Submitted by Austin

Click on image to view live underwater feed

Someone better check out the safety of oil industries, production and transport in the Caribbean region: before it’s too late.

Today many news outlets are covering the success of the US space program with focus on the shuttle. Ironically I find it absolutely amazing that we can fly too and from outer space, yet we can’t plug a hole in de ground (noting the oil spill off the US coast).

Just for one minute imagine how we in the Caribbean region would be impacted if a similar thing occurred off our shores.  Our tourism and fishing industries would be crippled if not destroyed, not to mention the money we don’t have for clean up efforts.
As a region we better check out any coast line oil production and transport, noting how close in proximity many Caribbean nations are relatively speaking.

With all BP’s record profits in recent years clearly not enough was put into ensuring safe and environmentally friendly innovation and research. BP has become to the environment what firms like Goldman Sachs was to the financial crisis,  “Too big to fail” has been extended to “Too rich to be held accountable”.

147 responses to “BP Oil Spill Surpasses Exxon Valdez”

1. Wunnuh had better check, sea currents and see if any of that oil will make its way down the island chain.

2. Barbados should be fine.The water currents that affect that area doesn’t cross Barbados,the only major Caribbean islands that will likely be affected are in the Greater Antilles such as Northern Cuba,The Bahamas,possibly Haiti,Turks and Caicos etc before turning North along the coast.Florida could also be heavily impacted on both sides and points North on the east coast over time if it is allowed to continue.On the bright side,it might mean increased Tourism for the Caribbean if the oil spill threatens Florida and/or the Bahamas…..think about it !

http://weblogs.sun-sentinel.com/news/politics/dcblog/2010/05/loop_current_poses_oilspill_th.html

3. @Adrian Hinds

Oh you would love that to happen won’t you?

4. @atman

I don’t think Adrian was wishing for that to happen… However there is nothing wrong with being smart and proactive evaluating our risk of such an event, so we can plan or update safely policy accordingly to protect our nation.

The alternative is the usual head in the sand approach…

5. Johnny Postle Avatar

@ Jay

They say that hurricanes hardly travel and remain constantly south from of the African coast. They tend to swerve towards the North as have been the case with many for many years. However hurricane Ivan decided to change all of that and remained southernly. The Grenadians can tell you all the horrific accounts of that fateful day. Jay science may tell us and show us the all the likely possible outcomes but the last say lies with mother nature and her course of action.

6. Thanks Jay! But like Johnny Postles hints, it is not a gaurantee that the islands will not be affected, so I would urge Barbadian authorities to look at the possibility, to monitor, and to keep the phone number of BP CEO handy. Just in case.

7. God forbid any island were to be affected by the spill that would spell disaster because our islands depend on the ecosystem to support the tourism product.

8. BP my ass. Call them by their right title BRITISH PETROLEUM.

9. Oil spill in the Carribbean .The fishing industry would be devasted for those who depend on fishing for their living.

10. @Austin:

Thanks for the defense, but so you now, this atman person has stated in previous post that his sole reason for being on BU is to rile me up or something so.

It is likely that any post of theirs address to me is for that purpose only. So you can choose to ignore, I do. lol!

11. @Adrian Hinds

Let me correct you once more. Firstly, I never said that you are the sole reason for being here…don’t flatter yourself because you’re not that important. Secondly, I said that I enjoy showing you up to be the jackass that you are…if you become riled up that’s your problem. Thirdly, my comment that you probably love Barbados to be affected by the oil leak is based on historical observation of your disparaging comments about Barbados. In some instances you have expressed scorn and disdain for Barbados…maybe you haven’t done it here to the same degree…but you and I go back a few years in other places.

12. That should have read:

sole reason for ME being here

13. @David:
    Given all the confusion surrounding the amount of oil that was gushing out of the well, do you think it is possible that the Valdez amount was surpass long before now? I think so.

14. quote from WSJ

Between 12,000 and 19,000 barrels per day are estimated to be spilling into the waters of the Gulf, said U.S. Geological Survey director Marcia McNutt, the leader of an inter-agency team created to measure the size and rate of the spill following criticism that a previous estimate of 5,000 barrels a day was inaccurate.

Rig sank on April 22 2010. The Exxon Valdez, spilled about 250,000 barrels of oil into Prince Williams Bay in Alaska in 1989.

