Submitted by Austin

Click on image to view live underwater feed

Someone better check out the safety of oil industries, production and transport in the Caribbean region: before it’s too late.

Today many news outlets are covering the success of the US space program with focus on the shuttle. Ironically I find it absolutely amazing that we can fly too and from outer space, yet we can’t plug a hole in de ground (noting the oil spill off the US coast).

Just for one minute imagine how we in the Caribbean region would be impacted if a similar thing occurred off our shores.  Our tourism and fishing industries would be crippled if not destroyed, not to mention the money we don’t have for clean up efforts.
As a region we better check out any coast line oil production and transport, noting how close in proximity many Caribbean nations are relatively speaking.

With all BP’s record profits in recent years clearly not enough was put into ensuring safe and environmentally friendly innovation and research. BP has become to the environment what firms like Goldman Sachs was to the financial crisis,  “Too big to fail” has been extended to “Too rich to be held accountable”.

147 responses to “BP Oil Spill Surpasses Exxon Valdez”

1. @BT,

“You know full well that my conspiracy theory in NOT economic in basis. It is criminal.”

That is not what you told us earlier. You claimed…

“… that BP’s only overriding interests in this matter are (1) – protecting their behinds and (2) maximizing the oil recovery ($$$) from their well.”

As MME explained (and I tried to point out), It is in BP’s interest to plug the well. They are not actually taking revenue from it at the time and the greater the “mess” the greater their cost. They have committed in their press releases to carry this cost.

Closing the well does not “risk closing down BP”. Creating a larger mess does.

David’s post with press release was anything but your “point”

“BP’s continued management of the location, they get to maintain control of the crime scene.”

You do know the “crime scene” has sunk? And no they are not “managing it”

Moreover, the rig was run by Transocean. Evidence of BP’s culpability in any criminal negligence would have to exist offshore.

@MME

How often do you find a rational conspiracy theory? LOL

Yes of course. However, to kick BP one side (as seems to be suggested by BT?) would be counter productive.

2. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“How often do you find a rational conspiracy theory?”

LOL NS… depends on how you define conspiracy theory, but I have to confess that BT’s conspiracies have a certain appeal to them.

Found this list of ‘conspiracy theories’ that eventually turned out to be true… so BT just might get one right one of these days… provided of course that ‘endtimes’ don’t strike first LOL

http://www.sixwise.com/newsletters/07/02/28/the-9-most-shocking-conspiracy-theories-that-turned-out-to-be-true.htm

3. @NS
    Which part of covering their own behinds do not strike you as dealing with criminal intent?

Crime scene has sunk? … there are tapes and videos of meetings, notes to be purged, documents to be shredded…..

@MME
    man I give up. …for you, BP means Bajan Pastor – ie can do no wrong.

“criminal investigation would not be complete…” so Stanford investigation complete…? All those men need is some clear evidence up front, and a grand Jury in your bottom….. the investigation then takes years…

Bush Tea has laid my conspiracy theory. I am prepared to wait for the movie….LOL

4. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Bush Tea has laid my conspiracy theory. I am prepared to wait for the movie….LOL”

Man BT… you mean “laid to rest” LOL… if it is any consolation, the ‘relief well’ which I just drilled into your conspiracy theory didn’t cost BU a cent. ROFL

5. “Crime scene has sunk? … there are tapes and videos of meetings, notes to be purged, documents to be shredded…..”

And capping or not capping the well has little influence on this.

6. “BT just might get one right one of these days…”

I too, am sure the ever cynical BT will strike one day.

He throws so much mud (he should be been used to plug the well !) something will stick.

7. OK Ing.

….just remember it is he who laughs last that counts…

8. To put things in perspective, the loss of life in the Gulf will be a cakewalk when compared to Bhopal. Even after 25 years people from the area still suffer from the ill effects and children are still being born with birth defects. And if anyone thinks the course of justice runs like molasses in Barbados, the Indian Courts just handed down a verdict …………25 years after the accident.

I suppose that’s a start, to this day the plant has not been decontaminated.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8725140.stm

9. BP Liar ! Liar! pants on fire! Liars can figure and figures can lie. That is just the tip of the oilberg.

10. It would be foolish for Bajans to assume that their love affair( pun intended) with tourism will last forever. The Island was developed with tourist dollars and this came at a huge price which of course most Bajans would not want to talk about .
    The real problem on the horizon however is “peak oil” and the destabilizing effects it will have on the tourism sector if it materializes. If fuel is to expensive travel disappears.
    My view then is that Barbados will have no choice but to search for and develop its off shore oil reserves and this incident in the gulf will again allow “common sense” to be heard in the board room and should translate into regulations and quality assurance system that are designed to minimize blow out risk and manage spills. For a country like Bim to have say 7 wells and insist that relief wells be in place for all of them is a possibility in a post Gulf blow out world . What do you think?

