate on Lower Bay Street.  Yet we have the government’s leading political strategist bigging up this woman?  Perhaps an opportune time to ask for campaign finance reform!

Woe betide anyone who crosses this woman it seems!

The other matter which blew all of BU gaskets was caused by the recent utterance by Justice Elneth Kentish …the courts are being held to ransom by accused persons and by lawyers for accused persons. They are running the show,” she declared. In fact, the judge feels the Sessions in her court have all but “ground to a halt. Obviously this state of affairs if we follow Justice Kentish has been occurring for some time. Bear in mind former Chief Justice (CJ) David Simmons recently retired to glowing tributes from all and sundry. How can the person responsible for the efficiency of the judiciary be given an A for performance by his peers and others in his charge and a few weeks later a Justice of the High Courts of Barbados is driven to issue such a damning statement?

In the same way we can’t get the PSV sector to work so too the Judiciary?

Recently the acting Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart in a response to criticism that the CJ position needs to be filled, he indicated that no pressing matters were being held back because of the CJ vacancy. Hellooo, earth to Staurt and BU quotes,…I do not know what has transpired or what has changed that culture but the culture we are at now is where this system is grinding to a halt. In fact, the judge said, in the past few days, in this court, this system has ground to a halt.” Justice Kentish was yesterday expressing her displeasure after a number of accused appeared before her and offered a range of excuses as to why they were not ready for trial. Does the above paint a picture of an efficient court system Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart?

If we are to understand the root of the problem according to practicing Attorney Hal Gollop Sr., Barbados has too few lawyers practicing criminal law. As a result of the paucity of criminal lawyers who find themselves under pressure to serve all the Courts where they have matters pending this has led to the gridlock Gollop opines. BU says this is bullshit. Read the flimsy reasons in the media report which don’t mesh with Gollop’s position which he offered on a talk show recently. Please tell BU why the Barbados government is continuing to finance tertiary level law students to feed an inefficient judiciary?

BU notes with interest that Justice of Appeal Frederick Waterman who acted in the post of CJ when Simmons retired has indicated no interest in sticking around. Will Prime Minister Stuart appoint Justice Williams which would be seen as maintaining the status quo?  For a government which sailed into office on the wings of change what would be left to say by the appointment except, the more things change the more they remain the same!

Much more can be written about the gridlock which is currently afflicting our Judiciary, it is enough to remind all parties that justice delayed is justice denied.

143 responses to “Matters Of Concern”

1. Frankly the responses coming back from the legal minds is scary. Look forward to Jeff’s response to Yardbroom’s last comment. Our limited knowledge says the law provides for the Judge to make a ruling in the matter using best judgement. Bear in mind we have the other party in the matter who is seeking justice. Where does one draw the line?

2. I agree with some of the earlier commenters. Black Barbadians need to stop patronizing her store, and buying her sub-standard products. These same black Barbadians will then say they can’t support black businesses or Bajan products because they are ‘inferior’. But they have no problem buying her inferior crap. And I don’t think it’s a matter of finances either because some of us who patronize her will also have no problem shelling out $150 for the latest outfit, concert or what have you. The bottom line is if we weren’t buying, she wouldn’t be selling.

3. @David,

The worse part of this is that laymen representing themselves are not tolerated. They come when the time is set and I have seen some cases where the judge told the defendant, “Get here.”

4. @ROK

What is happening in our Courts is just not good enough. It is one of the biggest injustices occurring in our society and the media or the BAR association are happy to turn the other cheek. What kind of society are we building for our children?

5. Jeff Cumberbatch wrote “Do you not recall the disbarments and land thefts of old?”

I am curious about the “land thefts”. Can it still happen ?

6. @Atman

You just gotta love Bajans!

7. @Hants

“I am curious about the “land thefts”. Can it still happen?”

Mrs. Violet Beckles.

