A supporter of Christopher 'Dudus' Coke holds a placard high as hundreds of demonstrators march along Spanish Town Road yesterday to demand that his extradition hearing be scrapped. – Jamaica Gleaner

The developing issue concerning Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke in Jamaica makes for interesting discussion. Those following the story since it broke would be aware that the political career of Prime Minister Bruce Golding is seriously under threat over the matter. So far Prime Minister Bruce Golding has been forced to address the nation to explain his actions in the matter which was triggered by a US government request for the extradition of Christopher Coke; the other with the engagement of the US law firm of Manatt, Phelps & Phillips.

Some would say, to his credit, that Prime Minister Bruce Golding has not been afraid to confront the controversial issues. His earlier position on NOT appointing gays in his cabinet continues to reverberate in the global news space.  Not to forget his  perspective on the death penalty has also raised eyebrows. A pity more of our current crop of regional leaders have not demonstrated the gumption when confronted with the hard issues.

Several issues appear to be at play in the current issue involving Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke and the embattled Jamaica Prime Minister Bruce Golding. The earlier link details Golding’s position on the matter. Golding’s willingness to challenge the validity of the US extradition order is worthy of note. Whether his latest position on the ‘Coke’ matter is based on a noble principle, time will tell.

Of interest to BU has been the reaction by the people from the village where Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke is reported to reside. The decision by the Jamaican government to finally execute the US extradition order has provoked an interesting reaction by his neighbours which can be gleaned from the picture above. The rise of the ‘don culture’ in Jamaica is a matter of record. The fear of a similar culture taking root in Barbados would have informed the recent decision to ban Mavado and Vibes Kartel from performing in Barbados.   The ability to influence poor people by those in the drugs and gangster business in Jamaica provides terrific insight. When people feel marginalized by the legitimate institutions in a country, it will create a void for other elements to fill; in this case rogue elements.

The dent in its global image, Jamaica a tourist destination is taking over this incident, reinforces the critical importance of maintaining law and order to support a stable society. The resistance by those in the Barbados society who have become intoxicated by cultural relativism sweeping the world needs to be confronted by the might of home-grown value-based opinion. The Jamaican situation is a clear example of the social fallout which can occur when our legitimate institutions continue to fail the people. For too long Barbadians have been ignoring the weeds which have started to take root in our lawns.

Given all we have read and heard on the matter, the people from Coke’s village who have gone to the streets in protest have been scathing in their condemnation of both the government and opposition. Surely there are lessons to be learned for Barbados!

301 responses to “Looking Behind The Christopher Dudus Coke Matter”

1. Did not Dudus father found himself in a similar position? Did he not die shortly before being sent to the US? Who would have been the likely beneficiaries of his death?

It is possible that Dudus may know things that can embarrass if not cause the downfall of the PM, his government and party, remember Roger Khan and his connections to the Jagdeo government in Guyana?

Dudus death before extradition to the US could present another significant problem to the Government. Looks to me like a catch 22, and that the likely relationship between the government and Dudus will be exposed in a US court.

2. David // May 23, 2010 at 10:35 AM

@Crusoe

A comment from the Peter Wickhams and David Commisiongs would be priceless on this issue.
    ==========================================

Why? There is no way to implicate Barbados, Barbadians, and our position on illegal immigration and our concerns about crime, and social fallout in the larger caribbean communities to what is occuring between Dudus, his resident subjects, the Jamaica government and the US law enforcement agencies.

3. Hants // May 23, 2010 at 10:50 AM

“The funny thing is that these emigrants to the first world often go on to become nothing more than production units in their new environments.”

Barbados has benefitted from those who emigrated.

Maybe you have not heard that Bajans at home do not care to hear about “remittances.” It is something that benefits other caribbean countries not Barbados. lol!

4. @ Adrian Hinds

Ever heard of swtiching parties, a la Hammie La,. Notice Tannis is from his constituency.

The political discussants were not impressed with the level of BLP largesse, primarily because the Dems were unbeatable in that regard. The DEMs win makes their actions the immediate, clear and present danger . We need to halt this rot, before the next set come in, when danger shifts to BLP.

Confused, by your comment. Was the response supposed to not include an examination of the politics in Barbados. I thought the question was what is the implication for Barbados, and a discussion on that would necessitate a politcal answer examinig the two political parties, with emphasis on the clear and present danger.

As long as the political directorate stays out of the criminal element, it can use the resources of the state to eliminate and deal with deviant and criminal behaviour. Hence when gangs reared their head in Barbados in the late 80’s and early 90’s during DLP rule, we had a problem. During the mid 1990’s under BLP police worked in the reduction of crime with great success. The conditions for that success were job creation to reduce the dissatisfaction that promotes gangs. The current economic crisis will aggravate the movement of gangs again. The DLP can address this by improving the economic conditions and use of the same police force to reduce this activity.