@12,000 barrels a day it would have taken about 20 (May 11th) days to reach Valdez amount.

Maybe the claim is that it started at 5,000 and grew to 12-19K. lol!

@ Austin

This Atman person is assumed to be someone calling themselves “Gearbox” on a poorly attended forum.

Here is what this person said:

Gearbox on Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:42 am

Doan leh Adri ruffle yuh feathers PP…nobody has done more damage tuh forums dan he and some of his friends…he’s just trying tuh get undah yuh skin. Wow have you seen the hits on this thread already? 122 and counting.

by Gearbox on Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:37 pm

I tell yuh doan leh dah idiot get undah yuh skin. Over at BU he practically non-existent cause de only body who does pay he any mind is de fella David. De only reason I went ovah at BU is because you mention dat he does be there, and I know he does try to avoid me, and you know how I luv tuh show he up fuh de fool dat he is. Dah aint my kinda place…but I just decide that I gine toy wid he and whoever else get in de way till uh tired.

I think I am justified in ignoring his comments address to me, and I do. lol!

15. @Adrian Hinds

You can ignore me all you like Adri but it doesn’t change anything about you…you’re still the same joker who I will show up when anytime you shoot shit to the public. How can you say that you are really ignoring me when you’re trying so desperately hard to defend yourself. LOL

Initially I came here because of a reference made about you when I was enquiring enquiring about an article I saw pertaining to nasty racial remarks on BFP and BU. However, let me reassure you that my reason for visiting here periodically and making a contribution is not centered around you pal. As you can see I make contributions even when you are not involved, and I sometimes have to ignore your frivolous attempts to attack me.

Now my forum is no more poorly attended than yours was up until the point that you shut it down like a spoilt child who takes up his bat and ball and done cricket just because he can’t have his own way.

16. Not only does the Caribbean Islands have to be on the look for fallout from this oil spill. The American public as to be on the look out also. Inspite of the President saying that no taxpayers money will spent on cleanup, and inspite of British Petroleum making as much as 16 million a day in pure profit, corporate greed will still attempt to make the public pay.

———————————

Is he refering to BU and its family???

Dah aint my kinda place…but I just decide that I gine toy wid he and whoever else get in de way till uh tired.

Who ever else????

Is it now his kinda place? Why is he still here????? lol!

17. @Adrian

Will let MME or one of the others answer you question.

@all

For what it is worth Obama visited a Loisiana site today to see first hand.

BTW, what is Sarah ‘drill baby’ Palin saying about the mess?

18. I don’t know what she is saying. I honestly don’t go out of my way to listen to her.

On this issue she is neither in government nor an executive of British Petroleum. She does not have the power to act.

BTW:
    This Atman and BU’s crictic one PiedPiper are very good friends. lol!

19. Why is obama taking full responsibilty for big oil problems! I noticed how the right wing is trying to say that oil spill is similar to Katrina. I find it hard to see the similarityafter all Katrina was an act of Nature . While the opposite is true for BP.It seems so far that the Mud is not doing as expected Bp keeps asking for more time to make a decision on the experiment.I however don’t think the mud is going to hold because of the sea pressure.

20. @ac

The fact that the spill has gone on for so long will inevitably make it a political issue.

The fact that Obama ran on a campaign of clean energy and he gave the order to drill in the gulf will add fuel to the waters.

21. Yeah but Obama has placed a moritorium on the issue of drilling for at least six months and I won’t be surprised if he does not allowed any drilling in the future.
    THe politics is inevitable and for sure the enviroment is going to be the deciding force when Obama makes his decision. Like I said he has been having many sleepless nights as he himself confirm . .THe fact that he ran his campaign on clean engery only goes to show THe power of Big Oil in con vincing him to change his mind. However Nature Has given him the final word in changing his mind and he ought to listen.
    AS for Sarah Palin she is a poltical blow hard with nothing to say . To me she is likea cartoon character.
    I hope nothing like this ever happen in the Carribean . Outside of my love for the enviroment. As i said the fishing industry would be devasted .

22. He Was Supposed to Be Competent
    The spill is a disaster for the president and his political philosophy.
    By PEGGY NOONAN

I don’t see how the president’s position and popularity can survive the oil spill. This is his third political disaster in his first 18 months in office. And they were all, as they say, unforced errors, meaning they were shaped by the president’s political judgment and instincts.

