85 responses to “Is This Another Example of Rude Boy Behaviour Among Our Youth Mr. Farley?”

1. In America social clubs / sports teams / dance groups / music groups / choirs etc set up activities and competitions for kids in ghetto areas

2. Our information is this specific matter has been addressed by relevant parties. Let us hope the intervention by concerned adults who drew attention to this matter will act to change the lifes of the children highlighted in the video for the better.

3. Hi to every one that take the time to comment on the video. In my opinion i don’t think that girl going to act that way again. She learn her lesson, i sure she will find a different way to handle any similar situations in the future.

I also have eyes and see the rise in indecent behavior by society in general, but i also see that certain circles in this society(namely rich people) have been doing it the right way and continue to do it the right way, why is it then that bad behavior comes for mostly poor people?

Is good behavior not affordable?

4. @ Ready Done
    You said:
    I also have eyes and see the rise in indecent behavior by society in general, but i also see that certain circles in this society(namely rich people) have been doing it the right way and continue to do it the right way, why is it then that bad behavior comes for mostly poor people?
    *************************************************************************************************
    You need an ophthalmologist friend – urgently!

5. Is this Video stage? My wife who is a teacher looked at it and told me it look stage.
    (1) School children usually hide when a video camera is around.
    (2) Usually when there is an altercation between school children other children tend to be involve (the girl crew vrs the boy crew)

My wife said it look like kids seeking attention which is usually the case from her experience.
    David can you say if it was stage?

6. @Fair & Balance

This was the very first comment, maybe you missed it:

We want the the BU family to give the children the benefit of the doubt that they are being creative as far as artistic license goes.

BU has messed with the resolution to protect the children but the video is out there.

BU’s position is that it doesn’t matter, whether it was staged or not, it is the language used. If your wife’s conclusion is correct, it still supports the point that we have a problem.

7. Warning * some new kiddie cultures and disturbing trends are
    1. kids ‘happy slapping’ i.e. beating up strangers and filming it on phones, sending the videos to each other and sticking it on youtube (some old and homeless people have been murdered, set on fire etc)
    2. filming each other doing death defying tricks such as cliff jumping, surfing on trains / cars
    3. filming themselves having sex in parties in front of crowds of watchers cheering
    4. This has become extreme incidents like filming themselves before shooting classmates maybe as a form of suicide and to become infamous worldwide
    (which will probably be videoed in the future)

8. @ Bush Tea i tend to agree with you in most cases but this time your dead wrong or very misinformed.

Do you think this behavior is as prevalent in private schools as it is in schools where the majority of pupils are from what is considered working class families?

Surly a privet school student has more access to a digital camera and unsupervised internet than a student from the school in question. So how is it that all the videos we see online are from non privet schools?

If i had the money i would pay for my child to go to a privet school to, its worth it.

The atmosphere is totally different, you don’t get this questionable behavior from privet schools, i think that is why the problem has been allowed to get out of control too.

9. @ Ready Done,

You done know that you is my pal, ….man you even got me thinking aquaphonics…. but trust me RD, the only difference in behavior between the rich and the poor is in the ability to hide things up after the fact.

If fact, should you be able to afford to send your children to a private school, you will find that the difference is that there, they cuss and behave badly in the back of a BMW or on the patio of a penthouse – or on a yacht on weekend…..

There is indeed a class of children who distinguish themselves by their behavior and decorum – this has nothing to do with rich or poor though, it is related to the standards held and practiced by their parents, extended family, and close associates…..(things like church, club, scouts etc)

Generally children who respect themselves do so because they will not disrespect those (parents especially) that love them.
    Those who feel unloved, unwanted, or unimportant could not care less…. indeed, some deliberate misbehave specifically to seek attention /revenge for perceived neglect.

….so you can send your son /daughter to any good school – the trick is to have good personal morals and standards for yourself; and to love and respect your child – and you only then have to fear the idiotic system that is put in place by our leaders, which places additional pressures on our children above those which come naturally with the teen years….

