The ongoing CLICO saga presents a headache for Barbados. The financial hole which CLICO can drill deep into the economy of Barbados makes for a sobering reality. This is at a time the Barbados economic remains firmly griped by a recession brought on by the global financial meltdown. Whether CLICO is a poorly managed company, a casualty of a contracting market or a combination of the two here is what we know for sure. The Supervisor of Insurance the government appointed regulator fell asleep on the job and as they say the rest is history. If the required competence does not exist within the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance to alert them that they need to become more efficient as the industry watchdog, here is an extract from the IMF 2009 Country Report.

The lack of adequate supervision of the insurance sector exposes the sector to material risks. Profitability and capital adequacy in this sector are difficult to assess due to incomplete and inadequate data. Single negative events may significantly damage the reputation of a jurisdiction in an increasingly regional and global market. Although the mission noted the introduction of on-site inspections, the sector remains largely self-regulated owing to continuing shortages of qualified staff, inadequate regulation, and out-of-date financial reporting. Greater cooperation and exchange of information, particularly with the authorities in Trinidad and Tobago, are necessary to facilitate effective assessment of financial soundness and the protection of Barbadian policyholders by the supervisor.

Those not mired in the partisan cesspool of politics or influenced by agendas which run counter to national interest would have been aware that the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance was woefully ill-equipped to regulate the insurance sector of Barbados. Of interest in this case is that the deficiency would have straddled successive administrations.

The last sentence in the extract is highlighted because of its relevance to the CLICO matter. It is now 2010 and we are not aware that any major restructuring has occurred at the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance.  What this means is the multi-billion dollar insurance sector continues to be regulated in a less than acceptable manner. This obviously has wider implications for Barbados given the wide responsibility of that office. There is also the morbid possibility that Barbados could be struck by an earthquake given the unsettled tectonic plates located in the bowels of the earth and not to forget the 2010 hurricane season is rapidly approaching.

It all comes back to the degree Barbadians are willing to hold our politicians and civil servants accountable. In this regard BU family member Inkwell could not have sum up the situation any better.

Accountability in the Barbadian political context cannot be limited to the use of a vote at election time. The DLP skewered the BLP last election campaign with charge upon charge of corruption and malfeasance and used lack of accountability very effectively to bring down the Government through the exercise of the vote.

In order to achieve this, though, the DLP promised that it, if elected would be accountable to the people. It promised an end to corruption. It promised a declaration of the assets of its members. It promised integrity legislation. It promised freedom of information. It promised us ACCOUNTABILITY. And the people, with hope in their breasts, answered their call.

We have been treacherously betrayed. The DLP lied and knew that it was lying and what do we do…nothing. We talk about holding them accountable at the next election. And re elect who? the last lot, who we have good reason to believe were in fact corrupt? Don’t even mention the PDC. And most of the people who were complaining bitterly about the lack of accountability in the last lot have gone silent. Damn hypocrites.

How long are we going to continue allowing ourselves to be victims of politicians’ lying and greed and hunger for power? We need to be more pro-active in holding our elected officials accountable, because it is the nature of the Barbadian politician to sneer at the principle of accountability once in office.

They are not going to submit to higher standards of accountability unless forced to do so. And only the people can do it. All that’s lacking is the will. And the politicians know it.

67 responses to “Accountability, Accountability, Accountability”

1. It is clear corruption and the lack of accountability have been important factors in world events. “People power” was the term used to describe the hundreds of thousands of people who demonstrated in the Philippines in 1986, forcing the corrupt government of Ferdinand Marcos to resign.

Corruption was a significant issue in the formation of popular movements against nondemocratic governments in Serbia (2000), Georgia (2003), and Ukraine (2004).

In many countries, the public’s disgust at pervasive corruption has been a force for democratization. With the establishment of new democratic institutions, there is a potential to institute more open and effective procedures to deal with corruption, government secrecy, and electoral abuses…

But if we are to force governments to act responsibly, it must be based on people power – even when that means “UPRISINGS” through peaceful, political protest – forcing change!!!