8. Atman
    Can you name some of the entertainment features at Casa Grande? I too would like to take de grans. 🙂

9. @ David, I heard that BIM has the most lawyers per square mile in the caribbean. That is why our parliament is so oversubscribed by lawyers together with the profession history of having a non-aversion to politics. I say we set a quota for lawyers in parliament. Then there are those who cannot find the time it represent their constituents because they are so busy trying case .

10. The whole justice system needs to be reformed. The bar association is nothing but a rent- seeking entity that takes care of its own. The lawyers are known to hustle and abused the loop holes in the system. You have lawyers asking for adjornment because they have another case to attend to for a different client and this is causing a lot of backlogs. We may have to have introduce night courts along with case management system to get rid of some of the backlogs.

11. @zion1971

A model to demonstrate abuse of the system by lawyers is the Jippy Doyle case. It is instructive that the defence team was lead by Sir*Richard Cheltenham QC.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Come on guys you are not being fair to Mrs. Ram.

Please don’t dwell on a few negatives. Mrs. Ram plays an important part in the lives of many Barbadians. That is a fact.

Mrs ram provides gainful employment for hundreds of Black Barbadians, a large potion of them, single mothers. As a result they can put food on their tables. They can go to the Supermarkets in Barbados and purchase items from off the shelves which is no small feat believe me. They can send to school their children, pay their rent, pay their utilities. Their quality of life is relatively good as a result of Mrs. Ram. My wife friends who have been working for Mrs. Ram for years and years, some of them from the time they left school which was donkey’s years ago.

I think we focus on the negatives too much, which is preventing us from counting our blessings.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One of these days most of you on this blog will need the services of a Lawyer. Remember that.

You will be signing a different song then.

14. @Carson C. Cadogan

One of these days some us may need the services of a prostitute but at least we are very likely to be satisfied with the price we paid to get screwed.

15. Peltdownman said
    “You are supporting the perpetuation of the system, by using the “fair trial” argument. On this basis, all any accused or defendant has to do is to be not available and the case can be adjourned forever.”

First I should say that Jeff’s comment was not supporting the perpetuating of the system. It was mere explaining that in some circumstances, refusing an adjournment may be in contravention of the constitution.
    In relation to you point about availability of the accused. An accused can be available to attend trial but not ready for the trial.
    (I would think that a defendant charged with a serious offence would be always available to attend trial because he would most likely be on remand. In such a case he can’t exactly use the excuse that he has a prior engagement and can’t attend court.)
    Just to give an example, a defendant may not be ready for trial if he doesn’t have an attorney. Many of the persons on remand for serious offences may not have the money for expensive attorneys. Hence, they rely on legal aid which may be understaffed. The strain on resources may mean that a defendant may not have had a chance to instruct counsel.
    To give another example, the prosecution may not have provided the defendant with all the evidence on which they intend to rely. The defendant has a right to examine all the evidence against him before the trial has begun. If the prosecution has not provided such evidence, then a trial cannot proceed.
    Another possibility which no one seems to consider is that there may be adjournments requested by the prosecution because it isn’t ready. Witnesses may be unavailable or reluctant to testify (I would think this is common in rape cases). If a trial is ordered to commence without prosecution witnesses being available, the entire case may be dismissed for want of prosecution.
    I say all of this to say: sometimes there are good reasons to adjourn a criminal matter. Jeff is merely pointing out that a judge may find himself or herself in trouble if he or she orders a trial to proceed where it was not in the interest of justice to do so.

—-
    David said:
    “The Judiciary is suppose to be independent and presided over by a CJ. The issues identified by Justice Kentish must be the responsibility of the CJ. The CJ must be known to be an advocate and champion for change within the Judiciary.”

I do not see how the Chief Justice can address a problem of repeated adjournments in criminal matters.
    Whether or not a judge grants an adjournment (especially in criminal cases) should within the presiding judge’s discretion based on the circumstances of the case. It would be inappropriate and downright improper for a Chief Justice to tell a judge how to exercise his/her judicial discretion.

—–
    Adrian Hinds said:
    “Barbadians lawyers during the Barrow and Adams era did not have the reputation that currently exist.”