10. Generally children who respect themselves do so because they will not disrespect those (parents especially) that love them.

WELL SAID!!!!! %100 in agreement with you.

So i going to shift my position (a little) and say, standards held and practiced by parents, extended family, and close associates of rich kids are totally different/better to those of poor people.

And the idiotic system that is put in place by our leaders for the poor ones needs to emulate the efforts of the privet schools, there is no need to look other places for answers just look at what the privet school teachers are doing and copy that in public schools.

I guess it all comes down to the fact that teaching is a ‘government job’ in Barbados and ‘government jobs’ in Barbados are currently viewed the wrong way. There needs to be a system in place where government workers are paid for the work they do, and not just because they are ‘appointed’.

Every privately operated counterpart to a government owned enterprise consistently outperforms it in all areas.

Government does good but it needs to be ‘privatized’ to continue to be efficient.

(THANK YOU FATHER, THE RAIN FALLING!!!!!)

The Lowdown – Foster care

Published on: 3/12/2010.

BY RICHARD HOAD

IT WAS a typical David and Goliath story. For 20 years I’d battled to find a Roberts feed that my goats would eat consistently. One batch would be okay; the next batch, many wouldn’t touch.

This is a farmer’s nightmare. We usher eight goats at a time into the milking parlour; the feed holds their attention until we can lock them in place. If they won’t eat the feed, it is utter chaos. They mill around, jump off the parlour, don’t give milk.

For two decades I’d pleaded with Roberts’ sales reps and management. Told them which batches were palatable and which weren’t. They couldn’t help. We had to keep different batches and types of feed on hand to coax the reluctant.

By chance I mentioned in a column that no one at Roberts seemed to care about palatability. Not so, claimed managing director David Foster. And to prove his point, he figured out which ingredient might be turning off the goats, substituted something more palatable, and personally brought me three bags to try.

In the Barbadian context, we’re talking about a genuine miracle here. In one day, one man, a true David, corrected a nightmare that we were told for 20 years couldn’t be solved. Since then, all the goats rush in to gobble up the Foster-formulated feed, batch after batch. I still can’t believe it.

Okay, let’s move from Foster care to a full gallop.

Or rather Gollop. In response to a query as to whether Government could restrict schoolchildren’s choice to travel on minivans, learned jurisprude Hal Gollop expounded on the formidable powers our constitution gives to Parliament under the so-called "omnibus" clause.

The omnibus clause guarantees that all parliamentarians may travel free on the appropriate Government omnibus providing they are wearing school uniform. More importantly (and truthfully), it gives Parliament the all-embracing power to "make laws for the peace, order and good government of Barbados", subject to the provision of the Constitution.

Putting it another way, some wit once observed that a Prime Minister of Barbados "can do virtually anything except turn a woman into a man. And maybe even that".

Alas, what a dangerous two-edged sword this is! For, if we have given our leaders almost unlimited powers far in excess of, say, the president of the United States, it therefore must follow that, wherever they have failed to institute measures for the peace, order and good government of Barbados, they must be held fully accountable.

And, if truth be told, they have not delivered. Day after day, month after month, year after year, administration after administration, reshuffle after reshuffle, we hear the same problems trotted out in political speeches, in the Press, on the call-in programmes.

To wit: a largely non-performing civil service, youth indiscipline, praedial larceny, stray livestock, uninsured vehicles on the road, ZR culture, rampant drug trade, stalled death penalty, widespread littering and disregard for the environment, fast-food obesity, illegal guns, declining agriculture, traffic chaos, noise pollution, wasteful water management, Queen Elizabeth Hospital horrors, boys dropping out of society.

Not only have successive leaders failed to solve even one of these long-standing problems; they haven’t even made a dent.

You may want to get cynical and come up with reasons. Maybe politicians don’t want to antagonise supporters in the criminal fraternity. Maybe they worry the shock of getting something right would be too much and we Bajans might all keel over. I don’t know.