If however, the political directorate becomes entangled, or creates entrance of more powerful external criminal elements, then the poison advances and kills the society. (Jamaica). By the way listening to Brass Tacks Sunday on youth, gangs and deviance, one young participant said to David Ellis that the local gang problem in Barbados is being compounded by the presence of int’l gangs operating in Barbados. Is this a cause for concern? Should it not be a part of the debate?

Question: should the BLP sit on councils to sanction then or should they resist them because they are poorly constituted? One BLP member will not make it democratic transparent or impartial. Certainly it cannot change their capacity for political manipulation or abuse. Those councils needed to be elected by the people, in a democratic rather autocratic process. The situation is worsened and fraught with greater danger , when there is access to unlimited funds, courtesy of DLP party. The point is, and always will be is that it opens the door to unlimited influence, opportunity for large scale corruption, money-laundering and undermining the democracy by which ever party is in power. We must protect our democracy, politicians will seek to get away with what they are allowed to get away with. We must aggressively join the conversation, otherwise we are just blowing hot air on this blog with no real intention to give voice to citizens to raise issues of substance.

The question is, can this empowerment of the constituency councils to receive funds from wherever,be a potential danger, whether it is intentional or not? And can this take us down the road towards Jamaica.

5. The vast majority of people in Barbados must get up now and do whatever is civilly necessary and right to bring greater freedom and democracy at all levels to the country.

And they must see to it that in the long run they are able to save themselves and the country also from many of the evil, immoral and anti-democratic designs and utterances of those people esp. so-called DLP and BLP politicians – who have clearly long shown that they do not have their fundamental interests at heart.

Take for instance, this very stupid idea by Government backbencher and Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Agricultural Society ( BAS), Mr. James Paul, for a CAPITAL GAINS TAX to be so-called placed on lands that were originally agricultural lands in Barbados, but for which town and country planning permission would have been granted for them to be used for other purposes, in an effort to discourage persons from taking agricultural land out of production ( See news story by Janelle Riley in the Barbados Advocate Newspaper – Sunday, 23 of May 2010 http://www.barbadosadvocate.com)

It is clear that Mr. Paul is totally immoral and anti-democratic in this regard.

He brazenly supports the government outrightly tyrannically stealing (TAXING) (more) from the incomes of those who are the rightful owners of legal rights to agricultural lands in this country, and who have had the proper town and country permission to sell these rights to other people – locals or foreigners – as an answer to those kinds of massive national problems.

But, Mr. Paul is so intellectually paralysed that he seems to think that such a TAX can actually be placed on agricultural lands – rather than actually on the incomes of those who are the owners of the legal rights to those agricultural lands that he so speaks about – and that this monstrous ignorance can be done without the government’s violation of the incomes and property rights of the relevant individuals and other entities .

What a dangerous political clown he is!!

Moreover, the PDC remembers Mr. Paul being the only Parliamentarian – elected or non-elected – in recent years, who has been ever consistently vocal in his opposition to agricultural lands being taken out of agriculture in Barbados – only for them to be become fallow for years to come, or for them to be soon or eventually used by certain people for other purposes, and too in his opposition to the baleful practice of those who have rights to agricultural lands selling such rights to whomsoever.

And, yes, we would have had to credit and commend him for the many positions that he would have taken with regard to such issues!!

But, it is like we are running out of support for him in these regards as that he clearly fails to understand that one of the reasons why many of those lands would have become fallow or changed into other uses is precisely because of TAXATION on the incomes earned from the produce and provisons derived from the lands.

And fails to understand too that another reason why those particular rights owners are obscenely selling off such land rights to the “every and the severy” must be because of TAXATION being levied on the incomes of those who are already owners of these rights to such agricultural land spaces, with such dreaded TAXATION completely undermining their powers and capacities as owners of the legal rights to such agricultural lands.

NOW, for him to advance such a rank and distracting insensate idea is appalling.

Anyhow, we are sure that his verbal opposition to the selling of legal rights to agricultural lands to locals and foreigners, and the taking of lands out of argriculture has taken him NO DAMN BLASTED WHERE, substantially because he has not led and carried out any systematic coordinated national program to stop these big lands space rights owners from doing such; and substantially because he has gotten into bed with a a dumb, dark ages DLP that has since its becoming at the helm of government again in this country, in January 2008, has been carrying on from where that former rogue BLP Government left off – of allowing a lot of Barbadian land spaces to be dastardly sold to foreigners and of allowing many more of our Barbadian agricultural land spaces to be casually taken out of agriculture.

