hinduToday’s Nation newspaper in what history may record as a tipping point in the national conversation on race  relations in Barbados published a story titled,  Hindus want to spread the word. The opening paragraph of the article summarized the gist of the message;  HINDUS IN BARBADOS want to spread their religion and customs throughout the country to the point of convincing Government to grant national holidays for the observance of Hindu festivals. BU would have warned Barbadians for the past three years that this day would come.  To quote BU family member Jay, I want to say emphatically that this “Guyana society” must be absolutely nuts to try something like this.If you want your “observance” why not go where it is already recognized……in Guyana.It makes me wonder if this is being done on purpose to hurt the image of Barbados & to have a more conciliatory Government.Just like what has happen currently in Australia.They can already observe the day,why is a “national holiday required” ?

In recent days we have seen an escalation in the immigration rhetoric from David Commisiong and Norman Faria. Now we have this article published by the Nation which touches the prevailing sensitivity linked to the immigration Indo Guyanese issue. It is no secret that there is a group who has tag teamed to lobby the interest of others at the expense of what  the majority of Barbadians want. Does it matter that Barbados has a Black host population of over 80% which has been exemplary in charting the course of this country in our post independence period? We survey other countries blessed with more resources than us but who continue to be mired in economic, political and religious strife.

It is eerie the path which Barbados is beginning to embark. It seems like only yesterday when a similar conversation started in Trinidad. If we were to scan Trinidad’s Public Holidays for 2010 we note there is a Spiritual Baptist Liberation Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Indian Arrival Day, Corpus Christi, Id al Fitr (End of Ramadan), Divali (Hindu Festival of Light), Christmas Day and Christmas Day. The Trinidad and Tobago population mix is weighted more towards 50:50 Blacks and others. To this day T&T continues to be challenged by the multi-racial composition of its population. Barbados has the opportunity to define the type of society it wants based on the experience of others. Why should we rush knowingly into a situation when the evidence is available to provide a heads-up?

Hindus make up an infinitesimal percentage of the Barbados population. Yes the constitution of Barbados allows all religions to practice their faith secure in recourse to the law courts. However, let there be no doubt that Barbados has built its success on a traditional value set which has worked well for us. We are yet to know of other similar societies which can boast of the economic and political  stability that Barbados has enjoyed. The statement attributed to the priest of the temple of the Guyana Hindu Society in Barbados at the Hindu Temple Thakoor Prashad suggested that, In future, if Barbadians learn about this culture how it can bring about peace, unity and prosperity in this country, I would be very happy as a priest to join with all the people in Barbados to celebrate this festival with love. BU finds the statement an insensitive one for what it implies.

Tonight we learned of the appointment of former Barbados Employers Confederation head and current talk show host Harry Husbands to the Senate and as Parliamentary Secretary responsible for immigration. We all wait to see what influence Husbands will bring to the mess at the Immigration Department.

111 responses to “Hindus In Barbados Show Insensitivity”

1. Mash Up and Buy Back,
    even if Chris and Kiki are Caucasian, I most certainly am not. I am not even mulatto. I am a black Barbadian totally disgusted with this shameless attempt to generate fear and a siege mentality in our community over the presence of people of non-African ethnicity in our midst. They pose absolutely no threat to our society and we should stop this foolishness.
    You would think that a people who suffered from this kind of discrimination would be the last to practise it.

2. The recent political events in Trinidad have been a hugh concern for a lot of Afro-Trinidardians. The political demise of Mr Panday and the elevation of Mrs Kamala Bisseau is earth shattering. I think this is the political making of a “next guyana” and the permanency of the PNM becoming an opposition party.Mr Manning is likely to be the last Afro-Trinidarian PM .Well unless the government in awaiting self-destruct.

3. What Christianity has to do with this topic? Christianity is the least of our concerns RIGHT NOW!

4. It might be simplistic reasoning but Barbados should be continuously evolving into a Black dominated society based on the fact that 80% of Barbadians are black.

The balance of financial should power should reflect the population.
    The Cultural norms of Barbados should be determined by the majority.

Generation after generation of the descendants of slaves should not allow themselves to be dominated by others.

Black Barbadians should focus on building wealth.

5. @JC

It is not Christianity, but the paucity of the arguments and the inherent hypocrisy.

