The ongoing CLICO saga presents a headache for Barbados. The financial hole which CLICO can drill deep into the economy of Barbados makes for a sobering reality. This is at a time the Barbados economic remains firmly griped by a recession brought on by the global financial meltdown. Whether CLICO is a poorly managed company, a casualty of a contracting market or a combination of the two here is what we know for sure. The Supervisor of Insurance the government appointed regulator fell asleep on the job and as they say the rest is history. If the required competence does not exist within the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance to alert them that they need to become more efficient as the industry watchdog, here is an extract from the IMF 2009 Country Report.

The lack of adequate supervision of the insurance sector exposes the sector to material risks. Profitability and capital adequacy in this sector are difficult to assess due to incomplete and inadequate data. Single negative events may significantly damage the reputation of a jurisdiction in an increasingly regional and global market. Although the mission noted the introduction of on-site inspections, the sector remains largely self-regulated owing to continuing shortages of qualified staff, inadequate regulation, and out-of-date financial reporting. Greater cooperation and exchange of information, particularly with the authorities in Trinidad and Tobago, are necessary to facilitate effective assessment of financial soundness and the protection of Barbadian policyholders by the supervisor.

Those not mired in the partisan cesspool of politics or influenced by agendas which run counter to national interest would have been aware that the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance was woefully ill-equipped to regulate the insurance sector of Barbados. Of interest in this case is that the deficiency would have straddled successive administrations.

The last sentence in the extract is highlighted because of its relevance to the CLICO matter. It is now 2010 and we are not aware that any major restructuring has occurred at the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance.  What this means is the multi-billion dollar insurance sector continues to be regulated in a less than acceptable manner. This obviously has wider implications for Barbados given the wide responsibility of that office. There is also the morbid possibility that Barbados could be struck by an earthquake given the unsettled tectonic plates located in the bowels of the earth and not to forget the 2010 hurricane season is rapidly approaching.

It all comes back to the degree Barbadians are willing to hold our politicians and civil servants accountable. In this regard BU family member Inkwell could not have sum up the situation any better.

Accountability in the Barbadian political context cannot be limited to the use of a vote at election time. The DLP skewered the BLP last election campaign with charge upon charge of corruption and malfeasance and used lack of accountability very effectively to bring down the Government through the exercise of the vote.

In order to achieve this, though, the DLP promised that it, if elected would be accountable to the people. It promised an end to corruption. It promised a declaration of the assets of its members. It promised integrity legislation. It promised freedom of information. It promised us ACCOUNTABILITY. And the people, with hope in their breasts, answered their call.

We have been treacherously betrayed. The DLP lied and knew that it was lying and what do we do…nothing. We talk about holding them accountable at the next election. And re elect who? the last lot, who we have good reason to believe were in fact corrupt? Don’t even mention the PDC. And most of the people who were complaining bitterly about the lack of accountability in the last lot have gone silent. Damn hypocrites.

How long are we going to continue allowing ourselves to be victims of politicians’ lying and greed and hunger for power? We need to be more pro-active in holding our elected officials accountable, because it is the nature of the Barbadian politician to sneer at the principle of accountability once in office.

They are not going to submit to higher standards of accountability unless forced to do so. And only the people can do it. All that’s lacking is the will. And the politicians know it.

67 responses to “Accountability, Accountability, Accountability”

1. Afraid of the Gun Avatar
    Afraid of the Gun

Clico is dishonestly purporting that it had to pay out $118 million. What it did not tell you is that those might have been Annuities.

It did not also tell you that it is benefitting from talk about it being in trouble because people are running to get their money before it matures, hence will lose about 5-10%, accounting for over $20 million to $50 million in savings.

Clico dishonestly knows that if it were allowed to write new policies, it could take that money and pay people who are cashing in their Annuities early.

Hence the eloborate ponzi scheme would be in full effect.

Clico is earning millions but publicly holding press conferences and keeping this issue in the press. By creating panic, people will cash in their annuities early – thereby allowing Clico to claw back millions.

2. @All… Please note today’s Nation News, page 7: “Clico assets key to Govt help”.

Please correct me if I’m wrong here, but Dr. Delisle Worrell (the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados) seems to have made several presuppositions with regards to CLICO HOLDINGS in his alleged statements.

Hmmmm….

3. So some Einstein thinks we should get rid of the DLP and the BLP So tell me who will run the country?Ever heard that a thief from a theif made God laugh?

4. What is the point of ridding Barbados of the DLP and the BLP? Some Einstein thinks so but you know the saying…..A thief from a thief mek God laugh!!!

5. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

I found the Governor to make a number of political statements in his report of the economy for the first quarter of 2010. One statement about the prison that I am concerned about is the following:

“In order to make this payment without resorting to the use of the country’s foreign exchange reserves, it has been decided to secure new foreign borrowing in an amount of US$200 million. The extra US$100 million will be used to boost foreign reserves in anticipation of the seasonal decline usually observed in the second half of the year,” .