What is also clear is that there are massive contradictions between Mr. Paul’s words on these monumental issues, the fact that some of this country’s biggest land rights owners are taking many lands out of agriculture and are using them for tourism/ recreational and residential purposes, and the fact that they are doing it with the approval of this diabolical DLP Government – contrary to the Mr. Paul’s verbal opposition.

So, realizing that he has gotten no BLASTED FRIGGING where, and that he cannot properly fight the C O Williams’, the Merchandanis, esp. since the same C O Williams is reportedly a big financial donor to DLP election coffers, he has decided to mouth off this stupid idea that makes no sense.

And so rebarbative is this idea that we will NEVER see any sense in his wanting the citizens of Barbados – according to the said Barbados Advocate story – to benefit from the sale of such land rights, and at the same time his really wanting this stupid capital gains tax idea (when seen in implementation) to discourage such land rights owners from disposing such agricultural lands.

What twisted logic, which is as just as twisted as he is but which is just as short as he is on many things logical!!!

For, if this jackass DLP Government has been still giving the town and country planning department permission to take agricultural lands out of agriculture, and still allowing some persons and entities that have ownership of legal rights to agricultural lands to sell such rights to foreigners, how the hell like shit will such a TAX STEALING IDEA if implemented be sufficient to discourage them from doing those things, once they still could go and get authority to change the uses of such lands, sell such rights and later derive huge profits?

How like arse????

Would not the prospects of such huge profits be a major reason in their seeking to sell such rights too nevertheless?

Our message is damned clear: the majority of people of Barbados must wake to hell up and realize that James Paul and others like him are clearly not representing and will never ever represent their fundmental interests, and therefore they must do every thing within their legal political power to stop James Paul and people like James Paul from being elected again in this country.

For, he and people like him are for the government of Barbados continuing to wickedly rob and steal countless portions of incomes from the relevant people, businesses and others of this country.

Also, James Paul and people like him are not doing enough critical thinking and they are not providing serious intellectual political leadership – which is what the majority of these people should be – to some degree – looking forward to from such elected parliametarians who though are simply becoming this way to largely continue with the status quo, and to largely use their House of Assembly positions to mainly obfuscate and delude many others about what they are really fundamentally all about when becoming elected parliamentarians.

Finally, this majority of voters in Barbados must see to it that at the next general election in this country they vote for a PDC that intends whenever it becomes the government of this country – to stop the government from stealing from the incomes of the relevant people, businesses and others in this country; that intends to stop agricultural lands from being taken out of agriculture; and that, where necessary, intends to return any such lands to agriculture; and that intends to stop our Barbadian land space rights from being sold to foreigners.

So, there you have it!!

So, Down with Damned DLP and Blasted BLP Candidates!!

6. Lets hope that if Coke is not extradited to the US, that America does not come down here, push a few dollars and some obsolete equipment into the hands of the RSS and urge them to go in and make the arrest. Go in RSS, the mighty US of A is right behind you ,a la Grenada.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

No BT
    I am not excessively defensive. I was trained to be able to explain your position; to state why you have come to a certain conclusion. To me it is necessary, and habit. Dictionary was apparently trained the same way –as he exhibited this phenomenon also

Re No one on BU questions the extent of your knowledge and abilities. That is not true. It has been often questioned.

Re I can honestly tell you that my intent and expectation when I raised this issue was that you would have gone on to explain to the BU family why an all powerful and loving father may have chosen to deny or ignore, the wishes and desires of a loyal son or daughter.
    How can I know what is your intent and expectation unless you state the same. My knowledge and abilities or training does not include mind reading.

Re Bush Tea’s own experience is completely different, so I am very interested in learning why it may not be the case that “all things work for the good of those…..”

Romans 8:28 is something that NO believer will ever master Sir Some escape the fire all together it seems, others like the 3 Hebrew boys go through. Some escape death by the lions as Daniel did; others were mauled by them during the days of the persecution of the early church.

What is clear and very true is the tenet of 1 Corinthians 10:13. There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

Re With respect to the impact of emigrants leaving villages and communities for their own personal gain, I am not talking in terms of POLITICAL leadership.

Bear in mind that political leadership is exhibited in all aspects of life. It is wielded even in the church by Diotrophetic men, who love to have the preeminence cf 3 John 12 (note I didn’t say prominence.) It has run many persons with great minds, gifts and even money from the church

Success means different things to different people.
    Today much that is thought to be success is merely having wealth or position or status.
    In every community that I have been a member in the broadest sense I have exhibited leadership. And even from this distance I am currently mentoring a final year medical student about to take final exams. Spoke to her by phone just two nights ago.