6. @ zion 1971

You are talking rubbish.

What makes Kamla Persad-Bissessar different from Bas Panday? Are they not both Indian and Hindu and representatives of the UNC aka the Indian party? A comparative analysis of the history of both Trinidad and Guyana and Barbados would prove invaluable.

7. Hey folks

The same issue is being debated in Quebec, some of the comments on BU seem tame when compared to the comments on Canada’s “national” newspaper.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/niqab-wearing-woman-kicked-out-of-quebec-class-again/article1495112/?plckFindCommentKey=CommentKey:763d0696-2091-4992-8359-1b0e07d0c572

8. @Enuff

Surely you know that Panday politics in recent years became too devisive, even for his own kind.

@Kiki

BU’s position is nothing personal, it is about a nation planning the kind of society it wants. BU would have thought men of science would appreciate the idea of ‘planning’.

9. @Sargeant

One of the great characteristics of Barbadians through the years has been our ability to do whatever it takes to not rock the boat and do what is expedient. The price paid because this behaviour over time has been the development of a docile personality which has been exploited to good effect by some.

10. @ David

That is exactly my point!!! Zion 1971 made it appear as though Kamla is but not Panday.

Wherever this conversation is being held, it has fear, hatred and/or ignorance at its roots.

11. Enuff

Back to the main point, should Hindus lobby the Barbados Gov’t to observe their religious festivals as national holidays?

12. Why shouldn’t they lobby? It is up to government to decide whether or not to grant such a holiday.

13. @Enuff

You are missing the subtlety of this argument. The Hindu population is less than 1% of the Barbados population, to suggest they should lobby for a holiday demonstrate ignorance and a lack of sensitivity of a very high order,. on their part.

PS: Have you changed your browser? Your comments of late seem to be diverted to mod queue.

14. @Enuf
    IN no way am I putting Mrs Bisseau on a pedestal or painting her as some moralist. I am well aware that she and Panday is cut from the same cloth and thus she comes to the table with the same baggage.All I was saying was that the political temperature on the ground in T&T is in favour of a united opposition to oust out the PNM. Remember the two main opposition party combine % of the popular vote in the last election was more than the present government.

15. @Hants
    “Generation after generation of the descendants of slaves should not allow themselves to be dominated by others.”

We are already dominated but don’t seem to understand that. This thing christianity which we are holding so dear, does not even belong to us. When I hear people criticise American spelling I wonder if they realise that the UK English spelling they favour is just another dominance.

So what have we become? Lost and as Sarge said, docile. None of it is ours. We are living by somebody else’s standards.

16. Conscious decisions to make minorities scapegoats for political issues as the foundation for a political campaigning platform is building on shaky ground.

17. Sorry Sarge, that was David.

I am resolved on my position on religion, unless somebody can convince me otherwise. However, I think that for less than 1% of the population to try to impose a religious day on us would be ridiculous. We are not ready for that… and it would be an imposition. Problem is that many may not care or may be indifferent and just see it as an opportunity for another day off work.

See how we are losing this race?

18. Who the cap fit
    Let them wear it
    Babylon Trap Them

19. “Problem is that many may not care or may be indifferent and just see it as an opportunity for another day off work.”
    This is why we have politicians,to look at the bigger picture and guide the nation on to a better pathway.It is also a politicians role to educate the populace as to why certain decisions should be taken,but unfortunately many of the politicians in bim today dont remember the conditions in which we came from they are very busy creating wealth for them self at the expense of the nation.some say that we are too placid this is not true if bajans are taught to with hold their votes from these self serving leaders and vote for people who have the nation well being at hart we would see a turnaround in our investment at this point i am not referring to the financial situation
    “This thing christianity which we are holding so dear, does not even belong to us. When I hear people criticise American spelling I wonder if they realise that the UK English spelling they favour is just another dominance.”
    if all i have is the little wooden house that I was given and i follow the logic that you are suggesting here i would burn it down and when night come or the rain fall i would have no where to shelter from the elements before you pull down and destroy you must know what you are going to replace it with

20. “you are suggesting here i would burn it down and when night come or the rain fall i would have no where to shelter from the elements before you pull down and destroy you must know what you are going to replace it with…”

You would be an idiot to burn it down without looking to replace it… but for sure, if somebody could build a wooden house and give you, you could build a house for yourself too. It ain’t rocket science.