There was the tearing and unnecessary war over his health-care proposal and its cost. There was his day-to-day indifference to the views and hopes of the majority of voters regarding illegal immigration. And now the past almost 40 days of dodging and dithering in the face of an environmental calamity. I don’t see how you politically survive this.

The president, in my view, continues to govern in a way that suggests he is chronically detached from the central and immediate concerns of his countrymen. This is a terrible thing to see in a political figure, and a startling thing in one who won so handily and shrewdly in 2008. But he has not, almost from the day he was inaugurated, been in sync with the center. The heart of the country is thinking each day about A, B and C, and he is thinking about X, Y and Z. They’re in one reality, he’s in another.

The American people have spent at least two years worrying that high government spending would, in the end, undo the republic. They saw the dollars gushing night and day, and worried that while everything looked the same on the surface, our position was eroding. They have worried about a border that is in some places functionally and of course illegally open, that it too is gushing night and day with problems that states, cities and towns there cannot solve.

And now we have a videotape metaphor for all the public’s fears: that clip we see every day, on every news show, of the well gushing black oil into the Gulf of Mexico and toward our shore. You actually don’t get deadlier as a metaphor for the moment than that, the monster that lives deep beneath the sea.

In his news conference Thursday, President Obama made his position no better. He attempted to act out passionate engagement through the use of heightened language—”catastrophe,” etc.—but repeatedly took refuge in factual minutiae. His staff probably thought this demonstrated his command of even the most obscure facts. Instead it made him seem like someone who won’t see the big picture. The unspoken mantra in his head must have been, “I will not be defensive, I will not give them a resentful soundbite.” But his strategic problem was that he’d already lost the battle. If the well was plugged tomorrow, the damage will already have been done.

The original sin in my view is that as soon as the oil rig accident happened the president tried to maintain distance between the gusher and his presidency. He wanted people to associate the disaster with BP and not him. When your most creative thoughts in the middle of a disaster revolve around protecting your position, you are summoning trouble. When you try to dodge ownership of a problem, when you try to hide from responsibility, life will give you ownership and responsibility the hard way. In any case, the strategy was always a little mad. Americans would never think an international petroleum company based in London would worry as much about American shores and wildlife as, say, Americans would. They were never going to blame only BP, or trust it.

I wonder if the president knows what a disaster this is not only for him but for his political assumptions. His philosophy is that it is appropriate for the federal government to occupy a more burly, significant and powerful place in America—confronting its problems of need, injustice, inequality. But in a way, and inevitably, this is always boiled down to a promise: “Trust us here in Washington, we will prove worthy of your trust.” Then the oil spill came and government could not do the job, could not meet the need, in fact seemed faraway and incapable: “We pay so much for the government and it can’t cap an undersea oil well!”

This is what happened with Katrina, and Katrina did at least two big things politically. The first was draw together everything people didn’t like about the Bush administration, everything it didn’t like about two wars and high spending and illegal immigration, and brought those strands into a heavy knot that just sat there, soggily, and came to symbolize Bushism. The second was illustrate that even though the federal government in our time has continually taken on new missions and responsibilities, the more it took on, the less it seemed capable of performing even its most essential jobs. Conservatives got this point—they know it without being told—but liberals and progressives did not. They thought Katrina was the result only of George W. Bush’s incompetence and conservatives’ failure to “believe in government.” But Mr. Obama was supposed to be competent.

Remarkable too is the way both BP and the government, 40 days in, continue to act shocked, shocked that an accident like this could have happened. If you’re drilling for oil in the deep sea, of course something terrible can happen, so you have a plan on what to do when it does.

How could there not have been a plan? How could it all be so ad hoc, so inadequate, so embarrassing? We’re plugging it now with tires, mud and golf balls?

What continues to fascinate me is Mr. Obama’s standing with Democrats. They don’t love him. Half the party voted for Hillary Clinton, and her people have never fully reconciled themselves to him. But he is what they have. They are invested in him. In time—after the 2010 elections go badly—they are going to start to peel off. The political operative James Carville, the most vocal and influential of the president’s Gulf critics, signaled to Democrats this week that they can start to peel off. He did it through the passion of his denunciations.