Re The kind of leadership which allows young villagers to look at, to know, to touch and to grow up seeing what SUCCESS looks like. Do you have any idea what it would mean for little Johnny Doe from Monroe Village to personally know and be inspired by Dr. the Hon. GP?

There are over 200 persons on the medical register in Barbados. These are more thamn enough for the purpose you cite. I am not needed at home for this purpose. I have donated enough advice, text books, white coats and instruments towards this end already. But you didn’t know that did you?

Re How many youths do you think you may have motivated to become a doctor ‘just like GP’?

Don’t know but I could motivate more if I had a job teaching Biochem or any of the Basic Sciences at the Med school at Cave Hill don’t you think. But with out the connections or the PhD, I don’t have a hope or a prayer.

Re If LIB was actually LIJ -back where he came from, he may have inspired hundreds of Jamaican youths to use him as a role model – rather than being limited to modeling Coke.
    It is call being the salt of the earth, and being the ‘light’ that is held up for others to see

Not necessarily. They might have envied and robbed and killed him, like they do others.

Re It is the realization that LOVE begins at home.

So it did for me. I was not bonded, but I came home and worked at every Government job I got opportunity to work in—— ALWAYS ACTING in posts held by foreingners or UNDER CONTRACT where you could easily be fired (ie don’t have your contract renewed for what ever silly reason.) Do you know that there is a white foreigner working in the polyclinics since 1985?

Re When one has demonstrated the ability to love one’s OWN flesh and blood, then and only then – is one qualified to offer to love strangers.

I certainly love my OWN flesh and blood OWN flesh and blood ; my parents and children and grand children.

Re It is the ultimate in selfishness to run away with one’s valuable talent and wealth of contribution- only to hide in blissful anonymity among strangers. Effectively burying your talents that are so badly needed at home in the villages.

I am happy BT that you can discern that I have valuable talents and wealth of contribution that are so badly needed at home in the villages. But I know no big wigs. I am in no political party. I was denied the job (held by foreigners who don’t do it) that I acted in for 14 years.

When I put on BU a plan to improve the system that I denied, I did not exactly get an invitation with a job to come do so. Did I?. LOL My exile is not selfishness Sir – but a necessary reality for me.

It is written in Titus that leaders should be lovers or discerners of good men. It is for that reason that many like me are in exile. Im off to have two “ bones” for brunch man- two nice broiled turkey legs of the rotisirie from the nearby Wallmart. At $3 a piece that’s a convenient steal.

8. ha ha ha You tell him GP, tell BT real good. Bringing his emotive socialist foolishness to do real battle with the realities of our experiences in Bimshire.

Who bushtea think he is
    who bushtea think…
    I waiting to cuss he stink…
    Who bushtea think he is.

9. David
    Could you communicate with PDC and give them the information on how to start a blog using word press.
    PDC felt out of place discussing certain issues that were not political and accuse you of a very marked decline in the quality of topics and subject matter on BU.
    So they found this topic closer to politics and so went on a ramble again. They want you to provide the avenue for them to build their political base. They should recognize that the topics that are put on the blog covers a wide readership and they do not have to comment on everything.
    I have not seen any decline in the quality of the topics

10. Amazing to read the Nation’s editorial calling for the resignation of Prime Minister Bruce Golding. BU looks forward to similar cry being directed at many of our non-performing ministers in government and other leaders at large in the society.

11. An interesting article today in the Gleaner for those who want some background on Dudus. It is being stated that the people pictured on the road protesting are being coerced behind the scenes.

12. Breaking news, shots have been fired in Tivoli!

Perhaps when the blood has flowed if Dudus does not surrender to forces first the rest of the Caribbean will discuss how to take back our societies.

Shots being fired in Tivoli
    2010-05-23 12:40:20 | (0 Comments)

There are reports that shots are being fired in west Kingston community of Tivoli Gardens, Jamaica, as members of the security forces prepare to move in to arrest alleged crime lord Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke.

The police have issued the fourth release appealing for the residents of Tivoli Gardens in west Kingston to remove the barricades in the community.

The police say the barricades are preventing them from entering to execute a warrant of arrest for Christopher ‘Dudus’ Coke.

They also say the criminals are not to be confused with the decent law abiding citizens of Tivoli Gardens who want to get on with their lives as free citizens in a peaceful community and country.

The police say by barricading the community, criminal elements are putting the safety and well being of citizens including women, children and the elderly at grave risk. Residents are denied freedom to move about while supporting agencies are prevented from responding to citizens’ call for help.