I would not pretend that somehow lawyers had a glowing reputation in the days of Barrow and Adams. They have always been seen as pariahs. Perhaps the lawyers of yesteryear had “better” reputations than the lawyers of today. However, making such a comparison is like measuring the tallest amongst midgets.
    The fact is that Lawyers (and politicians) have always had and will continue to have bad reputations in the eyes of the public whether deserved or not.

16. Hants said:

One of these days some us may need the services of a prostitute but at least we are very likely to be satisfied with the price we paid to get screwed.

I actually laughed out loud at this one. This was by far one of the funnier Lawyer jokes that I have heard. Very clever.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hants

I can’t imagine who would want the services of a prostitute.

18. @ Carson C Cadogan.No one works for Mrs Ram a number of years. They may work for her a number on 1 Years, because she make sure that if you want to continue working for her, you must sign off every 12 months.She do not owe you a damn thing if she fires you.
    Mrs Ram sir ,is a whole photo album of negatives. Around the same time that Bonny was working for her ,she was insisting that each store attendant should achieve $4000 in sales each week, or out goes you. Did she expect those girls to go out on the streets with machine guns and force people to come in and purchase her cheap nasty stuff?
    Up in Oldbury ,some years ago, she had converted some ill constructed concrete pig pen like storerooms into work stations where many girls were employed.One of these structures collapse under the weight of the heavy concrete roof. Thank God no one was working in it at the time.
    From the look of her old and battered fleet of trucks and forklifts , one wonders if they actually undergo the annual MTW Inspection.

19. @Anonlegal

Here is what former Chief Justice promised Barbados by way of reforms in 2006.

20. Carson C. Cadogan // July 5, 2010 at 9:07 PM
    @Hants I can’t imagine who would want the services of a prostitute.

——————-

G’down Bush Hill pun a night and see, then yuh can give us a blow by blow account.

21. Carson C
    A thousand Frenchmen can’t be wrong.
    Your wife friends are probably still working for Ms.Ram after all these donkey years because I will put my neck to the block that they are all ‘yes’ women. So they will work for her for eternity. What about the thousands who have passed through her establishment for but a fleeting moment because of her indifference? All of us can’t be ‘yes’ women or men. Some of us have ‘guts’. And anyone who dares to challenge anything of her decisions, will feel her ‘wrath’. She’s an evil witch, minus de broom.

22. @ David , Yes I remenber the case.

@C.C Cardogan. I dinot say “kill all the lawyer first” , all I am saying is that lawyers are part of the problem of the justice system. Some are hustlers who pimp the system to their advantage without caring about the quality of representation for their client.

I stay as far as possible from the legal system , that is why I obey the law and the same goes for civil matters.

23. Hants
    “……..may need the services of a prostitute………..”

Hants, you calling meeeeeeeeeee? Ahemmmmmmmmm

Carson C
    The same way you can’t understand some one wanting the services of a prostitute, I can’t fathom the thought of some one working for Ms.Ram for the length of time you specified. So you see, life can be amazing.

Bosun
    “Ms. Ram is a whole photo album of negatives”.
    Bosun, you too sweet, hear? Ya candy-coated dough nut wid whipp-cream pun top. Ya want ‘lickin’.

24. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@J – Mrs.Ram is as I said before a qualified Lawyer, she does not practice Law but she has studied Law and passed the Bar
    @Bosun _ Mrs Ram getting special treatment is not because of an employee’s connection to the force
    @Amused and Bonnie Peppa – I agree with you.
    Many things happen here in Barbados if you are priviledge to go in to these people’s homes you are greeted with photos of almost every politician from Adams to Gline Clarke from both political parties entertaining and being entertained by these people. They finance political campaigns and even though you do not hear their names being called on the platform they are there waiting in the back ground so which polical party get in does not matter, they are going to get what contracts they want.I know for a fact that some of this island’s Bank managers are controlled by a particular family, they all have ties with each other,I am timid to say but some judges also and lawyers. One day a supervisor in a bank had a problem with an employee and called the police without the bank’s permission, before you could blink twice, a call was made to a boss man here in Barbados (Indian) then a call was made to Trinidad, then the bank’s C.E.O. from Trinidad called the C.E.O. here in Barbados and all this was done in one day, that supervisor thought she was speaking to a friend in that policeman but he had an Indian boss who call all the shots.I have been invited to meetings with these people because I am accepted as one of them, I try to turn a deaf ear to many things because I do not want to know so much., but believe me I meet politicians from both parties at these functions, the man on the street do not know what is going on in Barbados.As it stands now I believe I know a bit too much and I am just trying to make myself invisible, writing to BU gets certain things off my chest.My parents are not Indian, Jew Asian but the position I once commanded in this family was shocking, so much so that if any family member wanted to take a trip overseas, pay college fees, purchase a vehicle etc, that family member had to come to me first, then I would go to the head family member of the Dynasty and tell him t give the person what they wanted, of course I am quite sure everyone felt that some relationship was going on but it is not, as it stands now there is a squabble in the family because of money and I am at the center with one side of the family of excercising too much influence one the matriarch, this is not so they are not my blood and so I am slowly dissecting myself from this family, and this bond started over 17 years ago. I will write more later have to run

25. Proper Case Management
    Not an attack on lawyers: Only seeking the best for the People, in the “People’s Court.

What happens in the Court process in Barbados happens in courts all over the world, how the issues are “managed” is what really matters, that is the difference.

Unavailability of witnesses: The prosecution and defence should be asked by the Magistrate or Judge how many witnesses they intend to call at trial – this is done in open court – the attorneys would have come to court “prepared” with dates to avoid eg holidays, previous appointments that his witnesses or clients have. The prosecution would have spoken to the Police to ascertain holidays or leave etc when they are not available.

After all the information has been received the Magistrate or Judge would then ask are there any further representations? with the agreement of “all” parties a trial date would then be set.

The Magistrate/Judge would tell all parties the court papers “will be marked” to proceed at the next date set.

@ Anonlegal said.

…”To give an example, the prosecution may not have provided the defendant with all evidence on which they rely. The defendant has a right to examine all the evidence against him before the trial has begun. If the prosecution has not provided such evidence, then a trial cannot proceed”…

This should not be a problem, before a trial date is fixed, the Magistrate/Judge should have consulted the prosecution in “open court” and directed the prosecution that by a given date “advance disclosure” should be given to the defence. This would be known in open court and agreed to by the prosecuton, naturally this would be a date set to give him/her enough time to examine evidence before trial.

These are procedures to move the process forward and prevent meaningless date setting…to no purpose.

@ J
    The situation to which you alluded should not have happened. The Judge in setting the trial date should have asked you through you lawyer if you were available on the date about to be set. Your lawyer would have asked you, and in the light of your response he would have made representations on your behalf to the Judge…this is just a matter of proper procedure.

We have lost sight here that we are speaking of the “People’s Court, they are for the benefit of the People. All I have read here is excuses as to why proper procedures should not be followed…there is little Law involved but a lot of bad Case Management.

If what I have read here is indicative of what we have in place, and the practice …may God help us -The People.

26. Totally agree with Yardbroom; a case of maladministration if ever there is one. Where does the registrar of courts fall?

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

First, let me congratulate BU and its frequent contributors on its phenomenal growth. I left around 4 pm yesterday and am astounded at the number of blog entries since then. I shall try to respond to most of those addressed to me.

@ ROK; Adjournments are mainly sought by lawyers whose diaries might be full, so the employer would not often have a significant role to play. But most employers would, I think, be accommodating to an employee who has to go to court for a few hours.

@ROK; Consumer matters below $10, 000 can have the benefit of representation by Public Counsel if one is the claimant; above that figure the matter is one for the HIgh Court and no legal aid is available there.

@Anonlegal; Insightful as ever. You are an able lawyer.