But that calls for a determined WILL* on the part of the people…

Sadly, too much “FLUORINE” in our water supply as well as the petro-chemical residuals from SHELL* and others has resulted in “dumbed-down” societies where many find it a challenge to even crawl out of bed in the morning…

2. “We need to be more pro-active in holding our elected officials accountable, because it is the nature of the Barbadian politician to sneer at the principle of accountability once in office”. Taken from the above reproduction of an earlier blog done by Inkwell which itself forms part of the greater BU article above.

This is the type of thinking psychology that many of these so-called politicians like to observe sense. A kind of crass convoluted thinking that sees many of these same so-called politicians being lifted heads and shoulders above the average citizen and as being so indispensably important to the same average citizen, and that involves a type of false consciousness that bespeaks the latter as being incapable of helping to govern the affairs of this country.

Thus, for many people, esp. those from the masses ironically, only some from the elite and many from the middle class are entirely capable of doing such. What idiocy lunacy that that must be brought right away down like a ton of bricks crashing to the ground!!

By the way, we greatly commend the person going by the sign/psuedonym “”””””FIRE”””””” for the intervention they would have made with regard to coming to our defence against the person going by the psuedonym – Inkwell – who NOT ONLY sought to misrepresent who we are BUT who ALSO falsely recklessly imputed that we in the PDC – are corrupt.

We have to say it again we will continue to courageously relentlessly fight persons in this country who think that they are more than we are, socially politically speaking, in this country, esp. one or two middle class people, and some elites who think that they can continue for ever so long to exploit the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country, and esp. some older people who misbelieve that they must NOT pass on the batons, in various spheres in this country, to younger more purposeful more intelligent people than they are. These are the facts!!

With regard to Inkwell falsely recklessly imputing that we in the PDC are corrupt ( in the 4 th line of the middle paaragraph), such an imputation that we are corrupt is baseless, unfounded and malacious and has no basis whatsoever in fact. As a matter of fact we are taking this offending implication very seriously.

It is reprehensible that someone would use the anonymity afforded by this blog to impute improper motives against the character and integrity of the individuals behind the PDC.

And, it is a pity that some times that some persons on these blogs descend into irrationality and illegality by intentionally saying or implying things which are clearly false and which are aimed at lowering the character of the referred-to-individuals in the estimation of many right thinking reasonable members of blogosphere. This is a very dangerous thing to do, esp when it is done by way of innuendo or by way of associating some persons with those who are the real wrongdoers!! What a dastard road to travel!

Anyhow, having said enough about that; we need to go on to deal with some thing else. For example, that it is clear that DLP and BLP so-called politicians have for too long been starkly failing the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country. This trend began to deepen after Errol Barrow had died in this country, and up to today has been continuing unabated. We have to say that the response to this very objectionable unacceptable trend is simple: that both these parties have to be sent packing by the vast majority of voters of this country for good out of the Parliament of Barbados within the next 7 or so years. Simple as that!!

The days of petty soft talk about calling upon these parliamentarians and their cohorts to be accountable, over and over again for their own wrong doings or those of their class and without making any progress, are over. To be constantly making such calls without doing anything concerted to deal with them is to wallow in one’s own weakness and malaise and retardation. It is time for many of the very politically conscious of the masses and middle classes to lead a massive political campaign to stop some, if NOT all, these so-called politicians from thinking that they are untouchable imperious when it comes to their doing or having done seriously wrong in this country and therefore in such circumstances they expecting to go unpunished for whatever serious wrongs. It is as simple as that!! It is time to stop this low class ignorance of perpetuating this culture once and for all. It is said that Edmund Burke said that the people are the masters ( taken from An Oxford Dictionary of Quotations some time ago), which is something many Barbadians have long known, and that therefore we are NOT any servants to any joke politicians. Simple as that!!

We have said before too that the ONLY way to deal with DLP and BLP inspired problems in this country is get the rid of both the DLP and the BLP.

As such, these old archaic backward DLP and the BLP factions must be driven out of the parliament of this country in order that greater political space will be created and taken up by newer parties, non-party political groups and independent political figures with newer ideas and philosophies to do the things that are and will be necessary to take our country greatly forward richer and more prosperous into the 21 st century.