The Police are publicly calling for Coke otherwise called ‘Dudus’, ‘Short Man’, and ‘President’ to hand himself over to the nearest Police Station for the warrant of arrest to be executed.

They’re appealing to residents of Tivoli Gardens to cooperate with the Security Forces as we move to clear the blockades from Tivoli Gardens.

Residents of Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town are asked to call the Police if they need assistance and to provide any information they might have. Persons can call Police Control at 119 or Senior Duty Officers at 927-3168 and 946-1248.

Source: Gleaner/Power 106 News

13. David // May 23, 2010 at 1:23 PM

Amazing to read the Nation’s editorial calling for the resignation of Prime Minister Bruce Golding. BU looks forward to similar cry being directed at many of our non-performing ministers in government and other leaders at large in the society.

What is so amazing about the Nationnews Editorial? All they have done is said that Golding should go for lying. Not for his association with Dudus. This is what he should resign for — Westminster encourages lying in parliament. However to do so would put the Nationnews at odds with their silence on Jagdeo and the Roger Khan relationship.

West Indian politician, we check out history
    …and because yuh train in England Wesminster choking we. Mighty Gabby.

14. @ GP who said….
    “But I know no big wigs. I am in no political party. I was denied the job (held by foreigners who don’t do it) that I acted in for 14 years.”
    ****************************************************************************************
    My Bad GP.
    I thought that you knew the ultimate big wig. I was writing under the impression that you knew, and had contacts with THE big wig of big wigs.
    …..maybe you do need to stay safely in the US of A where the big bad public servants of Barbados cannot bother you…

@Adrian
    “Who bushtea think he is
    who bushtea think…
    I waiting to cuss he stink…
    Who bushtea think he is.”

As Man, you should just quietly concede that the bushman mashing your corns with the position on emigrants running from their home villages. I know for a fact that this hurts…
    You well remember the stalwarts of our hometown who ‘ran things’ back in the 60s and 70’s…. You KNOW the impact that these outstanding citizens had on village life…. You remember “Bleak”? ‘Jones’?…and plenty other lights?

Are you not feeling guilty about absconding now that it is your turn to lead and guide the next generations? LOL

What lack of respect what??!!
    …since when did a fighter like you need the blessings of idiots to do what you know needs to be done? WEAK EXCUSE SIR….and dont cuss the messenger BT…

Well, Bush Tea is here fighting the good fight. Unafraid of a boy! …..and genuinely sorry for all those who choose to get in the bushman’s way…… cause my Big Wig connections are uncompromising…..

…so to answer your rhyme AH

Watch how you mess with Bush Tea hear!
    check how you cussing BT
    cause just when you think that the coast clear
    You’ll be face to face with BBE

rotfl

15. ‘He that is without sin cast the 1st stone.’ Who did Dudus X?

The big, bad, moral, world police is calling for the extradition of a Jamaican for drug trafficking and in the meantime laundering drug money has been the lifeblood of the NYSE. Right now the military is cultivating opium in Afghanistan, wasting the Russians and Afghans on a daily basis and no one has a bullhorn calling for the indictment & extradiction of the big bad wolf to the Hague. No one is breaking down gates looking to drag out the real criminals.

The Bushes, the Clintons and Reagan were all accused of drug trafficking…..but did anyone request their heads on a platter? Wasn’t it Reagan who introduced drugs into the inner cities? Weren’t they transporting the drugs from Vietnam in the dead bodies of their soldiers?

Whenever the big, bad US or UK get on their soap box and villify others esp. BLACKS, there’s never a shortage of house niggers ready to bleat in unison their baabaabaa, like moral sheep that they truly are.

I say to Bruce Golding and the Jamaican people, when the criminal elites and the ‘legal’ drug companies and the real blood-suckers are hauled off to a moral court where Justice is truly served, when the zionists who control the ecstasy business are hauled off for their long overdue but well deserved and imminent date with Justice, then you should hand over all your Cokes for their date with lady Justice as well.

J’ca don’t worry……because your problem is the problem that every other Black nation faces as well [even those with a constant boasting of 98% literacy] though they may appear insurmountable at present. The only difference is that your people aren’t a people who are easily subdued or servituded like the 98% literate ones. Give J’ca the tools that she needs and she can put the boastful 98% literate ones to shame. She is a force to be reckoned with.

But have no fear because we all have a date with Justice…the moral and immoral, the ‘righteous’ and un’righteous’ the rich and the poor, the 98% literate & illiterate as well as the saved and the unsaved.

Stave off the beast and all of its acoutrements like the IMF.