Do I detect a knee-jerk reaction in your comment? Playing to the emotional? Why would you suggest burn it down? Why not just build your own house and transition.

21. ROK
    if you all ready have a house, yes you can replace it with a better one,you can also improve it,but your comment ,This thing christianity which we are holding so dear, does not even belong to us” you have not said what you would replace it with,let me say this when there is a void in any thing, what tend to fill it is unwanted (just think of the drugs in society) burn it down was a way to explain how to be rid of it i could have said blow it up.I labour the point you still have not said what you would replace christianity with

22. @ROK & michael

What both of you are doing is discussing the planning which WE (Barbadians) must engage to chart a path for Barbados.

23. @michael

I know that I did not say what I would replace it with, but I am sure that before we came here we had something. It is not like we came out of a vacuum, we had religion and I would dare say with great confidence that we have integrated what we had into Christianity.

You can tell the difference between a black and a white church, especially when it comes to making noise; we do it differently. When I look at Christian traditional orthodox practices, we have changed a lot of it. We may follow the script but we put more into it than is actually required.

Our sense of social justice; our sense of humanity; our practice of neighbourly living, our ingrained belief about good and God, goes beyond the boundaries of Christianity. There is something spiritual about us that even when we do bad things we do them with humanity in mind. We do not go to the extremely bad in the normal run of things. Then when we do bad, there is remorse, shame, conscience, etc.

There is something there which we have, even if you can’t put your finger on it right now. As David said, we tend to dance to our own tune at critical times and it works.

What I want to get across to you is that you can identify the wrong without necessarily knowing the correction, but once the wrong is identified, we can work towards the solution.

24. David,

Thanks, for the acknowledgement of this above PDC post being a critically important one for the reading of esp. Christians on this blog.

And Zoe,

Thanks, to you for your encouraging comments on it as well.

25. Wherever the BLACK MAN has carved out a ‘niche of his own’ interlopers have always found a way to inter and leech off of him. If relative truth be known, it has been the BLACK MAN who has always rearranged his life to accommodate interlopers, even going so far as to take on the interlopers’ culture to his detriment.

Why would Bajans who have lived peacefully from the get-go, need a Hindu to come and teach them how to live in peace, unity and prosperity? Are these from the same Hindu culture that is constantly slaughtering others who are not like them? Do they want to teach BLACKS how to join with the zionists and carry out more bombings in Bombay and then blame it on the Muslims?

These are people you simply cannot trust. They should never be in a position in Barbados where they can be demanding their own holiday. Everybody wants to come into the BLACK MAN’s house and tell him how to run it.

And as far as all these johnnies-come-lately religious holidays are concerned ALL of them should be banned, since they all imprison the mind of the BLACK man.

But with the mealy-mouthed ‘leaders’ who now pretend that they are in charge, it is quite easy to see them capitulating to such. And Marcus Messiah Garvey has aptly defined this type of ‘leader’….

“The present day Negro or ‘colored’ intellectual is no less a liar & a cunning thief than his illustrious teacher. His occidental collegiate training only fits him to be a rogue & a vagabond, and a seeker after the easiest & best by following the line of least resistance. He is lazy, dull and un-creative. His purpose is to deceive the less fortunate of his race & by his wiles rides easily into position & wealth at their expense & thereafter agitate for & seek social equality with the creative and industrious whites…………………….”

Don’t give in to these people. Black people aren’t a people who give up easily. Had our foreparents doused themselves with gasoline and them set themselves on fire, or beat to death their daughters because she married a man of her choice, or simply drank acid to get it over with we won’t be where we are today. I honestly believe that Bajans’ backs are yet to be placed against the wall and that’s when all hell will break loose. So ignore the intellectual windbags and all their long talk about cultural assimilation, because this getting along is not about what’s good for BLACK people, because somehow we always seems to be on the receiving end of their ‘shitty’ stick.

26. @David

“Is Lindsay Holder sick?”

Saw him about two weeks ago and he looked fine… but life can be fragile at times.

27. Ask yourself what role did economics and economist play in what we are seeing today in Barbados regarding immigration and foreign cultural request in Barbados.