But I am proposing a Biblical solution. When the giant Goliath was taunting the Israelites, they were in a similarly hopeless situation. In desperation, they gave the job to little David, a shepherd boy who had had previous success against marauding wolves. Two big rocks later, Goliath was history. No problemo!

We have our own David (Foster) who hath wrought a mighty miracle with goat feed. We have nothing to lose. Make him executive Prime Minister with omnibus powers. Loose him on our insoluble Goliath-like problems. And watch them tumble.

Maybe he won’t clear up all the mess in one go. But I have confidence he can deliver. Watch out for his mighty stones, though.

12. @ Ready Done

….at least you are willing to shift your position a bit in the face of strong logic….. unlike certain others that we know of…. LOL

So let me see if I can shift you a bit more- or if you can shift a seed picker.

Now you agree with me that it mostly boils down to LOVE and RESPECT… yet you continue to see the matter in terms of rich and poor.

….are you saying that the poor do not know how to love and respect each other and their children?

…are you saying that rich people are more loving and respectful than the poor?

Do you know any poor families whose children are model citizens and who are blessings to their families? (i know of many…)

…want BT to name (list) some rich scamps and vagabonds? (we could fill pages…)

With respect to the difference between private and government schools, it is strictly a matter of quality of management. Private schools have boards of management who try to (and usually) select competent principals and teachers.
    Public schools are staffed like all government institutions – with political appointments designed to reward friends, family and party hacks.

The real problem with the public schools however is the thing called the Ministry of Education. This is a body whose sole purpose is to frustrate all principals and teachers into subservient mediocrity, while hiding all statistical data, performance indicators and other operational measures – and extracting the maximum amount of dollars from the treasury.

So how about agreeing that the difference is related to the quality of management normally found in these two entities?

The following news story is relevant,,,as usual we do a good job of highlighting the problem. The same newspaper reports that multi-coloured hair pieces will be banned at school sports, music will be banned as well. Last week  Minister of Education met with principals of the schools and announced soon after a law will be coming in about 6 months to ban students from the PSVs. Recently in a Cabinet reshuffle Minister of Education Jones was relieved of some responsibility to devote more time to his substantive minister of education. Interesting to see the Minister of Education and Commissioner Dottin have put a halt on plans to bring Movado and Vybz Kartel to Barbados. As usual we hear silly Barbadians on the radio preaching about freedom to do business and the right to do this and that.

The bottomline is there seem to be a push to clamp down on the bad behaviour in the society especially as it touches the youth. Let us see if we are serious!

TOO RUDE!

Published on: 3/14/2010.

by PATRICK WARD

INDISCIPLINE doesn’t just exist in schools. It exists in wider society too.

And according to Magistrate Ian Weekes, the Government should take a broad-based approach to dealing with the bad elements.

Weekes has also come out against the playing of a hit tune made popular by Barbados’ grammy-award winning artiste Rihanna, saying the song is "purely sexual" and needs to be taken off the air.

He made his initial observations in the Holetown Magistrates’ Court last Friday, where a 17-year-old was before him on a number of charges.

"Indiscipline is not only on the public service vehicles [PSV]. I always have my ear to the ground. We have to blame STARCOM and CBC and the other radio stations for promoting this subculture."

Numerous attempts to reach CBC’s general manager Lars Soderstrom and STARCOM’s programme manager Ronald Clarke for a response proved futile.

In a subsequent interview with the SUNDAY SUN, Weekes said some of the blame for the indiscipline being exhibited on route taxies and other PSVs is but a microcosm of society. Radio stations must take some of the blame for allowing lyrics that excite the youth and incite indiscipline to be aired.

He said the Broadcast Authority must also do its work and monitor the radio stations.

"They tend to fuel this subculture. I don’t believe that Rihanna’s Rude Boy should be played. It is purely a sexual song and certain standards need to be set.