J’ca discipline your children in your house, don’t let outsiders in AND hold onto that strong spirit of your GREAT Maroon ancestors. The beast is at your door.

16. Hopi,

While you have made your point that there are many others who have and are committing atrocities, two wrongs do not make a right AND drugs destroy the people and culture of ANY society, especially the youth.

Therefore, I will hold firm that this issue MUST be dealth with and in a TOTAL manner, who dont like it can LUMP IT.

I agree, that we must also root out those locals and internationals both, who live here too, who work with international drug cartels to spread the drug virus.

And by ‘root out’, I mean in the strongest terms!!!

If you sell drugs to youth, I have absolutely NO conscience for however the security forces deal with you, NONE.

17. Bushtea can’t mash my corns without being face to face with me, uh feat (face to face) you cannot accomplish without the aid of a bench or chair. lol! Figuratively mashing my corns which I do not have is nigh impossible also, because I would have a part to play in allowing it, and I am having none of it. 🙂

BTW don’t recall any Bleak or Jones maybe I wasn’t so encourage by the machinations of village life social structure or maybe you have the wrong person. The so called village lights that I may recall did not impress me with their elitisms, and favoritism. You see although I grew up in St.Thomas I originated from St. Andrew at the tender age of three, and was never fully accepted or integrated into St.Thomas village life. We were treated as if from another planet. Lol!

@Hopi

You and Dudus could take on the big bad USA by wunnuh selves and leave the Jamaican people and the rest of the caribbean out of it. I hope he does not become the Manuel Norriega of the Caribbean.

18. Four police stations set on fire today in Jamaica. United States has two warships in case americans get stranded on the island and need to get out.THe kingston hospital has been attacked by armed gunman . THings don’t look good there.

19. I reading reports confirming what ac wrote.

Jamaica in trouble.

20. Let us pray for calm to return to Jamaica as soon as possible.

We will have time later to deal with the JACKASSES in our region who have sat idle as well asthose who have promoted this kind of behaviour.

May they all rot in hell!!!

21. Straight talk Avatar

David:
    Whilst I agree the challenge of drugs as an alternative black economy is rife amongst all our caribbean islands, as it needs to be to prevent social breakdown, you must admit, even with the slightest research that this trade is promoted, designed and is for the ultimate benefit of the USA enforcement agencies, who depend on these laundered funds to operate their off budget agendas.

To dismiss this elephant in the room is not only naive, but blinds all our good intentions with political expediency.

22. “A police officer and a civilian were wounded by gunfire in street clashes and three police stations came under attack in the city, police said. One police station was set on fire after police abandoned it having run out of bullets, they added.”

23. @Straight Talk

Maybe the destruction which maybe wrought on Jamaica and other countries as a result of this mess will expose it all for the world to see.

24. Straight talk Avatar

The mendacity of US controlled drugs trade does not need this incident to expose it’s involvement.
    It was exposed for all to see with Iran Contra and the intimate involvement since can be seen by googling Mena throughout the early 90s or the resurgence of the opium trade, almost eradicated by the Taliban in Afghanistan, but miraculously back to it’s previous high levels now freedom is being restored. LOL

25. @Straight Talk

a reminder?

@all

Not sure how many are listening to Nation Radio which is posted (link) on the sidebar. Incredible to believe the police is currently under sustain fire.

Prime Minister Golding to address the nation at 8.30PM.

26. Just saw video from Jamaica on the ctv news network.
    Building burning and soldiers taking cover behind vehicles.

27. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“….any Gulf oil updates MME….??!”

BT… you are obviously more up to date than I am, judging from your statement that it will be “beyond your imagination in terms of global chaos”… pray tell, what is your prognosis? LOL

From where I sit, it looks like we have another 4 months or so before it is brought fully under control. Not sure why they didn’t persist with the smaller containment box using an anticoagulent to prevent the riser from plugging with hydrates, but maybe they believe the other options of plugging the BOP are more likely to succeed. However you look at it, cleanup of this mess will be monumental.

28. @Crusoe……When did God make Amerika the moral police of this world? Who gives the US the right to usurpation? This is not a matter of 2 wrongs making a right. The only thing that gives Amerika ‘authority’ is her biggest guns and a lying media.

What are the causes of the problems J’ca faces today?

We could examine Amerika from her birth to the present and you will see the blood is still dripping from her hands.

Anyone thinking that Amerika is held together by fairness, equality and democracy needs to have their heads examine.

—————————————-

There is a possibility that Dudus could be a Noreiga because the ruse of drug trafficking was also used against him and come to find out it was bigger than drugs. As old and as sick as he is today, the US released him to France to face other charges….what a shame?