28. Rok
    Your first two paragraphs i can agree with.But the statement that you make here.I have a problem with

“our ingrained belief about good and God, goes beyond the boundaries of Christianity. There is something spiritual about us that even when we do bad things we do them with humanity in mind. We do not go to the extremely bad in the normal run of things. Then when we do bad, there is remorse, shame, conscience, etc.”

First let me ask, what do you mean by Christianity ? I think that our view on Christianity is different i don’t believe that I or any other bajan can be more Christ like than the Lord Jesus him self (2) I dont understand how we can do bad thing with humanity in mind for when we steal from our sister,mother,brother,father,we hurt them and if we understand the pain that we are causing them, then we would not do it, let me also extend this thought to include the person who i may know that is living down the road or ten miles away from me,Rok there are bajans in prison for murder,rape,embellishment, and the list go on we are human after all,and yes there is remorse,shame,and a sense of conscience with some people

“There is something there which we have, even if you can’t put your finger on it right now. As David said, we tend to dance to our own tune at critical times and it works.”
    I will call this empathy with one another and I think this comes from the fact that we suffered together as slaves and over the years this has coalesce,but if we are not careful we will loose it in these modern times

“What I want to get across to you is that you can identify the wrong without necessarily knowing the correction,”

yes this is true but it does not mean that one can’t try to use their christian values to try and solve the problem,because when there is a problem a person may use what ever tool they have at their disposal to solve it

29. In Barbados we have Economists (Clyde Mascoll) and others, who are highlighting Barbados supposedly slow or slowing birthrate, in the context of concerns about Barbados supposedly burgeoning immigrant population. The largest section is said to be Indic’s. As indicated by activities in their home countries of Guyana and Trinidad, Indic’s and Affric’s are having a difficult time coming together in national unity. No attempts in either country seems to bearing the fruits of reconciliation, and Unity, yet we are set to create a similar society in Barbados due to corporate greed, political calculations, and the pie-n-the-sky believe that we (so called Caribbean nationals) are family, are one and the same, and have a common destiny.

So let us stop breeding while the Indic’s don’t, and in so doing legitimize the Economist and Corporate leaders in the belief that our workforce can do with an injection of bodies.

————————————————————————————
    Minority births may soon top white births

WTHR-TV
    updated 13 minutes ago
    WASHINGTON (AP) – This could be the year that the number of babies born to minorities in America outnumbers babies born to whites.

That’s because immigration has boosted the number of Hispanic women in their prime childbearing years. Hispanic women have an average 2.99 children to 1.87 among white women. In 2008, 48 percent of the children born in the U.S. were minorities.

Sociology professor Kenneth Johnson of the University of New Hampshire says by mid-century, census projections suggest that America “may become a minority-majority country.” But at the moment, whites make up two-thirds of the total population.

The birth numbers highlight the nation’s growing racial and age divide. There are strong implications for the 2010 population count, which begins in earnest next week.

(Copyright © 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

————————————————————————————————

Obama Sets Immigration Changes for 2010

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/11/world/americas/11prexy.html

————————————————————————————————-

DOES ANYONE SEE HOW OBAMA CAN GET A SECOND TERM? WHERE HE THOMPSON IN BARBADOS WOULD YOU GIVE HIM ONE? BOTH ARE PLAYING FROM THE SAME IMMIGRATION PLAYBOOK.

30. @Adrian Hinds

“Barbados we have Economists (Clyde Mascoll) and others, who are highlighting Barbados supposedly slow or slowing birthrate”

Yet the Barbados Family Planning is encouraging black women to kill their unborn children. Obvious the left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing, or it pretends not to notice.

31. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1249898/Hindu-Davender-Ghai-wins-open-air-funeral-pyre-battle.html

Hindus want to spread the word

This headline could well be the saving of Barbados. It is deeply transparent and remarkably clear in its intent. We should thank The Nation newspaper for highlighting this story.

Let me be clear, the afro-Bajan is not indebted to any racial group or nationality. We are a people of slave origins. We share our history with our slave ancestors; in fact they are the only group who we as a people are indebted to!