So long!!

Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!!

3. @ PDC

I guess people read the same thing and come up with different interpretations.

I didn’t get the impression that Inkwell was suggesting that PDC was corrupt. Although his line “don’t even mention the PDC” comes immediately after the corruption talk, I interpret that sentence to mean that he (and a lot more people) did not think that the PDC was not a viable/serious/sensible alternative party.

4. Correction –

did not think that the PDC was a viable/serious/sensible alternative party.

5. PDC,

I should really let you wallow in your ignorance, but in the interest of preserving my own reputation, which is important to me even though anonymous, I will respond.

If you would stop frothing at the mouth long enough to reread my post, you will see that my reference to you was in no way connected to an accusation of corruption, but in reference to your suitability for election if voters discarded the lying DLP and the “allegedly corrupt” BLP.

Your misplaced umbrage arises from your inability to understand basic English and only serves to confirm my opinion of your suitability for political leadership, an opinion formed as a result of the idiotic economic theories you espouse and continue to spout on this blog ad nauseam.

No PDC, contrary to what you are seeking to suggest,, you are showing that you are not one of the “more intelligent” people voters would want the baton passed to.

6. To the person behind the psuedonym – Inkwell,

We were looking at whether to respond to you in this manner ………….You cretinous noxious malodorous mindless object for an animal unworthy of any human consideration compassion…..you must be the purest bred shitty ass jackass in town…….you are so ignorant of – in the real sense of the word – and so unfamiliar with the law of defamation that you did not have to say that he BLP is “allegedly corrupt” . For, any one could say that the BLP is corrupt without facing legal action…… poor fellow…….believe it though we had tons of tirade for you ……. or whether to adopt a more rational mature approach and get a legal opinion on the matter with the possibility of suing you (NOT BU)… or to let it pass.

Either way we are really NOT going to be stooping to your level of diatribe in order to respond to you on here and we are NOT going to let this matter simply pass.

For, we have been monitoring some of your comments in the past about us on this blog for some while even though we have NOT been responding to them. And, some of them contain a great degree of malaciousness and untruthfulness about us.

But this time around we are moved to respond to you.

It is our wish to see the day comes when the first case of its kind involving internet libel – particularly with regard to blogging, is adjudicated in the law courts of this country.

And if you think that you are totally anonymous, you lie.

But, what we must say is that it is people like you who we are prepared to deal with politically and legally in this country in any way necessary. This is the truth!!

Why dont you reveal who you are on here? The kids gloves are off for you!!!

Why dont you show or reveal who you are you by way of your saying what your real name is on here?

You are so nescient in the real sense that you dont even know that you do NOT have a reputation on here – where an unknown non-descript like you blog on here anonymously malaciously.

However, though, we in the PDC have a reputation on here and elsewhere to protect. For many of the commenters on here and by extension the Barbados public know who we are.

So that when you DEFAMED US by implication in the blog in question, what it is is that the words that you used and which were published on here, when taken together as a whole in the minds of the ordinary reasonable person and in the view of any court in Barbados would amount to defamation. It has NOTHING to do with what you intended to say, who or what you meant or who you referred to. It is that we know we were referred to in the context of the question statement made concerning corruption, and that because some of the members of our party are known on this blog and to the public in Barbados, especially the Leader of the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) – Mr. Mark Adamson – the language used by you in the blog in question, when taken as a whole is particularly injurious and damaging to the character and reputation of this person and Mr. Akil Umi – another publicly recognized member of the PDC.

Believe it we shall be seeking sound legal advice on this matter tomorrow.

And believe it we will NOT be carried away with your petty invective anyhow.

7. @PDC

Do think you are creating a storm in a teacup. How can anyone brush you with a corruption brush when you have never held the highest office?

Let us focus on the discussion at hand.

Will the ongoing discussion concerning the gun incident trigger the kind of reform we want to see?

Importantly if it doesn’t will the opposition fashion this as a platform issue to bring parliamentary reform which the DLP has promised as Inkwell alludes but so far has been found wanting?