@David & Yardbroom; Adjournment is a judicial decision which has constitutional implications…I don’t see how that can be described as an excuse. See Anonlegal…

@ Hants& ROK; It’s simply more difficult to steal land now because people are smarter and less trusting of lawyers… A classic joke, Hants!

28. @Jeff

I take it that you are classifying the office of Public Counsel as “legal aid”, which I don’t have a problem with. However, it is established as a process as far as I see, to expedite consumer issues under the consumer legislation. More like the exhaust pipe for Public Counsel. Can a layman enter a complaint to the Consumer Tribunal and represent self? Something to explore. Where would a consumer go to lodge a complaint? The Registry?

29. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ROK, The path to the Consumer Claims Tribunal is thru the OFFICE of Public Counsel, where the complaint is lodged, which carries out the investigation of the complaint and attempts a mediation of it with the supplier of the goods or services. If the matter is not resolved, the consumer may use the services of THE Public Counsel to represent her before the Tribunal, but she is not obliged to.

30. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

Adjournment is of course a judicial decision – as are many others taken by a Magistrate or Judge in Court – but “proper decisions” are not being made …if the stories outlined here are true.

There is no constitutional problem, the rights of individuals can be protected and the Law properly administered if true diligence is taken.

Barbados is not the only country in the world to have Law courts and quite a few of them seek to address Court delay. They do not throw their hands in the air and say nothing can be done.

(a) The overriding objective is that criminal cases be dealt with justly.
    (b) Acquitting the innocent and convicting the guilty.
    (c) Recognising the rights of a defendant, particularly the right to a fair trial under Article 6 of the European Convention on Human Rights.
    (d) Respecting the interests of witnesses, victims and jurors and keeping them informed of the progress of the case.
    (e) Dealing with the case efficiently and expeditiously.
    (f) Ensuring that appropriate information is available to the court when bail and sentence are considered.

Criminal Procedure Rules: Also place a duty on the court to further the overriding objective by actively managing cases. [ which appears not to be done here]
    This includes:
    (a) The early identification of the real issues.
    (b) The early identification of the needs of witnesses.
    (c) Achieving certainty as to what must be done, by whom, and when, in particular by the early setting of a timetable for the progress of the case.
    (d) Monitoring the preparation of the case and compliance with directions.
    (e) Ensuring that evidence, whether disputed or not, is presented in the shortest and clearest way.
    (f) Discouraging delay, dealing with as many aspects of the case as possible on the same occasion and avoiding unnecessary hearings.
    (g) Encouraging the participants to co-operate in the progression of the case.

In addition, the Criminal Procedure Rules impose duties on each party to actively assist the court in fulfilling its duties in respect of active case management and apply for a direction if needed to further the overriding objective.

As I said in an earlier comment, proper “Case Management” with the diligence one should expect in the Law Courts seems amiss….in this case nothing cannot be done, is not what I expect of Law professionals.

31. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Yardbroom,

The generalities wich you highlight above are admirable and desirable, but they have to operate in a practical setting. What would you do as a judge if defence counsel in a murder case says he is unable to make a hearing on the suggested date, since he has to be in England at the same time with another matter? What if the prosecution cannot comply with an order to produce material by a fixed date?

32. @Bonny Peppa who asked:

Can you name some of the entertainment features at Casa Grande? I too would like to take de grans.
    ===============================================================

Bonny, you didn’t read the lead article to this thread? Bumper cars and bowling are two attractions that are not available anywhere else in Bim as yet.

33. Heard this one before?
    What do you call a group of lawyers going over a cliff in a runaway bus?
    Answer: A bloody good start.

34. If I am correct Bumper Cars and Bowling, involve some potential exposure to high voltage electricity, given that one of her employees lost both hand in an electrical accident, I would be cautious in Bowling or Bumping . In Barbados these sets ups do not require technical/safety inspection by government or other authorised qualified persons.