What of now? Our future is been menaced by those who mean to do us harm. Barbados has to remove this growing cancer: the expulsion of the Asian (indo) community should commence. The ramifications of allowing this group to remain on this island are too serious to ignore. Barbados is a peace loving nation. If this cancer is allowed to spread there is a real danger of a proxy civil war evolving in Barbados.

Those who have been responsible for this infamous betrayal of the Afro-Bajan should be given their day in court. If they are found guilty they should be …….; for having committed treason against their own people.

The struggle for your re-independence has to start now: boycott all asian shops; report all illegal asians; ask the government to remove immediately all asians who have positions in security sensitive areas; for example airport security, immigration offices, etc; protest on the streets; write a petition to the government with 50,000 plus signatures; report employers who are employing illegal Asians; make your intentions clear to your government that you would like this group of people expelled; wear a tee-shirt or some item of clothing that identifies your disgust; bombard parliament and your members of parliament petitioning them to start the immediate repatriation of this group.

Barbados is still perhaps one of the best places in the world for a dark-skinned man or woman to reside in. It is for this reason, that I request the government of Barbados to remove forthwith, all asians.

32. Listen yuh all THE GENIE is already outof the bottle
    My suggestion you vote yuh own in officeand teach yuh children to do so.

33. @Michael

“First let me ask, what do you mean by Christianity?… i don’t believe that I or any other bajan can be more Christ like than the Lord Jesus him self…”

Christianity is a faith or a belief that Jesus Christ is the son of God and that God is the Creator of all things. Christians are therefore followers of Christ just as other religions follow other deities that make this claim.

While you saying Bajan, I am saying African. This is a part which I don’t really like to deal with because we get knee-jerk reactions based on emotion.

As a faith or belief, religion is spiced with many rituals and over time, a culture of a practicing Christian has manifested. We go forward with a worldview based on Christianity. It guides our actions on a daily basis.

As a Christian society, we have expectations of people even though they may not be church-goers. In desperation a fella may rob another, but not kill him as a rule. If you get away or something goes unexpectedly, killing that person would outrage the society, hence, the average robber will not seek to kill his victims.

This is demonstrated by several incidents, like the fella (alleged to be a returning national) killed his cousin and chopped up her body and put it in the boot of a car. The other is a rape where the perpetrator killed the girl and burnt the house. These are extremes and not at all characteristic of crime in Barbados; within a Christian society.

So it is not a question of being more Christ than Christ, it is what we will stand for as a society or for that matter, what we will not stand for. When you steal, yes you hurt somebody, but it could be a lot worse, or are you saying if you steal and hurt them then you could hurt them all the way? So kill them when you steal?

During slavery, a series of hideous crimes were perpetrated against black people. Women were raped; pregnant women were strapped between two horses pulling in different directions so that the woman split open and the fetus fell out; The genitals of slave were tampered with such as castration, severing the penis, etc. etc.

How many of the Bajan inmates at Dodds have done these heinous kinds of crimes? One of the accomplices was so distraught that he went to the police. Said he could not keep it inside any longer. Note that I did not say that we have no criminals, I am saying that even in crime, we are not cruel people in general. So you saying that there are rapist, etc. in prison, does not address the issue; we know that.

Second: “yes this is true but it does not mean that one can’t try to use their christian values to try and solve the problem…”

Now where you got your Christian values from? There is a marked difference in the Christian values of the traditional church than those of a Bajan flavour. I really don’t know how to describe it, except to say that our approach to religion is more serious. We bring meaning to religion, whether it is Christian, Muslim or any other religion.

If you consider the reason for so many denominations of Christianity, they emerge over the question of practiceswho is doing the right thing because they all want to be as genuine as possible. I am moreso referring to the smaller churches, although the same comparison can be made of the larger ones, Catholics, Anglican, SDA, CLS, etc. but is more rampant at the bottom, who have moved quietly away from the traditional church. When we embrace these denominations, we give them meaning; we give them soul.

If we are to deal with religious freedom, the first thing we must do as a people is relax our minds. We must first stop thinking that we will be doomed if we don’t do the “right thing”. We must approach religion without fear in order to prevent senseless and illogical reactions to what seems different.

We have not been allowed to mature religiously. I have complained several times that Christians are intolerant. This obsession with finding the true religion and always being on the right side of god is our downfall.