The disaster in the Gulf may well spell the political end of the president and his administration, and that is no cause for joy. It’s not good to have a president in this position—weakened, polarizing and lacking broad public support—less than halfway through his term. That it is his fault is no comfort. It is not good for the stability of the world, or its safety, that the leader of “the indispensable nation” be so weakened. I never until the past 10 years understood the almost moral imperative that an American president maintain a high standing in the eyes of his countrymen.

Mr. Obama himself, when running for president, made much of Bush administration distraction and detachment during Katrina. Now the Republican Party will, understandably, go to town on Mr. Obama’s having gone before this week only once to the gulf, and the fund-raiser in San Francisco that seemed to take precedence, and the EPA chief who decided to cancel a New York fund-raiser only after the press reported that she planned to attend.

But Republicans should beware, and even mute their mischief. We’re in the middle of an actual disaster. When they win back the presidency, they’ll probably get the big California earthquake. And they’ll probably blow it. Because, ironically enough, of a hard core of truth within their own philosophy: When you ask a government far away in Washington to handle everything, it will handle nothing well.

Copyright 2009 Dow Jones & Company, Inc. A

23. @Adrian

Man you must be wishing that you could slam this door in my face the way you use to do with your forum and and encouraged Barkee to do on his…no such luck this time dude. LOL

I visit here occasionally because I have nothing else better to do at the time Adri…unlike you who is trying unsuccessfully to make a name for yourself here.

24. Hi Adrian

I’m amused to see you posting an article critical of Obama by Peggy Noonan former speech writer for Ronald Reagan and a Republican. You remember the Republicans don’t you? The Party of “Drill baby drill”, the Party which was all gung ho about drilling in the Arctic (ANWR) and all those wilderness areas. The Party led by the oil man from Texas whose VP ( Cheney) held all those secret meetings in the White House with the oil executives and refused to turn over the records of those same meetings to Congress citing “Executive Privilege”

(An aside the company which the same VP has an interest in – Halliburton- was mentioned as one of the culprits responsible for this blowout) I won’t mention that this VP’s dividends from Halliburon were accumulating while he was running the White House

What plan was Obama supposed to have? Who allowed the Oil companies to run amok with their plans to drill for Oil a mile under the sea without a plan to react when the unthinkable happens? Now they try to link this to Katrina when their President surveyed the destruction and said to his FEMA Director and former horse stall manager whom he appointed “Brownie you’re doing a heck of a job”.

I note that Noonan writes for the Wall Street Journal which is owned by Rupert Murdoch who also owns Fox News, well what should I expect?

Never let the facts get in the way of a good story

Sincerely

Sargeant

25. @Sargeant

You may not know but I do, Adrian backed McCain in the last US presidential election…he is a republican at heart. Need I say more?

26. But Sarge can you deal with the substance of what Peggy wrote? Or is she to be discounted on account of her associations? What about James Carville, how do you discount him for his Anti-Obama comments? maybe His republican wife has finally gotten through to him right?

27. As for Fox news. I watched it yesterday for the first time in about 4 years. Dish-network gave me a significant discount to stay with them. I watch Glen Beck for the first time and here is what he was discussing.

http://usaguns.net/patriots/beckaa.html

28. BP suspected of staging the clean up of beaches prior to Obama visit to gulf Coast!
    James Carville only problem with Obama was his slow response to visit the oil wercked region. The republicans would stop at nothing to blame Obama for the devastation broughton by BP. BP had given assurances in the past that if a disaster of this magnitude ever happened they would be fully prepared to deal with it. Obama mistake was in believing Big Oil. Every consumer knows that BigOil wield a lot of power and nothing they say is true as is evident in the many times they have failed and lie to the public about the amount of barrels of oil being leaked daily.