Magistrate Weekes also called for a parenting programme for people who want to access Government resources and financing.

"If a woman becomes pregnant and she wants to have free health care, it should be mandatory that she attend the parenting programme. And once a father has been identified, he should be made to attend these sessions before they are allowed to get free medical care."

He said the Broadcast Authority needs to be revamped and the National Organisation of Women (NOW) needs new blood to cope with the changing trends in society.

NOW was out of touch with reality, he said.

"They need to develop new strategies and programmes for young women. When we look at the focus of young women now, they seem to be only interested in being the "knock out of the month" or "the girl next door".

"Is NOW really achieving its target audience? I believe that it needs young members to assist in changing its focus. Get younger members involved to assist them. . . ."

The magistrate also criticised event promoters.

"I don’t think that Gully and Gaza have a place in Barbados. Here it is, two men who cannot achieve peace in Jamaica (Mavado and Vybz Kartel). I can’t see how they can achieve this here in Barbados.

"Their presence here will ensure the recruitment of young soldiers for the ghetto sub-culture. Right now I see two subcultures destroying Barbados. They are Jamaica and the USA."

14. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

@david,

I do not understand your characterisation of Barbadians who are clamouring for freedom as “silly”.

Are freedoms possible only when a majority agree with them?

Is the determination of our freedoms a matter only for the government or the police?

What do we dop when we have banned everything and still have a problem?

Or do you think that banning is the real solution to our problems?

What if they decide to ban ….blogs?

15. David

Recently in a Cabinet reshuffle Minister of Education Jones was relieved of some responsibility to devote more time to his substantive minister of education.

Did it also involve relieving him of his role as President of the Football Association? Being a Minister is a full time responsibility and I think that Thompson’s condoning of Jones’ decision to maintain his position as President is one of the areas in which he has demonstrated a lack of leadership. Thompson should have put his foot down and said “You have an option – Cabinet or Football – the choice is yours”.

16. If the Minister of Education, Mr Jones was overburdened with work then why remove Minister Todd from the Education Ministry? Given that in two years Minister Todd has been in three different ministries without any discernible accomplishment, is his transfer to the Department of Special Projects only a matter of time?

17. I think that banning of the music and hair do is not the answer to the problems. It will help to curb the creativity of these kids and they will focus on more creative ways to be deviant. Are you going to ban radios, ipods walkmans or any instruments that make music. This is folly.
    The parents must instill in their children the need for self respect. They must monitor their children’s dress before they leave home to make sure that they are appropriately dress not like the CP girl in the newspaper on Saturday.
    Banning of the creative talents of these kids will lead to more creative deviant behaviour and also kill the festive atmostphere at the stadium.
    The ministry needs to rethink this approach.

18. @Sargeant

Agree with that point. BU recall that is it Prime Minister David Thompson who soon after winning the government supported the decision by Ronald Jones to hold on to the presidency of the Barbados Football Association. The illogic of relieving him of ministerial responsibilities and as anonymous points out removing Todd bears some explanation and further analysis.

@jeff

You make a good point but we all have the right to voice the kind of society we want to se. It will be up to the policymakers to frame the laws which reflect the type of society we want. BU’s comment was made against a backdrop of an imploding society. We don’t believe banning is the solution but it is evident as a society we have to do something, we suspect to pullback what is happening the authorities will have to use immediate and longer term strategies.

Now jeff tell us how two illiterate, weed smoking, don’t know knowing people should be allowed to enter Barbados to feed the sub culture which we are battling? As adults we have responsibilities to safe-guarding our society.

19. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

Which sub-culture that we are battling does Vybez Kartel and Mavado feed, David? Do we have laws or don’t we? Are they enforced?

20. The question is rhetorical we know but we know the music of these two wogs is heavily played on the minibuses and fetes. Yes we have laws and yes we don’t enforce rigorously but sometimes when we do the overburdened court system becomes a problem. Yes our parents need to step up to the plate but guess what? We have many, many delinquent parents so it is left to the state which has responsibly for law and order.

