SCARE FOR ST PHILIP FAMILY
Photo: Nigel Browne

Yesterday a 160 word story appeared in a local daily. It reported the troubling story about the Puckerin family of St. Philip who found an explosive device equipped with detonator lodged in the groundsill of their house. Thankfully the fuse although found to be burnt did not result in an explosion.

The news story went on to detail that a statement was made at District C Police Station; the expected empty quote from the police Sergeant Denis Small was mentioned. One sentence which BU almost missed if that is at all possible in a 160 word article, “Small said that in 2008 and 2009, there were similar reports in St. John.”

Why the hell would the little known Puckerin family attract this kind of attention on no less than three occasions that we know of? Why would the newspaper feel compel to report this story? It appears there is a story behind the story and as usual it is left to the blogs to make the more important story public.

It appears Shawn Pinder the nephew of a local don Nigel ‘Bounty’ Pinder got 15 years for manslaughter when he last appeared in our Courts. Do you want to guess who he killed? You guessed it correctly, Arden Puckerin who lived at the same address which has been threatened by explosion on three different occasions according to police records. BU has been repeating like a stuck record that our lawn has started to sprout weeds. We are far behind Jamaica as far as garrison communities taking root in our society goes but all the signs are with us that if we do nothing our destiny will mirror the path West Kingston has followed.

Under the stewardship of Commissioner Darwin Dottin our criminal statistics stack up wonderfully well compared to our neighbouring islands but are we to be satisfied? Should we be concerned at how sub-cultures are beginning to take root? Hell yes! Will our politicians do anything to help? Hell no! Will our lawyers do anything to help? Hell no! Where can Barbadians turn to for help?

The power lies in PEOPLE power, WE have the power but we don’t know it yet!

66 responses to “The Story Local Media Is Scared To Report On”

1. Bosun
    you is one bright, smart fella ya hear? you is a ‘roads- scholar’ or wah? (4 roads or 6 roads, which?) I too luv a smart man, hear?

2. The above e-mail rings soooo true and probably can be applied to many other countries as well . I think Haiti would fit very well in there too.

3. Bad man saying nuttin Avatar
    Bad man saying nuttin

Hants you idiot, Once the detonator and fuse have been removed it is about as dangerous as fertiliser. So yo don’t need gloves or a shield or protective equipment once that is done. If you don’t know what you are talking about then shut up. People like you always want to believe the worst even when it is absurdly implausible.

Do you think that you could get a nation reporter or photographer to risk their life to take a picture ? LOL
    The bomb was already disarmed and that was a staged photo much like the ones you see with the Top common entrance performers. Do you think parents and teachers wait until the camera arrives to hug their children/students? the photographer says “OK let me get a big hug for the story” and thats the pic you see. Same thing with the explosive photo.

4. @Bad man saying nothing………Some years ago a veteran ATO (Bomb Disposal Officer) with many tours and years of experience in Northern Ireland was giving a demonstration to policemen in the Midlands, and he accidentally blew himself there in the class room. And he was an expert .

5. @Bonny…….that’ll be a “Rode Scholar,” but I am still Riding mind you..

6. Bosun
    And nevva had a fall while Ridin needa, a betcha. I keep tellin dese peeple dat you is a Boss.

7. @Bosun… I suspect you and a few others will appreciate this…

You can now buy retail in the great US of A a 1W (one (1) Watt) blue laser diode for less than USD $200; smaller than your thumb.

Wouldn’t you like to face that mounted on an enemies gun sights?

Hell, they wouldn’t even need to pull the trigger for the high-velocity atoms — the photons alone would be enough to blind you instantly and set your skin on fire…

I hear there’s a discount if you buy in volume, or if you are an OEM….

8. @Adrian

Is the “big man” from the Orleans that you’re referring to Winston “Iston Bull” Branch?

9. Evil will flourish when good men do nothing. B’dos is too small for evil to be unknown. The question is, the people who know are saying and doing nothing. This blog is too small to do the job of galvanising our communnities. We need a strategy to get our communities to rise up, give reports and information. Lock the perpetrators and the corruptors to france up. I would pay more taxes to house them at Dodds too. The 4th estate, calypsonians, and politicians, and churches have the wider reach. Someting really happening, and not enough doing to make sure the wrong something don’ happen.

10. Interesting to note the Commissioner of Police in a terse statement lamenting the lack of forensic options available to the force.

11. @Bajan Truth

While it true David defeated Goliath you should consider that promoting change is hard in any circumstance. Yes BU RSS Feeds flow to Twitter and Facebook where thousands of Bajans are exposed to the messages of BU. However you should consider using multiple channels to get your message out.

12. Christopher Hasal made the comment that” the only way in his opinion to protect oneself it to have no enemies ” Suppose you are disliked by your friends…….

13. Atman // June 16, 2010 at 6:09 PM

@Adrian

Is the “big man” from the Orleans that you’re referring to Winston “Iston Bull” Branch?
    ==========================================

Yes! wuh became of him?

14. The DLP is not protecting or even empowering the youth–it is exposing them to the elements.

But while you and your parents are struggling – DLP Ministers and its members are getting obese on the fatted calf. How could that be fair?

And, in share disrespect – the DLP tries to buy the loyalty and silence of young people with a free Fete this week end.

15. Where is the budget? where are the refunds of the thousands of the tax payers that are yet to receive from last year? hmmmmmmmmm no money no love….

16. @Adrian

He still lives in the Orleans and I see him from time driving his big SUV. Don’t know if he’s still in the drug business, but he’s been keeping a rather low profile.