For Amerika to destroy J’ca just to get one man, is proof in itself that Dudus is just a pawn in a bigger plan.

—————————————-

The problem with too many of us is that we are more interested in bandaided expediency and are NEVER willing or maybe capable of examining history. But history will one day examine ALL of us.

————————————–

@ST……….Its easier for a camel to get thru the eye of a needle….than it is to see the elephant in the room.

29. Wait America in Jamaica trying to get Dudus right now?

Hopi tell us your way out of this current mess.

30. Prime Minister Bruce Golding will address the nation this evening at 8:30pm following the declaration of a state of public emergency. The state of emergency is limited to the parishes of Kingston and St. Andrew and came into effect at 6.00 P.M. today.

Mr. Golding said that based on an earlier update and advice from the security forces, he summoned an emergency meeting of the Cabinet at 2.00 P.M this afternoon to consider the advice.

The Cabinet took the decision to advise the Governor-General to issue a Proclamation pursuant to Section 26 of the Constitution declaring that a state of public emergency exists in the parishes of Kingston and St. Andrew.

The Proclamation will remain in force for a period of one month unless extended by the House of Representatives or revoked earlier.

@Hopi:
    No mention of Americans.

31. Police advise law-abiding citizens in Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town to evacuate
    2010-05-23 18:27:01 | (0 Comments)

The security forces in Jamaica are appealing to the law abiding residents of Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town who wish to leave those communities to do so by way of Industrial Terrace towards Marcus Garvey Drive where buses will be available to transport them to accommodation established by the ODPEM.

Those persons opting to be evacuated are being asked, if possible, to bring only medication along with them.

Source: Gleaner/Power 106 News

32. @Adrian

In response to your last comment Nation Radio reported that Jamaicans were calling the radio station complaining that no buses were reported to be running in the areas communicated by the Police.

33. @Adrian

In response to your last comment Nation Radio reported that Jamaicans were calling the radio station complaining that no buses were reported to be running in the areas communicated by the Police.

34. @Hopi

Can you rebut any of the following?

The NYTIMES is reporting…

The United States requested Coke’s extradition in August 2009 but Jamaica initially refused, alleging that U.S. evidence against him had been gathered through illegal wiretaps.

In its annual narcotics control strategy report in March, the U.S. State Department said Coke’s ties to Jamaica’s ruling party “highlights the potential depth of corruption in the government.”

Golding acknowledged in parliament earlier this month that he had been aware that his party hired a U.S. law firm to lobby the Obama administration against pursuing Coke’s extradition.

He had initially denied knowledge of the hiring but later said he had sanctioned it in his capacity as leader of the ruling party and not as prime minister.

The admission prompted demands for the resignation of Golding, who is midway through a five-year term.

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Adrian Hinds
    Seems you better go home for crop over and win de crop over crown off a singing pun Bush Tea head.

I figure that you would kill three birds with one stone
    1 put some good well deserved licks in BT tail
    2 get a little vacation
    3 and mek a little berry selling the car you win .
    You cant lose……………………………dat is if you can carry a tune!

36. ha ha ha carrying a tune I can, and very well too.

@BT
    Wuh or who is BBE?????

37. There is some confusion whether discussions have started between Coke’s people the Jamaica government and US officials.

One story says there is a meeting set for 10AM tomorrow and another has it discussions started this evening.

38. @ AH
    What carry what tune what??!!
    …don’t mind GP, he setting you up hear? He will be the first to laugh you all the way back to the USA when you get branded Duke Check ED II.

However if you want to come back and teach Bajans how to show a little ‘Back Bone’ – the bushman is all for THAT…

BBE = Big Boss Engineers, the fellows who run things everywhere LOL.
    ….and you need to be > 75 inches tall for BT to have any difficulty in standing face to face with you….. and REALLY fearsome too LOL

39. Do you believe that NORMAN GIRVAN, ANALEE DAVIS, MIA MOTTLEY, OWEN ARTHUR, george c. brathwaite, SHRIDATH RAMPHAL , PETER WICKHAM, ELOMBE MOTTLEY, DAVID COMMISIONG, and the Anti-Barbados pro caribbean immigration cabal knew of the political relationships and arrangements in Jamiaca as contained in the following article?….

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20100523/news/news1.html

40. @Adrian

As you know our intellectuals, academics especially the pseudo ones have become married to the concept of CSME. Nothing wrong with building frameworks to support regional cooperation but as others have correctly opined the highly touted EU model seems to be flawed. Bear in mind the EU is composed of countries with a wide range of economic prosperity. This gives room for fertile economic and social activity. Can we say the same about the Caribbean? We need to build an home grown model.