I put it to you that if you knew nothing about Christianity and you were given all the texts of the ancient accounts from all the religions to read and study, you would have a hard time deciding which god to follow. The point here being that Christianity is just another religion; there is no proof of any truth, that is why you say, “I believe”. That is why you must have faith.

The problem is that we were socialised into Christianity. We practice a lot of things in our daily lives which reinforce Christianity and, hence, we are locked in a mode, beyond which there is no rationale. This is no different, for example, than child abuse or domestic violence. How does it happen? Why does it happen? When we reach the point of “being right” without any rationale for assuming such. So you resort to violence when challenged.

In religious terms this would amount to persecution. If you went into Bridgetown and proclaimed that Jesus Christ never lived, you may find yourself the target of stones. People will react without examining the truth or the proof. They will want you out of Barbados without any good reason except they were taught to think that you are the devil because of what you said. Yet there is not one ounce of evidence that Christ really lived and it is meant to be so; that is why it is a faith, a belief.

The point to be made is that Christians are in the dark as much as many other religions. From this point of view, it means that Christianity has nothing on any other religion.

Religion is the remnants of the haunts which our ancestors experienced due to natural phenomena that they did not understand. So just consider that having had so much explained by science we continue with the ignorance. Take the example of Thunder, which many religions report as God being angry. We now know what is thunder and while the religions may have dropped the anger thing, they carry on with the God.

Christianity is too much ingrained in our public sector. You have civil servants making value judgments on people rather than do their job. We have this sense of who is and who is not deserving and we play God. Even in our courts it is ingrained and that is why the practice of law and dispensing justice is so flawed. That is why many innocent people are convicted and punished; something that we cannot deny. Yet we brand anybody that went to prison as criminals or people to suspect. We are not fair in the dispensation of social justice. What is a “criminal” if not just another person? Yet, they pay the penalty but are never forgiven by the society which set them up to commit the crime in the first place.

34. @ROK
    I have read many of your postings and i know where you stand on this issue, I was drawing your attention to the word Christians, which can mean different things to different people and what I wrote was to show you where I stood on the subject

“Christianity is a faith or a belief that Jesus Christ is the son of God and that God is the Creator of all things. Christians are therefore followers of Christ just as other religions follow other deities that make this claim.”

I dont know what other deities claim,what i do know is that Jesus Christ is the only one who says that he is the son of God who died and rose again all the others is still dead,but please don’t lets get into all this right now. i am not here to change your views

well yes in the broad terms I am an African ethnically but my nationality is bajan

“As a Christian society, we have expectations of people even though they may not be church-goers. In desperation a fella may rob another, but not kill him as a rule. If you get away or something goes unexpectedly, killing that person would outrage the society, hence, the average robber will not seek to kill his victims.”

i do not believe that there is such a thing as Christian society, but there is a judo-Christian culture in bim and i would seek to maintain that as you have said the slaves have in fused it with some of their own beliefs that is why i can call my self bajan

“So it is not a question of being more Christ than Christ, it is what we will stand for as a society or for that matter, what we will not stand for. When you steal, yes you hurt somebody, but it could be a lot worse, or are you saying if you steal and hurt them then you could hurt them all the way? So kill them when you steal?”

please go back and read what i said your quote above is so far from what i said and meant i don’t think there is any point responding to that

Now where you got your Christian values from? There is a marked difference in the Christian values of the traditional church than those of a Bajan flavour. I really don’t know how to describe it, except to say that our approach to religion is more serious. We bring meaning to religion, whether it is Christian, Muslim or any other religion.

How can you say we bring meaning to religion.let me say this as far as i am concerned the bible stand on its own merit .What people bring when they go to church is there own embellishments. the big church the small church the different denominations as Pentecostals watever it’s all vanity

“If we are to deal with religious freedom, the first thing we must do as a people is relax our minds. We must first stop thinking that we will be doomed if we don’t do the “right thing”. We must approach religion without fear in order to prevent senseless and illogical reactions to what seems different.”