He omits to tell the public that there is a sinking fund established by the former adminstration to pay for this loan. He however tries to get political mileage by saying how this loan was taken out in 2000. Could he tell us what the sinking fund was in 1994 for all other loans that we had at that time. I realise he has said he was not going to touch the reserves to pay the loan and that the sinking fund for the foreign loans that we have will be part of the reserves.

Governonr you are not supposed to be political!!! your slip is showing!!!

6. @Donald Duck

You must be aware that the sinking fund is factored in the overall foreign reserves balance for country?

7. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

I know it is part of the foreign reserves. if this administration had done its work to boost the reserves we would not now be in the position of not touching the sinking fund for fear of depleting the reserves.

8. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

You should check out the interest rate which the central bank says is chargeable on the loan to build dodds. Based on what the governor stated as being the loan amortisation in his report and the period over which the loan is to be repaid I make the interest rate to be approximately 9.3719% and not 10.54%. Could someone check the calculation

9. PRESS STATEMENT
    BY THE HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY Q.C., M.P.,
    POLITICAL LEADER, BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY
    AND LEADER OF THE OPPOSTION

“The Barbados Economy Is Still In Recession”

Barbados has had a long tradition of Central Bank quarterly reporting. It has been one of the most salutary aspects of our development. We are accustomed to a Governor of the Central Bank giving us a fair and unvarnished report – letting the country know the true state of the economy and all of the sectors. We heard much from Dr. Worrell but what we did not hear is the most important thing to Barbadians – the Barbados Economy is still in recession. It is the one thing that he did not say.

It is internationally accepted that a recession is 3 straight quarters of decline. We have now had 6 straight quarters. His only responsibility was to report the facts in an objective and unvarnished manner. Instead, we received an interpretation and editorial comment mixed with the blurring of dates and events, all to say that the economy held its own – that it was steady. The only steadiness, I regret, is in its steady decline.

The Governor failed to address in a comprehensive way all of the sectors. Tourism is still in recession with its earnings remaining down; manufacturing is still in recession, agriculture and nothing was said on the performance of the international financial services sector. Construction and mining and quarrying are still down.

What is worrisome and what ought to be addressed is why the Central Bank forecasts are now less accurate than they used to be. In the last 18 months the forecast have invariably not been accurate. If there is good reason for this then tell us. But we have come over the last 30 years to rely on the fair and independent and unvarnished views of the Central Bank. Yesterday, I really thought I was listening to a debate in Parliament and not the Central Bank Governor. His last report allowed us to know the facts and I was looking forward to those facts again instead of the editorial comment.

Let me say that there are two statements previously made by Dr. Worrell that seem now to have been reversed. In January, that our debt and debt servicing was manageable and late last year that there would be no new foreign borrowing.

Let me deal with them.

In January, the Governor told us that there was no debt problem – that our debt servicing was manageable – that we could handle it. Yesterday, we heard a different story and were treated to an expose on the subject, with pride of place being given to the new prison at Dodds and the interest rates on that particular loan.

It is regrettable that Dr. Worrell chose to present the facts of the loan on a new basis, namely not just what was borrowed but the interest that must be paid. If that is to be the new measurement for assessment, we ask why was he selective in what he presented.

Since he is now focusing on interest payments, why did he not tell us that the next foreign loan to be repaid after the one in June is the 1991 Barclays 30 million sterling loan with the astronomical interest rate of 13.9% – certainly the highest in 25 years.

Why did he not tell the country how much interest has been paid and will be paid between 1991 and 2015? It will not just be the 30 million. It will be hundreds of millions. If and when a new hospital is built, the total cost to future generations of Barbadians will not be $600 or $700 million but billions when the interest is taken into account.

This is a sterile distraction designed to enrage persons by providing selectively the interest costs over 25 years for the prison BUT not for every other loan on the Government’s books. In our view it is also intended to divert attention from the fact that the economy is in its 6th straight quarter of decline – which we are in recession and people are suffering.

Only a few months ago, Dr. Worrell told country that there was no need for any new borrowing. We are now told yesterday that the country would be borrowing US$200 million – BDS $400 million – half of which is to repay the loan due in June 2010. What could have happened in the economy between last year and now that Dr Worrell has now to reverse himself on no new foreign borrowing and now go for this large amount.

It could not now be anything that the BLP has done since we have not been the Government between last years and now when he said there was no need for any new foreign borrowing.

Secondly why are we borrowing to repay debt when there is a Sinking Fund established by law precisely for this purpose?

When the Barbados Labour Party assumed office in 1994, the Sinking Fund stood at $13.9million, not even capable of re-paying the Barclays Loan or any loan. At the end of December 2009, page 76 of the March 2010 Central Bank’s monthly Economic and Financial Statistics states that the Sinking Fund for foreign loans now stands at $421.2 million.

However in Tuesday’s press release the Sinking Fund for foreign loans was stated as $222.3 million. Which one is it? Dr. Worrell cannot have 2 different figures for the same period for the Foreign Sinking Fund. Which one is it? Both figures cannot be correct. In any event the Government has money to repay the $200 million loan in June of this year.