35. Atman
    No,no,no, I din read de entire article. I get problems retaining tings dat sa long. But Bumper-cars n Bowling? stupseeeeeee, not enuff fa my money. But hummuch is the cost for a family of four for a weekend at said hotel? Bumper-cars is bare nonsense ta me and de last time I try Bowling in Canada, up to dis day I doan kno how I get de ball completely off track and lodge onto a fella head. Almost kill he ya. I almost get ban from dat Bowlin-Alley. (not fa true)
    But I thought it was a lot more entertainment. Children get bored quickly so you betta tink twice.

36. Would I be correct in thinking that there is some editorial authority among the “BU Family” who decides which posts should be censored and which should not?

Even the non-appearance on Barbados Underground of the words that I am writing right now could prove to be telling, when it comes to matter.

37. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

Quote: ” The generalities which you highlight above are admirable and desirable, but they have to operate in a practical setting. What would you do as a judge if defence counsel in a murder case says he is unable to make a hearing on the suggested date, since he has to be in Englang at the same time with another matter? What if the prosecution cannot comply with an order to produce material by a fixed date”.

My “generalities” to which you alluded, have to be that, generalities because we are talking of Case Management, general to the proper conduct of the court’s business.

Now to your case mentioned: If the defence counsel has to be in England for another matter on the set date, I presume he will at some time return to Barbados. I will ask him/her when they will be available on their return to Barbados, having got a reply then a date will be set. Quite simple really, just ask the correct questions. The fact that he/she is going to England is neither here or there he/she is just not available, he/she could as well be at Bay Street Beach…they are not available.

If the prosecution cannot comply with an order to produce material by a fixed date. Why not, what is the problem? If the problem seems reasonable more time is given and the reasons noted in the court file. The prosecution will be told that the accused cannot be kept in custody – if that is the situation – for ever just because they have failed to do in a reasonable time what they are expected to do. Then a date is set, with the agreement of all parties.

Jeff there are times when six-handers have to be managed with people from many countries, the Police, six barristers police leave, court space and all the other variables and it is done without unnecessary adjournments in a practical setting…ah well, what does it matter. You may have the last word.

38. @Jack Bowman: “Would I be correct in thinking that there is some editorial authority among the “BU Family” who decides which posts should be censored and which should not?

To the best of my knowledge, you would be *incorrect*.

I can only speak for myself, but I have no influence over BU.David, and no access to BU beyond the same public data streams as anyone and everyone else.

I have reason to believe (from talking with those other “BU Family Members” who I do know) that they don’t either.

You just can’t get over open and free speech, can you Mr. Bowman? It scares you, doesn’t it?

39. @ ROK
    Quoting the Secretary General of the Barbados Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (BANGO), Mr. Roosevelt O. King: “I take it that you are classifying the office of Public Counsel as “legal aid”, which I don’t have a problem with.”
    Quoting the Secretary General of the Barbados Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (BANGO), Mr. Roosevelt O. King:
    “Let me tell you how sick these women are. Most of them live in states where there are few black people … The mother of one of these girls told me that she was so thirsty, that one day she met a 14 or 15 yr old black boy at the supermarket. She enticed him to go behind the supermarket and did it to him. The next time she went to the supermarket, the young boy brought along a friend and she did both of them. This is a married woman who is in her forties and have been doing this to black men since she was 12 yrs old. Now her 13 and 15 yr olds in the act, sometimes alongside her.”
    Source at Barbados Underground: http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/07/28/homosexuality-maybe-linked-to-our-ancestral-experience/#comment-98538

40. Chris Halsall: It would seem that “the best of your knowledge” is somewhat lacking. Several of my posts have never seen the light of day on BU that was until I got on David’s rather weak back about his hypocrisy over “freedom of speech”. Also, there are those of us who are still waiting for an explanation from the same weak-backed David as to how an entire day and certain posts by OK have simply vanished fro the anus…..errrrrr.annals of BU.

41. @”Anon )2)” (May I call you Jack?): “It would seem that “the best of your knowledge” is somewhat lacking.

You asked a specific question. I gave a very specific answer.