“Doomed if we dont do the right thing,”This statement alone shows that you dont understand what it means to be a Christian,I am not here to preach to you but, Jesus Christ said he died for our sins once and for all(in the pass and future) ,and he will remember them no more he paid the price (fenito)

We have not been allowed to mature religiously. I have complained several times that Christians are intolerant. This obsession with finding the true religion and always being on the right side of god is our downfall.

we can never be on the right side of God, we are human and God the( Trinity )know this, when one reads the bible every person in it have sinned against God

There are things practiced in this country which have nothing to do with being a Christian a lot of it is to do with people wanting to show that they have authority over other people like the dress code for people visiting the court environs hospitals and the staff,but this would be another thread

Christianity is too much ingrained in our public sector. You have civil servants making value judgments on people rather than do their job. We have this sense of who is and who is not deserving and we play God. Even in our courts it is ingrained and that is why the practice of law and dispensing justice is so flawed. That is why many innocent people are convicted and punished; something that we cannot deny. Yet we brand anybody that went to prison as criminals or people to suspect. We are not fair in the dispensation of social justice. What is a “criminal” if not just another person? Yet, they pay the penalty but are never forgiven by the society which set them up to commit the crime in the first place.

this is true but we will need another thread to discuss this topic
    i hope you can see where i am coming from this time

35. @michael

““Doomed if we dont do the right thing,”This statement alone shows that you dont understand what it means to be a Christian…”

Why do you bring it down to you (the subjective) when I am speaking in general terms? You have your spin on Christianity as do others. What I write is not about my understanding of Christianity, but how people who claim to be Christians behave. let me say that I was brought up in a Christian home and went to both church services and Sunday School. If I don’t know what it is to be Christian, then I admit that I am a dunce.

All the talk about “Judo-Christian” (Aside: Is that a martial art) is really besides the point. Bajans do not walk around saying they are Judeo-Christian. Our society is based on what people think are Christian values, whether or not they are, is another matter.

You said: “please go back and read what i said your quote above is so far from what i said and meant…”

If that is so, then what is the below all about?

“I dont understand how we can do bad thing with humanity in mind for when we steal from our sister,mother,brother,father,we hurt them and if we understand the pain that we are causing them, then we would not do it, let me also extend this thought to include the person who i may know that is living down the road or ten miles away from me,Rok there are bajans in prison for murder,rape,embellishment, and the list go on we are human after all,and yes there is remorse,shame,and a sense of conscience with some people.”

Am I to understand that you are not recognising the brakes that conscience will put on free will? i.e. morality. You saying that a thief has no morals? Ever heard of the saying, “Even among thieves there is honour”? Morality is nothing consigned to Christianity alone.

36. @michael

BTW, other dieties claim to be the Creator of all things. Many religions have prophets or lesser gods that are material to the personification of the deities; somewhat like Christ. Just like you, they all have answers for just about anything under the sun, based on their religion and Christ is never mentioned; or Jehovah.

37. David, ROK,
    In response to the question if I am sick, the answer is a sort of yes and no. Last year I made several contributions despite the fact that I had major surgery in March of thet year. Currently, I am on medication, and that should finish in April. As the treatment has progressed things have become a little rough; hence my reason for keeping a low profile.

Regarding the suggestion by the Hindu priest, I would suggest that you label it the ‘Madness of Minorities’. The guy is mad, insensitive, and naive, but we should not worry because his suggestion will not come to pass in our lifetime.

The tragedy of the idiot is that he has failed to comprehend that holidays of the sort he is requesting are only bestowed in recognition of a fundamental contribution to a society. A few Hindus have made a contribution in commerce and medicine, nothing else that other immigrants have not done.

Unfortunately, however, the priest’s suggestion helps to highlight the non-assimilationist way of thinking of many members of that particular ethinic group.

38. @David

To add fuel to the fire, the Hindus do not support us. They don’t buy our foods, they don’t go to our snackettes, etc. Furthermore, when they do buy from our farmers, they want the animals and produce at the least possible price.

They say they can’t eat from us because we don’t pray over the meat or something like that.