Yes legislating is imperfect but it better than surrender. Your last point is taken, we need to enforce the damn laws but how can we when the system is so corrupt? For example, who owns the PSVs? Why are some reported and pass for inspection and some no?

Musings:Rewriting History (II)

3/14/2010

By Jeff Cumberbatch

Officialdom in this fair land of ours, it seems, has a quaint, though arguably maladroit method sometimes of dealing with thorny social issues. That is to ban the form of expression or the means by which the problem is made manifest. Never mind that this clumsy, cack-handed approach often proves entirely useless, and is likely to create difficulties perhaps more intractable than the one it attempts to solve; we adopt this technique of prohibition time and again to deal with issues which prove nettlesome for a self-appointed validating elite.

Thus the police will request a ban on the appearance here of the Jamaican artistes, Mavado and Vybez Kartel, because their presence or performance is likely to pose a problem – either that of inciting violence or because of their dubious qualification as role models; rather than laying down strict guidelines for expected behaviour at the show and enforcing the law on criminal conduct to the letter. We recall too, in this context, the ban imposed in the late 70’s on certain calypsos which had proven unpalatable to the then governing administration. And there was the ban on colourful ZR’s, presumably to instil some order among their operators.

Some schoolchildren, perhaps a minority, are using camera-equipped mobile phones to film, record and transmit pornographic and violent incidents? Ban all cell phones in schools. After all, a few blithely declare, we did quite well without them when we were at school some 20 or 30 years ago. A small number of schoolchildren are misbehaving on the PSVs? Ban all of them from riding on these vehicles. They will behave themselves for sure once this happens. And, most recent, a few schoolchildren are misconducting themselves at school sports? Well we cannot ban the sports…or can we? While we think that one through, let us ban the elaborate colourful hair styles that show support for a house or school, and while we are at it, let’s ban the music to which they dance so salaciously! Whom do they think they are? Adults… at Kadooment?

One does tend to notice a pattern emerging. Meanwhile, there is no ban on smoking in public places; no imposition of the breathalyser test; no ban on the use of cell phones while driving. But there are those who would ban calypso shows during Lent; still others would ban low-cut trousers that expose underwear.

The theme of this essay is made clear in the reasons given for the banning of music at school sports. It was never like this, it is claimed; the loud music, the impromptu parade in the streets after sports, the flagrant misbehaviour of some students.

As I wrote last week, I am not, by any means, in my dotage; although I was a secondary school student in the days when the only pupils who wore epaulettes as part of their uniform were those in the lower school at Harrison College. Now these items are de rigueur even for primary school uniforms. But there were drums, bugles, trumpets, whistles, bottles and other musical instruments at the inter-school sports even in those times; enthusiastic shouts or yawning drones of “K-O-L-I-J” and “L-O-D-G-E” frequently split the air; Combermere sang perennially “We shall overcome” and, as they do today, we took to the streets immediately after, impeding traffic, shouting, singing and generally making
    nuisances of ourselves. I never heard of public complaint; no one threatened a ban back then. Of course, there were fewer schools competing and there was not the substantial presence of females in those days as now but, had there been, I feel sure that similar episodes as occur today would have occurred then. But the contemporary re-write of history would have us behaving like cherubs, raising at most polite applause or a subdued cheer in victory, gracefully commiserating with our adversaries in defeat and singing the school song in moderated tones. Believe me, it was nothing like that.

There seems, however, to be an inherent suspicion of certain forms of music at sporting events. Readers may recall the prohibition on music which served to deflate further an ill-starred Cricket World Cup 2007 hosted here in the region. It bears remarking however, that the situation has endured a 180 degree reversal in respect of the T20 World Cup, also to be staged regionally and music is now being encouraged, even if in the somewhat unimaginative marketing theme of “Bring it”, imploring fans to “bring your biggest noisemakers” and to “bring your most outrageous costumes and face paint”.