29. @Adrian

No doubt you wanted to be provocative by posting the link?

lol

30. Republicans want to have it boths ways .First they are against government intervening in private enterprise.Now on this issue they are quick to blame government for acting not fast enough. THIS IS NOT KATRINA! This is a BP problem brought on by their incompetence. The government role is to stay on top of this problem and stop believing BP lies . It doesn’t take a road scholar to understand that the water pressure underthe sea is much times greater than that of MUD. ISuggest they try LAVA .Might sound dumb but so far nothing has worked so my idea can”t be any worse than BP

31. BP concedes MUD is not working!

32. When it comes to the enviroment the Republicans couldn’t careless and they are the ones to blame for voting against tough laws that would protect our wetlands. Now they have the mitigated gall to say Obama is not doing enough . They should have thought about these kind of problems when they voted. I hope BP is not going to ask the government for taxpayers money in helping to clean up their mess

33. BP will go to yet another strategy to stop the oil flow:

BP says the next option – called the lower-marine-riser-package cap – involved an underwater robot using a saw to hack off the leaking pipe and place a cap over it.

34. Glen Beck is just another republican demon spreading propaganda. Any black man who seemingly cooperated with white slave owners were doing so under duress and psychological control.

35. @AC

Yeah…”Top Kill” failed and so unto the next plan. It’s unfortunate but I’m still confident that they will contain it eventually.

Well one thing Obama can say in his own defense is that he stated prior to elections that he is against offshore drilling. I also think that more could have been done sooner to keep the oil slicks away from the shores…but I wouldn’t say that this is Obama’s Katrina. I would say that the coast guard and FEMA again failed to act swiftly and decisively to do what is necessary to protect the Louisiana coast line.

But partisan politics will have its way.

36. man AC we like we will have to revisit the Katrina talking points. Katrina being an act of God cannot be use to argue differences between the devastation it cause and the act of man of drillig into the ocean floor and the devastation that has cause.

1: The flooding that occurred in NO occured after Katrina had passed.

1B: 11 hours before the Oil rig explosion there were issues on the rig that were not dealt with and that has contributed to events later.

2: The federal response to the flooding was slow and resulted in everyone laying blame at the president feet. An argument can be made that it is the responsibility of state and city officials to put certain things in place that they did not.

2B: The federal response to the Oil spill has been slow and resulted in everyone laying blame at the president feet. Likewise an argument can be made that it was the responsibility of BP to act.

The similarities are very striking. quite frankly Katrina should not have been blamed on the federal response, when a very detail city ordinance spells out what the Mayor NO is expected to do in the event of a Hurricane, and the long standing issue of state and local officials using Levee repair funds for other things. Likewise the Federal response to the oil spill if done quicker would not have resulted in anything much. The oil spill needs to be stop before a clean up campaign can begin, and the Federal government is not expert in that kind of thing.

BUT THE PARTISANs SMELT BLOOD WITH KATRINA AND NOW THE PARTISAN ON THE OTHER SIDE SMELL BLOOD WITH THIS OIL SPILL.

What is good for the goose, is good for the ……. lol!

37. AH

Everybody looking for someone to blame and who else but Obama and I suppose that is par for the course as Harry Truman once said “if you can’t stand the heat get out of the kitchen”.

Carville is a Louisiana boy and they are all scared of what is happening to the coastline, environment, fishing industry et al. But this is not just a garden variety disaster. This is a man made disaster in an environment where the solution is not readily apparent. When a hurricane or other natural disaster strikes it is simple to get food, shelter and clothing to the survivors so they can get their lives back together. BP has all kinds of “experts” from all over the world trying to solve this problem, even “experts” from their competitors.

Their competitors realise that BP’s problems are their problems so they want this to go away fast lest it brings more stringent regulations on their heads. Obama can’t call out the Marines to deal with this problem unless they are cleaning up tar from beaches. What they have is a hole in the ground a mile under water gushing out oil at tremendous pressure with no cap and no quick fix. The plan initially called for BP to drill a relief well near the site to divert the oil ; it was estimated that it would take approximately three months to drill this well and eliminate the problem. Even a blind man on a trotting horse would see something is wrong with that plan. What kind of idiots would allow the oil industry to operate an oil rig and drill a hole a mile under water and no one seemed to ask the “what if” question?

God help them if a Hurricane enters the Gulf and the problem isn’t fixed.

38. BP Aims to Avoid Fresh Restrictions on Drilling

After the spill, the company brought on crisis communicator Hilary Rosen, former Democratic congressional staffer, former chief executive of the Recording Industry Association of America, and a current editor-at-large for HuffingtonPost.com.