To your question:

What has been happening in Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad is known.

41. @David ‘David // May 23, 2010 at 10:13 PM

There is some confusion whether discussions have started between Coke’s people the Jamaica government and US officials”

Discussion? Discussion? Discussion and debate has a time and a place.

This scenario is not one for discussion, apart from between Cabinet and security forces. This is time for unmitigated action, hardcore, deliberate and with a focus.

Who dont like it….

42. Christopher Dudus Coke situation:

This should be a lesson to all caribbean people, even the criminal minded. Ignore, abhor, and stay out of politics to your own detriment. Dudus Coke saw what occurred to his brother and to his Father and rather than learn the ins and out of politics he decided to stay out of it as much as possible. Is Bruce Golding leading him to the slaughter?

The US believes there is a significant relationship between the Jamaica government and Dudus. Does the JLP want Dudus to talk? Could keeping him out of the hands of the US benefit the JLP?

The first approach of trying to thwart the will of the US did not work, is it likely that Dudus will be sacrifice?

Dudus should realize that he is in between a rock and very hard place. He has two choices, both very bad, one slightly less so than the other.

He has a better chance of surviving in the hands of the US law enforcement than he does in the hands of Jamaican law enforcement, controled by Golding.

Dudus if you are to be sacrifice let it be to the benefit of the Jamaican people and not Bruce Golding and the JLP.

43. @Crusoe

Some subtle points touched on by Adrian’s earlier comment which you maybe missing. The decisions by the politicos in government cannot be divorced from the relationships and networks which currently exist between the prominent in government and the dons. Another case of pragmatism Vs idealism?

44. @ DAVID ‘? To your question:What has been happening in Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad is known’

Remember Manning and the land acquisition for Abu Bakr? That Manning managed to throw a blanket on?

Then we have the Bird administration and Stanford. Then we have the Guyana Ministers and drug cartel allegation.

How many of our leaders are bedfellows with known or alleged criminals?

45. Since 1994 they all knew…… yet in 2008 – 2009 they pretended that Barbados and Barbadians was the bad country and people trying to stop a great thing in Caribbean integration. They knew that a Jamaica by its size and influence alone would be a dominant power in any integration process and that this dominance would have been inspired and control by a criminals.

http://www.normangirvan.info/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/seaga-putting-my-career-and-life-on-the-line.htm

http://www.normangirvan.info/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/maxwell-anonymous-terror.htm

46. Interesting if you listen to the Jamaican journalists that the interest of Coke and the US may have coincided given that local people may now want him dead based on what he knows. It is the point Adrian has been hitting at.

Those with a Facebook presence can follow blow by blow reports at Facebook – On the ground</strong>.

47. “I think that the answer lies in Golding turning a positive to a negative i.e. after Coke’s extradition, use the oppotunity to ‘clean house’.”

That could only happen if Jamaicans did not know that Golding is part of Coke. It would be a miracle for Golding to survive politically as he may not be able to visit his own constituency if Coke is extradited. His only means of survival is to prevent the extradition of Coke and take what comes with that. If he extradites Coke, he could as well sign his resignation papers the same time, not only as Prime Minister but from Parliament.

48. February 2, 2007 — J’can Gov’t seeks to have Coke’s phone tapped

Based on a request, Jamaica’s Attorney General and Justice Minister AJ Nicholson applies to the Supreme Court for a warrant to intercept all telephone communications by Christopher Coke. However, the Government is not aware that Coke has been charged and/or convicted of any offence in Jamaica.

Digicel is ordered to disclose all intercepted communications to the Commissioner of Police, a Superintendent of Police and the Head of the Military Intelligence Unit of the Jamaica Defence Force.
    =========================================

Apparently the US did not get their copies of the wiretaps from any of the above mentioned persons.

=========================================
    August 25, 2009 — Extradition request arrives

The alleged conversation was intercepted in Jamaica and ‘played back’ by US agents to the cooperating witness who alleged that the voice was the voice of Coke.

An affidavit also came from ‘Constable John Doe’, an anonymous member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, signed and sworn to on May 14, 2009. In it Constable Doe alleges to have been personally involved in authorised wiretap investigations in Jamaica during the period April 2007 through October 2007. Constable Doe alleges that based on that involvement, he is able to confirm the recordings as telephone calls that were recorded in Jamaica based on court authorisation covering the seven-month period.

49. Jamaican Army on the move in an effort to restore law and order.

Seems like the Police did not have the firepower to stop the attacks
    by the Gangsters.

Another sad day in Jamaica.