Now the prohibitionists are looking to ban the South African vuvuzela, a plastic trumpet traditionally blown at football games in that country, from the FIFA World Cup to be staged there this summer. Some find it a distracting, noisy irritant which drowns out the commentary, even though the question has been asked what would be the point of taking the World Cup to Africa, and then trying to give it a European feel. Others compare it favourably to the monkey chants which greet black players in some European stadiums. On the other hand, one article in the London Guardian calls it “the din of iniquity”. FIFA is not amenable to a ban, however. According to Sepp Blatter, FIFA president, “That is what African and South Africa football is all about –noise, excitement, dancing, shouting and enjoyment…”
    He was not, of course, also referring to the local inter-school sports.

21. David

Quote -We don’t believe banning is the solution- unquote. Yes we do, Banning has been the hallmark of many Caribbean Gov’ts who are stymied for solutions to what they view as threats to a particular way of life or good order. Jamaica banned Walter Rodney; Trinidad banned Stokely Carmichael (who was born there) many others have been banned. I know someone who was banned from entering Dominica because he had dreadlocks. Barbados has banned the wearing of certain types of clothing, I wouldn’t know Vbez kartel from the Colombian Cartel but somehow some people think that banning him will make a difference. Now let’s ban the Internet as Cumberbatch alluded to above, if there is no You Tube perhaps people wouldn’t listen to that kind of music.

There…. Problem solved.

22. What we should really ban is lawyers.

I don’t understand how Mr Cumberbatch can say that he fail to understand the urge to ban. He is one of our brightest and best.

The government is tempted to ban the schoolchildren from the ZR; music from the school sports; coloured hair on students; Movado, and lord knows who else ….
    ….for one reason……FRUSTRATION!!

The poor government don’t know what else to do.

Jeff ask ‘Do we have laws or don’t we? Are they enforced?”

What laws what?!

Be honest, why can we have a ZR driver with 200 charges pending – and still on the road?
    Why can a man be on remand for 6 years?
    Why does a simple matter take 10 years to be resolved by our courts?

LAWYERS.

What happens when citizens are frustrated by inaction? When politicians (mostly lawyers) feel impotent to solve simple problems? When the police feel that their hands are tied?

People call for impulsive thoughtless actions – and ‘bans’ are easy to conjure up.

I think that the solution to the problem is for our legal system to work.
    Right now, all that our system is focused on, is extracting money and influence from the society.

They care NOTHING about justice. They laugh at fairness. They wink at exploitation – of the poor and helpless – taking land, money, assets is their game.

The problem starts with the drafting of our laws – a TOTAL embarrassment and joke over the last 20 years. Flawed laws, hapless loopholes, stupid logic……

Then there is the game called ‘court’ …. where the idea is to frustrate victims until they either plead ‘guilty’ or until all witnesses are dead. Lawyers love this particular game – lots of money to be gleaned…..

….By the time any matter is resolved, all the principals involved are either dead or incontinent, and there is NO opportunity to influence society with the judgment.

With such a useless flawed system, who can be surprised that Government, police, schools, and everyone – would think that the only option is to ‘ban dem….’

23. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

So, BT, are we going to change the system….or simply ban that too?

Incidentally, thanks for the re-publication, David & BU.

24. @jeff

You are welcome. As you know the BU family needs to be fed quality information at a high rate.

25. I doan care wuh Jeff Cumberbatch seh. He good wuh part he is. I doubt he trildren ever had to ketch a ZR! These big ups wid dem fancy intellectual tripe only want to show how bright dem is… but every fool got ‘e sense and this fool could see people like dem doan have to care cos dem trilden a lot less exposed up in de heights and terraces.Wuh wunnah doan want for wunnah mill class trilden please to doan want fuh my trilden dong-in de tenantry.

26. Jeff

I am quite sure that you could give us a comprehensive lecture – right off the cuff, on the challenges of changing ‘the system’.