11. @There is an Upside for Barbados

We are told that it is already an expensive undertaking to drill in the very deep waters where oil is said to be posited. To add relief well will add significantly to final cost not so? For it to make sense the price of oil on the world market will have to be high? Maybe MME, Bush Tea can asset.

12. I wonder if MME has noted the recent downgrade of BP’s credit rating from triple A to triple B? …. getting close to junk.

No doubt he has noted that the most recent (and most accurate so far) estimate of the flow rate into the Gulf is now between 35000 to 60000 BPD

MME’s vaunted ‘TOP CAP’ is said to be ‘capable’ of up to 18000 BPD. (actually is has been no where near to that capability and indeed was last heard to be turned off due to a fire on a drill ship)

Bush Tea is really disappointed that it is taking my partners MME and ‘Not Saved’ so long to come out like real men, and admit that the bushman was right from the very beginning.
    It will not be easy to do, swallowing one’s pride never is, but as the facts become clearer, swallowing will become even more difficult LOL.

This is MUCH more serious than is (deliberately) being portrayed by the authorities (especially BP). The Obama response of “insisting that BP makes everything right financially” is misguided at best, stupid at worse and probably just plain naive. BP will be broke by Thanksgiving, and will disappear just like Enron and the big crooked Wall Street brokers did.

A few years ago (in the good old days of BOLTS, Dodds and GEMS), well before the fan was impacted by the brown stuff, Bush Tea warned BU family of the imminent closing of this phase of ‘life on earth’….and of the pain that will accompany the death of this phase and the birth of the next one.

The Bush man tried to explain BBE, the background to the whole project, and how everything was going EXACTLY as planned, was on schedule, and well within budget…..
    Now we have reached the stage where everyone can see the writing on the wall… but few understands the big picture.

…….see if Revelation chapter 8 does not appear to be coming to life before our very eyes…. “Something like a burning mountain (a massive burning Oil Rig?) is cast into the sea and turns the waters like blood -killing the creatures??!!.”….. Hmmmmm

@ MMEand NS, separate yourselves from BP and their propaganda; come over and join with BT to share the true perspectives before you both suffer similar downgrades to BP…… LOL

13. @Bush Tea
    Better yet BP can file Bankruptcy! Then what.The federal government would be forced to clean up te enviroment and some of the other mes related to the states,Cuba has already got into it after fifty years of disagreements with USA thetwo governments are talking aboutthe oil spill and how it will affect cuba shorelines. Imagine what Obama might be thinking that is why he held that “BP I’m Watching YOU” press conference. Obama have to stand firm if not the Federal goverment would be left holding the bag. I know Obama must be a nervous wreck. Those oil barons are thieves and they don’t care. When the going gets hot . The hot gets going. Obama Watchout!

14. @Bush Tea

Something like a burning mountain into the sea
    That can be a volcano.

15. @ ac
    Did you see pictures of the oil rig on fire before it fell into the sea?
    Do you appreciate the size and height of these things?

How would you expect a writer from two thousand years ago to describe that scenario if he saw it in a vision….?

……but it could also be a volcano. (I don’t argue with sweet women… LOL)

16. The other angle to consider is the potential political fallout between perennial allies Great Britain and the USA. Bear in mind pension funds and other investments will go the way of BP if it becomes insolvent. So on one side you have Obama flogging BP to spend its last dollar to stop/clean up the mess and on the other side we have a new UK Prime Minister who is under pressure to defend BP for the stated reasons and others.

17. @ ac
    …..as for Obama, Bush Tea is still trying to work out why a black man would want to be in charge of the USA at any time – far less now as president of a broke, broken indebted collection of mixed up states….
    ….the possible answers that come to mind are not flattering.

I am interested in MME’s take of the consequences of this thing leaking until Christmas ( I expect that BP will come back and announce a delay in the relief well due to a miscalculation or other error – causing them to be off target…)

Bush Tea feels that MME should be somewhere up in Louisiana advising BP on strategy…. LOL

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea
    Add Revelation 18 to the Revelation 8 picture
    Tell them for me cause if GOP says it they will say GP is a moron.

But current affairs indicate that the Revelation 18 & Revelation 8 picture is not only very possible, but very imminent. Ah gone

19. @Bush Tea
    How about the awesome power of volcanoes and their ability to form islands

20. Dead right David.

…..not to mention the various ‘financial interests’ that BP holds in other entities which will undergo stressful changes if and when BP dies….