39. Lindsay, wishing you a speedy recovery.

40. ROK
    conscience is subjective and there fore has no bearing on morals ,can i take you back to a statement that you made earlier

“This is demonstrated by several incidents, like the fella (alleged to be a returning national) killed his cousin and chopped up her body and put it in the boot of a car. The other is a rape where the perpetrator killed the girl and burnt the house. These are extremes and not at all characteristic of crime in Barbados; within a Christian society.”

from this statement I understand you to be stating that Barbados is a christian society.(2)what are you saying here that the returning national is not Barbadian or he is not a christian?
    I say no society can be classified as christian a society
    only an individual can state he or she is a christian

“Why do you bring it down to you (the subjective) when I am speaking in general terms? You have your spin on Christianity as do others. What I write is not about my understanding of Christianity, but how people who claim to be Christians behave. let me say that I was brought up in a Christian home and went to both church services and Sunday School. If I don’t know what it is to be Christian, then I admit that I am a dunce.”

in order to make this statement you must have a view

G W Bush could not spell either and he was president of the U.S.A for two terms neither can the prime minister of England spell very well so please give me a break

41. @michael

“I say no society can be classified as christian a society…”

I wish I could agree with you but the facts are that many countries classify themselves according to the predominant religion; Christianity not to be outdone.

Tell me, if you have a society where everybody is Christian, is that not a Christian society?

You said: “i do not believe that there is such a thing as Christian society, but there is a judo-Christian culture…” Are we splitting hairs here? “Society”, “Culture” what is the difference?

I can see that this discussion is going nowhere fast, especially when you are denying the facts and trying to use semantics to make a “non-point”.

As to the spelling, you can spell how you want, I just could not help the “Judo” Martial arts wise-crack; especially with the Christians on here being so belligerent. LOL.

42. @Lindsay

All the best to you. Your articulation of the issues facing Barbados has been missed on the blogs and in mainstream media. Really hope that you get better soon because where there is a void all kinds of strange things will happen. It is our sense that there is a tag-teaming by some along partisan political lines and they have ready access to mainstream media.

43. @ROK
    Ok i accept that we are going no where
    with this thread so all i can say is
    touche’

44. An indian man told me years ago that indians spend their money only with Indians. Another also said to a colleague of mind that he knows an Indo Guyanese who purchase two properties (one he runs a supermarket; the other he is building some apartments) in the St. Michael area said blatantly that he does not like black people only their money. The story apparently was related to a few persons who frequent his supermarket but guess what, the black nit wits continue to patronize his minimart. Then in another related story an Indo Guyanese who was taking his animals to be ritualistically slaughtered stated that black people are easily convince and persuaded. They can be herded and easily manipulated to believe what you want them to believe. Rather these stories are true or not, we as black people need to look at the world around us. Every race, except our race are progressing, socially, economically and intellectually at a rapid pace. We seem not able to make our mark. Instead we are being left behind to wallow further in our indifference and prejudices against each other. This make is so susceptible to exploitation and exploited we definitely are. So what is going to stop Hindus from spreading the word. Surely not talk!!

45. Has any one noticed how our political masters are busy bleaching the the colour the indians won’t have to worry by the time they take over bim all the big ups in our island little will be white just look at how quickly they can change in four generations remember we are only here to vote them into power to make things seem legitimate LOL

46. Micheal wuh yuh mean duh bleaching? Duh actually using Ambi to ligthened their skin?

47. dem is de mock ones i talking about de ones who doing it genetically remember when we use to get a white foul cock fuh de brown hens and yuh keep he off spring, in de end we had all we fouls white

48. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Johnny Postle

I have heard the same things about indians only liking black people for their money and to see how they can use them.So those black men who feeling smart with their indian women will soon find out that you were only a stepping stone.

There are ignorant black people in our midst who with a little learning think they are suddenly superior to their home grown black brothers and sisters;so they refuse to listen to advice and examples like you give above.

They spout the rhethoric they hear from the European white man and the American white liberals – like blacks should stop speaking about the racial hatred they experience,or should not speak out about how the other races just want to use black people as consumers,oh no you must not speak like that.

Only a revolution can save this country and for that you need a leader like marcus garvey or bussa or clement payne.

God help us all !

49. Mash up and but back,
    A revolution will not save this courntry (what ever you mean by “saving this country).
    For after the “revolution”, we will then turn on ourselves.

We need to educate ourselves (with a rounded academic education); own businesses.

We need to understand that we cannot have “freedom” without being financially free.
    In order to acheive this, we have to be producers of goods and services – not racial rantings!

When we understand that progress comes from “selling”, we would then get the respect of other races.

For too long we have been the consumers of other people’s junk.

It’s time to move forward – by being the owners of capital (not the custodians)