That takes vision, guts, determination, honesty and commitment.

Does that answer your question about whether we are going to change the system?

Absolutely NO! … at least not for the better.

27. That video is appalling but BT i also agree with you. A lot of this blame has to be shared with the adults. We have a group of lawyers who have been doing some alleged underhand deals yet nothing is happening. every now and again, you would see their picture appear in the print media on a case of suspect lawyer/client fraud, yet the matter never seems to come to a finale. We have so-called big-ups who get charged with a serious problem with a young girls, nothing comes out of it. There is too much double standards with we adults and unless we put our house in order this country will slide further down the drain.

28. Interesting to read the comment of the Jamaican Minister responsible for youth, sports and culture as reported in the Jamaican Gleaner today. Hell even the Jamaican authorities admit there is a problem but we have some politically correct Bajans who feel there is no problem and defend these wogs:

Barbados shuts out dancehall

Published: Sunday | March 14, 2010

A BARBADOS minister of government has moved to shut out toxic Jamaican dancehall music from his country.

Ronald Jones, the minister of education and human resource development, said the heavy diet of dancehall artistes performing in Barbados is an overkill and doing more harm than good.

"Even though we share the same Caribbean space, it does not mean we have to welcome everybody. Vybz Kartel and Mavado can stay in Jamaica," Jones said.

His statement came a day after the country’s police commissioner denied the notorious Jamaican artistes permission to perform in the Caribbean nation.

"As a country, we must say enough is enough," the Barbados Nation quoted the minister as having said.

"This is Barbados. It must not go down the path of some other Caribbean societies. If reaching First-World status means we have to embrace all and sundry, then let us keep the status that we have," Jones added, according to the Nation.

The education minister said there was a linkage between dancehall music and some of the increasingly aggressive behaviour exhibited by young people in Barbados.

"Barbados is becoming loud, and some of our people are becoming uncaring, uncharitable. There are places in the Caribbean that they don’t want Barbadians to come anymore. There are planes in the Caribbean that don’t want to transport Barbadians to and from here. What is that saying?

"It is saying that we are loud and aggressive, but it is part and parcel of the diet that we are being fed as a people and as a nation. People like the music, so be it. But we don’t need the transplantation of all the negativity that comes around that genre of music," Jones said.

Grange responds

Olivia Grange, minister of youth, sports and culture, responding to this latest saga in dancehall, said: "I am concerned and I have expressed concern about the content in some dancehall songs. I believe strongly in freedom of expression, but that comes with great responsibility. We can do without some of the lyrics, not only in dancehall recordings, but soca and hip hop too, and that is why we took steps to clean up the airwaves. This is an ongoing process

29. @ David

As man! if bush tea was the minister of education or the commissioner of police, and I had publicly taken the stance that these gentlemen were reported to have taken;
    and if movado and vblyrs (or whatever his name) were STILL allowed to perform in Barbados……
    I WOULD RESIGN.

Do these people understand what leadership is all about?

1- they talk too much. Leaders need to shut their traps unless they have something to say.

2 – and when they talk they should DO WHAT THEY SAY. You recall that this same commissioner came out some time ago complaining about false license plates? …a big press conference!!!! WHAT HAPPENED?

When leaders persist in talk talk talk and no action they are devaluing the authority of their office and defaulting on their responsibilities to the public.

…..look for some silly excuse from these ‘leaders’ as to why they could not carry out their wishes (not my ministry; the law was unclear; it was a done deal; my daughter had a ticket……)

Can you advise them to hush their mouths if they don’t have anything to say….? stuppppps!

30. David Thompson and his silly bunch needs to fix the damn economy and stop picking on the school children to distract people from the real pressing issue.
    Rising poverty is a more serious threat to national security than a handful of bad behaved children.
    Get the country’s priorities straight. Give people jobs, bring down the cost of living and let people provide better for their children and stop playing politics.