There is an opportunity for the opposition but the people will have to express the outrage. Now if we can get the Nation newspaper to cover this matter of reform with the same vigour as they have the CLICO matter there is hope. Then again a manifesto is a social contract which can be disregard at a whim and fancy.

8. My apologies, PDC, I pushed you too far. I certainly wouldn’t expect you to sink to my level of diatribe, otherwise you might call me:

“a cretinous noxious malodorous mindless object for an animal unworthy of any human consideration compassion….”

How could I have sunk to the crass level of explaining that I was not calling you corrupt?

I must really be “the purest bred shitty ass jackass in town…….”

Thanks for setting me straight, PDC. But I can tell you, the truth really hurts.

9. In response to criticism from Inkwell PDC wrote “We were looking at whether to respond to you in this manner ………….You cretinous noxious malodorous mindless object for an animal unworthy of any human consideration compassion…..you must be the purest bred shitty ass jackass in town…….you are so ignorant of – in the real sense of the word…”etc

PDC continues with the following “Either way we are really NOT going to be stooping to your level of diatribe”

Let me suggest that there is no danger of PDC “stooping” to any level of diatribe….. They’ve gone way past the bottom.

10. Alex Fergusson Avatar

“Can you imagine what we could have done if we had the $300 million and counting that went into and what still goes into the Gems fiasco? What we could have done with that money in terms of improving the lives of Barbadians. What we could have done if we could recapture the more than one quarter of a billion dollars that is said to have gone into Edutech? Or the several hundred million that was literally and figuratively dumped into Greenland? All of that was taxpayers’ money that was totally wasted,” Thompson asserted.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=politics&NewsID=9837

++++++++++++++++++

Yes! david thompson–instead of $20 million, you would have given more of it to Clico and your friend leroy parris.

You would have written off more for the Turf Cluf and others.

You would have had more to put into political pork barrel; slush funds; trademark DLP political gimmicks like: free camps and constituency councils.

Instead of paying DLP operative $6000 monthly with a $1000 travel allowance and a blackberry as Programme Officers at Constituency Councils –you would be paying them more.

DLP operative who serve as Chairmen and Board Members would be paid more that the $1,800 you recently gave them.

DLP Minister to have more to buy pictures of themselves just like Suckoo who spend $80,000 of the taxpayers money buying picture of herself

Denis Lowe would be able to hold more party’s for $44,000 and expect the Permanent Secretary in his Minister to pay the bill.

You would have more to hold FETES al Illaro Court.

You and your Minister would have more to employ people to cut grass in a drought.

You and your Minister would have more to buy Mercedes and Juaguars and F150’s and a lot more to take unnecessary trips overseas. And, instead of three delegations with three different Ministers from three different Ministries going on the same trip – six different Ministers from six different Ministries would be going.

If the DLP does not know what to do or what it is doing–then apart from the above – what would it do if it had more money but use it as fatted calf for Dems, like paying DLP people to rent their properties to serve as office space for Constituency Councils?

11. […] ongoing CLICO saga presents a headache for Barbados”: Barbados Underground thinks that “it all comes back to the degree Barbadians are willing to hold our politicians […]

12. Interesting comment by the PM yesterday that MPs next election are expected to go to the people to beg for their support for nomination.

Surprise we have not had more discussion on this matter for some reason. Must not be important.

13. Hey! PDC! You’re consulting legal counsel! Really?

That’s tremendous. That’s deeply, deeply cool.

PDC do you want to include me in the lawsuit? Really?

Take, for example, this opinion of you:

You are astonisingly long-winded and boring, and your electoral “platform” is so laughably infantile that it makes me laugh.

Sue me. Do it.

Or do your level best to grow up.