…and NO ONE can conceive of the dastardly possibilities that could be caused by a hurricane near to the Gulf in the coming months…

What an interesting time in which to live….

21. I trust BP would do the right thing for all concerned. But this is a massive undertaking which does not only include the USA but some of the carribbean islands as well. Now unless The federal govrnment would shoulder some of these problems for BP, .i see no way Bp can do it alone. Maybe great Britian would partner along with the USA in some of the responsibility,

22. @ GP

I think that you are wrong.

Most persons appreciate your perspective of eschatology. But you need to realize that for most, it is very difficult to contextualize the concepts of Revelations.

How do you say to persons whose lives revolve 100% around the very things that are now at risk of being lost or destroyed, that such levels of destruction and chaos is now imminent?

This is why Bush Tea was more focused on explaining the overall BBE concept, plan and design.

The truth is that in the current world situation and the dismal outlook, even the most pragmatic among us (like our friend Not Saved) must now be contemplating the fragility of their positions and wondering if the BBE plan should not have engaged their attention all along….

In short GP, why not just talk your talk, while understanding that it may be disturbing to those who, having built their lives 100% on earthly things, cannot now afford to contemplate your pronouncements……

…of course there are also persons like the bushman -who can be a bit of a pest by asking questions to which there are no easy answers….

You should be man enough to deal wisely with all these types GP

23. @whoever

To my thinking Revelation is a that of the persons dreams over an extended period of years. these writings reminds me of dream like thoughts and rewritten without an explanation expect to those among us who think of them as the begining of the end times..

24. @ ac
    “Maybe great Britian would partner along with the USA in some of the responsibility…”
    *************************************************************************************************
    You laughing at us right ac??!!

Hello ???!!! You are aware that the USA is broke are you not???!!! Do you know how much money they ALREADY owe to other countries?
    Do you know what it cost to do Iraq and Afghanistan?

ac, right now the USA can’t buy a coke unless China lends them the money……

Why you think Obama rush and said to BP “this is your mess – you clean it up…?”

Britain is also broke. …. the inevitable result of years of warring and socialism where persons who produced nothing were encouraged to live in luxury at the expense of the state (the few who actually produced and the resources that they stole from the new world over the centuries)…. now the chickens have come home to roost…

In Summary – If the USA and England have to clean us the Gulf it will be oily for decades….

25. @ ac
    To my thinking Revelation is a that of the persons dreams over an extended period of years…..
    ************************************************************************************************
    Unfortunately your ‘thinking’ is not particularly relevant to the reality of Revelations sweetheart… so why not focus on thinking of the bushman….

26. @Bush Tea

Tell a man you broke and he will leave you alone. American has just forked up$400million dollars in foreign aid for Palestian. America is broke good line for those who wish to believe it.
    Don’t worry Britian would find the money even if the have to sell off some of their buillion . They are not going to compromise the friendship with the USA. Have you ever heard of Fort Knox or watch a documentary!, Broke what!

27. @BT,

“Bush Tea is really disappointed that it is taking my partners MME and ‘Not Saved’ so long to come out like real men, and admit that the bushman was right from the very beginning.”

I do hate to keep you waiting. LOL

What exactly would like me to admit?

28. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

LOL… but look how BT and GP gone an open the seventh seal jus so… wha happen… couldn’t wait for the first six?

Calm down BT… it is very likely that the relief well will be off target on the first few attempts, and that “BP will come back and announce a delay in the relief well due to a miscalculation or other error – causing them to be off target”… in fact it would be an extremely remarkable feat of engineering if they hit target on the first attempt… but it is clever of you to introduce this as something you could later use as ‘special insight’ into a conspiracy LOL

On a secondary note, I wonder how many people remember that an oil spill 8 times the size of Exxon Valdez (and a little more than what has been spilled in the Gulf so far) occurred just a few miles off the coast of Barbados in July 1979. If only we had the internet and CNN back then… BT and GP would have sounded the seventh trumpet by now. 🙂

29. MME,

You beat me to it about the oil spill right next door !

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Micro Mock Engineer // June 16, 2010 at 12:49 AM

LOL… but look how BT and GP gone an open the seventh seal jus so… wha happen… couldn’t wait for the first six?

=========================================
    MME I rejoice that you are at least acquainted with the seals. This is much more than the average BS spewer on BU knows. I am sure, however, that you are only here waxing poetically and that you know that we are not at all sugesting that any of the seals have yet been opened. But there are some interesting similarities.