31. @BT

Agree with you because Jones and the Commissioner have gone on record issuing statements which are unwelcoming. You should remember that the Prime Minister is a big fan of dance hall.

32. So true David.

The prime minister is a big fan of dancehall and even made the stupid mistake of having Movado up at Illaro Court last year when Movado was pushing some alcoholic drink.

You will notice that it is always freundel stuart the A.G. and deputy prime minister and not Thompson who speaks out against these dub artiste and this party mentality.

Time for Thompson to make that mental change from Opposition leader to Prime minister and realise that as a leader and family man this dancehall reggae fest attendances might not be the image he wants to cultivate for the public.

33. @ All and sundry

This has made some interesting reading ah tell yuh..haha.

However let me pelt in my 2 cents:

Banning children off de zrs ain gine change nuttin, why ? cause yuh cant constitutionally do it ! further more, what happens when dey go home or take off dey uniforms and come back out dress in mufti ? what den ? will it be an age ting den ? look , why not really police the zrs , not de half hearted harassment dat 2 or 3 motor cycle cops does do (yes understand the numbers issue) why not tek way de man dat got 50 convictions and 50 more pending for traffic issues licen.. dat would help.

Why not put in place as a part of government projects a PARENTING WORKSHOP which will target both young mothers/fathers and father and mothers of young children that will allow some type of help to be afforded to some of these parents who truly dont know any better….it can be put on thru the school data base with an emphasis on primary schools , as this is the best time to teach all and sundry, look this problem took a long time developing, it didnt happen over night, and it will take a long term solution, but banning children from zrs ?? thats sooo funny, THEY WILL FIND A WAY, look children will be childre, and from the 70s and 80s we were rebelling in our own way, if de socks was supposed to be up we wore them down, de breakfast club bad boy mentality was born long time ago, its just that kids have become more emboldened with the lack of consequential reaction by authority , ie dey doan get dem ass cut or have no fear of when dey get home wha gine happen..

I really din plan to write so much , but look, if u ban movado and vybes cartel from coming here, it will be like burning joan of arc, u creating a quasi martyrdom for these kids to worship, its easy for kids to get the music online anyway ? so they will hear it on their cell phones etcetc…anyhow look and see who going to the show anyway , is its 16 year old kids ? no it is adults and and parents of the said same kids who hear thier parents listening to movado and vybes and bounty etcetc..and got de same ring tones….so how banning dem from coming gine help ? it may help for a weekend , but who like de gazza gine still like de gazza and who like de gully will still like de gully…by de way Jamaica has been popularized as this war zone, it is not and there are elements of the jamaican society who want to stamp out de foolishness too…

anyway all dat to say this, lets address de root problem of our societal issues , which are but not limited to

1 a move away from God and his teachings
    2 a permeation of our society by the north american way of life (price of progrees ?)
    3 an change in the population demographic of a larger middle class (more crabs in dat barrel )
    4 re# 3 less parenting cause people looking for money to pay dey big azz mortgage and car loan to keep up wid de joneses
    5. a change in the employment demographic where people work longer ie into their seventies , thus there is a lacking of the extended family to teach and care for the youth.
    6. The woman’s role as a caretaker (guh long share de licks) has changed, they ain home tekking care of de children nuh more dem out wukkin and mekkin money too ! so everybody educated, everybody chasing paper, everybody is de same now, but tekkin care of de poor children ?
    (let me answer dat , vybes cartel, de internet, and playstation/xbox360 dah is who)
    7 the failure of MEN in this society to provide good role models for young boys( it ain girls dese shows shooting each other)
    i can go on…

but lets look at the root problems and find longterm solutions instead on worrying bout de indo guyanese issue .llololol.

34. Bush Tea I like I agreeing with you all the time doh!!!

35. When can a member of parliament pull a gun in the precincts of parliament and its ok! last friday at the end of estimates debate. Are the children’s behaviour much different from this…shame on you, Oh david! Will one david fire another David!