14. “Nobody” gives you / anyone / the public any “Accountability” or any Rights

You have to demand them yourself or fight for them every single day
    But the story didn’t end there, so we didn’t stop there
    We have prepared a sequel, and it’s called, and it’s called “We Beg Your Pardon America”
    We beg your pardon because the pardon you gave this time, was not yours to give

They call it due process and some people are overdue
    We beg your pardon America
    Somebody said “brother-man gonna break a window, gonna steal a hubcap, gonna smoke a joint, brother man gonna go to jail”
    The man who tried to steal America is not in jail
    “Get caught with a nickel bag brother-man, get caught with a nickel bag”, says the lady on your way to get your hair fixed
    “You’ll do Big Ben, and Big Ben is time”
    But the man who tried to fix America will not do time

15. By the time the next election calls all the DLP gang members should be Millionaires and where does that leave us…right where Owen left us when he exited stage left….Bajans are so gullible it makes me angry to see that in a country 97% literate that we “ALLOW” these kachars to keep giving it to us dry..smgdh.

16. Sometimes I wonder if you guys are dreaming. You say that sine CLICO nothing has been done by way of reform. You cannot construct an argument on straw…

What is the Financial Services Commission if not a welcome institutional replacement for the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance? The Minister of Finance said publicly that he is “bringing forward the date of its launch to signal a new era in regulation.”

David, I read it. Didn’t you?

17. @Albert

The issue here is not relevant laws which are needed we all agree but also complementing legislation which would help to create an ethos/climate which encourages accountability. Why is it the DLP has not been able to deliver on promises to look soon people known to have been involved in corrupt practices. We have civil servants who have routinely flouted the financial rules and what? Business as usual.

18. But you are now shifting the goal post.

You said, “It is now 2010 and we are not aware that any major restructuring has occurred at the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance. What this means is the multi-billion dollar insurance sector continues to be regulated in a less than acceptable manner. This obviously has wider implications for Barbados given the wide responsibility of that office.”

It is that comment I am responding to. The “restructuring” is the creation of the FSC in June/July 2010!

The other stuff about “accountability” etc. that you are trying to get me into, I am not interested in. There is a Prevention of Corruption Act and any citizen who is interested in this country and who was required to bribe an official should take action under the Act. New laws requiring “acountability” and “transparency” are a mirage. They satisfy the cocktail circuit and reactionary, gossip-mongers (and, sorry Dave, can’t be extracted from that group) who sit around and hypocritically judge others.

None of us have the balls to put our real name to anything. And we stand condemned for making politicians as dishonest as we are.

19. By nature/definition any New Regulations, procedures and Criminal Investigations for bad/illegal/ reckless practices etc should always be applied retrospectively for past breaches

20. Afraid of the DLP Guns Avatar
    Afraid of the DLP Guns

Just asking:

Why does the DLP always attract such characters and gun runners like David Estwick, Johan Bjerkhamn and Sidney Burnett Alleyne?

And why does David Estwick and DLP M.Ps need guns in Parliament? Do they plan to kill the Opposition so that they can rule forever, unopposed?

21. Totally blown away by your response Albert. Give us some time to recover. Next general election should be interesting. BU suspect it will be like none we have had before. Remain steeped in the past as far as how we do politics.

22. The Central Bank Governor will give a report today and no doubt he will paint more Thompson/DLP gloom.

In contrast, while the DLP continues to make excuses and blame everyone for its incompetence – the record would show that since June last year, the US economy has not been in recession.

Click below to read more:

WASHINGTON — In a rare public dissent, a member of the committee that officially dates the turning points in the nation’s business cycles said on Monday that he thought that the recession ended last June and that the panel should have said so. Mr. Gordon said on Monday that he had been “the outvoted minority of one” on the panel.

“It is obvious that the recession is over,” Mr. Gordon said, adding that real gross domestic product, the broadest measure of economic activity, had recovered strongly from a low point in the spring of 2009 and would soon reach, or nearly reach, its previous peak in late 2007.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/13/business/economy/13recession.html?ref=economy

23. Alex Fergusson Avatar

Did Leroy Parris withdraw funds from Clico?

How much did he withdraw? Isn’t that insider trading? Is it that Parris cash-in his policies because he had inside information that Clico was crashing?

In America, President Obama said that instead of large bonuses, CEOs should take shares. If the company fails then those shares are worth nothing. So the onus is on CEOs to manage the companies well so that their shares would be worth something.