So the country has money to repay the loan. Dr Worrell needs to let the country know that he is really borrowing to prop up the Country’s international reserves. The reserves have declined last year in spite of the Government borrowing. The reserves have suffered in the first quarter of this year, which is the height of the tourist season. This is when they would normally increase. The continued recession in the first quarter is taking its toll on the reserves.

The last point that I would like to address today is that of Clico.

Dr Worrell has indicated that the Government has stated its commitment to the resolution of the CLICO affair “that does not result in a loss of principal to any member of the public who invested”. We have heard him. The people have heard him. We welcome on behalf of the policyholders and depositors that assurance from Dr. Worrell.

We are however concerned that the recently laid Medium Term Fiscal Strategy, of which we believe he was one of the authors, does not in any place in the document reflect the assumption of that liability on the part of Government which is likely to be in the vicinity of $300 million –or about 4% of GDP. It is a sizeable undertaking.

Given its absence from the MTFS, we hope in the end that this commitment given by the Government and Dr Worrell to the policy holders and depositors will come to mean more than his statement a few months ago that there will be no new borrowing – which we now know has been reversed.” -ENDS –

15th April, 2010

The above is an edited version of what was said by the Leader of the Opposition of Barbados – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., earlier this afternoon.

The critical thing is that “the Barbados economy is still in recession” and has a serious fiscal crisis.

The next critical thing is that Barbados now seem to have a new politician.

Is the Central Bank, like CBC – a new Constituency of the DLP?

10. Donald Duck

I make the interest rate to be approximately 9.3719% and not 10.54
    I can’t believe that you have the temerity to quibble about a minuscule difference in interest rate. The fact remains that the Barbadian taxpayer will be on the hook for the next 22 years repaying this debt. Whether the interest rate is 10.54% or 9.3719% it is way too high for that level of financing and I would like to know what rationale the financial wizards in the last Gov’t used to justify the rate. I can get a better rate from any loan shark.

While we are on the subject of Dodds and since you are a BLP insider, according to the Nation the Barbados Gov’t turned down the proposal of a local consortium in partnership with a British firm to build the jail. The Nation goes on to say that this British firm had built jails in the UK. The successful bidder was VECO and we know their history.

What was so compelling about the VECO bid?

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/Dodds-burden-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER

11. Donald Duck……like the questions Sargeant has posed to you above……I knew it was not going to be too long before someone found out your deceptive ways of dealing with that DODDS / VECO issue as negotiated by the last BLP Administration.

Your feathers are on fire !

12. COU COU & FLYING FISH: Case of other people’s money

Published on: 4/17/2010.

SEVERAL EYEBROWS have been raised at the actions of a certain individual, which if they are made public, could ensure that the knives are sharpened from country to town.

It seems that while some are claiming that they can’t get what belongs to them, and some are even being asked to hold on and stay the course, a well-known man has done something that does not engender confidence.

Cou Cou has been reliably informed that an individual took in some documents to a specific location, and as a result of his actions, he is now richer by more than $800 000. Not that he really needs the money, as he is a millionaire three times or more over already.

And if anyone doubts that he has done very well for himself, even if others are now crying, they should keep their eyes glued to some property in the north. He has already got permission to construct a dream $6 million house.

And this time it is not on a hill

13. An update on the PDC’s seeking of legal avice with regard to the defamation that was done by Inkwell.

We have sought and got some legal analysis on the matter.

We are awaiting other analysis from another lawyer – as that the first lawyer and we have had strong unbridgeable differences of opinion on the matter.

Once we have got this analysis, we will report to some BU commenters what has been the particular position of the legal counsel involved.

Indeed, we are committed to principles which affirm the truth, integrity, accountability and transparency in our party and beyond, and will never deviate from such. And where the opposite seeks to become the norm we will inveigh and fight against such – as is our rights to do so – whatever the costs or consequences.

To us, these matters and issues are very very important establishments.

These are no trivial pursuits for the higher grounded.

Furthermore, we will NEVER countenance them being seen or being turned into the trivial menial pursuits of some others who do not know any better.

We wont!!

14. Was there a misprint in the Daily Rag yesterday?..did Owen “Wunna Can’t Touch Me With A 20FT Pole” Arthur say that a office for his Kocho partner Thompson being built at Warrens would cost the tax payers to the tune of 60 MILLION DOLLARS…WHAT DOES THIS OFFICE HAVE IN PEOPLE.?????

15. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

A CONTENT ANALYSIS OF THE POST BY ALEX FERGUSSON -FROM COU COU AND FLYING FISH above would reveal who the person is in the article. The copious use of the letter C repeated for effect and possible alliteration is a clear indication of the individual and the reference to the house on the HILL nails it -ha ha

16. Ohh that is pretty sweeet. Thanks for sharing. Nice to see a cool site again in this industry.

–BurnList–

17. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

The names of persons on the oversight committee has finally been revealed. Why is it that the former managing partner of clico’s auditors in Barbados is on the committee when he only retired from the audit firm shortly before the committee was established.