I have no idea what BU.David’s editorial / moderation policy is. Nor do I know exactly what WordPress’ automated filtering algorithms are.

To the latter, I can reasonably infer that they are based on heuristics, and will often put “into moderation” those posts which contain certain words, more than one URL, and/or which are submitted using different “Name”, “E-mail” or “Website” inputs but are posted from the same IP.

If you don’t like it, why don’t you (as they say over on BFP) start your own Blog. It takes 10 minutes, and it’s free….

42. MISS RAM SHOULD HAVE BEEN DEPORTED SINCE THE 1970S DUE TO HER UNETHICAL PRACTICES AND THE CRIMINAL LAWYERS IN BARBADOS ARE JUST THAT CRIMINALS WHO ARE LAWYERS.

43. Bonny Peppa my darling sweet heart you know I will never forsake you or BU.I was on a sabbatical.

I am not surprise mealy mouth Richard Sealy has said glowing things about that despicable,rat cather/rat muncher stinking Mrs Ram of Furniture Limited fame.I can remember that same mealy mouth bastard Richard Sealy along with the mutant the dangerous Esther Byer Suckoo & the oversize idiot Christopher Sinckler making similar glowing tributes at an Indian celebrations about two years ago when this clown government first took office. Nothing coming from the mouths of these traitors & nuisances who are masquerading as politicians surprises this Negroman.They are singing for their supper.

We Black Barbadians must send a strong message to these political scum bags.We must let those miscreants know how we feel about they service to us the Black people who have elected them to office.We must let them know that the interest of Black Barbadians must be first & foremost and not the interest of the stinking white trash people living in Barbados,neither the stinking rat catcher/rat munching Indian scums nor the stinking Chinese.

All politicians from both the major political parties in Barbados are nothing but traitors & parasites to this country & the Black People of Barbados..When they pass on to the other side I wish all of them could go & rot in hell.I have no respect,regard for any stinking politician in Barbados.None from the Barbados Labour Party nor the Democratic Labour Party.

Brother Scout,Hopi,JC, Bonny Peppa & the rest all the best.

44. @Mr. Jack Bowman…

I have to ask… Why your hard-on over ROK?

ROK’s comments remain here on BU, don’t they? Empirically, yes.

If ROK was doing anything illegal, he would have surely been taken into custody and extradited by now. Right?

My reading of the full comment and thread (not just the bit you continue to choose to cut-and-paste) communicates to me that ROK is *concerned* about these women, and hates what is being done to them by those “with money” (the great distorter).

45. @All… Please note the empirical…

Mr. Jack Bowman asks a question, which is answered. He is then asked a question which he refuses to answer — he simply repeats himself.

May I please take this opportunity to present this:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUB4j0n2UDU&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1]

46. @JACK BOWMAN

O>YUH SUH CRAZI> YUH KNEED TUH GIT A LIFE!

47. Yardbroom said

“Barbados is not the only country in the world to have Law courts and quite a few of them seek to address Court delay. They do not throw their hands in the air and say nothing can be done.”

I do not think that it is fair to suggest that the Barbadian judiciary has not sought to address delays.

I am not familiar with the problems that exist in the criminal courts, but the former CJ has sought to make the system more efficient with the implementation of the Civil Procedure Rules. (I know there is one legal contributor on BU who has criticized the new rules but I haven’t been able to ascertain the specific problems he/she has experienced).

I think that there will always be a back log of cases so long as the resources aren’t available. Particularly, more judges are needed, but there is no money to pay them.
    —–

Yardbroom also said:

“Now to your case mentioned: If the defence counsel has to be in England for another matter on the set date, I presume he will at some time return to Barbados. I will ask him/her when they will be available on their return to Barbados, having got a reply then a date will be set.”

Your suggestions sound wonderful in theory. However, until there are more resources dedicated to the courts, the efficient system that you have described will remain a chimerical fantasy.

As I said earlier, I may not be familiar with the criminal system but I know how the civil side works. If for some reason an attorney cannot attend on a particular date, the problem of delay is not simply solved by asking him when he can attend. You are failing to appreciate that the date must also be convenient for the court.