The other question is: is PS Layne (Finance) working for the people of Barbados and is head of the Oversight Committee Thompson set up? Then why did Thompson (The Minister of Finance) and PM who has responsibility for the Public Service – not defended PS Layne when thompson’s friend Leroy Parris verbally attacked him, eventhough it is thompson and parris who caused Clico to crash, while Parris cashed in his policies.

It is why I say, bring in Robert Lidquist.

24. Is it true that Parris took out his personal investments from Clico just before its collapse?

Why has PM Thompson not come to the defense of his Public Servant, Permanent Secretary, William Layne? Mr. Layne was put in charged of the Oversight Committee to deal with Clico by Mr. Thompson and it is affair that Thompson’s buddy, Parris, can publicly attack Mr. Layne without a word from Thompson in Mr. Layne’s defense.

25. When Leroy Parris was at meetings belittling people and insulting staff and acting like some Demi god answerable to none , he wasn’t in the press looking for pity, that man fire people left and right, curse people in public forums, shout and send big men out of rooms and made them stand up like little children in meetings (bad English and all). i know I was there ! I saw a man who cared nothing about his staff or their feelings, i saw a man who felt he could do anything , and he said so ! I heard him ! Tell people if they try to sue him he would pay witnesses to say what is necessary or don’t show up. Ha, ha, look at life, or as we seh boout hay, lorsie, looka life !

You see I got curious about Clico, long time ago, when Clico started offering interest rates 3 and 4 % above the standard regional rates, It didn’t make financial sense, while the Balanced Fund run by Jepter Ince was running true to to the prevailing rates both regionally and globally, I got even more curious when Financial Advisors (I will get to that title) were being rewarded so handsomely for selling cash intensive products or so called investment vehicles, while it is prudent and good sense for a life insurance agent to sell predominantly life insurance, so as to maintain his or her longevity in the business. Actually those FPA’s and EFPA’s were selling like hot cakes to misinformed clientele, and the agent in the case of the FPA got 15 % at the end of the month in his’her hand , e.g a million dollar Flexible Premium Annuity paid the sales agent 150k at the end of the month, plus bonuses after.

I was also curious as to how a man with no financial background at all, was allowed to be called a financial advisor to joe hardworking public, and some rich ones too, and then disenfranchise that man out of his/her hard earned cash and savings to those pie in the sky schemes, further more telling a young mother or father or both , that to buy an insurance policy for educational purposes, not taking into account standard inflationary factors and the deepening global crisis at the time was a wise investment choice. However if you take a poor boy and give him a BMW or a Mercedes and tell him that the life style you see on music Videos and TV could be yours, well, what you expect him to do but sell products that would afford him this life style.

Look in conclusion, my point is this, if L. Parris cashed in his policies based on insider information, this would be in tune with who he is, and what he and Clico was doing for a long long time, and the financial watch dogs with their phd’s and Bsc’s and phqs missed the ball, or failed to do anything because they might have been part of the good old boys club of barbados, or they just didnt realise what a great white elephant clico was becoming. I however highly doubt that, because i saw it coming, the other companies saw it happening , and Leroy see it coming so he pick up he gorgie bundle and run too ! De man ain become a millionaire by being an idiot.

26. Nothing yet from PDC? Deeply disappointing.

Hey, PDC windbags: I think you’re puerile and pointless, and your economic proposals make me laugh out loud.

Want to sue me?

DO IT. Please, DO IT. Please.

27. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Wuh loss Islander them is some licks.

De same way you could find out how the agents got paid for the EFPA’s de Nation could have done some background and try to discern those things. Maybe then they would not have indulged in scurrilous and shoddy journalismin running out 3 or 4 “senior” agents in the Sunday Sun to say how rosy things are at CLICO. The sorta money these agents making is a motive in itself.

How could you let 3 or 4 people who have no access to bank account info or financial statements or cash flow tell a nation that a company sound and going well and that the prognosis for the future is strong. Piss Poor Journalism. Why didn’t they contact the Supervisor of Insurance to find out the status of the company? the amount of complaints for non payment of funds due?

That was a piece of unbalanced journalism which did a disservice to the people of Barbados.

28. Agreed BMSN, this is the type of thing that goes on in Barbados daily, i mean how could those guys rationally look at Clico’s financial and societal position now and say things are ok ?