Be good my dear man

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bush Tea // June 15, 2010 at 10:54 PM

I think that by now you know that “ I talk my talk while understanding that it may be disturbing to those who, having built their lives 100% on earthly things, cannot now afford to contemplate my pronouncements……”

I think you know too that I was just engaging in some sarcasm

Whereas, I know that no seals are yet broken, and whereas I know that the good Lord does not need any practice runs, the current inability to clean up the oil spill by the Americans, and the recent crippling of commerce via air for almost a week coupled to the banking collapse in 2008 are very interesting parallels in my view.

They all reveal that man is not quite in control as he thinks he is. It also tells me that the good Lord can use “natural” occurrences as some folk call them to do his bidding.

I must confess that I am enjoying watching the maguffies of this world squirm in thier high seats of “power”. especially dbama What a twit!

32. @Bush Tea

Warning Revelation 22 vs !8 and that includes all who addd to revelation. Take heed for the punishment would be severe. Interpretation included for mankind is self serving and only finds gratification when their egos are in control.

33. Slim Pickens the US oil tycoon is reported to have said he believes BP will stop the leak by mid September. He went on to say Obama should be working with BP to solve the problem and when the cap is successful then try to look at the other issues.

34. Watching BP’s CEO being questioned by the Commerce Senate SUB*-Committee is classic capitalist DRAMA*…

It brings me back to OLLIE* NORTH in the IRAN-CONTRA Affair where I believe the most powerful statement in the world was coined – “I HAVE NO RECOLLECTION OF”…

Tony Hayward is clearly doing an OLLIE NORTH* – and you have to smile at these jokers as they gesticulate with frustration given that they want to make you and I think they are so powerful but in the face of “NAKED, UNBRIDLED CAPITALIST EVIL” – they are powerless to even get a straight answer!!!

In the end, MONEY* talks…

Say what you want!!!

35. It goes to show how annoyed the Americans get when you do not toe the line with them. I commend Mr Hayward for keeping his cool and his mouth shut. As Mr Hayward pointed out he is involved in a host of other investigations,and to come and spill his guts before the US Senate and the whole word, is just not British.
    What amused me is when one Senator implied that BP had come into their land and more or less ran roughshod over the American people, or words to that effect. I supposed that Geronimo and Sitting Bull would have echoed those same words200 years ago.

36. So Mr. Hayward goes sailing with his son and america heaps fire and brimstone on his head. Obama on the same day plays golf with his buddies and very few littleisaid about it. Mr Hayward is not the owner of BP and he deserves to have aleast one day off after 61 days of constant bombardment by the press. Wasn’t he supposed to have given up The Ceo position away.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hurray ac! You have done it!
    You have actually made some sense in your post above

You have done above that by the rok-et scientist!

If Obama can attend pop concets and play golf why cant the Bp man sail for a day?

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Either 1 tyhe South African bowling up and down
    2 the wicket at Warner Park is a “road” for trute as Gatle said
    3 or the fellas applied them selves for a change
    Hurray to Nash and Chanders!

39. BP playing dirty tricks . Tell the CEo to take the day of . Then call the media to rat on him. .

40. @GP

owh ole ur yu? 2 or 102

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I notice that the FUGITIVE is bck on tv.
    That fascinated us as youths when tv first came to Bim in the early 60’s

42. @GP

Since i am no mathematician. I”ll say 102.

43. Watch the video…deja vu!

http://www.wimp.com/oilspills/

44. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

David… if you liked that video, you’ll love this one…

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-june-16-2010/an-energy-independent-future

45. Question to the experts here on this ‘Super Mega Disaster’ in the Gulf.

Does anyone know that there IS a ‘Black out’ on the established media, i.e., CNN, FOX, etc on really telling the truth on this Super Mega Crisis?

The depth that BP drilled on this well, is more like between 25-30 thousand feet! Never before has anyone EVER attempted drilling at this depth, apart from Russia, who did it on land, not in the sea.

And, BTW, the pressure is more like 20-70,000 psi here in the Gulf, that IS WHY they CANNOT let the truth out, hence a black out on the media.

The bottom line on this FIASCO, is, that they do NOT have any known way of stoping this MEGA MESS, other then, a nuclear device, which carries tremendous, untold other consequences, beyond our imigination.

Where did I get this info from? Sources that know the truth! Which is not, and at this point in time, cannot be told to the public!

46. At last Zoe has happened upon a pertinent point that is unreported in the MSM.

The “spill” is not the fault of the failed BOP which all the world is concentrated upon, but a defective well casing, maybe miles below that.

This “well” kept secret of defective piping will eventually have to be addressed if the rupture miles below the sea floor is to be repaired.

But unfortunately that would take an admission by the MMS they allowed a potentially fatal decision to be made.

47. @MME

Got that link in the mailbox a few days back and was thinking about using it in an upcoming piece…lol.