Now, consider this hypothetical situation:

Let’s say that the Registrar is saddled with the daunting task of scheduling 3650 matters to be heard this year. Let’s assume that there are 10 judges who can hear a maximum of 10 matters per day. Let us also assume that the court takes no breaks and the judges are scheduled to hear 10 matters every single day, for the entire year.

Now imagine that a matter in which “Lawyer X” is to appear is scheduled for the same day that he is due to appear in the CCJ in relation to another matter. He may ask the court to reschedule for October 10, when he is available. But the Registrar may respond to say that 100 matters (10 for each judge) have already been scheduled for October 10 and consequently there are no judges available. In fact, the Registrar may say that the earliest date that the matter may be scheduled is the following year.

Also consider that there may be more than one defendant in a given matter. And whatever date is chosen will need to be convenient for the other attorneys in the matter.

So it isn’t as simple as merely asking the question: “when will you be available?”

You may think my hypothetical situation is unrealistic but take a look at the former CJ’s speech posted by David earlier in this thread (page 7 of the speech). At the time that the speech was given there were 107 applications listed for hearing that week. That number does not include trials. At that rate (and once again assuming that there are no breaks) there would have been over 5000 applications to be heard that year. There are only 13 judges who are also expected to write judgments and preside over actual trials.

Yardbroom, I think you have to appreciate that if the problem was as easy to solve as you say, it would have been solved a long time ago.

I think there have been steps in the right direction with the new court and the new CPR but let’s not assume that every problem that the judiciary faces is because of the incompetence of lawyers, judges and court administrators.

48. @Anonlegal

Did you read the nation newspaper report which is embedded in the blog?

The problem as reported has to do with lawyers not attending cases in the High Court. How would more judges address this matter?

49. Negro
    My hero, ya got ma cryinnnnnn. Almost fall offa ma chair man. Ya names got ma bawlinnn. Rat muncher. I missed you so much and my beloved Scout has decided to take a break because of some lil incident wid a few ‘jokas’ bout hay and now i can’ hear my man Scout a’tall.
    I welcome you back wid wide open arms. You is my Hero, Negro. Ya like suggaaa.

SCOUT
    SURPRISE MA NAH. GOOD GAWDDDDDDDDDD

50. David said:

“The problem as reported has to do with lawyers not attending cases in the High Court. How would more judges address this matter?”

I wasn’t really addressing the Judge’s comments but moreso Yardbroom’s. However, I will attempt to answer your question.

Madame Justice Kentish stated:

“There was a time in this country when the Assizes took precedent over everything and over every commitment that a lawyer had. He didn’t come or she didn’t come to court and say I cannot come to court on this date or that this date was not convenient.”

It seems that she is suggesting that Assizes should take precedence over other matters. I get the impression that the lawyers are asking for adjournments because they are scheduled to be in other courts (perhaps for civil matters). Maybe if there are more judges there will be less back log. Less back log means that civil matter will be easier to reschedule.

If civil matters are easier to reschedule then we may find ourselves back to a situation where Assizes takes precedence over other civil matters (like the good old days of which justice Kentish speaks).

So for example, let’s say that 5 new judges are added to the bench and the back log eases.

Let’s also imagine that “Lawyer X” is scheduled for a hearing on October 10 but is also scheduled for assizes on the same date, he may feel a lot more confident rescheduling the civil matter because he may be able to get a date later in the same month. With the current understaffed judiciary he may have to wait 4 months or longer before getting another date.

I don’t even need to go that far, more judges may simply mean that even if a Lawyer requests an adjournment the matter can be re-scheduled a lot sooner (perhaps even the next week) because of the availability of another judge.

(NB: I do accept that the scenarios described in the nation article suggest that the accused persons were obtaining adjournemnts by gaming the system. I am not sure if that is the usual reason for adjournemnts in Assizes. Maybe a criminal attorney can enlighten me)