The Clico brand is dying, or dead ! there is no recovery, that was either a selfish, stupid or coerced Advertisement/interview . Listen there are things that happened there to guys like Allan Parris ( A Good Man) when he took the high road on retirement and gave the company 6 months to deal with him leaving, the next DAY the vice president was sitting in his office and firing him ! KARMA is a bitch !

The insurance industry on a whole needs regulating, and that whole financial advisor thing needs to be re-looked !

Even those universal life policies that agents peddle, a whole heap of nonsense ! see the Turkey example re their insurance issues

look when a man can have a private plane, multiple mercedes, and like in a quasi castle and pay for it out of the blood sweat and tears of joe public and some good money laundering too ! and then just ride off into the sunset kool as a cucumber , we have issues with accountability in Barbados.

This is not confined to leroy either u know, too long have rich barbados been able to do as their please , get loans without the correct prerequisites, dont pay back said loans, fire people, pay little or no duties for all types of luxuries, look If u or I walkinto a bank and ask for 25k to support a business, we would be drawn and quartered first, furthermore do what leroy parris and dat crowd was doing for years ?

See the Agricultural division of the late Barbados National Bank (cause it ain we wun nuh more ) Large loans to all sorta people who nevaaaaaa pay them back, good ole boys club again. but would kill me for 5 grand lolololol…

anyhow there IS ACCOUNTABILITY here in Barbados, just not for them, it is for me and you and joe hardworking poor public, not de Leroy Parrises of BIM and dat damn ponzi scheme dey was running at Clico.

a private plane…lololol

29. David, don’t run. The issue was whether something is being done about the SOI’s office by the Minister of Finance?

The issue you want me to discuss – ITAL, FOI and all that mumbo jumbo – is not on my agenda … simple.

30. @albert

Have you ever known BU to run? How can you end to end governance if we can’t enforce?

31. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

On the issue of accountability, tell us why we can’t be told all of the names of the persons on the oversight committee. Why is it that we have been told some but not all? Why is this so top secret? Does the government have anything to hide on this issue? Do the members have any conflicts of interest that we need to know about? Come on fellas let us know all of the members of the oversight committee.

32. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Could someone tell us who now owns sam lords?

33. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

What about villa nova? Is that in a similar state to sam lords?

34. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Why is it that the government now has its thrid chairman in place at NIS since they took office? Is it that they don’t have the talent?

35. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Why is it that the government now has its third chairman at BIDC since taking office?

36. Sandra Forde should never have been appointed, she is not qualified for the job. Whoever appointed her simple demonstrated that yardfowlism and croynism is alive and well in the current administration. More scary is the fact the government through the Sandra Forde appointment making mock-sport at the PEOPLE. Where is the fourth estate to expose these matters?

When was William Layne the Supervisor of Insurance? As PS in the Ministry of Finance what responsibility does/did he have for the Office of the Supervisor of Insurance? How close was he to the Arthur administration when deals like GEMS and Greenland was going down? Mr. Layne can we see your notes to the PM on these matters? To what extent can a career civil servant/bureaucrat manage the current CLICO matter effectively?

37. Can someone tell me when someone will get locked up? I am sick and fed up of this shite!

38. Sandra Forde should never have been appointed, she is not qualified for the job. Whoever appointed her simple demonstrated that yardfowlism and croynism is alive and well in the current administration. More scary is the fact the government through the Sandra Forde appointment making mock-sport at the PEOPLE. Where is the fourth estate to expose these matters?

David: I find you relating every issue to accountability. Who were the applicants? Can you vouch for one of the alternative candidates?

Why isn’t Sandra Forde suitable? Because she is a woman?

Isn’t she a former Bank Manager of Scotiabank? What “qualifications” do you need to manage the Transport Board?

39. @Albert

As our research goes she was a branch manager a job which requires interviewing clients for loans and soliciting deposits etc. The job of head of NIB should call for a wider knowledge.

40. David

Gotta agree with you on the Forde appointment. At a time when a Gov’t agency is under much scrutiny, at a time when oversight and knowledge is required in the areas of Finance, Human Resources etc. the Gov’t appoints someone without the requisite knowledge and skill to manage one of their most important service assets.