Despite this history of safety problems, BP has made allies of some Democrats and environmentalists with its support for climate-change legislation, which company lobbyists helped write.

Among BP’s lobbyists is Tony Podesta, who heads the Podesta Group, a lobbying powerhouse founded by Mr. Podesta and his brother, former Clinton chief of staff John Podesta, who headed President Barack Obama’s transition team.

39. David // May 29, 2010 at 5:53 PM

@Adrian

No doubt you wanted to be provocative by posting the link?

lol
    =========================================

tee hee; did you watch it?

40. backra johnny Avatar

This is more serious then we think.

“Oil is semi-volatile, which means that it can evaporate into the air and create a heavy vapor that stays near the ground — in the human breathing zone. When winds whip up oily sea water, the spray contains tiny droplets — basically a fume — of oil, which are small enough to be inhaled deep into the lungs. We know that’s happening in the Gulf Coast, because people are reporting a heavy oily smell in the air. Already my colleagues in Louisiana are reporting that people in the coastal community of Venice, Louisiana are suffering from nausea, vomiting, headaches, and difficulty breathing.”

http://www.sott.net/articles/show/209378-Is-It-Raining-Oil-In-Florida-This-Is-Just-The-Beginning

41. @Adrian

…and almost puked!

42. Obama mistake was believing the reports that BP was sending him about thev progress of the oil leakage,and in doing so he probably made decision based on those reports which were all lies which made his response to be slower , Now the Republicans should be ashamed of themselves as we all know hurricanes are an annual circumstance and advance warnings are given. . While on the other hand no warning was given for such a disaster . Obama decisions were solely made by what he was told by BP..Only the Republicans deceivers as they are would try this kind of tactic .Again trying to protect their freinds Big Oil.

43. Obama could find himself in a hard place soon.

If the federal government assumes direct responsibility for the clean up which will probably have to happen soon, what happens if the sorry mess gets more messy?

44. Well Obama had no choice but to believe the BP reports because at the time he had no reason not to believe them, and no way of disproving what they reported.

It is his job now to apply and keep pressure on BP to stop the leak and clean up the mess ASAP, and continue to monitor their progress closely.

Many folks along the coastline are in a state of panic and expects to see miracles happening, and if things don’t seem to be happening as swiftly as they expect, they blame the president and say he’s not delivering on word. No doubt this situation could present political problems for Obama, whether justified or not.

45. Obama could find himself in a hard place soon.

If the federal government assumes direct responsibility for the clean up which will probably have to happen soon, what happens if the sorry mess gets more messy?
    ————————————————————————-

And he hasn’t already ?Obama has already said the reason why the Government hasn’t really done anything is because the US doesn’t have the deep water resources that BP has,so if the Federal government takes over what then ?The only they can do is allow BP to cut the thing at the source.The current clean-up is actually being fought with red tape according to some of the States affected so far that have applied for Federal aide.These states have started to use their own resources to curb the threat but it is basically too late now,imo.The damage is done and now the main thing is to contain it to certain parts of the Gulf until BP finds something that can cap the source.

What I am interested in is if it does get to Cuba how will they respond ?

46. I heard one pundit on one of the Sunday talk shows saying that the President didn’t show up early enough or show enough emotion about the situation.

Fact is if the US Gov’t had the technological know how this problem would have been solved long time ago but both BP and the US Gov’t are on a trial and error mission and may get it right eventually (he says hopefully).

Seems nothing short of Obama commanding the waves to go back a la Canute or becoming a Moses and parting the seas so they can get at the hole will satisfy these critics.

47. @Jay

Obama and the federal government showing leadership is not only about stopping the leak, it is about measures to combat the oil spill affecting the eco-system (coastline etc).

48. First and foremost . THe republicans are using Katrina to help get funding for BP just in case they need it from the Federal Government. This is a stragety being formed by them to help their big Oil friend BP. BP cause this this problem and the cleanup belongs to BP not the taxpayers. James Carville should be asking the state of lousianna to file a lawsuit forewith against BP for damages. Instead he is asking the federal government (Taxpayers) to be responsible for the cleanup.

49. Obama has used the wrong way to solve the problem, where is the efficiencies to the friendly environment.

50. BP says”Sorry”
    How about BP saying they are going to pay for the entire cleanup of the beaches and wetlands.