It is time that these Gov’ts realise that some professionalism is required in management not Party lackeys who are there to “glad hand” and earn a significant wage at taxpayers’ expense.

Once again the maxim “it aint what you know it is who you know” comes to the fore.

41. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Why doesn’t the Thompson Government have the ability to cross party lines to recruit talent?

42. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Fellow bloggers

What about the names of the members of the oversight committee?

43. Accountability, yeah right!!
    Here is proof that such is a pipe dream:

In today’s Nation newspaper, Derick Alleyne (the Director) is quoted as saying that “the mess at the UDC runs so deep, it is going to take another seven to eight months to get it cleaned out”; and was critical of the way the UDC was managed under the former Barbados Labour Party (BLP) administration.”

In the same edition, the former individual with responsibility for the UDC during 8 of the last 9 years of the BLP administration is about to join the government benches in Parliament.

So in eight months time, THREE YEARS since elections, an inherited ‘mess’ will finally be cleaned up and the Minister with the longest tenure as head of that department could be happily seated on the right of the Speaker.

44. @ Donald Duck Esq

It seems not to be the case given the on-going recycling of the same personnel from Board to executive and even parliamentary positions within such a short time frame.

I maintain that the continued appointment of persons strictly along party lines (known or perceived) will adversely impact on the quality of the appointed simply because we do not have a large pool from which to choose. Furthermore, the post elections political cleansing deters suitably qualified persons from applying.

45. David..here is another trick question..what happen to the 10 Million that Thompson give Leroy to help prop up Clico?,does anyone know how our hard earned tax dollars got spent or is that 10 Million in one of Leroy’s accounts,did it actually make it to Trinidad..can fellow bloggers open my simple eyes please?..i heard some government workers talking and they came to the conclusion that David simply gave Leroy 10 Million dolars because they are bed partners..lol please verify if our money propped up Clico Trinidad?

46. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Freewilly

the $10 million was deposited with clico mortgage and finance and is a liability in the accounts of this clico entity that is due to the central bank.

any news on who is on the oversight committee?

47. Alex Fergusson Avatar

STATEMENT BY DR. WILLIAM DUGUID, M.P.
    ON THE NON-PERFORMANCE OF THE UDC & RDC UNDER DLP RULE

“After almost two and a half years and a so-called restructuring of the Urban Development Commission, the non-performance of the UDC and the Rural Development Commission, two important social support agencies, is nothing short of a national disgrace.

These two government agencies were established as the final safety net for the poor and disadvantaged in our society, who old age, misfortune or illness had rendered vulnerable.

They also provided start-up financing for thousands of micro-business owners across urban and rural Barbados to either take or keep them out of poverty.

The work of these two agencies has virtually ground to a halt since January 2008 when the government changed and hundreds of Barbadians most in need remain exposed and left to their own devices at a time of economic hardship in the country.

It is shameful that the Director of the Urban Development Commission, Derek Alleyne would use the tired tactic of blaming the previous Administration for the lack of performance by the institution he now leads with vague, unsubstantiated claims about debt and the number of contractors who were given gainful employment two years after his Party has been in charge.

The Government is ducking from the real fact that it has no money to fund the UDC and the RDC because its poor management of the economy has led to drastic cuts to the social welfare programme of Government.

Both Mr. Alleyne and the Minister of Social Care Chris Sinckler need to get on with the job and stop looking for baseless excuses on which to hang their lack of performance. Equally their words will not disguise the fact that a large number of small contractors are complaining across the island that they are not getting any work under this Government.

Were it not for the televised scripting of constituency reports, Barbadians would be hard pressed to identify what Mr. Sinckler’s job is – there is so little by which to measure it.” -ends-

The above statement was released by the Barbados Labour Party to the Media earlier this evening.

48. Afraid of the Gun Avatar
    Afraid of the Gun

One big point.

The man responsible for the so-called mess at the UDC, will on Sunday be acquired by the DLP.

That is when the gavel comes down on Hamilton Lashley spot trade.